You are here: HomeNews2013 06 11Article 276574

Ghana has not had a visionary leader after Kwame Nkrumah – Nyaho-Tamakloe

Read Comments Comments (103)

• KD 10 years ago

I think its time NPP ignore people like Dr. Nyaho Nyaho-Tamakloe and Wereko Brobbey. They're only distractions.

• OBIBA JUDAS 10 years ago

NPP Were you leaving in space when NPP buried the late president Mills, when he was still alive with your Akufo Addo leading the way? Sometimes you people think this country is for fools and stupid primitive species like you ...

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

THIS CAN BE VERY DEBATABLE, BUT A VISIONARY PRESIDENT SHOULD BE ABLE TO PROVIDE THE NEEDS OF THE CITIZENS TODAY WITHOUT FORGETTING ABOUT HE NEEDS OF THE FUTURE GENERATIONS. THE CONDITIONS IN WHICH WE OPERATE OUR POLITICS NOW ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

DR. PAA KWESI NDUOM “I saw many “forgotten” communities with no drinking water, no real schools, no electricity, no jobs, with very little to live for. I resolved that win or lose, I would spend my time trying to help s ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

I have time and again written on Ghanaweb that: GHANA HAS NOT HAD A VISIONARY LEADER SINCE OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH. That is the fact and we need to accept it.

• Benony 10 years ago

It was Kwame Nkrumah who first imported dictatorship, one party state and communism into Africa and this evil is still causing havoc on the continenet. Kwame Nkrumah was the only leader in Ghana who imprisoned all political o ...

• facts 10 years ago

Kufour was far better than Nkrumah who took Ghana to the present poor economic state. He had the best opportunity to carry the country ahead of all other african countries in all fields but failed miserably.His concern was al ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Nkrumah ruled for seven years and owned nothing for himself or children,and Ghana airways and black star lines were respected and envied.
    K4 on other hand, ruled for eight years and all his children are now wealthy and K4 h ...

• Neither NDC Nor NPP 10 years ago

Funny how the Danquah-Busia forces after decades of continuous vilification and demonization of the Osagyefo are now trying to equate him with one of their most prolifically corrupt leaders, ex-President Kufuor!

The Osagye ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

When your grandfathers thought only colonialist, who hate Africa but wants its resources by any means, are the only who can help us and not ourselves, and helped kicked him out, what has been the results in industries and edu ...

• VINCEY,NJ 10 years ago

Ku4 has also admitted that, the great Osagyefo is the overall best. So you see how an idiot triabalistic you are?

• EBO KOBINA 10 years ago

WITH THE PRESENT SITUATION IN GHANA , WHERE EVERY GHANAIAN BOOKLONG IS WASTING OUR TIME WITH HIS SHALLOW MINDED KNOWLEDGE ,I WOULD HAVE BEHAVED LIKE KWAME NKRUMAH FOR THE SAKE OF DEVELOPMENT . PLEASE , LOOK AT WHAT IS HAPPENN ...

• Templar 10 years ago

My brother you are right and to add to it, the right was right about acknowledging Dr KN for his achievements and also right about the failure of JAK. How can he compare JAK to our most productive President we have ever had?

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

By the way, what does Nyaho Tamakloe mean by the word 'visionary'. Does he mean that the man Kwame Nkrumah was a good leader or what?

If that is what he meant, then he needs to be educated that Nkrumah did not operate in i ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

But he brought you education and 400+ factories. Compare with what the colonialists did in 300+years.It is fools like you who retard our progress. K4 could not be a visionary as he had the vision of a village leader.

• GHFUO, LOVE YOURSELF! 10 years ago

WHERE IS KWAME NKRUMAH INTL AIRPORT? LOCATE THIS IN KUMASI....

TO THOSE IDIOTS WHO THINK NKRUMAH WAS A DICTATOR. THROUGHOUT WORLD POLITICAL HISTORY, NO CIVILIAN HAS EVER BEEN A DICTATOR. SO HOW CAN U PUT DR. NKRUMAH IN THA ...

