You are here: HomeNews2013 04 05Article 270011

COMMENT: Is any MP worth GHS200,000? Not likely...

Read Comments Comments (88)

• Think Tank 11 years ago

This government really has lost her mind. They do not think and would destroy Ghana.

• Ellen 11 years ago

Please learn how to address issues with insult free

• preman 11 years ago

may the great God save ghana and poor ghanaians from bad governance and greedy politicians!

• Don Blunt 11 years ago

Leave God out of this.
    People deserve the government they themselves in their right senses elect to rule over them.

Ghanaians are not able to learn from mistakes and/or history. But a dog will not permit you to twice st ...

• Sappey Agbo, alagbokope 11 years ago

@ Don Blunt, this particular issue has nothing to do with the executive. All over the world, it's only MPs (Legislature) that meet and decide their own salary.It has nothing at all to do with the party in power. Africa is ver ...

• Senior Doctor 11 years ago

Se what you are doing to mother Ghana.Looting all its resources and paying yourselves huge sums of money. For what? Going around begging for loans? Only for you to drive big cars, build huge mansions and surround yourselves w ...

• JATO 11 years ago

Ama Scandals in Ghana did not start from Kufuor's gov't.We must be very Careful NOT to forget Maybey and Johnsonsaga under J.J.Rawlings ect.

• KWAME 11 years ago

NOW THE GAME HAS CHANGED:

• BEB 11 years ago

NO MORE OPPPOSITION FOR THE POOR FIRST

• Kwame Dokyi 11 years ago

This money is not a largesse being dished out by the government on a silver platter to the “Retired” MP’s; it is a constitutional matter and NDC did not write the constitution! The fact to be considered is: Should the c ...

• KWAME 11 years ago

THE GAME HAS CHANGED

• BEB 11 years ago

HMMMMMMMMMMM

• Blessings 11 years ago

Don Blunt, kindly leave Mahama out of this; it was reported in the media that much like President Mills, President Mahama also tried to oppose the ex-gratia, but the parliament overrode him and passed the bill for the disburs ...

• Cindy 11 years ago

$200,000 for laziness and incompetency? These people are arrogant, selfish, merciless, greedy, corrupt, self-serving and power hungry. They continue to indulge in a reckless game of financial profligacy. While they all show s ...

• Apraku 11 years ago

I've said that before and will continue to say that Ghanaians are unpatriotic.
    These carlos parliamentarians must emulate what Obama has shown to America. Greedy Bastards

• Nana Ansah 11 years ago

In Ghana everything is shrouded in secrecy due to sinister forces and powers in disguise. For the love of money they (NDC and NPP) condone and connive. It has become crony capitalism and has nothing to do with party politics. ...

• watch out 11 years ago

it is only in Africa(Ghana) that MP enjoy the most, have to naturalize again to enjoy in Ghana.
    do speak in parliament
    do nothing for the 4 years
    yet are the most paid,wow.

• Kwame Dokyi 11 years ago

Politics in Ghana is a 419 business; not the ambition of capable individuals who have the nation at heart and are dedicated to advancing the cause of improving the lives of their constituents, and moving the nation forward on ...

• Titi 11 years ago

Excellent post Cindy. They're indeed coldhearted thugs!

• Think Tank 11 years ago

Ellen I am sorry - I am just mad at the unfair that is taking place in Ghana.
    So how about the farmer? What does the farmer get when he/she retires?

• Ankamah Duah 11 years ago

why,lecturers, pharmacists,GNAT,GNAGRAT are on strike. and our politicians can only think of their selfish stomachs,they do not think of the future of the country and the people

• Honesty-the best policy! 11 years ago

THE PAYMENT IS IMMORAL!

• Abass manchester 11 years ago

The youth are suffering no job for them most of them are now arm robbers its not their fort.Mahama use our money wisely else,why giving corrupts mps such amount because you mahama you are also a thief God will judge you and t ...

• Nana 11 years ago

Ama, you are right. Some of them don't deserve their salaries let alone ex-gratia

• Ellen 11 years ago

A good workmanship needs rewards both here and over there. The Government has the power to implement what is needed but those who cheat the Nation of not doing their work conscience will judge them if they really have a liv ...

