You are here: HomeNews2013 03 28Article 269328

Mahama orders AMA to name all streets within 18 months

Read Comments Comments (87)

• Ben 11 years ago

HE IS ALWAYS PANICKING.

• GH_Army. 11 years ago

are you also a stealer of certificates? No wonder, Ben you must be certificateless lawyer.

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

Author: AKONOBA--

JOHN MAHAMA KILLED MILS. YOU DENIED MILS WAS SICK ALL THESE YEARS. YOU COMPELLED MILS TO STAND FOR A SECOND TERM KNOWING VERY WELL THAT MILS WAS NOT FIT TO CONTEST. YOU HID FROM GHANAIANS THE TRUE STATE ...

• WISE-TALK, UK 11 years ago

some stupid ghanas always open they stinking munths and take them selfs to compare NIGERIA who have all they streets named since since so teeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee,ghanas are yestaday people.

• HON SHAMO 11 years ago

HAHAHAHA, AKONFEM MAHAMA STREET

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

DO THIS FOR ALL REGIONAL CAPITAL;S. VERTICAL N HORIZONTAL STREETS. U WILL SEE HOW IT WILL AFFECT TRAFFIC N FOREIGN INVESTORS

• Sarah UK 11 years ago

Dear Akonaba, take heart we our late president to bits. President Mahama did not kill late president Atta Mills. Can you not see how this man feel at lost of all Ghanaians. Thank God he is moving on. He is a state of mourning ...

• HON SHAMO 11 years ago

GAY AMISAH AUTHER BY PASS HAHAHA

• HolyGhost 11 years ago

You are a fool, grow up you never make sense.

• HANATU 11 years ago

HURRY MR PRESIDENT.

• IDIOTS SPOILING GHANA 11 years ago

GREEDY BASTARDS INTERCHAGE, NDC FOOLS

• NPP Cocaine Pusher 11 years ago

Don't take A ONE-MAN DECISION and give just any name or ASK PEOPLE TO BID FOR THEIR NAMES TO BE PUT ON STREETS. Sit down with the Chiefs and famililes in GReater Accra and take a joint decision with them. Do you hear?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Naming of streets is also important. At least it say something about the country. We have to move away from the practice where we use WAAKYE SELLER, THE BIG GUTTER THE MANGO TREE etc to locate places. Good order, Mr. prez.

• Egalitarian 11 years ago

The chaotic manner in which we still build today shows how primitive and uncivilised we are. Naming streets in Ghana is a monumental task but we have to start somewhere. A journey of thousand miles is started with one step

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

My question to Mahama is that, this must be done through data base system? How much money has he been given to the AMA boss to start with this project? This is what Ghanaians must know. Thank you all.

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

I like this idea very much, perhaps this would facilitate google mapping and the use of a GPS. It is step in the right direction especially for businesses. Also put on the agenda to tar all roads.

• Isaac 11 years ago

Good start chief, just check the corruption sir

• Nana Akomea 11 years ago

He knows it cannot be done by AMA which cannot even keep up with their regular work.

• Pan-African 11 years ago

PLS WHY THE INSULT YOU MUST ASHAME OF YOURSELF.LONG LIVE AFRICA

• Dask 11 years ago

Can we be civilized, have respect for each other and get along please?

• KOJO BUHARI 11 years ago

"PRESIDENT ORDERS A.M.A..." THATS THE WAY TO GO FORWARD, MR. PRESIDENT.YOU ORDER, AND IT MUST BE DONE AT ONCE!! YOU SEE,GHANAIANS WILL JUDGE YOUR SUCCESS THE WAY YOU DIRECT THEM.REMEMBER Gen,IK ACHEAMPONG? GHANAFO MADE HIM A ...

• ALUTA CONTINUA 11 years ago

WHERE IS THE MONEY TO DO IT ???

• labso 11 years ago

this is the example of good visionary leader

• Egalitarian 11 years ago

Excuse! Excuse!! Excuse!!! and blackman will never do anything good. What about huge sums on funeral?

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

Please, solve electricity and water problems first!Oh, Ghana!

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

BOTH PROBLEMS can be SOLVED SIMULTANEOUSLY, my friend! Look at the Address of State Housing Company.....
    Kaneshie Industrial Estate,
    OPPOSITE AWUDOME CEMETRY
    P.O.Box....
    ACCRA.
    Is this a SENSIBLE ADDRESS of a state Comp ...

• NO NONSENSE) 11 years ago

Please get on their backs and pressure them.
    Don't just say it and leave it at that.
    And oh ! don't forget the STENCH !!!!!!!!

• KWAA 11 years ago

We need street names in the whole of Ghana not only Accra or the big cities.
    Is time to plan our cities and towns.

• Gabriel, Hamburg Germany. 11 years ago

We are with you Mr President. God bless you.

• DAN 11 years ago

he can proclaim anything but is he going to use the money stolen from china loan of 3 billion dollars to pay for mapping and sign posts??? Never leave Nigger in charge of real problem

• ALUTA CONTINUA 11 years ago

COMMON SENSE
    LONG OVERDUE

• Ghana_First 11 years ago

He sounds like the best president ever.

