Top politicians fly out for fear of ‘bloodshed’

Read Comments Comments (120)

• cha 10 years ago

Mahama stole the elections

• Kay 10 years ago

THIEVES, EI JULLOR

• kabokabo 10 years ago

.....IF GHANA IS AFRAID OF HUMAN JUDGEMENT DAY THEN WE MUST GET SERIOUS OF THE REAL JUDGEMENT DAY WHEN JESUS WILL JUDGE THE WHOLE EARTH WITH FIRE. JESUS IS COMING SOON. REPENT!.....

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

At this rate if you see an announcement in the 'Independent' newspaper that you are dead you will believe!!!!lUCKILY YOU SAID 'IF' and I suppose you don't buy it!!!!

• CORNEY 10 years ago

This is one of the sensational journalism we are practicing in Ghana.

How can you write this to put fear in people when you cannot mention one single top politician who has left the country?

Shame on this useless publis ...

• OBAA YAA 10 years ago

We Ghanaians are matured enough not to believed in this Yellow Journalism as characterized by this news item. Because, it exploit and distorts the intelligence of all us. Although, we have our political differences(which onl ...

• ROBERT BOYE 10 years ago

All Akans/Twi speaking peoples of Ghana should eschew their petty diferences,unite,loyal to each other and VIOLENTLY defend themselves against EWES/AYIGBES ,not touching the GAS,NZEMAS,NORTHERNERS.In the coming bloody and bru ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Arrest these 'mercenary journalists' of the NDC rented press for causing panic and fear among the populace immediately !

How long should we tolerate such cowards whose sole aim of surviving is to always create fear and pan ...

• ASHANTIS ARE GHANAS CANCER 10 years ago

COWARDS HIDING BEHIND GHANAWEB TO GENERATE THE USUAL ASHANTI EMPTY NOISE WITHOUT ANY ACTION BACKING .NO WONDER YOU ASHANTIS EVEN GO ON LINE TO PROADCAST A COUP U ASHANTIS ARE COWARDS WHO WERE EVEN DEFENDED BY EWES IN KUMASI T ...

WHY DO YOU GHANAS UGLIEST TRIBE ASHANTIS ALWAYS TALK ABOUT KILLIG EWEWS WHILES YOU HAVE NOT UP TILL NOW GO 4 THE HEAD OF YOUR COWARD SITTING CHIEF WHO WAS KILLED BY ORDINARY AKYEMS OVER RIVER PRA YEARS YEARS AGO.IF NOT 4 YAA ...

• Flash 10 years ago

Another stupid shoe maker,go back to school,u fools,

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

WE NEED ONLY A UNITED SECURITY AGENCIES AND ALL ACTS OF VANDALISM CAN BE CONTAINED. PEOPLE WILL DEFINITELY REACT OUT OF DISAPPOINTMENT BUT THAT WILL NOT LAST LONG.

• GTV Live on ghanatv.weebly.com 10 years ago

Watch TV3, GTV live, Adom, Joy and Many more. Go to www.ghanatv.weebly.com

• BlindMan 10 years ago

However, all POLITICIANS out of the country have 'automatically' STOOD Down from their positions!
    The 'culture' of the little-man working hardest, only for the BIG MAN to chop ends here; Yes to Ghana today, Ghana tomorrow an ...

• Odasanii 10 years ago

How can you claim that "several Ghanaians including several top shots appear unconvinced and are flying out of the country in droves together with their relatives to safety" and you not able to mention even ONE of them?? This ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Prevention is better than cure.

• MILLS P 10 years ago

GHANA HAVE ENOUGH MONEY TO FEED THE WHOLE GHANA, BUT IT DOES'NT HAVE ENOUGH TO FEED ONE GREEDY MOUTH! JOHN MAHAMA MUST GO!

• Anane 10 years ago

Gloria Akuffo is already out of the country on business. Ayikoi Otoo has visa UK visa for himself and his family. Anymore ....

• KWAHUHENE BOAT,NEW YORK 10 years ago

why should akuffo addo ran away.the npp went court so if it goes against them,i dont see anything that will let them fly out.IT IS THE NDC WHICH FEAR AND PANIC HAS GRIP THEM

we all know of the back door dealing and mischief the ndc are planning . nana is no rebel leader who will take to the bush , nor is he a Bismarck to lead a united Akan front . personally i will be happy to not only see our ow ...

