You are here: HomeNews2013 03 28Article 269255

Black Stars problems are spiritual - Rev. Osei Kofi

Read Comments Comments (101)

• NPP 11 years ago

FORGIVE ACHEAPONG SOUL

• DR JAMES PETER KING APPIAH 11 years ago

WHY DONT YOU FULFIL THE PROMISES GIVEN TO MOHAMMED POLO AND OTHERS TO WIPE AWAY THE CURSES ON THE BLACK STARS.

• MAYOR 11 years ago

If I should agree with this no-nothing-man, then why do we won 1982 in Libya while we has spiritual problems from 1978? This man is very trickiiiish. I knew very well where this man is going, after the fulfilment, he will the ...

• julu 11 years ago

What is wrong with you guys. Ah.?

• Africanus 11 years ago

Osei Kofi has nothing to say. If God were to play football, we'll have pastors as coaches.

• No Name USA 11 years ago

Oh Rev Osei Kofi, do you really read the Bible?

• BARIMAH 11 years ago

I agree with you MAYOR.
    This so-called Rev is a man of bitterness. Listen to him when he speaks and you get nothing but rancour and insults.
    Osei Kofi is the reason why the old players are not getting anything from the FA. ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

CHECK NYANTAKYI'S ACCT BEFORE HE BECAME GFA HEAD AND NOW. NYANTAKYI SHOULD GIVE SOME OF HIS ILL GOTTEN BREAD TO THESE PLAYERS. DO IT HONORABLY.

• Tony Parker 11 years ago

The promise MUST BE FULFILLED! The then players MUST BE GIVEN WHAT THEY HD BEEN PROMISED, whether dead or alive so that their spiritis will be in peace and will forgive the National Team!

• SHIT ON CORRUPT LEADERS GRAVES 11 years ago

Mr Journalist kindly check this "The former Accra Hearts of Oak player who was joint top-scorer in the 1965 Nations Cup finals has questioned the Ghana FA boss claims of psychological problems."

• La Le 11 years ago

He started his top flight soccer at Hearts.
    It was Hearts which unearthed him from his Koforidua base after which he became and star and moved to Kotoko.

• Boagyaa Appiah-Kubi,Connecticut. 11 years ago

Awuley Quaye was the de facto captain but since he lost his right half back position to "Disco Face"Isaac Acquaye,"Golden Boy" Abdul Razak was the captain in default.I vividly remember "The dribbling Professor"Mohammed Ahmed ...

• Big Daddy 11 years ago

I think Awuley Quaye was shifted to the left back position and Polo even though,just back from injury and not fully fit played in some of the games.He played in the Ghana v Tunisia game. And yes Osei Kofi played for Hearts be ...

• sakasaka 11 years ago

polo played in all the matches

• wilson 11 years ago

you have a lot of facts except that polo played in all the matches and actually scored a goal against burkina faso and ended up as tournament's best outside left.
    awuley quaye was active as a left full back and captain.

• Ampomaa 11 years ago

Awuley Quaye was the captain.He lost his Central defending(#5) position to Kuuku Dadzie.Awuley Quaye did not play right half back(#4).He was shifted to the left full back(#3) positon. Do you remember when he came face to face ...

• FOYOOSIS 11 years ago

Ampomaa, you've got the facts-records collect (correct) lol . Infact the choice between golden boy Abdul Razak and Adolf Armah was a 50-50 thing, and very difficult to make.

Boy oh boy, those were some of the players Ghan ...

• TALE TALE 11 years ago

ABDUL RAZACK SCORED THE ONLY GOAL AGAINST TUNISIA IN THE SEMIS , A GOLDEN PASS FROM POLO WHICH RAZACK (SULIA) PUT THE BALL BETWEEN ATUGAH LEGS ;WHICH BECAME THE GOLDEN GOAL OF THE TOURNAMENT.AWULEY QUAYE WAS THE CAPTAIN, POLO ...

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Willie Klutse equalized for Ghana; the Ghana vs. Nigeria match ended in a 1-1 draw. The match against Tunisia was a semi-final, and Razak scored the lone (Golden) goal. There was no debate about Razak or Adolf being the bes ...

• sakasaka 11 years ago

adolf armah played against zambia, nigeria, tunisia and i think even against upper volta. how could kyenkyenhene be rated ahead of adolf armah.

