You are here: HomeNews2013 04 02Article 269708

Draw lessons from Kenya case - NPP

Read Comments Comments (119)

• ASARE 11 years ago

KENYA COURT DID NOT WANT TO CHECK THINGS AND BRING WAR:

• Ben 11 years ago

JUSTICE ATUGUBA SEEMS TO BE STALLING THE PROCESS AT THE SC. CAN'T THE CHIEF JUSTICE TAKE OVER?

• KANKAM 11 years ago

KENYA COURT WANTED ONLY PEACE THAT IS WHY THE WENT STRAIGHT TO DECIDE THE WINNER TO BE THE WINNER: NO COURT CAN TAKE ONLY ONE OR TWO WEEKS TO CHECK ALL THEY RESULTS CAREFULLY NOT EVEN IN AMERICA

• AGYEMANG 11 years ago

PLEASE DO YOU THING THE KENYA COURT HAS REPECT TO PARTIES LIK OUR GHANA COURT?
    THE HAVE BETTER THINGS TO SOLVE THAN TO BE RECOUNTING VOTER SLIPS

• Adjei 11 years ago

WHY ARE YOU RUNNING TOWERS DANGER AKOMEA

• AJOKE 11 years ago

ARE THEY DREAMING THAT THE COURT WILL TURN MAHAMA DOWN?

• ATSU, HO 11 years ago

EVERY THING IS POSSIBLE ONCE THE TRUTH HAS BEEN BROUGHT TO LIGHT. WE SHOULD NOT GET CONTENTIOUS YET.

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

Akomea is stupid. Why has the SC slashed down on NPP demands? Just crazy nppists who have laid hands on some loose money and supporters to fool with Ghana.

• OSORO GYA 11 years ago

You know why NDC needs more than 300 witnesses in this case. But in case you don't remember, it is because you npp guys are crooks, and you can "manufacture" lies more than the devil himself. So NDC mustn't leave any stone ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

That is the reason why Nana Addo wants you all to have free SHS so that you can better your english. Okay?

• HAHAHA 11 years ago

SHUT UP,YOUR MASTER SIR JOHN IS COMING.

• KWABINA+ 11 years ago

LISTEN TO THIS FOOL AKOMEA AGAIN; YOU WANT OUR COURT TO THROW NPP OUT LIKE THE KENYAS DID?

• Azumah Nelson 11 years ago

Ghana and Kenya are two different countries

• NPP Cocaine Pusher 11 years ago

Nana Akomea, serial liar, why don't you, at the same time, ask the courts to expedite Justice Kpegah's claim of fake lawyer against Akufo Addict?

• SAARA-MENSAH 11 years ago

THEN LET'S FIGHT AND KILL TOO. YAKA GBEME!!!!!!

• MATHS 11 years ago

How long did it take NPP to file their suit? And how long did it take NPP to send what was requested of them by the respondents? Nana Akomea is just confused. And even after taking their time to do a good job, I am sure if th ...

• Ataa 11 years ago

Check your facts..NPP worked within the time limits alloted them - 21 days to file, and worked within the stipulated time that the court gave for them to present the respondents request. Kenya's constitution only gave them a ...

• MATHS 11 years ago

The Constitution of Ghana gave NPP 21 days within which to file their complaints. The SC in Kenya gave the complainanats few days. In this case the issue could be resolved within a few days. If the Constitution of Ghana gave ...

• NPP Cocaine Pusher 11 years ago

Did the Kenyan LOSER pushed his followers to hold press conferences on the case in court? Did he push his elephants to go on destructive demonstrations? Why are these cocaine barons so desperate? the answer is simple: TO LIBE ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

You are not right it is the truth that came out and sometimes you need wisdom to go about an issue depending on the atmosphere count back what went on after the declaration of the free and fair election in Ghana it really to ...

• Kwadzo 11 years ago

Perharps we need war becourse we have not taseted one before. the perttitioner(s) in kenya's case it did not take them two to three weeks before pettitioning the court, here in Ghana it took two to three weeks for the pettiti ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 11 years ago

What will happen if the winer turns to
    be the looser? lt will be a history
    first in Ghana.

• Repugnant. 11 years ago

You lost an election, refused to concede and went to court. Should the supreme court decide in your favor, do you sincerely think the sitting president is going to simply walk away, or do you anticipate penalty kicks? The NPP ...