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

THE TWI AKANS CHASED NKRUMAH TO HIS GRAVE.THE NON SPEAKING AKANS ARE 100% WITH MAHAMA, OUR PRESIDENT. "HOLY SPIRIT" KNOWS THOSE WHO ARE RUNNING AWAY FROM THEIR MOTHER LAND. I HAVE TOLD ALL GHANAIANS NOT TO FEAR BUT THEY DON'T ...

just as pharaoh who oppressed the children of isreal and delusionally thought God was on his side so pepeni is in his egoistical megalomania compounded with chauvinism and hegemony will see a fate worse than gadafi when the ...

• MR.YIRIMA 10 years ago

EWES chased Nkrumah to his grave. Check with the HARLEYS,AKPALOOS,TSIKATAS,NUNOOS,KOTOKAS,CRABBES,GBEDEMAS,etc.They overthrew KWAME.Gbedema where is the 10,000000 pounds you stole for the EWES during the Pounds/Cedi exchange.

• kabokabo 10 years ago

IF GHANA IS AFRAID OF HUMAN JUDGEMENT DAY THEN WE MUST GET SERIOUS OF THE REAL JUDGEMENT DAY WHEN JESUS WILL JUDGE THE WHOLE EARTH WITH FIRE. JESUS IS COMING SOON. REPENT!

• concerned kingdom citizen 10 years ago

INDEED THERE IS LIFE ONLY IN JESUS; MOHAMMED, FETISHES, ETC. CANNOT SAVE ON THAT DREADFUL DAY,

• stupid ghanaian judges 10 years ago

this stupid judges should thrown out this case long ago. what will happen next timee someone loses election again ? the samething happen in kenya and venezuela they where smart to thrown the case out of court but we ghanaian ...

• Azumah Nelson 10 years ago

Lies Lies Who are these top politicians?

• kofi Mensah 10 years ago

NOTHING WILL HAPPEN.
    WE CAME THROUGH MORE SERIOUS SITUATIONS THAN THIS. IT ONLY TAKES ONE BOLD PERSON TO KILL THE SO CALLED TENSION.
    GOD IS WITH US.
    SHALOM

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

NDC goons are running away to other countries not because they are fearful of any wars or mayhem after the supreme court verdict but simply because as soon as Nana is crowned Ghana's president, they will all be going straight ...

• Police Commander 10 years ago

Britain and Americans are HYPOCRATES. Why are they allowing the politicians and the organisers of thugs to run away to UK & US? I find this hypocrite gesture.

• kofi 10 years ago

Don't be narrow-minded.Anytime you tend to believe in anything stupid story, then you have a problem. Why make a hurried conclusion because of a hear-say. We should learn to be wiser. Think twice before you make false claims. ...

• kanawu 10 years ago

kwasea, which planet do you live. Village boy visit the airport

• Nii 10 years ago

village boy, have you a friends in uk or America? they are taking our foreign exchange to rent hotels, etc

• Hard Reply 10 years ago

What ever this paper is writing is not true. They need to write something better. Ghanaians shouldn't waste their money on those useless news papers.

• Police Commander 10 years ago

Western World namely US, UK, France ,etc thrive on other woes. They want Africa to follow the Arabs, They know when there trouble in Ghana will spread to other African countries.

• Bank of Ghana staff 10 years ago

Politicians loot dollar for UK & US that is what they are interested in - the looted dollars

• Prophet of Truth 10 years ago

We have been warned over & over, NEVER to trust UK & USA. They never acted on our interest and will never do so in the future. After all the promises to repatriating stolen back to African they still allowed African politicia ...

• August 10 years ago

Those who manage the independent news paper are not better than animals.

• Visco 10 years ago

All this national discomfort for one person's personal ambition. Waa see!

Unfortunately, the paper could not name a single "top politician" who has flown out. Stop these fear-mongering write-ups. Nothing is going to happen in Ghana.

• Adu 10 years ago

I wish The Independent newspaper had given examples of big shots who have fled the country. Mere speculation?

