You are here: HomeNews2013 07 10Article 279152

Writing to judges is also contemptuous, Atuguba warns

Read Comments Comments (106)

• TKD 10 years ago

They think they know it all so they make all the noise which has ceased to deafen discerning ears.
    Please go ahead and do and do well what you have been trained to do.

• LOVET 10 years ago

WE ARE BEHIND JUDGE

• 1ST STRIKE! 10 years ago

ATUGUBA said, "highly-placed persons in society have been writing letters to the judges – a practice which is unacceptable in law"! In fact, this is what makes me sick in the stomach!
    What is keeping the so-called judges ...

• ex-convicttsatsu 10 years ago

WELL, IT SEEMS SOME "HIGHLY PLACED" PERSONS ARE SHAKING IN THEIR BEDS AT NIGHT. THEY THEREFORE HAVE NO OPTION BUT TO USE THEIR POSITIONS TO WRITE TO THE JUDGES FOR CONSIDERATION, IT MIGHT BEE TOO LATE NOW!
    KOOWA DI KOOWA - " ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV & TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• PAA 10 years ago

Npp will soon die and a new party formed in its place. What npp are looking for is to come to power to loot the nation's resources. Npp thinks Ghanaians have soon forgotten when they were stealing gold, money, land and other ...

• GHANAian 10 years ago

I HOPE THE SUPREME COURT ALSO COME OUT BOLDLY THAT MENTIONING THE NAME OF THE NATION PRESIDENT OR ANY HIGH COURT JUDGE IS CONTEMPTUOUS. THEY SHOULD CHARGE ALL THOSE INDISCIPLINE GHANAIANS WHO DON'T RESPECT AND KNOW WHO IS HIS ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Atubugabuga, stop pretending to be God !

You are human just like every Ghanaian and so you can be written to.

What you can say is that people should not write to judges to direct them what they should do, but you cannot ...

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

You did not understand Justice Atuguba said. The individuals doing the writing are definitely writing to influence the outcome of the case before the court, so it is very contemptuous as warned by the justice. He is not actin ...

• Komla Attivor 10 years ago

kpegah was a deputy Chief Justice now "Atubuga" has become the Chief Justice so Her Ladyship Georgina Wood is now a Magistrate right? Stupid illiterate.

• Atuguba 10 years ago

Fuck all those judges and that Bugatti man should stop playing bugabuga

pepeni has taken a few good but woefully incompetent men. so this ndc with all these people and their doctorate degrees , decades of experience and not being new to the business of running a nation could only find a chartered ...

• AKANCHALWAI ATENGDEM 10 years ago

You are great fool. Your ability to even read understand what you are saying makes you a full fledge 'pepeni'. It is a fundamental fact that no asanteman has a brain that could posture him as an intellectual. FOoooool.

• F,,K Supreme Court 10 years ago

This so-called judge is a joke. He reminds me of a story we read in our French textbook, "La farce de Maitre Pathelin", Indeed what we have now in Ghana is a farce, a joke , a theatre of the absurd. It is only in Ghana that w ...

• obibini 10 years ago

Ghanaians should watch Egyptians carefully the method is simple we will remove these idiots from power ina matter of weeks powerr tyo tyhe people. Removal without coup join me the time is NOW FATIA FATA NKURUMAH . COM

• Joe Black 10 years ago

I thought you were one of those sensible commentators, but you are wussy

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

Pepeni lawyer. You are not the only lawyer in town. You do not know better

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

This fool of a judge thinks he is running a Guinea fowl farm in Bunkpurugu. He has now become a full blown dictator strangling his own neck with his own foolish rope.

How can a judge give 3 days sentence to a threat and 1 ...

• Atugabiig 10 years ago

ATUGUBA, IGNORE THE DISTRACTIONS AND CONCENTRATE ON THE CASE AT HAND. THIS CASE IS TAKING TOOOOOOOOOOO LOOOOOOOOOONG.
    "NSUO KYE WO TUA MU A EYI HWA"

• Nana yaa 10 years ago

You are a big IDIOT

• atuguba london 10 years ago

kasia fool

• Gaby Bruk 10 years ago

Asshantis+rats, Ghanaians and flies.

• Lengweh 10 years ago

For POOR TROKOSIS to PARASITE RICH GHANA

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

“A lay man is a lay man,”
    Stupid Osei Tawiah Kwasea with a tiny brain is a stupid lay man Judge Atubuga is refering to as a lay man.
    What do you idiots know about the law?
    ABOAFONU

• Lengweh 10 years ago

Nervous NDC OFFUI urinating all over the web. Case is bigger than novice Atuguba, it's as simple as that. Its now about wheather pepeni Mahama will continue holding to hold Ghana hostage for 4years or do the honourable thing ...

