You are here: HomeNews2013 05 22Article 274731

We never took inventory of pink sheets - KPMG

Read Comments Comments (120)

• PATRIOT 10 years ago

Never again should Ghanaians vote for a guinea fowl president(JOHN MAHAMA)

• ONIPANUA 10 years ago

Whether guinea fowl, turkey or goat president ghanaians voted for him to be the president of Ghana.Let the supreme court order a rerun of the presidential elections and Mahama will defeat Akuffo-Addo hands down.Ghanaians have ...

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

I AM SURE THAT AT THE END OF THE DAY SOME ONE WILL SAY KPMG IS NOT FAIR SIMPLY BECAUSE THEY DID NOT CONFIRM THEIR SUSPICION

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• Rastee 10 years ago

With all partisan issues aside, as part of auditing,a credit element is attestation; the auditor should validate all materials at his or her disposal. Are we referring to the same KPMG I work for is US?

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 10 years ago

YOU FOOL, DO YOU THINK GHANAIANS WILL SIT THERE AND LOOK A DWARF COMING TO LEAD THEM WITH HIS ARROGANCE CHARACTER IN THIS MODERN WORLD? NEVER UPON OUR DEAD BODIES. THIS EVIL DWARF WILL NEVER BE A PRESIDENT.

• Tofee 10 years ago

Hehehehe !

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

KPMG, did not take an initial inventory of the number of boxes containing pink sheets (primary electoral records) in the custody of the Supreme Court’s Registry before it started auditing the sheets.

IF I BRING U SOME MO ...

• TIMO DE LAW 10 years ago

Come on GHFUO wake your ass up the KPMG was not contracted to audit boxes and neither watchmen of the boxes containing the pink sheets they are supposed to audit the pink sheets presented by the petitioners in possesion of th ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

NDC should stop insulting the intelligence of Ghanaians and disrespecting us just because they own the foolsoldiers in the country.

Which sane Ghanaian do they think will ever believe this dirty lie ?

And they are not e ...

• KK 10 years ago

CAN'T BELIEVE THIS, HOW COME. COUNTING PINK SHEET IN A BOX BUT NEVER BOTHERED TO COUNT HOW MANY BOXES OF PINK SHEETS.
    WELL I DON'T BLAME THEM COS THEY ARE COUNTING FOR FREE.

• Otumfuo Osei Tutu II 10 years ago

Is the rep for KPMG say they did not take inventory of what was given to them before the count and he thinks that is the right thing to do? what will be their point of reference then?that is the reason someone can smuggle in ...

• Awura Ama,Dallas,Tx. 10 years ago

NDC can never bring the intergrity of this world body into disrepute.You need to look at yourselves well and see if even you are known and accepted in the world before you open your dirty mouths to talk about them.why are you ...

He is going to be the president,you and your people can leave Ghana in peace.Nana Addo is a real ,real Ghanaian he didn't borrow and he didn't plead like kpega and Anita D'Sosu who have no where to go.Nana is Akyim and Akwapi ...

• AAD 10 years ago

It is very strange that KPMG did not count the number of boxes they were supposed to audit. I think counting of the boxes should have been step one giving the magnitude of the this case and the fact that their report could be ...

• BlackHeartMan 10 years ago

The pink sheets are still in the control of the court registrar.

• Yeabr3 _Mo 10 years ago

Than the conduct of AG lawyers who claim to have 'defended' an action against another state institution,the GAF, by proceeding to agree to a whopping 'settlement' of GHc 27 million, and deem it proper not to have not to have ...

• Yamba 10 years ago

KPMG says the boxes containing the pink sheets were not counted? Free thing can be expensive in the long run

• angle man 10 years ago

As i says,these countting is going to turn another Cocaine turned to bakery powder,then the blamming game would start going round again,Cus all those kpmg guys are Ghanians themselfs,so whats new.

• ASH 10 years ago

So when you go in to audit a firm's bank account you do not count cash when the petty cash holder tells you he has certain amount of cash n him.

