You are here: HomeNews2013 07 08Article 278956

Justice Atuguba worried over ‘bashing’ from public

Read Comments Comments (99)

• Zombie Killer 10 years ago

Keep jailing people,nothing last forever,the day things will turn against you,

• Kofi Adjaho Mahama 10 years ago

Its a shae Justice Atubugah should not be sitting on this case especially because he has a personal interest in the outcome of this case. His conduct in court so far has been less than impartial. Even his body language sends ...

• sinewy 10 years ago

To hell with Atuguba. He is not fit to be a Supreme Court judge. He is pro NDC! he does not believe in free speech.

Since before independence we have been plagued by all sorts of ruthless , vicious and willfully authoritative govts that all have one thing in common , denying the right of free speech and proper analysis of the motives and a ...

• Real Ghanaian 10 years ago

What irks me the most, is the sense of entitlement and blame mentality bequeathed upon these fringe group by Nkrumah. Simply put their failures are attributed to Akans and their success definitely not. Yet it is these same Ak ...

• TRUE GHANAIAN 10 years ago

Just like Afari Gyang, Ghanaians are watching him destroy our justice system by showing incompetency.

• INDIGO 10 years ago

Atuguba is loosing focus. He should be called to order. If he is not careful he will open the flood gates and it will backfire. He should beware.

• ATONGO 10 years ago

THE BEST WAY TO GO IS TO SHUT/CLOSE YOUR EARS, YOUR EYES, AND YOUR MOUTHS SO THAT YOU CAN CONCENTRATE ON THE BIG CASE BEFORE YOU.

• Bonsu 10 years ago

Not to be the one to expose the lapses in Ghana Judicial system, bring disrespect and lack of confidence in the system as Ghana is being watched within and internationally. This is the time maturity and control of political g ...

• Uncle Al 10 years ago

I can't for the life of me understand these NPP supporters, they never reason on any issue, all they do is insults when things doesn't go their way. You fools are so bent to destroy our state institutions with impunity, first ...

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

Atubiga is a fool

• Jojo 10 years ago

You have the right to Jail people and we have the right to comment on your work too Mr the law is in our bosom, please You don't have all the best brains in the country and remember You are on record to have made damming comm ...

• Sani not Abacha 10 years ago

Man, don't waver, is it Mosquito or a 'Sir', just push them inside and we shall have our piece. And you will be free to do your work. I even thought you should have brought this matter to a close long time by telling them sin ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Ghana is becoming Lawless country,
    everybody disrespct the Law. The Laws
    are silent when crimes are cmmited but
    will deal with you when you are done
    Like those gentlemen who visited the
    prison few days ago. Nobody is abo ...

• Yaw Manu 10 years ago

Justice Atuguba and co. at the SC should stop the jailing and concentrate on the case before them. Matters between the SC and the public must be handled by a another court.
    In the real common sense, it's unfair for the sam ...

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

Atuguba should concentrate on adjudicating the petition.
    Law and Order is a policing responsibilty.

It is not the duty of the 9-member panel to become the "thought* police.

• boka 10 years ago

Amen and Amen

• TKD 10 years ago

How many times do they want you to tell them their actions are not accepted in the face of the maintenance of law and order?
    Deal with all those who would take you and your panel for granted.
    From day one they had problems ...

• Homesense 10 years ago

I want to suggest that the SC delegates the matter of it been "contempted" to another powerful law enforcing agency. That if the laws permit, and there is any such institution.

This will enable it concentrate on the substa ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Don't hold back, Supreme court

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Just imagine this thing called Atuguba as President. Is this how you solve this problem of division in the country? This silly method applied by Atuguba can't even solve a family's problem let alone a country. Atuguba, get th ...

• FREEMAN 10 years ago

I do not see any division in the country. Why will I unite with unruly disrespectful adults who think that they are above the law. You are even calling the SC judges' action as stupid. The likes of you will create problems fo ...

You are still living in your primitive stage of brain development, like an Amoeba. Respect is earned not enforced. People who execute justice coupled with fairness are the ones who deserve respect, not fools like you who beli ...

A mind boggling question is who is watching over the Supreme court justices. Are the judges claiming DIVINE INFALLIBILITY and therefore, it will be wrong for any one to criticize them. I think some one should remind them that ...

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

This is not mind boggling at all, my friend. The SC is like the referee in a match. You can protest his calls but if he sees you as putting the match in jeopardy, he can give you yellow card and if that doesn't work he'll giv ...

• Bonsu 10 years ago

YES, IT DOES VERY WELL.
    At this stage I should ask the SC to apologise to Ghanaians for interfering with their FREEDOM of speech and immediately open a new page to SERVE Ghana in peace.

• kobby 10 years ago

Thank you.pepeni aboa atuguba.who pay for their lunch???

