You are here: HomeNews2013 08 25Article 283586

Ghanaian nurse jailed in London

Read Comments Comments (104)

• BB 10 years ago

For the maltreatments as the Diasporians are gradually approaching same age molested group.
    The whistleblower: Lucy Brown did a very good job to leak this out!!!

• Mame Efua Bedu 10 years ago

Why say more when she has been punished for this. We pray for the victims. We also ask for mercy and forgiveness from our creator for the perpetrators. Did Akosua suffer any abuse in Life? Is Akosua of sound mind? Is Akosua f ...

• Ajit Babu 10 years ago

No she is just a stupid bitch and really deserved a harsher sentence. Once you accept to do a job there is no option for mediocrity. Or just quit and find another profession. Sakyiwaa just like thousands of African ladies/men ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Should be deported back to where she comes from.No more Job for her in the
    united kindom.

• Jury 10 years ago

Most of them are even just domestic cleaners in hospitals & old-age homes, but yet still they'll write home to tell that they're qualified nurses in Europe cos they also wear white service uniforms as well as some nurses do.

• ATO 10 years ago

TYPICAL KOKOOASE NPP SUPPORTER WORKING WITH SOMEBODY ELSE'S CERTIFICATE

• KC 10 years ago

this is not politics,shut up

• Ebo 10 years ago

She is one of the beautiful illiterate
    Asantes I saw at the NPP rally In London recently. Nice chubby cheeks.
    Her butt cheeks look even nicer.

• Ato 10 years ago

Ebo,SHE IS A FANTI GIRL NOT ASANTE GIRL KWASIA

• Naana 10 years ago

Does it even matter what tribe this woman is from? She is a Ghanaian and is a disgraced to all of us.They can abuse patients in Ghana and get away with it not in a developed country.

• Araba mensiwaa 10 years ago

Its pathetic we have people like you fanning tribal conflicts. Akosua was my mate at sec and a very good student she was. Just travel and see. That's all I can tell you. When the whites are discriminating against us, you are ...

• Araba mensiwaa 10 years ago

I live you with your conscience and God

• kwame 10 years ago

it is easy to jump to conclusion and place judgements...She is a scapegoat. If we go by the book, most people who are involved in this difficult, frustrating, and low paid job will be in jail. Also, i wonder when they will ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

Please, don't make any excuses for them. What they did was wrong. Period. The fact that some Patients could also abuse some Nurses and other Medical Staff does not make it right for the Nurses to abuse others. Not even those ...

• www.ghanatv.weebly.com 10 years ago

Watch TV3, GTV live, Adom, Joy and Many more. Go to www.ghanatv.weebly.com

• IBRAHIM 10 years ago

I will be happy to see this judgement apply to 95% Ghanaian nurses and I believe this lazy and evil woman was trained in ghana

• LD 10 years ago

Thanks Kwame , well said !!

• ABU. 10 years ago

Apologist no more excuses she was caught with the hand right in the sack,they could have quitted the job if unbearable instead of the abuses and mistreatments which are unacceptable in every civilised world except Ghana where ...

• YAW USA 10 years ago

Ajit you so stupid and the way you talk it looks like you dont have any job doing instead 419 scam so shut a fuck up fool.

• LD 10 years ago

Ajit Baboon
    we all know asians want to be Dr`s in the west.
    Ajit just ask your father what he did before he came out west.
    Probably carrying shi...
    Leave Africans out of this , justice has already been served, fool.

• ABU. 10 years ago

The forgiveness crusader as usual,the society in which this crime was pepetrated is unforgiving unlike in Ghana where crime is encouraged,entertained and rewarded.Why don't we crave for the best,stamp out this behaviours from ...

• Torgbigah 10 years ago

why can't ghana also do the same?? jail nurses and doctors quick

• WHISTLE 10 years ago

ALWAYS BEHAVE LIKE THIS.U HAVE SUCCEEDED SHAMING GHANAIAN NURSES IN UK. THANK U ALL VERY VERY VERY MUCH.

• Johnson 10 years ago

She is not a full nurse. IN my part of the world we call them nursing aid. To become a nursing aid one has to take a 6 month course.Their job is to take care of the elderly in a home and clean their shit.Full nurses undergo a ...

• Harman 10 years ago

I'm not supporting what she did but it's a well known fact that abuse is rife anywhere if unchecked. And don't think for one minute that these old folk are 100% innocent. They will insult and speak to you like the dirt that t ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

The tone of your piece shows you would have acted just as they did. What is demeaning and wrong with cleaning them up after an 'accident'? I hope no one in a vulnerable position is ever placed in your care.

