Danquah founded Ghana, not Nkrumah – Mike Ocquaye

Read Comments Comments (383)

• Conventional Youth. 10 years ago

Time for Ghanaians to CRID critically & Strategically

• WHITE MAN 10 years ago

Well done prof.

• NII 10 years ago

RUBBIH!!!. HOW OLD ARE YOU. DANQUAH DID NOTHING GOOD FOR GHANA EXCEPT BRINGING OBETSEBI FROM SEIRRA LEONE TO TEACH THEM HOW TO THROW BOMBS.

• AYI 10 years ago

The philosophy and program of the Honorable Marcus Garvey and his Universal Negro Unity is the best solution to redeem the millions of disaffected members of our beloved race, languishing in prisons around the globe.

Und ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

So Prof, that is our history (may be true) but we are hungry and the economy is going down ! Do we care about this crap ? We have had a succession of visionless greedy bastards that have, and are, running the country down -- ...

• UNCLE KOFI 10 years ago

THAT IS YOUR OPINION. WHAT HAVE YOU CONTRIBUTED SO FAR TO MAKING THE COUNTRY BETTER? I BEG STOP CREATING MORE PROBLEMS

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

BUT THESE ARE UNDISPUTED FACTS THAT CANNOT BE WISHED AWAY WITH INSULTS. THE TRUTH IS THAT THE STRUGGLE FOR INDEPENDENCE PREDATES NKRUMAH'S INVOLVEMENT AND NKRUMAH COULD JUST NOT HAVE BEEN THE FOUNDER. NOTWITHSTANDING THIS NKR ...

• KOKU AFLAO 10 years ago

Danquah's declaration of "self emancipation" at the time he did that can never be interpreted as declaration of "independence" by any intellectual who is honest. Independence can only be declared at the point that it is ready ...

• Citizen Kwaku 10 years ago

There they go again, providing propaganda and not facts, where was Nkrumah when men were men? Mike has provided FACTS, where is yours, if you dont have, shut up and learn,

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe JAK 10 years ago

The evil NPPs do not believe in any generally recognized principles of morality and justice. All of their principles are used entirely for supporting terrorists. They keep changing their surface appearance by putting on new n ...

• Kwamina Brew 10 years ago

DANQUAH WAS A TRAITOR TO THE AFRICAN CAUSE.

• IDRIS PACAS alias pink sheet 10 years ago

I support that Ghana was founded by people, and not a person and wished that FOUNDER'S DAY be changed into FOUNDERS' DAY. Ghana is not the US; Prof Quaye needn't compare us to them. Anyway whoever founded Ghana, tell him/them ...

• AKWASI 10 years ago

Npp criminals, thieves, looters, nation wreckers, arsonists, murderers, lairs’ what npp are looking for is to come to power to loot the nation's resources. Npp thinks Ghanaians have soon forgotten when they were stealing go ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

What about Nkrumah ? I bet you don't even know he was a KGB agent.

• Joy 10 years ago

This stuff sounds like John the Baptist and Jesus Christ. John preceded Jesus, but Jesus is the Messiah. In the same vein, Danquah preceded Nkrumah, but Nkrumah is the real FOUNDER of Ghana. The revisionists can say all they ...

• DARK DAYS IN GHANA 10 years ago

I LIKER THIS, JOY...JOHN THE BAPTIST PRECEDED JESUS...BUT JESUS IS THE MESSIAH.

JOSEPH BOAKYE DANQUAH PRECEDED NKRUMAH, BUT NKRUMAH IS THE MESSIAH...

CASE CLOSED

• HAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA 10 years ago

THANKS. HEHEHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

• ohenenana 10 years ago

SSS graduates this a a'A' Level Government, Paper 2 for you. Find time to read our jump on fine political history before you jump on the NDC bull ****. We were fine, before June 4, when a bunch of no good guys interrupted ou ...

• KOLA ,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

If anything it is Kuffuor's Govt that all to probed and all their ministers arrested for fraudulent deals.
    Did you all realized how quick Joe Ghartey jumped out from his Rat hole to say he is vindicated? Why is silence all t ...

• Teacher 10 years ago

Ahh!!!, Kola, did you finish jss? What is this?

'TO PROBED'?

'WHY IS SILENCE ALL THE TIME?'

'DID YOU ALL REALIZED'

• No wonder!!! 10 years ago

I wonder why they chose the name Ghana,they could have come up with a much much better name. I can even come up with a better name by 12:00pm. tomorrow. Ahhh!!! "Ghana". Why Ghana? that's probably why we haven't gotten anywhe ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

HE WAS THE SPEARHEARDER, THE BANKROLLER OF THE SOMEWHAT SLOW, N INEPT UGCCC. BEFORE NKRUMAH WAS OUTDOORED IN SALTPOND. BACK THEN, IT WAS THE PAA GRANT, MENSAH SARBAH N THE REST WERE TOO SLOW IN THEIR METHODS N DIDNT WANT TO O ...

A PAN AFRICANIST....U CAN CALL HIM ALL U WANT. KGB, COMMUNIST, SOCIALIST ETC. THE GUY NEVER BACK STABBED GH. HE LAID DOWN HIS LIFE FOR GH, AFRICA N BLACK PPL IN THE DIASPORA. MEANWHILE, DANQUAH, KOTOKA, AFRIFA, WERE TRAITORS ...

• sam 10 years ago

thank you for that. the idiot talking about nkrumah kjb nonsense is what we call the black petty bushuas-just like his mentors the jb danquahs, busia akkoffo addos and the like-TRAITORS IN THE HIGHEST ORDER

• ohenenana 10 years ago

if he was an idiot. what will be the word to describe your father?

• AWUKU,ACCRA 10 years ago

Mike Ocuaye has a morbid hatred for the Osagyefo;he spared no opportunity to descredit the great leader.Because of Ocuaye I had to drop a course in Political Science at Legon cos I couldn't stand the way this man denigraded O ...

You just can't stand the truth period. Who brought Nkrumah back to Ghana and why ? People talk as if Nkrumah just descended from nowhere and pronto declared Ghana independent. What shallow mindedness.

• Aisha baby 10 years ago

U re rather the one with a shallow mind here,the fact dat danquah brought him doesnt make him the founder ooo ntom.be wise nd stop fooling.

So ,there was in place a vision before they brought Nkrumah in . They differed in approach, but you people think Dankwa did nothing . Of course, you people with communist leanings obliterate anything good that emanate fom you ...

• nyb 10 years ago

u brought Nkrumah to Ghana n he came to find out u were assholes n he dazzled u n took over, what is ur beef? u cant change history.

• DARK DAYS IN GHANA 10 years ago

MINOR CASE...you are indeed not a thinker.

These so called people who want to call themselves "Founders' did not have a clue what to do with their "emancipation" idea after forming the UGCC. They were like the proverbial d ...

• DAVI 10 years ago

OYIWA! The Truth Must be Told. Truth and Love for Ghana should over come Propaganda and Lies of rented press.WHO PAID FOR DR.KWAME NKRUMA'S TICKET TO GHANA?PLEASE LEARN YOUR HISTORY AND RESPECT YOUR ELDERS(FOREFATHERS).

• j0eY L0nd0n 10 years ago

You paid my ticket soon as you realise my intentions are not limited! Akagbomo

• Nii Okai 10 years ago

Mr. professor Ocquaye why THIS at this time of needed sober reflection of the situation our nation finds herself in with reference to the petition and the outcome that we are all expecting. Is this what your intelligence has ...

• jojo 10 years ago

who are u deferring to as men, UGCC? the danquah's busia's and those that classified themselves as elites because of their education were only fighting for themselves and not the whole nation, have u ever heard their saying ...

• wayo. 10 years ago

Can someone explain to me the meaning of Ghana.Thank you!

• COS 90 10 years ago

The meaning of ghana is GOD HAS APPOINTED NKRUMAH ALREADY.(G H A N A).

If it is the will of God that pepeni rigs elections, poison Akan waters , steal our gold and embezzle govt funds , select incompetent and amateur ministers , marginalize the will of the majority through trickery and deceit ,s ...

• Ghanabiya 10 years ago

I was thinking that in this 21 st century, this kind of vile, vitriolic, bigotry and ethnocentric language was buried with the ancestors of this kind of people; but alas, here it is we are witnessing it.

The unfortunate t ...

• nyb 10 years ago

U r stupid. Period

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

loking for fame or popularity the wrong way. Ocquaye, you make yourself a laughing stock, Did Nkrumah have to be in Ghana first to fight for Ghana or Africa? All these years we did not know suddenly with a bout of high fever ...

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR. 10 years ago

No he wants to be heard. Who is Professor Ocquay? I have never heard of him until now. He is seeking the limelight and talking against Nkrumah will make people give attention to him.

He has nothing innovative nor creative ...

