You are here: HomeNews2013 07 15Article 279566

Afari-Gyan: I don’t know what pdf is

Read Comments Comments (217)

• krikri 10 years ago

NPP Liars and nation wreckers

• Kwame 10 years ago

THIS MAN HAS BEEN LYING SINCE 1992 DURING THE DAYS OF NANA ODURO NUMAPAU AND USTICE JOSIAH OFORI BOATENG. HE'S STILL LYING IN 2013. HE MUST GO TO PRISON.

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

I will make only this submission, PDF files can be edited. I have an application, NITRO PRO 8, which can even convert them to Microsoft Word document or Excel file and vice-versa. I doubt though that Addison, as sophisticated ...

• Mike 10 years ago

You can only edit a electronic pdf but not hardcopy pdf. please put more clarification to it if you want to be honest. EC never gave electronic pdf to the parties.

• Rastee 10 years ago

PDF can only come in as electronic form. Once you print a pdf document, it is no longer a pdf. And also you can scan the document as pdf and use Acrobat XI to edit scanned doc.

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaaaaa, Afari Djan on the ropes !

Dr. Afari Djan, the self-acclaimed god of elections, currently finds himself between a rock and a hard place.

The noose around his neck is getting tigh ...

• Lafia 10 years ago

what kind of nonsense is that pdf documents cant be copied? even people hacking into state computer systems, embassies etc to change figures, what is pdf cant be edited? silly

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GRACE 10 years ago

O ADDISON!!! U KNOW WHAT A PDF WRITER SOFTWARE IS? PLS YOU CAN ALTER PDF DOCUMENTS!!! SO WHO IS IGNORANT????

We will expose NPP criminals

peter jeffrey the gay blooming idiot in his heat.

Forumers should take note of this instant idiot !

An imbecilic lunatic gay refugee,peter jeffrey, squattering at St.Helens church in the market village of Abingdon,Ox ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author:PRINCE KWASI ADADE...
    WE THANK GOD FOR THE LIFE OF ST. MARTIN AMIDU. IT COULD BE RECALLED THAT, EVIL CORRUPT NDC BASTARDS SACKED ST. MARTIN FOR DEFENDING THE POOR PEOPLE OF THIS COUNTRY. TO BE PRECISE, FOR FIGHTING CO ...

• Concerned Patriot 10 years ago

What a shame! We can no longer trust our elders anymore. Afari Gyan has stained the reputation of all Ghanaian Elders both home and abroad, simple. Because of 'bad money' Afari Gyan's remaining life will be full of misery. 'D ...

• OBAA YAA 10 years ago

Is this man whom we put the future of our dear country in his hand is just play dump or has no knowledge of importance of the position he holds?
    So the chairman of our electoral commission is tell us that he does not know w ...

• Ghanaian, NY 10 years ago

Of course Afari Djan may not know PDF but his technical staff who generate files would know, and it is not strange. Many Profs and Drs may not know what PDF file format is and it is no big deal.

Turn your bewilderment on t ...

• OLDMAN GYASI 10 years ago

SISTER OBAA YAA i wonder if your grandfather knows how to use computer.In the schooling days of AFARI GYAN, there was nothing like PDF on our old TYPE WRITER.Dont be too known and respect your elders.

• kofi kumasi 10 years ago

How many CEO's in America knows how to us excel spreadsheet? CEO or the Electoral Commisioner job is to organize an election and make sure the peoples voice is heard. Knowing or not knowing what a PDF is not the jod of Afari ...

• anonymos 10 years ago

but he is not in charge of the IT department. well i have been part of the IT team for the exercise from day 1 to the end of the election and we are still working to better our electoral system.

• OBAA YAA 10 years ago

How funny this man is ……..he is claiming he does not know what PDF is …… check the electoral commission website and all regulations and other documents are in PDF

• Yaw Sey 10 years ago

Give me a pdf file and I will edit it and print the edited form to you in 5 minutes. PDF's can be changed to word document in seconds, edited and reverted back to PDF in seconds. What does Addison know about computers to be b ...

Correction:

"The noose around his neck is getting tighter and tighter with ever lie that spews out of the mouth of the Tilapia fish-farmer."

should rather read :

'The noose around his neck is getting tighter and ...

• kojo 10 years ago

If the pdf file is password protected, basically it prevents actions like pdf editing. My brother you can only edit a simply pdf file but you can not edit well protected pdf file. Even with the simple pdf file the editing can ...

• King Jah 10 years ago

Do you know what file hacking is? There is no password protect that cannot be hacked. These things are done all day every day... Give me a so called password coded pdf and put your money on it if it cannot be edited. People ...

• Kokonte 10 years ago

You guys are so ignorant, it is a crying shame. I convert pdf documents all the time! You cannot change or edit a pdf document if it is in pdf; you can however edit a pdf document by first converting it into a word file, do ...

