You are here: HomeNews2013 05 23Article 274789

Privatize TOR – NPA advises

Read Comments Comments (43)

• amankwaatia 10 years ago

The TOR item must be put on the Ghana Stock Exchange now.

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

Mould is confessing, that truly, all investments pushed into TOR by Government have been misappropriated and stolen because the network of corruption prevents checks and balances.

Yes, no PRIVATE individual will all the ti ...

• Neither NDC Nor NPP 10 years ago

What needs to be "privatized" is Alex Mould and his incompetency and corruption. Yes, Mould, who got his job, not on merit, but through connections should be shown the door so he can work in his much vaunted "private sector". ...

• jerry 10 years ago

would you buy shares in a company that is broke?

• Kojo T 10 years ago

stop stealing state property and build your own

• BJ 10 years ago

Indeed our African leaders stupid.

• ford 10 years ago

One man was able to have a vision about 60 yrs ago to put up this strategic state owned refinery and others. Today Ghana has more professors and PHD"S and 270 useless MP"S, and yet these assets are been destroyed for their se ...

• BJ 10 years ago

All they know is borrowing; what a stupid temperament?

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

until Tema Oil Refinery (TOR) is privatized or sold to private investors, it cannot perform to expectation, let alone compete internationally.

PRIVATIZE TOR, AND THIS SON OF A BITCH WILL THE FIRST IN LINE TO BRIBE GOVT OFF ...

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

Does it make sense to have Professors and PhDs if they are not used?
    We will vote for the one MP who gives us a box of matches today, and not the one who wants to give my children free education in the future.
    "WE ARE HUN ...

• kofi kumasi 10 years ago

I am very surprised by Mould's suggestion of privatizing TOR. Alex currently makes more money by taking bribes from companies that sells refined oil products to Ghana, so he does not have any incentives in buying refined oil ...

• Keith 10 years ago

THIS IS LONG OVERDUE, PLACE TEMA OIL REFINERY ON GHANA STOCK EXCHANGE MUCH SOONER. AGAIN UNFORTUNATE THAT ALEX MOULD WORK FOR PUBLIC SECTOR ALL HIS LIFE JUST LIKE KWASI BOTCHEWAY WHEN BOTCHEWAY WAS FINANCE MINISTER SOLD MOST ...

• CASTLE BOY 10 years ago

THIS USELESS LABANESE CALLED KOFI IS NOT FIT FOR THE JOB.

• JOJO 10 years ago

CUBA OPEN IT SUGAR FACTORY AFTER MANY YEARS OF CLOSURE DUE TO LACK OF FUNDS, CUBA DIDN'T SELL THOSE COMPANIES EVEN THOUGH THEY DIDN'T HAVE MONEY TO RUN THEM, THEY STILL KEPT THEM UNTIL TODAY. THEY FINALLY GOT MONEY TO START R ...

• DAN 10 years ago

price in usa today..www.newyorkgasprices.com..SO what is a gov owned oil company doing for you?????? And these are huge prices for usa.. We need less than $3 per gal(4 liters) for the economy to improve

Okay, let's sell it to some of the NDC politicians.

• Nell - Professional in the US 10 years ago

Economy does not grow on the back of any government- It is the private sector that does. The job of government is to provide oversight. It is that simple!

• mumuni 10 years ago

@Nell, it is not necessarily so. Most of the Chinese companies who are transforming China into an economy powerhouse are own by the Chinese govt!

• DAN 10 years ago

from China owned banks..Let china companies borrow from real banks and see what happens

• Nationalist 10 years ago

THIS IS FOOLISH CAPITALIST DECEPTION. THE GOVERNMENT SECTOR GROWS THE ECONOMY.
    SEE ALL THE MAJOR INDUSTRIES IN THE US? WHO GOT THEM GROWING? THE GOVERNMENT, OF COURSE.
    NO GOVERNMENT, NO RESEARCH, NO BOEING, ROCKWELL, ARMS I ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

EVER HEARD OF ACTING SOCIALLY BUT WITH A CAPITALIST MIND? WAT COLLEGE DO U TEACH AT? U ARE AN IDIOT, WHO NEEDS TO BE FIRED. GO N JOB AS A STADIUM SECURITY. NO BRAINS FOR DAT. TOR IF MANAGED WELL CAN BRING REVENUE TO BUILD ANO ...

• Hear it Clear 10 years ago

That's a big lie from the bottomless pit. If these investors claimed to have that kind of money to invest, why can't they build their own refineries in order to create competition in the country

• DAN 10 years ago

whats better for you? Buy house already built or Buy land(find real owners)...Get loan with Good rates(usa)...Then find good builder and wait 2-3 for finish..While this plant is suppose to be running again...so new owner can ...

