You are here: HomeNews2013 07 29Article 280850

Fresh levies to hit Ghanaians

Read Comments Comments (43)

• Tsatsu Tsikata LLB 10 years ago

Oh,Ghanaians,when will we stop putting idiots in power.The NDC Party has the motor,Chop make I chop.
    Asiedu Nketsia before becoming General Secretary could notfeed his family 3 square meals.Now he has 21 buildings in the nam ...

• krikri 10 years ago

Hoe much did the greedy thief increase petrol price when he assumed office? Why did he dashed Ghana Teleacom to vodafone? Go and talk to Kwame Pianim to educate you

• The Man 10 years ago

How did he dashed? As Rawlings why he sold 45% of the same Ghana Telecom to Malay Telecom for 98 million dollars. At least Kuffour sold 75% of Ghana Telecom for 991 million dollars.

• HON SHAMO 10 years ago

ANY INTELLIGENT MAN IN NDC? I CAN NEVER THINK SO AS ANY GHANAIAN WILL NOT! ALL NDCs ARE STUPID VERRANDAH BOYS TAKEN HOSTAGE BY JJ JUST TO SERVE HIM! YOU KNOW JJ JUST USED INSANE AND EDUCATED FOOL SO THAT HE COULD CONTROL THEM ...

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

The new levies and taxes have been necessitated by the need of government to get more revenue to run its programs. But then given that much of the monies government collect ends up in private pockets - you can't get anything ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

John Mahama,(first president of Ghana with 24 children from 13 women),stop killing Ghanaians slowly.

How come a govt which promised improving the standard of living of Ghanaians if given the mandate to rule, resort to over ...

• EMB 10 years ago

Judging by your statements, YOU ARE 1. Either in the USA or UK. and if you are in the USA, try this foolish joke and see what the republicans will do to you. 2. You are not an unemployed graduate in Ghana. That gives you the ...

• BabaUS 10 years ago

So if its not the first time, does that make it right? Think for a change, please.

• JJ Lawlings 10 years ago

This government is going in circles. The only way it knows how to raise money is to increase taxes and levies o poor Ghanaians instead of widening the tax net. Only 30% of Ghanaians pay taxes.

• Opuni 10 years ago

NDC government has become a welfare government for Ewes. They are taxing Ghanaians to take care of the Ewes thieves like Woyome and alike. Ghanaians should resist these levies. Is the NDC government embarking on development p ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

GOOD IDEA BUT THE GOVERNMENT MUST MAKE SURE THAT GOOD SERVICES ARE PROVIDED BY THOSE DEPARTMENTS. GHANA THINGS THE GOVERNMENT CHARGES ARE TOO CHEAP AND WAS SHOCK THE CHICKEN CHANGE FEE I PAID WHEN RENEWING MY ROAD WORTHY FEE ...

• Uncle T 10 years ago

Oh,Ghanaians,when will we stop putting idiots in power.The NDC Party has the motor,Chop make I chop.
    Asiedu Nketsia before becoming General Secretary could notfeed his family 3 square meals.Now he has 21 buildings in the na ...

• Adjoa Mensah 10 years ago

Oh ho John Mahama and his clueless, visionless govornment. We waiting patiently for the SC to decide. This government should start parking their bags

• Great 10 years ago

Bingoooo, You pay high for your vote.

• Waaaaaasty 10 years ago

Please mr president just sell the country. Infact what a shame !!!

• Sir Chapman 10 years ago

Ghana Standard Board? What standard do we have in Ghana here? God have mercy!!!

• Atlas 10 years ago

To hell be those intended taxes!

• Azumah Nelson 10 years ago

It cost money to provide these services.Ghanaians always want free services

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

When ALL these service fees go up then WE MUST ALL BE PREPARED to demonstrate DEMANDING DELIVERY of the "goods" also!
    It should NOT be oneway demand!!
    Water, electricity,PROPER roads and NOT TARRED GROUND called roads and s ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Instead of borrowing we should go this way BUT DEMAND accountability. The works must flow. All over the world taxes are going up , but we politicize ours.

• messa 10 years ago

BEFORE HE DESTROY GHANA COMPLETELY WE ARE TIRED OF HIS TAX AND SPEND BULL-CRAP

• Kobina 10 years ago

The problem is not about the increase but how the money collected will be used. These monies end up in private pockets thus making Ghanaians look like gyimi gyimi for paying such monies. For me until we start putting in place ...

• tutula 10 years ago

ya wu

• tutula 10 years ago

oh Ghana where is our future,hmmmmmmmmmmm

Each of these Ministries and Departments overspent their budgets by 200% and are now asking for additional fees? What a mess.

• Osabere kotoko 10 years ago

How about fiscical discipline and accountability?

• KOO PONG 10 years ago

Please let us deal with the issues devoid of politics. We expect Gov't to do everything, ranging from roads, hospitals, pay salaries(Single Spine rates)etc. Just take a look at some of the increases, they are marginal. When I ...

• BabaUS 10 years ago

So you mean we should just accept increases to non existing services like what happens at Lands Department without questioning? Do they publish for us to know how much they collect and what they do with it? Don't try to be ...

• ewe azaa 10 years ago

Ghana is sweet ooo, what nice country to live in. please increase till the stupid poor edebi supporters cry.

• Mate meho 10 years ago

Ho! Listen to this Koseani?

• Kotoua Selira 10 years ago

what is happening with the NDC government? They want to increase prices? the whole country will collapse with this increment.You will kill the current good economy in Ghana and create inflations. Why do you want to do this to ...

• Nana Asare 10 years ago

JOHN MAHAMA AND GHANAIANS SHOULD KNOW NOW THAT THE COUNTRY IS AT THE BRINK OF COLLAPS

• kofi 10 years ago

I think we need those money for development but the question how often are they held accountable? They just take the money and what we see is little or no development. We need transparency and accountability from our leaders ...

• Joe Sacks 10 years ago

Where does all these taxes and fees revenue go ? We are tired and sick of these fees and taxes going up each day and service delivery form all public sectors in Ghana are declined at an accelerated rate. This NDC Government i ...

• Kwasi 10 years ago

Why do you fool Mahama want to sell the poeple of Ghana Adiea Wagimi anaaa se sen Kwasia silly goat we spit on your grave idiots.

• ebo smithe 10 years ago

Go Ghana,Go NDC

• wisdom 10 years ago

amazing, average leaders resort to tax increment and labor cut to offset losses while a brilliant leader thinks to create more avenues to increase offset losses. our leaders always want to tax us instead of strengthening publ ...

• Bush 10 years ago

It has been implemented already my brother. As we speak, budget hotels which used to operate with 35Gh¢ as license fee last year 2012, is now quadrupled to 150Gh¢ as the new fee for 2013.
    To add pepper into their injurie ...

• NAPOLEON BONAPARTE 10 years ago

politicians always politicians whether ndc npp, etc. smooth talk . when they cross the bridge they forget the poor people on the other side. that's why JJ is my hero. because he always thought about the poor.and didnt amass ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

All in the name of revenue generation.If this was how every thing in the Country were increased in the past could we have survived to this day?We are looking forward to knowing if the legislators are equally as Crazy as the M ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

This is the first time and the only Country in history since creation that every commodity and service is increased all at the same time in a Country under the sun.
    What do the powers that be want the Citizenry to do?--to Sh ...

• MP SUN 10 years ago

I can tell you for sure that the government would have thought very deeply about this before sticking its reputation on fee increases. However, whichever way you look at it, these increases will never be enough. This is becau ...

• messa 10 years ago

MHAMA IS DESTROYING GHANA