Mahama won the election and your law-certificateless idiot Akufo Addo is the one idiot holding Ghana hostage.
    You goons thought that going to court the Judges will rule this case in your favour.
    Mahama will continue to be y ...

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

YOUR MOTHER & FATHER ARE THE IDIOT FOOLS.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Ghanains have ears but could not Listen,eyes but could not see, this
    case is pending in the hands of the
    Judges for a final election results
    why interfearing with the Judges.
    Do it the result will be yours.

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Who are these people and what do they want from the judges? sympathy? empathy? support? what? Why not leave the justices to do their job. It is hard enough as it is, please!

• Nigerians Are Cursed People 10 years ago

While three Ghanaians excel in Silicon Valley, Nigerians excel in big fraud.

UNITED NATIONS COMPENSATION UNIT IN AFFILIATION WITH WORLD BANK
    Hide Details
    From
    • MR BAN KI-MOON

To

UNITED NATIONS COMPENSAT ...

• Ghanaians Are Cursed People! 10 years ago

Ghana Has Failed – Amoabeng
    General News of Saturday, 25 August 2012
    Source: Daily Guide

Prince Kofi Amoabeng, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of UT Bank, says Ghana has failed in spite of the recognition of the countr ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Paulina I bet you need not to ask this
    question, the answer is simple, it is
    NDC who are highly placed in our society who knows very well that the ongoing Supreme Court excersises is not going down well with them and as usu ...

• macho 10 years ago

atuguba

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

You have always sided with what is going on and when some of us complain bitterly about the "nonsense" emanating from the supreme court, you don't want to deal with us again.

What Atuguba is saying is this, in Ghana, "four ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A defendant in a lawsuit involving large sums of money was talking to his lawyer. "If I lose this case, I'll be ruined."

"It's in the judge's hands now," said the lawyer.

"Would it help if I sent the judge a box of ciga ...

• Osebo, New York 10 years ago

That's a good one there. Please, tell the Tony Aidoos, Raymond Atugubas, Justice Pegahs and the so called reigners on the day to stop writing to the Presiding Judge about radio commentories and news paper publications. These ...

"It's easy. I sent the cigars to the judge, but signed the plaintiff's name."

Prince go kill me.That sound like a crook defendant.

• bex 10 years ago

This red-haired guy must now have found his niche. He is snug; he is feeling his oats, beating his chest, daring all, and issuing edicts everyday. Now I can't write to a judge because Atuguba says so.

All these is happenin ...

• CITIZEN ONE 10 years ago

Suddenly, I am looking for Kennedy Adjapongs signature. Please will pay heftily.

Thanks

• steve 10 years ago

Next time, it will be just looking at the face of any of the nine judges- A person will be charged with contemptuous look. Atuguba & co. ignore the distractions and concentrate on the main issue which is important to ghanaian ...

• Prof Lungu 10 years ago

We agree!

It is getting ultra ridiculous, pointless side-tracks from "the main issue which is important to ghanaians!"

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

This Atuguba idiot thinks Ghanaians are chickens. He thinks he is running a poultry farm.(Chickens here refer to a group of chicken, which is the plural of a chick, just like childrens is a group of children which is the plur ...

• Moses 10 years ago

Just imagine he didn't make any such statement until Kennedy's letter. What didn't he comment on the other letters? Because they were from NDC folks. His bias is so open it's not funny

• Kay 10 years ago

Don't be surprised the next time Atubugabuga will come out to say the 2012 Election result has been annulled for contempt and the new president will himself.

• Kofi Ampaasem 10 years ago

It is now clear that the majority of Ghanaians do not know how the law operates. A public lecture is needed to educate everyone regarding the role of the judiciary as an independent and impartial adjudicator of conflict using ...

• Kwaku Azar 10 years ago

Is it because they are highly placed? Name them, tell us what they wrote and if they have broken the law punish them

• Remove Indemnity Clause 10 years ago

Name them and let us know the contents of the so called letters.

• jm 10 years ago

because they are ndc bigwiggs.

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

I agree they should be named, shamed and if indeed they have broken the law, they should be dealt with accordingly.

This man's Torchline is so elastic only he knows the limits!

What crap!

Torchline (burn-line) or Touchline (collide-line)
    = Same in our book for this purpose!

• Tibaa 10 years ago

And also even thinking about the judges is treasonous subject to imprisonment!

Is Ghana slipping into a state of benevolent dictatorship???

