You are here: HomeNews2013 04 10Article 270531

Safo Kantanka retires as Deputy EC Boss

Read Comments Comments (84)

• anna 11 years ago

the truth will always prevail why now if i may sak sir!!!!

• Don Blunt 11 years ago

The earlier you set off, the more likely you find a good hiding place

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

CAN CRIMINAL NDC & EC FILE AFFIDAVITS AGAINST THE TRUTH ON THE PINK SHEETS WHICH WERE USED TO DECLARE THEM AS WINNERS? THE LAW CAN BE UGLY SOMETIMES!!
    CAREFULNESS IS SOMETIMES REQUIRED!!!!!
    ASEM BEBA ONE DAY!! GOD BLESS!!

• MR. FIGURE - OUT 11 years ago

"You eat alone, you shit alone". Afari Gyan must dance to the tune of his own sour taste music alone. I knew this Safo Kantanka guy was going to resign the very day when he tried to blame the election malpractices on the temp ...

• JDM 11 years ago

BOTH THE NPP AND. NDC GAVE. THIS MAN LOTS OF MONEY, YET HE STILL RIGGED THE ELECTIONS. MAY HE FOREVER LIVE WITH HIS CONSCIENCE.

• And Jesus Wept. 11 years ago

Their evil deeds done in the night shall be brought to light for all to know that God is the Supreme ruler of all.
    How in the world does an ordinary civil servant retiring pay a farewell visit to President John Mahama to ann ...

• GYE NYAME (I fear only God) 11 years ago

Yes, you have a very good point.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Where is Asiedu Nketia, Tony Aidoo and Kofi Wayo? Have they been abandoned? Hahahahaha, they were squeeking like pigs on Radio stations. Now they are quiet. Glad mahama has tamed them and put them in the cage.

• WILLIAM 11 years ago

Ghanaians know the truth, that Afari Djan and his EC, LIKE ANY HUMAN INSTITUTION IS NOT PERFECT BUT WHICH ONE IS PERFECT IN THIS WORLD.THEY SURELY HAVE DONE THEIR PART IN INSTUTION BUILDING IN GHANA. HOPE THE DISGRUNTLED ARE ...

• GHANAVIA 11 years ago

"When the history of Ghana is written, it'll reflect you, Kanga and Afari Gyan in a pride of place," the president said.

Dramani Mahama comes from Mars; Ghanaians cannot comprehend on his intelligentsia.

• BRIAN WILLIAMS 11 years ago

MAHAMA KNOWS WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT. MAHAMA PAID THEM TO RIG THE ELECTIONS FOR HIM. THE SUPREME COURT WILL MAKE HISTORY, WHEN THE FACTS ARE LAID BARE. I AM NOT SURPRISED MAHAMA IS PRAISING THE THIEVES; MY GRANDMOTHER ALWAYS ...

• Joe 11 years ago

He can run but can not hide we shall monitor him foot by foot.there are questions he has to answer. Wait and see.,

• MR. FIGURE - OUT 11 years ago

If,in the midst of this uncontrollable hardships, the president has time to meet and discuss Kantankas resignation then Ghana is doomed. It shows how indifferent this government and his incompetent undeserved lieutenants are ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

Kantaka knew that whatever happens, the Supreme Court will kick EC bosses
    out and find them guilty of a crime they have committed, therefore one by one they are running away.

How much did Kantanka received as a bribe for ...

• BRIAN WILLIAMS 11 years ago

JJ IS VERY QUIET NOW, AND AM WONDERING WHY? COULD IT BE HE IS AFRAID HIS SECRETS WILL BE REVEALED IF HE TAKES ON THIS MAFIA MAHAMA? THE COUNTRY IS NOW A JOKE.

• KERL 11 years ago

WHO REPLACES HIM WILL BE DECIDED BY JM,MORE TO RETIRE BEFORE 2016 hahahahaha, ayuwa

• MAHA MA GBAGBO 11 years ago

Yes, Truth Stands. Sarfo smells rat that is why he is running away to save his face.

• Angelo 11 years ago

Wow,its getting very interesting. Is this one of the signs to come, i thought he would be happy to be possibly the next EC boss, we continue to keep vigil, i wonder whether Dr Afari Djan sleeps at all, its true pride goes bef ...

