You are here: HomeNews2013 08 12Article 282245

Let the young lead - Kofi Annan

Read Comments Comments (69)

• High Priest 10 years ago

A word to Nana Akuffo Addo

• Asiedu Nketia 10 years ago

Mr. High Priest, go and dethrone Amissah Arthur and put Okudzeto Ablakwa there ok? That will demonstrate that you are heeding to Kofi Annan's word.

• BOB TEMA 10 years ago

OKUDZETO ABLAZETO WHO BUT GH MONEY ON HIS CAR AND SOMEONE STOLE HE AND WOYOME WHO IS THE BEST ANIMAL TALK

• OLIVER TWIST - GHANA'S ROTWEILLER 10 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA HAS BEEN ENDORSE BY ALMOST EVERYONE IN GHANA - THE GHANAIAN PEOPLE OF THE 8 REGIONS, ALL THE PARTIES...NOW WHAT ELSE CAN THE THE DWARF DO? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!

ANY HINT OF TROUBLE AND THE RANKS OF GHANA AR ...

• kumbun 10 years ago

time to come npp will said God endorse John Mahama ,

• KOFI ANNAN ENDORSES JM 10 years ago

NANA SHOULD RETIRE NOW

• Yaa Naa 10 years ago

son in-law of KOFI ANNAN by name Hashmel Osman and wife Roberther Annan
    are defraunding people in the States and Kofi Annan shd pay more attention to that,everybody shd watch out for them..

• ABDUL RAHMAN FUSEINI 10 years ago

AND HIGH PRIEST, IF I MAY WHAT HAS NANA AKUFFO ADDO DONE WRONG?
    WHAT THIS MAN SAID HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH NANA AKUFFO ADDO.

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

This is encouragement to the Presidenr's pro-youth policies, including one of the most youthful and educated cabinets.

• ATO 10 years ago

OVER TO YOU, NANA PATAPAA, (NPP)
    KOFI WILL NOT DIRECTLY SAY SO BUT A WORD TO A WISE IS ENOUGH.
    OYIWA HERE YOU AKUFFO ADDO.

• Naya 10 years ago

A wonderful discourse from an international and respectable Global Citizen. I have just been motivated by an ever-inspiring Kofi Annan. Just listen to great WISDOM. Thank you and may God continue to bless you.

• Wayo 10 years ago

NPP are full of old timers and should pave way for the young ones to lead.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

The baby boomers made a difference and brought in the technological age.Do you remember the hey days of the 60s and early 70s? The marches and the protests and they desire to lead and innovate . That is why they are saying to ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

The younger generations are not gifted
    with Talents except the reach the maturity date of the time,They are still young onless you teach them what to do but not themselves. l personally dot buy that Kofi Annan.

• Concern 10 years ago

Wisdom and experience no matter what is with the educated elderly people. Mr. Kofi Annan must be clear of what he means. My Bible tells me if the youth rule the nation suffers. This is typically seen in the life of Rehoboam t ...

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

If we adhere to Kofi Annan's philosophy of "Let the young lead", then he Kofi should not have been allowed to lead the United Nations at all because he was too old. There were much younger and much more brilliant diplomats un ...

• Alhaji, USA 10 years ago

Don't forge your age; let the young people take over. However, governance isn't for school boys and girls. Ofosu kwakye, Fiif Kwettey, and Abrakwa have caused enough havoc.

• kojo 10 years ago

Idiot, what does this got to do with Nana Addo?. It's even better to have a 100 years old man to be Ghana's president than having this corrupt Mahama as a president.

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

You are as sick as Akuffo Ado, that son of ashawo mother.
    What A Nation?

• The ewe priest. 10 years ago

A fetish priest osofo whispered that Nana will not live to see the next election. Over to you, NPP. Start looking for a presidential candidate since the tired Nana Addo will be leaving us soon.

• Tibaa 10 years ago

And how "young" is Nana Akuffo-Addo? Just asking!!!!

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

Unfortunately this generation of young people have become too greedy for material things that they cannot lead.
    People like Dr.Nkrumah and others did it for name and country and NOT wealth.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

The younger people only have the book knowledge without Home Education to me
    is useless,abusing the Elderly using
    all sort of laguages to please himself
    count them off for a baby to advise
    his father No.