• PK 10 years ago

But don't forget that at this stage he is making refrence to a pdf document, a document which is created, saved and printed from a pdf formatted doc so using the terminlogy as a pdf hard copy document is accurate

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

You can scan the hard copy and manipulate it to your heart's content with the appropriate software.
    He does not know what a pdf file is so what?

Sorry, but you are another corrupt person Ghana does not need at this time in our history.

• ILLITETRATE KOLA 10 years ago

He is Terribly Spec cifiC in disguise.

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

You and the so called illiterate Kola lack basic intelligence. My point is a pdf file can be scanned and manipulated with the write version of adobe acrobat. But because you NPP guys are so illiterate you are incapable of re ...

• Jake 10 years ago

How many of you ever used it? Technological changes happens.
    Give the Doctor a Slide rule and he probably tell you what sine 30 is.
    So you babies go to sleep and think about "bitcoin"

• Apongye nkakra 10 years ago

Does his knowledge or lack thereof of a pdf file format add votes to Mahama.

• Kokonte 10 years ago

Smiling.....yeah, give it to them, and this is what Addison wants to pull over the old man who does not even know what a pdf document is.

The whole NPP machinery is as crooked as the Aburi road.

• Kokonte 10 years ago

This is no corruption; this is technology and education.

I hope some of you are learning something on this forum today on how to massage a pdf document.

• Kokonte 10 years ago

Hard copies of pdf files can be altered; just convert the file to word document, do your changes, and then convert it back to pdf.

• kojo 10 years ago

Your name alone tells me that you are an idiot. Do you know what is called a hard copy? How do you convert a hard copy document?

• Kokonte 10 years ago

You are the biggest fool and an illiterate. Hard copy does not mean that the copy is cast in concrete; it means it is an original printed copy. If you want to convert it to pdf, all you have to do is to send it as an attach ...

• kojo 10 years ago

Mike, even a soft copy pdf document that is password protected can not be edited unless you know the author password.

• Kokonte 10 years ago

A fool who thinks he knows but knows not that he knows not.

What are you talking about pass protecting a pdf document?

Once your pdf document comes to me, it is mine to play with as I deem fit. If you do not know, go b ...

• Zegbete 10 years ago

You sound ignorant as Addison. if one can edit an electronic copy and not a hard copy, why then should Addison ask that silly question with ignorance?

• Kokonte 10 years ago

Don't pay the fool any mind. Both can be altered; you scan it, send it as an attachment file to the recipient, he/she opens it, saves it, converts it into word document, edits it, and resaves it into a pdf file; simple. Get ...

• Koo 10 years ago

It's possible to edit hardcopy pdf. All you have to do scan the file and save it in PDF format, then use Adobe Acrobat XI to convert and edit it.

• Lexy Mens 10 years ago

Mike, you are as ignorant as the Lawyer!
    PDF files can be edited unless protected with password. I doubt if you actually know the initial PDF. Read comments from your friends(Rastee,OYOKOBA etc) who know what pdf is. "Shamol ...

• Bimpong 10 years ago

Oyokoba, it is just plain true you cannot edit pdf files on their own. But you can do the editing with another program. So the statement is partly true not false in the context that that DF files are created and opened by a p ...

• KK 10 years ago

thank you my friend pdf can be edited if they don't know.

• E.K Senyo 10 years ago

yes pdf can be dorted by changing it to word which can be dorted and reconverted to pdf.

• hermit 10 years ago

So what does afari gyan know about security and the protection of valuable information. His has no knowledge on anything he should just resign to save himself from further embarrassment.

• King Jah 10 years ago

Dr Afari Gyan is the BOSS of the EC. Do you think he is the one in-charge of security protocols for the EC?? At his position all he does is make decisions and attend board meetings... even his speech is typed for him by someo ...

• kojo 10 years ago

Send me an e-mail address and i will send you a pdf file that is password protected and let's see if you can convert it to either word or excel.

• King Jah 10 years ago

Kojo you want to put your money on it?? if yes, I'm in...

• Kokonte 10 years ago

Send me the file to areu4me2luv@aol.com, and I will alter it for you, for free. I am daring you, so I am giving away my email address, so that fools like you will know when to zip your stinky mouths on subjects that you know ...

• Hear it Clear 10 years ago

Mr. Addison thought he was making fun of Dr. Afari-Djan. Little did he know he was making fool out of himself. What goes around, comes around.

• Kokonte 10 years ago

Exactly, because he himself does not know that a pdf file or document can be altered.

• mimi 10 years ago

If the NPP wins elections, Afari Gyan is good, if they lose he is a thief.

But can't you see the man is sweatig like Christmas Goat? Just be honest for once!

• SETEH ! 10 years ago

You are very right, He would have given in if he knew that he was going to suffer far more than Bawumia in the box.