• wisdom 10 years ago

officer, if a customer wants you to count his money do you ask how many boxes of money you have or how much money? they are to count pink sheet not boxes in which they are their reference point is the 11,000 or so pink sheets ...

• Yeabr3 _Mo 10 years ago

And this is difficulty I have with seemingly 'enlightened' individuals who should help this country move forward. Let`s face it, how was this KPMG verification or count team "going to go by it step-by-step",if it did not firs ...

Ghanaians never rejected the honestman ,you came by fraudulent means and you are going to be ejected by lawful means.Shameful people who are disgracing Ghana in the eyes of the world.Everybody know's the sort of people Ghana ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

So Tsatsu and his idiotic supporters lied to the court when they told the Judge that the boxes were initially 24 which they all signed to it. Why did the court not ask Tsatsu to prove that there were 24 boxes counted and sign ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author:Bomber...
    Refer to my previous postings and you realise that I speak a lot for the NDC and not for the extremely corrupt NPP.However,regarding the present mass strike that has hit Ghana, the blame must be put at the d ...

• wise talk 10 years ago

Remember that auditors audit base on letter of representation. if the agreement between them and the court did not include counting of boxes, please note that, is not part of their work. they do not go to companies to count p ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Does that include Bamumia. Your silly self, whoever you are

Bawumiah never talked about Guinea fowl ,he is thinking about how Ghana can compete with the world not guinea fowls. That is the leader with vision to move Ghana forward.

• Kwame 10 years ago

How could they have forgotten this simple rule?

• PRINCE 10 years ago

good one there, KPMG is really smart, you count what you see, before some people start accusing you of bringing foreign material into the counting. once again smart move.

• Wiseman 10 years ago

Ya think? Or you're being sarcastic?

How do you wade into contentious situations this big without documenting what is given to you? You should count and record what's in your possession to forestall conflicting development ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

You're right. This is intriguing, to say the least.

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

Very strange, indeed.
    Why did they go into that room, in the first place, if they were not going to "check" what they are supposed to be working with?

In fact, if this were to happen at any other place on this earth apar ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Corrupt people are crawling everywhere in Ghana and anyone with bad intentions always has a free hand doing so. To access that room it is just a matter of money changing hands.

Now we will not know the truth. What a shame!

• Jokoto 10 years ago

KPMG has never said the boxes are in their custody. They have said it time and again that the boxes are in the custody of the Court Registrar. Period.

• wisdom 10 years ago

they are not going to keep the boxes they are just to pick a box and count what is in and return it back to the registry. they wanted to be neutral by just waiting on the registrar attendance to bring the box to the conferenc ...

• ASEM BE BA DABI 10 years ago

NDc is full of monsters and stupid people.

• Kofi Wayo 10 years ago

Nana will never and never be force on us.We will assassinate him in his first 100days.We dare Georgina Wood

Nana will be the president of 20million Ghanaians the remaining 5million plus who voted for NDC can leave and change your name. We the people of Ghana want's to move forward.

• TONY 10 years ago

P/NDCS WILL ALWAYS FOOL GHANAIANS WITH LIES AND INTIMIDATION. THIS STARTED IN 1979 WHEN THEIR SO CALLED J.J. RAWLINGS WAS IN POWER. P/NDCS HAVE RULED WITH IRON FIST, LIES AND INTIMIDATION FOR SO LONG WHICH GHANA NEEDS A LONG ...

• Kwabena, South Africa 10 years ago

Is Mr Winful serious about his responsibilities at KPMG?
    The guy must fired immediately.
    KPMG we all know is a reputable firm all over the world.
    1) How on earth he never even counted only 24 or 31 boxes?
    2) Does he want ...

• national pickpockets party 10 years ago

Kwaben I am even dissapointed I am a chatered accountant who had wanted to work with KPMG.JOE WINFUL is a big Disgrace

• jyga 10 years ago

Chartered accountant and you call yourself National Pickpockets Party? Na lie. You must be so foolish to use such a name.

