You are here: HomeNews2013 06 29Article 278247

Contempt row: CJ petitioned to restrain Supreme Court

Read Comments Comments (314)

• kojo lee 10 years ago

very intelligent article the cj must quickly study this petition nd act accordingly it looks like the supreme court is out on a wild goose chase which will eventualy destroy our hard earned democracy

• Whatever 10 years ago

The CJ is not above the Supreme Court. The chief justice is under the supreme court authority so petitioning her is an ill-advised move. Besides, she is also not exempted from the contempt warning

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

So the Supreme Court should be allowed to haul any Ghanaian they suspect of impolite speech to jail, and that's what you call democracy. I have been listening to your comments and it seems to me that you always favour selecti ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

We must be firm or poverty stricken NPPists will damage the country. This stupid professor from US is idiotic.

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Perhaps the use of accolades like "My Lord", "Your Lordship" etc. has gone into the head of Justice Atuguba making him feel like he has to be feared and he is beyond criticisms.

We cannot sit back and watch the return to th ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Source: Daily Guide...

All of a sudden nonentities want to portray to the world how close they were to the late President.

Those who had to chat with him for one hour everyday, those Deputy Ministers who had to call h ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

If she succumbs to this pink shit. Asante Akyems think Ghana belongs to them,. They want to have their own way and never want to work to the rule.

• TKN 10 years ago

YOU ARE MAD, YOU TROKOSI SON

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

The bloody refugee law professor can go to hell!!! Your American legal system permits all sorts of bullshit, not Ghana.

• kalusha 10 years ago

can go and fuck himself,,,this is ghana not america where trumutrumu is legal

• okofo 10 years ago

You're right, it's Ghana indeed, where illegal armed Chinese migrants dictate to the gov't how to treat them.

It's Ghana indeed where illegal armed migrants take over lands from citizens, use the citizens to destroy their ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GHANABI 10 years ago

Agya momma yenka, na Yaw Amofa y3
    gyimifo papa. These are those who refuses to see the light, even when they are ushered into it. Yaw, I want you to begin to think outside the box.
    Go back and re-read the prolific article o ...

• kofi yesu 10 years ago

Well done you hit him hard with a sletch hammer that useless Yaw Amofa guy....

• MIFIR GHANA 10 years ago

This is one of those elements needed to be jailed in Ghana. Why basing in USA?? If you know what is going on underground in Ghana you won't have even dreamt of writing such rubbish.
    I wish CJ Atuguba JAIL all these LOOSE SP ...

• Mortified 10 years ago

@Maaco, you are right and on the button my son. Allow me to add my two bit! Mr. Asare, I’m not a lawyer but I have a strong feeling that the first rule of law is common sense. The founding fathers of the land of America ...

• Baron 10 years ago

@Mortified, No more no less. I hold your back, plus you are a better writer. Cheers to a cold beer!

• julu 10 years ago

Is there any news from Ghana apart from this petition nonsense that is getting no where?

• Counsellor 10 years ago

You said is right @Mortified.

• Wahabu 10 years ago

Wonderful, i think many of the people outside Ghana wants to say that their views are more superior to those of us here but they always forget the fact that conditions in countries that they state today were not achieved with ...

• Papa Sam NYC 10 years ago

Wow! I like this and as I said somewhere in the thread, we cannot deny the potential harm the comments made by those individuals invited can bring in the country. As you said the justices know what they are contending with an ...

• Kofi Abotsi 10 years ago

T am bemused. We are told that the justices did not state what crime was committed by Sammy Awuku. That's fine. Can someone tell me what the profuse appologies Sammy Awuku shamefully offerred was for. Was it for nothing wrong ...

• okofo 10 years ago

If that's where you're directing the argument, then what is the court doing about even the more serious comtemptous statements made by Mr. John Mahama and others on the case so far?

You see, we have law binding us, and it ...

• The African Patriot 10 years ago

Well said, Mr. Asare and Okofo.
    Mr. Mortified uses his anglo gramar to manipulate those unconvince once to gain for popularity first. Your analysis is not wrong but does allow you to blame prof. Asare. Simply because he ment ...

• Papa Sam NYC 10 years ago

At all costs, this creeping authoritarian tendencies in the justices must be brought up and corrected before it gets out of hand.

It is clear the court prejudged and administered punishment without stipulating what crime ...

• PALMWINE SELLER 10 years ago

THE GUYS NAME IS ATO BUGA SO WHAT DO U EXPECT. I HAVE NEVER SEEN NOTHING LIKE A JUDGE CALLING PEOPLE OUT TO MEET HIM IN COURT WITHOUT LEGAL COUNSEL OR EVEN CHARGES. OH MY GOD GHANA IS DONE. HOW DID ALL THIS GOAT HERDERS ENTER ...

• SIMPLY RUTHLESS 10 years ago

If you want to be ruthless to the judges then come to the Ghanaweb forum but if you dare say something against them on the air-waves or in the newspapers then you have dug your own grave bcos they have the power to apply any ...

• Aasante\akyem 10 years ago

Very stupid people who always know their "rights". When they are in power, everybody must obey the law and be very respectful to those in charge of governmental affairs. But in opposion, these asante/akyems choose to obey a ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author:-Hon. Martin A.B.K. Amidu.

...The Government exercised the latter option when we disagreed over the judgment debt and other Gargantuan crimes. The Government, and my colleague Ministers at the time know that there ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

Prof Asare, you piece is worth studying by all lawyers and the Supreme Court judges,
    You clearly highlighted all the legal controls which should have ben undertaken by the Supreme Court judges but not done.
    They are rather ...

• KOJOVIE 10 years ago

THIS IS GHANA. IF THE PRESS IS NOT CONTROL THEY WILL CREATE TROUBLE IN GHANA. GREATER % OF THE POPULATION IS ILLITERATE. PLEASE GIVE ME A BREAK. I WISH THE SC WILL START SENTENCING THIS GUYS TO JAIL.

• ewe man 10 years ago

you no why because they never being in slave like we ewe's and northner's so thay are proud.

• KANTAMANTO 10 years ago

Its all about freedom of speech that allows every one to speak his mind. Certain people when given 1 inch wants to take 10 inches and turn into dictators and that infringes on our hard earned freedom.

• Merlic, London 10 years ago

I have been in London for a while so I admit that I have yet to come to terms some of the bad, horrible and distasteful about Ghanaian overall behaviours. This is not to say that inappropriate behaviours are only akin to our ...

Nobody forced Ghanaians to create their own constitution. If we don't want to go by the books, we should not write any book. The constitution of any country is paramount to everything. You can't write the law and throw it to ...