1. THE SO CALLED 1 PARTY STATE WAS VOTED ON THRU A REFERENDUM BY THE PPL
    2.EVIL HE CAUSED ON THE CONTINENT? WHO SPEARHEADED THE OAU? ABOA!
    3. JJ KILLED HIS OPPONENTS AND EVEN INNOCENT DISSIDENTS. U WOULD RATHER WANT DR. NKR ...

Nkrumah's leniency and compassion was his undoing. No one was killed in Ghana under Nkrumah, with the exception of the policeman who shot at Nkrumah in an assassination attempt commissioned by the usual suspects. There were a ...

• krikri 10 years ago

Nyaho Nyaho, I have always been saying what you just said. You are right to a point. My position is that after Dr Kwame Nkrumah, WE HAVE NOT HAD ANY LEADER IN THIS COUNTRY. All the others are bosses (the military group) prete ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Oh, Ghanaians dont need help. We have everything we need including all the raw materials.
    We will be ok. Lets do some more stupid politics and food will come to our tables.
    Our children will go to school without preparati ...

• Ethics 10 years ago

Brain gone down into the Sewer,KD remove the Cotton pillows you have been sleeping on, it is stocking your brain cells, I therefore prescribe that you use Books as Your therapeutic Pillows now onwards KD or whatever, Dr Nyaho ...

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

This nyaho-Tamakloe guy is not alright. What did kuffour do for Ghana?
    The truth is Nkrumah and Rawlings were God' s gifts to us as nation.The two are far ahead of all.They were and are patriots par excellence. They had visi ...

• Aba 10 years ago

I agree he should be ignored and treated with the contempt he deserves! Prez Mahama is related to him because Nyaho is Ibrahim's mother!!! He messed up as Ambassador! How can he critique anyone!

• Adwoa 10 years ago

BY SAYING THAT OKROMFUO KUFFUOR IS THE ONE WHO COMES CLOSE TO NKRUMAH IS AN INSULT TO KWAME NKRUMAH. HOW ON EARTH CAN YOU COMPARE THIS OKROMFUO WITH OUR KWAME. YOU ARE ONLY DOING WHAT THE NPP PEOPLE DO BECAUSE ANYTHING ELSE W ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

There are some NDC monkey supporters
    who always does not want to speak the
    truth and it is by the activities of
    such NDC crooks such as you hence we are going through dumso-dumso, corruption, incompetency, deceitful, disho ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

IT IS ONLY AN IDIOT WHO WILL POST SUCH A BRAINLESS ARTICLE ON THIS FORUM. IF YOU HAVE EVIDENCE AS REGARDS TO YOUR SO-CALLED PRESIDENT KUFFOUR'S STEALING ACTIVITIES AND YOU
    CANNOT ARREST AND PROSECUTE HIM THEN
    YOU INDEED TH ...

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Thank you doc despite the fact I am a fan of NPP.We have never had a good leader after Nkrumah,Kufour tried his best but there were some shortcomings.As for Rawlings may God forgive him and his followers.

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Yes, we need to accept that Nkrumah is the ONLY leader who had a vision for Ghana. The others were just there to accept their pay check, including Mr. Revolution who sold all the state enterprises to his wife.

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

The NPP needs to be overhauled and visionary leaders put in place to steer its course.

• NAA4U 10 years ago

NICE ONE THERE ADWOA. I DONT THINK DR NYAHO SHOULD HAVE COMPARED KUFOUR TO NKRUMAH AND THE MOST UNFORTUNATE THING IS THAT NKRUMAH WAS OVERTHROWN BY THE BUSIA DANQUAH(NOW NPP) WHO SEES NOTHING GOOD IN ANYBODY BUT FOR THEMSEL ...

• Frimpong, USA 10 years ago

Don't forget Rawlings took this country from it's lowest ebb and managed to restore a permanent democracy. Rawlings may have made mistakes here and there but let's face it his O'Level leadership was by far more inspiring, dis ...