• Joe ballack UK 11 years ago

As if Ghanaians care about him,the bribed would be cursed to him

• ZONGO BOY 11 years ago

YOU CAN RAN BUT CANT HIDE, YOU HAVE COLLECTED YOUR DIRTY MONEY AND NOW RUNNING. IT WILL BE WITH A DISGRACE AND DISCREDITED RETIREMENT. YOUR FACE IN THE PICTURE WITH YOUR EMPLOYER TELLS IT ALL.

• Abeku 11 years ago

ahahah Funny world, this man is 15 years younger than Afari Gyan. He knows what is coming to be a disgrace to his hard won reputation. Adowa, meko dadadada - )kwaduo mena mekoro no. ahahahahaha

• KERL 11 years ago

HE HAS RETIRED NOT RESIGNED, THERE IS A DIFFERENCE

• LARYEAH 11 years ago

MOTHERFUCKER TOGOLESE TROKOSI FOOL, THE DEPUTY EC IS RUNNING AND NOBODY IS CHASING HIM.

• kokoase galamsey@obuasi 11 years ago

running away anybody taaa nodus!!!!

• EBENEZER 11 years ago

BIRDS OF A FEATHER FLOCK TOGETHER

• Good citizen 11 years ago

Why shoould a civil servant who is retiring go say goodbye to the president. Is he a diplomat at the end of his duty? Did the president appoint him or is he a member of his cabinet? What the hell is going on in this country!! ...

• Don Blunt 11 years ago

In the world of NDC, where noone knows what they are about ...

• Akua Dansua 11 years ago

It's amazing how things are done in Ghana. And this president tells us heis troubled and cannot sleep...but have time to meet an ordinary public servant who is retiring. Kaiiiiiii!!!!

• JDM 11 years ago

What has the President got to do wiyh your retirementMr Kanga? Or I am sure you went for your meat from Mahama,for rigging the electons in his favour. So are you Kanga older than Afari Gyan? If no what is hewaiting for ,or fo ...

• Don Blunt 11 years ago

All What He's Saying....

Is 'Goodbye Ghana a' ...

If he has been able to acquire a home in some far away foreign country, why should he wait till too late when somebody mentions his name in connection with something ...

• Joe ballack UK 11 years ago

Tell Supreme Court the truth Mr Safo or Ghanaians will. Never forgive you

• PADDY 11 years ago

LOOK,,,...;;;DON"T RUN COW333ERD.:::: BEAR IN MIND, YOUR MISDEEDS WILL HUNTS YOU. THAT YOU WOULD BE RECALLED TO ANSWERED SOME QUESTIONS. WHEN INDEED YOUR NEEDED.TRUST-ME.

• Don Blunt 11 years ago

Don't worry. He will return when Ghanaians have alwready forgotten this bitter historical event.
    He needs peace in someone's foreign country, where elections are not manipulated by people like him

• OBIBA-JUDAS 11 years ago

BEFORE IT RAINS>

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Running away running away running away obiara taanido,fire burn you all EC officials who colluded with NDC to steal Ghanaians' votes.This guy should be recalled and prosecuted after the supreme court case if NPP wins.

• Gigi 11 years ago

This looks like "Rats abandoning the sinking ship". First they try to cause delays and now the Deputy, who is much younger that the Comissioner, retires. Coming events, they say, cast their shadows.

• POET 11 years ago

WHEN A THIEF IS CAUGHT, HE IS NOT ALLOWED TO KEEP HIS LOOT. THE LOOT IS RETRIEVED FROM HIM, AND THEN HE IS TRIED AND JAILED FOR BEING A THIEF AND A MENACE TO SOCIETY.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

Oh ye men of Evil ! What did Ghana do to deserve this PLOT ?

• KWASHIE ADJAH 11 years ago

WHY THE HURRY, SAFO KANTANKA???????? YOU CLAIM TO HAVE DONE A GOOD JOB AT THE EC, BUT WAIT FOR NANA ADDO TO VERIFY YOUR WORK AT THE SC, BEFORE YOU RETIRE. IN ANY CASE, WHERE IS ALL THE MONEY THE AFRC/P/NDC PARTY BRIBED YOU WI ...

