You are here: HomeNews2013 08 08Article 281831

Voting not a God-given right – Law Prof 'schools' Lithur

Read Comments Comments (156)

• K. Boateng 10 years ago

Kwasi Prempeh, why don't you direct your sermon to your Akuffo Addo who is captured on record stating that “In emphasizing the importance of elections, it must be pointed out that the sanctity of the ballot is and must be s ...

• Frimpong, USA 10 years ago

Some of these so called learned Ashantis are so stupid and biased in their thoughts that they only see and comment on their opponents and leave out their own. That's what they did with the collection of the so called evidence ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Source: Daily Guide...

All of a sudden nonentities want to portray to the world how close they were to the late President.

Those who had to chat with him for one hour everyday, those Deputy Ministers who had to call him ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Who takes Tony Lithur seriously besides NDC foolsoldiers ?

The man was heard loudly and clearly on GBC TV saying that he was totally confused with the wits of Dr.Bawumia and the weight of his evidence.

So what legal arg ...

• moyo 10 years ago

The so call America Professors are simply junior Lecturers in Ghana. Any Phd. holder who lectures in America is call a Professor. Ghana and the UK, he will not be called a Prof. This Prempeh has not said anything. Ask Prempeh ...

• liv 10 years ago

Are you familiar with Seton Hall University?

• K.Twum 10 years ago

So NPP and it's supporters mean to tell the whole world that they did not find anything wrong with their own counsel's address but yet they found everything wrong with the respondents lawyers? Wow!!!

• Simple Man 10 years ago

Voting right “fundamental”, “inalienable” and “god-given”: a reply to Prof. Prempeh

Prof. H. Kwasi Prempeh is a man I admire so much for his keen interest in democracy, development and public affairs. On Wednes ...

• K.Poku 10 years ago

I have read with delight the commentary by my social media friend and interlocutor Justice Srem-Sai, which reacts to a comment I posted on my Facebook wall on Wednesday, August 7, 2013. Because Mr. Sai’s commentary unfortu ...

• moyo 10 years ago

The Prof should read simple man's contribution to the topic and he will be better of than where he started. Thank you once again for that. I am really impressed

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Just posted this below before seeing this link and the response of HKP posted by K-Poku. I think I have said in few words what HKP had said in very many words.

Simple Man,

Yours is a brilliant contribution on the evolut ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

First time I have heard of it.

Wonder whether it is worthy of the designation of a university with Prof Prempeh on its books spewing forth such nonsense.

• william 10 years ago

'Schooling' Tony Lithur? Because of PHD title or because he is based in the USA? Another cheap attention seeker. If he was so good he should have come to Addison's aid. Or did he adivise him wrongly? Mr. law professor, 'vox ...

• DONBOLI 10 years ago

God not dont ask people, he knows everything . Lithur shouldnt have said it if he belief in God. God dont ask people to do things. Stupid people will use his name to kill people that is he said you serve him not he serving yo ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Prof Prempeh is absolutely right. There are few natural rights or God given right such as the right to life. though some use scriptures to claim certain rights are God given. I agree with the Prof that Tony Lithur got that w ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

What is the meaning of fundamental?

• BRIAN WILLIAMS 10 years ago

TONY MEANT ITS A GOD GIVEN RIGHT SO DAMN THE RULES, REGISTERED OR NOT, ALL VOTES EVEN THE FRAUDULENT ONES MUST COUNT. THIS IS THE MENTALITY OF THE RULING NDC:WE OWN THE COUNTRY AND WE WILL DO AS WE LIKE. THIS PROFOUND DISRESP ...

This is an exaggeration isn't it? Bawumia in the witness box in response to a question from a Judge said they wanted 4 million plus votes to be annulled. Addison in his written and oral submissions says he wants 3 million plu ...

• SHUTTLE @ LEEDS 10 years ago

Though the respondents tried hard to obstruct justice by for example preventing the court to order Afari Gjang to tend in his stinking original pink sheets which would have shown us the magnitude of fraud that Ghana was faci ...