• REALITY 10 years ago

Any country with a case like this would have thrown it out long ago. The much time you waste on this case the more problems you create for Ghana. Please, end this case because you have heard more than enough to make judgement ...

The most annoying part of the proceedings is where the KPMG man is being squeezed as if he is part of the litigation meanwhile they worked hard without charging a dime also it sounds silly to me when Addison cross-examined A ...

Finally, the judges must increase the tempo of stopping counsels with unnecessary objections and questions so that this case will come to a close at the end of july.

• Wisdom KK 10 years ago

There this persons goes again in anti-Ewe comments, a progeny of Victor Owusu indeed! What about NPP activists reaction to Dr Wereko-Brobbey's critisism. Are you not forcing him to tow a certain line? State institutions need ...

• Sogreh Sie 10 years ago

Osei,
    Where do you get all these information from? Nowhere was it ever stated that Atuguba has thrown anyone in jail. You've to remember our democracy is young and need to be guided for so many years to come or else it'll b ...

• osei kingsley, lagos 10 years ago

pure ghanaweb cooked concoction and bullshit.but ghanaweb wont get any reasonable fellow to take that,sorry!

• Huhuhuhu_Ny3hu 10 years ago

Is headed for the trash can! Try and get acquainted with the pegging order of proper protocol in any country,and you`ll discover a President, the Head of State, is the number one citizen of the land! in fact the CJ,is third i ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

This supreme court for the election petition was set up by the Chief Justice. If you find anything wrong with the process, then it is proper and fitting to consult or confront the ONE- Chief Justice- who set it up. Do you get ...

• SAMIA 10 years ago

THERE THEY GO AGAIN

• KOLA ,LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

After Seeking Asylum to become a Lecturer, it is common sense that this former asylum seeker 'chop his home matter' since now he is no longer a Ghanaian citizen and which law allows a Ghanaian citizen to appear before a forei ...

Look who is talking, now trying to deprive a bonafide Ghanaian of his citizenship. Even a Trokosi idiot like you, washing toilets in London you think you are more of a Ghanaian than a true Akan man. Now you see why we Akans w ...

With DIRECT links to the Manhyia Palace,but I am afraid I do not share in your xenophobia or bigotry! I find it out of character that an 'Abiri' will take pride in behaving in such an ill-mannered fashion. We take pride in th ...

• TIMO DE LAW 10 years ago

Look at Kola a big time illiterate calling a professor of law an illiterate,Kola I want to ask you what English language is"Since now he is no more a Ghanaian citizen"Dumb ass go and look for your kindergarten teacher to teac ...

• NANA KUFUOR 10 years ago

Cocase lawyer dzie wo fie asem.

• Houdini 10 years ago

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

You made my day.He has never posted one comment without making a mistake in the forum.

• KOLA PINK SHITS 10 years ago

Author:
    KOLA ,LONDON PROPER

Date:
    2013-06-29 03:50:45

Comment to:
    Segbefia cautions IEA over “contemptuous” foru

How Many Pink Shits did NPP Supply? 11000 0r 13000?

• Kwame. 10 years ago

WHEN WILL THIS TROKOSI SHRINE WORSHIPPER EVER LEARN ANY SENSE.OFFER HIM A FOWL FOR FREE AND HE WILL REFUSE BUT JUST YOUR BACK HE WILL COME AND STEAL IT.HE AND HIS. PEOPLE ARE SO LAZY BUT CAN DRINK AKPETESHIE EVERY DAY WITHOUT ...

• Artillery 10 years ago

Professor S. Kwaku Asare, have you finished helping your country (USA) deal with your Guantanamo prison camp issue? Don't you have issues to deal with in your homeland (USA)? Or are you scared that your USA passport will be ...

• ....... 10 years ago

Combine.

• KOKI 10 years ago

Are you sure it's an ill-advised move, petitioning the CJ? Who should be petitioned then? If the SC is deemed to be over-stretching its boundary, the Constitution, as the reference point, who then becomes the Arbitrator? Besi ...

• BABAN GIDA 10 years ago

THIS USELESS PROF. HAS NO LOVE 4 GHANA. ANOTHER NPP IDIOT COCOA ASE PROFESSOR

• CONCERNED GHANAIANS 10 years ago

The words you use tell your class and level. Say something sensible or stop insulting a concerned Ghanaian who is contributing his views and suggestions for a more progressive Ghana.

• Jonas 10 years ago

I DON'T THINK THE SO-CALLED TSATSU-TIKAKRAKA WAS AWARE OF ALL THIS. HE WAS LIKE A SLAUGHTERED FOWL IN COURT REPEATING THE SAME QUESTIONS DURING THE CROSS-EXAMINATIONS.
    TWEAAAA, NDC IS OUT OF OFFICE AND IT'S GOING TO BE THEIR ...

That will happen only in your dreams Jonas. NPP does not a case.

NPP does not have a case in Court!

• emm 10 years ago

very intelligent article. so far I can tell the supreme court has brought this on themselves.Ghana needs to know who is the right prez. the court should allow critism but arrest those who threating the state with war and orde ...

• Artillery 10 years ago

This is not an intelligent article; this USA Prof ought to mind his USA business and concentrate on asking the USA Supreme Court to shut Guantanamo down and ask the court to publish all the records of those who voted for and ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Azar, I'd like to break my self-enforced silence once more to say this is a good one! I say long ago that we were in for a circus, and truly we are having one helluva time of it! I smell HKP all over it though. Anyway, I can ...

• JJ Rawlings 10 years ago

YES, SUPREME COURT IS OUT OF ORDER. BEHAVING LIKE A KANGAROO COURT

• kofi yesu 10 years ago

WoW!!!! Are all these ''LAWS'' in Ghana? Why haven't we been thought of all these in school as ghanaians so as to know our human rights.

Friends reading these, i am begging you all ''VOTE'' these fake ''POLITRIKTIANS'' ou ...

• Nanakay 10 years ago

Prof. you have said all. If the court has forgotten that all the world is watching, this is the time to remind them. They should concentrate on resolving the case rather than waste time with these peripheral distractions. I h ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

You are enjoying your peace in the USA , please allow us to do same. These people who are distorting facts need to be brought to book . Most of your NPP people onmly understand insults. Anything that does not go your way is ...

• Kokonte 10 years ago

Thank you, Kojo T; couldn't have said it any better.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

Leave SC alone.

Leave the judges alone

• Captain Mosquito, Netherlands 10 years ago

The writer has made very good and reasonable arguments. BRAVO ! Asare.

• O B Obiba 10 years ago

Mr Asare is right. The supreme court is the highest court in the land, but the Chief Justice can be petitioned. the rights of Ghanaians are eroding under the NDC. Lie, distortion and help from people in high places makes a ...

