You are here: HomeNews2013 07 28Article 280780

Mahama apologises to Theodosia Okoh

Read Comments Comments (109)

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Dr Vanderpuye must send a written apology and publicly retract his crass 'but failed decision'.

In my opinion, the guy should lose his job for doing this singular stupid act of not recognising and knowing who a true hero i ...

• OSBON 10 years ago

Leave Dr Vanderpuye alone, he try to pleased the president during the anniversary.
    Why the changed the Jubilee House to Flag Staff House, for nothing.
    Dr Vanderpuye, should go and visit this poor lady with courtesy call and ...

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

I dare say the Vanderpuiye brothers or cousins were enabled by the NDC. First he renamed the Ohene Djan Stadium and Atta Mess and Mahama took no action. They cheered him on as they themselves were to do the same regarding the ...

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

PROBABLY WE ARE BEING TOO HARSH ON VANDERPUIJE AND TAKING THE ISSUE TOO FAR. WE MAY HAVE TO END IT HERE AND TAKE USEFUL LESSONS FROM THE TRUTH THAT THE FACT THAT A PARTY IS IN POWER DOES NOT GIVE THAT PARTY THE CHANCE TO HAND ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

John Mahama(first president of Ghana with 24 children from 13 women),what a dishonest president you are !

Osama Bin Oko Vanderpuiye, the Taliban mayor of Accra said it loudly and clear on peaceFM that he consulted the pres ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

This is the way the administration flows, they are only apologizing because the 91 year old decided that she was not going to take it lying down, other wise they would have rolled over her and done the change. Shame on Vander ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the nex ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV & TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM

GTV & TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM

every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

These shameless greedy bastards are really showing their worst behaviour. How could you take off the name of a hard working old lady and put the name of a DO-LITTLE past President ?

• Original Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

Ghanaians are not civilised people, Ken Kuranchie
    General News of Tuesday, 16 July 2013
    Source: peacefmonline

Chronicling the events that unfolded during his incarceration, Ken Kuranchie has expressed doubt about the civ ...

• The 10 years ago

That's all they know mess-up and apologise, sometimes they won't even apologise, but will unleash their fool soldiers, liars communicaters and serial callers to defend their useless actions.

• BLACKMAN PROBLEM 10 years ago

This's not enough Mr President

• Dangerous! Terrritory!!!! 10 years ago

Are you people in Ghana confused or lost? What are you doing honoring some one still living? She is not the owner of the Stadium and can get that honor on demise. It should be reverted to the very original name what ever t ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Mahama could not control the country
    that is why that so called Dr.
    Vanderpuje is trying to Deputise for
    him.Now Vanderpuje listern you cannt,
    shit any place when you dont reach the
    small-room.

• Ghana 10 years ago

The shit my tribe carries is what you eat. And the most painful one is that one of the shit carriers is your President and no dog in that your Black Lilliputian tribe can change that. All that your bogus face saving of pink s ...

Did your mother leave you in the dryer too long when you were a kid, you little tap-dancing Leprechaun in a pink wig?

You see, you are not even worth the shit stuck in your grandmother's anal hairs, so I will not waste muc ...

• too much gutter language!!!! 10 years ago

Editor of Ghanaweb, you may need to hire a psychiatrist to examine the heads of some our our co-contributors!!! What petiness, what misplaced anger and envy!what a show of skin pain! what vile language! Please can we keep the ...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

SORRY SHOULD HAVE SIGNED 'WILLIAM'

• KRONFOR KUFOUR 10 years ago

Another ,bushman with stolen computer.when your Kronfor Kufour was changing names like Sankara circle where were you?

Was Sankara a Ghanaian, you lice-infested swabbie ?

Making sense isn't your area of expertise, is it?

Seriously, I've come across decomposing dog carcases that are less offensive to the senses than you are.

• Strongbow 10 years ago

To:Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings
    pls is Obasanjo a Ghanaian too.
    too much comment is needless. please friends let comment wisely without too much motion nor politically bent.