The Asokwa Pink sheet! You guys just don't get it.

Brian Williams read this piece from a simple lawyer not "Professor" of Law.

Voting right “fundamental”, “inalienable” and “god-given”: a reply to Prof. Prempeh
    Prof. H. Kwasi Prempeh is a man I admire so much ...

• DONBOLI 10 years ago

Stupid man think ghanaians are stupid. Everybody has the right for live not votes. NDC biggest problem, they alway try to cheat by all means. Filling ballot boxes is not voting and God didnt ask you to. He cant speak and you ...

• bagged 10 years ago

The President can sign on the dotted line for you to be executed! So much for God-given.
    There really is no such thing as god-given right, it all depends on where you are you are at the material time.
    In the UK where you ...

bagged or whatever you call yourself, you are right that there nothing like absolute right. God given or natural right only means it must not be taken away lightly. Yes, there are countries including the US where death penalt ...

• boneheard 10 years ago

Mr Prempeh take your stupid book long nonsense elsewhere. Anything that is man made is God made. If you believe in the bible it is written where Jesus was confronted with the question of politics. Please tell me what his answ ...

• Fifi Orleans-Lindsay, Surrey England 10 years ago

Mr Bonehead demonstrates his "boneheadedness" here for all to see.

Even if you are a devout Christian, you cannot say that "anything that is man made is God made" and keep a straight face! More importantly, the concept o ...

As a rule, I've been keeping away from the circus in Ghana and its outfalls. I just want to note that its gratifying to note that HKP has found time to put some sanity into the clowning that is going on.

Those who haven't ...

• KWADWO A 10 years ago

Read below.
    A Principle of The Traditional American Philosophy

3. Unalienable Rights - From God
    ". . . endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights . . ." (Declaration of Independence)

The Principle

1. ...

• PK 10 years ago

I usually like what Andy-K has to say. But on this occasion, he sounds completely oblivious of the fact that many legal principles, including inalienable rights, natural justice, rule of law, trace their origins to Religion a ...

Kwadwo,

Thanks for your post. I was reading the American Const. before I entered sec. schl. And as a Pol. Science major, I am fully aware of the claims made as to the origins of such inalienable rights of Americans. They w ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

You are all wrong. The right to vote is an inalienable right as long as equality is concerned which also goes to inform ' ones free will' in that regard all men become equal which is their God given right.

According to lit ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

There you go. Contradicting yourself in the second paragraph.

• Mo Nkyerni 10 years ago

Lithur wants to use God to as a as a defence from electoral malpractices. What he is driving at is, if it is electoral malpractice then, the supreme Court has no jurisdiction and no vote must be declared invalid because it a ...

• KWADWO A 10 years ago

Check the meaning of God's given right by the American constitution as stated below. Prempeh should go back and study the the constitution of America before trying to school someone. I am sorry for his students.

"A Princip ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

Where in the Constitution of United States is it stipulated that the RIGHT TO VOTE is a God given right.

If it is, your infant child will craw to go and vote.

If it is, there will be no Voting Rights Law.

Thomas Jefferson wrote in the American Declaration of Independence, “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men (and women) are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Right ...

• Okonko Palm 10 years ago

probably after checking the facts you seem to come to a different conclusion from Professor Prempeh,Perhaps you now recognize that the term "God given right" as a metaphor or semantics.That is what makes the professors argume ...

• Kwesi Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

THE CONSTITUTION

OF THE

REPUBLIC OF GHANA

IN THE NAME OF THE ALMIGHTY GOD

We the People of Ghana,

IN EXERCISE of our natural and inalienable right to establish a framework of government which shall secure for o ...

• K.Twum 10 years ago

Let's be real here.Who created us?God. Who gave us the thumb or whatever we use to vote? God. Can someone force us to vote? No. Why? because is our God-giving right to take part of any constitutional law regarding an election ...

