You are here: HomeNews2013 04 05Article 270033

Prof. Mike Oquaye defends payment of ex-gratia

Read Comments Comments (126)

• Vicky 11 years ago

Yet, another senseless individual, adding salt to the wound.

• Azumah Nelson 11 years ago

This is the only thing both Parties will agree on.

• Senior Doctor 11 years ago

What is the employment rate in Ghana. What percentage of the Ghanaian population earn that amount over ten years? That is a huge some of money for a poor country so please don't give us this rot. After 4 years in government y ...

• MENSAH 11 years ago

If they did a good job then I wouldn't be against such a huge amount they qualify to receive after their four years services to the nation.What I find it worthless is: They are all into the same BRIBERY & CORRUPTION,and do no ...

• POP 11 years ago

IT IS TIME WE SAY GOOD BYE TO THE WHITEMAN SYSTEM AND GO BACK TO OUR ROOTS

• BRUTUS de ROMA 11 years ago

I CANT IMAGINE MIKE OQUAYE WHO PROFESSES ON POLITICAL PLATFORM THAT HE IS PEOPLE CENTRED AND CARING FOR ALL ADVOCATING FOR SUCH A POLICY WHEN WE HAVE PATIENTS SLEEPING ON THE FLOOR IN OUR HOSPITALS? I AM LOST FOR WORDS TO DES ...

• Akua Dansua 11 years ago

Prof Mike Ocquaye you have disappointed me beyond all reasonable doubt. If you a pastor at North Kaneshie or Tesano Baptist Church can justify this THIEVERY under such a STUPID excuse is the most disappointing. I'm very very ...

• TerrblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

GREEDY BASTARDS.

• KWAME APONKYE 11 years ago

FOOLISH MAN AT BEST A THIEF. Were u forced to be an MP? You are not even ashamed for all what u stole as an MP?

• scarecrow 11 years ago

Hmmmm!!!Oquaye and money????

• Ghanaian in the States 11 years ago

This Mike Oquaye guy must really think that all Ghanaians are stupid with his foolish rational for why they should be given such huge sums of money. It is only in a third world nation like Ghana will such stupidity be tolerat ...

He is a bige hypocrate. They are all crooks.

This is the only question i seemed to be asking but so far no one seem to give me an answer. What have they done for mother Ghana to deserve this huge amount?

Ghana is becoming a place where those who do nothing gets the b ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

THE MAN IS NOT QUALIFIED LAWYER. HE UIS NANA ADDO, NANA ADDO DANKWA, AKUFFO ADDO, NANA ADDO DANKWA AKUFFO ADDO. WHAT IS ALL THIS? MEANWHILE, THERE IS GAP IN HIS EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND. SUCH A MAN WANTS TO BE PRESIDENT. IT IS ...

• JH-New York City 11 years ago

If in position of authority they make laws to benefit themselves and a constitution to indemnify their nonsensicals.No one is saying U guys should not be paid your legitimate ex- gracias.But the amount involved should be fair ...

• Paa Sam-NYC 11 years ago

If there is any law stipulating these payments, then we demand that it be looked at again. This is stealing, I agree.
    These abuses by people in authority can only be checked by a vigilant populace ready to scrutinize things.

• Francis 11 years ago

I cannot think of any developed democracy country who pays such amount to civil servants! Certainly not in Britain.

• NPP Cocaine Pusher 11 years ago

President Mahama, you are in proper shit. You better look for money and pay all the striking workers NOW. If the meat is down to the bone, LET US CHEW THE BONES TOO. Are we in an animal farm? Is that animal called democracy p ...

• Nana Ansah 11 years ago

CRYPTOCRACY AND CRONY CAPITALISM IN GHANA. This non-performing ex-minister Oquaye is defending the indefensible. Every 4 years you guys plunder state coffers under the pretext of Article 71. Ghanaians must hold a referendum o ...

