You are here: HomeNews2013 08 23Article 283416

Comment: Unity government is unconstitutional

Read Comments Comments (59)

• Benson 37,Accra 10 years ago

if npp in power you do not mention this but once ndc in power all kind of nonses of unigov.please it can,t work since they will try to undermine each other and if so we do not want winner take all then they shall be no electi ...

• RESIGN MAHAMA 10 years ago

ATUGUBA PLEASE OO GIVE US JUSTICE OOH.THE WHOLE WORLD IS WATCHING.

• FuiJay 10 years ago

NDC need new people to take the party forward.

Dr. Kwabena Adjei is tired and need a rest
    When NPP wins election we try your so-call unity government

• BISHOP 10 years ago

I wonder why Kwame Okoampa will even take the time to write this. In your last article you did state emphatically that life in Ghana is too low for you hence you have no plan of serving it any day or time. Why then are you so ...

• Moise 10 years ago

It seems Okoampa doesn't see the wisdom in what Pulmer Buckle and Kwabena Adjei have said. It's very unfortunate that the English professor could beautifully articulate his thoughts well in good English but hasn't got a gift ...

• ghanabibi 10 years ago

Unity Goverment is possible,it has got nothing to do with the Constitution,it when the minority is added to the majority to form the Goverment,very simply as that.after the electionsgh

• David Owusu-Ansah 10 years ago

How do u understand "government"? President and VP, Or selection of ministers across party lines? He executive president can select ministers anyway he/ she wants. That is why Ndoum became a member of the Kufuor cabinet. Wa ...

• Amegaxoxo 10 years ago

Ye Ghanaians of short memory,didn't we all vote in a referendum to reject this idea of UniGov when Kutu Acheampong tried to foist one us?
    We lined up in the scorching sun to vote on this.Were you in Ghana Most Reverend Pal ...

• NASHA KOKO 10 years ago

After LOOTING the nations coffers and the "Fawu tu begye 4x4", Mahama like Kutu Acheampong is calling for UNION GOVERNMENT.

• APONKYI SARPONG 10 years ago

We already have Unity Government in Parliament.

• Jah Bless 10 years ago

Maasa too much big english. Break it down for the average man to understand. Show off PHD. invent something with your Ph.D

Jahbless
    College of Hard Core and Common Sense

Worcester, MA, USA

• Obake 10 years ago

Has this man been reading the constitution about ministerial appointments? It says majority should be from parliament but it never said they should come from the presidents party or from the opposition. So if a president appo ...

• Coby 10 years ago

Doc, you should not have taken the statement of the Archbishop on its value. I believe that the rationale of his thought process is how we can ensure inclusivity in our political governance for the purposes of national unity ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

.....The Independent.UK...

..Exclusive: Edward Snowden leaks reveal UK’s secret Middle-East web surveillance base

The Government also demanded that the paper not publish details of how UK telecoms firms, including BT ...

• Odasanyi, London 10 years ago

THERE IS NO CONSTITUTIONAL REQUIREMENT AS TO WHO CAN BE INVITED TO BE PART OF A GOVERNMENT SO IT COULD BE DONE

• Tenta121 10 years ago

Exactly.I do agree with you.It may turn out to be the best thing that happened in Ghana and actually take democracy to a different level,The progress of Ghana is more important than which political party has sole power.

• N. NYIMPA-BENYAW 10 years ago

If the community college professor doctor were resident in Ghana, he would find the proposition of unity government the best at least for now, given the current circumstances. Armchair geographer he is.

• Yaw. 10 years ago

Kwame are suggesting that the NPP petitioners should be jailed?

• OMANBAPA KD 10 years ago

Congratulations to Nana Serwaa Amponsaah for a battle well fought to defend and uphold the history of Kumawuman. It's time to reflect back and make corrections where error occured knowingly or otherwise for to err is human. A ...

• Yaw Berfi 10 years ago

When they put their long educational titles after their name and add their location they expect us to take whatever they write as written on stone tablets by the finger of God. And yet reading through their scripts you find s ...

• Seth, UK 10 years ago

This idea would only if we revisit our electoral governance constitution in the future. But why would this respectable person make such contemptuous comment without proper resort to professional counsel at this time? Sometime ...

• Alex 10 years ago

Kwame, I will buy this. Well done.

• Think 10 years ago

Why do we practice this political system and have to live in fear every 4 years. Are we sure this is the best system for Ghana and how long can we live together as one country when if we continue to practise this system. How ...

• nana 10 years ago

did u finish cleaning the toilet in the Garden city, New York this morning?

• FuiJay 10 years ago

The NDC leadership should stop these appeasements and concentrate in delivering the manifesto promise. We can’t wait for the December Congress

• Kwame 10 years ago

this PH.D MAN IS MENTALLY SICK

• Jah Bless 10 years ago

Maasa too much big english. Break it down for the average man to understand. Show off PHD. invent something with your Ph.D

Jahbless

Worcester, MA, USA

• NEVER MIND 10 years ago

Your article reveals ''where you are coming from'' and i can only say you are entitled to your opinion. May only the best happen to mother Ghana.

• Nsiah 10 years ago

this professor is a dirty idiot.Aplanke PH.D

• Tenta121 10 years ago

Stop being silly and start thinking objectively. It may bring out the best in both sides, as they may all want to impress the people to win the next election

• KAMIL 10 years ago

Unity Gov't of the social democrats and the property owning democrats? or based on a structure that would demolish the two and usher in a new non-alighned system?

We should now preach that people or politicians must respec ...

