You are here: HomeNews2013 08 27Article 283845

Murtala Mohammed must retract irresponsible statements - NPP

Read Comments Comments (69)

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

The deputy minister is right!!!

• KULE 10 years ago

Is the NDC gripped by fear that they will lose the SC petition case? It is just too late for you guys to undo the decision yet to be made on Thursday. All well meaning Ghanaians including some of your NDC lawyers have come to ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Elections are won at the ballot box not in Kuffour-packed SC. We must not allow Akuffo Addo to use his connections at the SC and with the CJ to cheat president Mahama of his hard won victory in 8 out of 10 the regions with ma ...

• KULE 10 years ago

Nana Yaw, go for knowledge. The constitution stipulates the number of voters obtained and not the number of regions a party wins. Do you know that? You had evil Afare Djan, a nation wrecker to steel votes for you so you thoug ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Source: Daily Guide...

All of a sudden nonentities want to portray to the world how close they were to the late President.

Those who had to chat with him for one hour everyday, those Deputy Ministers who had to call him ...

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

DO I GET THE IMPRESSION THAT THE NDC IS LOOSING THE PETITION? THERE ARE TOO MANY DESPERATE STATEMENTS COMING FROM THE GOVT. WHAT IS HAPPENING? MAY THE TRUTH PREVAIL ...

• MAYOR 10 years ago

PROPHECY, 29TH AUGUST 2013 THE SUPREME COURT OF OUR HOMELAND GHANA WILL FAIL TO ANNOUNCE THE FINAL VERDICT OF THE 2013 PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION, JUDGEMENT OF THE SUPREME COURT WILL SUSPEND DUE TO CONTROVERSIAL AND SOME UNFORESEE ...

• DR. Bokor Jnr 10 years ago

God bless U

the pepeni is right , the verdict whatever the case can not throw the country into war rather can only be another nail in the coffin of already dead ghana . pepeni still has time till next year at least to start thinking of ...

• dawuni 10 years ago

I can't wait till Thursday! Great Muritala, you have made my day!!

Thursday is the beginning of your downfall anyway you take it

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

The same Dr Afri Djan who declared the presidential election results in 2000 and 2004 in favour of the NPP? Are you talking about the same Dr Afari Djan who was paraded in the media in 2001 as a genius election expert that ha ...

• GOGO 10 years ago

Yes its true. You need to understand the constitution youngman.

• DAVI 10 years ago

Oyiwa! There we go again, the purpose and reasons why NDC joined the Case in Court is Now confirmed. They are there to create Confusion and Problems for Prez. Mahama and Ghanaians. The Prez. Mahama will say one thing and his ...

• Danfodi 10 years ago

Kule, do you think the total number of voters in the two regions are more than the toatal number in the eight regions? Nana won lots of votes in the other eight regions just like Mahama also won many votes in the two regions ...

• Paa Badago, NY 10 years ago

This Boko Haram insane Mutala speaks any how! SC must invite this stupid thwart and deal with him. This is more serious than the Awuku's alleged statement. Who appointed this animal to deputy Ministerial position? I hope Gh i ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

If the stupid President is not behind this he should order the minister to retract the reckless statement or immediately sack him. They foolishly tried all kinds of stupid tricks in court and now they can see it will not take ...

• krikri 10 years ago

Go and read the constitution, you haters of the truth. cocaine gangssters

• AKONOBA 10 years ago

If EC=error President Mahama then SC=perfect President Nana Addo come Aug 29. Error Preisdent Mahama=error deputy minister.

• Adongo 10 years ago

Is that not a fact? Where in the constitution is it stated that the SC can declare someone a president? NPP ignorance, you keep telling lies instead of face the truth.

• Richard 10 years ago

Did your Kuraseni Sir John, Hopeson Adorye, Ken Kuranche and Sammy Awuku retracted their comments? He will not retract it and you can go to hell!

• william 10 years ago

Is it a football match of irresponsible statements? What is wrong is wrong and should not be justified!

• KULE 10 years ago

Richard, let's wait and see who is going to hell on Thursday.

• Observer 10 years ago

Why can't Murtala be dragged to Atuguba's court and be charged with contempt for dragging SC's name into the mud and challenging the constitutional authority of the Supreme Court? Is it because he is one of Mahama's boys? No ...

