You are here: HomeNews2013 05 17Article 274276

COMMENT: What will happen when the Supreme Court makes its decision?

Read Comments Comments (72)

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

"If the court rules that Nana Addo and the NPP in fact lost the election, will NPP activists accept it?"

What did you see appealing in the NPP petition?

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

I DISAGREE WITH THE WRTER GENERALLY EXCEPT THIS; Second, we must commit to a reform in our court system, via constitutional or legislative means that will ensure that if such a dispute were to arise in the future, it would be ...

• woyome, ablakwa firing sqauad 10 years ago

tsatsu tsikata back to jail to complete his term. all the dogs will have their day.

• Ellen 10 years ago

You are kidding you will rather be jailed just wait and see we serve a Mighty God

• Supprise 10 years ago

Assuming this election will be re-run, who will be the referee? will the Electoral Commission be fare since they are the controversial body in this matter? I think the NPP should just withdraw their case just for the Country ...

• Ellen 10 years ago

What is written is written

• nana addo 10 years ago

All npp loss be loss

• Michael 10 years ago

A very level headed commentary thank you Uncle Ken

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

You suggested that there should be improvement in the judicial system to ensure that future presidential petitions are disposed of before inauguration. Unfortunately, the answer lies with the Constitution. It is not the judic ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Losers should learn how to concede elections. Some of the charges of over voting has been one or two votes here and there which could not have decided the outcome of the election in the petitioners favor. There is nothing lik ...

• Joy 10 years ago

Repugnant, I agree with you. The Supreme Court should have ruled by now, in fact long time ago, as demonstrated in the case of Gore Vs Bush, or as Kenya'a Supreme Court did. This grandstanding by our Justices and all the dela ...

• Akua Dansua 10 years ago

I salute you for your articulate and well informed position. Kudos!!!!

• Kwadwo A 10 years ago

The constitution does not give the SC the power to change who ever is voted the president and declared by the Electoral Commissioner. They can only request a rerun or uphold the Electoral Commissioner's pronouncement. The Ele ...

• James 10 years ago

Can we ever come together?.Is all greed!! greed !!! and nothing else.We are in a real difficult situation.Ghana is bigger than NDC and NPP.

• TKN 10 years ago

Needless to think of coming together because it won't work and I hope we will divide the country so that each tribe can form it country and speak one language just like in europe. Those who can't form a country will then join ...

• Thomas bello,holland 10 years ago

NO MATTER HOW THE VERDICT OF SUPREME COURT WILL HURT,IT SHOULD BE ACCEPTED AND EMBRACED BY ALL AND SUNDRY.NO SINGLE SOUL SHOULD BE REGARDED AS UNTOUCHABLE IN OUR DEAR COUNTRY.THE PRESDIDENT AND HIS ENTOURAGE SHOULD ACCEPT THE ...

• Joe ballack UK 10 years ago

Mahama must get ready to handover to nana addo peacefully,he Mahama knows the election was rigged in his favor

• Dandor 10 years ago

WHERE IS IT IMPRINTED IN GHANA THAT AKUFFO ADDO HAS WON THE DEC 7 ELECTION? WERE THEY NOT THE VERY PEOPLE WHO CLAIMED THAT THE ELECTION WAS IN THEIR FAVOUR? WHY ARE THEY NOW IN COURT SEEKING THE COURT TO OVERTURN THEY VERDICT ...

• ONUA 10 years ago

Your name should have been 'DUMMY' and not Dandur.

• Dandor 10 years ago

stupid, idiot, foolish onua. do you have head to reason and comprehend, and read meanings into issues far be4 they come to materailised in physical realm? look sharp and widen your scope of reasoning.

• Ellen 10 years ago

You are joking wait for the second shock over our dead bodies back home

• CAPE-COAST BOY 10 years ago

I THINK THE TRUTH FROM THE SUPREME COURT WILL MAKE THE DIFFERENCE.THE DECISION SHOULD BE THE TRUTH

• KWEKU TWENEBOA 10 years ago

After avidly following the proceedings at the SC, i have become more than convinced that what will bring chaos in Ghana is if their lordships declare Nana Addo as president. That surely will amount to a monumental injustice w ...