• Paa KWESSI IN THE BRONX 10 years ago

You cannot claim that he is lying; because you do not know as well as you did not explain what pdf is

Portable Document Format (PDF) is a file format used to represent documents in a manner independent of application softw ...

• TOHUGU 10 years ago

It is known that individuals whose parents gave them proper home training-respect for the elderly-would not in any circumstance raise their voice against an elderly person or bring a railing accusation against them. Even the ...

You are among the world's poorest, your average life span is in the low 40s. you are surrounded by water every where but none for you to drink. The reason for all these is "CORRUPTION" and right now the allegation against the ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Nobody trusts Addison anymore.When Dr Afari Gyan wanted to bring the original copies to court at the beginning of his cross-examination.Addison did all what he could to object any document that is alien to the affidivits alre ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Oh! Ho! Mr Addison, don't you know that portable document file (pdf) can be edited? There are lot of pdf convecters in the system. Professionally, Adobe Acrobat is use to edit pdf. So if you don't know, please don't stand in ...

• Yaw Mensah 10 years ago

If you care to know there are many way to detect altered PDF document especially if there is a master copy, which I believe is the case.

• SF 10 years ago

You can only edit PDF file with OCR or any form of OCR presence. OCR's presence can be PDF integration or dedicate OCR.

• SF 10 years ago

Honestly bringing this issue to overturn a President's election is so laughable. Ghanaians wake up. The world is laughing at us. I taught my children these simple technology 15 years ago.0

• FUZY 10 years ago

It is very easy to edit pdf files.
    www.adobe.com/products/..../pdf-editor-pdf-files.html.
    You can edit PDF files more intuitively with adobe(R) Acrobat(R)XI has a new point-and-click interface.
    So can make edits to PDF pa ...

• LET GHANAIANS KNOW THE CORRECT FACTS 10 years ago

LET MR ADDISON KNOW THAT WHAT HE DOES NOT KNOW HE SHD NOT CAST HIS IGNORANCE ON THE GHANAIAN COURT AND PUBLIC.
    THERE ARE SEVERAL WAYS OF ALTERING PDF DOCUMENTS. SAVE IN A TEXT FORMAT, EXPORT TO EXCEL OR WORD ETC.
    PLS MR ADD ...

• Dr Gyau 10 years ago

Who we cant alter a pdf document? Thi is ignorance!

• levi 10 years ago

God works in mysterious ways, see people choking on their own words in their comfort zone

• KOO HIA 10 years ago

PDF can be altered. There is a software used to edit PDF. Afari Djan was right. That is why KPMG does not give soft copies to clients.

• Pabro Correa 10 years ago

which software are you talking about.
    How is it used to alter pdf copies.
    please do not insult our intelligence

• gghanaba 10 years ago

serif publisher, infact all publisher softwares, acrobat .. list is countles if you care to know......

• SIR RUSH 10 years ago

The kitchen is too hot for dok.

• OGYAM 10 years ago

We have machines that can enable pdf for editting. it can change the whole "printable doucument format" material if you want to. I therefore, urge the SC to give a summary judgement on this matter. NPP wants to throw dust in ...

• Love fufu 10 years ago

Portable Document Format (PDF) file format is the correct terminology.

• Cynthia afedi 10 years ago

Krikri, say it again. Dunno wht these ppl want,am so fed up with them (Npp) thinking ghana belongs to them. W.T.F.

• TOYS 10 years ago

CAN THE SC ASK MR.ADDISON WHAT THE MEANING OF PDF? HE GO AND ASK FROM THE I.T GUYS SOME TERMS AND MEAN TO COME AND DISTURB AS IF HE KNOWS THE DETAILS OF THAT WORD IN QUESTION.

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Dr. Afari-Gyan gave an honest answer. Pdf files can easily be altered without the need to purchase any expensive Adobe software!!!!

• Yaw Mensah 10 years ago

Of course you can always edit PDF but the editing is capture uin the meta data of the file. Very unfortunate if you think that altering a PDF cannot be detected...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

It depends on what software you choose to use for the editing!

• Ataa 10 years ago

This is what I don't seem to understand - is there any evidence that the one being submitted by Addisson has been editted? Why would they do that if they know that it can be detected? Why would they do that if they know and c ...

• Ghanaian, NY 10 years ago

There is logic in your analysis, but legal justice dispensation has no room for "had I known, done that, verified all the others, etc". And tactically if the witness does not ask for time to verify, petitioner would not accor ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• ABU OKYEMAN 10 years ago

YOU ARE OUT OF YOUR MIND ,.IDIOT ,BECAUSE ABU DANQUAH SAYS SO.

• GEORGE 10 years ago

Asem Beba Dabi.Dr.Afari Gyan

• beema 10 years ago

The female Justice seems not to know what she was talking about either. She keeps say 'PDF form' instead of PDF format.

It is no wonder that Mr. Afari-Gyan doesn't know what PDF is, it is after his time and therefore not ...