• Dr. John 10 years ago

It has fallen head first. It is a democracy in disguise.

• PALMWINE SELLER 10 years ago

ATUBUGABUGA THE WORLD IS YOURS THROW ALL GHANAINS IN JAIL ABAAAAA

• Mary 10 years ago

Are his colleagues on board with him? I can't imagine the rest of SC js would go along with this crap. What happened to independent thinking jeez?

• Sunkwa 10 years ago

Why write to judges on cases pending before them?--the only persons I think,who could do that are lawyers in opposing camps and even that is done through the Registrar of SC--Bravo--Atuguba--you're on the right track.

• Adjoa Msreyame 10 years ago

Set some example and publish such letters from and to and them send them to jail

• Bangahim - USA 10 years ago

The SC judge should get the hell out there. Who are u to sideline people on freedom of speech. We are tired of this supreme court idiot.

• Charles Okai 10 years ago

There we go again with the stupidity of our leaders.

• sam locco 10 years ago

Atubiga call fear and panic 2 ghanaians

• AK 57 TORONTO 10 years ago

YOU ARE THERE FOR A REASON NOT BY CHANCE.BE OUR SAVIOUR AS HOW OTHER NOBLE GHANAIANS LIKE JJ, KOFI ANAN. YOU WILL BE THE NEXT PERSON IN OUR BOOKS

MAKE THIS COUNTRY THE LAW ABIDING COUNTRY.THE WORLD IS WATCHING YOU.

YOU HAVE BEEN CROWNED BY THE HIGHER SPRITS IN HAVEN SO FEAR NO ONE BUT JUST THE LAW AND MAKE GHANA A BETTER PLACE FOR THE SAKE OF OUR KIDS...

ALL ARE CALLED BUT YOU ARE THE PERSON CHOOSEN AT THIS MOMENT. BE THE HERO AND SAVE OUR NATION. MAY THE LORD BE WITH YOU

WE NEED MORE SPECIAL PRAYERS FOR THIS MAN. THAT HE CAN STAND AGAINST ALL EVIL POWERS THAT WILL FIGHT AGAINST HIM. BE STRONG BE STRONG AND GOOD JOB DONE. THANK YOU SIR

FROM TODAY TO GO YOUR NEW NAME HAS BEEN GIVEN TO YOU AS SIR ATUGUBA

IT SHOULD BE SIR JUSTICE WILLIAM ATUGUBA
    ATU MEANS DESTROY

GU MEANS THROWN

BA MEANS HUMAN
    ALL EQUALLS TO SAVE US

• JOHN MILLS 10 years ago

ATUGUBA IS A SMART JUDGE SO FARE,HE FOLLOWS ALL DIE BE DIE,SLOGAN

• DESCARTES 10 years ago

RADIO STATIONS AND THE PRESS, INSTEAD OF GIVING PLATFORM TO SMALL FISHES,RATHER INVITE EX SUPREME COURT LEGAL BRAINS OR LIKEWISE TO EXPLAIN A-Z OF THE FUNCTIONS AND DUTIES OF THE SUPREME COURT. IF WE ARE READY TO LEARN.

• Mahama educates his kids abroad 10 years ago

what is this crazy guy who is slowly becoming another Rawlings a power drunk lunatic going on about? Instead sorting out this election petition so the nation can move on, all he is talking about is how omnipotant judges are. ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

Published the names of the highly placed persons and what they said as Sammy Awuku, Stephen Atubiga and Ken Koranchie's names were mentioned and made to face the court. Simple!

• Nana Asare 10 years ago

I THINK THIS Atuguba SHOULD STOP SCARING GHANAIANS UNLESS HE THINKS, HE IS ABOVE EVERY LAW IN GHANA.

• ADAM SOULE-MAN 10 years ago

THEESE HIGHLY PLACED PERSONS IN SOCIETY WRITTING TO THE JUDGES MUST BE INVITED ON CONTEMPT BEFORE THE SUPREME COURT AND BE SANCTIONED LIKE IT WAS DONE TO THE OTHER THREE LAY MEN WHO HAS TO SERVE JAIL TERMS EVEN THOUGH THEY AR ...

• oyinasky 10 years ago

Atuguba has misfired. He is in contempt of his own court. He is too flexible to be an old vandal but he is!

• Nana 10 years ago

Justice ATUBUGA, you can easily understand now how far we Ghanaians and Africans are far from a modern life and its exigences. People want something and its contrary in the same time. They want democracy but they don't want t ...