• Johnson 10 years ago

I am trying to point out the roles of a nurse and and nursing aid.It is not my intention to degrade the latter.So Kwesi don't be upset if you are one of them.

• BB 10 years ago

But not a qualified certified nurse.
    Healthcare assistants works side by side with professional nurses, that's why they're also refered mistakingly as nurses whereas they are'nt.

• THE TEXAN 10 years ago

I pity this poor lady,imagine taking care of these old junks in their 80's and 90's and being paid a pittance.How many of you can visit your bed ridden parents and more clean their butts and all,its not easy,out of frustratio ...

• UK Investor Dave 10 years ago

No one forced these people to work with elderly vulnerable patients. I would also like to point out that they are the MINORITY the vast majority of health care assistants are dedicated to the wellbeing of their patients

• Mary A 10 years ago

why? Why? Why?

• Willie Winkie 10 years ago

The judge was right to put her behind bars, some of our people treat the vulnerable in a bad way. If caring for the elderly is not what you have at heart please don't do it for the sake of money. I hope lesson has been learnt ...

• Korsi 10 years ago

This is exactly how most nurses behave in Ghana. Yelling at a woman in labor to shut up and close her legs next time etc. Serves them right

• xoese 10 years ago

we pray this should be a lesson to Ghanaian nurses in Ghana. because they are also found of doing the same thing.

• NPP 10 years ago

This is the thing our nurses are behaving in Ghana,they don't respect our elderly patients but this can not happen in u.k,ghanaian nurses are arrogant.

• Harman 10 years ago

PLease don't make this mistake ever again. This is not a Ghana problem. This is worldwide. I dare you to look into this for yourself. If you want to go into this kind of business, you have to have hidden cameras and hidden mi ...

• salifu 10 years ago

Stupid faced nurse. They think the way they maltreat patients here in Ghana and go scot free they can do it anywhere. Just wait the fight against wicked nurses in Ghana will start soon.

• molly cruz 10 years ago

In most cases of bad service, be it in rest homes or department stores, the reason can be traced to low payment for such services; so I am led to wonder what the salary of these aids is??

• fly killer 10 years ago

in uk it is 7 pound an hour or 10 dollars per hour or 23 ghana new cedi, but if you are a rehabilitation nurse you can get 15 pounds an hour. however, you don't get allowance to go from one house to another. that is your prob ...

• ABU. 10 years ago

If you can't bear the heat just quit that is the name of the game instead of hiding behind poor renumerations to wreck unpardonable havocs and disasters punishable under UK laws.They beyyer go back to Ghana and continue where ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Yes, what Akosua did was wrong. She followed the money and want into a job that is very stressful and it exposed her composure.

The questions we have to ask ourselves are,
    1) will the Brits see it as just a crime that has ...

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

So Ghanaians are NOT 'saints' after all. The 'THICK CLOUD' has now 'ECLIPSED' the fake holier than thou 'BLACK STAR' at last, and covered it with shame, (whilst the strongest, bravest and powerful 'EAGLES' rules the WAVES, OC ...

• Harman 10 years ago

holier than thou ? ha ha ha. Since when did this become a competition? This shit happens everywhere. when your auntie was beating the kids with electric cables and whipping them in the eye, you didn't complain. When your uncl ...

• Che Guevara 10 years ago

This Naija scum shd be ashamed of himself. What has this story got to do with shame for Ghana? Some Nigerians abroad behave as if the whole world owes them a living. Hasnt his country been described as the African giant with ...

• ABU. 10 years ago

What they did is repugnant and unacceptable,but worst in Nigeria and what Nigerians do so the least said about Nigeria the better.

• ABU. 10 years ago

YOU SAID ,AND I QUOTE"IF SHE WAS A GREAT ATHLETE,YOU WIL BE JUMPING AROUND CLAIMING HER".YES INDEED BUT WE ARE DISOWNING HER BECAUSE SHE IS INHUMANE?SO NO ALTERNATIVE.

• Akwasi 10 years ago

Please, these ladies are not nurses. They are health aids.Professional nurses behave better. The records must be set right

• UK 10 years ago

Professional nurses do not nurse, they manage! Those who are performing the real nursing role are the HealthCare Assistants, and that is sad to say.
    The behaviours of these women should in way be condoned, it is deplorable; ...

• Asempaye 10 years ago

She carried the Ghanaian health workers attitude to England. A lesson for the Ghanaian doctors and nurses back in Ghana.

• Harman 10 years ago

Ah! why do people think this is a Ghanaian workers attitude? You are all on the internet so research this if you want. No country is clean when it comes to care work. Obviously it needs to change but you need to investigate e ...