• K.Twum 10 years ago

correction:

• Bimpong 10 years ago

Frimpong what is actually wrong you and others that think the way you do. Why can't you submit whatever you have on this forum in a civilized manner. I mean submitting your contribution or criticism without insults. What have ...

• Bimpong 10 years ago

Bimpong

Date:2013-08-08 07:20:11

Comment to:Re: KWASI PREMPEH & HIS NONSENSE

Frimpong what is actually wrong with you and others that think the way you do. Why can't you submit whatever you have on this forum in a ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

lithur just combined common sense and the constitution enGrained on electoral laws to argu his case and he has done well by exposing dr bawumia's clueless knowledge about the common understanding of electoral laws in ghana.

• KUKRUDU 10 years ago

FRIMPONG - I BEG TO DISAGREE - WELL NOT QUITE!!! IF WE DROP THE WORD 'ASHANTI', I SURE WILL AGREE WITH YOU.
    I AM SORRY TO SAY THIS - GETTING A DEGREE IN THE STATES IS AS EASY AS DRINKING CHATWATER!! AND BEING MADE A PROFESSO ...

• SEAL 10 years ago

Nothing prevented the respondents from also pointing out alleged "irregularities" in the petitioners'strongholds. That would have been very interesting indeed. In would have rather boosted the petitioners'case as an admission ...

Justice Srem-Sai replies "So call Prof"
    Prof. H. Kwasi Prempeh is a man I admire so much for his keen interest in democracy, development and public affairs. On Wednesday evening, the good law Professor made an observation on ...

Simple Man,

Yours is a brilliant contribution on the evolution of fundamental rights, and I wish many readers read it.

You are absolutely right in your lucid exposition but I guess, you, like most, has missed the essen ...

• YF 10 years ago

So you are not an Ashanti ? Where from this name? You steal everything including names and even a clause to add to the constitution of Ghana to make it look real.Ayigbefuo mo ye shame to where you came from, the only anti Gha ...

Spot on mate. Nice one.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

I am yet encounter an African 'prof' who acts like a western prof. While the African prof will spin issues to support his favourite the western prof will treat the issue on its merit.

Education is the bane of Africa. Money ...

• KAY TEYE 10 years ago

WHERE DID YOU GET THAT FROM STUPID SO CALLED SGT

it is nothing new that the great minds and leaders of the Akans are being continuously persecuted , killed or slandered by non Akans at the drop of a hat , now the time has come for freedom from these rivers of Babylon , the ...

• ohara fii 10 years ago

You want to know where he got that from,it came from KWASI PREMPEH. Hypocracy is killing african intellectuals that makes the white counterpart not to take us seriously.Its a disgrace for kwasi Prempeh not to have heard it co ...

• KUKRUDU 10 years ago

SGT IS RIGHT!!! AFRICAN PROFESSOR IS AN EMPTY BARRELL - ESECIALLY THE MADE IN GHANA & THE USA ONES!!!

• 007 JAMES BOND 10 years ago

Waoo!!!!!!!!!!!! K.Boat,this is what I call (smartness).You are really smart.Thank you.

• PK 10 years ago

All that long quote from Nana doesn't answer the issue Prof. Prempeh is raising. To the extent that any political system is man-made, so are the rights flowing therefrom. Lithur was wrong about the right to vote being God-giv ...

• SEAL 10 years ago

Oh, Ghanaians in typical fashion insulting each other in the name of politics.

Accept it or reject it voting is not a God-given right, period. Is there any instance of voting in the Bible or the Koran? If so, kindly enligh ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

This K Boateng guy is such a moron. Either he did not read the the whole statement. Of the Prof. or did not understand what he read. It is the man made constitution that determines who should vote or not.That is why crazy pe ...

• Nelson Mandela 10 years ago

".......God-given right of a citizen casting his or her ballot". You just learned from the Professor's explanation that voting is not a God-given right but a right emanating from positive law and then you repeat same in your ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Count God,s name from your foolish
    delibration, you crooks.