• Timbuktu 11 years ago

The bastard is running away. We (NPP) will find him, put him on trial, and lock him and Afari Gyan up for a long time.

• Uncle T 11 years ago

"When the history of Ghana is written, it'll reflect you, Kanga and Afari Gyan in a pride of place," Why not. God knows the role you palyed in stealing election 2012!!

• Patty 11 years ago

You running and you running and you running away. But you can't run away from yourself. On that day where you gonna run to? you will run to the sea, the sea will be burning, you will run to the rocks, the rocks will be meltin ...

• Fatima 11 years ago

He is running away. Theif!!!
    Your neck is stuck deep in the mud with your boss.You are jumping from the sinking boat! Awi! Julor! Pkapke!

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 11 years ago

The evil that men do..... why running away with some few days for the Supreme Court to come out to expose your dubiously crime committed against the ordinary people and country that is about to shock the entire country and th ...

• EFO 11 years ago

WHY 'RE U RUNNING AWAY? WE'LL PUNISH YOU AND UR BOSS AFARI GYAN.I.D.I.O.T.S !!!

• Zangina 11 years ago

I think Mr. kantanka should stay and help afari Djan answer to the good people of Ghana. Infact Mr. Kanga who had resigned earlier should also be brought back so they can all answer. Nobody should escape at this crucial time.

• DKB 11 years ago

I don't understand this! Why resign now at a time when your boss needs your support the most to help deal with the case in court. Could you not wait till the case comes to an end? Bad timing or good timing, we wait to see.

• Joe 11 years ago

I wonder how many NPP supporters on this forum know the diference between retirement and resignation, and whether Afari Gyan as an appeal court judge retires at the age of 70 not as safo Katanka. All you uneducated or refused ...

• DKB 11 years ago

F**king idiot. You can't even get your spelling right and yet have the nerve to call others illiterates.

• HON. JOHN ASIEDU NKETIA 11 years ago

SAFO KANTAKA COULD NOT TAKE IT AFTER SEEING NPP EVIDENCE. HE WAS ASHAMED TO SEE IRREGULARITIES, MALPRACTICES, OMMISSIONS AND VIOLATIONS HAPPENED UNDER UNITS HE COMMANDS.

• chief 11 years ago

ok

• ASANTEWA 11 years ago

WASTE of OIL MONEY(FOOLS)

• Kwame 11 years ago

Is there not a difference between retirement and resignation? My people, for lack of comprehension, will perish! What is the retiring age of a Commissioner? Has Safo reached that age? Has Kanga reached that age? Sometimes i w ...

• DKB 11 years ago

Kwame, do you have any idea what speculations people will make if he had said he was resigning? They used "retiring" instead of "resigning" to reduce the level of speculations that would follow this announcement. I believe th ...

• Kwame 11 years ago

So when it is time to retire you should not because of drug addict Nana Akufo Addo

RELIABLE INTELLIGENCE SAYS HE WAS SCHEDULED TO RETIRE IN 2016. SO WHY NOW?

• SALIFU MAHAMA 11 years ago

WHERE TO, AND WHY AT THIS TIME? MR. KANTANKA, PLEASE DO NOT RETIRE YET UNTIL YOU FINISH YOUR DEAL WITH MAHAMA, FIAFITOR.

• AKAN 11 years ago

MAHAMA WILL NOT LEAVE TO SEE THE SUN NO MORE!

• Kwame 11 years ago

Safo Kantanka run oh walk oh Nana Cocaine pusher and addict will not rule us da

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

KWAME & NDC; This is about Mahama stealing an election with the help of Afari Gyan. You do not support Nana becoming a president BUT you endorse stealing. "JUST WAIT AND SEE THINGS FOR YOURSELF, NANA WILL SOON RETRIEVE WHAT Y ...

• BIG JAY 11 years ago

What is the statutory retiring age for EC officals? Afari Djan is older than Sarfo Kantanka, and why is he at post at this time? Is Afari Djan on Contract? Why is Sarfo Kantanka retiring at this point in time? Why did the pre ...

• Lorgo Ligri 11 years ago

Kantanka is playing the monkey in the trees. It watches the hunter's finger on the trigger, just when the hunter shows any sign of pulling the trigger, uupps..the monkey takes off. The only thing wrong this time is, the monke ...

