You are here: HomeNews2013 07 26Article 280610

Okudzeto: Ghana's money is locked up in East Legon

Read Comments Comments (72)

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• Saka 10 years ago

Why is Okudjeto afraid to pay tax? Now that all his avenues for evading tax have been closed, he is shouting. Naniama!!!

• Daavi 10 years ago

Take your TIME, reason and understand what the writer is saying.

• OLIVER TWIST 10 years ago

......................THE 8 REGIONS IN GHANA WILL NEVER EVER VOTE FOR THIS NATION WRECKING AND CRIMINAL PARTY CALLED NPP (NARCOTIC PEDDLERS PARTY)!

NPP IS A CRIMINAL ORGANISATION - MURDERERS, ARSONISTS, THIEVES, LOOTERS, N ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Source: Daily Guide...

All of a sudden nonentities want to portray to the world how close they were to the late President.

Those who had to chat with him for one hour everyday, those Deputy Ministers who had to call him ...

• HON SHAMO 10 years ago

ANY BRAINS IN THIS STUPID GOVT? IF NDC CAN SEND SOMEBODY LIKE ASHAWO ANITA DESOSO INTO PUBLIC TO SPEAK FOR THEM, THEN THE MESSAGE IS CLEAR, NDCs ARE ALL TOILET FOOLS

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

The Leader is stupit and not NDC,
    untill we remove him

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

8 Regions? - All these were part of Afari Gyan - EC and NDC manipulations: Time will tell - just wait see!!!!

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

one way government can raise revenue for development

government has to raise money to pay for development

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

WE DONT NEED PROPERTY TAXES IN GH. TAX UNUSED/UNBUILT LANDS INSTEAD...

, THE JERK, did you complete JSS? FOOL

you do not have brains to think. STUPID FOOL

stupid fool. FOOLS LIKE YOU SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO USE THE INTERNET

NO, U SHOULDNT EVEN BE ALLOWED TO BREATHE. PUSSYHOLE. U WANT PPL TO PAY PROPERTY TAXES. I HAVE GIVEN MY REASONS AS TO WHY I DISAGREE WITH YOUR OPINION. THEREFORE, WHY DONT U COME AND TELL US ALL WHY GHFUO SHOULD PAY PROPERTY ...

• abenayankey@gmail.com 10 years ago

YOUR PENIS IS TOO SMALL TO FIT MY PUSSY HOLE SO THEY ARE AUCTIONING IT IN EAST LEGON.

SO U KNOW SHEELA AKA THE CHICK FROM THE CASINO IN ACCRA? SHASHI LOLO.....

• AWUNI 10 years ago

YOU MURDERED YOUR OWN PRESIDENT AND YOU CALL SOMEONE A MURDERER.

• ama 10 years ago

I pay property tax in USA and Ghana.In USA the money we pay for the county for our property tax is accounted for b,cos the county tell you how much percentage goes county employees,schools,city,roads, library,polices,parks,bu ...

• O. B-G 10 years ago

The issue is not the petition, rather is mismanagement, corruption, unaccountability and functionally kleptomaniac imbeciles in positions of power. How can we train and educate all these economists, financial gurus and yet ha ...

• Kwaku Gloenawo 10 years ago

Yes I agree with you but the best way to be equitable in tax administration is that evrybody should pay and then the government should decide where its priorities are and which areas to support. there is no point exempting ed ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

Tax is strategic tool for development. In other words the big picture must always be looked at when gov't is making tax decisions. We have today and tomorrow. If the gov't just thinks of today by taxing everything, it can ret ...

government can tax properties to generate revenue for development

government should introduce property tax to raise revenue for development.

WAT IS THE MONEY PPL PAY TO THE ECG, GH WATER, BUISNESS TAXES, VAT TAX ETC DOING? IF U CANT DO MORE WITH WAT U HAVE, FORGET ABOUT GETTING MORE MONEY. U CANT EXPECT ME TO BUILD MY OWN HOUSE N THEN ASK ME TO PAY PROPERTY ON THE ...

you are now asked to pay a tax on your phone calls... what will you do? refuse to use the phone?

U CAN ASK FOR TAXES ON MY MONTHLY CELLPHONE BILL. TAXING EVERY FONE CALL I MAKE IS DUMB N THIEVERY. MAKES NO SENSE

• KOW Amisah 10 years ago

Shame on you Okudzeto. The first people to be held for tax evation are our lawyers. All others come after them. The time for genuine accountability is fast coming.

