You are here: HomeNews2013 07 15Article 279541

‘Ken, Atubiga contempt convictions unconstitutional’

Read Comments Comments (68)

• Kakraba Cromwell 10 years ago

What is the aim of these so called doctors and professors?
    They would be the very people who would fly out of Ghana the moment their contemptuous statements "starts a fire they can not control."
    Enough of the intellectual d ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV & TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

DR. PAA KWESI NDUOM “I saw many “forgotten” communities with no drinking water, no real schools, no electricity, no jobs, with very little to live for. I resolved that win or lose, I would spend my time trying to help s ...

• KOJOVIE 10 years ago

PROF. I THINK YOU NEED TO GO BACK TO THE CLASSROOM AND LEARN SOMETHING MORE ABOUT THE GHANA LAW, LEGAL PROCEDURES AND ALSO THE POWER OF THE SC.

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Justice Atu-bugabuga is just power-drunk and thinks he can hide behind the coat of arms to interprete his self-made sharia laws on Ghanaians.

Prior to Atu-bugabuga's buffoonery of sentencing Ken Kuranchie, Ghanaians heard ...

• Atta Mills 10 years ago

He is the mostly useless leader in Ghana now by all standards. If any evil befall Ghana i will blame him, how long should it take to complete this petition hearing? two years and you call your self Justice Atuguba. I pray the ...

• krikri 10 years ago

will make such observation. Nation wreckers

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

Mr. Cromwell

Is Justice Atuguba a fire expert or a Judge?

Was Atuguba appointed to determine the petition on the basis of sound law and evidence or was he appointed to take pre-emptive action to avoid a conflagration?

• NASH 10 years ago

Nyamaa, I think you are damn right.
    I think Atu is feeling really big now and wants to bully the citizenry.

Based on the Prof's srutiny of the law, I think Ken Kuranchie should haul the SC Justices to court for abuse of ...

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

Which Ghanaian barrister will even have the balls to represent Ken Kuranchie?

The damn lot are all bloodied and cowered by this Atuguba nonsense. Did you see how Ata Akyea, Kuranchie's counsel conducted himself in Court?

• mohammed 10 years ago

If our ghanaian lawyers are afraid they can hire international lawyers or this professor Kwesi to represent them. If professor Kwesi knows he can win with procedural fairness why is he telling us on the net. Challenge the Cou ...

• KKO 10 years ago

Which school did this Cromwell guy attend? His parents need to demand their school fees back. He is a bloody waste of space! The learned Professor took this rather complex issue to the lowest level for the worst wooden head t ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

It just because the whole world are
    watching the Supreme court hearing and
    Asiedu-Nketia and Afari Djan has made
    themselves clearly that they robbed the the conscience of the majority people of this nation, upon that he (A ...

• KWADWO OWUSU 10 years ago

What your article didn't not tell the nation is process the court uses to convict for contempt.

Can you please educate the public on that?

Thank you

• Bushman 10 years ago

Kwadwo Owusu did not understand the article. The Prof. has already indicated what due process of the law in criminal contempt is in the article. If you Again, learn to read over your own writings. Just one sentence/question ...

Bushman, Kwadwo Owusu is a san 4 leaver who needs help in undertanding these issues. Ignore my grammar for now and educate me. So I want you to tell me whether Ken and Atubiga were denied any of the rights he is talkiong abou ...

• koku 10 years ago

Ken was denied the chance to defend himself. It must be clear to all that the Atuguba Court is not an arbiteration panel or Chief's palace where respect and force is used for accused to beg or apologize for nothing done.
    Me ...

Koku;

How was Ken denied his right to defend himself when he was given all the opportunities in the world to defend himself but he PLEADED GUILTY. Don't tell me you are more intelligent than Ken and his lawyers.

• Gaana 10 years ago

Agya Wusu (name sake & also San4 leaver like You). You are right. "How was Ken denied his right to defend himself when he was given all the opportunities in the world to defend himself but he PLEADED GUILTY." But maybe (and I ...