My stepson, if you weren't a foolsoldier, you would have known that when in 2001 the whole Ghana Police service had just 100 cars, it was Obasanjo who, upon Kufuor's pleas for help, stepped in with a Nigerian govt sovereign g ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 10 years ago

This is the problem with the neophytes. Fool soldiers who willfully refuse to expand their craniums.

• APASIAPA APENTE BA 10 years ago

Better than Nana Akufo Addo with 5 children with 5 women including Nigerians and finally settle with his good friend's wife

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

JOHN MAHAMA IS A THIEF AND THE MOST CORRUPT PRESIDENT IN AFRICA

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

DOES MAHAMA WIPE OKO'S ASS FOR HIM AFTER HE TAKES A SHIT? OKO MADE THE MISTAKE. HE MUST OFFER A PUBLIC APOLOGY THE SAME WAY HE MADE THAT PUBLIC NAME CHANGE.

• NDC FOOT SORDIER 10 years ago

MAHAMA HAS DERAILED FROM THE RAIL, HE IS AT THE END OF HIS CARRIER AS A FAKE PRESIDENT.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

What the President is doing is silly and backward. After summoning the Mayor to place your displeasure, you either fire him or ask him to render an apology to her. That is what leaders do. You stay behind on issues like this ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Gee, you give Mahama so much credit, he is just like Mills -- he does not have the backbone to fire anyone. That is the problem we have with the bad choices made in terms leadership in NDC. They go for the so call "asomdwehen ...

• APASIAPA APENTE BA 10 years ago

OYOKOBA WO MAAME TWE WOBE SU ARA AWU AKUFO ADDO WILL NEVER BE THE PRESDENT OF GHANA.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 10 years ago

This has proved to me that the type of person we have to lead a great Nation like Ghana. Everyone can do whatever he or she likes and Mahama cannot do anything to such person. Simply because if Mahama dare to open his mouth t ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Ghana is a free country with no Head
    any school droper can come out say
    anything like the socalled Dr Vanderpje with fake degree as a Dr.
    with no home sense or training. Remove
    him from his post,President,did he want to t ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

I the enemies of peace and progress will not come here to tell us that president Mahama's gesture is a sign of weakness!!!!!

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

I hope the enemies of peace and progress ..................

• BENYIWAH DOE (Rat Poison) 10 years ago

You are already enemy of progress. don't make any corrections

• kwame no 1 10 years ago

FOOL MAHAMA GET YOUR FAKE GHANIANS PARTY NDC WAY FROM POWER, BEFORE WE PATRIOTS GHANIANS COME FOR YOU VISION LESS PRICKS NDC

REVERT TO OHENE DJAN STADIUM, NOW!
    the topic of the AMA being caught in National Democratic Congress politics, especially with the decision to remove the name Ohene Djan from the signpost of the sporting edifice in Accra.

• BENYIWAH DOE (Rat Poison) 10 years ago

Tell us what killed Mills.

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Obonsam JJ and his obayifuo wife Konadu Agyemang poisoned prof Mills through a hired double agent assassin in the inner circle of the Castle. The drucula couple are dangerous to Ghana's peace and stability!!!

• maxwell 10 years ago

yes, they have to kill him, because he paraded himself as a BIG fool, with NDC bigwigs running around plundering Ghana's money.

• Koforidua Flowers (fr) 10 years ago

The late prof Mills owes Ghana a sincere apology for inviting corrupt and incapable stakeholders to destroy the nation,her economy and people.It sounds stupid that koku anyidoho is tall enough to say he sees prof Mills in his ...

JJ, MAHAMA, KOKU. THESE PPL ARE AND KNOW WHO KILLS KILLERS ARE.

• Big Alex Aluta.Hamburg. 10 years ago

Mahama and the NDC with the chief official of former President Mills naming committee the Accra Mayor tell Ghanaians something about the Ohene Djan stadium also.

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

The next to disappear is KOTOKA airport! ACCRA airport or Kwame Nkrumah airport!!!!

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

You think the Trokosis in the NDC will allow their semi-demi Trokosi Nyebro' President to change the name of the Kotoka airport? Not on your life!

In any case, much as I adore Kwame Nkrumah above any other world leader - ...

