You are here: HomeNews2013 04 07Article 270219

We can’t do away with ex-gratia – Dormaa MP

Read Comments Comments (86)

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

You are all nation wreckers!Just duping the electorate!You all should be kicked out!Even rich countries are cutting down all freebies!Parliamentarians in our very poor country are lining their pockets! Greedy bastards!

• NPP Cocaine Pusher 11 years ago

Listen to all the parliamentarians defending their bloody salaries and ex-gratia. Mr Manu have you taken pains to find out how much pension is paid to pensioners?

• Alugu 11 years ago

They all have not come out with any convincing reason why they should be paid Ex-Gratia. If all institutions were well paid we would not have teachers out of the classrooms on strike, the doctors will be using just smiles to ...

• Emaa coach, Didi Dramani 11 years ago

Oh! so you want a convincing reason as to why they should be paid ex-gratia?

How about the following:

The argument being put forward by former and current MPs who have put effective defensive system against the hul ...

• Nana Ansah 11 years ago

Super-villains known as masters of disaster calling themselves MPs. These suicide squad of MPs are digging their own graves. Those of them who cannot make do with their fat salaries (GhC7.400) and nummerous allowances should ...

• Senior Wisdom 11 years ago

What about the rest of us. Click and watch this video and see if MP's deserve this payment!!
    https://vimeo.com/63314742

• NANA NANAAA(THE HAGUE) 11 years ago

NATION WRECKERS WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO DESERVE EX-GRATIA, twiaaa!! WITH THIS YOUR'0'PERFORMANCE IN PARLIAMENT.THIS IS INSANE.PAY THE TEACHERS AND DOCTORS TO GO TO WORK.

• william 11 years ago

Only Parliament does not mismanage public funds! Self-serving comments!!! Looks like those who elected MPs are not complaining! The wrong perception is that all hardships are caused by the Executive!!!!

• DAN 11 years ago

thats what pensions are for. Mp's have pension so they don't need extra! It should be based on income just like social security in usa..With min amount for low income or disable people that have never worked

• KWaku Bakuo - Domaa Ahenkro 11 years ago

What a shame!
    This MP does not seem to understand something well. He seems to be living in his dreams. Who cares what happens days after MPs are voted off power. Where in the constitutions are the time period of the service ...

• SARPONG 11 years ago

What makes the MP's so special they deserve decent salaries and Doctors and Teachers don't? What is the educational qualification to be an MP that makes them special? It is the insensitive and pompous talk from the idiots a ...

• oldman gyasi 11 years ago

They should show us their bank account (IF ANY AT ALL)before entering politics and let see what they have accumulated now by corruption means .!!!!SHAMELESS LOOTERS,AKRONFUO!!!!!.YOU BASTARDS loose your belts to have space fo ...

• BlindMan 11 years ago

The Parliamentarians were not CONSCRIPTS, and non was FORCED to take up the position; they approach the electorates with LIES!
    And before any of these so-called politicians would make these annoying statements, he/she must f ...

• boss 11 years ago

they are real thieves, who false this people to be there , akromfo

• Alugu 11 years ago

What has MP's achieved for this country so far since the beginning of the fourth republic apart from the fact that they get elected every four years for us to tell the world that we are a democratic country? What meaningful l ...

• Katie 11 years ago

Na wa for dis heartless & mafia thieves in parliament. None want to show self sacrificing by at least giving part of this bonuses to help out the budget. Such selfish & greedy people, why would anybody support these thieves i ...

None of these lousy lazy MPs had until now made any strong case that is convincing enough to make the ex-gratia gain traction. No far from that; on the contrary they betray their common greed with immense stupidity and cheap ...

• MATHS 11 years ago

Next year, these MPs will have myriads of reasons to increase their salaries. I think Ghanians must stand up against this. Next time they arbitrarily increase their salaries and for that matter their end of service benefits a ...

Kwaku Agyemang Manu, what are you waiting for if the pay of an MP is not juicy enough? DO US A FAVOUR;JUST ASK YOUR STUPID-SELF TO QUIT. Nobody is holding you back.

What do you think MF? You löusy lazy blockhead MPs of w ...