• duke 10 years ago

MURTALA SHOULD BE SUMMONED TO THE SUPREME COURT TO EXPLAIN WHAT HE HAS JUST SAID.

• Pumpuni 10 years ago

Good and timely rebuttal!!!

• Kwaku Kpandos, Barcelona. 10 years ago

See stupid Minister of state from corrupt party in ghana.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

MUTALA speaks from his mouth,without taking any inventory of his words.

THAT MAKES HIM DEVOID OF ANY WISDOM,PERIOD.
    WISDOM IS THE PRINCIPLE THING,EACH AND EVERYONE IS ADMONISHED TO GET:
    IN ALL THY GETTING GET UNDERSTANDI ...

• Balawo 10 years ago

This idiot called Murtala is one of the beasts of NDC. These are demon incarnations that forment trouble in the north. Stupid fool!

• kkd 10 years ago

stupid minister belong to fools party

• mohammed 10 years ago

But the Supreme court can order the EC to annual, or change the results that intend change the government.

• Seth, UK 10 years ago

This govt is up to sometime else, but you know don't worry to explain to them what the Supreme Court capable of, after all if the president and the cohorts knew their rights they wouldn't have responded and not attend the cou ...

• YAKUBU 10 years ago

The rule of law should be upheld. The rule of law should be no respecter of persons. The rule of law in a democratic dispensation should not pick and choose, who is under the law and who is above the law.
    There's is an incre ...

• Joe 10 years ago

It was the SC that declared (George Bush the US president over AlGore.

• Ganyo 10 years ago

The Ghana and US constitutions are not one and same knucklehead.

• Sally, UK 10 years ago

That is not true. The SC rather ordered that the recounting should be stopped.

• WEAKLION 10 years ago

This guy Murtala is from Kano -Nigeria according to his DNA . He's already creating a civil war in Ghana by saying SC can't force Prez Mahama from the office. According to Murtala there would be a Peace if Akans would shut up ...

• U AND I WERE NOT THERE 10 years ago

When Obama came to Ghana, He advise that the state institutions should be strengthen to enable them to perform better.
    Now here we are when Ghanaians are looking up to the Supreme court as their new Electorial Commission,

• Lawanger, canada 10 years ago

I said it yesterday that the NDC should be dissolve. All the people including me in the party we are useless.

• obibini 10 years ago

The NDC should never accept any decision which overturns the 2012 presidential results.The ballot box has already done that.

• FOOLISH BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Nobody is more powerful than the SC now and not even the EC!!! If SC (the Apex Court of the land) cannot declare winner, then what are they there for? To declare what? Why are they on the case then? For fun? 1000 questions wi ...

• Sally, UK 10 years ago

Yes, the SC is the apex court in Ghana but the judges can only do two of the following in their decision: (a) dismiss the petitioners' case which means the status quo as declared by the EC will remain; (b) Order a re-run in t ...

• Mahama & Afari Gyan go die 10 years ago

Learn lessons from Egypt

• Lawanger, canada 10 years ago

If you wish for peace, prepare for war. Ghana would surely experience war in the coming days which shall be bigger than that of Egypt or Syria.

• OPOKU FOFIE 10 years ago

Perry Okudzeto, you are a very stupid Goat! Instead of explaining to Ghanaians what your foolush arrogant wee infused toothless Akufo Addo told that silly and hopeless boy Awuku to convey to the eqaully hopeless tribal bigots ...

• AFOTEY ODOTEYE 10 years ago

FOOL!! WHY SHOULD HE RETRACT THE STATEMENT IF THAT IS THE CONSTITUTION. BETTER EDUCATE YOUR BLIND FOLLOWERS TO KNOW ABOUT THE CONSTITUTION. BY THE CONSTITUTION OF GHANA IT SI ONLY THE ELECTORAL COMMISSIONER WHO DECLARES ELECT ...

• KK 10 years ago

Ei John Mahama!
    Hmmmmmmm...!
    Only your ministers ooooo!
    Asem sebe oooo!