• John Dranima Mahani 11 years ago

Hmmmm. That's our priority. Gov't has 47million for only 230 MPs but can't give 10million to 2000 lecturers

• Proud Pepeman. 11 years ago

TO STOP THIS LOOTING WE THE PEOPLE MUST STAND UP TO DEFEND OUR DEMOCRACY BY SAYING THAT THIS IS NOT CORRECT AND PROTESTING TILL IT CHANGES. THE SYSTEM HAS BEEN SET UP TO LET MPS DO WHAT THEY WANT. THESE SO CALL EWURA AMA COMM ...

• OBIBA-JUDAS 11 years ago

DONT CRY WOLF GHANAIANS>NO COMPETENT PEOPLE IN NDC.

• LABITO 11 years ago

I DON'T THINK OUR MP'S HAVE THE COUNTRY AT HEART,BECAUSE IF WE DON'T HAVE MONEY TO MAINTAIN OUR HOSPITALS AND ROADS WHY TAKE SUCH AMOUNT ON PEOPLE WHO HAVE NOTHING TO SHOW.

• Kk3 11 years ago

E hard ooh Ghana! Why are your so called leaders begging for uprisings? This reckless abandon of stealing and hopelessness will stop either through good governance or anarchy but it will stop.

• Iddi Maltiti 11 years ago

I feel so sad that government has left us ( GETFund sponsored students) to suffer in a harsh and strange countries like Uk, Finland etc whilst it doles out huge sums of moneys as exgratia to MP in addition to huge salaries, c ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

Sometimes you may not understand the steps taken by the Governance but I hope time will tell, When the woman in the Bible anointed Jesus feet with the costly perfume the Disciple of Jesus Christ also complained but at the ...

• jayjay 11 years ago

so ur party sent you to study abroad eh? did u merit that opportunity? ask urself in all sincerity if the criteria for choosing u over other Ghanaians to go and study abroad was free and fair. otwea!

• DR. KWAME NKRUMAH 11 years ago

OH MY GHANA!!!

• GENERAL DeGAULE 11 years ago

All we get is pointless arguments that hardly constitute edifying intellectual debate. Very little by way of substantive and beneficial legislation gets passed. Our land administration system is one shambolic free for all, g ...

• Kweku Ansah 11 years ago

To add insult to injury, we call them honourable so and so

• Ellen 11 years ago

Please relax when Judah Iscariot betrayed Jesus did he use the money collected?

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Definitely not most of the NDC MP's cannot make that money in 4yrs,if they should try other jobs apart from politics.The likes of ET Mensah,Sammy Okujetu,Nii Lante Vanderpuije,Mubarrak,Hannah Bisiw,Fiffi Kwettey etc can't mak ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

Agreed but know that politics is a very risky position with insults from even those who are aimless, undisciplined, arrogant Citizens

• DRILIX BELGIUM 11 years ago

WHAT AM I HEARING, WHAT IS HE ACTUAL WORKS OF THE MP, SEAT IN PARLIAMENT AND SAY YOOYOO TO STUPID ISSUES?
    I HAVE NEVER SEE MY MP SPEAK IN PARLIAMENT FOR MANY YEARS I WAS IN GHANA, YET HIS GETTING PAID FOR NOTHING DONE,
    THE ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

Ghana can never, never be cursed I refused that statement. No matter what good work some people performed because of envy it will be over looked. Let Administration speaks.

• shamu 11 years ago

If there is any MP` that do not worth a penny or pesewa, then that Ghanaians MP. They are corrupt, they are wicked, they are in-human. They are the most disgrace people I have never seen.

• ANNA 11 years ago

magine half of the woyome money being shared with the whole population of Ghana of 25 million people????

OVERNIGHT EVERYONE of the THE 25 MILLION GHANAIANS IS A MILLIONNAIRE.
    CAN YOU IMAGINE WHAT THIS WILL DO THE ECONOMY ...

• Big mouth 11 years ago

And what about the money from Kufour and Family?

• BUSINESS DEVELOPER 11 years ago

I dont understand why former mps should be paid 20 00000 for their services rendered to the state which to me is not needed and necessary anyway to the state ,more often than not most of these mps are absent in parliament o ...

• DONDOLI 11 years ago

When you say MPs pay doesnt include those working in his office or only for him.
    Do the government pay for his office workers and how much.
    No MP should get more pay than a teacher, why should they was it the people who dec ...