• BlindMan 10 years ago

And if you were a resident in the US, make some comparison in the narratives of the two countries; Ghana is a 'LILLIPUTIAN to the States but carries a BIG mouth when it comes to talking vulgarisms.
    Kwaku Asare, we must cheri ...

• koboat, Jersey Shore 10 years ago

That's silly. The SC is displaying gross insecurity. The case is being openly televised so it means any of the 24 million opinions (made outside the hearing)are subject to prosecution? Or just the opinions that Atuguba doesn' ...

• J H New York 10 years ago

A insightful wr

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

His petition has got nothing to do with distortion of facts. Please, make sure you read the article and don't respond for the sake of responding.

It is more about the uncivilized and undemocratic ways Atuguba is doing at ...

• Nyansasem Lola, Washington DC 10 years ago

Do that at your USA but not in Ghana.

• Artillery 10 years ago

Yes, he should poke his nose into USA constitutional matters and see if his citizenship won't be revoked. Shameless one-for-a - penny Prof.

Ofui Kojo T., If jail is the punishment for insults, why isn't Ashawo-ba JJ in jail? He and Asiedu Nketiah as well as Kobby Acheampong Okudjeto Ablakwa and Koku Anyidoho have all been insulting.

You Ewe idiots are always ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

'We now know that Ewes are wicked people and should never be spared when they fall in your trap'. You NPP are not responsible. Ths would not be but for the irresponsible comments . With dumb idiots like you the only language ...

Even Ashawo ba JJ's foolish Yokogari Revolution could not make it. He says he has sent all corruption in Ghana to jail. Show me that jail. You idiots kill and maim, intimidate and punish people for nothing. That's the Ewe sty ...

• ....... 10 years ago

go and kiss the tomb of Kwame Nkrumah who created the 9th you were known as transvolta togoland(tvt) Nkrumah foolish dream was to unite Africa his arss and rule. this fool could not unite Ghana how much more Africa continent. ...

• Kokonte 10 years ago

Another fool living outside the country and claiming to know the constitution of Ghana more than those who are in the country.

from 6000 miles away

• POED OKAI 10 years ago

What a briliant advice with references from similar cases in all over the world. People with such intelegent needsto write to educate the Atugubas for the smooth and fair hearing of this court case. Only people without consci ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

So the constitution of Ghana is some decorated edifice permanently and geographically situated in Ghana and you can become an expert of it by being physically affixed to that building.

Unbelievable stupidity.

What a bra ...

• koboat, Jersey Shore 10 years ago

I hope these two idiots (Zoobie-Zoobie and Kokonte) have read your comments and understood it well, siting next to each other in an Internet Café in Ho.

• Aasante/akyem 10 years ago

Another fool calling himself, "We the people". Does the constitution allow people to disrespect those in authority and also twist and misrepresent court proceedings ?
    Always defending the bad nuts.

I won't waste time on you.

You are a dolt.

Well said Asante/akyem!

• jb 10 years ago

PROFESSIONALISM HAS GONE TO DOGS IN GHANA...

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

I THINK THE BEST PERSON TO DIRECT YOURCOMMENTS TO IS NO OTHER PERSON THAN YOUR IDOL BARISTER NANA ADDO DANKWA AKUFFU ADDO to produce his professional law certificate

• LETS GROW UP A BIT BLACKS 10 years ago

NONESENSE HAS FREEDOM OF SPEECH BECOME FREEDOM OF INSULT??????????? STUPID IDIOT BRINGING CONFUSION INTO THE COUNTRY.......THE FACT THAT WE ARE FREE TO SPEAK DOES NOT MEAN WE SHOULD JUST JUMP ON AIR AND START INSULTING OUR ...

• GOD DEY 10 years ago

good one der. kwasia na kwasia

I AM NOT USED TO COMMENTING BUT... THIS STUPID IGNORAMUS MORON HAS PISSED ME OFF.....STUPID IDIOT, WHY DONT YOU COME AND LIVE IN GHANA AND TEACH US YOUR CHILDISH WISDOM ABOA LIKE YOU.... LEAVE GHANA FOR US ALONE AND ALLOW OUR ...

• winnebase 10 years ago

people in ghana get worked up when someone from Europe or USA teaches them the right way... PURE HATRED ...Those educated and practicing overseas are exposed to best practices ..there is nothing wrong in sharing it with ghana ...

Aboa ba like you, you think power is all meant for punishment? If that's the case all foolish Trokosis like you should be dead. We are waiting, you and your NDC are drawing the day closer and we are sure you won't stop till t ...

• CYBERGHANA 10 years ago

GYIMI -GYIMI GHANA: YOU GUYS DON'T GET IT .
    INSULTS BREED INSULTS.

• gq 10 years ago

Osei Tawiah Mouth mouth!!! You'll be the first to run.

• Nana Otchere 10 years ago

What a world !! You are behaving like a kid by insulting

Good comments.

• NII BII 10 years ago

SOO SAD WE GOT SOME GHANAIANS OUTSIDE GHANA CREATING CONFUSION ,BUT WHAT IS WISDOM?,NO WE ARE HYPOCRITES AND HATE GHANA

• Okonko Palm 10 years ago

This Azar man continues to churn out extremely narrow and one sided articles in support of mayhem just to appease his npp base.He has been advocating selective remedies to the political and judicial process going in the count ...

I totally agree with your assessment of the Prof!

• Kojo Samla 10 years ago

Azar is not a foolish man but he is also on the bandwagon on using every means whatsoever to promote anarchy in Ghana. Partisanship has soured his good judgement.

• GOD DEY 10 years ago

dis professor is a foolish man. i wonder what his brain is made of. useless piece. do u think if ds was how USA and other advanced countries built their democracy u will be enjoying the kind of peace u are enjoying in the US. ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

You want the CJ to interfer with the work of an supreme court? the CJ itself is not exempted from the supreme court warning over contempt. The chief justice is under the supreme court authority so petitioning her is an ill-ad ...

• BoyBoy 10 years ago

Mahama and his cronies have given large sums of monies to the Supreme Court Judges to rule in his favor no matter the evidence. Are we going to sit down for such things to happen. Where is oou democracy> CJ please set up a co ...

• Kyenkyehene 10 years ago

Bbyboy, which allegation? The one coming from a sick mind like you? You deserve to be locked up in a mental home and the key of the door thrown into the sea

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Do you know you can be jailed for this? Surely you guys know no shame nor law

If the courts in Rwanda had had the guts to act as the Supreme Court in Ghana is doing, a mear Tadio station could not have sparked the Rwandan genocide that led in the slaughter of 900,000 tsutsi's and moderate Hutus. Prof. ...