• VASCO 10 years ago

MURTALA AND HIS LIKES SHOULD NOTE THAT IRRESPONSIPLE PEOPLE WITH IRRESPONSIBLE STATEMENTS WOULD BE THE FIRST TO RECEIVE BULLETS SHOULD ANYTHIG STUPID HAPPEN IN GHANA NO MATTER WHERE THEY RUN TO(AMERICA,EUROPE,ASIA.MARK IT ON ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

9 PEOPLE OR JUDGES DO NOT HAVE THE MANDATE TO CHOOSE A PRESIDENT FOR GHANA. WHEN MILLIONS VOTED FOR MAHAMA AND REJECTED NANA, SOME PEOPLE NOW WANT JUDGES TO MAKE NANA PRESIDENT. IN THAT CASE, GHANA WILL NO LONGER NEED TO HOLD ...

• John @ 10 years ago

Only The EC can declare election and not SC

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 10 years ago

So with all that deficiency at the court in proving they have a case, they are still wallowing in deep illusion that they overcame the burden of proof in that inconsistent petition of theirs. Well, everyone has the right to h ...

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 10 years ago

I'm not sure what informed Ghanaweb to select such a photograph for this story. Where they paid by NPP to use it, and if yes what do they think it would do? Scare people; sorry Ghanaians already know who they are and would no ...

• Akortsu 10 years ago

It's rather unfortunate ministers are talking too much. However let us agree to vote NPP to power in the next election for TWO terms that is from 2016 to 2024 what about that? Please NPP cool down and start your homework from ...

• Dallas 10 years ago

These npp people know no shame. When your gen. Sec. Sir john insulted the supreme court judges did you call on him to retract that those irresponsible statements? You must first remove the logs in your eyes before calling on ...

• Ali Abanga 10 years ago

If all these irresposible people are ministers in Ghana then Ghana must be sitting on a time bomb

• seth 10 years ago

IT IS TRUE. NO COURT IN THIS COUNTRY HAS THE POWER TO DECLARE PRESIDENT FOR US. THE SUPREMACY LIES IN THE PEOPLE. IT IS OUR DUTY TO ELECT OUR LEADER AND ONLY AFARI GYAN CAN DECLARE THE WINNER.

• KB 10 years ago

Has Atuguba heard this statement?NPP do not worry the battle is the Lord's

• Repent 10 years ago

Eye gyimi lie him like them all

• Whatever 10 years ago

What combined effect are these NPP losers talking about? the electoral commission is the only body mandated under law to organize and declare electoin results, not the supreme court. Even the constition itself doesn't have un ...

• Pee 10 years ago

It is the truth. It is only electoral commission that can declare an election. Perry Okudzeto wake up

• Victor 10 years ago

This is not different from Atubiga statement even after the verdict, he should answer for this irresponsible statement .They are the people causing unnecessary tension in the country.

• J H New York 10 years ago

Well done, NPP.
    Your request is in the right direction and legitimate.Good !
    He Should not only retract but must resign the position of a deputy minister in the Country.
    He's more than moron.An animal indeed!

• Kuuku Annan 10 years ago

This is how they, some Northerners who are not civilised and never thought of wearing suits think. It is very absurd and stupid of a person who is supposed to know what the law says but tend to demonstrate this high level of ...

• Plain Truth, Texas 10 years ago

If this reckless statement is not contempt of the Supreme Court then what is contempt. This bastard has acted with impunity for a long time and must be hauled before the SC and shown his real SIZE if, indeed, Atuguba is not h ...

• mujeeb 10 years ago

we beg the ashanties they should allow the northerners to also chop the Ghana money smell since mutala want to chop and prez mahama also busy saling govt properties to himself and friends,family members. looters.etc

• Moses 10 years ago

We are waiting to hear from Atuguba on this statement

• omanba 10 years ago

IF YOU JOKE WITH GHANA, GOD WILL DESTROY YOU. POLITICIANS MUST BE CAREFUL. EVEN KING NEBUCHADNEZZER ACKNOWLEDGED GOD. WATCH IT WATCH IT WATCH IT.

• omanba 10 years ago

CURSE UNTO ANYONE WHO WILL USE POLITICAL POWER TO THREATEN GHANA. EYADEMA DIED MOBUTU DIED, SADAM DIED AND YOU WILL ALSO GO WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT. ATTA MILLS ALSO DIED.

• New Sherrif in Town 10 years ago

Let the SC act on this before the ruling comes up