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

AFTER NKRUMAH WAS RAWLINGS. EVEN KUFFFOUR AGREED WITH THIS FACT.

• Dr Kofi Nartey 10 years ago

Nyaho Tamakloe, you cannot compare the thief, Kronfuor Kufuor anywhere near the character and achievement of the Great Osagyefo, Dr Kwame Nkrumah so be realistic in your assessments.

• Good citizen 10 years ago

I strongly have to disagree with the point raised by the good old Dr. In my opinion after Nkrumah the next spot should go GEN I K Acheampong of SMC 1, who was murdered by Rawlings for nothing

• Yaw(Virginia) 10 years ago

Dr. Nyaho has made an error in his reasoning making him to put Kwame Nkrumah in a category all by himself. It's an error most people make if you do not critically analyze the achievements of Kuffour and Nkrumah. These two men ...

• KANAWU 10 years ago

KUFFUOR DID FAR BETTER THAN NKRUMAH. NKRUMAH, RAWLINGS, MAHAMA ETC DID NOT BRING UNITY AMONGST GHANAIANS. HE WASTED OUR RESOURCES FOR HIS BIGGER AMBITION TO BE PRESIDENT OF AFRICA.

• bewise 10 years ago

what did Kuffuor do better than Nkrumah. the hatered that your fore fathers planted in you still exist today, You fail to see anything that is good, just like them, they only saw the bad in Nkruman but not the great, selfless ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

When K4 left the country was divided. Ga Adangbe youth, Ahanta Youth, Asante youth were all on the rampage. Such was his divisive tribalism all became conscious of their tribal origins

• Kay 10 years ago

Most of the things that you wrote were true but if we should admit Kufour made some errors.First the building of flagstaff house was wrongly timed,ordering of presidential plane was also bad.The country needed those things bu ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

Dear Yaw,comparing Kufuor with Dr. Nkrumah is just like comparing a mouse with a jumbojet.Dr. Nkrumah demanded our 200 million pounds from the British after Independence and with this amount,he started with the nationbuilding ...

• ADABRAKA 10 years ago

How close were you to K4 than Nyaho? Nyaho was GFA chair under K4. He said K4 was 1% to Nkrumah. You are here noising abt.

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Obviously Yaw and Kanawu are so illiterate that they do not even know that Kufuoor and his UP/NPP people Danquah, Busia etc, fought hard to break up Ghana into federal states. Nkrumah smartly resisted and fought against them ...

• JEFF 10 years ago

WHEN WE TALK OF LEADERSHIP, KUFOUR WAS NOWHERE NEAR NKRUMAH. WHEREAS NKRUMAH HAD A VISION OF MAKING GHANA A SELF-RELIANT COUNTRY AND INSPIRING HIS COUNTRYMEN IN VARIOUS WAYS TO ACHIEVE THAT VISION, KUFOUR WAS VISIONLESS AND W ...

• Kofious2 10 years ago

Mahama's step brother Ibrahim is your nephew so who's side are you really on ? I don't blame you. If I were in your situation, I will take Mahama's side too. Your are caught between a rock and a hard place !!! You and Randy A ...

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

THE GREAT OKOMFO ANOKYE CURSED THE AKYEM TRIBE OF WHICH AKUFU ADDO IS ONE THAT THEY WOULD NEVER BE LEADERS IN THE NATION,SO NPP SHOULD FORGET ABOUT THEIR VICTORY IN THE SUPREME COUR CASE.

• Otoo 10 years ago

The late President Atta Mills was 100 times better than that corrupt and tribalistic John Kufuor. Kufuor will go down in Ghanas history as the most corrupt President. Kufuor was just a THIEF.

• Zip Up 10 years ago

Well said , almost everybody in Ghana Knows that The Ex-President Dr Kwame Nkrumah is undisputedly out Standing Phenomena and as such incomparable.just imagin from 1960 Ghana attained Republic then he was over thrown and out ...