• Fad 10 years ago

Writing to judges is also contemptuous, Atuguba warns

• Dictator/Tyrant Atuguda 10 years ago

Just don'st read them. You cannot stiffle freedom of speech with your ridiculous contempt of court-3-10 day prison sentences.
    Is this guy a lawyer or some traditional ruler?

Somebody tell me!!!

• IDIOTIC MAHAMA, EVIL NDC 10 years ago

I won't be surprised if it's Mahama who's behind this letter writing to Atuguba, since it's coming from highly-placed persons in society. Secondly he declared that he won the elections cleanly and fairly. As if that was enoug ...

• KOKI 10 years ago

Good and clear point except the insult!

• Kasade 10 years ago

Is this Judge so supreme to be a dictator for this country. Oh my God save Gh.

• Kofi Adjaho Mahama 10 years ago

proclaiming that " I won the December elections clean"; and "I was ordained to be President by God" are not only highly contemptuous but a slap in the face of the Supreme court judges. Yet the person who made these contemptuo ...

• kofi ofori amoako 10 years ago

Atugba should be held in contempt for sitting on a case in which his nephew has an interest in the outcome as the Executive Secretary to the President. Even a layman would know this presents an appearance of a conflict of in ...

• yd 10 years ago

Don't worry your time will come

• ANTWI BOASIAKO 10 years ago

IF THIS MAN WANT TO BE TAKEN SERIOUS HE HAVE TO WARN PRESIDENT MAHAMA FROM MAKING ANY COMMENTS ABOUT THIS CASE. THIS BEGIN WHEN THE PRESIDENT MAKES SEVERAL CONTEMPT COMMENT WITHOUT THE SC INTERVENTION, THEN THINKS EVERYONE OK ...

• akonfem prez come clean,9holes 10 years ago

USELESS MAHAMA IS BOGUS,SHAMELESS,INCOMPETENT,WOMANIZER,ATOPAHENE,THIS IS STUPID

• Bimpong 10 years ago

This latest development of warning to the Ghanaian public though right in motive is a dangerous signal to the peace of the country!

The Judges must thread cautiously else they would end up hastening the disorder of the th ...

• No no! 10 years ago

I hope we don't get there! We don't want to live in fear of any institutionalized authority. Never again!

The SC should find a better way to stem the tide of criticism else everyone may end up being hauled before them. Th ...

These men on the bench are a bunch of illiterates. They did not have a propeer legal training or go to the best law schools. They do not know how the law works and what it means to be impartial or play the role of the arbiter ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

ARTHUR KENNEDY, PROF ASANTE, ET AL ARE THEREBY WARNED TO DESIST FROM WRITING LETTERS TO THE COURT. OTHERWISE THEY WILL BE CALLED TO ANSWER FOR CONTEMPT OF COURT.

Atuguba and these nine judges, we are beginning to see you see as lazy and incompetent judges. How long do you want to take to rule on this case? So far there is no progress on this case. Lazy judges! We are tired of you. non ...

• Onua 10 years ago

Hey, Kofi, be careful else you will be called before them o!

Lazy and illiterate judges. Where did they receive their legal training and education?

• PAS 10 years ago

WHAT AT ALL ARE TELLING GHANAIANS?ENOUGH OF YOUR COMMENT.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Kwaku Azar 10 years ago

I hope you will count it no presumption that I seek your leave to address you on behalf of the unborn child. Like that child I can be considered an outsider. I am not an American citizen.

My parents were Albanian. I was bo ...

• Ofori, K. Mensah 10 years ago

Sir, you are absolutely right. Writing a letter on contacting the judge hearing a court case or making any comment on the case whilst in court is seriously prejudicial. Ghanaians need a proper education not only on the law bu ...

• Joe 10 years ago

Ghana is now a lawless nation. A nation where some group of people can open their mouths and say whatever they want while others cannot even to open his mouth to speak his views. I thought John Mahama and Asiedu Nketiah also ...

FUCK ATUGUBA!!!!!!

• KOKI 10 years ago

Sure, one needs to stay clear of passing comments on cases running in the court room. However, the issuing of threats to the public is not the option. This approach is likely to serve as a bait to divert the SC attention from ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

Forget these incompetent Judges!Don`t they understand that Ghana is losing a lot economically because of their delay to make a ruling? Are they just interested in their sitting allowances?Do they need more than 6 months to ma ...

• ken 10 years ago

more letters is on the road coming atuguba

• ken 10 years ago

atuguba warn yourself

• Atta Quasi 10 years ago

Sorry, you are talking as if you not a Proper Ghanaian. What are your facts. Please!. Think before you write or talk..Write constructive ideas as proper Ghanaians do to educate the people. May there be Peace, Love and Underst ...