• POP 11 years ago

THIS DEMOCRATIC SYSTEM WILL NOT HELP AFRICAS EEXCEPT THE POLITICIANS ALONE NO MATTER WHICH PARTY THE BELONGS

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 11 years ago

I am feeling you vibrantly at the edge of my seat right this minute. In fact, the so-called Article 71 together with so many other infamous ARTICLES in the system needs some serious amendment before Ghana sinks into the abyss ...

DusTY, the beautiful ones are not yet born. I have yet to see any of these MFs excuse my french MPs talk sense since they rewarded themselves with this fat largesse.

All you hear from these MPs are litany of lamentations. ...

• TRUTH 11 years ago

Oh Ghana, this is sickening and disheartening. Are there no right thinking politicians in Ghana? Is there not even one politician who can see what is wrong with this filthy amount to be paid to these greedy politicians?

Ei ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 11 years ago

To all of the confused Sisters and Brothers who call NDC members NKRUMAHISTS, here is clear evidence that they are not. When Samia refused to accept the huge pay increase, she lost her seat in Parliament, President Mills deci ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 11 years ago

The only thing to do is sack all the ruling NDC Government through election.They are rogs and thiefs especially the President.

• Baptist 11 years ago

this is the man who calls him self a pastor, took the bible and sat on metro tv and use all kinds of unprintable words to condemn gays hahaha. go to osu and see his family house that used to be a delapidated one before the ku ...

• POP 11 years ago

POLITICIANS ARE THIEVES

• FOREIGN DONORS 11 years ago

Ghana? You must be joking!

... and let the people reject this amount being paid

Arent you guys satisfied after looting the state? How much do u greedy monkeys want?

• Senior Doctor 11 years ago

Is this the reason for the June 4th revolution where so many innocent Ghanaians lost their lives? Only to be replaced with a bunch of thieves and thugs, who are prepared to burrow money in the name of Ghana and share it among ...

• POP 11 years ago

BIRDS OF THE SAME FEATHERS

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

These fools have closed their hearts and ears to listen to the citizens they are supposed to protect and are just interested to line their pockets with our scarce resources and the only way these idiots called Politicians wil ...

I can feel your pulse. Ghana eye asem oH! "OWUO SISI ANSO AMPA",

• BETTY (LONDON) 11 years ago

LOOK AT HIS MOUTH LIKE A HE-GOAT.

• Ellen 11 years ago

Please you will surely be accountable for insulting people if you never created a human being before .please do comment with insult free not so God will humble you or you want a child like a goat?

• Wiseman 11 years ago

On one expects this crooked idiot who had never made sense to go against this tasteless and reckless decision.

• Kplamasi 11 years ago

my heart always bleed if i remember that this fool was once my lecturer.

• Ras Juvas 11 years ago

We are in the animal farm scenario

• Honesty-the best policy! 11 years ago

What the cheek! You go and beg and cajole the electorate to vote for you to represent them. And at the end of term of the service you begged to be offered you now have the guts to tell them in the face that the service "attra ...

• Akosua Faibille 11 years ago

Why won't he defend the immoral payments? It is chop chop for politicians and he is one of them - a beneficiary of the loot. Does he care about Ghana?

• Observer 11 years ago

These cheats! You dole out huge sums of the people's money as your salaries. Four years later, you dole out whatever you think fit to yourselves as ex-gratia after 4 years of virtually free everything: free petrol, free water ...

• Mr.Objective 11 years ago

You claim you do not recognize Mahama's presidency yet you are more than eager to receive payments from the same illegitimate President. Hypocrites of the highest order.
    Forward Ever!
    Backward Never!!
    There is Victory for ...

• POTO 11 years ago

All Ghanaians know is talk talk without any action. Wake up Ghana and demonstrate against the government

• CARDINAL 11 years ago

My brother or Sister, you aqre right. In any other society, these Politicains would have been lynched like the 'armed robbers' they are stealing with a weapon deadly than the gun, PEN and sending the masses to die in poverty ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

You do not what you are saying wicked adviser.