• YAA 10 years ago

YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU'ER TALKING ABOUT BECAUSE AFARI GYAN HAS BEEN LYING FROM DAY ONE, THE MAN IS A BIG LAIR, CAN YOU SEE? FOOL. IT IS A BIG DEAL FOR A MAN IN HIS POSITION NOT TO KNOW WHAT PDF IS, A SHAME TO GHANA TO HAVE S ...

• PEE 10 years ago

LET AFARI DJAN PRODUCE THE ORIGINAL.this will solve who is lying or speaking the truth.If u are the head of sensitive organisation like this and u are not updated on newmedia then ghana is in trouble.please employ youth of ma ...

• kwame usa 10 years ago

This is court, what PDF means?
    Pension Dirty Females. Police defend Fools. Peoples defend force .People Demostrating Foolishness. what PDF means.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

AH, OKAY I RIGGED, I RIGGED

• The 10 years ago

Some of you just get up and write without thinking if kwame usa was thinking he would not have suggested those things he suggested could all mean PDF. kwame usa failed to put the PDF in the context of the issues at stake "cop ...

• Tickle-Me-Elmo 10 years ago

uneducated Pee. What do you Know about this case? Your comment is full of prejudice towards the Dr. Afari.

• Big Alex Aluta.Hamburg. 10 years ago

Afari-Gyan is a disgrace to Ghana.How can a whole chairman of our Electoral Commission do not know what pdf is.To say the truth is better than to be a liar.God will really punish him.The evil men do leaves after them.

• Kyay 10 years ago

If Afari Gyan do not know what a PDF is can you please tell us?

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

Did not know what trick Addison was up to? I do not know why Afari's lawyer did not intervene or object?

• messa 10 years ago

DONT MIND HIM HES TRYING TO HIDE HIS FRAUD

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

NPP; NDC WON 2012 FULLSTOP

Did Dr Afari Gyan have proper oversight of the EC?

• TIMEWILLTELL 10 years ago

Afari-Gyan is not disgrace to Ghana. He tried to a difficult job under difficult circumstances.
    The real disgrace to Ghana is the NPP which does not care what the consequences of its actions are on Ghana. That is the disgrac ...

• ABU OKYEMAN 10 years ago

IDIOT ,NPP WANTS GHANAS BEST.

• Ghana Ni 10 years ago

The consequences of the NPP Court action is that ...

The NDC will find it more difficult to rig future elections.

It will also make voters feel their votes will count.

Think of Ghana, instead of your selfish allegia ...

• Kodwo 10 years ago

This is someone who was given several billions of cedis (several millions of GGhana Cedis) to conduct a National Election.

Afari Gyan, pdf means Portable Document Format.

It is obvious your outfit was infiltrated by the ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Dr Afari Gyan is simply snubbing Mr Addison with the fake document.It is not the pdf that matters but the authencity of the exract.Do you remember that Addison withdrew the same extract on last Wednesday?Think about it.

MAKE HISTORY, MAYELE!
    HOW MANY MPS CAN EVEN USE A COMPUTER IN GHANA? COACH AKWASI APPIAH CANT EVEN USE A COMPUTER....LOL
    IF YOU DONT KNOW HOW TO USE A COMPUTER IN THIS DAY N AGE. HOW CAN U BENEFIT FROM IMPROVED, SCIENTIFIC ...

• KOOL 10 years ago

ADDISON KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT TECHNOLOGY.

• P.Tosh 10 years ago

Afari-Gyan has right to say he dont know what is pdf atachment.Becaurse philip Addison is mafia lawyer he want to have space from such brutal criminals and liars npp.

FOOLS, U WANT HIM TO TELL U HE CLAIMED NTUAHO TO RIG THE ELECTIONS. HAVNT U REALISED THIS FROM HIS NON FACT PRONOUNCEMENTS....LEAVE THE OLUMAN ALONE N HAVE A RUN OFF...

• TUNTUMI 10 years ago

'The petitioners’ lead counsel, however, insisted pdf documents could not be altered'. That is the most stupid comment I have ever heard from a lawyer, this Addison guy must d some research before opening his gub! any middl ...

• Marijata 10 years ago

addison is an idiot!!! pdfs can be altered!

• AKA. 10 years ago

am sure Addison don't know pdf can be altered. interesting

• JOHNNY K 10 years ago

PDF can be converted to the original document format and the petioners can stil change things and cab forge the extract

• Boduah 10 years ago

It was laughable when i heard addison saying pdf cannot be edited. Pdf can be edited using foxit; Addison get your fact right

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

You cannot use abbreviation in court to justify your case so easily.Mr Addison should have pronounced the full name of the format before using the abbreviation (pdf).The point Dr Gyan is trying to convey is that the extract o ...