• Ghana 10 years ago

Every benkoto like this idiotic K Boateng think they are clever when they don't even understand what they quote. What you quoted here has nothing to do with what Professor Prempeh is talking about.

• Truth 10 years ago

Why did he not attack Akuffo Addo who is credited with that statement?
    Another stupid Ashanti/Akyem idiot professor. Stay in your shell at that school in Newark, New Jersey. You could have been in Addison's shoes sweating l ...

• hermit 10 years ago

Who ever you are your attack on personality and not the argument is pathetic. Another of the ghanaweb idiots who jump on any thing and start raining insults without having a deeper understanding. this is not the place for foo ...

• GHANABA 1 10 years ago

Tony Lithur is combining Law and religion.I guess this guy is totally confused,Mr.Prempeh should not waste his time to teach such an ignorant

• EBO MENDS, NEW YORK 10 years ago

Was Nana Akufo-Addo confused when he said exact same thing after the elections? I don't remember the learned Prof. coming out to "School" Nana then. This is the selective outrage that is killing our country and people. I am ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Who the hell gave a doctorate to such a fool. I will not even discuss this topic.
    I wish Ghanaian reporters stop this tittle worship and starting articles with life accolades of their subjects.

On what basis is the EU t ...

• K. Boateng 10 years ago

Kwasi Prempeh was one of the guys with Asamoah Boadi who joined the NPP in 1999-2000 with their deceptive CDD claiming to be neutural but were cynically working behind the scenes with the NPP to win power with skewed and slan ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Boateng.. if we do not have a fundamental right to vote, then let us tell the military to take over. I can actually derive the right to vote from several natural laws, but these whole issues of natural, positive, bad laws are ...

• OPPONG 10 years ago

ANOTHER MANKANIFUFUO AND GARITO PROFESSOR. ABI NANA PROMISE HIM FOR MINSTERIAL APPOINTMENT SO EVERYTHING NO THINK BEFORE HE TALK.

• kusi 10 years ago

why is it that this stupid idiot did not come to be counsel for this thieves .

• Marquis 10 years ago

I believe voting is the basic fundamental requirement for democracy or constitutional governance to be effective. So if the citizens dont have the God given right then we really dont need parties and people to lead us.

• DAN 10 years ago

unless your a convict in usa( ndc lawyers) you have no right to vote..

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

There was a long line of souls before the gate of Heaven and Hell. Waiting on line beside each other were two residents of New York City, a taxi driver and a priest and they started chatting to kill the time. Finally, it was ...

• DALLAS TEXAS 10 years ago

NPP people are just laud but knows nothing. Retroactive penalty or punishment is legal term. Gloria Akuffo has to go back to law school ano wonder she was working under Akuffo Addo (a pocket lawyer) without a certificate. Ash ...

• TEXAS 10 years ago

Prof u are another idiotu, another stupid ashanti go do a little bit of literature so u can know how to public speak and do persuasive argument in law. The constitution is "ALMIGHTY"so the right to vote is fundamental and can ...

• Yaw(Virginia) 10 years ago

NDC Fools if you listen to the esteemed Baylor University and Yale educated legal luminary, you may learn a thing or two. You NDC guys are so stupid you're simply irredeemable. The man will not waste his time indulging nincom ...

• Adom 10 years ago

That same Prempeh man told akuffo Morning Cloud Addo to do a press conference after filing a suit at the supreme court. His views are taken so seriously by NPP that he has led them into a quagmire. But one thing so funny abou ...

• George 10 years ago

thank you for a very factual observation.

• Chris 10 years ago

Rights which are alienable are rights automatically endowed by birth. The right to vote in a particular jurisdiction is a right flowing from birth and since been born is a right from God, such rights emanating from creation ...