• Daniel 11 years ago

Calling him a wicked adviser? You are rather a wicked citizen. Meaning that u support what is wrong. Think Woyome is your uncle and as such u find it hard to condemn all wrongs of your NDC members, especially the president. D ...

• Lorgo Ligri 11 years ago

Mike Oquaye must be living in a fools paradise if he thinks politics is a contractual job. You took the risk to fatten your wallet just like any other person changing jobs. When sacked, you don't ask for compensation because ...

• ARIG - USA 11 years ago

This is yet another hypocritical proclivity. When he is benefitting he does not care where it's coming from. Are they not the very people that constantly criticize the government of overspending? Why didn't he advocate for th ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Go to Domi-Kwabenya and you would see a number of huge hotels built by Mike Ocquaye. When a driver pointed them out to me, I was shocked because I know Ocquaye as a poor prof.

• Kwaku A.Danso 11 years ago

Yes! If these politicians were to do honest work, I won't mind paying them. But they use their offices to enrich themselves while in office!
    People should stand up and speak up and demand a change!

• Seth, USA 11 years ago

Ghanaians are very angry .....and instead of the NPP siding with them, these selfish politicians in the party are coming out to defend the unreasonable salary increases. Where then is the difference between NDC and NPP? If th ...

• Hahaah 11 years ago

Sorry it took you so long to figure out that both NDC/NPP are out to fleece Ghana. So all the people jumping around 4 mahama and Nana are all wasting precious time for all are the same. Any boycott from NPP?

• ADAMS U.S. 11 years ago

I PRAY I DAY ANOTHER J.J. WILL COME AGAIN AND I WILL SUPPORT THAT ACTION TAKE A GAN FIGHT FOR MOTHERGHANA, HOW CAN A COMMON MP,GOT MORE PAY,THEN DR,AND TEACHER'S?

• ADABRAKA 11 years ago

Yes say that again, if you are an mp you chose to be. It is not sacrificial job. Let me just keep quiet, what am coming maybe filthy. Gh is colapsed under what we call democracy.

• Akos 11 years ago

THIS IS SO SAD,MY BROTHER TAUGHT FOR FORTY YEARS.THEIR HARD WORK PRODUCED DOCTORS,LAWYERS,MPs ETC ETC YET HE JUST RETIRED WITH ONE TENTH OF WHAT THE MPs GOT AFTER JUST FOUR YEARS IN PARLIAMENT.CLEARLY SOMETHING IS SERIOUSELY ...

• KWAA 11 years ago

Prof, i respect your views a lot,but this time round,i think you are getting it wrong.Ofcourse we all know the burden of MPs and may be they deserve the money they are getting.But,put your shoes in the one of Doctors,Teachers ...

• Senior Aho 11 years ago

There he goes !
    Always like that, them belly full whiles we are hungry. Every 4 years Ex Gratia plus all the perks. Why wont the suffering workers strike?
    Smith Graham I do not envy your position at all. They skim your dry ...

• Akwasi (Lodn) 11 years ago

What a suprise? Another over fed greedy looter/parasite provides pathetic justification for the theivery now emdemic in Ghana. What nonsense? having stolen as much as possible as much as he could as an Mp and minister he thi ...

• CAY 11 years ago

STEALERS

• ed 11 years ago

If these are the kind of leaders we have in this country then God save us. He does not see anything wrong with milking the state coffers of so much money whilst the majority of the poeple on whose back they rode into parliame ...

• John Kpeglo 11 years ago

When it omes to looting, no NPP-NDC noise! Just listen to them speak! They are not ashamed either!