• Kwame Amponsah 10 years ago

Who are the people and politicians flying out of the country ahead of the verdict of the Supreme Court on the Electio petition on Thursday? There are very important issues for Independent newspaper to write on than to raise t ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

At this point the concerned citizen abroad will like the GOV,security agencies knows that, they should do everything in their power to protect life and properties at this difficult time. We urge the security to keep their eye ...

• Morghan 10 years ago

This station isn't serious!

• boobuoo 10 years ago

TO STOP ALL THESE POLITICAL NONSENSE,I WILL WELCOME MILITARY GOVERNMENT OR ONE PARTY STATE BECAUSE OUR POLITICIANS HAVE FAILED US THEY ONLY WENT INTO POLITICS FOR THEIR SELFISH NEEDS.

• Shoeshine boy 10 years ago

JJ should make sure that there is no bloodshed or fighting in the country after the SC verdict is read. The best result should be a new election by December 2013, only two candidates, NDC and NPP in order, to avoid fighting a ...

• Michael Akey 10 years ago

why can't they stay so that we all die together? do they think we are fools to sacrifices our life them and their families?

• Meera 10 years ago

why create this needless tension. nothing of the sort is happening where embassies are chocked. you r the same ppl ill selling ghana to the outside world. next thing we know, flights to ghana by airlines on this said day and ...

• Ghana_First 10 years ago

we shall arrest you for causing problems in mother gHANA.

aKUFO LOST 8 OUT OF 10 REGIONS but want to rule by hook or crook.

That short old man??????? All- be- die.

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

Illiterate moron, your akpeteshie-drinking father is the devil, ofui.

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Swine, keseodzidzimevi!! It is rather your she-ape raping father who is the devil.

• thomson 10 years ago

if Ghana is down africa is down, and we will never engage in any conflict.

• mokobi 10 years ago

This is mere speculation and low-class journalism. We did not get even ONE name of a politician fleeing!

• PAT 10 years ago

oh so is this how politicians are ?......after coming to power, they embarked on calling ghana broke even tho they found cash to pay out fake jdebts and shared the loot...they loot us thro gyeeda, rlg and sada so now they wan ...

• oyinasky 10 years ago

this is criminal and yellow journalism.shame on you Independent

• Egya 10 years ago

And this from the Chairman of the Ghana Media Commission's "Independent" newspaper??? And we wonder why we have problems in Ghana??

• Kwabena, Lashibi 10 years ago

This hyper story is very unnecessary. If the writer had done his or her research well, it would have been clear to the person that this is the summer vacation where a lot of Ghanaians and foreigners alike travel to the Americ ...

• LULU 10 years ago

Sometimes I feel ashamed being a Ghanaian. Flying out to where? Can they live forever where ever they going or is it because they have got the visa and stolen money. Let them ponder over their EVIL thoughts. SHAME SHAME SHAME ...

• kk 10 years ago

Nothing will happen to mother land

• kobi -ITALY 10 years ago

war starts by medid stop the mess and lets take what comes behave as mature citizens more educated than us

• KANO 10 years ago

THIS SHOULD BE A WAKE-UP SIGNAL TO POOR GHANAIANS WHO CONTINUE TO SUPPORT GHANA'S POLITICAL CRIMINALS, BUT DO DO HAVE THE MEANS TO ESCAPE EVEN TO A NEIGHBOURING AFRICAN COUNTRY.

I DON'T KNOW WHEN POOR ORDINARY GHANAIANS WI ...

• kofi 10 years ago

this is very sad some politicians start all is issues that have went to the supreme court now it is time for the truth to come out same people running away from the country for their life but leaving the poor to defend for th ...

• Ed Owusu 10 years ago

Am asking all ghanaian leaving in a broad to play for ghana this week final verdict.

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

True

• osei kingsley, lagos 10 years ago

It is only those cheap NPP sponsored media houses including Ghana web sensationalising this unnescesary petition nonsense.Nothng serious would happen.Should Ghnaians die because the UNWANTED akuffo lost?Nnsem hunu ara kwaa kw ...

• Dagabie 10 years ago

Nothing will happen so allow the people who want to leave to leave for the Airlines to make money.