• Naana 10 years ago

This man is out there with his family enjoying all the peace and wouldnt keep mute. If there is a war in Ghana, prof. will u come and help?

• citizen dubai 10 years ago

Mr,Asare could you shut up and enjoy your peace in the us.Ghanaian's need peace all our air wave is full of insult

Thank you, citizen Dubai. In any case, there is no absolute freedom anywhere. not even in the US. The media in Ghana cannot have absolute freedom

Ghana needs a sharp mind his if the country DESIRE any progress going forward.

A country can never advance with such near brain dead idiots in charge.

It is sad that a highly intelligent individual like Prof Asare w ...

Dr. Asare cannot be a sharp mid. He is brain dead

You must be a chimp trained to type stuff.

You did read that stuff and you think that depth of legal and intellectual exercise could emanate from a dead brain .

Your brain is dead.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

He is already in Ghana and that is why he wants to make an impart with his wisdom and knowledge. I know for a fact that he is expecting Atuguba to come for him and he will see and hear the stupidity coming from the bench and ...

• veritable 10 years ago

and so what prevents him from coming to build a home he calls home? some of you talk like there is no brain in your heads.he is living US there and politicians are doing everything possible to throw our beloved country overbo ...

• Kofi Nipa Ba 10 years ago

This Piece is Bogos

Teaching a "bird course" to California kids who probably need his course offering to shore up their grades!

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Supreme Court is also not good for npp,I think they will soon go to the International Court of Justice.Thank you.

AS A MATTER OF FACT, MORONS LIKE THIS SELF IDIOTIC PROFESSOR GOT TO BE SHOT.... THIS IDIOT BELONG TO THE BUSH WHERE HE CAN GO AND LECTURE ANIMALS... .. YOU REALLY PISS ME OFFFFFFFFFFF

• winnebase 10 years ago

HE IS TEACHING QUALITY...LISTEN AND U WILL BE EDUCATED AND BETTER OFF

• NAT 10 years ago

HE HAS NO MORAL RIGHT TO TELL THE CJ WHAT TO DO,IF HE WANT RESTRAIN HE SHOULD FILE FOR RESTRICTION TO THE SUPREME COURT NOT THE CJ

I FEEL PAIN IN MY HEART FOR READING THIS AND I REALLY REGRET WASTING MY TIME ON READING THIS SHIT

• Alex B. 10 years ago

A lecture indeed.

• Pacific 10 years ago

Prof. you are right, but you see the Jugdes have to bring some sanity into the court room. so you see stay cool in America and enjoy.we are having visa to join you if something should happen (prevention better than cure).

• Pacific 10 years ago

Prof. you are right, but you see the Jugdes have to bring some sanity into the court room. so you see stay cool in America and enjoy.we are not having visa to join you if something should happen (prevention better than cure).

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

is this man a rear Professor- or the political lense cannot see anything good for Nation building ,the right of freedom of speech and it!s limitations regarding others right to leave and their rights to enjoy their freedom o ...

• Pabro Correa 10 years ago

I have monitored the proceedings in the ongoing election petition and would suggest that some of the ruling of the 9 judges are appears very timid and lacks basic common sense.
    For instance, why should a court rule against a ...

DO YOU EVEN UNDERSTAND ENGLISH IN THE FIRST PLACE......GO AND LEARN WELL AND YOU WILL SURELY UNDERSTAND THE SUPREME COURT ON THEIR RULING......ANOTHER FOOOOOOOOOL

IF YOU DONT KNOW AND YOU MAKE A MISTAKE TO RETURN TO GHANA... THE STUPID POLITICIANS WITH THEIR VILLAGE GOATS FOLLOWING THEM AS COMMUNICATION DIRECTORS WILL STRIP YOU NAKEDLY WITH INSULT,...........KWAAAAAAAASIA PROFESSOR

What's the meaning of "strip you nakedly with insults". Kwasia, you claim you are an English teacher but you don't know what an adverb is. Stop disgracing yourself on this forum. Idiot !!!

• BK 10 years ago

Please stop misinforming the public. Nii Dodoo the KPMG partner clearly stated that they do not give out soft copy. Supreme court just confirmed the agreement that all the parties signed on to.

• Artillery 10 years ago

Pabro (or is it Pablo) Correa; the NPP lead Counsel agreed to the non-receipt of soft copies from the beginning - do you get it?

• Togbe 10 years ago

Prof, I agree with you. I marvel the way the president of the SC is handling political commentary on the petition trial. Judges are supposed to judge cases based on the facts established before them, but not on some expressio ...

• Tony 10 years ago

Prof., please, come to Ghana and see how these useless so-called political communicators are hurting our ears with commentaries on the on-going election petition. You are hiding in the USA and think you know better than the S ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

So let Atuguba call him. Why are guys stupid and backwards like that. Instead of reading the petition and know what it is about, you just engage your muscle and without engaging your brain cells.

He has been Ghana teaching ...

• Nyansasem Lola, Washington DC 10 years ago

But not in Ghana, you are just backward idiots!

• BUFFALO POLICE, NEW YORK. 10 years ago

Big Tony, thanks very much for making my day. NO comments about this useless and baseless article from so-called Prof.

• Asempaye 10 years ago

You said it all brother. A Prof. in what? Do politicians go on the air life and rain insults and serve the public with fabricated lies in the USA? Does the media in the USA broadcast or write anything without checking thier s ...

• New Ekuma 10 years ago

Prof Aware, u are a very stupid fool and an indisciplined idiot. When the SC judges are trying to instill discipline in the fabric of the Ghanaian society, u are criticising their actions.

How i wish u urself would be haul ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

I bet this is going the wrong route. One person cannot usurp the powers of the sc. Be it the cj or whoever. Interfearance in these procedings will be the most negative catalyst for disaster. Remember when she interfered with ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Sit your arse down and read the article thoroughly before making any comment.

The petition is not about interfering the ruling of the petition. He did not say that, the ruling should go on. You are saying something contrar ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Your expectation that your people can by means of their position would change the status quo will be seriously dashed. You may be filling the effects for decades. Stop dreaming and wake up to reality. A word to the wise is en ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Correction

You may be feeling the effects for decades.

• Martin Brew 10 years ago

Kwaku Asare, an assistant professor of accounting in Florida, was behind NPP's claim that an Israeli company in Dzorwulu had faxjacked election results, and manipulated them before onward transmission to EC strongroom. He's t ...

Member? No wonder he has all the time to d all these 'other stuff'. From where he finds himself at this time,he has a steep climb to reach the rank of a full professor.