• chief amankwa 11 years ago

if you have something better to do why becomne an mp

• chief amankwa 11 years ago

that is their last ticket meal,
    tehy claim they can have better jobs outside mp .
    its a lie

• Sani 11 years ago

i THOUGHT THIS MAN IS GROWN UP. HE WAS AMONG THOSE THAT REFUSED TO REDUCE THE MONEYS TO BE PAID TO THE MPS WHEN THEY WERE TO RECONSIDER IT BY THE PRESIDENT. WITH ALL YOUR PROF. YOU CANNOT GROW UP.

• MENSAH 11 years ago

TRY AND SEND ALL THE EXPIRED GHANA AMBASSADORS AND HIGH COMISSIONERS HOME,WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR,THE ARE JUST ENJOYING OUR POOR TAX MONEY,WHILE WE DONT EVEN HAVE WATER TO DRINK HERE,THEY EVEN END FAR MORE THAN THE PRESIDENT ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

Passive and arrogant person is the President your co-equal if you do not learn how to address authorities no matter their shot comings whether you believe it or not God will deal with you

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

THIS PROF IS TALKING NONSENSE. WHO MADE BEING AN MP A CAREER? THIS SORT OF MENTALITY IS WHAT HAS MADE PARLIAMENT A RUBBER STAMP -PEOPLE WANT TO BE GOOD GUYS INSTEAD OF FIGHTING THE CAUSE OF THEIR CONSTITUENTS. HE IS A PROFESS ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

Sometimes I laugh over comments just realizing the persons back ground

• Daniel 11 years ago

Ellen, you again. You laugh about one's coments and realizing his backgroung in terms of what? His education or what do u mean exactly? How do u relate Asiedu Nketia's dirty and empty coments to his back ground? Above all wha ...

• Dayan 11 years ago

Why won't papa Ajasco defend the payment of the ex-gratis, when it comes to money, there is no opposition, politicians are all the same, thivies playing the game of musical chairs.

• akura,bronx nyc 11 years ago

go back into the classroom

• Ellen 11 years ago

Another arrogant person.

• DAVID V.K. ARKORFUL 11 years ago

Contract indeed!! Billions of cedis paid to individuals after 4years service.Not to talk about fat salaries, Car loans,rent advances,free utilities etc
    Ghanaians were excited about the oil find.The reason being that proceed ...

• B-WISE 11 years ago

How much is a teacher's ANNUAL SALARY?

• P. W. Awuley 11 years ago

That is why we concerned members of AFAG plan to lead the demo to parliament house and the presidency against these unreasonable ESBs and other emoluments. The blood can flow again without Rawlings.!!!

• TROUBLE-MAKER 11 years ago

These are criminals calling themselves MP`s. As an elected MP your obligation is to see to it that Ghananians benefit from the government and NOT stupid useless MP`s.
    This ugly looking modafucker is one heartless fucking ind ...

• BabaUS 11 years ago

He is not fit to comment as he is just as dirty as all the rest. Traitors

• Whatever 11 years ago

FCUBE was a constitutional obligation which should have been implemented before 2002 yet FCUBE is still a mirage till date. Is Ex-Gratia payment more important than FCUBE? Are you managing Ghana's resources in trust of the pe ...

• nii 11 years ago

SHUT THE F**K UP

• Rastero 11 years ago

Where are the Achebes who risked their lives to satirize these political vultures with wits in the post colonial era?

It's time we revolted against these barons of incompetence and swivel chair loafers. Let's all and sundr ...

• SULE 11 years ago

YOU CAN LIVE AND WORK IN U.S. FOR 20 YEARS AND WILL NOT MAKE EVEN $200,000.00.YET, A COMMON POLITICIAN IN GHANA CAN EASILY MAKE OVER $ 276,000.00 IN ADDITION TO MONTHLY ALLOWANCE PLUS HOUSING BENEFITS AND OTHER SIDE DEALS. TH ...

• Strike 11 years ago

Our so-called academicians are pathetic indeed. They have sold their conscience to the devil and argue like illiterates. How can a whole professor justify this huge payments to MPs in the midst of abject poverty of millions o ...

