You are here: HomeNews2013 04 08Article 270323

Don’t envy us our debts are as high as mountain Afadjato

Read Comments Comments (84)

• Ben 11 years ago

These MPs should be made to understand that nobody begged them to enter into politics. You work and get paid just like any other person and so if you are to dish out your money to your constituents, you do so to be voted into ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Tell that Kwasea woman that Doctors work are high risk areas. Doctors easily contract hepathites and other disease in their work. Teachers in second cycle schools get attacked by irate students. Do they have such luzury cars ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 11 years ago

Empty honorables pretending to be more important than they actualy are

• Zoobie-Zoobie 11 years ago

living a fake life

• ELINAM 11 years ago

As senator like any other senator, Mr Obama took his girls to school, NO DRIVER. Michelle cooked him dinner, NO COOK or MAID.
    Most of these clowns have 2-3 drivers. One for oga, one for lazy madam, and one for the kids.
    Why ...

• Nana Ansah 11 years ago

Just quit if you can't bear it and stop this constant lamentations. Should we pity you? No my dear! Stop these silly lies. We know what is Happening in parliament houses around the world. The parliament and how government ope ...

• Cold Thunder 11 years ago

You made fantastic contribution my brother.
    I will be the last person to believe this crap of deceit. If things are as hot as she claimed how come they scramble to contest primaries term after term and sometimes even try to ...

• KOFI 11 years ago

That is why in western democracies, it is people who have already made their wealth and made their mark, who enter politics. They go into politics as a service to the nation. They don't go there and then complain that thing ...

• AKASI MARTHA ARIZONA USA. 11 years ago

I PERSONALLY PITY SOME OF OUR MP'S I WONDER WHY EVEN TEACHERS, DOCTORS, PHARMACIST SOME ENVY CASUAL WORKERS MP'S. PROFFESIONS HAVE FORGOTTEN THAT THEIR WORKS ARE LIFE TIME JOB.

• DAN 11 years ago

fishy,smelly pussy for rent in Phoenix arizona..$5 per hour. all 3 holes(anal first) 2$ extra per hour..ask for martha

• Charles A. 11 years ago

As soon as they enter office, they build houses for their girl friends first before thinking of building an Atakpame for themselves.

• KOFI JUMAH 11 years ago

WE ARE BROKE. WE OWE PLENTY. DO WE VISIT THE CONSTITUENCIES REGULARLY? CAN YOU VISIT WHEN YOU ARE BROKE? CAN YOU GIVE PEOPLE MONIES JUST BECAUSE YOU ARE COLLECTING IT AND SAYING IT IS GOING TO THEM? MY FRIEND, YOU DO NOT KNOW ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

I am now out of words and my frustration has dissipated I don't have any more energy to counter these MP's coming from everywhere. I thought the idiots among this august body are not that many but it seems almost all of them ...

Sarps, take time you don't run out oxygen. Our MPs and their pronouncements can make you mad. I am going crazy myself when I read what they say.

• Katie 11 years ago

In an outpouring of rage & frustration over this so-called ex gratia, these modern-day organized thieves, continue to throw dust into our eyes with their insensitive comments. These politicians are embodiment of disingenuous ...

• Tidi 11 years ago

It's a shame ghana is being ruin by greedy and selfish idiots like this fat woman.

• CHITOWN 11 years ago

KATIE, THEY ARE INDEED OUT OF TOUCH AND OUT OF COMMON SENSE. THEY'RE CAREFREE DAYS ARE NUMBERED.

• Kofi - USA 11 years ago

ONLY IN GHANA DO MPS GET LAND CRUISERS. NO WONDER WHY WE ARE BROKE AS A NATION AND PEOPLE ARE SUFFERING. HOW MUCH DO THESE SUCKERS COST? WHY DONT THE DOCTORS GET LAND CRUISERS AND ALL THE GOODIES? I GUESS THEY WANT TO THINK ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

WHO SAYS EVERYBODY BUYS PETROL?

• Daavi 11 years ago

WISDOM IS TRULY NOT GIVEN TO ALL.

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

Frank, it seems to me like they are intentionally mocking us, like, "WE CAN TAKE YOUR MONEY, WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO?" I can't believe with how Ghanaians from all walks of life speaking agaianst the huge ex-gratia, the name ...

• ELINAM 11 years ago

The excuses are just numerous. From Agyapong's shit carriers analogy to Juman's pedestal posturing and now human borrowing machine. Yes, Emerging class of shameless looters in this "ANMAL FARM" scenario.

• KOKI 11 years ago

Hi Sarpong! Cool down, my dear! Just take it easy and conserve your precious energy for the future assignment to serve mother Ghana some day some time, just may be.

The reason, quite simple: we are not (at least based upon ...

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

KOKI, you are just too intelligent fellow people like you are not in Parliament to serve mother Ghana not because you are unpatriotic but even if you put your name in the hat to contest, they will not vote for you because lik ...