• Ellen 10 years ago

They will never, never and never

• Michael biko 10 years ago

A great piece written br a great person,

• Kwaku Gbloenawo 10 years ago

I agree with your drive for national cohesion but you belong to a party of ideology and I believe the first point of disunity was when NPP decided to dispute the results. NPP could have listed the irregularities and gone thro ...

• noname 10 years ago

This is not about the NPP and the NDC. I want my vote to count. How can I(not NPP or NDC) be sure that MY VOTE mattered. If this is allowed then we should FORGET ABOUT VOTING ALTOGER AND LET THE EC DECIDE WHO SHOULD BE PRESID ...

• ALI 10 years ago

If Nana is awarded the Presidency, how does he get his ministers and agenda approved by a NDC controlled parliament?
    The NDC could vote down all his requests as the NPP does not control parliament. He will be an impotent Pre ...

• Kwaku Gbloenawo 10 years ago

Nana Addo does not care. He just wants to be President at any cost. Interestingly God has not blessed him to be so he will never be. He may even die before his coronation if man (SC) wants to work against the will of God.

• DKB 10 years ago

So you Kwaku Gbloenawo knows the will of God? You a mere mortal know who God intends to bless or has blessed. It is funny how people twist and use religion to push their selfish agenda. Be there and continue predicting who wi ...

• ONUA 10 years ago

You are right, so mark this space and come back to me in an appropriate time, that the Judges will rule that the very integrity of our electoral system was compromised therefore a total re-run [including parliamentary] is war ...

• Honesty-the best policy! 10 years ago

A level headed comment. However, you are in the wrong party. That is why you are now being sidelined.

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

It has been the objective of Danquah/Busia idiots to divide Ghana along tribal lines since Gold Coast. Infact Danquah expended all his energies to achieve this, but he failed. Either way, the supreme court decision will ruffl ...

• tilayo 10 years ago

This article shows that we can live as Ghanaians first before NPP or NDC

• Kwame 10 years ago

ARthur K, w'aben. Good and healthy ideas.

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

The EC is obligated to run a free and fair election not a perfect election. For every election in the UK I am sent voting cards for my family and the previous residents from whom we bought our house. The way has been open for ...

• Amma 10 years ago

The UK system that you describe there is not entirely true. Postal voting is a recent phenomenon and only a tiny percent of the population avail themselves to it anyway. You could be sent ballots for previous occupants in on ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

Provide your address and I will send you the voters registration cards. There are Ghanaians who have left the UK but still retain ownership and rent out their council flats and have voters registration cards mailed to them. N ...

• Amma 10 years ago

Ghanaians retaining council flats when they have left the country and renting it out? Ghanaians is the operative word! The typical Brit is enlightened and honest whereas your typical Ghanaian is unenlightened and dishonest. I ...

• Kwesi Minta 10 years ago

Amma, don't pretend that the UK is a perfect democracy where no fraud takes place. There is benefit fraud with people using several aliases at the same address. They may not vote but the system can be open to abuse. Just as t ...

• Ellen 10 years ago

Wise Citizen amen and amen

• Joseph 10 years ago

Your article is good. But if it is for peace and the good of the country then ask the NPP to stop this case and allow the country to move forward. I do not see any end to this case. The NDC will surely appeal if the case does ...

• Nana Butubutu Kantanka 10 years ago

Ghana was once upon a time the most peaceful and united noble independent country in the entire Africa continent.

Thanks to Rawlings and his divisive tribalist fake revolutionaries including the Kofi Awoonors, Kojo and Ts ...

• Grande gueule 10 years ago

You Kenedy man who pretends not to be partisan what are you up to with your silly insinuation?, better stop your day dreaming and find other means of expressing your fustrations.You are a clown.Ghana does not belong to you- O ...

• ASSET RECOVERY NEXT 10 years ago

What will happen is just simple. Afari-djan and mahama straight to jail. Okodjeto ablakwa, woyome, firing squad. cletus avoka, jail. then we will strip the rest of any property they acquired. Mills' skeleton will be dug out a ...