• AJOKE 11 years ago

DO THE WANT THE COURT TO MAKE THEM WINNERS OR WHAT?
    THEN BLOOD WILL SURELY BE IN THE HANDS OF THOSE JUDGES FOR MAKING SUCH AN A ERROR:
    NPP SHOULD GROW UP AND STOP TRYING TO PUT BLOOOD IN THE POOR MEN HANDS

• Ataa 11 years ago

Ajoke, you are speaking as though you know everything was free and fair. Just take away any party affiliations: if it becomes evident (proven in court) that the numbers that the EC tallied which led to Mahama being declared t ...

• loi 11 years ago

what happen after EC anounce mahama the winner? how many people were killed or wounded by npp?
    now that ndc is testing power, do you think that apart from God, any person can tell its members that their party lost the game a ...

• KOJO 11 years ago

PEOPLE LIKE YOU SHOULD LEAVE IN THE JUNGLE WHERE THERE ARE NO LAWS: THE STRONG RULES THE WEAK.I PERSONALLY DON'T LIKE NANA ADDO BECAUSE HE SOUND TOO PROUD, BUT THE TRUTH IS THAT HE IS ONE OF THE MOST RESPECTED POLITICIANS IN ...

• TRUTH MAN 11 years ago

THE PETITIONERS ARE NOT BEING FAIR TO GHANAIANS. IF ONLY TYHE PETITIONERS CAN MAKE THEIR MINDS AND NOT KEEP CHANGING THEIR CASE. IF ONLY THE PETITIONERS WILL DO AS THE COURT HAS ASKED AND GIVE BETTER DETAILS AS REQUESTED BY E ...

• Mehunu meka nti 11 years ago

Needless tension/acrimony amonst members of the court. Why don`t you install Akufo Addo himself at the helm to speed up the proceedings?I bet,you and all 'booklong' lawyers playing 'Monday- morning-quarterback,will be the fir ...

• Kwadzo 11 years ago

Hi Ben, this is a case of a brake failure free free and free this case will not end soon untill all outstanding cases whether big or small are dealt with.

• KANKAM 11 years ago

THE COURT OF KENYA DID NOT EVEN CHECK AND SHITS; THE WANTED PEACE AND SO THE WENT STRAIGHT TO ANNOUCNE THE WINNER AS STILL A WINNER : GHANA COURT IS ONLY TRYING TO PROVE NPP DAYLIGHT WRONG:

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 11 years ago

This fellow Afari Gyan was warned by wise leaders of our churches to put national safety ahead of constitutional powers granted him, following the trend of events being cultivated along his actions. He could either not forese ...

• Kwadzo 11 years ago

HI OBURONIBA FITAFITA, who are the wise leaders of what? do you think we all are kids over here in Ghana. so if some one was losing he should be named the winner so there would be peace haa.

• Ataa 11 years ago

I agree..for transparency sake, this case should have been televised.

• JIMMY 11 years ago

NPP WILL BE THE LOOSER AT LAST

• Adjei 11 years ago

aboa

• PAA KWESI ASOMANI 11 years ago

THE KENYAN COURT DID NOT HAVE ANY PINK SHEETS TO EXAMINE SO THEY WENT FAST. JUST LOOK AT THE CASE BROUGHT BY THE NPP. IT WAS EMPTY AND MEANWHILE THEY ARE TRYING TO GIVE THEIR SUPPORTERS SOME EMPTY HOPE WHICH IS THE REASON SO ...

• OKONKWO 11 years ago

Look at this he goats without senses

• Ana 11 years ago

Nana Addo must go and do some farming in Kyebi because SC will throw his case away.

• jULIUS COMMEY 11 years ago

NO PLEASE, DONT LET HIM GO DO FARMING. IT WILL MAKE THINGS WORSE. HE WILL PLANT THE THING: ABONSAM TAWA

• nobody 11 years ago

Sc court should know that any false ruling will have far reaching consequents as they think.all the manover from ndc is known to ghanaians .Justice Atuguba and wood should reframe from delaying the case an indirect support fo ...

• ADVISER 11 years ago

NANA ADDO THE UGLY MAN IN GHANA THINK HE WILL WIN THE CASE?HE HEAR SOME BFORE.NONSENCE MAN.

