You are here: HomeNews2013 07 06Article 278783

I disagree with gov't on tax increment - Kwesi Pratt

Read Comments Comments (76)

• preman 10 years ago

your incompetent ndc2,jm and his cronies for you!

Since before independence we have been plagued by all sorts of ruthless , vicious and willfully authoritative govts that all have one thing in common , denying the right of free speech and proper analysis of the motives and a ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Lafia 10 years ago

but who the hell are you disagreeing with government? what power do you have? be getting ready for nsawam dungeon

• Paa Kwesi 10 years ago

GHANA IS SERIOUSLY BECOMING THE 1ST PLACE UNDER THE SUN WHERE THE UNEMPLOYED WITHOUT ANY SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS ARE TAXED. IT'S TRUE THAT ALL GOVERNMENTS DEPEND ON TAXES FOR DEVELOPMENT. THE BEST WAY TO DO IT CIVILIZED ECON ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

The issue of the tax in Ghana is where do the taxes go? If Government is pending over 100% budget to elect itself, no control over ministries expenditure, health delivery is poor, energy supply is in crisis, rampant water sho ...

• SAM 10 years ago

IDIOT

• NANAAAAA..ADDOOO 10 years ago

HE BEHAVES AS THOUGH HE IS THE MOST SENSIBLE MAN IH GHANA

• Jonny 10 years ago

This man is talking sense USA when USA was in recession they did not raise taxes they reduced both taxes and intrest rate

• AWOH 10 years ago

freedom of speech comes with responsibility ok

• KOJO 10 years ago

ETHNOCENTRIC TEWP-DID YOU GET TIME TO WRITE ALL THIS NONSENSE-WHAT A FOOL

that was written in less than 10 minutes you illiterate idiot of a fool . for you its nonsense when you can not deny the truth . wisdom comes only through a just heart and after reflection which obviously you are uncapable of ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

All that you said are rubish, you
    cann,t detect to the Government or
    diret them what to do.This is Democracy Government,for the people.

• charles 10 years ago

STUPID BASTARD, DO YOU KNOW THE MEANING
    OF WHAT YOU HAVE WRITTEN? HOW MUCH IS THE MINIMUM WAGE OF THE WORLD`S RICHEST COUNTRIES? STUPID AKAN.

obvious you can only think in the dirt and mud so intellectually incompetent to comprehend and enlightenment . the minimum wage is for losers and dropouts with no perspective or potential , we say every Akan is well above thi ...

• EFO KOKU 10 years ago

We Ghanaians love the tax increment that is why we voted for NDC. Kwasi Pratt leave us alone. Edey beeeee keke.

• GHANABA 1 10 years ago

These crooks will find ways and means to loot the poor Ghanaian in all ways.How advanced is Ghana to go that far and how productive is our Telephone providers? These so-called leaders won't be affected so they don't care to i ...

• PALMWINE SELLER 10 years ago

STUPID BRAT PRATT WHO THE FUCK DO U THINK U ARE? WHO CARES IF U DISAGREE OR AGREE UR FUCKING NDC PIGS ARE CONFUSED AND HAVE NO CLUE WHAT IT TAKES TO BUILD A NATION. YOU STUPID HOME MADE CHAMPION WITH GROUND HAWK TEETH.

• BJ 10 years ago

You and your folks are not better than Mr. Kwesi Pratt; learn some courtesy!

• YAW-LONDON 10 years ago

HOW MUCH IS GOVT SPENDING TO BUY CARS FOR MINISTERS. IS IT NOT RUNNING TO HOW MUCH THE GOVT REQUIRES. BETTER CONSIDER THIS SITUATION AND STOP DEEPENING THE WOES OF GHANAIANS

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 10 years ago

Kwesi,even though some of your suggestions are worth considering iam of the opinion that corruption in the public sector is the main reason preventing governments in Ghana from getting enough revenue to balance budgets.When ...

• BJ 10 years ago

whose responsibility is it to alleviate corruption in the public sectors? We are all guilty of it. From education ministry to whatever, corruption is apparent but we all refuse to help arrest the evil practice.

It takes leadership to arrest corruption. Until we have leaders who are ready to lead, nothing much can be achieved.

• BJ 10 years ago

You're right.

• Jonny 10 years ago

My brother you have hit the nail at the right point

• KOO 10 years ago

It is quite obvious that the government is cash strapped and will use any means to come by money,but the approach they are using is not clever enough.Proper registration of the citizenry and businesses is the basis for an eff ...

• ohghanaa.blog.com 10 years ago

You are absolutely correct. But them don't seem to know how to pool funds to complete 1 project at a time. Instead, the buy 1 generator, 2 transformers and add 5 roads and say there is development. Progress will always be st ...

• CONCERNED GHANAIAN. EU 10 years ago

I don´t just know those who are advising the president.I want to believe that,it is a ploy to make him unpopular.Sadly he doesn´t know.It is painful that Ghanaians would continue to enjoy hardship under these incompetent so ...

• BJ 10 years ago

He chose to do away with the foundation that the good Professor laid. The whole thing stems from poor ministerial appointments from the onset.

I used to think we didn't know better. But moving to Ghana and being here for 10 months, I have realized it is a combination of both. Ignorance and wanting to limit development, maintain the caste system and be one of the few ...

• Kofi Ackah 10 years ago

Methink there is sense in what Pratt is saying. There are a lot of people in Ghana who are not paying tax. The solution in making money for the government does not lie in increasing taxes but spreading the tax net wider. Any ...

