You are here: HomeNews2013 04 03Article 269813

Mahama sets bad example by paying tax late - Kwesi Pratt

Read Comments Comments (89)

• SENSE PREFECT 11 years ago

KWESI, HAVE U AND YOUR JOURNALIST FRIENDS AND ENEMIES PAID YOURS?
    WHEN DID YOU GUYS PAY YOURS?
    KAKRA BIARA NSUA.
    IT IS BETTER LATE THAN NEVER.

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...

• ATSU, HO 11 years ago

KWASI PRATT IS ALWAYS RIGHT AND EVERY ONE ELSE IS WRONG. WHO DOES HE THINK HE IS. IT IS BETTER LATE THAN NEVER

• loi 11 years ago

THIS GUY ALONE WILL DIRECT MAHAMA GOVT TO RIGHT LINE

• PNDC 11 years ago

You should be asking the president who doe he thin to file his taxes late and did he pay the 10% late filing charges? Kwesi Pratt is right on this issue. Why do we want to bend the rules if it had been a poor or an ordinary p ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

"IT IS ONLY A FOOL, WHO ALLOWS HIS TESTICLES TO BE STEPPED ON TWICE"-------GO OUT THERE AND RECEIVE YOUR REWARD, ALL GHANAIANS. GO AND PAY THE PRICE FOR YOUR FOOLISHNESS. YOU DON'T GIVE A SECOND MANDATE TO AN INCOMPETENT AND ...

• EDJUMA DJAN 11 years ago

KWESI PRATT GO WAY YOU. OF LATE YOU ARE TALKING TOO MUCH. DO YOU ALSO HAVE DENTURES?

• fulani 11 years ago

Is this acually whorth knowing whether Pres. paying his tax, aferall they'll steal it back DOUBLE DOUBLE.

Is this man a free man, is he not the one's spying on ghana for cia. Wikilings has it on their website....

• Ntifol Kpaana 11 years ago

This man whose teeth is like a grader will criticize everything. Kwesi Rat have you head the saying that better late than never?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Akwasi who always want to be heard. are there laws about filing taxes in the country? Did the president not file within the time frame? We are tired of you.

• loi 11 years ago

ONLY KWESI PRATT IS WEALTH MORE BETTER OPPOSITION THAN THE WHOLE NPP MINISTER

• regor 11 years ago

The question posed is not a relevant one.What matters is the sitting president set a bad example.

• INTERGRITY 11 years ago

Only on this one I do agree with Kwesi Pratt.

• CAPE-COAST BOY 11 years ago

KWESI PRATT,U RIGHT ABOUT THAT

• Kay 11 years ago

Kwasi Pratt is perfectly right on this occasion,where was the advisers of the president?Those professors and the doctors in the flag staff house should let us feel the usefulness of their certificates.

• JOHNSON 11 years ago

RIGHT. THE PRESIDENT IS LATE AND BLA...BLA...BLA, AGAIN AND AGAIN FROM THIS VUVUZELA CALLED KWESI PRATTLE PRAT, OF MODERN GHANA POLITICS.COM.

NOW ITS YOUR OWN TURN TO FILE YOURS:

AT LEAST, JOHN MAHAMA HAS DECLARED AL ...

• KOO GUY 11 years ago

But Uncle Kwesi, it said "It is better Late than non".May be his busy schedules as President might have taken him out during the deadline period. He can be forgiven, but what about those who did not file at all. I think His E ...

• ABU OKYEMAN .KYEBI 11 years ago

IDIOT.THE PRESIDENT HAVE HIS OWN ACCOUNTANT AND FINACIAL SECTS. WHAT WERE THEY DOING .WHAT APPLAUSE FOOLISH MAN (KOO GUY)

• SENSE PREFECT 11 years ago

ALL THIS PLENTY TALK. WHY DO WE NOT HEAR ABOUT THOSE WHO HAVE PAID THEIRS?
    WHO ELSE HAS PAID HIS OR HERS? HAVE ALL THE ASPIRING PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATES etc. PAID?
    ADUSEI AND HIS STRIKING DOCTORS, HAVE THEY PAID? AFTER ALL A ...