• MR. JOMO 11 years ago

THE SPECIAL FORCES SHOULD STAND IN READINESS FOR THE SC VERDICT AND KICK THE ASS OF ANY IDIOT WHO CAUSES TROUBLE. ARREST THEM. JAIL THEM, STARVE THEM, KILL THEM SO THAT GHANA WILL BE FREE AGAIN

• Kay 11 years ago

Stop disturbing us Ghana is better than every African nation,we are far ahead of them.Can't you see our roads,schools,hospitals,drainage systems etc.Our democracy is the best,even better than USA & UK.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 11 years ago

we are too known, too smart, ... if only the farmer will visit other farms

• Chris 11 years ago

Those complaining of a delay are doing so out of ignorance and mischief. The conduct of a trial depends on the issues in contention. In Kenya, did the Petioners set down the same issues as done here by the losers? Did the lo ...

• kwame 11 years ago

well said, the few sensible people who read and contribute on Ghanaweb

• Amankuss ,Accra 11 years ago

GHANIANS MUST ALLOW STATE INSTITUTIONS 2 WK.

• HARRY 11 years ago

ALL THE JUDGES ARE BRIBED BY MAHAMA

• USMAN 11 years ago

Kufuor had every opportunity to have lifted the destiny of this country to great heights by changing the status quo but rather resorted to self agrandizement and petty stealing.

KUFFUOR HAD DE OPPORTUNITY 2 ELEVATE GHANA BUT BECOS OF KIK BAGS,LIES NDECEITFULNESS 2 SOME EXTENT DAT A WHOLE FARMER CAN RENOVATE HIS RESIDENCE WITHOUT STATE FUNDS?WAT A SHAMEFUL PAST PRESIDENT.

• Kwasi Miezah, Western Region 11 years ago

I agree with the NPP - the court should rush to judgement and declare Mahama as winner of the elections. Is the NPP shooting itself on the foot?

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

This is yet another sign of immaturity on the part of NPP functionaries. I am afraid you cannot TELL the Supreme Court of the Land what to do!!! First ask yourself why this process has taken so long and the part your party an ...

• Kwame Dokyi 11 years ago

Paul, you got the right perspective of the issue!!

• Kwadzo 11 years ago

The watchman dey i dey look carefully.

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Ghana is not Kenya, they can hack down each other like animals. Do you remember the Kenyan that killed a Ghanian in Maryland and ate the brain and heart just to be brainy like him.

• joy 11 years ago

ok tell nana addo to file a responds to justice kpegas writ first

• KaLAA 11 years ago

THE DIFFERENCE IS THAT, THE NPP THIEVES, IN DECIDING TO USURP THE WILL OF THE PEOPLE OF GHANA, FILED THEIR CASE BEFORE DECIDING ON THEIR GRIEVANCES AND THEN GOING OUT TO LOOK FOR THE EARS OF THE FLY.
    THEY WILL FAIL IN THEIR ...

• OBAMA 11 years ago

DO NOT COMPARE THE KENYA EXERCISE TO GHANA.THE KENYAN CONSTITUTION STIPULATES THAT THE PRESIDENT CANNOT BE SWORN IN UNTIL THE SUPREME COURT GIVES ITS VERDICT AND IT ALSO GIVES THE COURT 2 WEEKS TO COME OUT WITH A RESOLUTION.S ...

• Mehunu meka nti 11 years ago

With Owusu Afriyie? When did they smoke the peace pipe? What a bunch of Jokers!!!

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

Nana Addo should rather draw lessons from Kenya case and withdraw his petition honourably.Thank you.

• princedela london.n 11 years ago

Why are thesee n p p rogues trying to use all means to change the election results
    .akuffo addoo and the np p are losers and no court of law shall change that..elections is won at the polling stations and ...

• Mr. Objective 11 years ago

In the first place, what right has the NPP over the Supreme Court as to how it shoul conduct its affairs? Again, is our own courts obliged to follow the actions of th Kenyans as a judicialprecedent? NPP better shut up.

• Sebastian Parker 11 years ago

Kenyan situation is different from the Ghanaian situation. Do not compare.

• Timbuktu 11 years ago

'The Kenyan Attorney General, Githu Muigai speaking during one of the court sittings stated "As my Lords are aware, as we speak here today the Supreme Court of Ghana is sitting on the election dispute relating to their electi ...