• national pickpockets party 10 years ago

Joe WINFUL You should be ashamed ...You did not count the number of boxes you had to audit ? HOW THEN Do you know if some get added or subtracted ?

• EAF 10 years ago

Whether KPMG people should have counted the number of boxes is not the issue here. The fact is that THEY DID NOT COUNT the number of boxes with anybody, as wrongfully alleged by your respondent lawyers. That allegation is a c ...

• ALL LIE BE LIE 10 years ago

ARE YOU EXPECTING THAT NOT EVEN A MENTAL COUNT WAS DONE BY KPMG? THAT THEY WENT IN THERE AND DID NOT APPRAISE THE JOB AHEAD OF THEM AS TO THE SIZES AND QUANTITY OF THE BOXES etc. etc> I DO NOT WANT TO MAKE A COMMENT BUT NO TH ...

• EBBY 10 years ago

You should be conversant with the word inventory" as used by TSIKATA. This involves fformal meticulous recording of the boxes. Don't be blind by your undying loyalty to your party. Speak the truth

• Boateng 10 years ago

EBBY, so when someone turns over stuff to you for keeps, as an auditor you do not take inventory of what you have received for keeping? What would you return to the one that turned the items over to you?

Please, pleas ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

So you believe this WINFUL guy but not Tsatsu? How can you believe anything this guy submit to the Court if he did not audit the number of boxes that should take him less than 5 minutes to do? How would you trust his reco ...

• DANSO 10 years ago

This is Ghana for you all to see.What is that guy telling us? That Winful? If heis a very stupid fool,Ghanaians are not.How stupid to say such things.With such reckless excuse, it is very clear what took place between he and ...

• PADDY 10 years ago

BEWARE OF NDC RUDE-BOYS,THEY ARE LIERS, THIEVES,LOOTERS AND ROBBERS,JAV-VERS.GOD PUNISHMENT IS AWAITING.

• SHAMO BIBIOOO 10 years ago

EMPTY BARREL. I WILL NOT SPARE ANY COMMENTS ON YOU. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AGAIN. PEOPLE WILL NOTICE YOU HAVE A PROBLEM.

• Truthful Kofi 10 years ago

LIARS not LIERS...JIVERS not JAV-VERS

Every thief is a lier , propagandist and rude.Onyame ahu won ooooooooooooooo

• EAF 10 years ago

Don't you all agree that there is something mentally wrong with these respondent lawyers? I certainly believe so, or is a case of a drowning person struggling to hold on to any straw on sight.

• seth danso 10 years ago

xyz your headline is deceitful. you make it look like KPMG is speaking and not you conjecturing. lets all help our country chart a good course

• TRUTH PREFECT 10 years ago

SO WINFULM OF KPMG SAYS "
    “We all went into the room on Thursday, initially to take a look at how the storage was like, AND ALSO " that it was not part of their mandate to take an inventory of the boxes of pink sheets." HO ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

You would have thought that the first thing an auditor would do is to count, place a company seal to prevent tampering and opening of the boxes and sign across the seal on the boxes his firm has been charged with. But this Mr ...

• YeYe Boy 10 years ago

IF YOU PAY PEANUTS YOU GET MONKEYS.

WHAT DO WE EXPECT IF WE WANT THEM TO DO THE JOB FREE, I AM CHARTERED ACCOUNTANT I DON'T WORK FOR FREE

• Boateng 10 years ago

Disrespect for Ghana. Someone was asking them to do this task for free! That is what you get for free. The man has not taken Ghana serious and does not see the gravity of the issue at hand.

I am mad as hell for the m ...

• Truthman 10 years ago

it is highly unprofessional for you to say what you have said. as a reputable accounting firm the basics of every auditing is the inventory of the audit first .how did you start the counting without knowing the items number o ...

• KOFI 10 years ago

I think the KPMG officials should have counted the boxes but they did not so how could Tsatsu come to court and lied to the Judges that they and KPMG officials counted the boxes? Was he not lying when he said all the Represen ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Today will be my last day to comment on the petition.It's just another foolish case.Thank you.