• Ellen 10 years ago

Aimless and passive person

• Analyst 10 years ago

All the so called watertight evidence has now been out for all of us to see. What is being called "overvoting" is actually clerical errors that occurred in recording the election results.These clerical errors which occurred a ...

• Tete 10 years ago

The SC will rule in favour of the NDC. No two ways about it. Akyeam mafias are playing tricks to destroy our dear NPP party. I am really surprise elders in the party are not concern. the effect of the destruction as at now ...

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

I share Arthur Kennedy's concerns about 'the day fater' the supreme court verdict and to be fair to him, he has been asking this question for some time. I agree with him that both the president and the leader of the oppsition ...

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Sorry I misquoted President Obama's electoral college votes. They were in the region of 337, NOT 237 as reported in my comments. My sincere apologies.

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Your assessment is on point, however an electoral college in a corrupt banana republic like ours, will be a gargantuan disaster. Hope you also factored in the cost of an electoral college contest.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Three nurses go into the morgue, and there's a dead man's body lying there, with an erection.The first nurse sees it, and says "I'm gagging for it", gets atop the man and has her way with it.The second nurse says "Aye, so am ...

• John Kpeglo 10 years ago

We will abide by the ruling but any miscret who raises his or her voice will be crashed in the next second!

• Bishop 10 years ago

Well Spoken Ken!....only God can intervene now....it is very heartbreaking seeing the extent of divisions to which politics has brougth to Ghanaians...even on this medium...how guys insult each other in de name of politics. I ...

• Barima Yaw 10 years ago

true

• Kwaku Boateng 10 years ago

Arthur K, see the picture posted and understand that the picture speaks for its self. You might try hard to hide your real intention but your subconscience will always give you out. The elders say charity begins at home so it ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

The widow takes a look at her dear departed one right before the funeral and,
    to her horror, finds that he's in his brown suit. She'd specifically said to
    the undertaker that she wanted him buried in his Pink suit; she'd b ...

• Kofi Agyeman 10 years ago

Yes you might be right in pointing all these possible faults in our electoral system. Ofcourse there is no human institution immuned to transformation or change except that which is dead and is apparently non existent. Howeve ...

• PLUMBER 10 years ago

The NPP has already shown they cannot trust their polling agents, how can they trust them if the decision goes against them to behave well? LMVC are still all over trying to incite people against Government and the SC. it all ...

• Ellen 10 years ago

Time will tell Our Sovereign God will continue to take care of us

• Prof 10 years ago

Kobina, this is very well written, but then those of us who are of less erudite persuasion are bound to think otherwise.

• ASEM BEBA DAbi 10 years ago

the wisest man on tne 'net'.this is the voice of a true Ghanaisn.God bless you,God bless Ghana for such a person

• Kwaku Manu, Nungua 10 years ago

NPP did not trust the EC, the AU, ECOWAS, EU, US, Peace Council, Joy FM and many other newspapers. Can they now trust the Supreme Court?

• obibaba kwadwo 10 years ago

nothing will happen only there should be a fair judgement because the whole country is corrupt.i think the nation need a second real revolution to end corruption. not let the blood flow type of revolution. a sensible bloodles ...

• shallom 10 years ago

Well said,Arthur Kennedy,very well said if we really want to move forward.

• nana addo 10 years ago

Idiot article

• MENSAH 10 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU FOR YOUR WISDOM AND DISCERNMENT.
    GHANA NEEDS SUCH PEOPLE ON THIS WEB.

• Stoway 10 years ago

The writer in his 5th paragraph showed he is being partisan. He said "that gave us victory in 2000. Later in the write up he tries to hide that .
    What would his NPP do if they lose? They know they had no caseveven beforecgoi ...

• Banabas ewereko 10 years ago

Its all said n dan

• Lovelace 10 years ago

There will be no violence today or tommorow let us remain united the lord will make his own judgement.

• cheap backlinks 9 years ago

LPvGN5 Im obliged for the article post.Really thank you! Cool.

• matzcrorkz 9 years ago

TejNIp Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic article post.Really thank you! Cool.