You are here: HomeNews2013 08 17Article 282730

Police shocked by ammunition used in armed robbery

Read Comments Comments (49)

• SUSU BIRIBI 10 years ago

Bravo, keep up the good job; good execution.Those arrested must be dealt with the full strenth of the law.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• KMAN 10 years ago

Dont also forget some of these guns come as far back as PDC periods. Another thing is that the ministry of interior and the police are all culprits in the game somehow. SAVE GHANA NOW!

• facts 10 years ago

When we still have some soldiers and policemen as armed robbers we should expect more discoveries. Security in Ghana is worse than we seam to understand. We need more patroits than brothers and tribesmen in the our forces rec ...

• kofi yesu 10 years ago

Good Work but please stop the BRIBE...Hihihhiiii

• CK 10 years ago

Careless driving, noise making everywhere, bribery and corruption even to the top of govt. filth and dirt, armed robbery and a general disrespect for laws makes Ghana a dangerous place to visit. Am always thankful to God when ...

• DISCIPLINE 10 years ago

WHY WHY WHY GHANA?WHERE ARE WE GOING TO? IS THIS GOVERNMENT DOING THE RIGHT THING?

• Jake 10 years ago

It's under the same weak government that they've been arrested.So fuck off with your politics. This is the result of ALL DIE BE DIE mentality.

• Say Akiba 10 years ago

Aboaba like you so called jake, the only thing you think about in this world is food and NDC no future, I weep for your old age.Miserable being.

• KUKRUDU 10 years ago

THESE DWARFS WILL NEVER LEARN!!!
    NPP SUPPORTERS. THIS IS HOW THEY POTRAY GHANA ALL OVER THE WORLD.

• Daniel Kwadwo Bimpeh 10 years ago

Ghana remains the most peaceful nation on the African contenent. Can u compare nigeria, Garbon, Egypt, southafrica, libya, etc to Ghana in terms of peace? I was born and brought up in nigeria, so, i know very well of what, i ...

• Original Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

Ghanaians are not civilised people, Ken Kuranchie
    General News of Tuesday, 16 July 2013
    Source: peacefmonline

Chronicling the events that unfolded during his incarceration, Ken Kuranchie has expressed doubt about the civ ...

• Original Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

"I was born and brought up in nigeria, so, i know very well of what, i am talking about."..Daniel Kwadwo Bimpeh

Really! How come you did not turn out to be a criminal, if you are really born and brought up in Nigeria as y ...

• ....... 10 years ago

WE'LL NEVER SURRENDER TO FOOLS AND GHANA ILLEGALS.YOU HEAR THAT

• Pelicles 10 years ago

How many armed robbers arrested in Kumasi metropolis, were freed by some NDC officials giving stupid excuses that they are house boys or whatever? Mubarak had freed at least three or more armed robbers saying they are his re ...

• Bonsu 10 years ago

Stop lying, G3 cant kill a fly at 3 .7km.

• OPK-Oxford 10 years ago

You are 100% right Bonsu. Im in the British Army and G3 cannot kill beyond 800meters. It can only incapacitate beyond that distance. Ghana police should stop lying to the general public.

• Tingo 10 years ago

It is a shame for a journalists to mislead the public. I dont even know what to believe in your report. Even a machine gun hardly goes beyond 1200m.

• Seth, UK 10 years ago

Yet, let's view the general content this story carries. Obviously, such events should be taken as complete failure of our gun use and control system. I believe the security forces must be made to report to an independent mon ...

• ghana boy 10 years ago

Its about the guns, not the names or the distance. even if it travels just 10cm, its still and gun and can kill. but we are rather here debating names and distance. typical ghanaman attitude if you ask me.

• oppong london 10 years ago

the useless and stupid ndc party is the real sponsors of armed robbers base in kumasi,the ndcs intention is to recruit these gangs to rob the people of asante and render them poor,they are planning to bring the population of ...

• TRUTH SHALL MAKE YOU FREE 10 years ago

Paa Paaa . Anybody can do this job. "Security Analyst" my foot.

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

Yaw Boateng Gyan stole all these guns from the Ghana armed forces while Asiedu Nkatia organized the shipment of these guns to their foot soldiers. The same people are the costodians of those guns and they will die in their ow ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

The government should put armed robbery and illegal gun running on the high risk criminal list and suspend the legal rights of those caught involved,especially the right to getting bailed when they are arrested.Those whose c ...