• ohenenana 10 years ago

you just have n't read it in your school. Get yourself 'A' Level Government notes and you will llearn something for a change. SSS illitrate

• wear 10 years ago

very intelligent saying, you see, we cannot abandon the good work of Kwame Nkrumah, whether he founded Ghana or not is not the problem the problme is the free education Nkrumah brought to Ghana is dismantled by so called Danq ...

• kwaku Yaw 10 years ago

Nkrumah did nothing,

• puapua 10 years ago

Unless you are blind to see

• MENSAH 10 years ago

FREE EDUCATION,DEVOID OF FREEDOM OF SPEECH IS VALUELESS.
    Kwame Nkrumah,no doubt,did many things very good:
    EDUCATION,INDUSTRIALIZATION,CIVILIZATION,SELF-WORTH,ETCETERA,but his totalitarian rule was not good for the people o ...

• KWADWO A 10 years ago

Do you know who caused Nkrumah to adopt the totalitarian rule? The same people who said he did nothing. O'Quaye do you mean to tell us the Danquah and co. were so stupid to let Nkrumah arrive from London to take over what the ...

• YAA 10 years ago

WO YE ABOA PAA AND I DON'T KNOW FOOLS LIKE YOU EXIT IN GHANA TODAY. KWASIA DID YOU KNOW THIS HISTORY? IF FOOLS LIKE YOU GIVE THE WISE MEN WHO HAVE VISION IN GHANA THE CHANCE, THEY WILL RUN THE COUNTRY AND THINGS WILL BE BETT ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Only swines like U will believe this fabrication, intended to distort history, arsehole !

• CONCERNED GHANAIANS 10 years ago

A people without knowledge of their history are like aliens driving to the city of nowhere. They would neither arrive nor feed. Know your history, be proud of your history, act on your history, and you will not be hungry.

We are so divided, it appears there is steel and concrete walls built to divide us. The most devastating factor is religion. The Arabs from the north have taken over North Africa, they bear their names and inter marry because ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Jamaicans had a great leader,like J.B DANKWA,NKRUMAH,BUSIA ETCETERA,but unfortunately,you guys didn't submit to his noble course.

YOU GAVE NO HEED TO MARCUS.

Imagine,you have great ideas for your children,who do not eve ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

This argument reminds me of the long-standing debate of someone who dreams of an idea and one who develops it into a concrete reality.

Many of us have been imagining many wonderful, innovative ideas but have never come ar ...

• ***XYZ 10 years ago

You are silly

• NII COMMEY 10 years ago

OCQUAYE IS AN ASS. A RABID DOG FROTHING AT THE MOUTH WHO IS DESPARATE FOR POWER. BUUULU. YOU CANNOT REWRITE HISTORY. IGNORANT FOOL. YOU CAN ROB OSAGYEFO OF HIS ACHIEVMENT. NPP GOONS ARE JEALOUS OF NRUMAH'S ACCLAIM. JEALOUSY ...

• pink sheet president 10 years ago

What has Nkrumah done some of you ?

Why don't you read Ghana's history from the formation of UGCC to independence.

• sam 10 years ago

THERE IS NO WHERE IN GHANA HISTORY SAYING DANQUAH FOUNDED GHANA-STOP YOUR PATHERTIC LIES

• afua 10 years ago

Doc. Do not try to be divisive. You are too mature.Yellow, green, white, red, or blue, all we are looking for I is One Ghana, butter, bread, water, electricity,education. Enough fragmentation.

• kantinka 10 years ago

Nii i,ve observed you for sometime but you do not comment with sense wajimi paa. You do not know history and you are not prepare to learn pity. I think your father was not born by independence day, so pls humble your self and ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

I think it is about time to banish these so called professors. It seems they have all graduated into ignorance. According to native intelligence Life begins with the birth of a child and for that matter likewise a country. By ...

• Adama 10 years ago

If we cannot learn from our history but resort to insults, how can we develop. In the US, citizens are always talking about how the country was founded, recalling the names of their founders, those who appended their signatur ...

• AYI 10 years ago

AFRICA/ALL PEOPLE OF AFRICAN DESCENT USE ALL/EVERY MEANS, /AT ALL COST/BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY RADICAL MEANS TO UNITE. AFRICA/ALL PEOPLE OF AFRICAN DESCENT BE SELF-SUFFICIENT, USE YOUR RESOURCES TO FUND YOUR RADICAL MEANS OF U ...

• papillon 10 years ago

whoever founded GH is not important. The future is what matters now.

• BlindMan 10 years ago

What is the MOTIVE of the article here, when Ghana is Struggling and Praying to find a way forward?
    One day when Dr J. B. Danquah was strolling along the shores, he perhaps 'fumbled' onto some fishermen at the James Town are ...

• PIUS KANGAH-TANDOH 10 years ago

CHASE THAT CRAZY BARED HEAD OUT OF OUR TOWN. PROF DONT YOU KNOW THAT J B DANQUAH WAS A TRAITOR, BOMB THROWER IN THIS COUNTRY? I NOW UNDERSTAND THE SAYING " CON MEN HAVE INVADED THE HOUSE OF GOD". ALL THIS CAN WILL NEVER BRING ...

• corporal avutsu 10 years ago

Good

• BOY KUMASI 10 years ago

This is simple, the person who fought the hard way and gained independence for his country is the undisputed founder of that country. This is what my understanding tells me.

• Lawless country 10 years ago

People don't know, tell them professor

Young pioneer, one party state. Too many cpp this cpp that. Ugcc completely ignored such as NDC and Ahwoi boys wanted to ignore Rawlings. Some NDC folks even wish the party's name was changed to suit their agenda. Nkrumah did ...

Nkrumah get up from your grave, CPP has no leader today and have not won election since and your own children don't know which party they belong. One was in parliament briefly and your own people in nkroful think you and cpp ...

• Okoe 10 years ago

You sleep in the bed you made for yourself. These lawlessness started after the passing of Nkrumah. Corruption is now at its zenith and flourishing and no one knows when it will stop.

• Dallas 10 years ago

Nkrumah only sought after bomb-throwing CIA agents.

These people( CPP)stock in trade is propaganda and they have carried it to NDC. It is only in these parties that without shame they have special secretaries for propaganda in addition to information. Check out the meaning o ...

• jojo 10 years ago

mr. your prof rather lacks facts, go get a book on government and check the fight for independence and nationalist movement and you will find it for your self.

• YAA 10 years ago

TELL US WHAT A FOOL LIKE YOU KNOWS. YOU DON'T KNOW ANYTHING SO JUST KEEP YOUR DIRTY MOUTH SHUT. NDC PROPAGANDA

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Dont mind these imperialist errand boys and hatchet men.

They are still having nightmares about Kwame Nkrumah, many decades after the man physically passed away. But as we all know, the Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumahs spirit st ...

• jojo 10 years ago

the prof need to go back to school, i read government at the A level, and one distinguishing factor by Nkrumah from the rest was, while he seek self governance for Ghana, the so call Danquah and his educated elites seek it i ...

Not that the elite hated Nkrumah for using the chiefs. Look at how the chiefs have done to our lands and compare that which is being managed by Tema Development Corporation. Nkrumah wanted to use the uneducated chiefs so he c ...

There are plenty of books to read about Nkrumah. Back in the days all the detailed literature giving detailed account of Nkrumah were abolished unless it said only positive stuff about him. Ask people from Zimbabwe. Read this ...

• jojo 10 years ago

read some of the books and let talk about their their achievements and pitfalls.

The only thing that will never change in Ghana is the asante nefarious mindset. Every one is bad except ashantis, yet your beginnings are always manufactured, you are the only tribe in Ghana with a questionable legitimacy yet ...

• RSA 10 years ago

@ You again. Your bitter comments exposes you as a jealous anti-ashanti without any identity of your own. Ashantis' manufactured history is far better than those without history. You confirm that we are clever, innovative and ...

• Metropolis 10 years ago

I am surprise how the learned man fails to understand this simple logic that Gold Coast became GHANA on March 6, 1957, and if any particular person should be singled out for that singular feat, it was Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrum ...

• jojo 10 years ago

\If you ask me, i'll say you should swap places with the prof. most of these teachers and profs are our downfall. they don't teach the truth but party bias polities

• RSA 10 years ago

Where from this argument that Jesus was not the founder of Christianity? When Jesus said, "If I am lifted up I will draw all men unto me";When Jesus said, "Upon this rock I will build my church", When Jesus again issued the g ...

• AWUKU,ACCRA 10 years ago

Remember there can be no general without corporals and sergeants.They do the fighting and the general takes the credit.Danquah and the rest fought and in the end Osagyefo takes the credit,such is life.There is always one lead ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Thank you Prof,Dr. Dankwa did all the
    home work for Nkrumah to come and help
    them in the formation but been a clever chap he booted Dr.Dankwa and
    Nkrumah took over.