• An ex-Ghanaian 10 years ago

The last time I checked he was an associate professor. By the way, what has his academic position got to do with right to share his mind? The man has written a great article and we do not have to be jealous of his intellectua ...

• VAQ 10 years ago

GEORGINA WOOD BOWED OUT OF THE SELECTIVE BOARD AS QUICKLY AS SHE COULD BECAUSE SHE FELT HER SISTER IS MARRIED TO A PERTITIONER'S RELATIVE. MAN! THAT "N" IS A TWO FACE HYPOCRITE. IF I WERE THE PRESIDENT I WILL SEND HER PACKING ...

You idiots think you have got all the power in the world with this sick NDC. You support all foolish abuse of powers because you think you have captured all powers in the country. I can assure you the next power will come fro ...

• like the truth 10 years ago

Why you stay in US can you come and make your foolish agreement. If you want Ghana to developed why you ran away to US fool

• TONY 10 years ago

Mr Asare should come to Ghana and spew this nonsense if he is a man enough. People are taking the little peace Ghanaians are enjoying for granted to destroy this country and he is sitting in somebody's country to tell us this ...

• Chief 10 years ago

Only fools, idiots & coconut brains wouldn't say kudos.

• Chief 10 years ago

So nice a piece

• Eric. K. Appiah-Odame 10 years ago

Prof. Asare

In as much as you have a point, it is imperative to consider the fact that we living in the Diaspora cannot overlook the distained and uncharacter nature of some of our folks back home and the way the misbehave ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

How do you know he is not in Ghana teaching?

And if they don't want diasporans to poke their noses into their business why do they ran to North America and Europe soliciting for funds when they are campaigning for election ...

• kobby 10 years ago

Thank you very much for your hard work of protecting freedom. God bless you.

• GHANAIAN OBSERVER 10 years ago

THE IMAGE OF GHANA'S SUPREME COURT IS ALREADY DENTED/TAINTED. WITH JUSTICES ATUGUBA AND BAMFO SIDING AND SHARING SECRET NOTES WITH NDC AFTER EVERY PROCEEDING; AND ATUGUBA OPEN COURT SHOUT AND YELLING AT PETITIONERS LAWYER; AN ...

• Anane 10 years ago

It seems to me that Ghanaians have not learnt a lesson from those oppressive days. Thank God for people like Professor Kwaku Asare that can intelligently bring these issue to bear for our serious consumption and deep thinking ...

• DODOWA 10 years ago

There we go with the too known sabe all intellectuals who live in the diaspora. You can't have it both ways my friend. You chose to live in comfort and style in the USA while practicing your trade. Leave the Ghanaian judges a ...

• NPP ARE MURDERERS 10 years ago

NO BULLSHITING HERE IN GHANA. WE ARE SERIOUS WARRIORS WAITING FOR AN OPPORTUNITY TO REVENGE. ALL NPPians MUST TAKE CARE.

• JEREMIAH TAI 10 years ago

E GET AS HE BI OOOOO

• NPP ARE MURDERERS 10 years ago

DON'T WORRY ABOUT THE SC JUSTICES. WHAT YOU SHOULD WORRY ABOUT IS THE MISCREANTS OF NPP.

NPP KILLED YA NAA + 40 ELDERS. WE ARE WAITING FOR THE CHANCE TO KILL NPPians.
    IN BROAD DAY LIGHT NPP AND ITS HENCHMEN CUM MERCENARI ...

• FUCK THE SC JUSTICES 10 years ago

FUCK THE SUPREME COURT JUSTICES. THEY MUST NOT BE ALLOWED TO OPERATE LIKE TINGODS AND MUST THEREFORE BE OPPOSED FOR BEING DICTATORS. FUCK THEIR OLD ASSES.

• Awuni 10 years ago

THIS IS PURELY AN AGENT OF THE DEVIL, WHO IS FAR AWAY IS USA, AND WANT US TO KILL EACH OTHER, IF THIS IS REALLY YOUR HOME COME BACK HOME. PROF. DEVIL YOU WOULD BE MAKING A LOT OF SENSE IS YOU SHUT UP.

• Dr Robert K Glah 10 years ago

Prof S Kwaku Asare should have read the advice of our Elder Kofi Annan on our second chance or civilisation and not to jeopardize it.
    If the Prof is real, he should file his petition at the Accra High Court, and it should no ...

Dr Glah, how can you speak like a novice? How is the a/the CJ above politics and since when?

• Kwabina Akyema 10 years ago

This so called professor is taking like he is not an African and never read what happened by such words, he should have quoted all his examples from Africa. How have we travelled, how many more kilometers are ahead of us. If ...

• Analyst 10 years ago

Democracy and rule of law contrasts sharply from the rule of fear and intimidation. It is only at the end of a fair trial that an accused could be pronounced guilty.
    If we have a situation where a person can be accused and ...

• Nana Asabeyie 10 years ago

Prof S.Kwaku Asare, all i want to know from you is, do you have a CERTIFICATE or missing?
    Bare in mind the constitutional laws and rules differs in a every country. You can't therefore try to suggest the US laws to the Ghana ...

• Artillery 10 years ago

This silly USA Prof cannot even comment on USA constitutional issues for fear of his citizenship being revoked yet here he is poking is flattened nose all the way from his hideout to Ghana matters.

• SLY 10 years ago

MR LAW PROFESSOR, THE FREEDOM OF SPEECH ALSO DOES NOT OBLIGE ONE TO SAY EVERYTHING. OTHERWISE, CAN YOU WALK TO THE PRESIDENT OR OTUMFUO & TELL HIM IN THE FACE THAT, MR PRESIDENT OR NANA, "MEPAW KY3W PII SE WO Y3 ABOA".YOU CAN ...

• ODIKRO 10 years ago

NOW NPP ARE OUTSOURCING LAW IDEAS FROM COLLEGE PROFESSORS.
    PROF WHEREEVER YOU ARE LEAVE YOUR BURGER KINGSIZE AND COME AND HELP MOTHER GHANA AND STOP REVISING YOUR LECTURE NOTES ON US. DO YOU THINK GHANA IS LIKE AMERICA?

• BK 10 years ago

Law Professor, US and Ghana are different, go to Ghana and argue your points.

• iPad 10 years ago

When we say Ghana have well educated men and women - this is what we mean.
    Gone are the days of the military. We are in a democratic Ghana. A country where we now use the human brains to work and sort out issues not guns and ...

• Benjamin 10 years ago

Another shallow mind hiding in the comfort of someone else country calling himself a prof displaying his total ignorance of the local situation.