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Finals:

Dadzie
    Abdul Razak
    Quaye
    Opoku Afriye
    Saidu
    Kyenkyehene
    Joseph Carr
    Dadzie Paha
    Mohamed Ahmed 'Polo'
    Yawson
    Isaac Acquaye

Substitutions:
    Kayede for Dadzie
    Ofei Ansah for Dadzie Paha

Semis:

Jo ...

• Tam 11 years ago

Dan Oppong played right back and was voted best defence player in Africa.

• mander 11 years ago

Wrong. Adolf lost his position to Kyenkyenhene. Has nothing to do with Injury.

• Mander 11 years ago

Apiah Kubi you are spot on with facts. People like you should replace the latter day 419 apprentices impersonating as sports journalist in Ghana.

• Candler 11 years ago

I thought he played for Kotoko,i am surprised please get your facts correct

• Daakye Kwabre MP 11 years ago

Hey, the is correct. Osei Kofi did play for Hearts of Oaks before he joined Kumasi Asante Kotoko.

• Blay Mieza 11 years ago

Yes, Osei Kofi did play for Hearts Of Oak

• akwasi ernest 11 years ago

you think Ghana is the only country God created,have you seen Israel national football team playing at world cup before, if football is a spiritual game.we will always be last because we want God to come and play for us.

• KOMFO ANOKYE 11 years ago

HE'S NOT SAYING ABOUT CHRISTIANS' BELIEVE, THE SO CALLED GOD OF ISRAEL, THE SPIRIT OF ABRAHAM AND SO ON. HE'S SAYING ABOUT THE PEOPLE WHO FELT CHEATED, THEIR ANGER CAN STOP THE BLACK STAR FROM WINNING.

• Asonaba 11 years ago

So England's failure to win anything after 1966 world cup is also spiritusl,right? Let's get real and admit we are not good enough,especially in South Africa. The world cup squad was excellent,but we sent a pub team and the c ...

• Asonaba 11 years ago

So England's failure to win anything after 1966 world cup is also spiritusl,right? Let's get real and admit we are not good enough,especially in South Africa. The world cup squad was excellent,but we sent a pub team the last ...

• papa gaga 11 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU AKWASI ERNEST.GHANAIANS ARE TOO SPIRITUAL,WE ATTRIBUTE VIRTUALLY EVERYTHING GOING WRONG AS SPIRITUAL MISHAPS.WE DO NOT HAVE WATER TO DRINK -ITS SPIRITUAL,POWER CUTS DAY AND NIGHT-SPIRITUAL,A PSYCHOPATH SHOOTI ...

• K Milla 11 years ago

Osei Kofi is a former Asante Kotoko player and NOT Hearts, Mr. Reporter. Check your facts before reporting,

• La Le 11 years ago

It was Hearts which unearthed him from his Koforidua base after which he became and star and moved to Kotoko.

• him 11 years ago

Stop talking Nonsence.

• Big mouth 11 years ago

K Milla,you are the best.I think he wants to be an official Bishop for the Black Stars?"Na Morni".he wants something small to chop!!

• Iddris Issahaq 11 years ago

Sir if really is spiritual then why dont you organize a spiritual program for the black stars

• KOMFO ANOKYE 11 years ago

IT'S THE NATION WHO HAS APOLOGISE AND GIVE BACK WHAT THEY PROMISED THE PLAYERS.

• K. 11 years ago

With all due respect, Mr. Rev. O. Kofi I cannot agree with you. Have you forgotten that Ghana were winners in 1982?

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 11 years ago

We Ghanaians always focus on the African cup and from that standpoint assess the achievements of the BS.But from my own subjective assessment,reaching quarter-final in the WC is valuable than winning the AFCON.Do you agree?

• John Mary 11 years ago

Yes it is unfortunate that a corrupt leader like that could not even live to his promises, by rewarding those selfless players who brought glory to the nation. It may be possible that all funds were made available to fulfill ...

• The Lords 11 years ago

I think some of our leaders in authorities ONLY THINK OF HOW TO FILL THEIR GARGANTUAN STOMACHS AND NOT THINK ABOUT THE WELFARE OF THE CITIZENRY. It is about time they realise this canker and put a stop to it immediately.