• KUKRUDU 10 years ago

THE BRITISH LIKED DANQUAH BECAUSE HE KISSED THEIR BACKSIDE.
    DANQUAH WITH HIS CROONIES WERE VERY PRIVILAGED & DID NOT LIKE WHAT THE VERANDAH BOYS WERE UP TO.
    THIS SHORT MAN HAS CHOSEN TO FORGET THAT!!!
    I AM NOT AN NKRUMANIS ...

HAD JJ BEEN IN NKRUMAH'S SHOES. HE WOULD HAVE KILLED DANQUAH FOR BEING A TRAITOR. JJ WAS ONE PARANOID DUDE. THE LEAST DISTRUST HE HAD ABOUT U. U BETTER LEAVE GH. WAT DID U EXPECT NKRUMAH TO DO? DANQUAH WAS BACKSTABBING NKRUMA ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Mike Ocquaye is senile.

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

Stop all these divisiveness and dirty political games.
    Did Danquah name the then Gold Coast, Ghana?
    Danquah did not give the name Ghana and if he did not, why do claim that Danquah founded Ghana?
    Danquah began his movem ...

• GO WEY YOU 10 years ago

All that the good old prof. has said are true. As a former Young Pioneer, An Nkrumaist, and a Political Science graduate, I will urge all Ghanaians, especially the young ones, to accept this history, as the GOSPEL TRUTH. Nkru ...

You see, these socalled Nkrumahist thrive on PROPAGANDA for their survival . See through it and you will realize they are hollow .no substance.I was once a Young Pioneer my self but have liberated my self from those bogus ide ...

• peace 10 years ago

stop peddling lies MIKE OQUAYE

• YAA 10 years ago

TELL US THE TRUTH, ABOA

• Abeiku Sagoe 10 years ago

The levels of illogic displayed by Prof. Mike Ocquaye can at best be described as pathetic and especially for one of his caliber and status, this is unacceptable. Why, it seems that some elements of the UP will not ever find ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Gina had just got married and being a traditional Italian, she was still a virgin. So, on her wedding night, staying at her mother's house, she was nervous. But her mother reassured her. "Don't worry, Gina. Tony's a good man. ...

• Tibaa 10 years ago

A whole professor who does not know the mathematics of Ghana's foundation and independence. Does it mean that only the offsprings of Danquah should rule Ghana?
    Thank God I boycotted all classes organized by this guy back ...

• Kay 10 years ago

History is just a past story,the accuracy and validity of the information depends on the story teller.Nkrumah and his propagandist told us their side,the Danquah group is also saying something different.It is for you the list ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

But you the reader has to ask question. Try my comment down below and give me answers.

HISTORY IS ALWAYS HIS STORY NOT HER STORY.IN THE FULLNESS OF TIME GOD SEND HIS ONLY BEGOTTEN SON.
    JOHN THE BAPTIST CAME TO BLAZE THE TRAIL BUT GOD CHOSE JESUS CHRIST.

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

You did what, you boycotted his classes and you are thankful to God for that? No wonder you are so stupid. Typical NDC person, so so blockheaded and proud.

• jojo 10 years ago

oyokoba you call someone stupid while u rather are, if anybody boycotted this prof classes then that person is wise, if u stayed in his class go get your money back, he taught you nonsense, and i think OYOKOBA you are one of ...

Do we need the supreme court to rule on this? because by NPP criterion this coheres to a laundry list of malpractices suffered in the past and present.

Putatively doesn't all terrorists, claim responsibility for their dee ...

Whether he arrived by dusty roads or barefooted is a clown question. He was the founder, Neocolonialists must cope with that.

• Akos 10 years ago

Am surprised at how these NPP thief thief party thinks they have mastery over literac. They are so educated that, they can't even balance the budget than to sell Telecom and get loans signed sealed and oh not DELIVERED from a ...

• Akos 10 years ago

Am surprised at how these NPP thief thief party thinks they have mastery over literac. They are so educated that, they can't even balance the budget than to sell Telecom and get loans signed sealed and oh not DELIVERED from a ...

• Akos 10 years ago

• PHILTY McNASTY 10 years ago

Massa, don't display your idiocy today. Learn to learn okay?

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD... 10 years ago

YESTERDAY WE READ FROM KUFFOUR THAT THE NPP IS A NATIONAL PARTY.THAT WAS RUBBISH.I CHALLENGE THE PARTY TO CHOOSE A NON-AKAN LEADER AS THEIR FLAGBEARER IN 2016....I DARE THE PARTY
    TO PROVE ME WRONG.

AND,TODAY,PROF ACQUAYE ...

• Adama 10 years ago

Nkrumah did not win, Ghana won. How can you eliminate all the people who shed their blood for mother Ghana, and someone like Paa Grant who financed the independent movement? Our winner takes all attitude is what is killing Gh ...

• caesar ibrahim 10 years ago

Is that why you were chasing him with bombs allover?

• Kponyo 10 years ago

When people refer to Danquah as a bomb-thrower it saddens me no end.

The man did not just throw bombs, he and the likes of Obetsebi-Lamptey, IC Quayes father, Busia and co, under instruction and pay from evil foreign tyra ...

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

PRINCE, YOU ARE TALKING ABSOLUTE RUBBISH!

Another NPP IDIOT just like kofi Jumah. Instead of discussing issues that will bring development to the nation, listen to this STUPID COW. FOOOOL

• Menua Kwadwo 10 years ago

Well, that is just to give you a little bit of history; we have to know where we came from before we can determine our destiny.

• Haaaaaba!!! 10 years ago

Menua, listen prof. Ocquaye should have explain or clarified how Dr. Nkromah came into the system and how 1844 bond was pronounced in the summit as he is describing. HOW DID CPP TOOK CONTROL OVER UGCC? Understand that knowled ...

• simon 10 years ago

This is very instructive.We need to know for knowledge cures. Good piece, Prof

• simon 10 years ago

This is very instructive.We need to know for knowledge cures. Good piece, Prof

There was a little girl and her mother walking through the park one day and they saw two teenagers having sex on a bench.

The little girl says, "Mummy, what are they doing?" The mother hesitates then quickly replies, "Ummm ...

• KOW Amisah 10 years ago

You are free to speak your mind. I know the value of history whether it is true or not. Enough of this Nkrumah and Danquah stuff. Let us see what we can do to build our country now. Our politicians are always saying and hidin ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

What icing? yack. Prince you are very bad and dirty. How is your day though?

MIKE OCQUAYE MAY BE LICKING VIAGARA SO HE DOES NOT KNOW WHAT HE IS SAYING.

• a. h 10 years ago

Mr old man just all this talks because it will not help your party at all .it rather bring it down oooh. No one said Danquah and co did nothing so why all this useless comparison.

• DONBOLI 10 years ago

Nkurimah was the chose of the british because of his educational back ground. Nkurumah didnt fight for independence for Ghana in Ghana. He did his bit by reading and learning what the whitemen were doing things. He lead us in ...

• OHENENANA 10 years ago

THIS IS THE KIND OF HISTORY THAT ALL WELL MEANING GHANAIANS MUST KNOW.THERE IS TOO MUCH HATRED IN THE COUNTRY AS CPP ACTIVISTS TEND TO BELIEVE THAT GHANA HAD NO HISTORY BEFORE DR NKRUMAH TOOK OVER THE LEADERSHIP OF THE COUNTR ...

• Adufoode 10 years ago

A total misconception!!!!!
    Whether you like it or not it was Nkrumah that founded Ghana.
    How many people score a single goal at a time?
    Did Nkrumah throw bomb ? Did he kill people ? Long live Nkrumah.

• Ahmed 10 years ago

People had gone through the formation of Ghana with various memories. Danquah did contribute but his contribution does not come anywhere near Dr. Nkrumah's contribution. Like somebody said this is not the issue so let sleepin ...

Like it or not, no single Ghanaian politician may ever achieve such heights of international political recognition as Kwame Nkrumah.

• Barimba Ghunney 10 years ago

International recognition is not KEY here.
    When GREED for power and OVER-AMBITIOUSNESS blur your vision, what you get is the likes of NKRUMAH.
    Accept it or reject it, HE Dr. NKRUMAH is singularly and severally responsible f ...

• GOLD COAST MAN 10 years ago

Will you be running away from Nkruma's projects too? after over throwing Nkrumah what has Danquah achieved? if you keep chasing your leaders everywhere like you are doing to president Mahama now then you should expect the do ...

• ohenenana 10 years ago

illitrate SSS get a grip

• jojo 10 years ago

because he gave your money to a different country, i don't even think that is true, but let assume it is, do you the important of big market in economic, while do you think EU did that, why US why China, the lack of market in ...