• pJ 10 years ago

SOMEONE TELL NANA HE TIME HAS PASS.

• Short Man 10 years ago

the certificateless old and sufficiently ugly man wont lead Ghana.

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

So kapwepwe have you read it clearly? Those words are meant for you, mister toothles shortie.
    What A Nation?

• JFK 10 years ago

Dr. kofi Annan is very right. It is about the same message Prophet T. B. Joshua is advocating as message from the supreme God.

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

Why

• KWAME A. 10 years ago

Thank you very much, but as we may all know the president is doing something about it. So God help him.

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 10 years ago

Kofi Annan is indirectly speaking to the leadership of NPP and most African countries. The NDC so far has demonstrated the call of Kofi Annan right from the appointment of young Ministers by the late Mills (Omane, Okudzeto, e ...

• Nana Ado 10 years ago

NPP is a cult and you have to be a member of the cult to think of leading the party for a presidential election. Ask Quashiga, though he will be scared to tell the truth. Only an Ashanti man from Kumasi
    bantama or manhyia c ...

• ....... 10 years ago

Kofi you heard what JJ said abt abrokwaa and co at the castle.If this is from u I then I feel sorry for ghanaians.this really comes from mentally challenged person.our young ones are now armed robbers high way criminals.stude ...

• Obenfo 10 years ago

The youth in the Western World such as Mike Zuckerberg and others actually have been the source of innovation and drive, given the level of education they are given from early childhood; but I am not very sure if the same can ...

• Florida D/Citizen 10 years ago

The definition of youth needs to be clarified here. In my opinion any behavioral attitude, knowledge, practice or suggestions that are outside the current typical Ghanaian mentality is "youth".
    I spent three months at Home ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Dr Derrick Owusu-Ampofo, an Economic Consultant has called for immediate investigation into operations of state-owned media advertisement and marketing departments operations following the uncovering of gargantuan fraud at Gr ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

ITS ONLY WHEN THE YOUNG EDUCATED GHANAIANS AND AFRICANS DO HAVE THE ABILITY TO DELIVER IN SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION SHALL GHANA AND AFRICA BE TRANSFORMED, TO STIMULATE ECONOMIC GROWTH, EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES,GENERA ...

• Bless Nima 10 years ago

Yes kofi has spoken

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

I believe late president Mills shared this vision and tried to implement it by encouraging young politicians for instance into leadership. Hence the Ablakwas' Ayarigas and the like got into very key positions.

Let's ask ou ...

• 2002 IN MANHYIA PALAC++ 10 years ago

Mr. Anan, do you remember when we met at manhyia palace when otumfuo honored you the busummuru title, I wrote a letter to you asking the same and similar questions question?

• KOFI 10 years ago

So why don't you resign your position as Chancellor of the University of Ghana and give the post to Zita Okaikoi or Ablakwah?

• koo 10 years ago

Akuffo Addo give way. ALAN 2016 ooooooo

• ...... 10 years ago

Hei Bayifor Ba go kill Mugabi of Zimbawe.

• Tony 10 years ago

In Ghana when old politicians teach the youth to insult elders, what do you expect from the youth. When Akuffo Adoo teaches Anthony Abayirfa Karbo, and Sam Awuku the "ALL DIE BE DIE" mantra, what do you expect. When Kennedy A ...

• Pee 10 years ago

Today I said to u that those wise ideas were giving to you Kofi Annan by God Jehovah. Many Men of God have prophetised those issues. May The Lord Jesus continue to give you constructive ideas for Ghana.

• .... 10 years ago

not to pocket Sadam Husein oil money

• koo 10 years ago

Now is clear Born to lose Nana Addo go on retirement. John Dramanih Mahama rules. John Alan kwodow kyermateng is our next president.

• ABDUL RAHMAN FUSEINI 10 years ago

I AM SO MUCH INSPIRED BY THIS HON. MAN.
    I AM INFACT PROUD OF HIM AND WILL CONTINUE TO BE.