• Alex 11 years ago

Non fulfillment of government promise is also not spiritual. We need both spiritual and psychological solutions in addition to hard work, commitment and dedication to national duty to succeed. The government must fulfill prom ...

• ok 11 years ago

asem ooo footballers!

• WIZARD DRIBBLER 11 years ago

JUST PUT ON THE NO7 JERSEY AGAIN AND TELL ME HOW MUCH YOU NEED FOR A HOUSE.

YOU WERE BETTER THAN MESSI OR RONALDO AT THE TIME. THEY WERE NOT BORN THEN.

YOU ARE STILL THE GREATEST.
    WHERE ARE THE OTHER TEAM MATES

FORG ...

• NANA 11 years ago

rawlings stole the money meant for the Black stars ,somebody should tell me how rawlings amassed such wealth. Case close.

• Takyi 11 years ago

As for Rawlings,the least said about this molato con man the better!

• Michael 11 years ago

I think there is a spiritual cause of the BS's failures but for different reasons from the Rev's.
    What kind of prayers nd water do our boys pour on themselves before matches?

What kind of powers do they indivually cosult ...

• Concerned Citizen 11 years ago

Correct for 3pts

• ekow.. 11 years ago

How can the media continue to publish such nonsense. Osei Kofi and the rest did a lot for the cuntry . thats it , period.. he should shut up and stop this spiritual nonsense. Are we going to blame God for our economic woes, p ...

• Quophie 11 years ago

I realise that Osei Kofi has a lot of pent-up feelings as evidenced by his effusions on radio stations. If the problems of the Black Stars are spiritual he should help eradicate them. Is he not a reverend minister?

• GREEN WHITE GREEN 11 years ago

THE METHOD GHANA USED HAVE BEEN BLAMED BY FORMER SERBIA COACH WO DEY SAY GHANA USE BLACK POWER.UNLIKE AFRICAN CHAMPIONS NAIJA MY OWN WHO PRAY 36 TIMES A DAY .EVEN OGUN GOD OF THUNDER IS AFEAR.AH AH.KPELE OH.FOR SUCH VIEWS VIS ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 11 years ago

THAT IS NOT TRUE OSEI KOFI-
    psychology is more powerfuul than evil spirit , excerpt GODS POWERS- and God dont play football

• Sarskoberta 11 years ago

None of the above holds.
    Nothing spiritual, nothing psychological.
    Ghana is not a sinner.

Its just that, there are too many players in the pool, selection is far more difficult/complex than we can think it is.

Besides ...

• TRUTH 11 years ago

YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO BE REVEREND.AND WHAT DO YOU TEACH ON MATERIAL THINGS.YOU DID NOT GET THE PROMISE BUT ARE YOU SLEEPING ON THE STREET? MAN WILL ALWAYS DISAPPOINT WHILE GOD WILL ALWAYS FULFILL HIS PROMISES. THE PAST MUST BE ...

• sam 11 years ago

What spiritual !!! Please stop it and give me a break. What spiritual.

Do you think Ghanaians are the only talented footballers? Other countries go to tournaments to win. Do you think they will sit down for Ghana to def ...

• charlie 11 years ago

I BELEIVE YOU HAVE NOTHING TO SAY

• papa gaga 11 years ago

IT IS NEVER TRUE,GHANA WON THE AFRICAN CUP IN 1982 AFTER THAT PROMISE IN 1978. HE AND POLO ARE THOSE WHO ALWAYS TALK ABOUT THESE DANSOMAN ESTATE HOUSES. ARE THEY EXPECTING THESE HIPIC COUNTRY TO BUILD SO MANY ESTATE HOUSES FO ...

• OSEI STEPHEN,NORWAY 11 years ago

MR OSEI ,JUJU AND SPIRITUAL PROBLEMS WAS THERE BEFORE 1982,EVEN BEFORE JESUS WAS BORN,WHAT I HAVE SEEN IS SOME TIMES FOOT BALL IS LUCKY,ALSO OLDENDAYAS AND NOW IS MORE DIFFRENT,TOO MUCH MONEY IN SPORTS THAN BEFORE ...