• joe 11 years ago

the only time those stinking-stealing-foolish-boycotting npp mps agree with the govt is when money is being pumped into their filthy mouths. ppl like ken agyapon would also get some of the booty. for what job done?? may heave ...

• joejoe 11 years ago

I have lost all respect for prof.

• KANAWU 11 years ago

THE DAY WILL BE COMING WHEN THESE GREEDY BASTARD POLITICIANS WILL RUN AWAY AND LEAVE THEIR SANDALS BEHIND.THE ILL-GOTTEN WEALTH WILL TURN INTO GRAVELS IN THEIR MOUTHS.

• L'Osservatore Ghanaiensis 11 years ago

When is that day coming?

• ADABRAKA 11 years ago

When JJ ran Gh for 12 years without democracy, rural electrification and roads are done quick and fast and more efficient and durable. Now MPs boycott every development projects whiles they dont even argue about their ex- gra ...

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

THIS IS THE MAN WHO WAS RECALED BACK AS GHANAS AMBASSADOR TO INDIA,BUT HAD HIMSELF PAID AS AN AMBASSADOR WHILE IN THE COUNTRY AS MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT.

WHAT WILL YOU EXPECT BETTER FROM THIS MAN WHO CHEATED THE NATION TO SAY ...

• Joojo, Sask, Canada 11 years ago

Some of the comments here blame the level of corruption on the so-called "whiteman's system". The whiteman's system works well in most democracies of the world---with very good healthcare, educational systems, etc. Before Gha ...

• God bless THE PREZ 11 years ago

lets say this monies is going to paid to the layman this mps are heartless when its them its ok when its other it bad and evil

• Akrofi Armah 11 years ago

This is yet another glaring pointer to the fact that all our politicians have lost the plot and are out of touch with the realities of life in Ghana. If this argument was coming from any other person, I would have understood. ...

• naa ma 11 years ago

this is a shame.being an mp means you love your people and are willing to serve and work for them. not to make profit of them.people of ghana wise up.these mps are getting rich of you.all they care is their belly.GOD HELP US.

• D.K 11 years ago

oh i see ,a contract indeed the other workers of Ghana u hear hmmmmm.

• ABUGA 11 years ago

The former Energy Minister in the Kufuor administration said unlike a long term job, being an MP was a short term contract, renewable at the whim of the electorate, and therefore attracted higher compensation due to the risk ...

• WILLIE 11 years ago

THERE ARE OPPORTUNITIES FOR SERIOUS PEOPLE TO TRAVEL TO THE USA AND AUSTRALIA. INTERESTED PEOPLE SHOULD CALL WILLIE ON 0249318847 FOR FURTHER INFO. NO PAYMENT WOULD BE MADE TILL VISA IS SECURED. THANKS.

• Kweku Mansah. 11 years ago

Listen to Papa Ajasko. He is always greedy and would remain a selfish and greedy old man.

• couropt 11 years ago

c dis monkey ghana 4 take am go zoo

• Sam 11 years ago

This is outrageous! These politicians are not there for the people & country only looking after themselves. Unfair & unpatriotic!!

• tricia 11 years ago

If the govt can pay this money to MPs after 4 year term, why cant we give our children free education from basic to secondary school? Ghanaian policy makers are very interesting people!

• Kan Na wo 11 years ago

You have forgotten life at Legon so soon and ask yourself how much Profs.Afrifa etc. take home as end of service and how much Okodzatos and others who have just started work will take home for for years as benifit.Is unfair ...

• Pee 11 years ago

look at this old fool and his senseless rantings. Aboa bi kwa

• Adjoa Msreyame 11 years ago

With a straight face??

• Kwaku A.Danso 11 years ago

Prof. Ocquaye should tell us what they did for the people of Ghana!
    When as Minister of energy underpaid engineers were resigning he said the problem was that of the devil and Ghanaians should pray.
    Is that the kind of ...