PAA GRANT FOUNDED GH....DR NKRUMAH CAME TO MAKE IT A REALITY. THE REALITY THAT IS FOR U TO SIT THERE N MAKE DUMB RETORTS THAT WONT AID US IN NATION BUILDING. IN THIS DAY N AGE. WE DONT EVEN HAVE NAMED STREET, ADDRESSES, POSTA ...

• Funnythat 10 years ago

How old are you and do you know your country? Wallow in your faeces and continue doing your baboon job despite your secondary education.Your ignorant to your surroundings has led you in your present situation by doing this ba ...

KWASIA BA, GO N SEEK PSYCHIATRIC EVALUATION AT ANKAFUL!
    DO U KNOW GH HISTORY? DO U EVEN KNOW WHO PAA GRANT IS?

70-year-old Mike Ocquaye went for his annual physical. All of his tests came back with normal results. Dr. Arthur Kennedy said, "Mike, everything looks great physically. How are you doing mentally and emotionally? Are you at ...

• the truth 10 years ago

some where along the line people propose unigov at this same function and listen to this man also is he re-writing history or what we are not interested in all this bullshit he said npp always wants everything for themselves ...

• Sappey-Agboh, Atsiame - Avenorpeme 10 years ago

This man is a pariah. Why on earth are the NPP trying to obliterate Dr K. Nkrumah's achievement in our history?. They are constantly looking for an opportunity to re-write our history. However, what I found it to be a patentl ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 10 years ago

I sincerely believe Prof Ocquaye is intellectually dishonest. From Independence to date Ghana's Flag has been red, gold and green with the Black star. No wonder many of Prof's students who studied Political Science graduated ...

• Stomach-Tribal-Evny Politics 10 years ago

Kojo, Nkrumah changed the flag to CPP colors in 1964. It was changed back to the original colors by NLC (Ankrah/Kotoka/Afrifah) in 1966.

• Kojo Billy Duncan 10 years ago

I do not remember that but I will investigate further.

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

It gave birth to the present Ghana and not what that man is talking about.
    What A Nation?

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

He is talking about the colonial Gold coast. The British believe the Fante chiefs surrounded their independence to them on that day when they signed the bond 1844 with commander Hill.

In fact, I will dispute this. The chi ...

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

Prof. Ocquaye is stupid and envious. The country Ghana is tersely linked with the declaration of our independence on 6 March, 1957. In 1947 Danquah and co. were still operating under the colonialists in the then Gold Coast. N ...

• Funnythat 10 years ago

What an Idiot you are with your trash. Apparantely your nonsensical response is a concession of defeat in this discussion.Being delutional and in denial won’t change the situation. Go back to History a fool like you having ...

• PEACE 10 years ago

Nkrumah was a great man as u said good

• derrick 10 years ago

Founding Ghana is not a matter of having dreams about names, it's about bringing that dream to fruition, which the Great Danquah was clueless about. Stop confusing us! Who commissioned Theodosia Oko to draw the Gh Flag? Ther ...

• Barimba Ghunney 10 years ago

cpp supporters have distorted history for so long a time.
    Thanks prof. for bringing out the truth, for truth can never be subdued. though it tarries it shall surely come to light.

• DK 10 years ago

Very informative truly. Congrats Prof. Just shows us how endowed we are to have two such great men Danquah and Nkrumah truly men of vision in their own respect.

• Ganyo 10 years ago

Don`t accept wholesale what this Prof says. Read stuff yourself which is how you get educated. What he said is strictly from his myopic point of view.

• truth 10 years ago

prof of lies, where were the so call leaders when the Gas were on the streets dying

• kd 10 years ago

Truth can not be hidden. Lets teach our children,,grand children and great grand children the truth.

Ghanaian need to know the truth about our history

• J.ZAGURU. 10 years ago

MONKEY DE WORK, BABOON DE CHOP. NANA DE WIN, MAHAMA DE CHOP.
    The big issue is CAN THESE TWO LEADERS/PARTIES GOVERN GHANA effectively 1. to provide meaningful jobs, abundant in Ghana, to the teeming 80% unemployed to make li ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

You can not re-write history.
    The questions you should ask yourself are.

1...Was Nkrumah in Ghana before the Riot of 1948?

2.. How was Nkrumah's response to the 1948 Riot opposed to the other members considering he d ...

• KOFI 10 years ago

I appreciate your version; can you please use it as a base to write a proper article with it to help the discussion.I like Prof Oquaye but he's twisting facts because of partisan politics. It's very disheartening.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

I will try Kofi. I will have to get my old books and do more research.

History is a very difficult subject, but we have to learn to put things into perspective at least to help future generations.

Sometimes, it is goo ...

• tigershark 10 years ago

what is the old buffoon saying.ghana
    is not abuakwa state,daquah never loked beyond abuakwa state in this
    perspective he was short sighted.
    its a lie to givedanquah such a credit.
    Ghana was acreation ofthecolonialist.
    it ...

• PAUL 10 years ago

THIS IS A PROF? WOW! BY THAT LOGIC ALL FOUNDERS OF MOST NATION WILL NOT BE CALLED FOUNDERS!!

• KWAME 10 years ago

Help me tell Papa Adjasco that he alone cannot re-write History. Did I hear that he is a Reverend Minister? Then i wonder the kind of preaching that goes on in his church. Thou Shall not bear false witness, the good book says ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

.....The Independent.UK...( their site)

..Exclusive: Edward Snowden leaks reveal UK’s secret Middle-East web surveillance base

The Government also demanded that the paper not publish details of how UK telecoms firms, ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

.....The Independent.UK...

..Exclusive: Edward Snowden leaks reveal UK’s secret Middle-East web surveillance base

The Government also demanded that the paper not publish details of how UK telecoms firms, including BT ...

• J.ZAGURU. 10 years ago

GHANAIAN CHILDREN NEED TO KNOW THE FACTUAL HISTORY OF GHANA WRITTEN BY ACADEMICIANS WHO WERE LIVING AT THE TIME HISTORY WAS MADE to encourage them of proper nationalistic approach to life to stop partisan tendencies. GOOD PRE ...

• NANA 10 years ago

I LIKED THE PROFESSOR'S LECTURE.
    UNFORTUNATELY,HE FAILED TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT KWAME NKRUMAH NEVER RUBBISHED WHAT DANQUAH AND OTHERS HAD DONE.KWAME NKRUMAH WAS ONE OF THE "BIG SIX".
    THE PROFESSOR ALSO FAILED TO DIFFERENTIATE ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

LETS TELL THE TRUTH CASLEY HAYFORD STARTED IT ALL. GOOD COMMENT FROM YOU THOUGH AND TRY MY PIECE ABOVE

• JC 10 years ago

JOSEPH BOAKYE DANKWA IS FOUNDER OF THE NATION not KWAME NKRUMAH, whether we like it or not.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

WHAT ABOUT CASLEY HAYFORD

• berto 10 years ago

You are really sick in the mind and need urgent treatment. Someone who worked with the CIA to betray his own country!!!! Bullocks!!!

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

YOUR SOURCE. I AM CURIOUS.

• berto 10 years ago

Yes. Go on the web and click on "J B DANQUAH and CIA". That is why Nkrumah imprisoned him.

• wear 10 years ago

Or better still, Go to youtube and write Nkrumah´s speech in illuminati...and listern to that.

• Kwame 10 years ago

The first person who tried to fly we are told is Iscarus. Iscarus sew feathers together and tried to fly with them, but crushed. But we can not say that Iscarus invented airplane.
    Doctor Joseph Danquah, Professor Kofi Abref ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

I sometimes wish the NPP changes or die for good. They don't seek Ghana well. At least I am happy to have had a response from you. I enjoyed your piece.

• Absent Minded Professor 10 years ago

nature of Danquah. It took the brilliant Nkrumah to put fire in the hole for Ghana's independence. If we had followed Danquah, Ghana may have attained independence in the 1990's.

• noah nkrumanh 10 years ago

this another idiot. big one indeed

• OMANBAPA KD 10 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS TO NANA SERWAA AMPONSAAH FOR A BATTLE WELL FOUGHT TO DEFEND AND UPHOLD THE HISTORY OF KUMAWUMAN. WITHOUT DELAY, PLEASE APPOINT A PROSPECTIVE OMANHENE TO THE KINGMAKERS FOR CONFIRMATION. WE THE PEOPLE DEMAND A ...

• Akosua Tabuwaa 10 years ago

The Danquah terrorist group felt Ghana was not ripe for independence but Nkrumah wanted it immediately and had bypass the intelligentsia to whip up Independence now with semi illiterates.Thank You Dr.Nkrumah.

• NII TETEY NARH 10 years ago

Once a very stupid idiot fool,always as such.What has this got to do with the celebrations of your tribal grouping 21 years in criminal activities in this country,foolish Ocquaye? What is the sense in this rubbish? Even a don ...

• Chris 10 years ago

History tells us Ghana was founded by the great Danquah and Nkrumah later joined the struggle to continue the trend, thus making Ghana what it is today.let us all as the american said: Do not think of what your Country can d ...

