You are here: HomeNews2013 06 17Article 277076

Pregnant teacher trainees cannot write exams – Principal

Read Comments Comments (80)

• GHANA 10 years ago

Aaaaaba why cant you wait?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Wait for what? Ask the Principal who is enforcing GES pre colonial rule could wait.
    Some of these students are matured and married. Many of my students at a training college I taught were older than me or about my age. I rem ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Frank, I agree with you absolutely. In addition to the fact that Training College students are considered matured and some are married with children, the GES rule is discriminatory against women and unconstitutional. It is on ...

• kiki 10 years ago

some of these laws has outlive its usefullness. the GES should review them. why then do they admit mature students. are they expecting them to live a life of celibacy until they complete thier education.

• hermit 10 years ago

Pregnancy is not a disease. Women can go back to teaching 3 mos after delivery. Why should we waste their knowledge. only in Gh.

• CORNEY 10 years ago

Does it mean nobody in the country in a position of trust know about this crap to put a stop to it immediately to let that principal know that we are in modern and civilized world and she must join the civilized world to get ...

• OZA 10 years ago

This is an assault on women's right. If a teacher Trainee (an adult female) is allowed to get married, why can't she get pregnant? This is NOT a high school student. Stupid Law!

• OZA 10 years ago

The Principal of the school being a woman herself should have known better that this stupid law was definitely made by men or majority of men. She should be an advocate for the women in the school to fight against such stupid ...

• OZA 10 years ago

The law is unconstitutional. It infringes on women's right based on their gender. How about the male teacher who gets his wife pregnant. Can he write the exam. If yes, then women are being singled out for this stupid law.

• IDRIS PACAS alias PINK SHEET 10 years ago

Teacher training colleges are now diploma-awarding institutions. This implies that they're tertiary. It therefore does not make sense to prevent pregnant women from taking exams. Assuming the men who impregnated them were als ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

Minister, this is the type of thing you should sort out.Not infect us with homosexuality

• Jn Azaare 10 years ago

good one there

Convents to train nuns?

• KARL J 10 years ago

FRANK YOU ARE AN IMMORAL IDIOT.PEOPLE LIKE YOU WHO TAKE THINGS FOR GRANTED CAN ONLY LEAD THIS COUNTRY INTO AN ABYSS.NOTE THAT TEACHER TRAINEES ARE IN A PROFESSIONAL TRAINING ARENA AND MUST OBEY THE LAWS OF THEIR TRAINING HOWE ...

• Joseph- London 10 years ago

Such draconia and outdated rules have outlived their usefulness! Almost all our institutions are still backwards in their thinking. What an injustice! is pregnancy an infectious disease? In the enlightened world, such action ...

• KOFI JNR 10 years ago

PLS, MAKE ROOM FOR THESE LADIES TO WRITE THEIR FINAL EXAMS. THE GES REGULATION IS GENDA BIAS. WWE NEED OUR FUTURE "MOTHERS" TO HAVE HIGHER EDUCATION AND FUTURE CAREERS.

• Min tua 10 years ago

Madam principal. Can you explain what proper antenatal care means and how it can affect the pregnant students writing exams. This is not acceptable in anyway. You are just been wicked even after GNAT said they should be allow ...

• Mathias 10 years ago

stupid rule!! why this nonsense?

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

GES needs to reexamine its rules and regulations and adapt them to the realities of the 21st century.

• Esther Kodji 10 years ago

What kind of nonsense is this? Maybe the GES will one day ask female teacher trainees to remain single until they complete their training. What kind of ancient regulation is this? Meanwhile, male teacher trainees can have chi ...

• koo 10 years ago

Folks, it is clear why standards at that level are high. Dinossaurs!!

• Ngariba 10 years ago

it is high time GES change these outmoded principles. a trainee is not a primary 4 pupil, she is matured enough to determine when to give birth and when not to. girls who even get pregnant at SSS level in developed nations ar ...

So GES still cling on to this antiquated laws? We are in the computer age and things must change. Final year Teacher Trainees are not babies. Some are even married. So the Principal and GES think that these students do not ha ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A pregnant woman boards a bus. After taking a seat, she notices a man smiling at her. She feels self-conscious and changes her seat, but he seems even more amused.

She moves a third time, and he starts to giggle. On her fo ...

• ras 10 years ago

where is oye lithur and the emancipators?

She is promoting Gays and Lesbians right. Hahahahahaha. Afterall, she is against procreation so why will she fight for these pregnant students.

• Kwame - Joburg 10 years ago

Pregnancy does not reduce intelligence. Mrs Sobotie should be warned to stop discriminating against pregnant women and to apologise to them. Our mothers were also pregnant women once.

• km agyin 10 years ago

Training colleges are classified as tertiary institutions and its students are considered mature. They have every right as adults to determine their future including the choice to have an education concurrently with raising f ...