• Adjoa Msreyame 11 years ago

People make choices in life. A teacher quits teaching and goes into politics, gets elected, serves 4 years and looses re-election. The people have to cough up 276,000 cedis as compensation for the loss? If she won re-election ...

• Ofui 11 years ago

God punish all you lot

• Animal Farm 11 years ago

JJ where are you. MPs are people you should have killed

• venom 11 years ago

Contract indeed Mike!!. To be a legislature is a choice made by self to serve your constituent through healthy debate on national issues. By so doing you intend to invest time and energy on bills that will better serve the in ...

• oga yum yum 11 years ago

IDIOT

• GHANA YOUTH NEW YORK 11 years ago

Mahama has really disappointed the world.

• Ruth 11 years ago

Dear Ghana, I weep for you.

• TA USA 11 years ago

Mike Oquaye everyone knows your height of greed for money. Let me correct you, Member of parliament Job is not a contract, it is a mandate. To be honest with Ghanaians the crop of M P's we have are not Legislators but bunch o ...

• Akwadaa Swiss. 11 years ago

SUCH HEARTLESS IDIOTS WLD FOREVER "HI-JACK" DE COUNTRY INTO A "CIVIL WAR" BCOS OF THIER GREED AND EXREME LOVE OF MONEY.SELFISH-POLITICIANS! PLS DONT DIE FOR A PARTY BETTER FIGHT FOR GHANA.

• mante yaw, kumasi 11 years ago

THIS CALLS 4 COUP DETAT. THIS IS SAD.

• BRAVEBOY 11 years ago

The way the NPP members have handled this issues should let those hardworking people who blindly follow them to do a good rethink. They actually believe they are born with a natural entitlement.

• Watchman 11 years ago

I shudder to ask what has gone wrong with common sense in Ghana? My question is not based on hatred? How can Ghana justify paying a teacher a mere Ghc3000 after serving 25 years? Something has terribly gone wrong in Ghana.

This is just one of the many wrongs in Ghana today. All what is going on in Ghana now is Politicians not agreeing on anything to move the country forward, and people in authority stealing money from the tax payer

• ERIC 11 years ago

FOOLISH ANIMAL . THEN WHY ARE U SAYING THAT MAHAMA DID NOT WIN???

Dosen't the government pay these MP's monthly salaries while in office? Why should they get all this extra cash just for serving the nation for four years. Nobody forced them to ran for Parliament in the first place anyway. T ...

• FRANCIS ADDO 11 years ago

The Hon Prof. is demeaning the contribution of all public officers, especially public servants, to the economy of Ghana. Even if the job of an MP is a short term contract renewable by the pleasure of the electorate, it is als ...

This is a despicable arrogance of the part of people elected into Parliament. Is there any wonder that these law makers can not see or do anything, by way of enacting laws, to curtail corruption in Government? They won't do i ...

• mike 11 years ago

okay, now it is time for Ghanaians to wake up. This is just ridiculous. Who makes such an amount over a period of four years?? These are the very things that throws a country into chaos, anarchy and troubles. Let us watch and ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 11 years ago

You brothers still want to insult each other over these petty bourgeois elitist NDC&NPP politrickcians? Just read the callous sentuments of this Pronoun. Capitalism have really destroyed the moral fibre of Ghanaian politician ...

• catee93 11 years ago

LORD HAVE MERCY!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

What do you expect from this pigmy?I don`t know how he became a Prof. with this sort of mentality!The majority of Ghanaians are suffering and very poor!There are many industrial unrests due to nonpayment of arrears but this p ...

• Paa Sam - NYC 11 years ago

Ghana has had a history of individuals, trained and educated at the expense of the taxpayer, using their expertise and training not to advance or improve the lot of the country and the unfortunate Ghanaians but to amass wealt ...