• DAN 11 years ago

kill all muslim homosexuals

• SAMUEL 11 years ago

THE STREET NAMING EXERCIS SHOULD NOT I REPËAT SHOULD NOT BE USED AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO STEAL GOVT. FUNDS.
    THERE SHOULD BE TRANSPARENCY IN THE STREET NAMING.THE PRESIDENT SHOULD BE COMMENDED FOR THIS.

• Kwame Wiredu 11 years ago

I am just laughing here so loud.
    Mr. president save your breath. We are just worthless bunch of people with low IQ.
    What does it take to name our streets and give each building or property a number in our country. to the ex ...

• ANU 11 years ago

that was kuffour the womanizer and creedy man

• DKB 11 years ago

Illiterate idiot. No wonder you can't even spell greedy.

• John. B 11 years ago

First good thing that President is initiating. Good job. Numbering and naming all the streets and houses is very very important. Good job again.

• KFC 11 years ago

This is the first good work done since you became the president. Now go ahead and sack the useless mayor and ask them to cleanup AMA itself, too much corruption, nepotism and don't care attitude because they can always make m ...

• coolman 11 years ago

good step,for Ghanaians

• Lary 11 years ago

I LIKE THAT MR PRESIDENT, THIS IS A LEADER WHO HAS A VISION AND SETS A DATE TO ACCOMPLISH IT. IT DOESN'T HAVE TO BE A BIG TICKET AS A THOUSAND JOURNEY BEGINS WITH ONE STEP AT A TIME. I CONGRATULATE YOU MR PRESIDENT

• Agonaba 11 years ago

At least our heroes from all walks of life will appreciate streets named after them.

• Ambrose 11 years ago

This what we badly need. We don't need the giant statue of Kwame Nkrumah the mad and wicked dictator. The first and worst dictator of Africa Kwame Nkrumah

• kek 11 years ago

very soon mr president ur going to leave office n u get time to making orders n.d.c fools.

• ANU 11 years ago

ambrose, God will strike you down with very serious sickness for talking evil against kwame Nkrumah

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 11 years ago

Better late than never, beautiful move Mr. president, Sir, please demonstrate a sense of National/PanAfrican pride when naming our streets, some people will have problems with a monument honoring President Kwame Nkrumah, but ...

• GIS 11 years ago

Street naming goes beyong mere erection of signboards. It involves database and it takes time. I deal with this everyday. It must be well planned or it will be useless investment

• GOLDEN BOY 11 years ago

that is the best thing for the city

• AAD 11 years ago

Project Managers or Coordinators please consults Google Maps- to make sure you get it right.

• Branaboy 11 years ago

Accra's Streets are already named and number. We can't see the names becuase the pushcart boys keep stealing the name plagues for scrap metal.

I now this because the exercise of naming and numbering streets has been on-go ...

• ANU 11 years ago

you are right

• GYASI 11 years ago

-------DONT FORGET TO CLOSE ALL GUTTERS IN ACCRA, AS IT SEEMS THE GHANAIAN ARCHITECT AND CITY PLANNERS ,ONLY KNOWS HOW TO CONSTRUCT OPEN GUTTERS.!!!!!!WHAT A SHAME!!!!!!

• Frank Mensah, Tikobo No. 2 11 years ago

If I were the president, I would make sure the potholes on those roads are filled before the naming. This country has no adequate electricity, no adequate water and no decent roads. The president complains the capital is too ...

• There Is 11 years ago

Priorities, the consideration must be constructions of overpass across the country, and all out subroad repairs and good drainages, the country needs to reinverst into road development. Government should look outsibe the box ...

• Say the TRUTH 11 years ago

It CANNOT BE DONE WITHOUT RESOURCES ASSIGNED TO THE PROJECT MR. PRESIDENT.

LOOK AT THE NATIONAL IDENTIFICATION CARD - IT HAD BEEN OVER 5 YRS. NOW WITH NOT ENOUGH FUNDS MADE AVAILABLE TO THE AUTHORITY TO ACCMPLISH/COMPLET ...

• bawonye 11 years ago

True all the local and commnuity groups get behind the Mayor in order to get your alloated funds. Oh also, get community leaders to draw a plan asap. ...A fair idea for the GaD nation states.
    There is a good suggestion which ...

• williamdegraftcoleman.com 11 years ago

Politics aside, isn't this directive a step in the right direction? It seems as though every sector of the Ghanaian Economic Engine needs a kind of rapid response.

• GEORGE TEE 11 years ago

MOST STREETS IN ACCRA HAVE BEEN NAMED AND NUMBERED ALREADY. ALL A.M.A NEEDS TO DO IS TO WRITE THEM. IT'S CHOPPING TIME! OH YEAH!!!!

• RAY 11 years ago

THIS IS NOT NEWS. WE'VE HEARED IT MILLION TIMES FROM OUR POLITICIANS YET NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE

• Appletus 11 years ago

That is what these guys are supposed to be doing and not sit in the office and receive big salaries and bonuses. It is about time our streets are numbered for security reasons, tax purposes, mailing system and easy movement. ...

