You are here: HomeNews2013 05 02Article 272741

Comment: Supreme Court shows its timidity in Mornah case

Read Comments Comments (72)

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

THE BEST JUSTICES WERE BUSY PRESIDING OVER THE PETITION SO THE SURPLUS JUSTICES ARE THE ONES WHO HANDED THE JUDICIARY BACK INTO THE HANDS OF A GREEDY PRESIDENT

• Kakraba Cromwell 11 years ago

When supreme court judges are talking then Gabby to wants to open his mouth. Chiaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!
    Who is he?

• DERY GBAALE 11 years ago

This idiot of Gabby Otchere is self-seeking. His goatee beard has covered all his reason and he does not talk sense. He should look dispassionately at the reasons of the SC for adjudicating in favour of Bernard Mornah before ...

• Kwame 11 years ago

I now fully understand why why Gabby failed his exams and had to be pushed through by his cousin via a lecturer who does not lecture in the subject in which he failed.
    Gabby cannot simply understand that that THE CONSTITUTIO ...

• AGYAAKU 11 years ago

And how long is Gabby going to allow himself and by extension NPP to be misled by HKP and Kwaku Azaa? I will be be surprised if Gabby, any time from now, decides to go to court mainly on the opinion of Azaa and HKP.

I thou ...

• AB 11 years ago

Oh so you did not know how he managed to sail through the law school? through a little window someone managed to clandestinely open for him. Naniama like that.

• Kojo 11 years ago

What is presented is a very biased partisan view of the law and the supreme court decision. The rules of court committee is headed by the CJ. How can jusged make law by and for themselves? The jusges who ruled should rahter b ...

• Kojo 11 years ago

Sorry for the wrong spelling of 'judges' and 'rather'

• Eric 11 years ago

If two pieces of law contradict each other, there are specific rules for deciding which prevails. The judges were right. Gabby ought to go back to school and devote time to study in humility.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

Gabby, you appear to be very angry about this ruling and it come across your article. Unlike you, I am not a lawyer let alone constitutional law but that does not mean that I am completely naive on such matters. One thing I k ...

• wasclean 11 years ago

Nonsense. What did Garby say wrong?

• Kwaku 11 years ago

They just don't have the mental capacity to understand what Gabby is saying,so the best they could offer is to insult him.If Gabby had said Rawlings is Jesus' brother then may be they would agree.

• Osei 11 years ago

Talking like an illiterate. If the case goes against you, then it is bad..

• Osei 11 years ago

Another fool

• Kofi 11 years ago

I don't know who Gabby is but I think he has a point here. Take time and read the write-up carefully.

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

A priest was driving along and saw a nun on the side of the road. He stopped and offered her a lift which she accepted. She got in and crossed her legs, forcing her gown to open and reveal a lovely leg. The priest had a look ...

• Pakus 11 years ago

Signs are written on the wall that NPP will lose the SC Election Pettition; that is Gabby's greatest worry.

• NOKWARE ASA 11 years ago

I am outraged at the postures being taken by Gabby in recent times. How on earth can he expect the Supreme Court to allow such obvious uncosntitutionality of CI 74 to go on. Is it that his folks were so sure of winning the in ...

• Mama Tula 11 years ago

Not surprising, Executive Director of Danquah Institute !! SWhat else has he got to say other than to oppose the judgement ???

• Charles A. 11 years ago

Gabby thought his uncle Nana Addo was going to win the elections so he announced his retirement from party politics.

Immediately Nana Addo lost the elections, Gabby called-off his retirement to once again lead the NPP's so ...

• BOMBER 11 years ago

I guess he also has his certificate missing. Why schew the issue to suit your interest? Does Gabby think he is writing for his bush boboons to read or what? In 2008, NPP lost the election and quickly conived with the Chief Ju ...