• eric asare 10 years ago

what are the chief justice and the human right doing mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm we live to see

• Zegbete 10 years ago

Freedom of Speech + Freedom of liberty = + or - power to fools

Human right + Freedom of media = Animal Kingdom

Animal right + Freedom of speech = Disaster

• AKK 10 years ago

Sir John is next!!!. No words unconstitutionality should change the Justices mind

• African Star 10 years ago

It is sad how the so-called educated in Ghana always try to pull the wool over the eyes of ordinary Ghanaians. The law , above all things, must dispense common sense and truth. Make all the legal noises you want PROF, most G ...

• Hon Namoale 10 years ago

The Prof shot himself in his own submission. They were jailed becos the SP applied the common law and that is legal and legitimate. Period.
    The Prof cannot tell the SC which law to use

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

contempt versus criminal offence?

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

yes, prof sue them

• frank 10 years ago

are you trying to say people should just talk like fools,dont be cowed man

• chigri wagadugu 10 years ago

Atuguba the number one. He judges
    like he dey chop satoroga

• Samson 10 years ago

Sorry prof, your piece does not do us as citizens of Ghana any good. You points are at best academic fit for discussion at a law lecture hall.

• TAMALE CITIZEN 10 years ago

I THINK THE SUPREME COURT IS EXERCISING QUICK JUSTICE BECAUSE THEY WANT TO SHOW INSTANT EXAMPLES TO OTHER WILL-BE OFFENDERS AND TO SAVE THEIR TIME AND OTHER RESOURCES, DESPITE THE FACT THAT THE CULPRITS DIDN'T NOT HAVE A DELA ...

• TOMMY 10 years ago

It is only when their idiots and nuisance fools fault the law that they come out to challenged what have been in existence for years.I would have been happy if this so called professor had told us what offence Kuranchie and t ...

• Okonko Palm 10 years ago

The provision under which contempt of court flows is one of the exceptional provisions under all civilized nation to protect the court and ensure that it is not undermined.

Hence the provisions under natural justice is sub ...

• bagged 10 years ago

Okonko Palm! The Ghanaian Constitution trumps any UK Law yo care to quote on here!

Are you still a colonial?

• GHANAIAN OBSERVER 10 years ago

THE IMAGE OF GHANA'S SUPREME COURT IS ALREADY DENTED. WITH JUSTICES ATUGUBA AND BAMFO SIDING AND SHARING SECRET NOTES WITH NDC AFTER EVERY PROCEEDING; AND ATUGUBA OPEN COURT SHOUT AND YELLING AT PETITIONERS LAWYER; AND ATUGUB ...

• SK 10 years ago

It appears this so called prof knows the law more than all the judges and other lawyers in the country.
    They can continue in their folly but they must Know Ghana does not belong to them alone

• AKORA KYEI 10 years ago

WISDOM IS DIFFERENT FROM KNOWLEDGE

Akora, you are very right. However, you seem to lack both.

• Diasporan 10 years ago

I agree. Many of these educated buffoons have no wisdom, only knowledge. Worse, their knowledge is only book knowledge; not home knowledge that is adaptable to Ghana's circumstances.

Most Ghanaian journalists are "obroni ...

• Nii Lante Okunka 10 years ago

It never fails.Once in a while someone comes through with common sense to throw light on issues being discussed and elevates our collective understanding as "Diasporan" did in his contribution.
    Ghanaians,by nature,are more t ...

• ********* 10 years ago

I witnessed the supposed trial and my first rea ti on was this is not right but we have to accept it. The scenario was like a school boy summoned to the staff room. He is found guilty before any question is asked. I think it ...

• appiah 10 years ago

Atubiga is a desperate judge who is hungry for attention. It is sad that he has single-handedly destroyed the little respect left for our judiciary.

• Boateng owusu 10 years ago

If he is a prof, why can´t he use his time doing research? There is much left for him to become a Prof. Being a prof does not make you a law Prof.
    Non sense. It is senseless piece.

Boateng Owusu, you seem very pathetic. Did you take time to read what Kwasi Prempeh wrote? Or you lacked the understanding?

• Ken 10 years ago

Boateng Owusu, you are asking who made Prof. Prempeh a professor? Well it is Yale University, one of the best law schools in the world.