• ANA 11 years ago

Hey how can agyeman manu take care of his three wives and his concubines?
    I know him personally and he is very arrogant and just using his brief stay in London to spite the Dormaas

• gg 11 years ago

What is this fool talking about? Is he saying sometimes their salaries are not paid and they get it back through ex-gratia? If this job is not good, then why do you campaign for it? You people should spare us the bunkum.

• Kintampo 11 years ago

did anybody push you into politics. is that the accepted international practice? oh yes we have used 15 miliion GHS for guinea fowl but i believe one day it will provide economic benefits - employment, tax, revenue - to state ...

• KKK 11 years ago

THAT OUR MP`S DONT UNDERSTAND THE STATE OF THE NATION YET.

• sikadwa kofi 11 years ago

Kwaku, wo ye stupid paa. so you think doctors and teacher to starve for you to eat. Look at all the loot by mps and cabinet ministers. Stupid man/mp

• Nana Otumfour 11 years ago

If MPs were well educated like doctors and teacher they will get jobs when they loss thier seats. Instead they go jumping from one radio station to another insulting each other like KOfi Jumah and looking like decorated mon ...

• ii9i 11 years ago

ji9ki9m9km9o

• Nana Ama Adu 11 years ago

MPs should control the Ministry Finance for the reckless spending leading 12% deficit.
    Ministers and Government officials should accept salary cut for 2013 so that Union agitation will reduce.
    MPs should accept 30% salary c ...

• GHANAVIA 11 years ago

This NDC government are stupidly and recklessly selfish.
    Was it is not the same government that ban ex-gratia payments to public and civil service employees in the early 1990s?
    Why should the same politicians receive paymen ...

• GHANAVIA 11 years ago

Paragraph 2 line 1 should read:

Was it not the same government that banned ex-gratia payments to public and civil service employees in the early 1990s?

• Paul 11 years ago

Kwaku U are very narrow minded person .U have shown plainly that u think about yourself and not the country .U are a very bad politician.U need to go back to school.God will punish u.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago

What law in Ghana or what provision in the 1992 constitution establishes something called ex-gratia for the do-nothing parliamentarians of Ghana?

• KOBAAH. 11 years ago

KWAKU MANU NKONFEM ASEM YI EYE NYANSASEM PAPA,NANSO AHOOYAA NTI NPPFO DE AYE NNWOM TO.KWAKU MANU SIKA KOOKO BAG BAAKO A WOFA DE KOYEE 208 KAMPAIN NO YETEE.KWAKU MANU KRONFUOR.
    KA WANO TOM.ADIDI NKORAA.KWAKU AWE NGAA.KOOBAAH

• Observer 11 years ago

It is one of your M.Ps.who suggested teachers and doctors that do not appreciate their income can quit their jobs.Why don't you do the same thing,FOOL?How much gratuity does anyone get after 30years plus of service in Ghana f ...

• Kofi Mensah 11 years ago

Sorry but MPs are an arm of government. They approve all the budgets and so if there is no money left in state coffers, its got everything to do with them. Why can't they say others have not got their pay so let us not take o ...

• ANU 11 years ago

Member of Parliament for Dormaa Central, Kwaku Agyemang Manu, no wonder they are all followers of formal president kuffour who gave himself award for stealling Ghanaians.

• Truth 11 years ago

Shame is all I can say.

• banana 11 years ago

let them go on strike too and lets see who will feel any impact...there will be none...that is why doctors and teachers are more important in the society than politicians because when the former go on strike, the ordinary man ...

• AZU NARH 11 years ago

BUT THE DOCTORS AND ORDINARY WORKERS CAN CONTINUE TO GO GY HAND TO MOUTH PANIES,GHANA IS A PLACE OF WONDERFULL PEOPLE.

• kpakpo onukpa 11 years ago

Nonsense, u think ghanains are fools? Who signed a contract with u to be a parliamentarian? I feel for the dormaa ahenkro villagers u represent. This guy came to 6th form at presec Legon looking like his fellow villagers in ...

• GEORGE : TORONTO--ONTARIO 11 years ago

GHANIANS: CAREFULLY NOTE DOWN THE BAD MPS, CAPTURE THEM, TAKE THEM TO COURT, FILTER THEM VERY WELL. YOU WILL FOR SURE IDENTIFY THE WORST ONES LIKE MAHAMA, ASSAD, MUBARK AND OTHERS. JUST KILL THEM ALL TO SAVE THE NATION.