• Sarah UK 11 years ago

Thank you Mr. President, I know there good things in store for Ghana. We love and bless you.

• kb 11 years ago

Good move Mr. President. But draw a line in the sand otherwise nothing will be done by 18 months, this is Ghana!

• Bon 11 years ago

Misplaced priorities. Somethings are urgent but unimportant or unnecessary. Mr. President, please lets tackle the teaming strike action other than naming Accra streets

• Kwasi Mienza, Western Region 11 years ago

Naming the streets and houses (in addition to personal ID's) brings clarity to national planning. How can you tackle things when you can't see or know where they are? How can you tackle strike action by teachers when you hav ...

• James B. Otafregya 11 years ago

Every street/road/place/square in every loation in the nation must be named and not only those in Accra.

As a matter of fact, we first need Zip/Postal Codes plus street naming!

• Steve 11 years ago

Street Naming. Another "Guinea Fowl" project in the making. An avenue for chop chop. Ye be di Ke ke.

• kooooo 11 years ago

Enve in south Africa every village has a street name, building name and number. Why then Mahama is a useless? Do NPPs thought Ghana will remained like that? President Mahama is a modern president not 1960.

• bawonye 11 years ago

Yes he is right. Things change for every city and Accra is one of them. It therefore calls for a '' desperate times calls for desperate measures'' – type of law and enforcement
    (Churchill Prime Minister for Britain during ...

• kooooo 11 years ago

Common street name, street number and building name is a problem?

This's something we have done over 50 years ago. Thanks to prez Mahama for your good vision.

• Zakariah Ali 11 years ago

It is amazing that street naming and numbers has been going on in Accra for over fourty years without end. Is the endless exercise the result of "chop small". I was a junior officer in the Ministry of Local Government when a ...

• ABEEKU, PORT ELIZABETH,SOUTH AFRICA. 11 years ago

RIGHT MOVE ANY WAY THANK U.IS VERY GOOD.

• seth 11 years ago

this makes sense. its the step in the right direction

• Kwasi Mienza, Western Region 11 years ago

We can't blame you. This should have been done by Presidents who came after Nkrumah. I remember that we had street names and houses addresses in the late 60's to early 70's. This system was mostly lost during the 20 years o ...

• j s addo 11 years ago

where is the money when we dont have money to generate electricity or to pump water i think mahama is clueless

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

PRESIDENT-PLEASE; EXTEND YOUR ORDERS TO ALL REGIONAL CENTRES IN THE COUNTRY TO DO THE SAME

WITH THIS ON COURSE,WILL MAKE IT MORE EASIER FOR PEOPLE TO CONTRACT THEIR CREDITS AND MONEY TRANSACTIONS IN THE COUNTRY.

THEY US ...

• Woyome 2 11 years ago

Hey mahama! do Ghanaians eat or drink Street Names? Infact , If I was born Tanii, i would have committed suicide b'cos most of them are so senseless and stupid like mahama. ghanaians need water, jobs, power electricity and de ...

• GHANABA1 11 years ago

this man is confused as well as his cabinet. we need jobs, water electricity and many important things,listen to what he is talking about? street naming is a secondary issue.God has shown you and NDC cabinet the red card so t ...

• akos 11 years ago

New movie coming out Magyar Kojo pepeni president....northerns and ewews burn in hell.

• Kuuku Annan 11 years ago

Is this AMA-ECG,Police Officer,Water Works,Travel agent 'President' sitting on some thorns or nails? He is weeping!

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

SHAME TO INFANTILE FOLLOWERS OF NDC; HOW DOES THIS MAKE MAHAMA VISIONARY? STREET & PROPERTY NAMING IS NOT NEW IN GHANA.

• SAMMY 11 years ago

We need tarred roadsc to keep the dust down

• NANA AKUFU ADDO 11 years ago

NANA AKUFFO ADDO DWARF STREET NUMBER 3

• NANA AKUFU ADDO 11 years ago

IF NOT TO POST INSULT ON THE NEWS PAPERS WHAT CAN NPP THINK OF? BRAVO MR. PRESIDENT.

• St.Francis 11 years ago

A STEP IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION PREZ.IN THE DEVELOPED WORLD DATA IS VERY IMPORTANT.INFACT GHANAIANS SHOULD KNOW THAT IT IS A CAPITAL ERROR TO THEORISE BEFORE ONE HAS DATA.YOU NEED TO HAVE DATA TO PLAN.REVENUE,COMMUNICATION,TAX, ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

President Mahama, has therefore, called on the Accra Metropolitan Assembly (AMA) and the Roads and Highway Authority, to speed up work on the Bus Rapid Transport System in Accra.

He also ordered the AMA to name and number ...

• Dask 11 years ago

I think this is a good idea. This will enable visitors and residents alike to locate buildings and other places easily. However concerning the the naming of streets, this should not solely rest on AMA. I think there should ...

• binA 11 years ago

How independent are the tourists who chose Ghana as a holiday destination?

Tourism is becoming the buzz word in Ghana these days. The Government and various groups are focusing on cashing in our 50th birthday celebrations. ...