You are here: HomeNews2013 04 11Article 270704

Statement: Ghana mourns Baroness Margaret Thatcher

Read Comments Comments (35)

• ASEM BE BA DABI. 11 years ago

May her soul rest in peace.

• KATH 11 years ago

She called Mandela terrorist and dine most of the time with the Chilean dictator Augustine PInochet.

• DrG 11 years ago

Ghanaians should stop this hypocrisy when it comes to the dead. Even in the UK, they are "calling a spade a spade". Was the same case with Atta Mills who became one of the "greatest statesmen ever" in death!

• AARDVARK 11 years ago

Her legacy was one of irreparable social division and the sanctification of greed. Quite topical in Ghana now!

• Tony Blair 11 years ago

She abrogated the British Commonwealth of Nations. Very draconian towards Black in UK.
    Ma she rot in pieces. Her support for Apartheid was un parallel.

Had no mercy for immigrants. Let her people mourn her.

• koo nti-LIVERPOOL 11 years ago

I think you are one of those who lived in the uk illegally,hence your stupid and unsubstantiated accusation.You are a big idiot comparable with any pig.

• CONSCIENCE 11 years ago

This woman exhibited herself against the black race..Kath you've said it well that ''may she rot in pain''. She was damn evil towards foreigners.

• BOBBY 11 years ago

The woman and NDC is the same making people suffer, no work no jobs strikes everywhere and you mourning her.
    Do ghanaian really care. Margaret came to ghana in her 13 years as prime minister of UK.
    Ask yourselvies.

• AMINA 11 years ago

That she cut off aid from Britain for Ghana during her entire rule as Prime Minister of Britain.

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

What did she do for Ghana?And what did she say about Nelson Mandela?Many people in GB. are rejoicing that she is no more although,at 97 years,she has lived long enough.We were all born to die!

• AARDVARK 11 years ago

She was 87 years old.

• NANA 11 years ago

She started privatisation which the world bank copied and asked Rawlings to do in the 80's.May be the best side of her is she didn't sell any state enterprise to her husband.

• OBIBINI. 11 years ago

The NPP is certainly secretely mourning her for like her they also believe in privitization and property ownership which always favours the few rich and powerful in every society.Like Margaret Thatcher the NPP sold state land ...

• KATH 11 years ago

Because her Belgravia house is so dirty after the operation she decided to stay in RItz hotel and yet still she died there, no amount of cleanliness will save her.

• Nii Akwei 11 years ago

I saw how evil this woman was with my own eyes.

• d. gozo 11 years ago

why would someone mourn a racist former prime minister like thatcher. she opposed sanctions against south africa racist regime. she suggested that asian immigrants will take over fellow white european stellers in australia. w ...

• Araba 11 years ago

With Profound sadness!!!!! what planet have this minister dropped off from. Yes granted that of the dead we should speak no evil but by God! I don't think her passing is exactly profoundly sad. Lets call a spade a spade plea ...

• NANA KUFUOR 11 years ago

Why should Ghana mourn that bitch? Perhaps Mahama Ayariga never read the history of that woman. That evil bitch ruined all my stay in Britain. I had to struggle to complete my course. Mrs. Thatcher and that senile Ronald Reag ...

• Onipaba 11 years ago

It is appointed for man once to die and then face the judgement.The day of reckoning has finally caught up with her.No one dies unto their self.What a lesson for us all.

• nsemfoahi 11 years ago

Shine your eyes Ghanaians,when Mills died what did the Brithish said,They said Ghana is mourning their dead President not Britain is mourning the the dead of Mills,Nsemfoarakwa

• FM 11 years ago

I am not sure that this is how Ghanaians genuinely feel about this woman. I bet to disagree with the government's statement on this. We (Ghanaians), as people, had and have objectives that this lady never appreciated or agree ...

• nsemfoahi 11 years ago

Unto her Mandela would have died in jail,she called Mandela a terrorist,here she goes,Nsemfoarakwa

• Onua 11 years ago

Dave Hopper, general secretary of the Durham Miners’ Association, told one protest marking Mrs. Thatcher’s death: “It’s a great day. She did more damage to us thanHitler did.” Looking forward to a labor union gather ...

• Agyeman 11 years ago

This bitch was as coldhearted as ice and never cared for anybody in her entire life.Calling Mandela a terrorist,presiding over the death of Bobby Sands,watchin as thousands of black South Africans got killed and watching thou ...

• Kweku Boateng 11 years ago

This woman never supported the ANC, the MPLA, FRELIMO, ZANU/ZAPU and SWAPO in their legitimate struggle to free the African people from white settler minority oppression-apartheid. While the great Mandala, Walter Sisulu, Ahme ...

• American 11 years ago

I understand that diplomacy requires a statement after a prominent leader of a foreign nation dies. But let's be realistic: Thatcher was "successful" as premier only because she acted as a consigliere for the already wealthy ...

• FRANK,LONDON 11 years ago

Margaret Thatcher was a racist and a supporter of the apartheid regime of South Africa and in 1987 described Nelson Mandela as a terrorist.All her so-called economic reforms which are said to have made the British economy rob ...

• Gothern - UK 11 years ago

I didn't know Ghanaians are so STUPID & NAIVE. Why should they mourn Thatcher. For their information 1) During her time several Ghanaians were deported 2) She called Mandela a terrorist 3) She supported Apartheid 4) 8 Black G ...

• Afia 11 years ago

Fools Stupid fools think about yourselves. Even at death his legacy is "Be RACIST" send all black home Keep Britain white. Visa is a problem to Ghanaians & Africans because of Thatcher. Cameron and others are Thatchers childr ...

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

All of you dont seem to be able to read the signs of the times or connect the dotted line. Now that we have barely survived the chinese rape pepeni has sold the country through the racist American ambassador to GE to exploit ...

• JMJ 11 years ago

What a stupid selfish minister. does she knows what she's talking about!!!!! keep poor Ghanaians poorer and contunue your colonial masters policies!!! you arrogant hypocrite.

• Wanzam 11 years ago

Wetin we dey mourn Thatcher for? For her support of Apartheid South Africa, Rhodesia, and fascist-ruled Portuguese colonies? For calling our freedom fighters "terrorists"? For increasing child poverty in England from 1 in 7 t ...

• Chief amankwa 11 years ago

This woman said Mandela was a terrorist

• OMANNI ASARE 11 years ago

Thatcher death?Ayariga do not have to speak for Ghanaians,why did Ghana lost visa free travel to UK?Thatcher downgrade the commonwealth countries,Ghanaians even not bother when their President Mills passed away,the evil one d ...

• Justan 11 years ago

THE WORLD HAS LOST A GENIUS.
    MAY HER SOUL REST IN PEACE.
    SHE IS IRREPLACEABLE.