• Crusader 10 years ago

To me the judge has only alligned herself with the NPP pshychological warfare against Afari Djan. Does knowing the meaning of pdf lead to a malpractice, no signatures on pinksheets,statutory violations or over-voting? By the ...

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

Of course, he knows what pdf is but does not know what trick Addison was up to? Why did Afari lawyer not object?

• KOFI DAMESI 10 years ago

GHANAIANS HAD NOW KNOW THE HUMAN BEING AFARI GYAN WHO IS IN DEEP TROBLE. MAHAMA MUST RESIGN PEACEFULLY AND ALLOW GHANA TO GROW IN DEMOCRACY.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Afari Gyan is telling the whole world that the document in question is a fake one.Thank you.

• Barima Yaw 10 years ago

Tr u e

• meena 10 years ago

pdf CAN BE EDITED AND/OR ALTERED PLS!!
    the ignorant ones should know and/or google it. some of the software are even free.
    what kind of world do u think u are living in, ur village?
    thats why we keep insisting there is n ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Dr Afar Gyan is simply snubbing Mr Addison to go to hell with his fake document,this is what it is.Thank you.

• DD 10 years ago

THE JUDGES ON THE CASE MUST TRY TO STAMP AUTHORITY ON THE ON GOING COURT PROCEEDINGS COS THEY HAVE GIVEN BOTH PARTIES TOO MUCH ROOM AND THEY DO TOO MUCH LITTLE IN A DAY.OUR COUNTRY DESERVES SPEEDY PROCEEDINGS TO SAVE US FROM ...

• Great 10 years ago

Dirty Devil old Man

• Mike 10 years ago

Am surprise people are making no sense. Have you all find out if the pdf provided by the EC to the parties were hardcopy or electronic copy.
    Hardcopy of a pdf can never be edited or altered. People, get out of the shadow.

• Samuel 10 years ago

Pls get ur facts right. the hard copy of any document can be scanned and eddited using the right software, including pdf files

• Fiifi, Berlin 10 years ago

WHO SAYS PDF DOCUMENTS CANNOT BE ALTERED??? A PDF DOCUMENT CAN BE MORE EASILY ALTERED THAN A PHOTOCOPIED DOCUMENT AND IT WOULD LOOK MUCH MORE AUTHENTIC!!!!

• Frederic kofi Tawiah 10 years ago

he will surely speak the truth

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

WE CAN FORGIVE AFARI BECAUSE HE IS FROM A DIFFERENT GENERATION.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Do you remember Addison withdrew an extract just last Wednesday?So how do you know if it's the same extract?Think about it.Thank you.

• Apoopoo 10 years ago

To follow what is going on.

• abu 10 years ago

Q: Can I edit PDF files?

A: PDF files are essentially read-only documents but there are several tools to help you edit PDF files.

Q: How do I merge two or more PDF files into one? Can I also change the page order?

A: ...

• abu 10 years ago

: I want to extract text from a scanned PDF document and use it in my Word document. What is the best option?

A: You can easily extract text from regular PDFs using the text selection tool in Adobe Reader but for scanned P ...

• abuba 10 years ago

Q: I have a PDF book that contains some 200 pages. Is there a way to extract selected pages from that book and save it as another PDF.

A: You can the free PDF SAM (split and merge) utility to extract one or more pages from ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

For now,I believe it's a fake extract,unless proved otherwise.Thank you.

• abubak 10 years ago

hello Adisson, just go to google and ask the question whether pdfs are editable. you will be shocked. you can virtually do anything with the electronic copy.

• NAA4U 10 years ago

AFTER EDITING AN ELECTRONIC PDF FILE, THE EDITED VERSION CAN STILL BE PRINTED OUT AND IT WILL BECOME A HARD COPY. OF COURSE, YOU CANNOT EDIT ANY HARD COPY WITHOUT ANYBODY NOTICING IT? EDITING HARD COPIES MEANS EITHER IT WILL ...

• NAA4U 10 years ago

WHETHER IT IS PDF OR NOT, WHAT IS ITS RELEVANCE TO THE CASE?

ADDISON SHOULD PROVE HIS POINT AND STOP WASTING OUR TIME.

THEY CLAIM THEY ARE IN A HURRY BUT NOW THAT IT IS TURNING AGAINST THEM, THEY ARE DELAYING THE PROCES ...

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

You can restrict what other people can do to your document content. If you are using Adobe Acrobat Professional Software, you can check Editing, Printing, Copying, NOT ALLOWED. This is called Secirity feature.
    Choosing which ...

• Mahtma 10 years ago

Files with pdf extension(.pdf) can be edited using OCR Text Recognition tool or applicatio.

• 4 wise Johns in Ghana 10 years ago

Afari Djan...please don't let people hear this ooo...The Chairman of Ghana Electoral Commission doesn't know what a PDF is.....Ghana Wo Gbenaa

• John Anamse 10 years ago

Did counsel for petitioners say that PDF document cannot be altered?