• Robin Hood 10 years ago

We told you so NDC that your so-calees legal luminaries are hollow and half- baked but you insulted us.Some of us wonder who in his right mind will task poorly-trained Tony Lithur and Abraham Amaliba,pathetic third class lawy ...

• KPOSEGI 10 years ago

HE CALLED HIMSELF APROFESSOR? SHIIIIIT AND NO COMMENT. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHHAHAHAHAHA

• Kay 10 years ago

He doesn't call himself a professor, he earned it. You retarded ndc man!

• HENRY SAAH 10 years ago

Another follish Ashanti retarded idiot! You mother fucker shit eater did not see the bible quotations of your useless wee smoker Akufo Addo,but has found it strange for the NDC lawyer.Stupid things like you are the problem Gh ...

• Allotey 10 years ago

If this article was meant to show that Mr. Lithur's statement was incorrect then I am afraid I can't get it. I dont care whether the Professor is a founding member of... wee growers association or whatever. The article is sim ...

• dada 10 years ago

k.prempeh has a good record.go back to legon and ask of him.even in the u s,he excells .his academic record is uncomparable.ghanaians should be proud to have such an intelligent guy. listen to him and don´ be bias

• George 10 years ago

i'll never be proud of a tribal bigots and intellectually dishonest fools like K.Prempeh and co.
    fire burn them all!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is Freedom God given or made made? Who and what is God and how does he involve himself in the affairs of man? The context of God Given can not mean anything more than the rights of a free man. If the Constitution enshrines th ...

• Opoku 10 years ago

Exodus 18:20-21 Teach them the decrees and laws, and the way to live and the duties they are to perform. BUT SELECT CAPABLE MEN FROM ALL THE PEOPLE-MEN WHO FEAR GOD, TRUSTWORTHY MEN WHO HATE DISHOSNEST GAIN-AND APPOINT THEM A ...

• KOIT Pice 10 years ago

Tell your nPP self seekers to go back and learn the truth. Ghanaians have seen their lies and this is pushing them further beyond the middle of the forest. Tell the woman petition spokesman her personal respect and dignity ar ...

• Appletus 10 years ago

What did Tony say exactly? Sometimes at these highly charged presentations people are bound to say things otherwise. Who does not know that voting is a constitutional right? Of course first year Law students should know ...

• Woatsiawo Kwabla/ atl,ga. 10 years ago

WE ARE REDUCING OURSELFS BY QUALIFYING AND CALLING ANYONE WHO SPEAKS IN FAVOUR OF NPP A PROFESSOR.MOST OF THESE PEOPLE WASH DISHES/PLATES AT GOLDEN CORAL AND BURGER KING RESTAURANTS.

• Ernest 10 years ago

if something is fundamental it means God given. something which is right of someone means his God given right.
    This is common sense, when u people travel and reach that HELL country which legalised gay and lesbian, u dont sp ...

• Isaac Abrefa 10 years ago

Mr. Prof, I do not agree with you at all. When you say constitutional right, it literally means ones human right. In Christian and Islamic countries our human rights are seen as our existence that emanates from God. These are ...

• Look 10 years ago

A Law Prof indeed. What the fuck is he talking about? What is his point?
    After importing mankani fufuo and Kusie meat to the States to eat,that's is all he can produce.

• kwasi prempeh 10 years ago

WHEN AKUFFO ADDO SAID ´´ THE BATTLE IS THE LORD´S´´ IS THE LORD COMING DOWN TO
    VOTE FOR HIM OR GHANAIANS ??????

• Solomon Dormenyo Quist 10 years ago

What is the problem with these Ghanaian Professors in the USA. Does he seriously follow events as they unfold within the country in which he lives?. We must always be grateful to the Almighty that these learned men are not w ...

• Osabere kotoko 10 years ago

absolute nonsense! How can there be any sambelance of democracy if there is no right to vote? Where do positive right emanate from? Natural right? And where do constitutional rights come from? If you want to make a name for y ...