• Walter 10 years ago

Prof, please come again.
    After 56 years, you are now saying this. Where have you been all this while? Do you want me (and for that matter all of us) to believe that except a few of you and your like(i mean Okoampa and co), t ...

• Kofi Boy 10 years ago

My brother stop beating about the bush. The facts are there for all to see. Dankwa and others gathered at Saltpond and made adequate inroads towards independence long before Nkrumah returned to Ghana.

• Walter 10 years ago

My brother, there is no bush to beat about.

You cannot pale into insignificance Kwame's role and contribution.

Please come again.

• Kofi Boy 10 years ago

Yes. Prof. has said that Nkrumah contributed copiously and that he is a great man. But some people had started the independence struggle long before he came. Should that be a problem?

• Walter 10 years ago

Uncle, yes it is true that the independence may have started long before the show boy came on the scene, but it is very wrong when you try and make, irrelevant, Osagyefo's role and contribution.

He, actually, brought about ...

• Kofi Boy 10 years ago

Please do not try to look for agenda. Just look at dates, places, and what happened. If you try to read the professors mind you will miss the point.

• sam 10 years ago

AT WHAT POINT ON THE SIXTH OF MATCH 1957 WHEN THE BRITISH GOV LOWERED THE FLAG AND GHANA'S FLAG WAS RAISED, WAS JB DANQUAH ANY WHERE THERE.THERE IS A REASON WHY NKRUMAH'S STATUE STANDS AT THE AU HEAD QUARTERS AT ADDIS ABAABA- ...

• Black Vulture 10 years ago

This idiot has lost his hair with his brains. No matter how hard these bomb throwers try to desecrate the name of this great man, they will never succeed.Danquah was a CIA agent who betrayed his country.

• FOOTBALLER 10 years ago

THANKS SO MUCH PROF.. YOU HAVE REALLY THOUGHT ME OUR HISTORY NOW...

• Ghanaba Babs in the Diaspora 10 years ago

In the absence of the best mediocrity occupy's the void created.

My vivid memory of this man was his lack of confidence to even deliver a lecture at the auditorium of Univ of Ghana without shaking.

In 1986 this man was ...

• Yakubu Alhasan 10 years ago

talk about what we can do as a country to create jobs; address poverty and increase standards of living; not who founded Ghana. God created it All; Jesus created it All.

• Kwabina Kesse 10 years ago

My father was a staunch CPP so am I but this is a fact we can't chnage

• Dallas 10 years ago

Kwabina Kesse, you need further and better education. Please, educate yourself!

• killer joe 10 years ago

So this prof is now a reverend father,instead of preaching to save his followers, he,s still got eyes on politics.I bet you, he will be looking for a governmental position.Why all this trash?the fante confederation and the bo ...

• ZION AYARIGA 10 years ago

History has been made by all these great leaders,lets recognise them all and move to take the huge task of modern day,to build the country they wanted to see,our education,health and a befitting city to live in...stop all th ...

• Dallas 10 years ago

Which Danquah is mike oquay talking about? Is he referring to the bomb-thrower or the one who went to the queen on the eve of our independence day to tell her that we weren't ready for independence? In any case either of the ...

• KOJO BUHARI 10 years ago

PROF DONT CONFIRM YOUR DEMENTIA WITH ANY MORE OF THIS TRIPE.GHANA WAS BORN ON 6TH MARCH 1957. BEFORE THEN IT WAS GOLD COAST. PERIOD!!

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 10 years ago

-HEAR WE GO.THANK YOU PROF.MIKE OCQUAYE, I NEVER KNEW THE STORY WENT THAT WAY.I HAD TO EXPLAIN TO THE YOUNGER GENERATION HOW IT ALL BEGAN.GOOD HISTORY.A GOOD ONE THERE.

• J H New York 10 years ago

Not true.

• ama 10 years ago

Ghana is Nkruma and Nkrumah is GHana

• Nkawkaw Abrantie 10 years ago

We must never forget our true founding fathers identity.

• Michael biko 10 years ago

Great work, Prof,

• Iwan 10 years ago

“Ghana’s Famous Declaration [of self emancipation] was made in 1947 by Danquah. Prof must realise that this declaratin was made for the Gold Coast not Ghana. The founding of Ghana started with "from now on there is a new ...

• PAPA SHADOW 10 years ago

i am not surprise this is coming from the npp.. self glorified bunch of idiots!! thanks for the history but it wont change anything. the beginning doesn't matter that much.. it's always the end that matters and Nkrumah took G ...

• LULA 10 years ago

Where were the 31 Dec criminals

• Dunaa, Chorkor 10 years ago

Nation wreckers, they won't sleep. This poor attempt to change the face of history won't wash. Trying to read where they have not sown pushed them and the entire nation to the supreme court and for almost a year, no one is br ...

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

This pathetic Ocquaye must have come down Planet Earth to be with us from another Planet; he is lost and confused or mental

- for this Ocquaye to say that Akim coward and terrorist JB Danquah found Ghana, beats the mind; f ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

May be, the Professor is talking about old Ghana Empire. In that case Danquah would about 900-1000 years by now if he was to be alive. Stop re- writing history.

The reason why Africa can not move forward is because of Pro ...

• natogma/zabzugu 10 years ago

I thought I was dreaming when I heard a news item that deawuo agyakum k4 saying that the elephant party was a national party. my goodness! does this man really listens to himself when he talks or he was as usual on a boozing ...

• natogma/zabzugu 10 years ago

this jb danquah man was an evil being who was second in command to an equally evil being called prof abrefa busia. they and their comrades in crime including jake obetsebi lamptey, Edward akuffo addo,ic quaye,teigo tagoe,mala ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

Is this the stuff the so-called professor has been dishing out to his students? This is what is called 'academic dishonesty' and prof Ocquaye is clearly guilty of it.How pathetic he is!!!He should be stripped of his 'professo ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

How old are you? Which school did you attend that you do not know this very basic history of Ghana? Kwegyir Aggrey, Kwaw Ebonyi and Fanti Kings began the fight 100 years before. They paid their own way to London, to argue aga ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

Kobena,i am not under any obligation to tell you my age but at least I saw Osagyefo and was a witness to so many of the historical events that preceded Ghana's independence.My poor history knowledge tells me that Prof Ocquaye ...

• SUHUM SAMAN 10 years ago

Professor Indeed !
    Does not know his history.

• Kobena 10 years ago

Sir,
    Prof Ocquaye only stated historical facts, which are easily verifiable. By the time Ako Adjei persuaded Paa Grant to pay for Kwame Nkrumah to travel from London to Takoradi by boat, the name Ghana, together with the emb ...

• Joy 10 years ago

Even in America George Washington is elevated above the rest.
    This stuff sounds like John the Baptist and Jesus Christ. John preceded Jesus, but Jesus is the Messiah. In the same vein, Danquah preceded Nkrumah, but Nkrumah i ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

I wonder why his CPP is dead!!

• Kpegah 10 years ago

Professor Ocuaye - you never told us this when you were teaching me in Legon. Your notes are still with me to this day. Show how politics transforms good people. Now you are in NPP you are fighting tooth and nail to make them ...

• Abeku 10 years ago

LACK OF KNOWLEDGE OF OUR HISTORY MAKES US VULNERABLE AND A POSSIBILITY OF BEING MARGINALIZED. HISTORY IS A PROCESS AND MUST BE TOLD IN ITS TOTALITY SO THAT FUTURE GENERATIONS WILL APPRECIATE THE TOILS AND SACRIFICES MADE BY T ...

• Cynthia 10 years ago

How did Ghana got its name. Why the name Ghana? Why were those six people ie 'the big six' incarcerated, what role did Paa Grant and all those whose names we cannot recall played in the colonial struggle for independence. For ...

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

Is this a professor? RUBBISH!,RUBBISH!!,RUBBISH!!!!

What history taught and learnt here. Thanks Mr Ocquaye

• kolanut2013@gmail.com 10 years ago

crap and bullshit.

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

I cannot see the point of this argument. Our history tells us all these people had a significant part to play in our emancipation and nationhood. Why are they called the "Big Six" (although even some would argue about the com ...

• KAY DE 10 years ago

A GOOD ONE THERE PROF. BRING OUT MORE. WHERE IS THE ROLE OF RAWLINGS IN ALL THESE GREAT ACHIEVERS. YET HIS ADHERENTS ARE INSULTING THE PROF. NKRUMAH AND DANQUAH ARE OUR HEROES NOT THIS LATTER DAY PRETENDER AND HIS COHORTS.

• ALHAJI KUKRUDU 10 years ago

Listen to this FOOL. Nkrumah founded Ghana on 6th March, 1957. If you like, you can also say Danquah founded Gold Coast but not Ghana because he did not gain independence for us.