• addnex 10 years ago

Haba, a fifteen year old rule (code) still holding us captive. Common, life is dynamic and we must be ready to change with time. Allow them do the exams for prosperity sake.

• Mark 10 years ago

This woman is wicked four of the ladies are married, so why do u justify that they can get married in school but they can give birth. One of the ladies had delievered, this wickedness to womanhood.Even JSS student who get pre ...

• Agyakwakuo Twumpuduo 10 years ago

Ghanaian officials across the board work with the Middle Age mindset and they find it very hard to adjust to the 21st Century mindset.
    Why should they be disqualified? This nonsense of Holier than thou attitude of the GHanai ...

• Pappy 10 years ago

The principal is liaring. She should come and state that law or regulation that prevent these student from writing the exams. It a against their Human Rights (Reproductive Rights). The principal should go and read Chapter fiv ...

• pee 10 years ago

simply send GES to court.This is not acceptable in these times.This is a persona human right issue.What has education got to do with family privacy.Why are our leaders not updated on the UN charter of fundamental human rights ...

• Jason 10 years ago

What does it cost to put this case in court? I think this code is discriminatory.

Just because they are pregnant does not mean they are not able to write an exam. Ghana is really old and needs to become mature.

These st ...

• Amewuga 10 years ago

It is rather unfortunate that female pregnant teacher-trainees are being prevented from writing their final examinations simply because of their pregnancy.What is even more worrying is the fact that this is happening in this ...

• George abbey 10 years ago

This is unheard of.if ur fit to write fair enough.

• DAGBIE 10 years ago

Is it a crime to become pregnant? What has pregnancy got to do with writing of Examination? They were seen to be pregnant yet were allowed to be in class until exams time why do you now prevent them from writing the Exams. Wh ...

• DAGBIE 10 years ago

Are pregnant women allowed to teach? FEMALE HEAD of school cannot even think better and fight for her fellow women welfare, what a pitty!

• NANA - TEMA 10 years ago

We often confuse the meaning and purpose of training with 'education'. There are some degree of liberty in general education which is not the case in training......poor Ghanaians. Other training institutions, especially Healt ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

When it comes to Human Rights Offenses some of us say women are the waste offenders. Why are the pregnant students going into the exam hall to infest all those there with pregnancy? I wrote the other day that no female should ...

• EDDY 10 years ago

Where is Nana Oye Lithur? She better speak on this issue. GES is veeeerry dumb. It's great the universities are autonomous.

• fritz genius kumah bizzy 10 years ago

very stupid decision from a very silly principal. are u God? Is it not the same GES that directed, that pupils at basic level should not be dismissed when they get pregnant. teacher trainees and basic level students who is mo ...

• asem se be 10 years ago

How Sad? I would have expected a Female Principal to have understood the ladies a bit more and rather appeal to GES about how unfair that rule is but its rather a female principal(Mrs) who is seeking to enforce to the antiqua ...

• EDDY 10 years ago

It's so sad teacher trainees are still treated like SHS students. They have to scrub, sweep and weed. Seniors have authority over juniors. There's really no difference between the SHS and TTC apart from the academia. Things s ...

• Gomado 10 years ago

Ghana!!!!! ALL OTHER NATIONS ARE LEAVING US BEHIND.
    THERE ARE A LOT OF PEOPLE WHO WANT TO BE MIDWIVES BUT THE SYSTEM DOES NOT ALLOW THEM. MEANWHILE, IT IS ALWAYS REPORTED THAT WE DO NOT HAVE ENOUGH MIDWIVES IN THE COUNTRY.

• kumasi 10 years ago

even ACCA level 3 students write with pregnancy, how les more trainee teachers? please this law is archaic. and can not help us any where as a nation.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• acquaah georg 10 years ago

Then let us test the law in the courts

• Kwame 10 years ago

I suggest the disallowed student go to court. this is human right abuse

• kwame 10 years ago

This is rediculous, where are these code of conducts coming from? Are these students not matured enough to live a life of their own. What a country. Human rights lawyers in the country what are you doing about this?

• john,UAE 10 years ago

Laws and rule are made to help man for his or her own good, but many people feel that they will breach the law and people will talk for them, this is what has brought this country this low grade in the world.laws are laws the ...

• Napoleon 10 years ago

John should also bear in mind that laws and rules are not to be static but dynamic and move with the changing times.So long as these five ladies are not going to deliver in the exams hall they should be permited to write the ...

You are damn crazy. Why don't we go back to the period of human sacrifice as the Traditional laws demanded. It is these outmoded laws that are drawing our country back. No noise during Homowo, no burial on Akwasidae, Awukudae ...

• Nii Boye Tagoe 10 years ago

Ghanaians are so stupid that they disrespect every good thing, and that is why they have multi propblems every time. Wy are they crying foul over this simple issue. The law is there, and it is supposed or expected to work for ...