• HARD REPLY 10 years ago

Please stop insulting. You may not have somebody in your family like him. You will tell me you have but I know you don't have any professional in your family. Your language tells it all. You have to respect.

• BABZY 10 years ago

Why are u worried over the sentence of people who wants to be unruly, are u one?its idiot like you who describe fellow humans as "thing" that deserves the cell. Foolish bastard a mistake for human being, he will jail and jail ...

• Uncle T 10 years ago

I have observed with great worry how some lose canons within the NPP are continue to harm the fortunes of the party by their lose talks. Anytime Sir John, Anthony Karbo or Kenedy Agyapong...open their mouths, I get goose pimp ...

Who says there is any fairness in Ghana? Ofui, how can anybody expect fairness in a person like Atuguba with his foolish demeanor? Even the NDC knows he is bias, hiding behind the law to punish people he does not agree with a ...

• Fonka 10 years ago

The public has the right to tell anybody how they feel. How is it possible that people that call for coups and those that openly say they will not accept SC verdict go unpunished but rather those that complained about open b ...

• georgio Amano 10 years ago

If the Supreme Court will continue this way , then the whole of Ghana will be in prison before the case finishes.
    Pls use your head

• Time bomb 10 years ago

What a bunch of Cowards these Ghanaians,making noise about just one man. They're scared as usual but big mouth.
    If you're bold enough just enter the court and let's hear you and Stop hiding behind Ghanaweb. Crying like babie ...

• bagged 10 years ago

the supreme court has brought this upon themselves.
    The lack of due process and high-handedness by the court is turning people against them.

they will be reading it very wrong if they believe that even greater, and harsh ...

• kobby 10 years ago

Atuguba lacks common sense.pepe can't lead in anything

The supreme Court Justices should stop hiding behing the terminilogical inexactitude called contempt of court. They should rather see the criticism from the public as a feedback to check their actions and utterances and to ea ...

• NAA4U 10 years ago

ATUGUBA AND YOUR PANEL. PLEASE DO YOUR WORK. DO NOT BE MOVED AND INTIMIDATED BY ANYBODY.

THEY HAVE AN AGENDA TO TOPPLE THIS COUNTRY BUT IT WILL NOT WORK. T HEIR MISSION IS, IF NOT THEM THEN IT SHOULD BE NO ONE

• I came and I saw 10 years ago

Atuguba court has one justice for NPP and another for the NDC.
    We are all watching Atuguba.

• NAA4U 10 years ago

OSEI TAWIAH, HOW COULD YOU DESCRIBE A WHOLE SUPREME COURT JUDGE AS 'THIS THING'? MEANWHILE, IF IT IS USED TO DESCRIBE ANY OF YOUR NPP LEADERS WHO ARE ...................., YOU WILL SAY, DEATH SHOULD GIVE YOU WATER.

• NANA 10 years ago

YOU OSEI TAWIAH OR WHO EVER YOU CALL YOURSELF I WISH YOU WILL BE BOLD AND COME OUT PLAINLY AND USE THIS YOUR STINKING MOUTH TO SAY SEARCH THINGS ABOUT ATUGUBA. IF YOU ARE A GROWN UP PERSON THEN YOU ARE VERY STUPID FOOL. HOW A ...

Aboa Dwan, who the fuck is Atuguba? And who says I criticize people because of Akuffo Addo? Fools like you can't keep your eyes open so you are so scared and worship humans instead of God. Aboa bi ba !!!

• FREEMAN 10 years ago

Many of you under cover would spew hatred but never courageous to show up. When they call you before court you will be wobbling with fright. If Osei Mensah thinks he has the courage then show up. Nonsense.

OFUI, There's no need to respond to you anymore because I now know you are dumb. You can't even differentiate between names. Who the hell is Osei Mensah?

• BABZY 10 years ago

akuffo addo will not be a president today neither tomorrow, you can put your head in between your thigh and lick your stinky ass,ghanaians will not vote for him and he will never be the president of ghana in his life.So go to ...

It is unimaginable to see how stupid this Atuguba is? This man has brought the image of Ghana into the gutters. Ghana is a country, not a Witches Camp. Does he think he can cow Ghanaians through intimidation and imprisonment? ...

• FREEMAN 10 years ago

Check the history books who said he would make Ghana ungovernable and tell me what happened to that person. He died in prison. Any one who would want to threaten this country will also die in prison.

And where did Nkrumah die? I thought he said he will be President for life in Ghana.

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

what did you do with your life in Canada?...asshole

• BABZY 10 years ago

why worried?its Atubuga who is dealing with your shit ass, he is sending you in to sleep at 6 pm before your normal sleeping ass. Make a mistake and prove that you are your fathers real son, but not through your moms infideli ...