• ABU 10 years ago

It's a historical fact and the truth that none can alter,the undisputable historical fact,and Nkrumah never dies.Fourty and one years after he is dead and gone he is forever recognized worldwide with no even a single mention ...

• ABU 10 years ago

Mike Ocquaye must struggle to build his legacy rather than trying to adulterate history,it can't wash.

• Nana kofi- London 10 years ago

THAT WILL NOT PUT FOOD ON THE TABLE...SPARE OUR EARS YOU LAZY PROFESSOR.....

• PIUS KANGAH-TANDOH 10 years ago

MY LEARNED FRIEND PROF GOT IT WRONG. IN FACT, HE IS DAY DREAMING. WHERE WAS DANQUAH STANDING WHEN NKRUMAH, GBEDEMAH AND CO WERE DECLARING GHANA'S INDEPENDENCE? IT WAS THE DECLARATION OF THE INDEPENDENCE THAT GAVE BIRTH TO GHA ...

• ManBelhomme 10 years ago

My friend, in your attempt to correct our learned friend, you rather confirmed what he had said. I think you wanted to say " It was the idea of "self governance now" that gave birht to the declaration of INDEPENDENCE.

• J, K, TAWIAH 10 years ago

Thanks dat was then, but for today DANQUAH is no more. Leave us alone. N we are thinking on some thing important for now dats de verdict of de SC but not dis things

• ManBelhomme 10 years ago

At least we or rather, I have learnt about the colours of the flag. But were the colours really changed after Nkrumah's overthrow in 1966? Really? then my childhood memory has proved me wrong b'cos, I don't ever remember that ...

• Photosy. 10 years ago

It is not how you start but how you end that gives you a standing ovation. Many times we have been told that the end really justifies the means and not the beginning.

In must you can make mistakes along the the way, howev ...

• Citizen Kwaku 10 years ago

Only the fool does not change his mind, learn facts and stop rhetorics, provide counter arguments of facts and dont run to and fro like Kwesi Pratt in argumentative mood.

Where is the facts to support that Nkrumah named t ...

• ohenenana 10 years ago

such grap from phosy

• mr big stuff 10 years ago

AND SO WHAT. U ASHSNTI PEOPLE THINK GHANA IS FOR U PEOPLE. AND SO WHAT IF KWAME N. WAS IN THE COUNTRY, HE GAD BALLS ENOUGH TO STAND AGAINTS THE BRITISH FOR OUR INDEPENDENCE DO SHUT THE HELL UP. FOOL !

• Nelly 10 years ago

Just as Dankuah distorted the history of Ghana, Mike Oquay cannot help but do same. On what did Dankuah found Ghana? Do you think an empty declaration is good enough to found a country? Did Dankuah even live up to the so call ...

• Sani 10 years ago

You no lie before.
    We need that history that tells of feats in science and technology to move our country forward.
    Who invented the mobile phone to be from a country in Africa.
    Who invented your eye glasses, to be from A ...

• CASE STUDY 10 years ago

WHY ARE U GUYS FINDING IT DIFFICULT TO BE SMART HUH? OOOOH NO NO NO WHAAAATTT

• Nana Gyambibi - Jacobuhene 10 years ago

Dear Prof,

Even late Adu Boahene the History Professor FAILED TO DISTORT HISTORY how much less you.

Ghana, our beloved country was BROUGHT TO BIRTH BY OSAGYEFO DR KWAME NKRUMAH. You're just one of those who are finding ...

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

thank you

• mr big stuff 10 years ago

WHO STOOD UP AGAINTS U AHANTI GREDDY ASH JJ U HEAR ME HALLA !IS RAWLLINGS. OUR CONTINUATION OF WHAT KWAME GAVE US IS WHAT JJ BROUGHT BACK TO US ND U PEOPLE WHANT TO MISS IT ALL AGAIN , NOT THIS TIME NOT AT ALL

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Oh! Dear! What is wrong with you lot?
    You can't help yourselves but, to continually distort historical facts and hope it would change our minds?........

That fact is, you called Nkrumah over to be used and do your dirty w ...

• YAW- COLUMBUS OHIO USA 10 years ago

NDC,this is simple history ok.You guys should grow and no that the era of authocratic and revolutionary rule is gone and gone forever.INSULTS AND INTIMIDATIONS CAN NOT PREVENT THE TRUETH ESPECIALLY OUR HISTORY.This is true be ...

• Joe 10 years ago

How about those who signed the bond of 1844 based on which the struggle for indendent started. Professor don't twist history. From the struggle, Ghana was supposed to be indepent in 1944. Say the facts and stop what you are d ...

• Lloyd 10 years ago

Are we preparing for a civil war? Is the 21st.anniverssary a warning message to Ghanaian ? NPP must accept the verdict and their act of intimidation. Kumasi to be Bengahzi in Libya

• kwesi 10 years ago

politics no place for danquah,its too late.

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

The so called founders of Ghana could NOT gain independence of Ghana. WHY? Because they were all corrupt but Osagefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah was capable to active the political independence of Ghana.
    Those political men said "inde ...

• Mr Minister 10 years ago

Prof what are you talking about.You cannot unmake what had happened.Nkrumah never dies. Despite number of great people who died in the struggle for freedom in apartheid in SA,Madiba Nelson Mandela will forever remain the fath ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

YES, DANQUAH, NKRUMAH, ETC FOUNDED GHANA, BUT NKRUMAH WAS THE BOLDEST OF ALL OF THE BUNCH WHO WENT THE EXTRA MILE TO SEEK IMMEDIATE INDEPENDENCE AND FREEDOM FOR GHANA. SO NKRUMAH DESERVES THE CREDIT. LEFT TO DANQUAH THE COWAR ...

• WEAKLION 10 years ago

This is good history that we all can learn . Those insulting Senior Mike are nothing but FOOLS. This is one of the great history that it's good for every Ghanaian to know . It doesn't matter either you are NPP or NDC .

• Kofi, Forest Boy 10 years ago

Please the insults would not help us.Itis TRUE the flag was changed.I can attest to that because I was a member of then YOUNG PIONEER GROUP

• JNR AJASCO 10 years ago

oh ! when will the nation be spared of all these avoidable stress? as far as I know PAPA AJASCO, YOU ARE NOT A PROFESSOR OF History, my Emeritus prof. of History never taught me this, plse come again

• Samson 10 years ago

SO WHAT MIKE OCQUAYE?????????

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

me too i like, the great JOHN MENSA-SABBA...NEVER THING like KWASIA BOUSIA ET GIMII a1 affrifa...apiiitooo for them, wobo wu asan ewu biow ewu bioo.....

• ASEM 10 years ago

PEOPLE SHOULD LEARN TO TALK SENSE AND NOT RUBBISH AS I READ SOME COMMENTS HERE.
    THE MAN IS EDUCATING US AND SEE THE KIND OF COMMENTS SOME ARE DOING.
    TOO MUCH POLITICS IS MAKING SOME PEOPLE
    MAD AND BLIND

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

adze ae oyeyaw be ye wo na waibousuia yinaa abolo oldman bougibugbuger.....Ogyamanase yi speaking nd Amen in great Jesus of Nazereth nd Amen nd Amen!....

• Babe Nayoka 10 years ago

Prof Mike Ocquaye want to redeem NNP by falsifying the history. This is highly unfamous.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

This is pure revisionism by this so-called prof with his childish books!

• Walter 10 years ago

Akadu, i can't help but bring your attention to my reply to Prof's assretion.

I also made mention of the fact that you had, in the not too distant past, 'faced' Okoampa on this very same ridiculous assertion.

I really w ...

• Walter 10 years ago

assertion, i mean.

• Kwamina Andrews 10 years ago

If you have to say this then, it is not true!

• NANA 10 years ago

DOES THE PROFESSOR REMEMBER THE BLACK STARS OF OLD?
    DOES HE REMEMBER OHENE DJAN?
    DOES HE REMEMBER THE RED,GOLD AND GREEN COLOURS WITH THE BLACK STAR IN THE MIDDLE?
    DOES HE REMEMBER THE BLACK STAR SHIPPING LINES?
    A PROFESS ...

• puapua 10 years ago

Even Prof. Adu-Boahen couldn't change the face of history, so keep quiet. Who is a founding father? Is it the one who starts something for his selfish gains and never achieves anything or the one who is selfless and forms a g ...

• donwany 10 years ago

foolish man, what do you know about the history of Ghana. Danquah's name is never found in any political history. Go back to your books. This is absolutely propaganda speech. Danquah came to throw bombs at Nkrumah. God punish ...

• bnb 10 years ago

coz of idiot like dis man, dats why I don't like coming 2dis web.

• GHANABA 10 years ago

You cannot rewrite history old timer. Danquah and his coconut friends would have preferred the British to continue ruling while they ship our raw materials out.

