You are here: HomeNews2013 04 25Article 272180

Assure us of payment and we will call off strike - GMA tells gov't

Read Comments Comments (59)

• Tibaa 11 years ago

Nonsense: Assure the patients that they will not die even if they are not attended to. Our Doctors are being selfish and petty to hold dying patients at ransom for pecuniary advantages.

• Baka 11 years ago

Why nonsense?should they forgo their money?

• FELA O FELA: NPP BONESHAKER LA 11 years ago

They are ashamed of themselves so they want to tuck their tails now.... Is the GMA saying that for their negotiations since way back when, there was never a written commitment from government?

As I've written earlier....

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Are the MPs and political appointees ashamed for the ESBs and doubling their salaries?

• SHAMO 11 years ago

WHEN FOOLS RULE, ALAYS THINGS LIKE THIS HAPPEND! LET TROKOSIS AND KONTOKOLIS SUFFER THE PAIN FOR VOTING FOR DOGS

• TerrblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

OVER VOTING NONSENSE. A PACK OF DISGRUNTLED NPP SO-CALLED INTELLECTUALS DISGRACING THEMSELVES ON BY FORCE LIVE BROADCAST IN COURT.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

ask anyone from outside the shores of our land and they would readily tell you that NPP is populated by sensible, civil, and patriotic people. Can you say the same about NDC people? Go inflict injuries on yourself

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago

"There is no meat anymore on the bone"!

That was what John Mahama(first president of Ghana with 24 children from 13 women )shamelessly told Ghanaians during his state of the nation address.

What he was afraid as a cowa ...

• SKILLO 11 years ago

Pay them. This is just silly. Our govt spends more money on stupid things.

They are worth more than that. Other countries are waiting to snatch them, if you dare fire them.

• TerrblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

WHY SHOULD GOV'T PROMISE TO PAY ALL YOUR NEEDS? FIND OTHER SOURCES. IDIOTS.

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

mr kwasea pepeni continues to try and hoodwink the people with these artificial distracting problems that even a baby could solve . pay the doctors now as their wages are nore on the level of pocket money for teenagers than s ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

AND I PRAY THAT YOU FALL SICK THE DAY ALL THE DOCTORS ARE SACKED

• KONTOPIAAT 11 years ago

YOU SEEM TO QUIET IGNORANT AND I WONDER WHETHER YOU ARE A WORKER IF YES FORGO YOUR SALARY AND GO HOME TOO AND LIVE ON GHS45.00 PENSION OR NO PENSION AT ALL IF YOUR HAVE CHILDREN YOU WANT TO TAKE GOOD CARE OF.YOU DONT KNOW WHA ...

• WILLIAM 11 years ago

Yes to jealously guarding salaries and pensions of doctors, indeed all workers1 AND ABOVE ALL, YES TO JEALOUSLY GUARDING THE SANCTITY AND LIFE OF GOD'S CREATION! NO CONTRADICTION HERE,PLEASE. MAY THIS LAST STATEMENT FROM DOCT ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

Kofi Annan so what? Who is Kofi Annan? Was he not paid when he worked for the United Nations? Instead of telling the truth that Ghanaian lives are being used as a bargaining chip by the government, you are beating about the b ...

• Wiliam 11 years ago

OSEI,ILLOGICAL PLATFORM IS NOT THE PLACE FOR ME TO GO. STAY THERE ALONE. BYE

• Skanky 11 years ago

Will anyone of them own up and tell us what they're paid now? Greedy people!!!!!!

• Gaby Bruk 11 years ago

Mahama will not fulfill any promise. Please collect all your money before you call off strike

• FR ANK 11 years ago

Akani kwasea

• TAANNNNI ABOA !!!!!!! 11 years ago

YOU SMELLY-AMPIT TAANI !!!!!!!!

• KWAKU MANU 11 years ago

True Akans don't split ranks all those calling others derogatory tribal names are not true Akans. Or you will not be driving a wedge between Akans and other tribes. NDC agents trying to play tribal cards are at it again. Sett ...

• Kojo T 11 years ago

When you insult does it solve the problems. It is better to have a "pepeni" who will solve problems than a so called intellectual who only knows insults

• dela 11 years ago

it's the nation that suffers, can money buy life ?think and rethink before you spill whatever is in your mouth

• Baka 11 years ago

Look becos of people like u,npp is still in oposition,learn how to talk.

• CTZ 11 years ago

YOU CAN GO TO HELL!!!

• FR ANK 11 years ago

Employees dictating to the employer.What the heck is this?Then you will stay at home forever for no assurance is coming from the government.You think you can blackmail the government into submission?You must be joking!!!

• Alabama 11 years ago

Frank,
    Thank you very much. If not because of our fellow Ghanaians who will suffer they will be on strike for ever. There is a written document already.

A written document already? Has the government followed it?

It is not employees dictating to employer. It is employer refusing to pay to its employers what is their due and what has been promised them. Why did the government suspend paying them what was due them?

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

What do you call blackmail? You are so stupid it's unbelievable. Mahama had a pay increase before he even became President. He said at the time that he disagreed with the pay increase but did he reject it? How much does Ghana ...