NOTHING WILL HAPPEN so don't spoil the haveast of the AIRLINES for the week.

• no one wil take them 10 years ago

they can all go to hell

• JAH 10 years ago

KANO,TELL THEM FOOL'S

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Good riddance. Hope they never come back.

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

NDC goons are running away to other countries not because they are fearful of any wars or mayhem after the supreme court verdict but simply because as soon as Nana is crowned Ghana's president, they will all be going straight ...

• OPEN MINDED SAINT 10 years ago

Jokers what is the fear in this? You loose you prepare better.

• KOKI 10 years ago

May be not needed at this time even if its true some top politicians are "running" away. Such write-ups overlook the negative impact they may have on the already fear-griped section of the populace.

Is it not wise to writ ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

If this story is true, structures should be put in place to stop these people from returning into Ghana. The nation is bigger and far more important than any particular party. After the verdict, Ghana will be the winner and ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

I support your call 1000%.

• MICHAEL ESHUN 10 years ago

THEY ARE CERTAINLY DISPLAYING THEIR COWARDLINESS.SHAME

• Adjei Badu 10 years ago

Dr. Kwabena Adjei is believed to have sollicited his inclusion in the next Nana Addo's imminent gov't. Ever since prominent members of the governing NDC proposed a broad-based union gov't after the verdict, hysterical moves h ...

• Bunny Wailer, RastafaraI 10 years ago

Akuffo Addo wants a war and JJ rawlings killed a lots of people...These two individuals should not be allowed to leave..

• km agyin 10 years ago

Cowards and unpatriotic lot. They loot our coffers and then run away with our money when the going gets tough. They will be disappointed. The poor and patriotic ones who have no where to go will remain and make it work. Ghana ...

• Joe Kojo 10 years ago

The nation wreckers will always put out such articles to highten tensions. Please give us a braek and let us think over our problems.

• AbasZ 10 years ago

Silly reporter. Why did you fail to mention even one political figure? This is a FABRICATED article.

• OMAN FM 10 years ago

The ghana securities must do everything possible to kill or arrest Akkufo Addo before verdict day. Because the man is very treats to the peace of the country.

• Jonathan, Nii Noi- Nortey 10 years ago

Don't say that I didn't tell you so. They will use you to incite tribal hatred, do the political dirty jobs for them, sing the 'all die be die' and 'yen akan fo' war songs and mantra all for peanuts and political sycophancy f ...

• Law Speaks 10 years ago

Nana Akufo Addo is the cause of this fear in Ghana.

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

WHAT FOREIGN EMBASSIES ISSUED THESE LAME DUCKS VISAS TO TRAVEL TO THEIR VARIOUS COUNTRIES.

WHY PUT SUCH IRRATIONAL ARTICLES IN THE GHANWEB.

IT CLASSIFIES THE WRITER AS SEMI-LETERATE.

• Delta Bravo 10 years ago

Stupidity Amplified! Foolish writer.

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

YES! THEY NEED TO RUN WITH FAMILIES, AND WHEN THE FOOOOLS SOLDIERS FIGHT AND KILLS THEMSELVES, THEN THEY WILL COME BACK TO RULE THE REMAINING, IF ANY. POOR FOOLISH VOTER

• Akans Prophecies 10 years ago

Nkrumah declared "We Ghanaians, will show the whole world, that the black man could administrate his own affairs" This is how he visualised a Ghana government free and independent from colonial rule. The truth is Ghana has n ...

• kb 10 years ago

one published these news must be arrestd immediately for fuelling mind of Ghanaian with fear and intimidation.No one leaving the country,no violent that many thought,after the verdict of supreme court.Only criminal want war s ...

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

ana owo asem?....he is a winner, nd its clean in Jesus name with Amen!....Ogyamanase yi speaking nd babye from now....God bless u oman Ghana!...

• Tolan 10 years ago

We really need to grow up and wise up in Ghana and accept the fact that you donot have to belong to the same party or church or football team to be friends.Go to any civilized nation and will brothers,sisters,husbands etc bel ...

• Akans Prophecies 10 years ago

But you should accept that cheating is one of the most inappropriate in terms of trust in every co-existance. I am not for Akuffo Addo, but how could Mahama cheat, and claims to be right? We are not fools, if Mahama says he ...