• SHAMO 10 years ago

IT IS NICE TO STAND UP ND BE COUNTED BUT DO YOU HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS BACKED UP BY AND WITH FIGURES? IT IS NICE FOR US ALL TO VOICE OPINIONS BUT TELL US HOW YOU WILL AMMEND OUR BUDGET. ANYWAY, DO YOU REALLY THINK THINGS SHOULD ...

• nii 10 years ago

the other issue is that whilst the tax is being increased the thiefs at top will steal the more

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 10 years ago

THIS IS A FAKE ECONOMIC POLICY
    =====================================

HIT & MISS ECONOMICS
    =================================
    WATER IDEA IS ALL AT SEA
    ====================================
    CAT & MOUSE == ...

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

I dont speak that language, all what I know is Akuffo Addo is an asshole, trumu trumu shotie mister MY DENTURE WILL FALL dwarf, period.
    What A Nation?

• YAW OSEI BONSU 10 years ago

How much do the govt. pay to the MPs and ministers. Half that amount and stop harrassing innocent Ghanaians.

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

he does not deserve the attention

• ISSIFU 10 years ago

The NPP prior to the elections was very emphatic about the kind of economy which we had and which they termed a "Guggisberg economy" which had been our main economic activity from the early 1900's till present and that, there ...

• AKOMFEM 10 years ago

A small country like ghana with more that 250 parliamentarians. Governemnt decides to create more constituency. Which mean more per-diem and more ex-gratia. When government have financial problem supporting its stupid decisio ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Mahama's government is the most irresponsible ever in the history of this nation. Couple of weeks ago, the president said that Ghana loses over one hundred million dollars a month at the Tema harbor. Now, what is he doing t ...

• POSITIVE THINKER 10 years ago

stress on teller ma

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

One day a hooker went to file her taxes in Ashawo Baby Land, and for occupation she put prostitution.

The tax collector explained that prostitution was an illegal occupation.

She said she'd have to go home and think abo ...

• Abigi 10 years ago

Kwasi, the multi-nationals and the tax holidays are needed badly by Ghana and Ghanaians. The problem is not revenue but mismanagement. This government spends money like there is no tomorrow. Remember Kwasi they sent you to So ...

well said

• ghanaba 10 years ago

the government should look carefully about the tax system in Ghana. Just handful of workers pay tax as majority work to their pockets. thay should get expects on this matter so that everyone pay tax in order to move the count ...

• JAH 10 years ago

THIS MAN IS VERY STUPID

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• FRedsaid 10 years ago

Members of Parliament were elected to represent and take care of the interest of their constituents.

Instead they have decided to vote for hardships on the people they claim to represent while creating, looting and sharing ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

In an economy where the fact shows workers take home pay doesn't even last hem for 2weeks, any idea of taxing them more is irresponsible. If you don't have money why do you go and pay ex-gratias and the rest. The state of Gha ...

• Opinion 10 years ago

Can't we have better people to speak for the country than these wasted materials?

• naa ma 10 years ago

if you love good things,then you have to pay taxes

• Close Observer 10 years ago

If you go outside the country everybody is saying you are doing well but the people of Ghana themselves don't acknowledge the progress we have made. People of Ghana, if the president thinks this way and does is business accor ...

• KENNY A 10 years ago

LOOK AT SETH TEKPER'S FACE. YOU DO NOT NEED TO KNOW HIM TO CONCLUDE THAT HE IS A WICKED SHORT-SIGHTED CLUELESS MAN.

THEY NEED MONEY TO COMPLETE THE GAS PIPELINE PROJECT AND POCKET THE REST AS USUA BEFORE THEY'RE KICKED OU ...

• BILL 10 years ago

WE NEED SERIOUS PEOPLE TO WORK IN CANADA,ACCOMMODATION AND FEEDING PROVIDED WITH GOOD SALARIES.
    THERE ARE DEALS FOR USA AND AUSTRALIA.
    CALL FOR FURTHER INFO THANKS

• Nana Osei 10 years ago

Our government seeks money from wrong places. In united states, the judiciary are more of business entities than anything else. They raise money like crazy for the states so I wont have to pay higher taxes that end up in gutt ...

• GOG 10 years ago

WIDER TAX NET WILL STILL AFFECT THE POOR. SO LET THE GOVERNMENT STOP THE PAYMENT OF JD AND HER OFFICIALS PAY FOR ALL SERVICES SUCH AS IMPORT DUTIES ON THE CARS THEY USE AND PAY FOR THEIR FUEL AS WELL

• Ato 10 years ago

Kwesi Pratt are you an ecconomist? the ledger has Revenue and Expenditure

• CITIZEN ONE 10 years ago

Since you cannot manage the taxes we already pay, what gives you the right to tax us more. It is incumbent on you to manage our present resources well, before thinking about new taxes.

• faa 10 years ago

For the first time Mr. Pratt is talking sense.I do agree with you 100%. What the NDC is doing is destroying the country.But whom do I blame? The people of Ghana as they voted them into power.

• jp brooks 10 years ago

govt pls think the people first .take wajomi money to paid the tax

• jp brooks 10 years ago

• Yamo 10 years ago

Ghana government is getting off on the wrong foot here. Just to increase taxes as a way to pay government bills is not the answer. Ghana needs to broaden its revenue base. You do this by creating an environment that jobs ar ...

• ADAM SOULE-MAN 10 years ago

BRINGING PEOPLE TOGETHER AND ENHANCING BUSINESS OPPORTUNITIES IS BY ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATING.
    INCREASING TAX IN ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATION IS NOT WISE

• Ekow. C 10 years ago

What they do with taxes