• Kwame 11 years ago

I get worked up when i hear MP'S speaking childishly, foolishly and in a very stupid manner like this woman has just done, thinking Ghanaians are idiots who have no sense of reasoning.

Just take time you don't get a heart failure because we are dealing with a bunch of fools and idiots who only seek their self interests.

• Ellen 11 years ago

your point is baseless based on your insult and learn how to respect Athorities

RESPECT WHO? Authorities who talk nonsense? Then forget it. Are you comfortable with her statement? I am sorry for you.

• ELINAM 11 years ago

The new president of Senegal abolished the government arm of the law making senate.
    Reason: Too much money wasting on the lifestyle, and therefore the country is not ready for that kind of expenditure as more pressing challe ...

Exactly what we need in Ghana with those useless people that some call honourable.

• Mr. Oushuuuuu 11 years ago

Indeed DCE's can do the work of Mp's for less and maybe better .We really need true constitutional amendments and some harsh decisions to redirect the direction of this country.

• Ellen 11 years ago

That is you. Can all of us perform the same task, it is division of labor to help the Nation move forward, how many of us do approach MPS to solve problem in our communities even expect money for our personal needs .Please le ...

• CTZ 11 years ago

“Yes we are given Land Cruisers but it is not as glamorous as you see it. It is nice to ride in it but we know the heat and pressure it comes with. Right from the day we are given the car, we are forced to pay the price.

• ELINAM 11 years ago

Obama as a senator drove himself as any other senator.
    These clowns want someone to drive them,shop for them, open doors for them,clean and cook for them therefore live above their means and borrow to support it and live lik ...

Elinam, don't even make me more angry.Those clowns want even drivers to take their kids to school, wives to the markets, pick their girlfriends to hotels where they meet them. And we have a bunch of idiot MPs who get everythi ...

• Bismarck 11 years ago

That is what we went for. when competent and dedicated people contest, nobody votes for them because they have no coins to give you. so you will vote for these bunch of idiots who have coins to give you. Now we are all crying ...

• THANK YOU.... 11 years ago

Well said and done...

GOOD POINTS THERE.....

• Daavi 11 years ago

I'LL RATHER BE FRIEND AN UGLY WOMAN WITH BEAUTIFUL BRAIN

• Bill Earl Onkroh 11 years ago

Maame Gifty Klenam, it is unfortunate that you do not get t that Ghanaians are against looting of the state kitty by a few greedy shameless persons. It is NOT and repeat it is NOT a matter of envy. Why will anyone in their so ...

• Nana Yaw 11 years ago

Nonesense!

• concerned citizen 11 years ago

who cares, you go borrowing because you want to come back to parliament. pls dont insult us, if you are not benefiting why would you do all sort of things to be voted back. pls give us a break

• KUKRUDU 11 years ago

This STUPID & UGLY woman thinks Ghanaians are fools!!!!!
    MPs earning $3000 a month ( and this by industrialised countri standardses)
    is a comfortable salary. Compare it with the $2000 that the average Ghanaian earns in a MO ...

No, the average Ghanaian ears about 1/6 of the 2000. That is why there is strike everywhere.

• william 11 years ago

Good we are discussing. And I agree with her explanation. But they should handle payment of ex-gratia more responsibly and sharpen their PR. Can't take Ghanaian concerns of Ghanaian public for granted. Communicate, communicat ...

• James 11 years ago

is this even true?

• ........................ 11 years ago

You guys make too much promises to your constituents. which is never here nor there.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

She continued that the life of an MP is based on continuous borrowing in order to fulfill the enormous demands of their constituents.

TAX THE PPL, BUSINESSES IN YOUR REGION. COLLECT TOLLS, REVENUE FROM FINES ETC, PENALTIES ...

• DAN 11 years ago

your given a car & fuel. plus a home to live in! stupid bitch!

• kk 11 years ago

Hon.if u know that is the case why u people should be fighting yourself for the job?

• nii 11 years ago

loook at empty head

• Agbedefu 11 years ago

If that is it, why are they fighting tooth and nail to be an MP? This nonsense of lies must stop.

• Kofi 11 years ago

I do not accept this except you can tell us that you pay for your petrol, accommodation, travel cost, office expenses etc

• GREEDY MPs 11 years ago

WHO FORCED THEM TO BECOME MPs? THEY NEED NOT BORROW TO CONTEST AND MUST RELY ON THEIR RESOURCES AND THAT OF WELL-WISHERS OTHERWISE IT SHIWS THAT THEY ARE NOT POPULAR ENOUGH FOR POLITICAL OFFICE

• Observer 11 years ago

Who said that it was the MP's responsibility to use his/her own money to pay the hospital bills of their constituents? Those quack MPs in our country have abbrogated those rights to themselves. In our society, the affluent ta ...

• Tsatsebi 11 years ago

When will Ghana get rid of these brainless, greedy, son-of b*tch*s called MPs. They are sucking the country dry. Ghanaians should wake up and stop this thievery by these opportunistic leeches. Don't vote for them anymore.