This will be the biggest lie of the year and will indicate the extent to which the Petitioners will want to lie only to win elections

God Save Ghana

• Dr. John 10 years ago

Only Mr. Addison and his legal team members are aware of what is being asked. So, its all left to speculation at this point. I am speculating that the .pdf in the possession of the petitioners that was provided by the EC may ...

• DoubtingT 10 years ago

PDFs can be edited!!!!

• osei yao 10 years ago

Addison is being disingenuous. How could Adari Gyan single out NPP for a different copy? This is what baffled Afari Gyan, he could not fathom the sense of what Addison was driving at? Did the judge know what pdf was?

• Martin 10 years ago

Who said PDF can't be edited?

• Yaw Sey 10 years ago

Mr. Addison, give me a pdf file and I will edit it and print the edited form to you in 5 minutes. PDF's can be changed to word document in seconds, edited and reverted back to PDF in seconds. What does Addison know about comp ...

• JASON 10 years ago

Ghana is soo THIRD WORLD country.

A chairman that does not know PDF en a stupid opposition that says PDF cannot be edited.

MORONS!! PDFs can be edited and Morons..PDF's are simple documents!!..

whahahahhahahahahahhah ...

• PK 10 years ago

I have paid close attention to this case and all I can see is the typical Ghanaian incomptence and non- attention to details. How many times inyour offices have you make such errors and mistakes but carelesly cross them out o ...

• PK 10 years ago

Wondering why the coment above has typographical mistakes and the autor did not bother to make the necessary corrections; he is a Ghanaian. Food for thought!

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Addison's last prayer for Nana Addo.If indeed there is alteration in the extract then I don't know why the judges will entartain the petitioners again.Thank you.

• NANA KWAME 10 years ago

GHANA JUDGES ARE WISE

• jalabilahi 10 years ago

am sure by now grand pa gyan should be thinking twice, neither to tell the truth nor to go to hes sqecial self contain at the prison. hmmm na wow ooo....!

• Kaleem UK 10 years ago

What the hell is going on in Ghana. Dr Afari Gyan doesn't know what pdf is. SO WHAT!!!!!!!

• Whatever 10 years ago

It seems to me NPP has gone and changed the pdf document given to them and are trying to hide it by throwing dust into our eyes about pdf not be alterable. Pdf document is definitely alterable.

• Ataa 10 years ago

PURE SPECULATION. No basis. All the other parties should have thesame register right? This is easy to prove - if there is eveidence that different registers were given to some of the parties then that is a huge issue. Why are ...

• ********** 10 years ago

As chairman of the EC, he ought to at least ensure that documents sent from the EC is aurhentic and cannot be doctored (easily). He should therefore be asking questions and get the answers from the IT dept. If he did care, he ...

• AKU JASIKAN 10 years ago

PDF FILES CAN BE EDITED AND I DO THAT EVERY DAY IN MY BED ROOM,NPP CRIMINALS.THEIFS.TRYING TO DISCREDIT EC .

• Kokonte 10 years ago

This Addison guy is a big fool. pdf files can be altered, idiot. All you have to do is to convert the file to word, do your changes, and then convert it back to pdf file; very simple.

• Whatever 10 years ago

Addison is trying to decieve the court and Ghanaians. He should search the net and he'd find a number of utilities readily available to alter, manupulate and edit pdf documents

• Kwesi 10 years ago

PDF file can be altered through scanning and editing it with a rewritable PDF software.

• MOSQUITO 10 years ago

ADDISON, WHO TOLD U PDF CANT BE EDITED?
    GO LEARN FROM THE IT GUYS AT.....

• Justman 10 years ago

NPP ARE THIEVES NOBODY SHOULD ACCEPT ANY PDF FILE FROM THEM. THEY CAN EVEN CREAT THEIR OWN COPIES AND COVERT IT TO PDF AND CLAIMED IT IS COMING FROM EC.
    WE KNOW VERYTHING THIEVES. AFARI GYAN SHOULD JUST LAUGH IT OFF.

• ASHKENAZI 10 years ago

INDEED TELL ADDISON THAT PDF DOCUMENTS CAN BE MODIFIED SO HE SHOULD STOP MAKING A FOOL OF HIMSELF. THERE ARE INDEED PDF EDITORS SUCH AS FOXIT AND ALSO PDF PASSWORD REMOVERS

• kk 10 years ago

As a returning Officer,chairman or even a key member of an electoral commission that keeps,monitors and upgrade national statistics,you disgrace yourself if you say you never know what "pdf"is as applied to a document.If u do ...

• Akortsu 10 years ago

If Addison says pdf documents can not be altered, then Dr Afari Gyan does not know or understand the pdf he is talking about.This is simple

• Adamu 10 years ago

Did this person vote twice? Where is the evidence? In court you need evidence not speculation. There can be 1,000 double entries if you can't prove that they voted twice your case is dead.