Please attack the message no the messenger. Property tax is long overdue.

IM AGAINST PROPERTY TAXES IN GH FOR A REASON

• Okudzeto the old man 10 years ago

Building a big house does not necessary mean one is rich. I have a big house but I am not rich. I have worked my butt off for years and save all money into building a house because to me it is a safer investment.

Also, by ...

SOMEONE SHOULD TELL THIS OLUMAN BOOGIE TO GO HOME N DIE.HE WISHESHE HAD A HOME AT EASTLEGON? UPON ALL THE BRIBES U HAVE CLAIMED AS A JUDGE,U STILL CLDNT BUILD A HOME IN EAST LEGO. SO U ARE AFRAID THAT TAXING THE PRESBY UNIV W ...

• EAF 10 years ago

The fraudulent money given to Woyome alone is more than all the property taxes that can be accrued from East Legon. This is an evil government ably supported by evil people to dupe the country. No nation has ever prosper when ...

• Opoosa 10 years ago

A house is a property and putting up a residential house is either through hard work or corruption. Entrepreneurs, hard-working ordinary Ghanaians and traders do this through hard work whereas most politicians achieve this th ...

• kofi B 10 years ago

Please these so called learned people should give us a break . Land owners at east legon are people who toiled abroad to bring home their money . they should not be victimized
    If the politicians and Okuzeto stop stealing our ...

• mimi 10 years ago

Whose money should be used to provide, water, electricity etc before they come to build. They should all pay tax to help Ghana.

• kwame ,belgium 10 years ago

mimi u are a twerp,stupid fool who doesnt make scense ,aboaba

• mimi 10 years ago

Sika, did you read or understand what the Lawyer was talking about. Politics that is the only thing in your brains, sorry

• Big Alex Aluta.Hamburg. 10 years ago

This stupid and foolish so called BBC NEWS must think and write something sensible and stop disgracing we the Ghanaians abroad.There is no any group or association by the name Concerned Citizens Abroad.So he must tell his pay ...

• Laustee Okoampah 10 years ago

I agree with the learned senior lawyer!! Tax men the route is East Legon not struggling individuals!
    God bless Ghana

• Think 10 years ago

Poor logic comimg from a supposed legal luminary. Is it only in East Legon that we have 'big, big' houses, or are all houses in East Legon big?

Does this man not know that in any case East Legon residents pay higher prope ...

Why are you then fighting Mr. Okudzeto? He is 100% right - These guys are not paying these taxes you are talking about; again the charges are even still small - government should be bold and proactive to tax the rich 'more' a ...

• Think 10 years ago

Ericus, do you know how much they pay and how much others pay. Do you also know how much Okudjeto himself pays? Why should anybody single out East Legon even if all property rates in 'plush' areas should be raised. There is a ...

• Sad 10 years ago

Senile is the word. Okudjeto's recent utterances make a clear case for medical exams to be conducted on all public speakers over 60 years.

This man is clearly losing it in his old age, that is if he ever had it. His uttera ...

• Efia 10 years ago

WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM. ARE YOU IN CHARGE OF THE AFFAIRS IN GHANA. WHY DON'T YOU TRY AND STAND FOR PRESIDENT.DO YOU HAVE ANY ISSUES WITH THOSE LIVING THERE? WHEN YOU WERE MAKING YOUR MONEY DID OTHER PEOPLE COMPLAIN? JUST SH ...

People in NDC hate the truth. I think Mr. Okudzeto is 100% right.

• Nima Old Soldier 10 years ago

What happen to the lessons of the June 4th and the 31st December fake revolution? Nothing!

How come the yesterday's campus poor rats led by their master heartless killer fake man, Rawlings who came preaching and killing fo ...

• KOO 10 years ago

What Okudzeto is saying is simple,if you want money go to those who have it.It is quite unfortunate that people are taking him to the cleaners.

government needs revenue for development

WAT IS THE GOVT DOING WITH THE TAX MONIES IT ALREADY COLLECTS? CORRUPTION. TAX UNUSED LAND SPACE INSTEAD, NOT REAL ESTATE PROPERTIES. U ARE ALREADY CLAIMING BUSINESS TAXES, WATER, LIGHT BILL, TV BILL.

• Kwame 10 years ago

Whiles a student in the then Soviet Union I lived in a fifteen story building with other tenants of the state. The structure is 3/4 the length of the State House and is three stories higher then her.
    I am of the view that t ...