• COOL 10 years ago

BLIND BOY KOFI,FEELS THE HEAT.DON,T RUN.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

If you can tell me on what basis lawyer Addison and Ms Gloria Akkufo got their overages;I will continue. Otherwise the whole petition is a fiasco.I need not waste my time.Thank you.

• YOUNG LOVE 10 years ago

So who in Ghana at all will trust Mahama and his cohort the NDC team C?

• Justan 10 years ago

KPMG IS EVEN DISQUALIFIED FROM THE WORD GO. THEY HAVE BLOWN AWAY THEIR REPUTATION IN JUST A SECOND.IF YOU CANNOT COUNT 24 OR 31, HOW CAN YOU COUNT 11,842 CORRECTLY?

• Earl Jones 10 years ago

those who have been given the absolute trust to audit the pink sheet did not even perform an inventory of the number of pinksheet they received. That certainly is an alarm bell sounding as to wheterh they have the compentenci ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Let us hear what the other audting companies have to say about this. I would be on the airwaves seconds after hearing this guy if I had an audting company operating in Ghana.

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

KPGM have shown they are an unfit outfit even for goat counters. Is anyone from KPGM willing to tell the world that they are competent to be an auditing firm if they would receive materials from any client without taking inve ...

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

I am gradually seeing the Ghanaian "competence".

We keep asking why Ghana was comparable to Singapore etc, and why the Western world helped the Asian Countries to develop, but neglected Ghana.

Maybe we should first le ...

• Honesty-the best policy! 10 years ago

Either the Winful man is stupid or a hard faced liar. At the bottom however is that he is incompetent and unreliable. How come such an element found himself in asenior position? How? How did it happen? It reminds me of anothe ...

• Nana Akyea Mensah, The Odikro. 10 years ago

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO
    a companion of the black star!

Shakespeare once wrote in Macbeth: "There is no art to find the construction of the mind from the face"! Apart from your own mind, you cannot tell what is in someone els ...

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

Maybe you're right, and I had the brains you mention here. Fact is, though, that I clearly notice where Ghanaian shortcomings are. Another fact is that you are still at the stage where insulting others make you feel superior. ...

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO

What makes you think you "clearly notice where Ghanaian shortcomings are"? Is it because instead of blaming KPMG you prefer to insult the entire nation?

Why not exami ...

• Vuvuzwla 10 years ago

I find it hard to believe you'd take to insults this way. Where's civility in all this?

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO

Hi Vuvuzwla,

Good day!
    The civility here is that it is better to call a spade a spade. You cannot pay a bill in dollars and expect a change in cedis. The guy has bee ...

• Teacher 10 years ago

Idiot, but I paid for some goods in dollars at Frankfurt International Airport and got my change in Euro, you morom.

Yes you can pay for your hotel bills in dollars and take cedis in exchange back if you so wish but I don ...

Nana Akyea do you have time for these confused trokosis?you see he just changed his name. ,they are damn confused from kpega, their lawyers to fool soldiers.

• Prof 10 years ago

Why don't you guys read what the auditor said?
    They went there not to commence the audit but on appraisal venture to see what sort of boxes there are and how they are being kept !! obviously, they will take an inventory once ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

My friend, do not be ablivious of the fact that they have already taken poccession of the boxes, when are they going to do the inventory? After the delivery guy has left? Only a fool will take delivery of boxes and start ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

You're still wrong! If they're right then why should they be there at all if it was to take a glance and split?

Being there meant they had already undertaken to work on the counting. That should have induced them to take ...

• SACRAGI-NYAMAA 10 years ago

WINFUL was totally wrong.once he entered that room any auditor of good standing would have taken inventory with the party reps, note the quantity of boxes and do the same on the day the actual counting starts.that is what we ...