• Jake 10 years ago

..soft copy, powerpoint ..exe files .mac, now pdf.
    This guy thinks he is the only clever man in town?
    one can convert, edit change images, with pdf, photoshop, ms word excel e.t.c and we all know that, pre-Dr Afari- Gyan er ...

• Cocoa Kraachi 10 years ago

PDF FILES CAN ABSOLUTELY BE EDITED. LET NPP NOT DECEIVE PEOPLE.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• ACHIPELLAGO, YONKERS, NY, U.S.A 10 years ago

A WHOLE DOCTOR DOESN'T KNOW WHAT PDF IS? AND HAS BEEN MADE THE ELECTORAL COMMISSIONER ALL THESE YEARS..GOD SAVE US!

• gq 10 years ago

ACHIPELLAGO, how many people know what a PDF is or stand for in Ghana? Does the judge asking the question know that 'PDF' can be edited? Does your dad - assuming he is in the village know- what PDF is?

God save you from yo ...

• messa 10 years ago

to avoid telling the truth of his fraud

• joe 10 years ago

Look at this Addison !!!

How can pdf not be altered !!!

pdf??????

My God. Is this a point to make?

Please EC, pdf can be altered.

I am sure this has been done once Addisson is saying it cannot be done.

How ...

• Maryln 10 years ago

If he is not computer literate, and So What? What? Leave Dr. Afari Djan alone. He has contributed his quota to the nation more than this writer!!

• Richard 10 years ago

only ignorant person could say PDF cannot be edited.

please let me show you if you do not know.

• PK 10 years ago

I have paid close attention to this case and all I can see is the typical Ghanaian incomptence and non- attention to details. How many times in your offices have you made such errors and mistakes but carelesly cross them out ...

• Vivor 10 years ago

A PDF file in electronic state could be edited by the use of a PDF editor,but you cannot edit a hard copy of it.

• Rans F 10 years ago

Never heard of that before! PDF documents can be edited and/or modified!! That is the TRUTH.

• tinny 10 years ago

is afari gyan's lack of knowing pdf the cause of npp defeat? what a waste

• Rans F 10 years ago

I don't like the NDC government and will never change my dislike for it. But the truth must be told. I have a software that is able to convert pdf documents to MS Word, MS Excel, MS PowerPoint and vice versa! Pdf documents ca ...

• Chris 10 years ago

Addison should come again.Who told him that PDF electronic file could not be edited?
    If Aferi Gyan did not know what a PDF stood for is not a case.Do you know everything in electronic computer soft ware or application?
    Many ...

• obi 10 years ago

PDF can NOT be edited. Just as certificates can not be edited. Of cause with software, yes, but what will that make the document? ... People think!!!!

• Nana Osei 10 years ago

Some of you are dumb asses. Yes PDF can be changed but it will significantly change the bytes of the document and can easily be known. Pdf was purposely made so you cannot change the document but third party software which ar ...

• James B. Otafregya 10 years ago

You don't need any 3rd Party software to edit PDF documents: you need Adobe Professional, which contains Adobe Distiller. Using that, you'll open any PDF document and make changes to it, provided the documents are NOT secured ...

• Nana Osei 10 years ago

Look man, a pdf doc with a password, write protection and encryption cannot be edited, except with a third party software, that's what i meant as i didnt assume the pdf they are talking about will be unencrypted and unprotect ...

• Zegbete 10 years ago

Addison is even more ignorant than Dr. Afari-Gyan who does not know what a pdf is. After all it is not important for an old folk like him to know everything at his age after learning hard to become a doctor. This is IT stuff. ...

Well stated, my countryman.

Portable Document Format (PDF) is a file format used to represent documents in a manner independent of application software, hardware, and operating systems. PDF was developed in the early 1990s ...

• Daavi 10 years ago

Oo yi wa !!So how can this technologically challenged man be an EC and conduct credible elections?
    Only in Ghana ooooh.

• King Jah 10 years ago

You will be suprised to know the head of elections in America is not the most IT survey person at his job. This happens everywhere.. I am a Data analyst for a US government agency and I can tell u with all sincerity 85% of th ...

• Kabre 10 years ago

Mr. Phillip Addison is rather the most technologically challenged person to have grievously erred that pdf file documents cannot be edited: that is the peak of ignorance.

• concerned ghanaian 10 years ago

Addison is also an ignoramus just as Afari Djan. At least Afri Djan was truthful in his reply. Addison on the other hand does not appreciate that one can use PDF architect to create, manipulate, convert to and from other docu ...

Philip Addison is the most ignorant lawyer of our time. He should know that one can convert Pdf file with the following software called: Able2Extract Professional

• Concerned Citizen 10 years ago

This EC Chairman is a disgrace to the whole of Ghana. He is not credible and the SC should throw away all his testimony!