• FR ANK 11 years ago

Fool like Kuffuor, Auffo-Addo and the doctors on strike,not forgetting you Osei Tawiah.Wanka!!!

• Zoobie-Zoobie 11 years ago

They are arrogant because they are deaing with an impotent government,

The government is impotent

the govt is impotent

And the gov't is also irresponsible. Why does the government suspend the payment of their benefits?

• Asuo 11 years ago

It is very sad

• dela 11 years ago

the doctors should remember that we shall all stand before the judgement seat of God and give an account of our work here on earth

• KWAKU MANU 11 years ago

IT IS GOOD YOU REMEMBER WE WILL STAND BEFORE GOD'S JUDGEMENT. TELL THAT TO THE PRESIDENT WHO SEEMS TO HAVE FORGOTEN THAT THE BIBLE SAYS-THE LABOURER IS WORTHY OF HIS HIRE

• Bobo 11 years ago

This is blood moneyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

• Dan 11 years ago

Say it again. Selfish and heartless doctors Ghana have,. How unfortunate can Ghanaians be to have monsters re doctors .

• Moze 11 years ago

.....“disgruntled doctor is more dangerous than a doctor who is on strike”. ....Waaa look o!!HOW can a trusted medical Dr. talk like this. He must be sanctioned with immediate effect and his licence cum certificates withd ...

• FR ANK 11 years ago

Leave Dr Serebuor the fool.I hope he will not stay in Ghana and practise again.Shit doctor!!!NPP doctors fighting for power for the dwarf.You are a digraced lot.

• Asa 11 years ago

The coffers are empty, looted. Doctors are not blind they see money being stolen and you want them to stand at the back of the line. Worst government.

• FR ANK 11 years ago

Doctors are always stealing government money everyday.They always use government facilities to treat their private patients,charge them and pay no taxes.

• Clarence Hedzolleh 11 years ago

I can't believe this arrogant display of heartlessness. The doctors have held the entire country to ransom because some misguided politicians have seen a political opportunity in it to lay (unjustifiably) the blame on the Go ...

• Sofo 11 years ago

Hmmmm !

• Freeman 11 years ago

I think the Drs need to change their work to earns more money

• osei panin. worcester ma usa 11 years ago

President Mahama, oyiwa,you heard what the doctors have said. give them a written commitment, sigh by you that you are going to pay them and they will call off the strike

• Akwasi Osei 11 years ago

Foolish people.

• James Y 11 years ago

Let the doctors strike forever! The gov't must not allow these parasites to hold it for ransom! The call themselves doctors yet, they have no feeling for distressed people- the same people whose taxes were used to train them. ...

• SON OF GHANA 11 years ago

ALL THE HAVE BEEN LOOTED BY THE NDC AND THE REST USED FOR NKONFEM AND rLG. I CAN'T WAIT WHEN THE STATE TAKE CONTROL OF rLG FOR ALL THE STATE MONEY THAT MAHAMA HAS PUMPED INTO THAT COMPANY. GHANA IS FINISHED UNDER NDC

• Mr. QUESTIONS 11 years ago

You see, the NDC Govt. has emptied the vaults at the Bank of Ghana already. And again, the President paid
    the MPs and Himself.

Do you think the rest of you are important ?

He also donated 1.5 tons of Gold to Iran.

• Bob Marley reincarnation 11 years ago

fire burn dem! dem think say u swear hippocratic oath so they can use it as a gun behind Dr heads.u been negotiating for too long.you gave ample time as warning of strike cause u had heart for patients. when security service ...

• Bob Marley reincarnation 11 years ago

DOCTORS EVEN IF THEY TAKE YOU TO SUPREME COURT AND THEY BACK GOVERNMENT, TAKE THEM TO ILO LET THE WORLD KNOW LIP SERVICE OF THOSE AT HELM OF TITANIC. WAIT TILL WHOLE SHIP SINKS AS THEY FOLD THIER HANDS AND RELAX AS SHIP APROA ...

• LOL 11 years ago

ATUBUBA DECIDE FAST. GHANAIANS ARE WATCHING.

• Marquis 11 years ago

I dont want to sound tribalistic but knowing how strong Ashantis are anti NDC and rather pro NPP, I find it intriguing that both the President and Secretary of GMA are Ashantis.

• AKONFEM PREZ MAHAMA 11 years ago

MAHAMA KILLED MILLS FOR POWER,AND HE NEED MORE BLOOD,MAHAMA IS FAKE TO THE NATION,HIS HANDS ARE BLOOD,CRIMINAL EVIL DWARFS,HE NEED MORE BLOOD THATS WHY HE DID NOY WONT TO PAY THE DOCTORS PERIOD

• Marquis 11 years ago

I dont want to sound tribalistic but knowing how strong Ashantis are anti NDC and rather pro NPP, I find it intriguing that both the President and Secretary of GMA are Ashantis.

• AKONFEM PREZ MAHAMA 11 years ago

MAHAMA KILLED MILLS FOR POWER,AND HE NEED MORE BLOOD,MAHAMA IS FAKE TO THE NATION,HIS HANDS ARE BLOOD,CRIMINAL EVIL DWARFS,HE NEED MORE BLOOD THATS WHY HE DID NOY WONT TO PAY THE DOCTORS PERIOD