• Boateng. 10 years ago

At about age 9 I started selling Kenkey. There was not a single time I did not count the kenkey balls turned over to me to take to the market place. First my Mother would count them and then she will count them with me an ...

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

This explanation or excuse is fishy.
    How do you accept to count something and you just start to count without knowing the quantity of boxes? This explanation is not good enough. is this the so-called professional accounting ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Even if the directive of the judge is "very clear" as he maintains, one didn't have to tell them to count boxes in they're acting as professional parties, and we suppose they ought to have been intelligent.

• YAW BUADU, CAPE COAST 10 years ago

THE AUDIT FIRM IS NOT CREDIBLE IF THEY FAILED TO PROPERLY INSPECT AND TAKE INVENTORY OF THE BOXES. IT IS PRINCIPLE IN THE CIRCUMSTANCE IN WHICH HE WAS GIVEN THE JOB. I AM SURPRISED THE AUDITOR CLAIMS HE DID NOT.

• Opanin 10 years ago

This is sloppy.

• FAkUM 10 years ago

How can you start work on the pink without first counting it.

• FAkUM 10 years ago

NO wonder they didn't even count the boxes

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

KPMG was given instructions to count pink sheets. They were never told to count boxes. All they had to do was to make sure where the boxes are kept while the items were in the costudy of the SC registrar on that fateful Thurs ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Do you not realize who will be hurt the most if this case is dismissed based on this slopiness? It can happen. The numbers will be needed by the Judges to rule.

Remember the Judges will rule on wheather any irregula ...

• NELSON 10 years ago

My finding about this is simple. Thus it mean there are 7 more boxes of pink sheets that have irregularities? If it is you can only defend your client if you are the counsel for respondent but not tell them its more than to d ...

• Anah 10 years ago

What a primitive country Ghana is. Will it ever develop ?

• DRAMANI MAHAMA 10 years ago

GHANAIANS PLEASE FOR ONCE WAKEUP JUST STOP DISGRASING YOURSEVES.....THIS DRAMANI MAHAMA YOUR SO CALLED PRESIDENT,AFARI GYAN,AND THE SUPRIME COURT JUDGES ARE JUST WASTING YOUR MONEY RIGHT B4 YOUR STUPID EYES,....STOP THE STUPI ...

• KWESI 10 years ago

TRAVEL AND WORK IN AUSTRALIA.GET A WORK PERMIT AND ACCOMMODATION.
    THERE ARE ALSO PROGRAMS FOR USA,SCHENGEN,UK AND SOUTH AFRICA.
    CALL WILLIE ON 0249318847 FOR FURTHER INFO.
    THANKS

• DRAMANI MAHAMA 10 years ago

WHO APPOINTED THE KPMG TO COUNT THESE PINK SHEETS.....YOU SE THE SUPRIME COURT JUDGES YOU STUPID IDIOTS GHANAIANS ARE HAILING AS THE ONLY SOURCE TO SETTLE THIS THIEFERY BY AFARI GYAN AND DRAMANI MAHAMA

• chicago boy 10 years ago

How can you start counting without even knowing how many packages of boxes you are counting?? How can such a reputable company leave their trust to the state registrar when you have been called in to be independent? Why don't ...

• Osei Kweku 10 years ago

That is what you get if you want everything free. What does KPMG understand by control mechanism? It is to prevent exactly the situation they are confronted with. They should be sacked period

• ALI 10 years ago

Even a JSS student would know that if I am suppossed to count what are in boxes, first I am going to check the number of boxes I have in custody. Very disappointing for such a reputable firm

• Boateng 10 years ago

Now their reputation is in the pits! What is their reputaion? It can be bad reputation or good reputation, it now stinks.

• ZONGO BOY 10 years ago

WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY.

• John Kpeglo 10 years ago

You mean you started working on materials without knowing the NUMBER involved? How will you notice any addition or substraction if there is any? Poor work by an INTERNATIONAL organisation KPMG! Poor you!