• Uncle T 10 years ago

Prof, I am also an NPP sympathiser, but I am open minded!! I know that the judgement could go either way. Afterall, the NDC has also presented some excellent reasons in their self defence as respondents.

• Tunkumaruu 10 years ago

All that is being suggested here is that since all parties in power loot the coffers of the nation on their own, and some loot more than others, tension can be reduced if in unity they loot together.

• APONKYI SARPONG 10 years ago

You are very smart man. That is all it is.And the last paragraph of this article confirms that.

Maybe the author too is a beneficiary or a thief.

• Joe 10 years ago

Remember Unigov? The proponent must be turning in his grave!

• Salam UG 10 years ago

Ghanaians are too discerning to entertain such campaign of prejudicial sentiment disguised as a constructive comment. Are you SC to decide who is illegimately aggrieved or illegimately favoured? This intelligent incitement ag ...

• Uncle T 10 years ago

Investigations carried out by the New Statesman indicates that the 2012 Presidential Candidate of the National Democratic Congress, John Dramani Mahama, who was declared the winner of the December 7 and 8 presidential electio ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

No constitution is sacrosanct.It can be changed to suit the demands of Ghanaians.What I don't agree here is the view by The Most Reverend Gabriel Charles Palmer-Buckle that a unity government be made up of the NDC and the NPP ...

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

This unpatriotic, tribally bigoted man has never had anything good to say and here he comes again drawing ridiculous conclusions which not borne out by the facts.

To suggest that the election process involving "cheating, c ...

• Lexus 10 years ago

Get off your goody-two-shoes high horse, my dear respectful colleague.
    Your bigotted, knee-jerk response to Okoampa is, definitely, nothing splendid to write home about.

SHAME ON YOU!!!!!!

Absolute tosh if you ask me. So Okoampa's nonsense is OK? You must be like-minded.

• Moi 10 years ago

They say birds of the same further flops together. They all belong to the same tribal supremacist group with an aim to create a supremacist govt that will shut the door to all minorities. Any wonder they are anti Ghana? Paul, ...

You should read my arguments before making silly comments my friend.

• Manny 10 years ago

Paul makes some pretty sound arguments there. Can you site an instance where a unity coalition is been deemed unconstitutional? Whatever it's merits or lack thereof, there may be a case for bringing together our best minds fo ...

I meant (Archbishop) not cardinal

• Backah Francis 10 years ago

I get uneasy when the intellectual class cannot tame their tongues! Does this man say he's a professor? Well, perhaps he teaches venom speech.

• Backah Francis 10 years ago

In fact, I'd not want this kind of professor to lecture me!

• ghanaba 10 years ago

oyiwa, oyiwah, watchout for your future ndc-npp dictatorship. the marriage was consumed by supreme playground in monkey gh called supreme court. managed to ridicule elements from both parties with contempt, in short, the cour ...

• reu 10 years ago

hi no unity govoo.

• Kofi Amegashi 10 years ago

I wonder where he got his PHD from. Probably he stole it that is why he's assuming NDC stole the verdict. Only thief man see his fellow thief man. LEAVE THE COURT TO DO THEIR WORK.

• Jah Bless 10 years ago

Jahbless

Worcester, MA, USA

• ANTHONY 10 years ago

THE WRITER MUST BE A PAID AGENT OF THE NPP. HE WRITES AS IF NPP PETITION IS MOST SENSIBLE AND WILL ACHIEVE ITS DIRTY OBJECTIVE. ONLY A FOOL ASSUMES SO MUCH AND IDENTIFIES WITHOUT ANY RATIONAL SENSE WHAT ANY PETITION SEEKS TO ...

• Kwame Dotse 10 years ago

I believe What the Archbishop and Dr. Adjei should have said is that which ever party wins power must learn to bring even political foes on board to work for the good of the country. If this is what they meant then they did n ...

• KANO 10 years ago

EMPLOYMENT HISTORY OF POSITIVE ACHIEVEMENTS IS WHAT DETERMINES HOW GOOD A PERSON IS AT HIS/HER JOB.

SO FAR, PARTY POLITICIANS HAVE PROVED OTHERWISE. NO GOOD HISTORY OF POSITIVE ACHIEVEMENTS OF GHANA'S ENTIRE LEADERSHIP.

• km agyin 10 years ago

Let's amend it then

• km agyin 10 years ago

You are way out of line this time, my learned professor. Common sense tells us that that is the way to go at this present crisis. We can always amend the constitution or make an exception for the time that we practice Unity G ...

• ME HUNYE ANKA 10 years ago

AFTER ALL THAT HAPPENED IN COURT WHEN NPP SHEEPISHLY WITHDREW ALL FRAUD ALLEGATIONS IN ELECTION PETITION U STILL THINK NPP WILL WIN. ON WHAT EVIDENTIAL BASIS? DUPLICATE SERIAL NUMBERS? A DREAMED-UP EVIDENCE THAT IS NOT KNOWN ...

• BEN 10 years ago

Ndoum, a CPP leader was given a powerful position in Kuffour's NPP administration. Mills and Mahama should have consulted Kuffour on how to form an inclusive gov't if they did not know how.

The cry for Union gov't by the ...

• Ekuma 10 years ago

Okoampa eeiih Okoampa , what has Dr. Kwabena Adjei and Arch Bishop Palmer Buckle said wrong to deserve these insults from Okoampa ? Ahoofe?

I have always remindeed trumulous OKOAMPA that ' u behave like the foolish ho ...