• Kwame 11 years ago

Mali or Timbuktu as you may call yourself, go ask which of the parties in he suit has made more amendments to it writs and you will be surprised to hear it's Nana Addo, Bawumia and Jake. so who is causing the delay? Go Educat ...

• Timbuktu 11 years ago

Kwame, I disagree with you. I think it is the NDC (and the EC) who are causing, and planning to cause, most of the delays. For example, aren't they (NDC) planning to call 33,000 independent 'witnesses'? If that isn't a delay ...

• princedela london.n 11 years ago

In Kenya the petition is about counting but in Ghana akuffo addoo the drug addict and his two stupid colleagues are asking the court to deprieve over three million Ghanaians their right s by cancelling the ...

• KIM 11 years ago

NPP IS DISGRACE WITH BASELESS ARGUMENTS.THIS SHOW SHINE PARTY.

• ODURO ASUMADU CLEMENT 11 years ago

The JUDGES MUST NOTE THAT JUSTICE DELAYED JUSTICE DENIED, AND THAT IS BAD. THE REPERCUSSION WOULD BE NEGATIVE.

• citizen 11 years ago

If the Supreme Court would have decided on the election petiion three weeks after election, the petitioners would have nothing as evidence.What they have now was fished for after the initial petition to EC failed to produce a ...

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

Center to all this corruption now is the ewe tribalism that has a stranglehold on the ndc and now most of the state agencies that are to combat this menace. yes corruption exists in all countries but ours has become more noto ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

Please your point is baseless I hope you heard this proud statement in Ghana by Ashanti tribe yedzi yeman or we are taking our Nation back. How do you see Ewes, Gas and Northerners please we also reason and will never again ...

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

what a hypocrite , you call upon God but the fact remains the truth is written in the hearts of the righteous and thats how we recognize it when we hear it. we should remain tolerant while you kill , persecute and destroy the ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 11 years ago

Shut up stupid fool.No tribe in Kenya thinks that they should rule the people all the time. But your monkey asses complain about any elections which is not won by Danquah and Busia bull crab.
    Danquah started this bull shi ...

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

STILL THE BATTLE IS THE LORD'S. LET THE WICKED CONTINUE IN HIS WICKED WAYS AND ONE DAY DARKNESS WILL ENGULF HIM.

IF DE BATTLE S OF DE LORD'S,WHY DEN IN COURT?SHAMEFUL NPP MORONS N DIER SUPPORTERS.

• CARRIEZRS 11 years ago

DO WE ALL BELIEVE IN THE RULE OF LAW LET US ALLOW THE LAW COURT TAKE IT^S RULE

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 11 years ago

Draw what lessons from Kenya?Has our constitution imposed a time frame within which the Supreme Court has to dispose of Nana's petition? The NPP is behaving as if the Supreme Court's decision will go thier way.They see it as ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

God bless you for the voice of the Majority have spoken once and for all and it is sealed both on earth and Heavens

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

HOW LONG DID IT TAKE THE NPP TO FILE THEIR PETITION? THEN AMEND IT AND THEN AMENT IT. ALL THAT CAUSES DELAY. THAT IS THE WAY GAHANA LAWYERS WORK_AT THEIR OWN PACE..

• fredsaid 11 years ago

You can tell from the lack of reasoning from the contributors here; they have mixed facts with fiction and come out with a potion of innuendos, fabrications, lies, propaganda and jumping to false conclusions even before the c ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

That is you

• Kwadzo 11 years ago

fredsaid, do you think you are wiser than God who put brains in peoples head? just give your contrbution & rest silence they say is golden but I say its gold.

• Amara 11 years ago

Our supreme court has no credibility whether it comes to electoral petition or individual civil or criminal cases. It is corrupted by the government and headed by educated illiterates. I trust the ordinary man on the street w ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

Disrespectful citizen pray that none of your case being send to the educated illiterate

• kobbi 11 years ago

He has no point to make why dont he allow any other member of NPP communications team to talk;after all, his appointment is expired as Sir john stated, he has so soon forgotten that, they NPP were the ones that wanted to take ...

• ALHAJI KUKRUDU 11 years ago

What is wrong with parading over 300 people as witnesses if that is what will make the NDC not to feel aggrieved after the trial? Why do you also want over 11,000 polling stations' result cancelled? Do you think the Judges ca ...

• WHO WILL SAVE US? 11 years ago

Getfund sponsored students are pleading on every Ghanaian to add his or her voice to their plea on the GETFund and the Ghana Government to send SOS to redeem us from this humiliation.