• Akua Dansua 11 years ago

So can the same principle apply to me? Can I pay my taxes on April 24th because 'it's better late than never'?Will the GRA be justified in charging me the 10% penalty then? Why do Ghanaians always want to justify the breaking ...

• Shakara 11 years ago

it is not compulsory for u to say anything if u have nothing to say. the same tax laws say that u could arrange with the GRA for an extension. why is mr Pratt, a man i respect so much getting petty these days? 29th,30th, and ...

• william 11 years ago

The name of the game is 'seek ye continued political and social relevance, including opening your mouth at the least opportunity, lest ye be left behind in fast evolving Ghana'. He is does not want to be 'marginalised'!!! Hap ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 11 years ago

Kwesi, I sincerely hope this clarifies your dilemma.

• Ellen 11 years ago

It is good to criticize positively but people think they know it all which is wrong

ANOTHER IDIOT THE QUESTION IS YOUR ROLLING STONE PRESIDENT DID OR DID NOT ASK FOR EXTENTION .MOTHER FUCKER YOU ARE .

How did you know that JDM sought extension from GRA? If so, why didn't he feel it necessary to address that in his interview or he didn't have the foresight to know that people will wonder about that? So didn't JDM know those ...

• DKB 11 years ago

Well done Akua. When a whole president is displaying gross indiscipline, some knuckle heads fail to see for the sake of following political parties foolishly.

• Mr. Oushuuuuu 11 years ago

Kwesi should hear Kweku Baako on peace fm now.What i have to add is this,the last working day of the month of march was not 31st of March 2013.

• kk 11 years ago

Another Ghanaian tomorrow he will say the last working days of 2013 is not December 31

• kk 11 years ago

MR mahama has show that he is the president of Ghana but not Germany. This is a real Ghanaian attitude we always does everything

• fredsaid 11 years ago

and keep the conscience of the country alive by kicking arse politically when there is a need to do so. Most Ghanaians are cowards and follow ndc ministers by calling a cow a goat and black white befudging the truth and sett ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

You are also among let us repent and do the right thing thanks

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 11 years ago

All Mahama did was a complete political counter productive and shambolic of cosmetic demonstration of a suppose "President".

The laws of the land does not necessarily demand tax returns from a sitting President but strong ...

• LEAVE MAHAMA ALONE 11 years ago

U DEMON

• Mina 11 years ago

NDC why are you scared of the truth?I don't understand,and you expect the westing world to take you serious ?forget it.

• KK 11 years ago

Please Kwesi from 29th March to 1st April 2013 was a holiday the next available time is the Tuesday 2nd April which the President went there to file his tax returns. I support Mahama on this one Please.

No offense committe ...

• kk 11 years ago

Another Ghanaian if 29th march is holiday Mr mahama have to get it done before 29th march but not this month

• Nas 11 years ago

Is honouring your tax payment the first quarter of the yesr s bsd example for thr ghanaian public ? Just give us a break.

• Objectiveman 11 years ago

Guys lets grow up. What is wrong with what kwesi pratt has said. could the president not have done it earlier. or have acknowledge I was late but i added and explanation.

• Shakara 11 years ago

Mr Pratt is becoming lazy. dont know whether he did not listen to the prez or is just shear mischief as usual. mahana indicated in previous yrs asked ppl to file on his behalf but wanted to do this one as a symbolic gesture, ...

• Kwame Dokyi 11 years ago

I wonder why Kwasi is unnecessarily pattering, (meaningless empty chatter), in such a vicious witch hunting expedition on the president. There was a gap between 29th March and 2nd April, if the filing date is, technically, an ...

• Justice Kpegah 11 years ago

Ah so when will we stop defending wrong? So do you mean to tell me that JDM in his wisdom did not know that the 29th-31st March was a holiday/weekend and by virtue of the deadline he had to do it by the 28th? So can I also go ...