• samo jewellery 10 years ago

If u need 18 karat yellow n white gold rings for yr wedding n engagement.....search samo jewellery on facebook for more pictures n attached prices...prices are moderate cos we do the mining ourself....we are located in kumasi ...

• Peter 10 years ago

hello ghana, don't waste your breath on this empty prof, he teaches in a backyard community college just like okoampa ohoofe.
    in schools like that, the students are usually not intellectually engaging.
    but mark my words; if ...

• Ken 10 years ago

If you don't know something please ask. Communities colleges in the US don't offer any law. Unlike where you are, law in US is a graduate program, to say that the Prof teaches at community college just shows your ignorant and ...

The so-called Professor is disgracing himself and Seton Hall. I doubt he teaches law because what he said was a blunder. Below is the preamble of Ghana's constitution:
    THE CONSTITUTION

OF THE

REPUBLIC OF GHANA

IN ...

• K.Poku 10 years ago

I think you didn't understand what the Professor said. One he doesn't disagree with you as voting being our fundamental human right. What he doesn't agree is voting being "God given right". To him there is a difference betwee ...

• stev 10 years ago

A Professor who doesn't understand Ghanaian constitution. Which kind of Law is he teaching in US?

• NAA4U 10 years ago

MR LAW PROFESSOR, DOES YOUR COMMENT REALLY MATTER? HOW IS WHETHER GOD-GIVEN OR NOT GOD-GIVEN AFFECT THE ISSUE AT STAKE THAT YOU SHOULD COMMENT ON IT AND SCHOOL LITHUR.

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN GOD-GIVEN AS USED BY LI ...

• NAA4U 10 years ago

WHY DONT YOU COMMENT ON THE SHAMEFUL PEFORMANCE OF YOUR LEAD COUNSEL ADDISON BUT RATHER COMMENTING ON WHAT YOUR OPPONENT LAWYER HAD SAID?

• Koby 10 years ago

A professor who talk like an Illiterate

• Seko 10 years ago

the EC officials turned people away because their figer print could not be picked by BVM. Where was the God given right to those victims. Ghana will remian underdeveloped and be exploited by Chinese till the second coming of ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 10 years ago

PLEASE,MAY GHANAIAN LAW PROFESSOR KWASI PREMPEH JUST TAKE A CLOSER LOOK AT THE PREAMBLE OF GHANA 1992 CONSTITUTION AS BELOW AND TO MAKE HIS OWN ASSESSMENT OF HIS PURPORTED STATEMENT THOUGH IT WAS LEGISLATION BY HUMAN-BEINGS B ...

• ODIKRO 10 years ago

DO YOU BELIEVE IN GOD AT ALL KWASI PREMPEH? IF YOU DO NOT BELIEVE IN CHRISTIANITY SO BE IT. STAY AS YOU ARE. IF A CHRISTIAN BELIEVES THAT WE ARE ON THIS EARTH BECAUSE OF GOD AND WHATEVER WE ENJOY IS BY HIS GRACE, WHAT IS YOUR ...

• KUKRUDU 10 years ago

YES - YOU CAN BE A PROFESSOR IN THE UNITED STATES - A VERY EASY PROCESS. COME TO EUROPE & YOU WILL SEE AND UNDERSTAND WHAT IT TAKES TO BE A PROFESSOR.
    JUST LIKE AMERICAN DEGREES - WE DON'T THROW DEGREES AT EVERT TOM, DICK & ...

• K.Poku 10 years ago

Massa talk sense and stop this Europe and America universities comparison nonsense.

• KUKRUDU 10 years ago

I AM SORRY BUT I AM TALKING SENSE. WHETHER YOU AGREE OR NOT, IT IS A WELL KNOWN FACT ALL OVER THE WORLD. THIS HOWEVER DOES NOT MAKE THE GOOD UNIVERSITIES LESS COMPARABLE. COME TO GERMANY,FRANCE,AUSTRIA,THE UNITED KINGDOM AND ...