• Fail! 10 years ago

So Ghana's money is in only East Legon. Did you pass any exams at all in your life?

• mmmm 10 years ago

Lawyer Mr.Okudzeto, your comments on radio and on public gathering have made me realise that you are honest, patrotic and most of all a great son of our modern Ghana.You actually care for the needed.God Bless you wherever you ...

• MUSTAFA 10 years ago

THIS SHAMELESS OLD MAN SHOULD BETTER KEEP QUITE AND STOP DISTURBING AND MISLEADING WE THE YOUTH OF THE COUNTRY. IF HE CARES TO KNOW, HE SHOULD PERSONALLY CHECK AND TELL US WHO ARE THE OWNERS OF THOSE PLUSH BUILDINGS AND HE WI ...

• yoosi 10 years ago

Opinions are like asshole. All are entitled to one. I will take this suggestion as being good if you lived there. I believe it is because you have interest in the school. What would u say if a reside t in east legon also s ...

• Frimpong Manso Dakabre 10 years ago

Who is staying in this plush building? It is the politicians so how can they tax themselves? Its me and you who will always be burden with tax tax tax hmmmmmm

• Rimojoe 10 years ago

I'm surprised at the behaviour of those who should know better. Is Okudzeto telling us that the Unversities are not making profits to be taxed? They are in business; if they are not making money why is everyone venturing into ...

• Nana 10 years ago

Hope he pays tax himself.

• Loulou 10 years ago

Some of the people have lived abroad and worked very hard to build their homes. Such a blanket statement is very dangerous!!!

• General 10 years ago

100% Lawyer

• Liv 10 years ago

Why should anyone pay property taxes when they're living with squatters. Get rid of the squatters first. At Airport they go door to door to collect AMA and property taxes and yet we live with squatters.

• katongo Joseph 10 years ago

because you are leaving in Nima with Nana

• Sadly Misled 10 years ago

Sam You know Well That Your Dis-Incentive Tax Will Stop Capital Flowing Into The Country. Mind You Mr Okudzeto I know of an East Legon Resident who has three other houses occupied by Ghanaian families (no relations to him) at ...

• Nii Kootse. 10 years ago

those !huge huge huge huge buildings" are simply Gargantuan Buildings!

• KONGA 10 years ago

IF GHANA GOV'T IS TAXING THE POOR TO PAY EMOLUMENTS OF THE BLOATED REDUNDANT MPs AND OTHER PUBLIC SERVANTS, THEN THEY MIGHT AS WELL FORGET ABOUT INFRASTRUCTURAL DEVELOPMENT.

ROBBING POOR PETER TO PAY RICH PAUL IS PLAIN STE ...

• t don 10 years ago

Your Honour , I agree with you 100% .You said where did they get the money from? Most of the people in that enclave are the drug barons who ship containers of drugs and plane full of gold through Kotoka and the govt. claims ...

• Nii Joromi 10 years ago

Masons, electricians, tilers, etc charge so much money to put up these buildings across the country but unfortunately, the don't pay any tax. Can a sensible government find a way of registering and taxing all the builders? Mi ...

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

MANY OF THESE HOUSES WERE BUILT BY STOLEN RESOURCES FROM THE PEOPLE AND THE GOVERNMEMT OF GHANA.

NO ONE IN THE COUNTRY IS ENVIOUS OF THE PROPERTIES OF THESE PEOPLEm BUT,CALLS FOR SERIOUS PROBE ON WHERE THEY HAD THE MONE.

• Fuck npp 10 years ago

This man is an old fool and a liar. Go to manor valley in agjirgano, this man owns half the land there. Why should people who have worked hard abroad, saved their money to build a house in east legion be taxed any harder than ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

This man sound like JJ Rawlings in his early days when he abhors houses that were with more than one toilet. Most buildings in that area belongs to our sons and daughters who are working hard in overseas to have a place to re ...

• PEASEA 10 years ago

WOULD THEY LISTEN? THEY ARE BENT ON COLLAPSING THE EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM AND NOTHING ELSE.INSTEAD OF CUSHIONING THE PRIVATE UNIVERSITIES TO ENROLL MORE GHANAIANS TO PROMOTE KNOWLEDGE AND ADVANCEMENT,THEY ARE THINKING OF MONEY.

• FS 10 years ago

The comment on taxing residents of East Legon stinks. A man of such a high caliber demonstrates lack of understanding. Most people in East Legon are pensioners from the diaspora who through sweat and blood manage to put up co ...