• Osei Krutwamansa 10 years ago

What ever name you are hiding under, this is supposed to be a forum of enlightened minds. Justice Atugba is only one of the nine justices on the panel in this election petition brought before the Supreme Court. He cannot impo ...

• A Ghanaian marfia in Italy 10 years ago

No. Atuguba &co. This is not job good Ghanaians are expecting from u.So pls .(Atuguba &co) tackle the main case & stop jailing people for nothing. Because we are in freedom of speech.

• WOYOME 10 years ago

Foolish Judge.

• Osei Krutwamansa 10 years ago

The Akyems and Kwahus in Ghana also eat dog. if you have travelled the world, you surely will know thatthe Chinese, Romanians and Koreans also eat dog not only as normal part of their diet but as delicacies. Contribute to the ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www greatnanapowerfullspiritualist blogspot com

• Oppong 10 years ago

Atuguba, are you worried NDC is losing and have decided to use this to

• KANOKWARE.... 10 years ago

Atuguba,,,be seriouse and get urself bussy about the election petition case and come out with truth results. and stop battling rebatals back to the public talks,,,this is uncall for...

• KOKU MATULA BAAH 10 years ago

WE WILL COMMENT TODAY AND TOMORROW. ITS OUR RIGHT AND WE ARE NOT OBLIGED TO AGREE WITH THE SUPREME COURT. THEY BETTER HURRY AND GET THE JOB DONE. WE CANNOT WAIT TO GET MAHAMA'S SMELLING ASS OFF THE SEAT. SO FAR AS HE TAKES TH ...

• Gaana 10 years ago

Mr Justice Atuguba I suggest you and your family members should try visiting us here on Ghanaweb for more contempt culprits since you are so much worried about public bashing.

• BABZY 10 years ago

hy worried?its Atubuga who is dealing with your shit ass, he is sending you in to sleep at 6 pm before your normal sleeping ass. Make a mistake and prove that you are your fathers real son, but not through your moms infidelit ...

• ... 10 years ago

Mr. Akoto should read this and get first hand information about the misuse of his FORUM. Ghanaweb is for discussions and not for insulting people using fake names.
    All of us will soon be forced to use our real names to be ab ...

• Daavi 10 years ago

Yaye kom na yehye Onyame !

• Carol, Osu 10 years ago

worries will keep on, if fairness and justices are not prevailing for innocence to comfier in the country there goes on. Judges are abusing their powers with bribes and sending innocence people to suffer at prisons and latel ...

• okofo 10 years ago

Mr Atuguba, your own demeanor at the bench constitutes "contempt" to the public: You've shown bias in your "comments", "jokes" and decisions on "objections" agaisnt the petitioners.

You're trying hard to cover your patial ...

• Obiri Yeboah London. 10 years ago

You can jail all Ghanaians yet no one cares.there is a say that"A hunter after an elephant does not stop to throw stones at birds"You are in the highest court of Ghana,why do you listen to the ordinary people?by so doing,you ...

• Kwobia ( Toronto ) 10 years ago

In all of this brouhaha where is the Ghana govt?Should the govt. leave all of this to the SC
    to fight it's way alone?What about the security
    agencies?

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

These hopeless Judges, who can`t rule 6 months after an election petition,can only jail people, which isn`t their duty!June 4 and December 31 celebrations have been banned but Rawlings continues celebrating without being sanc ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 10 years ago

Atuguba and his team should not lose focus on the petition. Hauling people before the court is unhelpful and unneccesary and I wish Atuguba and his team will listen to the advice from Dr Bawumiah to Tony Litur at the start of ...

• kuku 10 years ago

stupid supreme court,other countries takes weeks to hear,listen and bring justice.u are all idiots with no-senses.u are here not jail people for bashing u but rather if the elections were free and fair.this can happen only i ...

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

So Justice Atuguba is now relying on Radio Gold and the enquirer to police his "contempt" orders?

OK. when he gets the "tape" from Radio Gold can he ensure that it is not doctored by the station.?

• isaka 10 years ago

Atuguba must take care He does not abuse power.Power currupt Absoltüly power currupt absolutly.
    Then we will have something to say.

• KWAME 10 years ago

What country do we want to create in this part of our world? Is it lawlessness and indiscipline which we want to revert to? Then it is proper and better we call for dictatorship that will be headed my the military.These peopl ...

• GHANABA 10 years ago

WHO SMUGGLED ATUGUBA TO THE SUPREME COURT? HE DID HE GET THE SUPREME COURT AS A JUDGE? GROSS INCOMPETENCE, TALKATIVE AND BIAS.

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

He doesn't make any effort to contain his bias and when you call him on that, he instigates phony contempt charges against you.

He is using the court to perpetrate injustice and he should blame himself.