• Kojo 11 years ago

I'm not at all surprised that Agyemang-Manu believes that MPS deserve to be paid thousands of dollars ex gratia every four years. Anyone who knows this man will be familiar with his pomposity, high self-regard and arrogance. ...

• mable 11 years ago

why dont teachers,doctors get ex gratia?all what this mps use this money for is to pay for their 3 wives and numerous girlfriends ,so they shd shut up and contribute towards the upkeep of their community.

• oldman gyasi 11 years ago

Ex gratia is not obligatory but our MPs have twisted and manage it to be as law, and rob the tax-payers money.GRACIAS is spanish word meaning "thank you"for recieving a good service from somebody, and it could be in words of ...

• KWAA 11 years ago

These MPs just do not get it,i wonder why all of them current and former MPs are defending this ex-gratia with tooth and nail.
    It is not the money they are getting which is worrying,but the timing is just wrong.
    How can yo ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Shame unto these educated thieves! You don't think teachers deserve same!

• Agonaba 11 years ago

"AREARS"

• KK_D 11 years ago

Dear Folks,
    How interesting; isn't it? Such are the times, like when these opposing politicians had to take huge car loans for themselves and get plush accommodation and fat salaries, that both sides of the political divide ...

• fritz genius 11 years ago

Idiot mps. Wat work do you do? Foolish people wasting gh's money. U will pay for this. Savages! uneducated literates. Dishonourable fools.

• Kwesi Ocran 11 years ago

Same thieves in different political parties.

• nii 11 years ago

Shut the f***k up

• HONESTNEST GOD IS MY JUDGE 11 years ago

THEY ONLY THINK OF THEIR STOMACH AND NOT THOSE WHO VOTE FOR THEM????? THIEVES IN SHEEP CLOTHING

• BabaUS 11 years ago

Vote them out

• Chief amankwa 11 years ago

Elect a prez and let him rule 4 yrs .
    Elected dictatorship.
    All saving channeled in water,light,housing etc

• Chief amankwa 11 years ago

Ok

• Truth 11 years ago

Assuming an employee loses his/her job due to lack of performance, does the one have to be compensated with a hefty payout? This is nonsense considering that these politicians ammass all the wealth while in office to live on ...

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

YES WE CAN. EX-GRATIA IS ATTRACTING EVERY IDIOT TO SEEK TO BE MP. WITHOUT EX-GRATIA WE WILL GET PATRIOTIC INDIVIDUALS WHO SEEK TO SERVE.

• Tony Dee New York 11 years ago

Well said Mr Kwaku Agyeman Manu, you sit in parliament and pretend you haven't seen the lack of the basic life needs - water, electricity, good roads. health cares facilities, schools for the populace. tell me what good work ...

• mable 11 years ago

you stupid fool when you were security in uk who gave you ex gratia when you left.you villager fool.

• Chris 11 years ago

Iam shocked.. If it comes to democratic looting and banditry of national resources, the thieves from both sides of the political divide unite to commit crime. OH DEMOCRACY,HOW DESTRUCTIVE..?

• ZONGO BOY 11 years ago

BUT YOU CAN DO WITH CORRUPTIONS, MASS DISHONESTY IN OVERSPENDING THE COUNTRY'S PURSE. SADLY WE HAVE SUCH PEOPLE AS MPS. THE REST OF THE SOCIETY CAN NOT ALSO DO AWAY WITH THEIR SHARE. SELFISH MPS.

• NANA KWAKU BROBEY 11 years ago

This is an important issue to be discussed. MP's should be careful on how they us the people's money in the country. the building for their personal use are too much Ghana is moving backwards again and we need people who have ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

The MP's have turned the legislative assembly into a beehive where ex-gratia are made. Apart from paliament house, do you ever know of a place in Ghana where an ex-gratia can come forth?

• Whatever 11 years ago

More like ex gratia is the blood which runs through their veins. 230 human beings can't live without Ex Gratia. Are these humans special people, do they eat in the mid-heavens?

• C'MAN--Fairfax Virginia 11 years ago

A good journalist will not assumed that the readers already know certain facts about what is been reported.Some of us were going through the lines and see which party this honourable MP belongs but nothing.Is he mp for NDC,NP ...