• Kojo 10 years ago

Here is a quote from your piece: "In other words, the only exception that is allowed to the entire Article 19 of the Constitution, in cases of contempt of court, is that the offense of contempt of court need not be defined, n ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

The title of the article itself clearly suggests some sorts of coloration of the writer's intent. First, the courts is not Justice Atuguba's court. It is Ghana's Supreme Court. Period! Second, the title suggests that Justice ...

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

I am not a lawyer but I am I wrong in thinking that the Awuku and Kuranchie cases are already tried and sentence passed?

Can I not comment on those two matters without interfering with the on-going petition hearing?

I n ...

• Osabere kotoko 10 years ago

They were given fair trial, there was no breach of their const. Right.

• Akyem Mafia 10 years ago

These Ghanaian Americans want to destroy this country

• Snoop 10 years ago

...or is it Poompreh? I thought this useless guy has gone underground to reconstruct his sorry life. But noooooo! This idiot is out there again trying hard to draw attention to himself with this childish opinion.

He shal ...

I feel very sorry for you. Kwasi Prempeh does not need to draw any attention to himself. Kwasi Prempeh is already an academic par excellence. Until we learn to appreciate excellence, our country cannot move forward.

• nabia 10 years ago

ALL THESE SO CALLED PROFESSORS ARE LOOKING FOR NOTHING BUT CHEAP POPULARITY.
    WHEN ATUGUBA WAS GIVEN THE FINAL WARNING WHERE WERE YOU.
    FIRST OF ALL CAN YOU COMMENT ON WHETHER THE WARNING WAS CONSTITUTIONAL OR NOT?
    TYPICAL O ...

• YAA 10 years ago

YES YOU'ER RIGHT, THIS IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL AND GOD WILL PUNISH ATUGUBA AND HIS JUDGES WHO SUPPORTED HIM. GHANA IS NOW LEAD BY FOOLS AND THEY DON'T WANT ANYONE TO TALK, THEY CAN GO TO HELL.

• One Ghana 10 years ago

If you are married, i wonder what kind of man is married to you, and if you are not, i don't think you can ever get a husband with this attitude, God does not punish people who do the right thing but rather people like the NP ...

• KWADWO NKETIAH 10 years ago

IF WHAT THE JUDGES DID WAS UNCONSTITUTIONAL, THEN SEND THEM TO YOUR OWN COURT AND JAIL THEM.

• Jerry bustard 10 years ago

Hketia your stupid and do not think as a ghanaba but like pepe atugubabaani

• One Ghana 10 years ago

I will plead with the prof. to come to Ghana and defend the two persons in question, than to be there and be talking the way he is doing, come to Ghana if you are a lawyer of repute and you believe you are a MAN, we are tired ...

Stay in your ignorance. One does not need to be in Ghana to make a meaningful contribution.

• Gaana 10 years ago

Agya Wusu,I also another Saa-7 leaver like You. You are right. "How was Ken denied his right to defend himself when he was given all the opportunities in the world to defend himself but he PLEADED GUILTY." But maybe (and I re ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Who is Professor Kwame Prempeh? Is he qualified even to be a magistrate judge at all? If this Professor Prempeh has that conviction then he should filed an writ at the supreme court seeking interpretation of the law of conte ...

• Kojo Addae, Juaben 10 years ago

Prof, I'm not sure had all your education in Ghana. Very intelligent piece. For once, I'm proud to read from a professor domiciled in Ghana in recent times on an important political matter. A word of advice to the judges of t ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 10 years ago

The Prof. had his first degree in Ghana, his Masters from Baylor, USA and his Juris Doctorate from Yale, USA.
    This pedigree bespeaks his tight analysis of the facts and law.

• Nana Asare 10 years ago

I THINK THIS MATTER TRUELY NOT OVER YET, GHANAIANS ARE BEING BULLIED WITH THE WORD CONTEMPT.

• Jerry bustard 10 years ago

IDIOT ATUGUBA PEPEMAN you a coward and idiot judge

• Ayitey Muller 10 years ago

The Prof has given us his expansive view of Article 19 and the clauses thereunder. What he forgot is that any controversy sorrounding the interpretation of the Constitution is determined by the supreme Court.

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

This is just a panel of the supreme court.