• Joe 10 years ago

It was needles for Mahama to apologize to Ms. Theodosia Okoh because he is not the one who changed the name of the hockey stadium but rather Oko Vanderpurje, except that he did it upon his instructions and is trying to be hyp ...

• PADDY 10 years ago

FUMBLING AND TUMBLING GOVERMENT (NDC).OUR GRANDMOTHER THEO. OKOH DESERVED BEST FROM THE GENERATION.

• kwame no 1 10 years ago

MAHAMA GET YOUR FAKE GHANIANS PARTY NDC WAY FROM POWER, BEFORE WE PATRIOTS GHANIANS COME FOR YOU VISION LESS PRICKS NDC

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

Se 3yaa munko skuul kakraa na 3b3ma muani ebue. Kwasia goat aponkye.
    What A Nation?

• Akomfem Maama 10 years ago

You ignoramus idiot. A functional illitrate, how dare you insult us? You people are jelous of Asanteman.

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

Not that war mongering dwarf. He would have add insults into injury, thank you Mr. President.
    What A Nation.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

There once was a girl who wasn't feeling very pretty so she went to a dwarf to make her pretty. The dwarf told her that to make her feel pretty, he would make it so that every time someone apologized to her her boobs would in ...

• DUKE---- GEORGE 10 years ago

ONE ACT OF GOODWILL BEGET ANOTHER.

• con 10 years ago

nea wonko sukuu da no,wo ne wonoa hwan na onim nyansa paa. hahaha wonko sukuda nti na wodii at3m no. na wa ye proffessor nso adi na t3m. wone no hwan na onim nyansa..... for me i choose nea wonko sukuu da no

• oppong london 10 years ago

the useless and stupid prez mahama apologise for what?there is a proof here that this man is idiot,as he hasn,t got executive powers to exercise,this tani is as useless as a toilet paper.

• Ghana 10 years ago

The shit my tribe carries is what you eat. And the most painful one is that one of the shit carriers is your President and no dog in that your Black Lilliputian tribe can argue that. All that your bogus face saving of pink sh ...

• Ghana's Children Murdered by the Corr 10 years ago

Ok ok, do you not know that Ghanaian/black bigots are the loudest complainants about racism? Motherfucker bigots.

And why do our Sakawa "Prophets" keep accepting bribe money and other ill-gotten wealth as tithe? Why can't ...

• Rasta 10 years ago

Your apology won't prevent you from being an error president in the history of Ghana

• Nii 10 years ago

The Ohene Djan Stadium was renamed by low level Government appointees with a tribal agenda without consulting the owners of the land.The Accra Sports was built before there was Ghana.It should not be named after anybodu,but ...

KWESI NYANTYAKYI HAS BEEN GFA HEAD FOR CLOSE TO 2 DECADES. HAS GH WON A TROPHY? PPL LIKE U ARE UNGRATEFUL. IT WAS THE CAREFUL INITIATIVES PUT DOWN BY DR NKRUMAH N OHENE DJAN THAT MADE SURE THAT GH COULD WIN THOSE 4 AFCON TROP ...

• MODIBO 10 years ago

Nii you can do better than that.

• Nii Kootse. 10 years ago

abject gratitude, please could someone tell us if we can express "abject" gratitude for something good done?

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

Mahama is taking the fall for Oko Vanderpuije.

• peace 10 years ago

u should be fire sweep the funcky gutters in accra

• DOCTOR THINK TWICE 10 years ago

TANKS FOR THE APOLOGY MR PRESIDENT. PEOPLE MUST BE ENCOURAGED TO SERVE MOTHER GHANA AND MUST BE REMEMBERD THROUGH SUCH NAMING. I HAV A CONCEPT THAT CAN CREAT SELF EMPLOYMENT DAT WILL COVER MILLIONS. IT WILL SOON TAKE OFF AND ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• COSTERRO 10 years ago

HAD IT NOT BEEN HIM MY COUNTYR WILL B LIKE THE REST OF OUR OUR COUNTYRIAS

• Whatever 10 years ago

But I would rather have liked to read "AMA boss apologizes to Okoh" if there is a need for apology

• MODIBO 10 years ago

The old lady fought her own fight because she is alive. Can the late sports administrator resurrect? to fight? No he is not Jesus Christ. What is the reason given for changing the name from Ohene Djan to Accra Sports Stadium? ...