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

AFTER THAT SEND HER BACK TO GHANA

• James liasame from Kenya. 10 years ago

Well well well well, if you work badly and disobey rules and orders, that is the way you should be punished. Love what you do, do what you love. Okey?

• Adama d'Gharty, 10 years ago

The action of this Nurse should not surprise anybody, particularily people of Ghanaian decent. We Ghanaians as a people would do anything for easy money, that is why we leave our peaceful shores for the exciting European Cont ...

• ABU. 10 years ago

Your assertion and claim is totally wrong our heath care record and general behavious back home in Ghana are manifesting in our stays overseas hence this occurence.

• Lawanger, canada 10 years ago

It is a curse to be Ghanaian.

• GET A LIFE. 10 years ago

I REALLY DID. THESE ARE THE NPP SUPPORTERS DEMONSTRATING IN LONDON

• Harman 10 years ago

nonsense. spewing rubbish from your okro mouth as usual. What has any political affiliation got to do with this. One day you too will grow old and will look for help.

• Ensuro Anokware 10 years ago

She was gleefully holding placards when Mahama went to London.
    You see your life?
    Baby elephant.

• KANO 10 years ago

A GHANAIAN VILLAGE CARE WORKER LUCKY TO HAVE LANDED SUCH A JOB IN LONDON.

SHE THINKS THE UK IS LIKE GHANA WHERE THE RULE OF LAW IS ON JUST A PIECE OF TOILET PAPER.

• Cathy 10 years ago

They think they re in Ghana wer they do it and get away with it.After that they ll demand higher salary

• Paa Chris 10 years ago

That is what they normally do in Ghana and go scot-free because they lived in lawless country. They think UK is also like their lawless country. Now that they are punished, they should learn from it.

• prince 10 years ago

I agree with you

• Honestman 10 years ago

Kwasia. You can do this in Ghana and get away with it but not in the UK. She should be deported and banned from travelling to the UK after her jail term

• Nana Yaw Asare 10 years ago

Charley, where did u go to school to achieved your anoayaa certificate?

• Kuuku Annan 10 years ago

It's unimaginable why these women, in their quest to make it 'big' in the eyes of other Ghanaians tend to take up these geriatric jobs ostensibly to cheat their way to get paid ! If you don't have the HEART for it why not ...

• ABEZE 10 years ago

this a killer woman, they do this in ghana too

Its all about money money money. Trust me nurses in Ghana are not doing too badly; a decent life is what we all wish for and no body can convince me that nurses do not have a decent life in Ghana unless you want all the wealt ...

• In Jesus Mighty Name Amen 10 years ago

So sad and unfortunate I do not know what to say( JESUS CHRIST son of GOD) forgive them and help us all Amen.

• ABU. 10 years ago

Of course they are doing tremendously well wealthwise and not professionally.They are patients-killers,abusers and arrogant and well known by every Ghanaian.

• adwoa 10 years ago

disgrace

• ghan 10 years ago

It is common to see such things happening in Ghana.Some nurses are wicked towards patients....Especially those in the GOVT hospitals.

• Regor 10 years ago

Today na her tomorrow na you. I rest my case.

• JONES 10 years ago

IF YOU ARE BLACK, YOU WILL NEVER HAVE JUSTICE YET THEY COME TO GHANA AND GHANAIANS TREAT THEM THEY ARE QUEEN, KINGS. THEY TAKE GHANAIANS AS FOOLS STEAL THEIR RESOURCES IN BROAD DAY LIGHT. WERE THE WITNESS IN THIS CASE SAW AND ...

• Minta 10 years ago

SHUT THE FUUCK UP. GHANAIAN NURSES BEHAVE AS IF THEY ARE DOING THE PATIENT A FAVOUR. GO TO THE MATERNITY DELIVERY WARDS IN GHANA AND SEE HOW THEY SHOUT, DISRESPECT AND SOMETIMES BEAT UP WOMEN IN LABOUR. IT IS NORMAL TO HEAR T ...

• dolly 10 years ago

she thinks she is ghana where nurses maltreat patients

• i no dey lie u 10 years ago

stupied village nurses u are no boby in ur country n u travell to do dis job u fuck up ur self,fuck

• Paa KWESSI IN THE BRONX 10 years ago

This is pathetic. After they serve their sentence, they must be sent home to become personal health care assistants to Nana Akufo Addo who is also wheelchair bound!