• NOKWARE ASA AMPA 11 years ago

Aung San Suu Kyi calling for the judiciary, as an institution, to be “strengthened and released from political interference has nothing to do with the present Ghanaian case. Truly "nokware asa ampa"! You mean there's no sen ...

• IRON ASS 11 years ago

PLEASE YOU ARE A CITIZEN OF GHANA, YOU CAN ALSO GO TO COURT TO CHALLENGE THE RULING!!! SO SHUT THE FUCK UP!!!

• OKRO 11 years ago

ghana for you, lawlessness in supreme court?

• OKRO 11 years ago

supreme court rules against law?

• Sofo 11 years ago

We shall see.

• Akufoooooooooooool Addue 11 years ago

Gabby is speaking like a layman. I am sure he is one of the numerous certificateless NPP lawyers. Even laymen in law who have common sense know that the judgement is superb.

• Baba 11 years ago

Gabby has a law certificate, after several failed attempt,his wife tutored him and he manage to scrap through. Initially, efforts were made to led him through without passing-check the Justice Akamba committee report.

• BISHOP 11 years ago

Yes, the usual stupid law certifate buyer once again demonstrating his lunacy.Just look at his face! I wonder what these thieves and drug traffickers take Ghana for.People with questionable characters! People without intergri ...

• e odoi 11 years ago

you must be civil. this smacks of lack of good home.bishops will never speak like this.you are a BIG DISGRACE to your ancestors and your party. STEALERS OLE BRUKU.

• BOMBER 11 years ago

I really wonder what these idiots take us for. They have forgotten that the privilege positions they assumed working for the whiteman during the colonial era is far gone. Ugly ones who saw the whiteman as GOD and for that mat ...

• Plumber 11 years ago

Gabby I know your agenda for coming to power was based on the finality of the SC decision in your favour.( Read your first posting on the petition) based solely on the assurance of the NPP packed panel. Now that back door has ...

• Plumber 11 years ago

"What is good for the geeze is equally good for the gander. What one President can do another ...."

• Kalira 11 years ago

Get serious

• Dodoo 11 years ago

The Tuesday 31st April that you made mention does not exist. what date are you talking about?

• Nii Ansah 11 years ago

if it favors NPP it is good it is not then it is bad!

• SANE 11 years ago

Sorry Gabby, April ends on 30th and not 31st. So even common dates you cannot qoute rightly and yet you want to question the judgement of the highest court in Ghana, how do we take you serious. Or is this another small error ...

• BOMBER 11 years ago

What the highest court of the land did on Tuesday, 31st April, was to submit, without a fight, to a legislative invasion of its space.
    Can't even get dates correct. We all know April has 30days and the Tuesday he refered to ...

• ASHKENAZI 11 years ago

HAS HE EVER BEEN TO COURT TO PRESENT A CASE LET ALONE SIT ON ONE AS A JUDGE?

• npp nima 11 years ago

Everybody in Ghana is aware that Gabby failed. He thus does not know the law just as his uncle Nana Addo. He should stop misbehaving

• CONRAD 11 years ago

PLEASE GABBY, WE DON'T HAVE 31ST APRIL SO PLEASE CHECK THE CALENDAR. FOR DATES IF YOU ARE NOT SURE.

• Sammy 11 years ago

Nothing of that sort happened on the 31st April because there is no 31st April on the Calendar

• SAM 11 years ago

Dr. pink Sheet is changing the serial numbers on the Pink Sheet like he did to the redenominated currency.

• John Kpeglo 11 years ago

The issue is: Is the CIs contrary to the Constitution of the Land or they are not? This is simple in my lay man´s view! And you are a Lawyer, called to the BAR! No doubt you do not even know that April has 30 days:

"What ...

• nene 11 years ago

foooooooooooooooolish gabby

• JOE 11 years ago

A lawyer who doesn"t know April is 30 days & not 31 days.This Akyem mafia think they can use the CJ to turn the judiciary into their personal courts that wont obey or respect the constitution. This Gabby man & his cohorts un ...