• MAKOKO 11 years ago

OUR DOCTORS TEACHERS ETC DESERVE EQUAL TREATMENT.

• Bismarck 11 years ago

Shame onto you. if the position is not so glamorous, why do you go vote-buying and rigging? You are there doing nothing but to milk mother Ghana dry. Thieves and looters!!! You should be the last to receive any benefits, that ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

Competent guy why wont you go and do that job for us. You know how to insult and not ashamed of your character

• Bismarck 11 years ago

Fool, do you vote for competent people? is it not idiots and vote buyers you vote for?

• AKPENE 11 years ago

YOU IDIOT,YOU THINK ORDINARY GHANAIANS HAVE NO EYES TO SEE WHAT GOES ON.WHY DO MPs FIGHT TO STAY PARLIAMENT IF THERE IS NO BENEFIT AS YOU WANT US TO BELIEVE.

• DENKYIRAMAN 11 years ago

This assertion made by the MP clearly indicates that most law makers in have no meaningful and productive plans to sustain and improve Ghana's economy and other structures as a viable nation. I believe the MP has made a true ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

Better know it all go and teach our elected ,wise President how to perform his duties

A teacher who is 58years or 60 years and who earns 800 a month has to build a house that would cost 40 000 cedis minimum.His lump sum payment after service is 10 000 cedis ,this is somebody who has served 30 years.Compare thi ...

• kai 11 years ago

i wonder how we feel when u hear that countries that give us aid make cuts in their expenditure. do we laugh or feel sorry. we make more expenditure all the time. greed, greed, greed. one day all these will be over.

Is that my sweetheart?Nice to hear from you,even the people who lend us money are being very thrifty with their resources.They are modest and honest and we waste more as the years go by,Ghana would go through a revo one day w ...

I have seen this face somewhere,never knew she was an Mp but yes i know this face ,i just cant put a finger on where we met but i can swear i met her before somewhere and she was quite friendly.I thought she was an ewe.

• Kwame 11 years ago

why don't u step down so u would be out of the fire. Ghanaians want a fare share of the national cake

• Abeiku - SE15 London 11 years ago

At least u can borrow ... NONSENSE

• Frank Mensah, Tikobo No. 2 11 years ago

No wonder Ghana is paddling backwards.

• Blay Mieza 11 years ago

As long as the MPs' determines the President's pay and vice versa the politicians would continue to loot the nation; period

• Kofi 11 years ago

This a a job you campaigned for. If it will turn you into a borrowing machine in order to survive, then you are doing a great disservice to yourself. Please just quit!

• BOBBY 11 years ago

How can an MP call he or she a professional MP. MP dont know what we vote for them for. They think we want their money when they come home NO all we need is jobs, if we have jobs you would be giving us your money.
    MPs gives ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

Just cut your clothes according to your cloths!Visit MPs in Europe and see what cars they ride in!Also, don`t promise everything because you need votes!Our MPs are only lining their pockets!What a shame!

• kk 11 years ago

Gifty if it so why u people will do whatever it takes to win as MP ? U get wrong u people are chopping better milk and honey

• Bobo 11 years ago

Mountain afadjato is very very small.Very soon it will be like mount OKUDJATO or Everest."Stealers"

• Daavi 11 years ago

IS IT OVER EXCITEMENT OR WHAT? JUST CUT YOUR COAT ACCORDING TO YOUR SIZE - ENVY YOU FOR WHAT? A PUBLIC FIGURE SHOULD LEARN AND KNOW HOW TO SPEAK

• Daavi 11 years ago

IT APPEARS THEY DONT KNOW WHY THEY ARE IN PARLIAMENT.

• sethos 11 years ago

If the life of an MP is so miserable as being described by the honourable madam, why wouldn't she quietly step down and be liberated?

• Obiba Mensah 11 years ago

I am baffled by the comment by Gifty Kleman, MP. How do people of such small minds in Ghana get to be legislators?. How could an MP talk rubbish like this and feel proud about it. This is totally disgraceful. After all no cit ...

• Oman Ba 11 years ago

Stop buying vote. The only logic way to cut cost. Allow people to vote freely without your monetary influence.

• Kwame 11 years ago

I am surprised at the flimsy excuses being given by various MPs regarding their ex-gratia payments. First,these MPs try to bribe electorates during polls to get voted to office.Second,the voters feel that after helping the MP ...

• faaganda 11 years ago

"I PITY THOSE MPs who could not make it back into parliament....they owe debts as high as Mountain Afadjato", she says.

Does she pity them for not getting back to parliament or she pities them for owing debts as high as Mt ...

• Stop it 11 years ago

Are these people fit to be in parliament at all? Who doesn't know about their corrupt lifestyles?

I said i know this woman la,i just cant tell where and when but i remember she came across as a friendly person but a bit shallow in thinking because she talks a lot.I blame we the electorates,we vote such characters into par ...