• Nurudeen D 11 years ago

GH¢200,000.00 as reward for causing financial loss to the state, deceiving the nation and misappropriation of public fund. That is rewarding enough....Mahama! i am disappointed in you..

• CAPT.NUAMAH.APRAMDO.TKDI. 11 years ago

WE SHALL OVERHAUL THE NDC GOVEMENT VERY SOON>

• Kobena 11 years ago

No MP in Ghana's rubber stamp Parliament deserves 100 cedis payment. What did they do in four years for the benefit of the average Ghanaian taxpayer?
    Cry the beloved country!

• Objective! 11 years ago

Yes, that's a woping 2,000,000,000 cedis. They don't merit it!

• Objective! 11 years ago

And they take bribes too.

• ALFA 11 years ago

DOES OUR PARLIAMENT MAKE LAWS? I DOUBT BECAUSE ALMOST ALL WAYS ORIGINATE FROM THE EXECUTIVE. PARLIAMENT ONLY "TALKS" ABOUT IT AND WHEN THE RULING PARTY HAS A MAJORITY, THERE IS NO WAY ANY BILL SENT TO PARLIAMENT WOULD FAIL. S ...

• Dr 11 years ago

Any idiot can be an MP.It takes time money and precision to train a doctor and yet what do hear from MPs.They are law makers,so.....Change is coming soon.Politicians watch out.Democracy has failed us.

• Ras Juvas 11 years ago

ALL IN THE NAME OF DEMOCRACY. DEMOCRACY MY FOOT

• The ABiggie 11 years ago

We need to ask ourselves where most of the money is going. Mostly to NDC ex and sitting parliamentarians. We are reliably informed that a window was opened to enable them use the ex gratia awards as collateral security for hu ...

• sowee 11 years ago

God have mercy. 2 billion old gh. why ?

• john & Evans 11 years ago

This is mind-blowing! MPs, in all this what have you done to improve your local districts.

• clarence cudjoe 11 years ago

ARE YOU SURE OF WHAT YOU ARE SAYING AND THAT YOU REALLY KNOW THE PEOPLE WHO COLLECT HUMAN EXCRETA??? WELL LET ME PUT IT THIS WAY. AS AN MP, YOU WEAR SUITS, SMOCK, JALABIA GOOD HOSPITAL TREATMENTS SOMETIMES YOU GOM ABROAD FOR ...

• Accra Resident 11 years ago

Ghanaians should stage massive boycotts and strikes to force this insensitive Govt to hcome down to earth. Everyone deserves fair wages for his/her work. Being an MP should be a privilege to serve the people not a get rich qu ...

• Senior Wisdom 11 years ago

Is that all democracy has for Ghana. To produce millionaires who rip the country of all it's resources. Day after day we have money being paid to politicians and their cronies, the national debt climbing and the quality of li ...

• L'Osservatore Ghanaiensis 11 years ago

THE MPs DO NOT DESERVE THIS BUT WILL CONTINUE TO COLLECT AS LONG AS THE FOOLISH PEOPLE OF GHANA ALLOW THEM, ON TOP OF THEIR SALARIES AND OTHERS. WONT YOU IF YOU WERE ONE OF THEM? SOMETIMES VIOLENCE IS THE ANSWER TO SOME PROBL ...

• sabaato 11 years ago

am really disappointed and sad as a Ghanaian. I want to resign as a Ghanaian. Infact I quit

• L'Osservatore Ghanaiensis 11 years ago

Before you quit and become a coward, organize yourselves and present your petition to the government to rescind this decision. If that does not work, take the law into your hands and start killing them, starting with Mahama. ...

• original 11 years ago

mps should be careful otherwise ghana will burn one day

• GHANA YOUTH NEW YORK 11 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WITH GHANA. 5 OUT 10 PEOPLE COME FROM A LARGE AREA WHERE THERE ARE NO GOOD DRINKING WATER. 2 EX MPS MONEY CAN PROVIDE GOOD DRINKING WATER FOR OVER 1,000 FOLKS. SO HOW BLIND IS MAHAMA GOV TO GIVE THIS MONIES TO E ...

• Nana A. 11 years ago

As someone who has lived outside our great nation and with a clear basis for comparison, I'am amazed about how much money MP's think they deserve. Look, ex-gracia is supposed to thank these guys for their work but elsewhere ...