• seeMe 10 years ago

If KPMG really said that the did not take inventory of the boxes what kind of accounting and auditing firm are they? UNRELIABLE, UNRELIABLE or simply dubious!!!

• nana yaw 10 years ago

QUESTION?CAN THE NPP EVER MAKE BAWUMIA THEIR FLAG BEARER,THE ANSWER IS NO AND WOULD THE NPP ALSO COULD HAVE MAKE THE LATE ALHAJI ALIU MAHAMA THEIR FLAG BEARER AND THE ANSWER IS ALSO NO SO IF MAHAMA IS A GUINE FOWL PRESIDENT S ...

• ASH 10 years ago

I wonder why this could happen in this era of technology. As soon as this is recorded and saved in the system, no one can temper with it. This people are far behind. Wake up from your long slumber.

• Akua, ignorance 10 years ago

At least the president eats guinea fowl and not [chimpanzee] selfish idiot

• eOBSERVER 10 years ago

ARE THESE AUDITORS FOR REAL? WHAT DO YOU DO FIRST WHEN YOU WANT TO AUDIT OR VERIFY AN ACCOUNT. BANK BALANCES DONT MATTER ANYMORE, IS IT? NO CUSTODY, NO INVENTRY, NOT EVEN SIGHTING YET INITIALLYTHERE WAS AN ATTEMPT TO CHARGE F ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

It can never be true what KPMG is saying,they had a check list from the court.According to Nana Addo's lawyer,Ms Gloria Akkufo with different categories.A check list is also an inventory,they better stop kidding us.Thank you.

• A concerned citizen 10 years ago

Tsatsu Tsikata is playing games of mary-go-round music of which every body in the court including the judges are all dancing to that tune. Tsatsu has resorted in manufacturing stories of blame game to create confusion and all ...

• Ananga J 10 years ago

That was a very lame and strange one coming from the senior partner. I am told to count items which are in boxes and I just go straight to count what is inside without first counting the boxes? The first thing I would do is t ...

• HONESTY 10 years ago

I am totally surprised that KPMG is saying they did not do a simple control check by counting the number of boxes in the room prior to commencement of count. This is the shoddy work they have been doing for their Ghanaian cli ...

• km agyin 10 years ago

Common sense dictates that when you are entrusted with some valuables, you record what and how many of each item have been given you. This is a costly omission as it is going to prolong this court saga and the tax payer is go ...

• Jako 10 years ago

It is disgraceful for KPMG to not take inventory of boxes. How on earth can a reputable audit firm tasked to audit some items not take inventory of the items before audit? I cannot believe this? If you are to take inventory i ...

• Jack 10 years ago

The KPMG guy should know that he has disgraced the firm by his comments. You have a mandate to count items in a box and if you do not take inventory of the boxes you have first failed your task. His defence that their mandate ...

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 10 years ago

How would an acclaimed credible auditing firm KPMG commit such a blander and be happy to sell it out on the airwaves? Are they really an auditing firm, and do they understand the assignment given them as well as its importanc ...

• NAA4U 10 years ago

IF KPMG IS TELLING THE WHOLE GHANAIANS THAT THEY DID NOT TAKE INVENTORY OF THE BOXES, IT IS THE BIGGEST JOKE OF THE YEAR. HOW COULD AN AUDIT FIRM TAKE DELIVERY OF ITEMS WITHOUT KNOWING THE QUANTUM?

THE CONNOTATION OF JOE W ...

• KOKLODOKA 10 years ago

THAT OFFICE SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN IMMEDIATELY.WHO SHOULD ADVISE THE FIGHTING PARTIES IN CASE THEY EVEN FORGET BECUASE THEY ARE FIGHTING SO THAT PEACE SHOULD PREVAIL. YOU ARE RATHER ESCALATING THE FIGHT. THE JUDGES ARE WORSE. ...

• Objective Thinker 10 years ago

I would have thought with a court case of such magnitude, gravity and unparalleled national interest, where NUMBERS is the subject matter,KPMG would first and foremost count the boxes and even go ahead and label them with th ...