• Nationalist 10 years ago

FOOLS. THIS IS A PRETEXT TO RAPE THE COUNTRY AGAIN. SELL TO THIEVES SO THAT THEY CONTROL THE OIL INDUSTRY AND PUT GHANAIANS AT THEIR MERCY. THIEVES AND FOOLS. NOT AGAIN, FOOLS.

• Kwaw Bentum 10 years ago

Ghana will survive this corrupt regime and thieves as long as we have the soldiers. We will probe them the same way they did to the rogue generals. Whether they are NPP or NDC, at the right time Ghanaians will probe them for ...

• KAYEN 10 years ago

HOW ON EARTH CAN ONE RUN A REFINERY AT A LOSS? ONLY IN GHANA. THE RATS THAT STEAL AND CHEW THE STATE OWNED RESOURCES MUST BE TRACKED DOWN FIRST. OTHER NATIONS RUN AIR LINES AND REFINERIES AND MAKE HUGE PROFITS. WHAT IS WRONG ...

• Nana 10 years ago

Alex Mould and his gangsters should start their own refinery to augment the current capacity and also bring some competition to bear. This idea of selling state properties have terrible track record.

• Pebbles Nusetor 10 years ago

Do not manage Ghana's oil, the Nigeria pathway. NO PRIVATIZATION. If you cannot manage it well for the benefit of Ghanaian's, resign honourable.

• Ben10 10 years ago

I think siting afar and talking about the sale of TOR would no be fair to the entire workforce of the company especially the technical staff but rather descend down and inquire how the company can once again be profit making ...

• Kwabena 10 years ago

Formerly, I used to think this guy was also a sensible person.

But now, I'm wiser. If it's capital injection, why not list on the stock exchange so that all Ghanaians can buy into this state asset?

I think as a damaging ...

• Kwabena 10 years ago

If all you were taken from standard chartered bank to come and do for all the fat pay and other conditions is to tell government to sell the company because you can't raise money from the capital or bonds market to manage it, ...

• Kwaw Bentum 10 years ago

Somebody in the 1977 year group should tell me Alex Mould's grades at St john's College, Sekondi, if he is the guy we knew of? Idiot. Son of a British bastard.

• Kwabena 10 years ago

He is being used.

After that he would have damaged any reputation he has left.

• Kantinka 10 years ago

It is lazy managers like Alex Mould and the like who do not believe in Ghanaians managing national assets like TOR and often ask for it to be sold.
    Poeple like this should be facing the barrel of the guns now.
    After being ...

• JAMES Y 10 years ago

TOR should not be sold. The same arguments which were put forward culminating in the wanton sales of GIHOC industries in the 80's are being used again by Alex Mould & Co. to have Tema Oil Refinery (TOR) sold to private invest ...

• Francis - London 10 years ago

The seat of government needs to be privitised rather.If our leaders cannot manage the few state assets/resources that we have, how can they rule the entire nation? The seat of the government thus needs to be privitised first.

• Igp 10 years ago

Alex Mould must be fired. He is a gambler and not up to the task. Appoint any Ghanaian worthy of his sort and TOR will produce results. What is the socalled NPA doing in Ghana? NPA and GNPC, are their funcions not overlapping ...

• Davis 10 years ago

GOD PUNISH YOU MOULD,YOU AE A MOULD IN THE THE CORN.IF YOU MAKE ATTEMPT TO SELL TOR I THINK SOMEBODY SHOULD ASSACINATE YOU AND YOUR COHORTS.
    SOME OF YOU HAVE CHEATED THE COUNTRY AND THE ACCRA PEOPLE OF THEIR LANDS.YOU ARE A ...

• JTL 10 years ago

DEAD BEING YOU WANT BUY IT HAA SALE IT TO YOURSELF MUMU

• Janet- TEMA 10 years ago

Yes, the government should privatise TOR because it can no longer support it. In the meantime why has Govermnent left TOR to run down before going private. I hear there is no money to pay salaries, no money to buy simple pa ...

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

If the government of the day cannot manage anything effectively then why are they there in the first place? What we're beholding before our eyes is not a new movie. Yes, before the dog is sent to guillotine it's first given a ...

• OSEI 10 years ago

WE SEEK FOR INVESTORS AND KEEP A MAJORITY OF THE SHARES INSTEAD OF LETTING IT GO AWAY FOR GOOD

• PAPA 10 years ago

after privatising TOR WE WIL PRIVATISE THE VAGINA OF BETTY MOULD AND THE DICK OF ALEX MOULD.IDIOTIC TALKS