• Vincent,winneba 11 years ago

Npp n their cohorts shd get ready 4 de disgrace.oooooh,de easter president is hanging in air nw.yaanom,get bk 2 de drawing board.

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

In my opinion,our Supreme Court should have ruled on this long ago.It must be stated in our constitution that there shouldn`t any inauguration of the Prez.if there is a dispute pending before the Supreme Court!Why should a d ...

• Yaw Amoah (new jersey u.s.a) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago

kenya's constitution is different from ghana's 1992 constitution.

• AKOTO J. 11 years ago

This show how deep curruption is rooted in our dear country. Need I say more?

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Nonsense

• Awaala 11 years ago

Nana Akomea, if you follow world affairs. The Kenyans are afraid of another Bloody end. They are learning from Ghana when the world talks about peacefully post-election. period.

• Abokyi 11 years ago

How can a Supreme Court, with judges who retire to show hatred for an ethnic group rule quickly against its masters?
    Who controls the Court? Who born you NPP? Don't expect any good from this court. Unless the Judgeship conte ...

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Idiot, your Akufo-Addo is hot. he will go into his grave a jonky

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Tell your Akufu-Addo to respond to Kpega's writ against him idiot

• Ata 11 years ago

Asante people, the CIA agents will never allow Ghana to know peace. In 2012, I sent a message to Ghana today radio. I made mention that, if Ghana will know peace Asante , Volta and Northern region should rule themselves.
    Bec ...

• kwame 11 years ago

How can Ghana deal with this case when we are dealing millions of votes and 11000 polling stations if I remember. Anyway the votes in Kenya were just in their thousands from a few constituency. If the SC had done this earlier ...

• JJ Thompson 11 years ago

Kenyans are more advance Ghana need to learn from them.

• Fridu Boateng 11 years ago

Let the ashantis rule.They had a more evolved advanced system of rule in their kingdom and can handle complex system of ruling.All these problems we're havin is due to the limited thinking capacity of northerners like Mahama ...

• Raymond Bayor 11 years ago

THIS IS A CRITICAL MOMENT TO CONSIDER OUR COUNTRY FIRST AND NOT ASHANTIS NOR NORTHERNERS.GHANA NEEDS PEACE.WE NEED SOME CRITICAL THINKING BEFORE WE MAKE SOME COMMENTS.TANS

• Raymond Bayor 11 years ago

THE JUDGES NEED SOME JUST ALL GHANAIANS

• Asempa 11 years ago

Let no man think otherwise that justice delayed is justice denied and the quensequences will be great not only for the politicians but all of us expecially the EC and the Supreme Court members

• re 11 years ago

Give peace a chance please

• David G. 11 years ago

I cannot believe why up till now we have people in Ghana who still support NDC for this daylight robbery, even though there are clear evidence of rigging of elections. I do not blame them, it is illiteracy, even look at how m ...

• Speedy 11 years ago

He should go to court quickly on that one.

• Jogate 11 years ago

Nana Akomea is scared of Sir john!
    Now he is trying hard to please him

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 11 years ago

SUPREME COURT SHOULD BE BLAMED FOR HIS DELAY.THEY ARE IN CAHOOTS WITH NDC.

• Orlando. Wolfville.Canada.( @AkonsiKu 11 years ago

It should be pointed out that in Kenya the law has set a window of two weeks to hear and resolve a Presidential election dispute. The panel of Judges in Kenya referred to this timeous costraint by throwing out a few other aff ...

• Amega 11 years ago

The Kenyans were in haste to avoid war.

• Concern Ghanian 11 years ago

NOW TENSION IS A BIT DOWN

• Concern Ghanian 11 years ago

Whre is pblc distrbne, n atmpt to kill laws?

NANA AKOMEAH S JUST A FAILURE 2 GHANAIANS N DE NPP AS A WHOLE

• kwaku 11 years ago

say it again

• BARIMA OKYERE- DARKO,N Y, NY. 11 years ago

PLEASE THIS I KNOW TO BE UNFAIR BUT I HAVE NO ALTERNATIVES,I AM LOOKING FOR CHAMBER AND HALL WITH IN A VERY CLEAN ENVIROMENT PRECISELY IN ACCRA.CONTACT ME ON 646-226-5265 IN THE U.S.A.