• Justman 10 years ago

IF THIS INFORMATION IS TRUE AND CREDIBLE THEN ALL THOSE PEOPLE ARE NATION LOOTERS AND HAVE LOOTED OUR COFFERS AND GOING TO HIDE IT IN SECERET BANK ACCOUNTS TO CONCEAL THEIR TRUE MOTIVE FOR THE TRAVEL.HYPOCRITES!!!!!!!

• Whatever 10 years ago

Why haven't you brought out their names if it's true?

• Whatever 10 years ago

trash

• Hard Cock 10 years ago

The Independent, your analysis stinks. You mean to say politicians with businesses are running away and leaving them behind? So they're coward or what?

• Napoleon Yaw Darkwah 10 years ago

I am very proud of Ghana and very! very! proud to be a Ghanaian. All nations globally must respect Ghana for the attitude put up since the declaration of Mr John Mahama as President of Ghana. No a single blood/soul have fall ...

• Kwao 10 years ago

Its only a man who clsims "all-die-be-die" and "win-at-all-cost" will Ghana be in such a mess. I wish this evil pig idiot is assassinate for us to live in peace. Idiot.

• Ike (NY) 10 years ago

please stop this nonsense. The terrorism law through out the world does not allow information like who has secured a visa or traveling on flights to be release. dont create this hype.

• KOFI DAMESI 10 years ago

YES THE OSIKROM WILL BE HOT IN ANY FORM WIN OR LOSE WE WILL HAVE ODSEIKROM BOILING. HENCE THE ATUGUBA COURT SHOULD UNDERSTAND THAT ASHANTI REGION JOINED THE GOLD COAST IN 1901 ON AGREEMENT AND ANY INJUSTICE WOULD TURN WOULD G ...

• Kwame Aidoo 10 years ago

The Speaker of Parliament must conduct an emergency roll call at the house at a 24hour notice for all to convene to the house and any absentee must forfeit their abandoned public positions immediately! Who should stay and dea ...

The so called business men and women are thieves, they pay no taxes on their imports, contracts awarded to them are usually inflated and are not well executed. Judgement debts paid to them are fraud. Their counterparts are t ...

• DAIV 10 years ago

THEIR EVILS MIND WILL NOT WORK IN JESUS NAME

• DAIV 10 years ago

OSEI TUTUS HEAD RETRIEVED FIRST B4 TALKING ABOUT KILLING EWES,YOU PA PAAA CONSULTANTS WHO COULD NOT STOP THE WHITES FROM PACKING YOU ON TO A WAR SHIP IF NOT 4 YAA ASANTEWAA YOU PEOPLE WOULD ALL HAVE BEEN PART OF THE SLAVE GEN ...

• Ozie 10 years ago

Nothing will happen. Over hyped !!!

• Yamo 10 years ago

I believe peace will prevail. But take note, I have been known to be wrong in the past. Should there be violence, it will be on the shoulders of the cry baby NPP party. In a democracy, if you do not like the party in power, ...

• PETER 10 years ago

OUR DEAR GHANA WILL NOT FALL IN THE MIST OF THIS MERE SC CASE. IT IS ALMOST LIKE WHEN THE WORLD WAS ABOUT TO ENTER THE YEAR 2000 ... THERE WAS A LOT OF PANIC BUT IN THE END NOTHING HAPPENED... GOD ALMIGHTY LOVES GHANA ... I ...

• Obama-USA 10 years ago

Afari Gyan and Mahama has disgraced Ghanaians democracy--STOLEN VERDICT

• Kwasipong 10 years ago

'Anokwa yen kurom fuo Ghanafuo Enid nyansa biara, Osagyefo abre agu'

• KK 10 years ago

NAME THEM IF IT IS TRUE!

• A. S. ABU 10 years ago

Those running away are certainly running away from thier shadows which they cant

• michael boye marquaye 10 years ago

Nothing will happen, Ghanaians are civilized and well educated for this sort of thing to happen. What we need to do now is concentrate on the Ghana Zambia game on the 6th September. Ghana all the way to the world cup 2014 in ...