• bbc 10 years ago

u are a big foooooooollllll

• Dusseldorf 10 years ago

WE ARE TIRED OF THIS OLD MEN WHO THINK OTHER PEOPLE ARE BRAINLESS: TO HELL WE NEED BETTTER LIFE & SECURITY NOT YAGASS:

• Sami - South Africa 10 years ago

"Professor Ocquaye is not only a chronicler but a vivid chronicler.." He will use force to drive home what he perceived to be the truth. These were the words of Professor Kweku Folson the former Pro VC of the University of Gh ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Why are these people everyday fighting for recognition?when you perform it is noticed by everyone but you dont blow your horns over the roofs to tell anybody.We know those who did what not those who passed through.

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

Please, stop rewriting the political history of Ghana!Didn`t Busia lead a delegation to London for the British to deny us independence,because, in his myopic mind, the Gold Coast wasn`t fit for independence?Give us a break an ...

• SUHUM SAMAN 10 years ago

Why Ghana will not vote for NPP or anybody who wants Danquah to be Ghana's Showboy.
    Even the SC cannot do it, short of war.

• Kobena 10 years ago

What has that got to do with Danquah researching and proposing the name Ghana in early 1947? Why do you think Danquah spent his personal resources to fight the colonial government? Why did Kwame Nrumah choose "Independence No ...

DR WILLIAM GOD BLESS YOU.THESE MORONS AND BIGOTS ARE PLAY HATERS.
    WHEN THEY SAID NIAGARA HE THOUGHT IT WAS VIAGRA AND WHEN THEY SAID SPAIN,HE THOUGHT ITS PAIN IN HIS ASS.

• peter b 10 years ago

Hi, Ignorant prof,I feel sad to hear u as a prof. making such a comment, where did u get your prof certificate ,

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

A NATION THAT FAILS TO ACKNOWLEDGE ITS HEROES AND FOUNDERS THRUTHFULLY WILL ALWAYS BE DAMNED!!!!!

GHANA HAS FOR A LONG TIME BEEN RIDDLED WITH SOCIALIST LIES AND PROPAGANDA..THUS OUR PRESENT PREDICAMENT!!!!

THANKS PROF F ...

• SLY 10 years ago

So how did Nkrumah managed to overtake you? Your style of practicing politcs shall always land you last to your opponents.

• Iman Eskine. 10 years ago

We are very thankful we have people in the likeness of you who tell it like it is. "Nothing but the truth" But one thing. I believe military regimes that rule for 20 something years like J.J Rawlings did in the guise of a rev ...

• Bank 10 years ago

Whatever you say, Snr. Mike. Nkrumah was/is still ages ahead of your doyen, JB Danquah.

• Gak 10 years ago

No doubt prof, but the fight for independence started Gorden Guggisburg was Governor in the 1930s the fight for self-determination has started....hhmm...u'r a great scholar i agree. All those who fought for independence of th ...

• Bank 10 years ago

I took this to the bank the other day and it didn't cash. So now what?? Lying mofos trying to twist history!!

• Marcus Garvey 10 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians stop insulting the man and learn from history unless you didn't attend JSS OR SSS as well as reading Africa Politics at Legon other than that you will not understand what my lecturer at P.science department i ...

• KWADWO A 10 years ago

By his logic, John Hancock not George Washington is the founder of the USA.

• Peter Pollock 10 years ago

I recently met the gay son of J B Danquah (i.e Paul Danquah born May 25, 1925, United Kingdom). He doesn't want to know anything about his father's achievement.

• KWEKU ALLAH 10 years ago

WHO CARES WHO THE FOUNDER IS SELF CENTERED PEOPLE

• Kwabena 10 years ago

Anytime this dwarf talks, I appreciate why Ghana is at a standstill.

he doesn't make sense at all.

• osei yao 10 years ago

Who are these latterday historians who are bent of rewriting the history of Ghana. By his logic, John Hancock not Gearge Washington is the founder of the USA because when others disguised their signatures to the subversive, b ...

• kwadwo owusu 10 years ago

we ghanains love ghana so much that ghana should be rule by good people and those who think about the people of ghana.Please let onest people get the job than.

• Amenkakure 10 years ago

Prof, you cannot found a nation when it is a colony of another country. No nation on earth recognized Danquach's Ghana until 6th March 1957 and that was when Nkrumah made it possible for the nation to be recognized by others ...

• FRANK 10 years ago

If Danquah was the father of Ghana, why Danquah, Busia and the rest went to England to tell the Queen "Gold Coast was not rip for independence"? Why did they boycott Parliament when Duchess of Kent came to hand charter to Gha ...

COMPARING JB DANQUAH TO NKRUMAH IS LIKE COMPARING BUKOM BANKU TO AZUMAH NELSON.......NUFF SAID!

• BB 10 years ago

No one gives a shit if Nkrumah or Danquah Founded Ghana, what we care about is the poverty in Ghana and the youth not able to find jobs after school, Our leaders betrayed us by selling our home land resource without the citiz ...

• Asem Beba 10 years ago

That's history right there. It can't be twisted nor misconstrued. It can only be told as it is. And these facts are more important to most of us than the unfounded stories and lies that are commonly published on this site.

• KING .u k. 10 years ago

Let those who know the truth speak out and stop all these kinds of stupid. comments because of your political affiliations.

• kofi mensah 10 years ago

WHO CARES ABOUT THE FOUNDING FATHERS OF GHANA? THE CITIZENS OF GHANA NEED DEVELOPMENT, PREIOD. WE IMPORT TOMATOES FROM BURKINA FASO. YET WE CLAIM TO BE THE BEACON OF DEMOCRACY IN AFRICA. THE LIGHTS ON THE TEMA MOTORWAY ARE NO ...

• SSD 10 years ago

IF THIS MAN WAS LECTURING AT LEGON THAT MIGHT BE THE REASON FOR GRADUATE UNEMPLOYMENT. ALWAYS POLITICKING

• Paul Elisha 10 years ago

i sometimes wonder why people try to twist history in order to score cheap political pointS. it is true that it was Danquah who researched INTO THE NAME GHANA, AND DEFENDED IT WHEN THE TIME CAME, BUT HE DID NOT FOUND THE PRES ...

• NAA4U 10 years ago

WHETHER DANQUAH OR NKRUMAH, DOES IT MATTER? IS THAT WHAT IS IMPORTANT NOW? IS THAT WHAT WE NEED NOW?

PLEASE STOP DISTURBING THE LITTLE PEACE THAT WE HAVE.

• GM 10 years ago

Mike Okwiii ..reason like a human being

• k,n,a 10 years ago

There is a professor in the US(Ghanaian) who stumbled upon the truths in British archives. Truths backed by solid evidence . If Oquaye is truely a man of letters.he will not lecture the way he has done.It is sad when people s ...

• Uncle Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

Mr. Ocquaye don't throw sand in our eyes. Let me share some words from Bob Marley's words with you:

Fifty-six (56) years of " Ghana's history can't be wipped away so easily".

Since independence your group has tried t ...

• GM 10 years ago

They just used him and this so called professor did not see it. Why didn't Akofu Addo give that so called lectures? I thought professor Oquaye is an intelligent person but obviously he is not smart at all

• Uncle Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

Maybe that's why Kuffour made every attempt to travel outside the county during each independence day when he was in power.

• Kosoko 10 years ago

The Independence struggle took place from the time of Nana Yaa Asantwaa. These struggle continues till Aborigen Right Protection Society led by Joseph Casely Hayford when a real movement had gathered momentum. Should quote Ha ...

• Time Will Tell 10 years ago

We have seen so many foolish people parading as professors in Ghana. This man is definitely one of them. What difference has he made in the lives of Ghanaians except to join the corrupt bandwagon?

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

A DISAPPOINTED MAN BENT TO TWIST THE HISTORY OF GHANA.

WHO GAVE THIS MAN A LAW PROFESSOR TITLE.

THIS IS THE MAN WHO DUPED THE NATION OF THOUSAND OF DOLLARS AS
    AMBASSADOR TO INDIA

HE IS ONE OF THE POOR BOYS WHO W ...

• Ebo Kobena Africaba 10 years ago

There seems to be no end to the stupidity of these UP/PP/NPP people. Okay, people, Nkrumah did nothing for Ghana. Danquah did everything.It is accepted. Let us move on and build a prosperous nation, a counrty where we can all ...

• kantinka 10 years ago

Jojo I pity you cos you studied government at A level and was not privileged to be a student of the prof to know your history. After your A level what did you do for yourself? Jimii

• nana 10 years ago

AND SO WHAT? We have seen so many foolish people parading as professors in Ghana. This man is definitely one of them. What difference has he made in the lives of Ghanaians except to join the corrupt bandwagon?