• Stone 11 years ago

CI 75 is the next to be contested,by the ruling of CI 74,no inferior legislation shall supersede the 1992 constitution.

• Lukman 11 years ago

Gabby, let the Supereme Court say they need to sit on Public Holiday, in which case they know what to do; request the President to give clearance. Let the President refuse such request then you can analyze the implication of ...

• Obed Adore 11 years ago

I agree

• Ben 11 years ago

Gabby for your information April has 30 days.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago

Okyere-Darko never makes sense.

• Kofi 11 years ago

...to you!

• BIGGER 11 years ago

Displaying ignorance in public.ohhh Gabby

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

It is no secret that Ben Mornah was pushed by Mahama's agents to go to court because of the election petition in SC BUT I am very positive that this will not yield Mahama anything. It is written all over by their behavior tha ...

• Obed Adore 11 years ago

Wow! So the president can issues an Executive Instrument permitting the SC to sit on cases on public holiday.... But, has no power to ask the electoral commissioner to ensure that every voter is allowed to vote in the case t ...

• G. K. Berko 11 years ago

Is this an attempt to show how knowledgeable he is as some Legal luminary? Or, he is simply offering a true legal challenge to our Supreme Court, the same Court he is counting on to deliver the Presidency to his Uncle, Akuff ...

• G. K. Berko 11 years ago

I meant to say:
    1). ....System not Sustem.
    2). ...have to BE emulated in ours.

• ANU 11 years ago

thank you very much my good so concerned citizen of the land of gold, Ghana. First of all kindly check and amend what you have put under LEGISLATIVE INVASION "Tuesday, 31st April" The months April only ends 30th and not 31s ...

• ANU 11 years ago

thank you very much my good so concerned citizen of the land of gold, Ghana. First of all kindly check and amend what you have put under LEGISLATIVE INVASION "Tuesday, 31st April" The months April only ends 30th and not 31st ...

• chief amankwa 11 years ago

i concur the freedom of the judiciary must be protected at all times

• Osei 11 years ago

Gabby cannot win any case in Ghana. All he knows is loose talk

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Osei I suspect you are among those NDC followers who believe and understand stories like,Rawlings is the junior brother of Jesus Christ and Atta Mills is in heaven.Your brain is dead,that is why you don't understand anything.

• KWAME 11 years ago

If this writer thinks he knows the law better, he can call for review of the ruling on Bernard Mornah's case by the Supreme Court. Speaking good english is not tantamount to good reason and wisdom.

• KOO PONG 11 years ago

I believe Gabbage Darko is a lawyer, though after suffering some hickups at the Law School.Lawyer Godfred Yeboah Dame,to prove that he is a lawyer of salt, at least, made appearance as an amicus curia, what about you Gabbage? ...

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

When the root of a party is enacted from a dictatorship so it handles matters. NDC wants to have power to control, interfere and suppress everything and everybody even the Judicial.

It cannot hold. Things shall be norm ...

• Respect 11 years ago

Ochere you can go to hell. Kwasia kwa!

• Asem Bebe Dabi 11 years ago

The pertinent question here is why did Parliament did lazy legislating? Nothing that is inconsistent with the Constitution must exist. Is Act 601 inconsistent with the Constitution? If not anything inconsistent with Act 601 i ...

• Abalo 11 years ago

when the wise and knowledgeable fail to talk (or read)fools, the ignorant and former law school strugglers would take center stage

• Whatever 11 years ago

What is constitutional space? If the rule of court disrespects the independence of the people of Ghana then the people of Ghana have no choice than to vehemently condemn it and whoever authored it. If push comes to shove woul ...

• DOG-TER BAWUMIA 11 years ago

Kwasea like that.

• MENSAH 11 years ago

So when will NPP people stop insulting our Supreme court judges?

• crorkz 9 years ago

O3mPTb Looking forward to reading more. Great article.Really looking forward to read more. Really Cool.