• Kwame Dokyi 11 years ago

Kwesi Pratt jumped the gun! He should have found out from the Tax office if the president wrote to them about filing late, which he did!! Find out yourself !!!!

• KoJo Dziworwu, Toronto Canada 11 years ago

Come on my people.If this what we are going to handle our affairs, then we shaould forget it.Why do we even have parliament to pass laws if we are not going t obey or enforce them.
    Is the president going to sanction for fili ...

• sylvester 11 years ago

if the regulation says filling of tax returns is at the end of the month,29th march through to 1st April was holiday how would the president have filled his tax on holiday

• KOFIKOFI 11 years ago

YOU ARE CURRENT,LET KWASI LEARN ABOUR THIS.

• Kofi Amankwaa, London 11 years ago

Sylvester,

The President could have show cased his empty gesture long before the obligatory deadline. All that he advertisied was his show of incompetence mishandling his own PR stunt!!!! He appears mired in constant contr ...

• DKB 11 years ago

So he should have filed it on the 28th which is the last working day of March. That is how the regulation works. Maybe Ghanaians need education on tax issue. So assuming the end of March was a Sunday, will you wait until Mond ...

Thank you DKB for enlightening Sylvester and likeminded people and being a voice of reason and common sense.

• Justice Kpegah 11 years ago

In the US one is supposed to file his/her taxes by the 15th of April unless one applies for an extension prior to that which has to be reviewed and approved, and is always for reasons that the IRS deems sensible and reasonabl ...

• DKB 11 years ago

Don't mind those knob heads, leave them to wallow in their stupidity. A whole president can't even file his taxes on time, if this is something he claims to do every year, then he should be familiar with the tax rules and sh ...

• Mina 11 years ago

What prevented him from filing earlier?it would have saved him from this controvercy,and you people must stop being the president's spokepersons.

• talor 11 years ago

oh kwasi why u want attack mahama like that,we shall descend on u heavily cause we like you but if?

• Mina 11 years ago

Stupid talk,you people think Mahama is God? Even Obama who is ruling the world's supper power with more than 300million people is being criticised ,how much more a third world president with about 25mill. And the size of Oreg ...

• HOW PAID ON WOYOMEH-LOOT 11 years ago

THE MOST CORRUPT PRESIDENT SINCE DR, KWAME NKRUMAH

• Ellen 11 years ago

Self righteous Citizen.

• Kofi 11 years ago

Shame Kwesi, if he walked on water, you would say it's because he couldn't swim!

• Joe ballack UK 11 years ago

Kwesi has always paid his tax,you idiot asking

• Asem Beba Dabi 11 years ago

The last three days of March 2013 fell in the Easter holidays. The President filed on the first available working day. What is wrong with that and where is the bad example. Are u criticising just for criticism sake? Look shar ...

WHY ALL THIS CHALLENGE THE UNTHINKABLE PRESIDENT KNOWS HIS DATE OF BIRTH ,,IF HE KNOWS HE SHOULDNT WAIT BUT HAVE FILED HIS TAX BEFORE THE DEAD LINE .DID HE INCLUDE THE 175 MILLION DOLLARS HE STOLE ON TAXES.?

• Ellen 11 years ago

You will continue to fight the seat until Jesus comes for your bad attitude

• DKB 11 years ago

This is the problem with us. We do the wrong thing and give all sort of silly excuses. End of March is end of March not one day more! If the end of March falls on Easter holiday, then it falls on you the tax payer to get your ...

• Martin 11 years ago

Do people file taxes in Ghana and do they end up paying or getting back refunds?

• the boy 11 years ago

Why wont he pay it late? NPP should concede defeat and allow mahama to concerntrate on the work ghanaians have elected him to do. we all dont expect the best performance from a man with devided attention

• Mina 11 years ago

So why don't you like fair game play? If he hadn't committed any doubt it wouldn't be like this?Next time becareful,do away with the 1950s politics of stealing.