• Honesty-the best policy! 10 years ago

Thank you Dr. Nyaho for your objective opinion. We need more of your type to move Ghana forward the sake of not only ourselves but for generations yet to come.

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

Now we know who is burning the markets. Asiedu Nkatia has just confirmed that his foot soldiers must keep on burning the fire. NDC want to destroy the country before jon mahama goes to jail after the court case. Ghanaians mus ...

• Kwame Aidoo 10 years ago

Well said, Nyaho! Sad to say these "latter day presidents"have come only to steal, chop and destroy"Ghana.They enjoyed what Dr Nkrumah did, but have no sense of emulating him; especially the current administration.So sad.

• KANAWU 10 years ago

RWANDA AFTER THE GENOCIDE WITH COMMITTED LEADERS WHO WANT TO UNITE THE PEOPLE AND DEVELOP THEIR COUNTRY, ARE DOING FAR BETTER THAN GHANA.

• Asea Ho 10 years ago

Why the apology to JAK?

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

After Dr Kwame Nkrumah, Dr Busia comes close second, hands down. Kuffour came for himself and his croonies! Dr Nkrumah gets A+, Dr Busia gets B, Kuffour and prof Mills get C. JJ Rawlings gets C-!!!!!

• Analyst 10 years ago

The judgment of Dr Nyaho-Tamakloe has been clouded by at least two factors. First factor is party coloration. This is why he sees only former President Kufour as the only president that is close to Nkrumah in terms of vision. ...

• Kwesi Ampofo-Illford,Essex 10 years ago

WELL SAID BUT NYAHO SHOULD KNOW THAT VISION IS INBORN AND NOT ACQUIRED AND IT SHOWS RIGHT FROM THE BEGINNING. MAHAMA,S BEGINNING ALONE WITH SEVERAL FAILED PROMISES/MISPLACED PRIORITIES
    AND DISHONESTLY STEALING VOTES GIVES
    H ...

• KOJO AMPOFO,MIAMI-FLORIDA,USA. 10 years ago

AM RIGHT WHEN I SAY THAT PRESENT DAY GHANAIANS,BOTH LITERATE/ILLITERATE ARE GETTING STUPID BY THE DAY.HOW COULD NYAHO,WHO CALLS HIMSELF A DOCTOR,CLOSELY COMPARE KUFOUR TO NKRUMAH.THIS SHOWS HOW EMPTY,NAIVE AND STUPID HE IS ON ...

• OO7 10 years ago

Nkrumah inherited £380m. in 1957:Rawlings borrowed over $20billion in 19years but did little or nothing to improve the life of average Ghanaian. Kufour met -$10billion(negative $10billion) at the office but was able to init ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Unless you accept the simple truth that Dr Nkrumah's legacy is a settled issue which no African must attempt to dispute, whatever you say, will not be taken seriuosly!!!

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

As I have said above it is only ignorance and illiteracy that can keep anybody in the NPP. From whom did Nkrumah inherit the £380 million? I dare you to prove this obvious lie if you think you are an educated human being.

• OO7 10 years ago

The British left £380m after independence. You are a stupid fool. The wise people do not associate with ndc party. Nkrumah did little in terms of development. He used Ghana money as his OWN pocket money. Gave £10m to Seiku ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

You made the claim now prove it and stop trying to escape from the responsibility of proof by pretending to be a jackass. Just prove it

They have repeated this nonsense and lie - as you correctly point out - ad nauseam since 1966. First, let the Danquah-Busia retards provide the accounting books from the Portuguese, the Dutch, the Danes, and finally the Briti ...

• Nana Yaw Effah 10 years ago

Nyaho, why did you not join the CPP?
    That is where you can find leaders with vision.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

I hate to make comments on posts on Ghanaweb these days but can't help this.

In my opinion, President Mahama has started very poorly, without any vision at all except fulfilling the so-called Better Ghana Agenda of Mills! ...