• Joe 11 years ago

I wonder how many NPP supporters on this forum know the difference between retirement and resignation, and whether Afari Gyan as an appeal court judge retires at the age of 70 not as Safo Katanka, who is younger than him. All ...

• GYE NYAME (I fear only God) 11 years ago

...you NDC footsoldier.

RELIABLE INTELLIGENCE SAYS HE WAS SCHEDULED TO RETIRE IN 2016. SO WHY NOW?
    SOMETHING SMELLS

• It's True 11 years ago

Hmmm,how old is he that he is resigning? Can someone tell me? Is he not interested in taking over from Dr. Afari Gyan after deputizing under him for quite a long time. i think you have to wait for the final verdict to be ann ...

• Skotsman 11 years ago

The history will be on your HEADS, Mahama and EC!!!
    God will punish you all for depriving Ghanaians of a deserving leader, and possibly bringing trauma to the people of Ghana!!!!

• Ghanaian 11 years ago

Why don't you wait till after the Court Hearing in which all of you are implicated?

Your are a coward, but the law will come after you.

You can run, but you cannot hide.

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

Mahama is a joke! The deputy EC boss has resigned because of the filth and rot in the EC set up, esp. in relations to the election fraud. It will go down in history that John Mahama has been disgraced; the man wants to preser ...

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

Tweaa! So John Mahama cannot still accept that things aren't going well. The man is telling Ghanaians that enough is enough; I cannot be part of this bullshit anymore! Meanwhile Mahama wants the world to thing that everything ...

• Kojo Appiah, NY 11 years ago

Which deserving leader? You mean someone who wants to be president by all crooked means? Shame unto you lots! Remember God is the only true judge even though you people now believe your own lies of a supposedly rigged electio ...

• TIGER BAY 11 years ago

SAY IT LIKE IT IS. MAHAMA IS WEEPING IN THE PICTURES.VERY SOON MORE EC STAFFS WILL RESIGN,THE CATS WILL SURELY COME OUT OF THE BAGS. THEIR SHADOWS ARE CHASING THEM. THEY CANNOT CHEAT ALMIGHTY GOD.AMEN

• Drooche 11 years ago

Why is he allowed to leave whilst the court case is still pending? He needs to stay to be part of the impendig doom. Shame on you.

• Newsbasky 11 years ago

"When the history of Ghana is written....." History indeed! Mahama you have rightly said it. When the history of massively rigged election in favour of NDC/Mahama is being written,Safo KANKAN Kantaka, KANGAroo and Opanin GY ...

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

EC's COLLABORATION WITH NDC IS CLEAR; MAHAMA IS NOT A SMART GUY AT ALL - EVEN ALLOWING DAVID KANAGA ALLOWING TO SERVE IN HIS GOVERNMENT TELLS A LOT. THESE ROBBERS KNOW NO SHAME AT ALL. YOUR DAYS ARE NUMBERED.

• JJ Rawlings 11 years ago

Crooks die many times before their real deaths. Look at their faces!

Me mamo dumsor! Yaa Mahama!

• Timbuktu 11 years ago

Safo K can run all he want. He and Afari Gyan rigged the elections for NDC. We (NPP) will lock him (and Afari Gyan)up when we come to power.

• Kofi 11 years ago

I think is wrong for the president to accept Mr Katangas resignation because of the mess they have created in ghana. If the truth is found tha they made a mistake then he need to be procecuted so is -Afari Gyan

• deborah kumasi 11 years ago

HAVE A PEACEFUL STAY AT HOME

• Straight Talk Ghana Express 11 years ago

The EC Operations guy who with Akomea , Afari Djan and others cooked the election fraud is feeling the heat.

He must be brought to testify. He must be dragged to court.

he will run but he cannot hide.

We will get yo ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Wow! This Mahama guy is something else!

• koffii 11 years ago

Idiots he is non partisan..he has served with dignity..Age just caught up with him dont write what you do not know because he was begged to stay for the last election

• DUNSOR 11 years ago

RUNNING AWAY, IF THE SC FINDS OUT THE TRUTH HE CURRUPT PARTYS MUST BE GAOLED

• Kofi 11 years ago

My question is lookin at Dr Afari Gyan and Mr Safo Kantanka who is older to retire?