• KPOSEGI 10 years ago

FOOLISH FOOLIS FOOLISH VANDABOY STUPID OKRO VANDABOY....VANDACHILD... MUST BE GOTTEN RID OFF IMMEDIATELY

• Kobby T.T. 10 years ago

Mr. President, Good i am glad to know you have rectified this wrong.
    ....but also take a look at all the filth in the city capital and tell the Mayor to do the right thing.
    The mayor takes pride in Cheap publicity l ...

• mtnkyere 10 years ago

this should not be allow to happen on our land, ghana. may God bless ghana.

• Koforidua Flowers (fr) 10 years ago

APOLLOGY TO THEODOSIA OKO IS NOT ENOUGH.aLFRED oKO vANDERPUIGE MUST BE WARNED SEVERLY AS TO HOW HE HAD TAKEN TO NAMING OF VARIOUS NATIONAL POINTS OF LATE. THIS vANDERPUIGE MAN MUST BE CALLED TO ATTENTION AND REMIND HIM THAT C ...

• dee dear 10 years ago

Serves you right, Oko! If you are a man come out to say, "President er lee he eko". I hope you've learned your lessons; over zealousness does not pay. Even if the thing is sholved down your throat by whatever power that be, t ...

• saint 10 years ago

WE LOVE MAHAMA....HE IS STRONG, BOLD, COURAGEOUS AND FAIR...GOD BLESS AND BLESS YOU AGAIN ,,YOU WILL REMAIN POWER AGAIN COMING 2016!

• Hilda 10 years ago

The Ohene Djans Do Not Deserve Any Apologies From Us Ga's, this is our land so we will not second the President on Naming the Stadium wid am Ashanti name.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Odwan, is Baba Yara Ashanti name? Ask yourself how foolish you are.

DID U BRING THAT LAND WITH U WHEN U CAME FROM BENIN OF NAIJA LIKE ANTS OR GBESE?. TODAY, AKAN HOSPITALITY HAS BEEN TURNED INTO TRASH. EWES, GA, NORTHNERS HAVE ALL COME N SETTLED IN GH BCOS OF AKAN HOSPITALITY N U HAVE THE NER ...

• Original Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

Comment: EVERYBODY GO BACK
    Author:AFRICABI
    Date:2010-09-16 12:10:04
    Comment to:Re: BLACKMAN IS FULL OF HATRED AND EVIL

THE GUANS WANT THEIR LAND BACK, THEY ARE THE ORIGINAL IHABITANTS OF GHANA.
    THE GAS CAN GO BACK TO N ...

HOW MANY AKANS BY YOUR ADMISSION ARE OVER 5'5? SO TO SAY THat AKANS ORIGINATED FROM MALI IS BEYOND OUTERSPACE GYIMI. ALL OTHER TRIBES IN GH HAVE BENEFITTED FROMAKAN HOSPITALITY. YET,MANY GAS THINK THE LANDS IN GREATER ACCRA B ...

• Cynthia 10 years ago

Well done , Mahama

• Amoah 10 years ago

This is just unbelievable! The President apologising on behalf of the Mayor? I am not surprised that Mr Vanderpuije once came out and said that President Mills had begged him on some issue!

This is unbelievable!

• Sankede 10 years ago

This apology should have followed the sacking of Alfred Vanderpuije after the gaffe that has dragged the name of govt and the NDC party into disrepute.

• Brofoyedur 10 years ago

Abject gratitude? What does this journalist mean?

MAHAMA'S 24 KIDDIES, 13 WOMEN
    H333RRHHH!
    HOW CAN U CALL URSELF A CHRISTIAN N HAVE THESEMANY CONCUBINES N KIDS? EVE FAKE EVANGELISTS LIKE TB JOSHUA, JIM JONES, BENNY HINN WONT DO THIS..HH3333RRR!
    MAHAMA IS A LIAR AND THIS A ...

• YAKUBU 10 years ago

The harm has already been done and the needless apology is very much unwarranted except for the political capital you would, it is presupposed, gain from such a gesture. Because, it just cannot be that, the renaming of such a ...