• chief amankwa 11 years ago

i think they are bunch thieves in an hen coupe

• chief amankwa 11 years ago

mahama is full of himself ..chats rubbish

• Abena 11 years ago

Not a single one of them. Our street, roads, water, electricity and our education system are all in shambles and yet they sit in parliament and debate and talk and talk and no action. And yet they get this huge sums of money, ...

• Lorgo Ligri 11 years ago

Let all these MPs go back to their constituencies and let people there decide if they actually deserve this so called ex-gratia payments. My guess is that, most of them will end up being canned in public.

• Edmondo 11 years ago

Huuuuuuuum. Ghana is a country with a hungry, greedy, arrogant and bad leaders.Can we all copy or study Jesus christ. Ghanaians MPs /Leaders want to kill us .Bear in mind, we are not fool.

• WISEMAN 11 years ago

ALL GHANAIANS CAN DO IS TALK AND WRITE BIG, BUT WHEN IT COMES TO COMMON SENSE THEY FALL SHORT. WHY CANT GHANAIANS, BACK WHAT THEY WRITE ABOUT THE GOVT. BEING INSENTIVE TO THE PLIGHT OF THE ORDINARY GHANAIANS, ORGANIZING THE V ...

• Ghana 11 years ago

They are not brave enough. Keeping people ignorant and the government can do whatever they want.

• martin otoo 11 years ago

Thank u very much for such a nice article i dont think our MPs deserves such an amount and it will be a shameful on the part of the goverment to such an amount to such unproductive MPs whiles poor ghana railway workers will h ...

• A.T. 11 years ago

I am shocked that Ghanaians are not in the streets already! How on earth can a nation's leaders STEAL in broad daylight like this? Do we really know what is happening? There is no advanced economy where the lawmakers make mor ...

• Titugri 11 years ago

In every place that I have worked, the employers give pay raises and bonuses based on performance of each individual employee. The MPs in Ghana are the employees of the citizens of Ghana and therefore their salaries and benef ...

• XIANG FENG 11 years ago

FOOLISH GHANAIANS, YOU ARE ALL VERY SILLY AND STUPID. YOU GIVE THIS HUGE SUM TO THIS CRAZY LEADERS OF YOURS WHO DOESNT CARE ABOUT THE NUMBER OF POOR LITTLE KIDS WHO DIE AT BIRTH AND BY THE MERCIES OF STRANGE DISEASE? ARE YOU ...

• EU, Sweden, UK, Germany..... 11 years ago

Ghanaians/ the black man is not willing to learn period.
    No politician in Europe would accept this kind of money especially after work not well done. Obama is giving back part of his pay.
    No brains, no development.

• Luau 11 years ago

You're pretending to be a Chinese by insulting your own black race abi? Hurled the insult at the appropriate people who continue to oppress the poor.

• EU, Sweden, UK, Germany..... 11 years ago

Whoever it is he is right. Stop pretending wrongs are right. The government is supposed to work for its people.

• Oga 11 years ago

They don't deserve a pesewa...if they are really there to serve our dear nation,then they shouldn't misuse the tax payers money..but if they are the to enrich their selves,go on in the name of NDC and NPP

• Francis 11 years ago

UTAG, NAGRAT, GNAT and all the workers in Ghana must be paid Ex-gratia so that we can abolish the SSNIT pension scheme. These are serious louters and theives, highly secadecious group of people.What laws do they make? Laws fo ...

• abongo 11 years ago

230 woyomes

• Theophilus Acquaye 11 years ago

Ghanaians get the leaders they deserve, the Ghanaian just votes for a party because of ethnic affiliation; common sense is out of the window.
    What really scares me about the Ghanaian mentality is that a poor worker making a ...

• boy 11 years ago

That FWSC man and the parliamentarians should each attempt to become doctors for the rest of their lives and we will see how many will end the first year. Idiots deciding for brains. funny

• Sulamana 11 years ago

THis is the reason for coups in Ghana. Insensitive rulers, greedy politicians, looting of state coffers, denigrating other professions, etc etc. Why won't a soldier pick up a gun to end it all?

• cheap backlinks 9 years ago

9TGhCw Thanks-a-mundo for the article.Much thanks again.

• crorkz 9 years ago

naiKHy Major thankies for the blog article.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.