• mallia 10 years ago

indeed,you are one of the finest political scientist of our time but l beg to differ on this subject matter.you have been so colonial and very apocalyptic in thought and as it were cultivated deep seed of hatred for Nkrumah.t ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

What is the foundation of Ghana today? it is the Akosombo Dam, It is the Volta Region, it is the independence day, It is the City of Tema, It is the Ghana Airways, the Ghana army etc. Without them Ghana would collopse. Who bu ...

• Daniel 10 years ago

Prof Mike Ocquaye, if you say that you are a Professor, you should know that the word "Founded," that you have used, is not in the dictionary. Look for it in the English Dictionary. The present tense is "find." There is not s ...

• your student 10 years ago

"...British came to declare as the Doyen of Gold Coast politician" - therefore making it so, right? SAD, if that is where you are after the long career teaching the subject that should inform people better.
    What do you call ...

• Daniel 10 years ago

Prof Mike Ocquaye, stop distorting Dr. Nkrumah's and Ghana's history. How much did the NPP pay you to try to destroy the good name of Dr. Nkrumah? Where did you learn your Ghana's history? Danquah was no good for Ghana, is th ...

• papa alajo 10 years ago

Shame on mike nd de npp, maybe i can remind them when nkrumah said de black man is capable of managing is own affairs! They told de white man we r mot ready. Ready, I don't know how u became a prof but u should know mr. Ocqua ...

• TWEEEAAA 10 years ago

This Prof is sick. Danquah might have said it but he inhereted it from the sekondi guys and could not implement it . You are a professor and knows that he who brings an istitution to practice is the patent holder. pls Do talk ...

• Kofi Wusu Dallas USA 10 years ago

I have been commenting on this web how INTELECTUALLY DISOHONEST NPP ELITES were. Prof Oquaye should come again on GHANA's FLAG. CPP had it's own Flag and the country had the red, gold and green with the BLACK STAR indicating ...

• miezan seme 10 years ago

stupid assessment

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

YOU ARE ABLE TO SAY THIS BECAUSE THE MAJORITY OF GHANAIAN HAVE BEEN INDOCTRINATED TO HATE NKRUMAH ABYSMALLY.... NKRUMAH PERHAPS WAS NOT THE BIGGEST BRAIN IN THE WORLD BUT HE STRIVED TO SERVE HIS PEOPLE....THATS THE MARK OF A ...

• FOSTER 10 years ago

Oh Prof. So Danquah conceived and gave birth to Ghana,chose the National colours and gave them to Mad.Okoh to design and gave the words of the National Anthem to Mr. Philip Gbeho to compose?

• Whatever 10 years ago

This country and is people can exist without a flag and an abstract name. However, this country cannot exist if it's without the Akosombo dam, tema city, volta region and lake, northern regions, Ghana Army etc. This foundatio ...

• Ekow. C 10 years ago

Stupid Daquan

• REVEREND 10 years ago

ONLY FOOLS THINK THIS TRUTH IS FALSE. POLITICAL FOODIANS!

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

J.B. Danquah did a lot for Ghana's independence. However, others had already blazed a trail before him.

• REVEREND 10 years ago

ONLY CHILDREN AND POLITICAL FOOLS THINK THIS HISTORY TRUTH IS FALSE.

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

Ghana's original flag was stolen from the Ethiopians and a Black Star added. Ghana needed something more original.

• YUSSIF 10 years ago

I THINK THIS IS VERY LAUGHTERBLE TO HEAR THIS FROM MIKE. GHANA IS FARE BETTER AND BIGGER THAN U AND DANQUAH. GHANA IS NOT FOR ONLY ONE ETHNIC GROUP. WE THANK GOD THAT WE ARE NOW ENJOYING DEMOCRACY UNDER RAWLINGS AND ATA MILS ...

• Obibini Blackman 10 years ago

The Sky is purple
    War is peace
    Slavery is freedom
    Lies are truth
    History can be revised

• OKPONGLO GUY 10 years ago

Mike, you just told the truth

• Whatever 10 years ago

That sounds and definitely is a great lie to me

• nene 10 years ago

Those who made that Declaration of Independence are all Founding Fathers in America”.u said. the furnisher made the art.no doubt many nutrients make a meal but on one or two we depend for our energy most.it feels like they ...

• wofa kokoor 10 years ago

Is the founding of a movement the founding of a state?
    Did that movement lead the country to emancipation? the answer is no

• mawuli 10 years ago

this guy needs some history lessons. ghana had been in existence long b4 inkrumah and jb danquah. we had a collection of tribal based states, the most dominant of which was asante. the british turned these states into a natio ...

• His Excellency 10 years ago

it's extremly pathetic for somebody who calls himself prof to dishonestly n knowingly distort sacred fact just because he's being given d chance to dance as a croacoch b4 a group of hypocrite hen.n assuming without admitting, ...

Thank you Prof. Would you also throw more light on the African liberation struggle. As far as we understand, Ghana was a major platform. Did it start with Nkrumah or pre-Nkrumah?

• Agyaku NYC 10 years ago

For real Dr.J.B.Danquah the first African doctorate the pro independence was the founding father of United Gold Cost Conversion. He, J B Danquah invited Nkrumah from London to become secretary of the UGCC. J B Danquah at the ...

• FACTS 10 years ago

Earlier nationalist agitations also include the formation of the Fante Confederation in 1868 to the Aborigines Rights Protection Society (ARPS) in 1897 which is described as the most important mass protest movement in the lan ...

BEFORE JB DANQUAH. THERE WAS PAA GRANT, THE PARTY BANKROLLER. IT IS ALLEGED THAT PAA GRANT PAID DANQUAH'S TUITION...

• Ebo Kobena Ayinda 10 years ago

No one wants to diminish Dr Danquah. He was the first African doctorate as you put it. Accepted but he was also the first African doctorate fool who thought that the people of the then Gold Coast were not ready for independen ...

• kaka 10 years ago

Ghana was not founded by any of them, it already existed. Shame on you mike

• Law Speaks 10 years ago

Many fought but Nkrumah gained our independence for us. He was blessed.

• ali 10 years ago

,Eventually the stupid professor will theorize that God did not create man and that Danqua did. The day that man was created, God was not there. Who stared the Pan African movement and what about the emancipation of the cont ...

• BEN, US 10 years ago

The crazy thing about all this was that old Mr. Ocquaye spent more than one hour criticizing Nkrumah in the presence of his daughter who had attended the NPP lecture to symbolically extend an olive branch to the enemies of hi ...

If Prof Ocquaye was speaking facts or truth, then neither he would fear nor Samia, Nkrumah's daughter, should be embarrassed.

• MARKS, LAGOS 10 years ago

This is the epitome of intellectual dishonesty.I am only a little above 60 and I am ashamed Ghana has people like this claiming to be profs. Whichever University awarded this man his professorship should be ashamed of itself. ...

• OQUAYE THE FUCKING FOOL 10 years ago

Keep dreaming, you concert man.

• Akos 10 years ago

The Danquah Busia tradition should chill out. Why won'T Nkrumah and the big 6 be honored above them? If it was not for their sellout of the independence struggles to the CIA and the colonialist English kingdom they would have ...

• Wanlov 10 years ago

Life goes on

• woyome 10 years ago

ghana -god has appointed Nkrumah already

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Mike Ocquaye has his facts turned upside down.

• Dommo 10 years ago

Nkrumah is the Founder, Danquah was an imperialist stooge. Majority of Ghanaians accept this. If you don't agree, GO TO COURT!! NPP yabre mo!!!

• sam 10 years ago

NAIL ON THE HEAD.

• sam 10 years ago

AT WHAT POINT ON THE SIXTH OF MATCH 1957 WHEN THE BRITISH GOV LOWERED THE FLAG AND GHANA'S FLAG WAS RAISED, WAS JB DANQUAH ANY WHERE AROUND.THERE IS A REASON WHY NKRUMAH'S STATUE STANDS AT THE AU HEAD QUARTERS AT ADDIS ABAABA ...

• Lawrence Osei Amponsah 10 years ago

This is the first time i am hearing about this. I Know of the national anthem.

• THE JACKAL 10 years ago

WELL DONE PROF FOR LETTING SOME OF US KNOW THE TRUTH.THIS IS HISTORY INDEED.

• Spiky 10 years ago

Which Ghana is Prof Oquaye talking about? The one that Danquah conceived, that was to rubber-stamp feudalism, make the chiefs and royals first class citizens and all others second class citizens (Serfs)or the one Nkrumah conc ...

• Spiky 10 years ago

And let me add: It was Nkrumah's government that made the independence proposal to the British government in a white paper in 1956. Following, again, the victory of Nkrumah's CPP in the 1956 parliamentary elections the Britis ...

• FRANK 10 years ago

Answer these three questions.
    Why Danquah and his opposition henchmen (N.L.M.) went to Briton to tell the Queen that Ghana is no ripe for independance.

Why Danquah and his opposition henchmen (N.L.M.)did not show up when ...