• JIM KELLY (USA) 11 years ago

SOMETIMES,SOME COUNTRIES DO NOT DESERVE DEMOCRATIC GOVERNMENT, BECAUSE ALL IT IS IS THIEVES WHO FIND THEIR WAY TO BAMBOOZLE THE POPULACE INTO VOTING THEM INTO POWER. THESE POLITICIANS HAVE BEEN FIGHTING AGAINST EACH OTHER EX ...

• nana 11 years ago

This is when Mpsagree.God bless Ghana

• KUKRUDU 11 years ago

This IDIOT does NOT live in the real world!!! If he thinks they are NOT well paid, let hin take a trip to our schools to see for himself the pay that these poor hard working and dedicated souls get.
    These MPs are looting th ...

• chiesa 11 years ago

to prevent mp frm having a red account after retiring,i think there should be a law that unless u have a substantive job ,u r not qualified to stand as an mp period.

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Come again, Agyeman Manu.

If you deserve your ex-gratia do the teachers and doctors not also deserve what they are due?

You NPP MPs have chosen to boycott parliamentary proceedings, and yet you
    want to be paid.

Sho ...

• Stop it 11 years ago

Is this man educated? Who in Ghana has no financial problems? people go to bed without a meal and this fool is talking all this garbage about corrupt parliamentarians. Shut the f**8 up jackass!

• ERIC JOE_ USA 11 years ago

look all:-
    these!This MP does not seem to understand something well. He seems to be living in his dreams. Who cares what happens days after MPs are voted off power. Where in the constitutions are the time period of the serv ...

• Kan Na wo 11 years ago

God stay where you are.You will now know people you call law makers turned robbers

• Dr. Sam Jonner- Accra 11 years ago

you are right to cry , how can such a fool be an MP? you see, because he has no confidence in him self, to win agai and again so he is crying of what to eat when the time comes. the time would come because he couled realized ...

• Abeiku Ogoe 11 years ago

Greetings from T'di. Even crocodiles are eating their own eggs,what would they not do to the flesh of the frog 'our own people are killing us by draining the national cake to live luxurious way of life'. People are indeed suf ...

• Wicked, wicked 11 years ago

Is that why everybody wants to be an MP? What shows that you (MPs) love the nation and you are doing a better job? Is it the work of MPs to pay school fees and hospital bills?

• ASANTE 11 years ago

How much is given to other workers who diligently serve the country for over forty years? We have seen you all.

• Kwasi Adarkwah - Sunyani 11 years ago

Do you really understand the word Honourable? I don't think that you do. You are really wicked just like the so called men of God in the country

• the truth 11 years ago

5000Ghs should be enough for all the MPs,doctors teachers farmers ect.they should buy their own petrol and all the things that they need like every body else.they are not better than the rest us.we need some new laws in our n ...

• the truth 11 years ago

no body was born as MP.even if they loose their job at the end of their term,they can go back to what they were doing before.work for the naion.the nation shouldn`t serve you.GOD will speak.

• Kwabena 11 years ago

The soldiers can help us settle this plain thievery.

• Akonoba 2 11 years ago

WHO FORCED YOU TO MAKE THOSE EXPENDITURES. IF YOU POLITICIANS ARE RUNNING THE COUNTRY WELL WHY THOSE EXPENDITURES? PEOPLE STEAL MONIES AND THEY CANNOT EVEN BE PROSECUTED. DO YOU THINK GHANAIANS ARE FOOLS?

• OBRONI 11 years ago

dear members of parlaiment, all over the world there are 196 countries out of which 54 (27,5%) are in africa.
    only 38 countries know ex gratia payments out of which 19 (35%) are (poor) African countries. What a nonsense to g ...

• Kwame 11 years ago

In 1990 the then PNDC strapped End-Of-Service Benefits, which are not contributed to by workers, unlike Social Security And National Insurance Trust. The argument brought forward by the then PNDC was that most state instituti ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 11 years ago

There we go again!! When doctors [who care for the sick and work in the hospitals under hazardous conditions) and teachers who are the moulders of leaders of tomorrow ask for living wages, the "honourable" powers that be in p ...

• Ametsitsi 11 years ago

It appears Mr. Manu has got it all wrong. Nobody is blaming MPs. The point is, if the coffers are dry then all of us must suffer for the dry coffers. But why should MPs be selected and others left out? this is the question.