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

I think the reverse is true of you and that why you fail to understand. Check it out yourself

• SolJa 10 years ago

mr man,we understand law is law everywhere.as much as politics is politics everywhere.but we are in ghana.one cant read or write if they dont go to school.worse,they couldnt speak any english.unlike america,where their langua ...

• ....... 10 years ago

Hei ghanaians educated fools listen to what a civilized educated professor concerns are, not like the rest ur parents did not waist their money
    Ja bless.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A man is driving down a country road, when he spots a farmer standing in the middle of a huge field of grass. He pulls the car over to the side of the road and notices that the farmer is just standing there, doing nothing, lo ...

• Kofi Nipa Ba 10 years ago

Please if the man did not know what he has done why did he appologise

• Kwadwo Tawia 10 years ago

Pro NPP G. Wood must stop doing dodgy anti NDC stuff. We are watching you!!!

• Ghana Massai. 10 years ago

Prof,Ghana isn't Usa! Keep on lecturing but please,leave the SC to resolve this petition probs as early as possible so that Ghana can move on!!! The country is in a standstill 'cos of this petition! By the way,aren't you a we ...

• peter 10 years ago

Very educative article. Thank you

• Gede 10 years ago

Proff.in all your references you stated US articles.as it ever occurred to you that the case is Ghanaian and not US as such the ruling are under the Ghanaian constitution. Why stay in US an write what you think is right. So y ...

• KKB 10 years ago

Another evasive propaganda to minimize the authority of the supreme court, please NPP don't fall for it, it sound logical, but once you start undermining the authority of the Supreme count, whatever the outcome of their rulin ...

• Chabba 10 years ago

I am amused about how some of the Justices at the Supreme Court especially Justice Atugba are so hypersensitive to comments regarding their decisions of the ongoing petition. What are they afraid of? If you know in your cons ...

• Joe 10 years ago

The Supreme court should concentrate on the case before it instead of irrelevant abuse of power by inviting people expressing their views on the case. It serves them no purpose and it should be stopped. They SC cannot do th ...

Thank you, Prof, drawing the judges' attention to our constitutional and democratic rights, and our rights as a civilised society. Thank you for not keeping quiet on this.
    That the judges saw Samuel Awuku's comments contemp ...

Thank you, Prof, for drawing the judges' attention to our constitutional and democratic rights, and our rights as a civilised society. Thank you for not keeping quiet on this.
    That the judges saw Samuel Awuku's comments con ...

• KOKI 10 years ago

I wonder if this is an ill-advised move, petitioning the CJ? If it is, who should be petitioned then? If the SC is deemed to be over-stretching its boundary, the Constitution, as the reference point, who then becomes the Arbi ...

Sensible point. In any case, knowledgeable non-partisan Ghanaians must be bold enough to point out such transcending of barriers. Such is normal in every civilised country. It is not an encroachment.

• KOKI 10 years ago

Thanks, Concerned Ghanaians. I admire people like Prof Asare who as technocrats in their accomplished fields of study and occupation do not suppress their foresight to warn the nation of any probable danger lurking in a subtl ...

• Kwadwo A 10 years ago

Pfof. Asare should not interfere with the work of the Supreme court. You might be teaching your students the wrong things. How would you feel if one of your students talks back to you in front of other students that you are a ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot com

• paa 10 years ago

said nothing when even the president was being attacked keep it to your self nation destroyers

• Kofi Ghanaba 10 years ago

Professor,in which of the disciples did you become a proffesor.You see,the ghanian acadamia has failed Ghana. You live in the states and want to exercise another law in Ghana.We have our laws too

• gede 10 years ago

Thank you, Kofi. You are absolutely right. The so called Proff. made all his references using US constitutional articles forgetting Ghana has constitution too.

• Mastrich Law guy 10 years ago

The qualifications are not the same as what we need in the UK,etc.even a 22 year old can be called a prof! This is true,just google it...ooh,the NPP is clutching at straws.

• JAMES BROWN 10 years ago

Professor cleverly avoided the use of the word hypocrite in his article.
    May i ask you Prof? Can you look into the faces of any of the 9 judges and call them hypocrite?
    Ghana is a disciplined society and we have to protect ...

• AKU SIKA- SWEDEN 10 years ago

This guy should be investigated immediately to know his credentials.He is not law teacher

• Dr Yaw Ohemeng 10 years ago

If you live in Sweden then you have benefited from some of Prof. Asare's legal actions. He was the one who fought for the Supreme Court to declare the need for dual citizens to pay money to register as discriminatory. As a re ...

• Sobolo 10 years ago

Spending his time outside writing NANSINS.mtcheeeeeew.

• YAMUSAH IN KUMBUNGU 10 years ago

What an excellent educative piece! The good Prof. of law has driven me to develop appetite for law. I actually enjoyed this piece. God bless professor S. K. Asare.

• Dr Yaw Ohemeng 10 years ago

What has Prof. Asare said to warrant the abuses being hurled at him? He is defending free speech which all of you are exercising and you are insulting him? Don't you think he is right that when contempt of court comes up agai ...

• arthur smith 10 years ago

HOW DO WE ALLOW JUSTICES TO HUMILIATE PEOPLE JUST LIKE THEY DID LAST TIME. THEY SHOULD STOP THE NONSENSE RIGHT NOW FOR THEY HAVE NO POWER AS THEY PROCLAIMED IF WE, THE PEOPLE, HAVE CONFER IT TO THEM. LET'S DON'T GO BACK TO TH ...

• GHANA 10 years ago

GHANA QUALIFY

• Adwoa 10 years ago

This is a good one, there are lawyers and law in Ghana but there is no law abiding persons in the country. Anyone can say or do whatever they want but nothing happens, and due to poverty the poor are always misjudged.

• bornblack Germany 10 years ago

freedomof speech has limit,why America taping people telfone? you know what i mean....pls let sc to do their thing,

• awal zico 10 years ago

Jm is fool

• Kofi Gyambibi 10 years ago

Prof. fa wo kwasea fri ho !!
    Professor kwasea !!!!

• Kwabena Appiah 10 years ago

If you found a Kwasea in the busy it will be difficult to identify him from you therefore we might have to leave that alone.

• Yaw 10 years ago

Kofi, you did not tell us why the writer is kwasea. I think you're making a fool of yourself instead.

• KWASI IN EUROPE 10 years ago

You are in the US so you know nothing about the fears Ghanaians have due to the war chants of these belly politicians. Come and spend one month in Ghana and you will support the Supreme Court.

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

IN FACT I SEE IT IMPROPER FOR A LAW LECTURER TO TEACH OUR WHOLE CHIEF JUSTICE AND ALL THE JUDGES IN THE SC HOW TO DO THEIR WORK.IS IT BECAUSE THE LAW LECTURER IS IN THE US OR DOES IT MEAN THAT HE RATHER KNOWS THE LAWS BETTER ...