• K.Poku 10 years ago

Have you sat down to think that may be these countries you mentioned are not interested in admitting these foreigners to full professorship? From what I know in America, to be become a Professor, you should have attended one ...

• KUKRUDU 10 years ago

Still you are wrong!!! We have the LSE,OXFORD, CAMBRIDGE, LONDON, SORBONNE,UNIVERSITY OF BERLIN to name but a few. Yes Yale is a top uni but the issue still remains. Any IDIOT with a little effort can be a professor in the St ...

• Dan K 10 years ago

Is he one of the SC judges. In my opinion he is prejudging the case already. I may be wrong but that is what my common sense tells me. Afterall aren't we all waiting for the SC to make judgement. Unless he wants to pronounce ...

• kojo 10 years ago

ok i agree wt d prof but should d votes be annuled bcuz the presiding ofcer did not sign when the n(dc/pp) agents signed and their reps at the collation centers did not raise an issue?

• Okonko Palm 10 years ago

These are arguments about jurisprudence transposed into the political arena for political expedience.The old arguments about the values of natural law and positive law is being twisted as if the on going debate is now settled ...

• DC insider. 10 years ago

Kwasi Prempeh. I am happy to hear you on the news. I support your opinion. I

It's a shame a so-called law professor does not know the constitution of his own country. Please read the preamble of Ghana's constitution:

THE CONSTITUTION

OF THE

REPUBLIC OF GHANA

IN THE NAME OF THE ALMIGHTY GO ...

• Prof. Prempeh Is Right On the Source 10 years ago

Professor Prempeh is correct on the point that God is not the source of our Voting Rights. However, it is worth-noting that the Voting Right is one of the most guarded of our Civil Rights by our Constitution.

One can b ...

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Constitutions, democracies, governments and elections are part of the human condition. These are human institutions which have their own inherent flaws. Even where Solomon had to adjudicate on a matter of rights, he was opera ...

• Opoku 10 years ago

You are making a mistake in the point of slavery. Kidnapping, forcing someone to work or selling is and have always been evil to God. The only condition to be a slave in the old testament is when on does not pay his creditor ...

perhaps you are not very familiar with the scriptures. Please take your time and read through from Genesis through to Ruth, and Judges very carefully. It might take you a few years to complete but is worthwhile.

Read the ...

• Opoku 10 years ago

You can not study the bible as if you are studing literature, how then do you expect to understand God and his ways?

It is not everyone who studies the Bible does it to "understand God and His Ways" my brother.

There are two ways of studying great works such as the Bible. You can study it as part of a religious teaching and meditation, ...

• Sam Bern 10 years ago

Goway! You to come and stay in GH and see what is goings on. Nonsense .

• YAO ELIKEM 10 years ago

It is not God given, so anybody can take it right?

• Opoku 10 years ago

"God-given" can either be positive or negative. If the people in a nation are not evil in Gods' eye then anything given to them by God will do them good. But look at a nation full of evil -where parents take and sell their ow ...

• STRAIGHT TALK 10 years ago

SHAME!

• J.ZAGURU. 10 years ago

WITH HELL FIRE, I KNOW MANY POLITICIANS WOULD RUN AWAY AND LEAVE BEHIND THEIR HUGE BANK ACCOUNTS, MANSIONS, JAGUARS AND 4 WHEEL DRIVES, ILL-GOTTEN WEALTH, AS SINNERS, FOR THE VOTERS TO LAUGH AT THEM.

• jp brooks .u .s .a. 10 years ago

he is right

Read Ghana's constitution:
    THE CONSTITUTION

OF THE

REPUBLIC OF GHANA

IN THE NAME OF THE ALMIGHTY GOD

We the People of Ghana,

IN EXERCISE of our natural and inalienable right to establish a framework of governm ...

Have you ever read Article 42 of the 1992 constitution which says the following :
    -----------------------------------
    Right to Vote

Every citizen of Ghana of eighteen years of age or above and of sound mind has the right ...