• King Jah 10 years ago

The age of technology has not caught up well with our older generation, especially in Africa, I know many prominent Ghanaian men and women who struggle with basic technology like smart phones. Besides Dr. Afari Gyan in his po ...

• Gandalf 10 years ago

PLEASE PDF CAN BE ALTERED IF AND ONLY IF IT IS AN OPEN DOCUMENT AND THERE ARE NO SECURITY LIMITATIONS ENCRYPTED INTO IT. IN THIS CASE, I AM SURE IT IS AN ENCRYPTED FILE SO IT COULD NOT HAVE BEEN EDITED, UNLESS BY EXPERTS WHO ...

• King Jah 10 years ago

So in effect it can be edited no matter the encyption. People have means to get what they want ok!!!

• Gandalf 10 years ago

ADDITIONALLY, THERE APPEARS TO BE A DATE ON THE DOCUMENT THE EC PRESENTED. SURELY, THE PETITIONERS DID NOT MANUFACTURE THAT FOR THE EC. THE EC SHOULD BE ABLE TO GIVE US COGENT REASONS FOR THE NEW DATE ON THEIR DOCUMENT.

• Whatever 10 years ago

Go and asked Snowden who is just an average hacker how he hacked secret files belonging to the NSA of all agencies. Even if you put encryption on a pdf document, you haven't done anything because any average hacker, can still ...

• Queen 10 years ago

Afari Dwan is a CROOK. PDF cannot be edited......they usually only allow you to fill in the blanks but not change them, like when you fill out a Form online.

• King Jah 10 years ago

Queen!!! Please stop the ignorant message u are preaching... PDF can be edited all day any day... there are hundreds if not thousands of applications that does that. ADOBE is the main one... 'Nuance pdf converter' is also a c ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

And see whether he won't change it in a minute. NPP ignorance in IT is sickening. Even encryption code can be hacked, how much more pdf or portable document format?

• B kusi 10 years ago

Dr kojo afari djan, the EC BOSS have to be scan.

• NNNN 10 years ago

Who says PDF's cannot be edited. This guy is a dumb ass for saying that .

• kynn 10 years ago

how cud he a whole EC boss

• Koo 10 years ago

PDF means Portable Document Format. It is a file format used to represent documents in a manner independent of application software, hardware, and operating systems.Each PDF file encapsulates a complete description of a fixe ...

• Captain Koobi 10 years ago

naive clowns!! pdf is altered in recent times! wow, such backward morons!

• Uncle Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

Yes a PDF document can be altered? Adisson is a ignorant as Afari-Gyan. That's why these old gang of Ghanaians should give way to the 21st century Ghanaina youth.

• KWAME 10 years ago

SADLY, STONE-AGE AFARI DJAN IS NOT ALONE.

IN GHANA, THE VAST MAJORITY OF PEOPLE HOLDING TOP SENSITIVE POSITIONS DO KNOW VERY LITTLE OR NOTHING ABOUT COMPUTER USE, LET ALONE PDF.

NO WONDER GHANA IS FAST DRIFTING BACKWAR ...

• Onslopogas 10 years ago

OMG what a shame to mother Ghana.A whole electoral commissioner with a doctorate degree doesn't know what is 'pdf'.How can we stand with Malaysia???

• akonfem prez come clean,9holes 10 years ago

SHAME ON HIM,AFARI GYAN AND MAHANI,PERIOD

• IBRAHIM TAUFIQ 10 years ago

Your confession alone is enough substantial evidence to relieve you of the post of Chairman of EC....You lack credibility to serve even as a pooling agent if you dont know what pdf means...a day light shame to all Ghanaians t ...

• anonymos 10 years ago

its just funny that most people on here did not know what really went into the biometric exercise.anyway when afari gyan says he knows nothing about pdf you just have to understand him cos he was not handling the IT affairs o ...

• hmmmm 10 years ago

I can even break through some bank codes and do some transfers not to talk abt pdf nppian forward never backwards

• anonymos 10 years ago

my brother i even have my cv in a pdf format and whenever i want to edit it i just convert it edit it and then convert it back to pdf and moreover the voter register was not in a pdf format not at all

• big sam 10 years ago

yes tell dem we dey hack better files and code not to talk about pdf fuck pdf in 2days Ghana go to nima nd Newton a 6 yrs of gal can even edit pdf for you whether hard copy,electronics or what so ever asswholes

• John @ 10 years ago

pdf can be can not be altered. what a crap

• goodman 10 years ago

those who believe afari djan took bribe are all evil minded people who should mend thier ways and ask for forgiveness

• Nii Joromi 10 years ago

WTF,any child knows what pdf documents are.The rusty PhD HOLDERS HAVE TO GO ON RETIREMENT WITH DIGNITY.NOW!

• Akua 10 years ago

Awwww leave poor Afari-Gyan alone, he is a BBC (Born Before Computers)