• Efo Gbeze 10 years ago

GOD IS REALLY A GHANAIAN. GHANA U 20 HAVE QUALIFIED TO THE NEXT STAGE OF THE ON-GOING FIFA U 20 WORLD CUP. WATCH GHANA VS PORTUGAL ON 03/07/13 AT 18:00 GMT

• Dantani ghana 10 years ago

WOW, WOW WOW .
    THIS IS REAL INDEPENDENT MIND.A WORD TO THE WISE IS NOT IN THE KANGAROO COURT, ITS FROM PROF S K Asare

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

PROFESSOR S. KWAKU ASARE HAS REALLY UNDERLOOKED OUR WHOLE JUDICIARY AND MUST APPOLOGISE TO THE CHIEF JUSTICE.THIS MAN LIVES IN THE US N WANT OUR JUDGES TO KEEP QUITE AND IF THERE IS ANY WAR IN THE NATION BECAUSE OF CERTAIN PE ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

If we want to behave as true Ghanaians, may I suggest that we should be heard in ahenfie and not a court modeled after Western culture

• Nana 10 years ago

Prof ASARE is a very good theoretician. But I have the impression that he has lost the sensation of our realities. The freedom of speech and media is not the freedom of saying or writing or doing whatever we want.

How many ...

• YAW-Chicago USA 10 years ago

NDC members,this article is a clear interpretation of the constitution which we spent our limited resources and precious time to prepare it and as a RULE OF LAW,NO ONE IS ABOVE IT NOT EVEN THE JUDGES OR THE PRESIDENT.It seem ...

• kena agyemang 10 years ago

all those who are insulting the brilliant professor are members of the N D C ...steallers

• rash ghana 10 years ago

Please professor,come home with your family to support these hooligans. For we the discerning ghanaians support the decision by the supreme court.

Well said!

• kena agyemang 10 years ago

all those who are insulting the professor are members of the N D C ...STEALLERS

• osdart 10 years ago

professor, thanks you are really learned

• Kyekyeku Brempon II 10 years ago

Ah!, Atuguba, you sentenced Awuku just on polical grouds.w"agye w"ani so.

• Kk3 10 years ago

Ghanaians deserve the leadership they get. This professor is right! Can someone tell me why the Supreme Court finds it expedient to discipline people who are not respondents or litigants in the case but allow for papers to b ...

• Emeritus Cletus 10 years ago

Doesn't sound like a prof. at all!

if you read this petition and believe the person is not a Prof then I am sorry for you. maybe you have never seen a prof so you will not know the difference.

• Dr. Sully 10 years ago

Please, know the difference our culture in Ghana that of the USA.A layperson reading your petition knows that you are not only bised but NPP Law Professor and an NPP supporter.It is a SHAME!!!!!

Dr Sully you say you are a Dr, I am very sorry but you could have done justices to the arguments and stop been sentimental. You are rather shameless thinking you can pass a comment without anybody knowing. Where are your br ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Dr. Sully, how can a lay person understand Professor Asare's article which you as a PhD holder yourself don't understand and twisting the meaning that he is an NPP supporter. This writer is commenting on wrong behavior of the ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

Thank you!

• ishmaeloo 10 years ago

professor s. kwaku Asare this is ghana not USA where you can not discipline your own child,see we ARE African .if you think you know more come home and belive silly if you will not be haul to the court room ,leave us alone to ...

We are in Ghana and we are before the Judges what is your beef, if you do not understand the issues just keep quite all your brains in that coconut head is currently not useful at this time.

An insightful write up.
    But what professor Asare should know is that Ghana is not yet at the level of the type of freedom of speech and tolerance in the US.
    In the States, I have observed that people show decorum and ci ...

And there's too much "they Say/Said, they Said/Say in the Country.The Media lacks helicopters and Satellite to give an eye witness account.It's the strategy of some of the Newspapers to fabricate stories and give Sensati ...

• odeneho 10 years ago

Democracy is civility and not a license to open your mouth any how especially about the highest court of the land. To say the supreme court is being selective especially looking at how sensitive this issue is. We should appre ...

• SULEY 10 years ago

prof. God bless u soooooo much for bringing the chief justice attention to this, with Atuguba, God will deal with him,

• SULEY 10 years ago

whats atuguba is doing is not done in any civilized world

• Tom Brown 10 years ago

May Alla bless this professor. He is too sensible. Compare Lord Denning's measured ways of 1947 to Atuguba's ramboic words of 2013 and you will know why we are so backward.

• Tindana 10 years ago

PROMOT PEACE,GHANA NEED PEACE AND UNITY.

• Angel 10 years ago

Hey Professor Asare, will you shut up and let Ghana do her job? Why are you in the US? This is Ghana, and not USA

You are either asleep or senseless. I am sure you do not understand what the issues are. please we will wake you up when the lights come on. just go back to sleep.

• Akwasi Michael 10 years ago

In fact, the judges should not misuse the little power they have today, tomorrow may not be theirs. i feel so bad and ashamed as a Ghanaian simply because we hate the truth,,even judges who suppose to uphold and defend justic ...

• Kofi Pee 10 years ago

What will these Justices do if they were sitting on a case in the United States? How can you ban lawyers or politicians not to comment on a case before the Supreme Court in the United States? The solution is they have to hurr ...

• Manny 10 years ago

All these so called Law preffesors are in the US and yet There is Guantanamo bay, where prisonora are held without being charged. Why not sort that out first, as you earn your living and pay your taxes there, before lecture G ...

And Senane would introduce a special bill to strip this guy of his citizenship or immigrant(Green card) status,and he`ll be on the next available plane back to where he came from! Azar knows this,and so he`ll not dare stick h ...

• WISDOM.. 10 years ago

WOW AFTER READING THIS, IT HAS COME TO MY NOTICE THAT THE SUPREME COURT OF GHANA IS BASICALLY CORRUPT..OHH MOTHER GHANA THANK FOR FOR THIS PROFESSOR WISDOM.. THANK YOU SIR.. I NOW KNOW LAW

• Court Ricewater 10 years ago

Take your nonsense to stay in the U.S. and don't pollute the Ghana judicial system. I dare you to petition the U.S. chief justice on such crap you are raising and your ass will be disciplined. Leave Ghanaians alone to fine be ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

Africans are so used to autocracy that it is too difficult to help them realize the mess they are in!

That's why other race and countries in the world are progressing since they are disciplined and follow the law. Africans have to the same to progress.