• Martin 11 years ago

It is unconscionable to think that the president is exempted from paying taxes. What kind of example is the country setting by exempting the president from paying taxes, one of his civic obligations as a citizen. It is about ...

• joe,boston 11 years ago

Did JAKass Kuffour and his NPP ever file their taxes? And did he account for his "Bokassa" gold chain? By the way, what is the deadline for filing tax in Ghana?

• DKB 11 years ago

Deadline is end of March. Knowing the last working day was 28th March, he should have filed on that day.

Now stop being silly with NPP nonsense.

• Iwan 11 years ago

Did he declare or paid his tax. There is a difference here to not

• Ishmael usa 11 years ago

Rat

• Fad 11 years ago

Mahama sets bad example by paying tax late - Kwesi Pratt

• Kofi Karikari 11 years ago

I could only describe Mr.Kwesi Pratt Jnr. as a Pharisee who always attempt to live in a constant state of self-righteous purity.

• FUGEES 11 years ago

KWESI WELL SPOKEN

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 11 years ago

BELOVEDS, please remain focused on pertinent issues that address your bread and butter issues. Ghana will not have drinking water in 12years, intermittent electrical and water service, lack of sufficient school buildings etc, ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 11 years ago

What does President Mahama's late filling of his income tax, Pastors and Imams traveling to Foreign holy lands looking for WHATEVER, or any other such non issues have to do with meeting the basic needs of the toiling and gros ...

• KK Konadu 11 years ago

So Pratt, show us that you filed tax on time? Ghana has come a long way - where heads of state do not pay tax.
    So Mr Pratt, who us a better example with your personal tax record - indicating that, you have paid on time.

• FUGEES 11 years ago

KWESI U HAVE WELL MAY GOD BLESS U

• PREZZO 11 years ago

MAHAMA HAS ALWAYS BEEN A THIEF, ROUGE AND CON MAN. DID HE DECLARED THE CUT HE HAD IN THE STX, AMAJARO, AND EMBRAYO PLANES. MAHAMA THE THIEF. WE HATE YOU SO MUCH AND........

• Kofi mensah 11 years ago

Wait a minute, guys, filing a tax return is different from paying taxes, not so? I am sure the President has been paying taxes he is only filing his tax return (and well there is room for him to be late). Even in more develop ...

• LB 11 years ago

The President filing his tax returns late ia annoying, but what is even more annoying is the fact that the President of Ghana gets exemption from paying taxes. And guess who started that - Rawlings, right?

I guess some are ...

• Woman's wisdom 11 years ago

The president is a thief. How do you expect him to file his income tax and declare his assets thereof? The man is a thief, you know he is an armed robber. Just get him off the track.

• Angela Smith 11 years ago

Big Mouth. Did you file your tax returns, and when?

• ERIC 11 years ago

WE KNOW THAT HE IS CON

• ETWE YE DE HAMBURG 11 years ago

you talk like your teeth.kwasia

• Kofi 11 years ago

I wonder why Kwesi Pratt has been all over Mahama with criticisms. If you liked Mills' govt then you should be more comfortable with Mahama. Isn't it the same "better" Ghana agenda?

• ETWE YE DE HAMBURG 11 years ago

ARE YOU HUNGRY OR WHAT?KWASIA BA:

• BARIMA OKYERE- DARKO 11 years ago

KWESI PRATT GIVE US A BREAK WHEN WAS THE LAST YEAR(NOT TIME) THAT YOU AND YOUR SO CALLED INSIGHT PAID YOUR TAXES.REMEMBER WE WORKED TOGETHER AT C.P.P. AND ARE YOU TELLING ME FOR A FACT THAT FOR THE PAST FIVE YEARS YOU HAVE ...

• lili 11 years ago

With a cash economy, I would think that a large part of the people don't pay anything and never will. They only want the government to take care of them and contribute nothing. How do you think the government gets the money ...

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

Kwesi Pratt: This man has the courage to be honest irrespective of who is in power.