You are here: HomeNews2013 07 06Article 278765

Parliament suspends consideration on amended CST Bill

Read Comments Comments (35)

• USMAN 10 years ago

This is how far our useless university education has brought us.

• Mangotsonyanobi 10 years ago

It takes taxes for the government to raise money to help build our roads, electricity, water and etc. Even the developed Nations in Europe and USA pay heavy taxes. We all need to pay our fair share of tax. These foreign Coun ...

• Selassie Dzokoto 10 years ago

Well said my man. However, these developed nations you mentioned have a strong anti-fraud mechanism that no group of people or individuals pockets the taxes collected. They use the monies for the very reasons they were collec ...

What is it going to take to get rid of corruption in Ghana. I thought President Rawling got rid of all the corrupt people in Ghana.
    These bribery and corruption is eating Ghana alive we need to discuss these and find an earl ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

Since before independence we have been plagued by all sorts of ruthless , vicious and willfully authoritative govts that all have one thing in common , denying the right of free speech and proper analysis of the motives and a ...

• crusader 10 years ago

I find it irritating when people make comments like yours' Mangotsonyanobi. have you read of the revenue leakage at tema harbor alone, how many companies and individuals actually pay their taxes and have youbeen to any of our ...

Do you have any concrete suggestions on how to get rid of bribery and corruption in Ghana?
    We must pay our due taxes and at the same time we must find the right solution to the bribery and corruption that is eating Ghana ali ...

• crusader 10 years ago

no one is arguing against the fact that we have to pay reasonable tax. I have company in Ghana and I pay corporate tax of 25% (it has now been increased to 30%), import charges of anything between 25 to 45% (excluding the rec ...

Mr. Crusader,I am glad to hear that you pay your fair share of taxes in Ghana. We need more men like you to carry Ghana burden on their shoulders
    We need to support Mother Ghana no matter who is in power. Taxes need to be pa ...

• OSBON 10 years ago

Do you know that since they brought that CST bill into effect by Atta mortuary man NDC. the government as we speak charges 17USA cent a minute for all incoming overseas call. this now tax would have add another 6 USA cent per ...

• Kobina 10 years ago

The public cant really understand how our leaders intend rulling the economy. Additional call charges on we the have"nots. What a pity. Infact we cant produce cocoa, crude, bauxite, cant pay toll fees, taxes on all goods purc ...

• PAUL AFFUL 10 years ago

so since when did the ndc realize that we needed money so badly after helping cronies to loot and share almost one billion dollars thro the bogus and dubious jdebts ever since they came to power?....from attamills to john mah ...

• mr. brain 10 years ago

we need to let this people no that they cannot take us for grandted.they should pursue all the judgement debt not innocent Ghanaians who want to communicate with thier loved once
    nonsence!!!!!!!!!!

• NDC GUYS ARE WICKED 10 years ago

After looting all the money .now u want to put the burden on Ghanaians. by the way, where is woyome money

• Paa Kwesi 10 years ago

THE #1 ENTERTAINMENT FOR THE POOR IN THIS COUNTRY IS CHATTING WITH A FRIEND, LISTENING TO RADIO, AND MUSIC ON ONES PHONE WHICH WAS MADE AVAILABLE TO GHANAIANS DURING KUFFOUR'S TIME.NOW INSTEAD OF NDC GOVERNMENT IMPROVING ON I ...

• gg 10 years ago

SHAME TO THESE LEADERS WHO CANNOT RESTRUCTURE GHANA TAX SYSTEM INSTEAD OF TAXING BUSINESSES, WORKERS AND CREATING JOBS TO EARN TAXES THEY GOING AFTER PHONE CALL TAX SHAME TO THEM NO REMITTANCES, PHONE CALS ONCE A YEAR

• Boye 10 years ago

ALREADY GHANA IS THE HIGHEST AMONG AFRICAN COUNTRIES. WHEN I BUY A CALLING CARD, IT HAS MORE UNITS/MINS WHEN IT IS USED TO CALL KENYA THAN GHANA

• MUGUYARO 10 years ago

Do this law makers think at all? who do they think is going to pay that bill? The providers are going to tack that 6 cents to the end user who work hard and remit the same foreign currency to their relatives in Ghana and have ...

• OBIDEEABA, BELGIUM 10 years ago

If only the money will be used for the right thing it is a good thing. In Belgium the country is moving forward because of the taxes, but the taxes also goest direct into the goverment accounts therefore no one has access to ...

• Kwaku Ampofo 10 years ago

Mail your dirty underwear to Ghana now and you will have to pay tax to get it back. For those who think there is nothing wrong to pay such a tax, go to the PO and Customs and you will be shocked to see the number of people wo ...

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

The government will first have to earn our trust by first cracking the whip on tax defaulters and making them pay. And those engaged in corrupt businesses to dupe the nation should not be spared either.

• KUTXA. Bayoine.France 10 years ago

The government should be very careful about the way it is going about this bills.Communications is very important tools to developing a country such as ours.The government should rather try and sort out ways and means of taki ...

• ADABRAKA 10 years ago

If govt is losing Ghc 45 million a month, is the govt not spending recklessly somewhere? Why pinch the consumer?

Has the govt thought of improving the telecom network? Citizens of Naija, India and almost the Asiatic conti ...

• Egya 10 years ago

I do not believe this. The tax on fishermen and regular Ghanaian businesses are passed but that on giant telecom companies with bribe money is stalled - ?????

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• XYZ 10 years ago

It cost 23.9 cents to make a call to Ghana but 6.9 cent to make a call to Nigeria. All the NDC wants is an avenue to collect money to "chop"- Port and Harbors, Telephone... what else? No idea to generate income overload a sin ...

• Nana 10 years ago

This government is making the People of Ghana carry the burden of their shortsightedness and DUMB Gorvernance. Double Taxing the People is not the answer, CREATING Condition for EMPLOYMENT is the RIGHT SOLUTION.

• Preacher 10 years ago

The NPP have closeed their minds to under mine the intergrity of the House. Come to Lebanon and see for your self. If u buy a phone in Lebanon u cannot used in Ghana. Those phone that can be used in Ghana are not registered. ...

• Sakura 10 years ago

What has Lebanon got to do with taxes in Ghana? Why not use Japan, Brazil, Israel, Australia or Venezuela? Enjoy your life with hezbola. Your argument is extremely confusing.

• Abigi 10 years ago

Soon you will be taxing the dead. How on earth are you going to tax email messages? By the way, how much TAX did Woyome paid on his payments? How much did Mosquito paid on his BLOCK supplies? How tax did Mahama paid for the $ ...

• Abigi 10 years ago

PPAY not paid

• TWEEEAAA 10 years ago

Dunderheads.

• Sakura 10 years ago

Please just reduce the size of our government. We need sensible answers to the following questions:
    1. Do we need over 200 members of parliament?
    2. Can we sustain the number of ministers and deputy ministers running aroun ...