• boka 10 years ago

An independent body need to determine this issue not the supreme court. Please spend your time on important issues not on what is a contempt

• Adongo 10 years ago

I suspect the SC judges are pro NDC

• Ato 10 years ago

Ignore them

• Adongo 10 years ago

The SC is enjoying the lime light?this case will go on forever!

• Asantehene 10 years ago

May God help you to make the right decision base on FACTS presented. Don't mind the public

• Framanframan 10 years ago

let them go to hell. The Law must provail

• Kuuku Annan 10 years ago

THIS SO-CALLED JUDGE HAS BECOME A CRY-BABY FOR MY LIKING! ALWAYS COMPLAINING ABOUT SILLY STUFF! wHAT THE GUY SAID WAS FOR YOU TO BE CAREFUL! IN OTHER WORDS,BE LEVEL-HEADED KNOWING THAT WHTA'S GOOD FOR THE GOOSE IS EQUALLY GOO ...

they still not serious

• TRUE GHANAIAN 10 years ago

If Atuguba is interested in doing other job rather than the one 80% of Ghanaians are interested in, then he is living on Fantasy Island.

They are uncivilized and undisciplined....they have operated in a lawless vacuum for too long so they having problems with the contempt laws

• Eric in London 10 years ago

Its shameful that these judges are jailing people who air their views instead for them to concentrate on the task ahead

• Nana 10 years ago

Justice William ATUBUGA, Ghana and the nation have given you power and responsibility to maintain law and order in this country. So don't hesitate to make use of that power.

Nobody can cut your heads just because you are ...

• error.akonfem prez come clean 10 years ago

MAHAMA ALSO MUST BE JAIL TOO,PERIOD NONSES

• YAA 10 years ago

ARREST ALL NPP MEMBERS AND PUT THEM INTO PRSION SO THAT NO ONE WILL TALK ABOUT YOUR SELECTIVE LAW AND ORDER. KWASIA AND A BASTARD.GOD WILL PUNISH YOU ALL.

• Nana Aba 10 years ago

It is time for the CJ to sequester the panel hearing the election petition - they are too distracted by media comments.
    A word of free advice to justice Atuguba,you can't put 100 people in jail for voicing their opinion. Y ...

• Brain 10 years ago

The problems is, you cannot be the...
    police officer,
    the prosecutor
    and the judge
    ... at the same time. This equals a Kangaroo Court.
    What happened to the rule of law and citizens rights?

• YAA 10 years ago

SINCE WHEN HAS LAW AND ORDER BEEN JUDGES DUTY IN GHANA? TELL US ATUGUBA. DEAL WITH THE CASE BEFORE YOU AND STOP THIS NONSENSE. WHAT YOU'ER DOING IS UNHEARD OFF.SIR JOHN IS THE SPOKE PERSON FOR NPP AND IF HE CANNOT TALK THEN W ...

• IDI AMIN DADA 10 years ago

The supreme court must shut up on comments about their judges and allow lower courts in whose jurisdictions where such utterances were made, such as the Accra High Court, to take up the case if they so wish to do so. Even th ...

ATUBUGA OR WHATEVER HIS NAME IS AND HIS TEAM OF "JUDGES" ARE DISCGRACING THE SUPREME COURT. THEY BETTER BEWARE OR WE SHALL CALL FOR THEIR IMMEDIATE RESIGNATION. HOW DARE THEM THINKING THEY BE JUDGES AND TGHE POLICE AT THE SAM ...

GHANA, GET READY FOR MASSIVE DEMO TO CALL FOR THE IMMEDIATE RESIGNATION OF THE ENTIRE 9 JUDGES IF THEY CANT KEEP FOCUS AND ALLOW THEMSELVES TO BE DISTACTED BY TRIVIAL MATTERS. CHOOOOOOOOOOOO BUOIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII ...

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

Under equal protection of law, one is innocent until proven guilty. But this is opposite in Atubugaga court. He is acting as the prosecutor and judge at the same time.

• nyankonwu 10 years ago

we are waiting for the main case and nothing else

• NTAMKESE 10 years ago

IF YOU GIVE OUT JUSTICE AS YOUR PREFESSION REQUIRES OF YOU, WHY SHOULD PEOPLE BASH YOU UP? THIS GOES TO SHOW THAT YOU HAVE FAILED AS SC JUDGE-YOUR OPEN BIAS AGAINST THE PETISIONESR AND EVERYONE THAT SUPPORTS THEIR CAUSE IS JU ...

• Yaw Manu 10 years ago

Justice Atuguba and co. at the SC should hand matters between them and the public to a neutral court.

• Abrantie 10 years ago

Atuguba can do whatever he feels at his court, we at the Ghanaweb have all the freedom of expression to say what we feel about anybody -period.