You are here: HomeNews2013 04 19Article 271553

Stop dollarisation of the economy, say bankers

Read Comments Comments (19)

• GOSH 11 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE NOT SMART, WHY USE US DOLLARS IF YOU INVEST OR BUY, SELL, RENT IN GHANA. ALL PUBLIC AND PRIVATE SECTORS AS WELL AS INVESTORS SHOULD USE CEDIS NOT DOLLARS. IT SHAME TO CONTINUE TO BE A SLAVE USING SLAVE MASTER CU ...

• CITIZEN ONE 11 years ago

It's like the entire Accra is a Duty Free Shop. Everybody quotes you prices and rates in Dollars. School Fees, Hotel Rates, Marina Mall Clothing Shops, Even the average Akwele Kenkey Seller could very well tell you her kenkey ...

• DAN 11 years ago

why was it renumerated from 9000 cedi in 2007???? because the cedi is as worthless as Ghana gov.!

• GOSHA 11 years ago

NOT HAVING FAITH IN YOUR CURRENCY AND STILL BEING SLAVE USING YOUR MASTER CURRENCY INSTEAD OF YOURS, ONLY IN GHANA. GOVERNMENT SHOULD BRING REGULATION THROUGH PARLIAMENT REGARDING LIMITS.

• DAN 11 years ago

Ndc made you a slave to China long ago!

• KFC 11 years ago

When you go to China to import everything, do you use cedis or dollars, when your goverment is not even providing the basic electricity to manuafcture simple toilet roll,what do you do, you go and import..with dollars.. Only ...

This fake life of us would be so much better and easier, if we only adopt the American System from head to toe, instead of us fooling ourselves into believing that we were once cultured and civilized. Our most commonly used l ...

• unlimited 11 years ago

KFC is very smart n I like that . Will buy KFC to nite for my dinner.

• Trotro 11 years ago

What an irony???Alshassan talking about dollariazation? How did he pay his son's school fees in America? Dollars of course. The university did not accept cedis? Right? Where did he get the dollars from?

• Tamrock DP 1500 11 years ago

The Government can bring the dollar rate down as much as irrelevant to attract the use of dollars in Ghana if only the Government wants. Many African countries use dollars along side their national currency yet the rate is th ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

halt quotation of goods and services in dollars. ITS ONLY IN OUR INTEREST

• DAN 11 years ago

if the value of cedi changes daily like the stock market...go to www.oanda.com...at watch the cedi change value everyday..Even the Nigerian Niaria keeps the same value everyday!

Ghanaians have become pathological thieves and cheats. Everybody wants to cheat you, everybody wants to get rich quick or overnight. Rich, poor, abject poor, are all hotwired to dishonesty.

Even the highly educated still s ...

• Kofi - USA 11 years ago

this is nonsense. the Cedi does not buy anything outside Ghana and everything including toilet rolls and toothpicks are imported. You cannot import things with Cedis. All these bank officials don't travel overseas with Cedis ...

• Kwadjo, London 11 years ago

Mr Adani is not a banker what he is saying is professionally out of place. If Mr Wampah actually detected foreign currencies due to the state being channelled away without reporting, then he, the bank in question and customer ...

• NIITEIKO TACKIE 11 years ago

It is really long overdue and the goverment should do something about it
    Americans do not use any other
    currency in America but the dollar.

• Kyekyeku 11 years ago

The government is doing it and telling us not to.

• K Man 11 years ago

Why are people confusing dollarisation of the lOCAL economy with importation of goods in dollars. The issue is when local sellers, schools hotels etc are quoting in dollars. Of course when you import the goods will be paid in ...

• Erasmus Asem 11 years ago

Shut up if you do not know and understand the economics of a third world country like Ghana. If we stop the use of the DOLLAR how can we get the logistics for our NDC party and all the present and past commrades? Well if you ...