• GHANABI 10 years ago

Hei! Do you really live in the US?
    No, I doubt, because your article
    is full of bull crap. you can't even, reason on your own.
    What is Kwaku Asare's crime here. Wo ye kwasea paa.

GHANABI Wo ye aboa kwasea beast paa. Both of you are half baked.

• Ayitey Muller 10 years ago

Nonsense. Do you think the other 8 justices are a bandwagon of fools?

• CYBERGHANA 10 years ago

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE USA RULED IN FAVOR OF GEORGE BUSH, AND THE REPUBLICANS CAME TO POWER; AL GORE AND THE DEMOCRATS YEILDED WITHOUT A FIGHT. THE CONSERVATES IN THE SC RULED IN FAVOR OF THE CONSERVATIVE PRESIDENT AND THE ...

• Nana Adjei Ntow 10 years ago

Perfectly well written. This is more than excellent! Thank God you live in the USA away from our shores to be hauled before the Supreme Court for being intellectually HONEST. God bless you my brother

• kwaku Pee 10 years ago

Prof excellent but not applicable to Africa.

• Quansah R 10 years ago

Hey Prof, when was the last time you visited Ghana? These are nice legal theories that will not fly in Ghana. Leave the SC to run their courtroom. Has we asked you how to teach Law?
    They should admonish so called journalists ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

you stupid ass hole

• OPK 10 years ago

You should be ashamed of yourself for using such words. Remember that two wrongs does not make a right

• BoycottRoyalAirMaroc 10 years ago

Boycott Royal Air Maroc, the world's shittiest, dirtiest and most insolent airline whose nightmarish Accra-Casablanca route is better imagined than experienced. For the icing on the cake, check out its uncouth Ghana Country M ...

• Wiafe 10 years ago

Asare, you petition has no merit--because you have no standing under law. Why? Because, nothing in your petition indicates that you personally have been harmed by the action of the supreme court.

It will therefore be ign ...

• T'di 10 years ago

What i can deduce from this article is that there are legal loopholes in the attempt to sanction those "guilty" of unfair comments about the pending case.I believe ,if we are all sober,the "guilty" ones can easily be turned i ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

GOOD ARTICLE. THE PROBLEM IS IN GHANA THE DO NPT RESPECT THE CITIZENS BUT RESPECT LAND CRUISERS. IF THEY PUBLISH THE AS STATED LAST POINT 9 ONE CAN TELL CLEARLY THE BIASE NATURE OF THE SO CALLED JUDGES. THESE JUDGES SHOULD BE ...

• Owusu Manu , Abuja 10 years ago

Ei NPP GUYS WHO COULDN'T MAKE IT OUTSIDE AND WERE HOPING THAT NPP WINS SO THAT THEY COME HOME AND JOIN THEIR CORRUPT FRIENDS TO LOOT ARE DOING EVERYTHING TO ENSURE THAT THE COUNTRY BURNS, BUT GOD IS ALIVE. GHANA WILL NOT BURN ...

• jo papa 10 years ago

fools,creative,plane,and shear part you people think you are the supreme than everybody in this country.be careful.

• razak seini 10 years ago

sorry prof.... let the supreme court act now instill decency in the ghanaian..... there is no where on earth that is unbridled freedom.There has to be sanity and respect to our elders.Let america hv there cultural values and ...

• obibini 10 years ago

Ghanaians must stand up to defend free speech, it si only through free speech that the corruption and unethical behaviours of our public officials would be revealed

• obibini 10 years ago

Ghanaians must stand up to defend free speech, it si only through free speech that the corruption and unethical behaviours of our public officials would be revealed

• obibini 10 years ago

• FRANK NAROS 10 years ago

ITS GOOD TO ADVISE A FELLOW COLLEAGUE TO STEP ON HIS TOES IF SOMETHING IS NOT GOING THE WAY IT SHD BE.AND I HOPE THE JUDICIARY OR HER LADYSHIP WILL SIT ON IT TO CONSIDER CERTAIN THINGS. MAY THE GOOD LORD HELP YOU TO COME OUT ...

• osei kingsley, lagos 10 years ago

unecessary petition, just like the one those political rouges from npp sent to that place.get us better news from home .

• Nana Aba 10 years ago

Prof Asare is to be commended for his efforts in getting the CJ to put a stop to the practice of holding people in contempt without due process simply for expressing their opinion. There is such a thing as fair comment in th ...

• OPK 10 years ago

I agree perfectly with you prof. Very informative and educative piece.

• JIM CROW 10 years ago

Kwasi Appiah should also summon anyone who comments on Black Stars' matches to the stadium to coach the Black Stars. Prez. Mahama should summon everyone who criticizes him to the Jubilee House to run the country.

• PlainPlainTruth 10 years ago

Kwaku Asare, you absconded to the US instead when facing serious charges in Ghana. Since then, you haven't made any effort to even visit Ghana because your charges are still pending. So "chill."

I also live in the US. Even ...

• ken acquah 10 years ago

Prof Asare must ave his say. No need for such insults etc. The comments I ave read explains it all. Our politics is very personal n so journalists will stray. So those who stray too far must be brought to book. We will also m ...

• eunice antwi 10 years ago

bless ur heart for monitoring this case n I really thank the professor for speaking up for us .God bless

• Kwasi Amankwah 10 years ago

We are all ghanaians , ghana belongs to all ghanaians those at home and abroad ,the akyems ,ashantes ,ewes , fantes , is a shame the way we talk about each other,,enough is enough ,insulting each other is not solution to our ...

• Agyaku NYC 10 years ago

Mr Professor, remember US constitution says freedom of speech to some extent. Have you ever wittiness anyone in US blasting the US supreme court with accusations and allegations and still stand tall? Number 27 of your article ...

• Kwasi Amankwah 10 years ago

prof, is also a ghanaian he has his right of opinion you may disagree with him ,is your right to disagree with ,but insulting him is the not the way democracy works ghanaians need education of the way democracy WORKS , he ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

If you don't agree with this petition, just chill. This is democracy; that's how things work. Express your views courteously or in other word; no "buga-buga" and insults. People should relax, because this case is not an easy ...

• Owusu Manu , Abuja 10 years ago

This Asare Man, should not forget that, this court case is in Africa. A place where people go to the street to fight and kill each other if elections don't go their way. Does that happen in America? NO. A place where, party s ...

• kwam 10 years ago

Laws must be consistent with our values and culture, we in Ghana can not copy anything from other countries in the name of democracy, e.g homosexuality is legal and consistent with the values and culture of western countries ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Professor Asare wants to be appeared scholarly! Of course this article can at best be judged as academic gimmicks. Truly, the actions of the courts contrary to Professor Asare's observation prove the court to be indeed a ser ...