• Humility 10 years ago

Like your comment Nyaho.We can only build mother Ghana by constructive criticisms of this nature but not by criticisms of hate, lies and conceived idea of destruction.Thank you one more time Mr Nyaho.

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

HOW THIS FOOL TRY TO EQUATE KUFUOR TO NKRUMAH? WHAT DID KUFUOR DO FOR GHANA ASIDE FROM TAKING GHANA TO HIPC, LOOTING THE NATIONAL COFFERS, AND KILLING INNOCENT PEOPLE WITHOUT JUSTICE FOR THE VICTIMS AND THEIR FAMILIES? WHAT A ...

• ed 10 years ago

Excellent observation

• Aba 10 years ago

Go back to your books, I am not a politician or a fun of politics, but Nkrumah had no vision and he did more harm than good. I think you should do more research. The man built the O. A. U Headquarters in Addis Ababa with Ghan ...

• Mekameka Daa 10 years ago

How can we have or produce visionary leaders when you being a leader of NPP is DUMP AND DUMMY? What best comes from you at all. You are right about that because you being dummy leader has infested your colleagues and so the ...

• Agyaku NYC 10 years ago

The government is too corrupt and avarice and visionary leader is the one who has the tendency to uproot corruption and make every workers depend on their salary. Late Nkrumah was no nonsense when it comes to corruption. Reme ...

• Kwesi Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

Blame your Matemeho underwear bombers who always swear not to accept any gov't other than theirs.

• moni 10 years ago

Disgraceful to these ex Presidents.

• kojo 10 years ago

Nkrumah had to hide some NPP fathers before progress was made.

• kb 10 years ago

Thank you Dr Nyaho Tamakloe.

• JEFF 10 years ago

THOSE OF US WHO LIVED UNDER NKRUMAH AND POLITICALLY HONEST, WILL ATTEST TO THE FACT NKRUMAH WAS,INDEED, A VISIONARY LEADER. AT INDEPENDENCE, MOST GHANAIANS WERE POOR BUT AS LONG AS YOU COULD USE YOUR BRAINS, NKRUMAH WOULD CRE ...

• Kaduna Mafia 10 years ago

Ghana will never have a visionary leader so far as we have people like nyaho tamakloe in ghana...

IM GLAD I WENT TO GHANA NATIONAL COLLEGE. TOO MANY PPL IN GH HAVE BEEN MISEDUCATED ON DR. NKRUMAH.

1. THE SO CALLED 1 PARTY STATE WAS VOTED ON THRU A REFERENDUM BY THE PPL
    2.EVIL HE CAUSED ON THE CONTINENT? WHO SPEARHEADE ...

• Komla 10 years ago

I could not agree more. All the leaders after Kwame Nkrumah lack superior leadership skills and vision for that matter.

• Joe 10 years ago

Will this Nyaho Tamakloe keep his mouth sht?

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

In life and in death, Nkrumah is the best.
    What A Nation?

• ....... 10 years ago

Kwame nkrumah was the most useless one for creating ur region. He in bell for murdering ghanaians at nsawamu.may he perish in hell.Mr tamakloe your respect ended today

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

WHAT ARE YOU TALKINING-ARE YOU DREAMING

WHAT DID KUFFOUR ACHIEVE FOR GHANA.

KUFFOUR AND HIS NPP GOVERNMENT ONLY CORRUPTED THE NATION IN THEIR EIGHT YEARS OF ADMINISTRATION.

NO GHANAIAN POLITICIAN CAN EVER BE COMPAR ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

KUFFOUR AND HIS NPP STOLE THE IDENTITY OF GHANA AND SQUANDERED THE FUTURE OF THE pRESENT AND THE NEXT GENERATIONS IN THEIR EIGHT YEARS OF ADMINISTRATION.