• ABS 10 years ago

So eloquently stated.

• Ciz 10 years ago

You fools. Instead of commending Prez. Mahama for taking such a bold stand to publicly apologise to Mrs. Okoh for the anomaly done to her, you are raining insults on your president. You Ghanaians are very crazy.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• OMAN BA PA USA 10 years ago

No one can tell me that John Dramani Mahama was not aware of Vanderpuiye's action to change the "HOCKY PITCH" to Atta Mills name. It is a shame to all of them, including the President himself. Shame to NDC PARTY.

• KOFI DAMESI. 10 years ago

HOW CAN A FIRST DEGREE GRADUATE IN HISTORY RUN A MINERAL RICH-COUNTRY LIKE GHANA IN A DEMOCRATIC PROCESS ?THE SOLDIERS WHO CAME TTHROUGH COUP DETATS COULDN'T RUN THE COUNTRY AND THAT'S WHY GHANA IS LOOKING LIKE THIS. MAHAMA ...

• kate 10 years ago

What about ohene gyan? Bad party

But for Mr. Vanderpuije's gaffe, who would be paying attention to this great woman and her immense contribution to the nation?
    There's surely a good side to everything, no matter how bad.
    Wishing you a long and healthy life ...

• Hard Reply 10 years ago

Through this sad mistake the AMA boss was trying to make has rather taught me some history that the designer of the national flag is a lady called Theodosia Okoh and even alive and have already chalked 91 years. May God bless ...

• yaw 10 years ago

STOP THE PROPAGANDA YOURSEIF MR PRESIDENT;OH GHANA

• kwofi 10 years ago

SHAME,MAHAMA!U MUST B ASHAMED OF YASELF. WHAT ABOUT APOLOGIES 2 OHENE-GYAN N FAMILY?

• lion 10 years ago

instead of cleaning the city that guy who calls him self a mayor is doing foolish wrk of renaming

• Queen 10 years ago

That fffoooooollllllll vanderpuije, Baba Yara is not an Ashanti but the Kumasi Stadium was named after him and no Ashanti man complained. He claims Ohene Djan is not a Ga man and the Accra Stadium cannot be named after him.He ...

• So Mo Yie 10 years ago

What did Theodosia Oko do for hockey in Ghana,that changing of name had or will cause her trama, I want someone to give us the history. Our former President, he was not only a game player but he was national player. he had b ...

Theodosia Okoh, despite being once a hockey play and christened the 'Joan of Arc of Ghana hockey', she single-handedly started that Hockey pitch from scratch with her lil money and time when that place was a muddy area in 196 ...

• Wiseman 10 years ago

After this apology kindly revert the Accra Stadium to Ohene Gyan,and Flagstaff House to Jubilee House, as were named by Kuffour.Remember Kuffour did not just name those edifice.His administration toiled to source finances for ...

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

A WEEK LONG CELEBRATION, A WEEK? FOOLISH AFRICANS, TOMORROW WE`LL GO TO CHINA FOR LOAN. WHAT THE RICH.COUNTRIES WILL NOT SPEND THEIR MONEY FOR, THATS WHAT WE DO

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

NOBLE PEOLE OF AFRICA, PRECIOUS PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOLE OF GHANA, WE ARE CALLED TO GIVE THANKS IN ALL THINGS. THEREFORE DO WE SAY, THANK GOD- FOR SEEING GHANA THROUGH A SUCCESSFUL -FIRST ANNIVERSARY ...

• Amour 10 years ago

That is good. We must respect everybody in this country no matter the economic background.

• Kwasi Benson 10 years ago

You ( Bole BALAWO (thief)mahama dont have shame, how could you and your bunch of thieves steal some one`s diginity for a useless death person like mills.
    what did he do to deserve those praises.?
    You stole national votes an ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

In life the people who really build the state or make things happen do not get honoured for it. It has come out clear during the week that District Assemblies have the right to name places under their jurisdiction. If we all ...

• DrG 10 years ago

The double standards of the NDC/Mahama gov't. What about Ohene Djan Stadium?