If the law is there, why are JHS and SHS students who become pregnant allowed to write their exams? This is common sense but not common to all like you. Use reason. Where in the Developed countries are students not allowed in ...

• True Patriot 10 years ago

Some laws are have outlived their times and purpose.

In the U.S. pregnant teenagers are given the chance to continue their Education, why should adult students be kicked out of school because their pregnant situation.

T ...

• Torgbi 10 years ago

I thought Teacher Training colleges are now regarded as tertiary institutions. Why are they still under GES and not Ministry of Education. Please someone should educate me here. By the way, what is this so-called Principal ta ...

• Tigerliccious 10 years ago

they still have these outmoded ancient policies operating. Teacher training colleges are adult institutions. Some come there already married. Stop treating them like children and let them make adult decisions. How is this goi ...

• wo nti 10 years ago

does the principal has a child ... this is the question i will be happy to know

• kwao 10 years ago

the girls go enjoy for teaching practice too much!

• kofi 10 years ago

My men shld samtyms exercise a little patience 4 de women. Woaa c what u've caused. Any dey shld b considered.

• Kwasi yeboah 10 years ago

We need to uphold our moral standards in our institutions especially an educational institution

• Busumbru 10 years ago

Look at this idiotic wicked principal.I had my first born child before entering the teacher training college. I imprgnated my girl friend again during my third and final year in the training college. There was a time I itrodu ...

• kwam 10 years ago

You are being catered for by the tax payer to become a teacher and you open your legs for men that you are pregnant? they will not be good teachers, Can't they wait? what is the rush for?

• Mark 10 years ago

You are a fool, wait for what God had been so kind to me and u are saying l should wait. Kwasiaaasem pa in the highest order

• J H New York 10 years ago

"She said the College authorities are only trying to enforce the GES regulation".
    What sort of regulation,and what do you meant by decipline to a female students whom are above 18 yrs,some married before they entered the c ...

"She said the College authorities are only trying to enforce the GES regulation".
    What sort of regulation,and what do you meant by decipline to a female students whom are above 18 yrs,some married before they entered the c ...

• Nii Lartey Nartey 10 years ago

Ghana is embarrassingly still primitive and deep in the stone age far-far away from global civilization.

Why do we still entertain this far-far backward rule to stop our future mothers the opportumity to take exams for sub ...

• TENGAN FX 10 years ago

It is just so sad and annoying that at this time of the day a country like Ghana still vigorously enforce some of these very silly, primitive and discriminatory laws against their follow but vulnerable citizens. This is a tot ...

• NANA BUTUBUTU KANTANKA 10 years ago

Stoping our fair ladies taking exams simply because of pregnancy is outrageous and stupidity in the highest form.

It's just like the Ethopian African women Jews who were shockingly injected with deadly virus to stop them g ...

• Collins, NJ,USA 10 years ago

I think it is only in Ghana one could heal such a thing. Come to America and see all sorts of women in various demanding professions being pregnant and writing their exams.Especially some intentionally plan the pregnancy with ...

• Nana Yaw, Boston, USA 10 years ago

This is where the substantive minister should show she is the minister. I went to Wesley College and one of my mates got pregnant in 3rd year. She wrote the tests and is currently teaching. What are we talking about? A woman ...

• Odikro 10 years ago

Hello,
    the headmistress and the Ghana Education Admin is way, way in the dark ages!
    This is an affront to civilization and discriminatory to all women. I just can't believe we're hearing this in 2013! Are you saying it' ...

• Odikro 10 years ago

what is wrong with being pregnant. I can't believe the so-called head of school's comments- 'we're still counting". What do you mean. Very shocking to hear such comments from a woman, a mother and supposedly the a person wi ...

• Okujato Ablakwa 10 years ago

Principal, Your college is now under the University and therefore stick to the University rules which allow pregnant women to take exams and Ghanas constitution which permit women more than 18 years old to marry. Colo Princip ...

• Davi Tefle 10 years ago

what kind of principal is this woman? I just can't understand. Why should women suffer because there are pregnant? What about the men who impregnated them? This is an outmoded law. Man makes and unmakes law. GES wake up

It was in 1998 that that rubbish code of conduct was prescribed.About 15yrs ago.
    So it's not Colo as some of U think but, by the 21st century morons with better academic qualifications devoid of Common Sense.

• Eko 10 years ago

It is a baby growing in their belly, not a dislodged brain.

• OPOKU GYABAAH 10 years ago

To every rule there is an exception, please great leaders of colleges of Education kindly exempt our ladies from this rule, THANK YOU.

• darlington 10 years ago

even b.e.c.e candidates who are pregnant are allowed to write. what is dis? the teacher trainees are considered as matured people who can take decicive decisions.