• Issah Yahya 10 years ago

Young people lead Ghana for 20years amidst murdering peoples' loved ones during the revolution. What did we gain. Ghana went down and down and down. The so called youth murdered the old for nothing

• ...... 10 years ago

HUMAN RIGHTS ABUSES
    In addition to the 3 judges (who were not proven to have committed any crimes in a court of law) the following also were, innocently killed and today the innocent (from all tribes) blood ; still speaks an ...

• Salutation 10 years ago

Akoffu Idiot and his NPP group are "delusional"

• Goodadvice 10 years ago

We respect you very much. But much as we want the young ones, we want the intelligent ones, well bred ones from homebwho will not be insulting their elders like Mahamas team. We want intelligent young ones who will develop ou ...

• IBF - Canada 10 years ago

Finally, there is one sensible person left to speak something reasonable to read after so many rubbish we have been reading. I agree with you uncle Kofi.

• Sam 10 years ago

Kofi Annan,
    How old were you when you became he UN BOSS? Were you he youngest? Get this story Kofi Young Annan: A young lad was enstooled as a king somewhere in Ghana, mabe during the time of Yaa Asantewaa or Ntim Gyakari. T ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 10 years ago

The man went two times as an old and grey UN boss and now he is talking about the young leading. Why did he not offer his position to a young man or there was none?

Ghana needs mature men to lead. Kwame Nkrumah was 47 when ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Thank you for your inspiring words. I think we have leaders, like Nana Akufo-Addo, who believes in the youth; he believes in giving the youth of Ghana and Africa the voice and the chance to excel. And this is why Nana should ...

• no 10 years ago

Ghana needs to grow up especial the ministers who
    think ghana belong to them and wasting ghana money on girls.

• KOFI 10 years ago

Resign your post as Chancellor of the University of Ghana and give the post to Ablakwa or Zita Okaikoi.

• kingnant 10 years ago

this is a revelation from God through Mr Annan but our Leaders are corrupt.

• SHAKARA 10 years ago

kofi kASA

• Nana Yaw Ofori Koranteng 10 years ago

Thank you, Mr. Kofi Annan. You couldn't have said it any better. This is the problem facing Africa in general, and in particular Ghana. Our elderly politicians have always held on to their positions, thinking that they only h ...

• Gold 10 years ago

Goodness Gracious God, Joy News what kind of news reader is that? Nothing personal against her but she is simply not good enough.

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

Nhyira nka wo....ma oye wanwa blessing must come, upon u et yr nation gaana with the spirit of peace, in great name of Jesus christ with Amen!..... nd the prsident Mahama is the winner...of 2012 presidensal election...nd Amen ...

• Kwaisi appiah 10 years ago

Hahahahah nana u hear?

• KOFI ASANTE 10 years ago

MR KOFI ANNAN, THANK YOU.BUT WHAT IS KILLING US FIRST IN GHANA IS THE RAMPANT CORRUPTION AND THE GROSS INEFFICIENCIES IN OUR SOCIETY
    WHAT YOU SAID SOUNDS GOOD BUT ITS A TYPICAL LECTURE

• Concern 10 years ago

I respect Kofi Annan but he must explain more what he means by the young. For example, he must help us to know the age limit, educational background, and what they ought to achieve in life to qualify them as leaders. I don't ...

• GHANAIAN OBSERVER 10 years ago

CONFUSED ANNAN AND A FAILED MIDDLE EAST PEACE NEGOTIATOR. YOUR ULTERIOR MOTIVES OF YOUR SO-CALLED GIVE YOUTH CHANCE IS INDIRECTLY TELLING THE SUPREME COURT TO KEEP MAHAMA. THINK TWICE OLD MAN ANNAN.

• ACRI Mate 10 years ago

Very good and mature write-up but at a wrong time. The current political situation frowns on this very late article. If so then service chiefs and those in government should all be young ones ranging from 25 to 45 years. ...

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

If Kofi Anan was to endorse thief Mahama's presidency then he is looking for war. No one wants a junk president hanging on to power by errors and mistakes as indicated by Afari gyan to be a president of one's nation. Mahama i ...