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

USE A WISE WAY TO FIND FROM THEM HOW THEY GET THE GUNS. GIVE SOMETHING TO GET BACK SOMETHING, EVEN UNITED STATE OF AMERICA DOES BY GIVE LESS JAIL TERM BY REVEAKING THE TRUTH, SOMETIME SET ONE FREE AND RELOCATE HIM OR HER.

• ACRI Mate 10 years ago

the effective range of the G3 rifle is 400mtrs and not 3,7mtrs the police is saying. Again 12 G3 ammo is not a rifle but rather the ammunition. Police should get it right before talking any how. 12 G3 Rifle would have been ...

• ghana boy 10 years ago

what does it matter? they are all guns which can kill. that should be the talking point. not the wrong name given to the gun

• Nzema K 10 years ago

Dr ening/GH Police remember 3750 means 3km + 750m. approx 4km. pls come outclearly. there may something wrong with the figures.

• BUSINESS DEVELOPER 10 years ago

I wonder why the police have not gone for kennedy Agyapong the erratic and braggist Mp who openly said on air before elections that the security agencies dare not to come to his to face because he is fully armed with many ...

• KWAME POLICE 10 years ago

PLS I THINK GHANA POLICE SHOULD RESEARCH BEFORE THEY POST INFORMATION ON THE NET. 3G CANNOT FIRE THAT THEIR 500-600 PER MINUTE THEY CLAIM BCOS G3 MAGAZINE CAN TAKE ONLY 20 ROUNDS AT A TIME SO WHERE FROM THAT INFORMATION? AGAI ...

• Tingo 10 years ago

The G3's effective range is 300m not 800. The round may travel 800m but not necessarily effective. Secondly the 500-600 per minute claim does not mean 500 rounds have to be fired. It is just talking about the velocity, old so ...

• Sappey-Agboh, Atsiame - Avenorpeme 10 years ago

the last time I checked the manufacturer's (Heckler % Koch) website, the production of this particular weapon ceased in 1997. Its maximum effective range is 500 metres and its cyclic rate is between 500 and 600 rounds per min ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• GHANABA 10 years ago

Kwesi Aning don't know what he's talking about mining companies don't import guns and ammunitions for blasting. Where did he get his information from. Most of the guns and ammunitions were sold by corrupt police and the army ...

• bro t 10 years ago

ask these policemen
    are at the top and theso called mps

• Abagre Akologo-Bongo Ten 10 years ago

Ammunition used in armed robbery has other uses in tribal fighting. More cash arms are stcoked up in Bawku by the Kusasis, Kuka near Bawku by the Kusasis, Pusiga by the Kusasis, Zabugu by the Kusasis, Binduri by the Kusasis a ...

THE SECURITY PERSONNEL ARE ALL OVER BAWKU HAVING GOOD TIME WITH PITO BUT PITO. THEY MUST BE UP AND ABOUT.

AYARIGA AND ATUBIGA MUST BURY TRIBALISM OR WE WILL GET NO WHERE IN THIS ERA.

• Klogo 10 years ago

Did you not hear that the ammunition depot to the military was moved with its armoury from Accra, Michwel camp to Kumasi durig the President Kuffuor era?. The arms are now let loose in the hands of possibly his private army.

• Asantewaa 10 years ago

Most of the ghana police department are part of all this if we don't take care we will be more than Nigeria.

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

This is no big news or surprise! The weapons as being describes were supplied or hired by personnel of our security forces, esp. the Police, to their parteners in crime. That's a fact. The Police Force should investigate this ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

Excellent work by the police, and a heart felt thank you on behalf of decent Ghanaians who hate criminals.

Ghana is still among the safest and most beautiful countries in the entire world, Ghanaians at home have demonstra ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

Ghana boy, you've hit the proverbial nail on the head, a big "right on" to you on this one.

• kb 10 years ago

Government should stop given license and ban the importation of guns into the country.All the forest have been destroyed where is the game for hunting. Is sad to hear a bad news like this God save Ghana from politicians.

• Gudman Maison 10 years ago

I am layman, but are you saying the Gun G3 can Kill within range of 3,750meters Please note 100meters is about the length of a football pitch, what you are saying is over 3.75kilometers . If this is real, then how come this v ...

• kb 10 years ago

Government should stop given license and ban the importation of guns into the country.All the forest have been destroyed where is the game for hunting. Is sad to hear a bad news like this God save Ghana from politicians.

• angle man 10 years ago

we cants even cherck our ourselfs as a nation.yet still we wants to go Nuclear,over our dead body,asked the Japanese and the Russian.we go no how near death would hang on all Ghanian with our lackadisical and lazy corrupted a ...

• Scorpion 8 years ago

Where from these people.and whate is theire aim