• J.ZAGURU. 10 years ago

"I HAVE MY GREATEST CONVICTION FOR THE FUTURE PROSPERITY OF GHANA IF GHANA HAS SUCH A CROP OF INTELLIGENT YOUTH", Rev. Wensley, Plaistow United Reform Church,London.

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

You read all their comments on a very fundamentally commonsensical matter that you don't need to have beyond common sense to grasp and they don't get it.

The substitute their inability to reason with senseless assault an ...

When Americans say "voting is a God-given right" because the preamble of their constitution say so. Like the Americans, the preamble of Ghana's constitution also reads:

THE CONSTITUTION

OF THE

REPUBLIC OF GHANA

I ...

• K.Poku 10 years ago

Where in the US constitution preamble does it say voting is God given right?

"We the people of the United States, in order to form a more perfect union, establish justice, insure domestic tranquility, provide for the commo ...

Check the U.S. Declaration of Independent which preceded the constitution and also check the Preamble to Ghana's constitution. Both highlight on "GOD GIVEN RIGHTS".

• K.Poku 10 years ago

The U.S.declaration didn't say the right to vote was God given right. it is a lie.
    "WE hold these Truths to be self-evident, that all Men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rig ...

K. OPOKU( POKU whichever); Read this for a change.Do not be deceived by the title "Prof" anybody with a little effort in America can become a 'Prof'.Thanks

Voting right “fundamental”, “inalienable” and “god-given ...

• K.Poku 10 years ago

Well I was on the FB with Justice Sai during this discussion and he even referenced one of my comments. Justice Sai believes fundamental right and God given right synonymous and that is where disagree.
    Below is the Prof. re ...

• Uncle Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

This February, in his fourth State of the Union address, a newly re-elected President Obama earned fierce applause when he declared: "We must all do our part to make sure our God-given rights are protected here at home. That ...

• K.POKU 10 years ago

Kwesi, what Obama said was a political speech which is different.

• Osabere kotoko 10 years ago

Very wee put, highly articulate

• GYATA 10 years ago

You may be a constitutional expert in America but hardly understand what makes Black Africans and all people of Africa around the world, African Americans included, Africana, tick and their inner cultural values.

For peo ...

Stop the babbling and go read Article 42 of the 1992 constitution.

It says thus:
    ---------------------------------
    Right to Vote

Every citizen of Ghana of eighteen years of age or above and of sound mind has the right ...

• GYATA 10 years ago

Modalities, idiot: bla-bla. The right comes to you by birth even if you are a naturalized Ghana because you are human:because you are born of a woman, period.

Even in the African village before the European showed up an ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

The trajectory with which NPP is going is very dangerous to the extent that they are even questioning people's right to choose its leaders. The heart of democracy

• Amah. 10 years ago

I know that you are an Npp lawyer, but you understand that election took place on 26002 polling stations not 24000 as you people are claiming. if the judges are to rule it most be 26002 polling stations ok.And you can not imp ...

• appisco ,sunyani 10 years ago

i learned addison is a good cross examiner but terrible in giving address at court.even yaw asamoah could have save the peittioners.
    oh pity npp.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Prof Prempeh think again.

The right to vote is enshrined in the constitution. is the constitution not the fundamental law of the land? Is the right to vote therefore not a fundamental, inalienable right of a Ghanaian as pr ...

• DR. WHO? 10 years ago

Whether it is God-made or man-made, the constitution of Ghana gives Ghanaians who are of the right age and of sound mind to vote. So therefore their vote must count. No one can annul those votes.

Inconsequential, unnecess ...

• kaketonti 10 years ago

Don't belittle yourself Mr Law Prof.Not sure if Nana made you taste the stuff.Say this to Nana.

• the bones 10 years ago

Anything a man has the right to is of God. even if it is the constitution that has given the mandate to people to vote, you must understand that all things are of God. stop being too sure of knowing and talk right. these so c ...