• OPEN MINDED SAINT 10 years ago

Jones idiot playing race card to this shows your stupidity and ignorance. You cannot abuse someone in England and get away either white or black. The law work not like Ghana they will say l know this person big man so l can d ...

• Efua Gee 10 years ago

Deport them after their sentence. These are things Ghanaian nurses get away with in Ghana so they thought they could get away with it in London. I am glad they've been caught, I just wish their sentences were higher than wh ...

• mama 10 years ago

she is just doing a job for $ not for the love of being a nurse. Her actions are typical of some Ghanian nurses especially those at home

• elkiem 10 years ago

that thing they are doing in gh, and no one minds, they think they can do it out side.
    ??

• prince 10 years ago

This is common among Ghanaian Nurses in general with few exemptions! Nice verdict and I hope same is done in Ghana

• Appiah Kubi Joseph 10 years ago

It's sad that if they were to have done this in Ghana, nothing, absolutely nothing would have been done to them. Go to the various hospitals in the country and see how these nurses(if deserve to be called nurses) are treatin ...

• length... 10 years ago

Asantes way of lyf...asantes r fools

• BUMBEBO London 10 years ago

DON'T REMIND ME OF CHINESE WHO WOULD EVEN HOLD GUNS AT GHANAIANS' NECKS AND ARE ACCORDED HEROES AND MASTERS AND RESPONDED TO: 'YES SIR, MASSER'. LEARN WHAT CONSTITUTE ABUSE, AND HUNDREDS OF YOU WRITING IN THIS COLUMN WHO FACE ...

• Idealist 10 years ago

They should be Fire and deport that will serve as a deterrent to others

• Mercy Klinogo 10 years ago

May all the curses in the Holy Bible and the Holy Quran befell on you. What has this got to do with Politics

• NANA AMA 10 years ago

The punishment should be more. I want the same treatment to our Nurses in the Government Hospitals in Ghana

• Private Mensah 10 years ago

My experience in the UK of Ghanaian nurses are as bad as in Ghana. And these lot also claim to be christians, so called christian.

• Solomon west 10 years ago

Nurses at tema general hospital should learn 4fm dis

• ayariga k 10 years ago

Hei. This lady looks real good. Sad she's going to waste these "goodies"...good boops, nice cheeks and behinds in jail for a whole year plus! That is unfair!!

• Baba 10 years ago

I just hope that our authorities in the health sector will take a clue from this and take same measures on recalcitrant nurses especially in the government hospitals.The worse is in Tamale Teaching hospital.

• NIGERIA THE BEST 10 years ago

GHANAINS NURSES ARE WICKED I WANDER WHY, THEY RUSH INTO THE PROFESSION WITH MONEY NOT HEART, THE OTHER EVEN FORCED AND GAVE FOOD TO OLD PEOPLE AND HER OWN CHILD AND WAS JAILED HERE IN LONDON WHY ARE THESE GHANA WOMEN SOO WICK ...

• NIGERIA THE BEST 10 years ago

THE WHOLE KNOWS GHANA WOMEN ARE WICKED, WHY,THIS IS NOT THE 1ST 2ND 3RD OR EVEN THE 60TH EVEN IN GHANA THIS WOMEN ARE WICKED

• Shocked! 10 years ago

To You Goody Two Shoes, Tribal Cockroaches You Do Not Have Any Blemishes. Akosua Is Down Today, Yours May Be On The Way. I don,t condone Her Indiscipline but Most Of The NHS Ethnic Nurses And Carers Are Mis-Treated By These R ...

• Shocked! 10 years ago

I Don't Condone Her Indiscipline But Most Of The NHS Ethnic Nurses And Carers Are Mis-treated By These Racist Old Patients.

• ab 10 years ago

kwasia,another villager from kumasi.

• ABU. 10 years ago

This is a typical well known practice in our local(in Ghana) health care system,and a general Ghanaian behaviour nationwide that none condemns.It's a lesser offense if we can classify it as such in Ghana,no crime is worst in ...

• Nancy 10 years ago

I can't believe this ! Sakyiwaa is such a sweet spirited kind lady,can't imagine her doing all these @ all,let's not be too quick to judge,lots of innocent pple r in jail.......,,,,

• Tolaman 10 years ago

It is sad indeed to read this.That is how we treat the aged in Ghana very sad indeed.In Ghana we seem to look at old age as a crime forgetting old age is not a crime but a process that once you donot die early you will also g ...

• Collins Sarpong 10 years ago

Our Ghanaian members who are nurses should have patience on their duties especially when dealing with the whites, they needs to be very careful.

• JEFF 10 years ago

they must be released

• Caleb 10 years ago

why must they be release 4 their action