HE CORRUPTED THE ONLY AN UNKNOWN AND NAMELESS GRAVE FITS TO THE MESS ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

KUFFOUR AND HIS NPP STOLE THE IDENTITY OF GHANA AND SQUANDERED THE FUTURE OF THE pRESENT AND THE NEXT GENERATIONS IN THEIR EIGHT YEARS OF ADMINISTRATION.

HE CORRUPTED THE NATION AND ONLY AN UNKNOWN AND NAMELESS GRAVE FITS ...

• Naijaman 10 years ago

Kufour ruled for 8 years and has swelling foreign Bank Accounts as well as Hotels and Filling Stations

• KWAME 10 years ago

The statements from Dr Nyaho Tamakloe is partially true to the extent that after Dr Nkrumah, none of the leaders has been visionary. The part that Mr Kuffour was close to Dr Nkrumah is not true.
    Mr Kuffour has benefitted fro ...

• B. Ghanattah 10 years ago

DR N.N.T, I HAVE ALWAYS ADMIRED YOU FROM AFAR FOR SPEAKING AS IT IS. I DON'T HAVE TO AGREE WITH YOU BUT YES NKRUMAH IS THE GREATEST VISIONARY YET GHANA HAS SEEN. WHY? BECAUSE HE WAS A TRUE PATRIOT WHO HAD THE COUNTRY AT HEART ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

On this count you are right Doc. That's why we are suffering.

• Dr Robert K Glah 10 years ago

Osaggyefo was the greatest visionary politician of the 20th century.
    His blueprint for the development of Africa was classic.
    His struggle against colonialism and its legacies in Africa was second to none.
    He cared for the ...

• SolJa 10 years ago

now you are also talking anyhow.why politicans of today dey too talk anyhow ah?visionary leader?ghana was like a sea wave when rawlings calmed the waters.which man is perfect?why dont ghanaians ever see the good side of anyon ...

• scarecrow 10 years ago

JJ RAWLINGS IS THE MAN AFTER DR. KWAME NKRUMAH,NO ONE CAN TAKE THAT PRIDE FROM HIM,IT IS HE WHO HAD BUILT THE FOUNDATION OF DEMOCRACY WE ARE ALL ENJOYING TODAY,EVEN NKRUMAH NEVER BUILT DEMOCRACY IN GHANA,DEMOCRACY ITSELF IS A ...

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

No one has time for people like you - swim in your own vomit Nyaho Tamakloe!!

• Nii Lante Okunka 10 years ago

Ghana has never had any visionary leader notwithstanding what so called "doctors" would say or claim.Our problem is that we've not had any leader so far to lay the strong foundation for a prosperous nation and that has been t ...

Nii Lante Okunka stop pulling the wool over our eyes.
    The Osagyefo laid down the Foundation for our development but our civil society let us down. Every citizen was looking to Government to do it and not the citizen to do it ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Dr Glah why do you bother to respond to the dishonest and illiterate grumblings of an African whose distorted and mutilated mind is trapped in the evil excrement of western imperialism?

• Abongo 10 years ago

Kufuor came closer to Nkrumah when he sold GTC and took a bribe of one million dollars. You are sick

• ERROR PREZ 10 years ago

CRIMINAL MAHAMA,THIEFS MAHAMA,GOLD DIGGER MAHAMA,ATOPAHENE WOMANIZER MAHAMA,BAD AND FAKE MAHAMA,GOD WILL PUNISHED HIM AND HIS IDIOTS NDC

Nkrumah was not a thief.
    The rest after him are called thieves.
    Let us uphold the Osaggyefo and be free and prosperous.

• WIAFE 10 years ago

Even Mandela could NOT beat the Great Kwame Nkrumah in the BBC's African of the century survey.

Even though I am a staunch NPP supporter, I think we should all be thankful for the many things Nkrumah did for Ghana. Only a ...

• Agonaba 10 years ago

Trodooo

• john 10 years ago

Nkrumah indeed the best ever.

• john 10 years ago

Still Nkrumah.

• john 10 years ago

He is African number 1