• payola 11 years ago

osei kofi wants to take advantage of our afcon cup problem and get a free house. No way! Somebody ask him if he did not receive payment as a player? If the government at the time did infact promise you a house to motivate you ...

• payola 11 years ago

The so called president you claim promised you free house has been shot! but you are still talking about free house in 2013.

• KAKABO 11 years ago

Can we as a nation for once devote our effort into scientific analysis of issues and come up with science based solutions to our problems rather than ascribing everything to spiritualism?. Spiritualism does not play soccer p ...

• HOO 11 years ago

promise is promise give what you promise other wise it become psychological polblem nobody will belive you so mr. nyanatakyi think before you talk

• Johnny 11 years ago

From his explanations, it seems Osei Kofi cannot differentiate between 'spiritual' and 'psychological'. All his reasons the stars have not been winning point to psychological, and have nothing to do with spiritualism. If work ...

• wilson 11 years ago

if you have a lot of players who can't string passes accurately, who can't control balls very well, who cant be quick on the ball, don't expect to win a cup

• OKOROMANSA 11 years ago

YES, OSEI KOFI PLAYED FOR HEARTS BEFORE JOINING KOTOKO WHERE HE BECAME KNOWN AS THE "WIZARD DRIBBLER", "NIMBLE FEET", "ONE-MAN-SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA" AND SO ON. HOWEVER SINCE THE SPIRITUAL PROBLEM IS ALSO A CASH OR ESTATE HOUSE ...

• Amina 11 years ago

Have they promised any pastor, spiritualist, or a fetish priest?

• Ceeboy Dangerman 11 years ago

Papa Sofo, let the spirits do their thing and let the sports psychologist do their own. Cos one plus one equals to two .Amen.

• jojo 11 years ago

these fake men of God, they think incompetence is spiritual, that's why they don't try to apply knowledge and wisdom to solve any problem.

• Na wa o 11 years ago

You took the words out of my mouth.. What complete and utter bullshit!!!

• Amina 11 years ago

WATER, LIGHT, SANITATION,BAD DRIVING, LAZY TO THINK AND MAKE CONSTRUCTIVE PLANS ARE ALL SPIRITUAL?

• oware 11 years ago

Is not true mr.osei this has nothing to do with spirtual stuff give's brake Mr.God has nothing to do with all this gams so plz.....

• Nii Kootse. 11 years ago

Ghana legend Reverend Osei Kofi . . .
    long ago they say when a Ga man grows old he becomes an Ada. An Ewe man grows much more and becomes a crocodile. Today, the highest a person "grows" in Ghana is to become a Reverend Pas ...

• Nyame Ekuma 11 years ago

If the Mafia and bribe takers at the GFA are not exposed, ghana will win a cup at the senior level only after 100 years. Nonsense.

They collect bribes from players to fix them and also slash their bonuses and warned not to ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 11 years ago

No promises any more to these athletes.They will win games for the love of Ghana.The old school Ghanaian athletes brought glory home without any promises.

• Papa 11 years ago

Pray for Ghana national team Man of God.

• country man 11 years ago

neither spiritual nor psychological. The players are arrogant and not committed. We see them play in the foreign leagues. They come here, protect their legs and go back to enjoy their fat weekly salaries.
    Get a local squad, ...

• Daakye Kwabre MP 11 years ago

Hello folks listen up! Though Osei Kofi didnt lay out his arguement correctly, we can't overlooked the facts he gave us. A promise once made must be kept. GFA and Ministry of Youth and Sports must look into this matter and fu ...

• Sports Guru 11 years ago

Only the spiritually enlightened can see

• Son of Man 11 years ago

So far Mr. Daakye has made a sensible comment, no offense to anyone, but its so sad to read nasty comment about Rev.Osei Kofi and past Black Star players. These players were very dedicated and very proud to wear the national ...

• AT10 11 years ago

why are these third worlders always thinking about spiritual stuff? every damn thing is spiritual. Not surprised though. Start working hard and stop the notion that everything is just a matter of prayers.

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Please use your God given brain to prevent or solve problems.Stop being lazy waiting for short-cut to life
    (miracles) and spirits.Non of these mushroom pastors or reverends(what's revered about them?)preach hard work or crit ...

• Theophilus Aquinas Ossei-Anto 11 years ago

OSEI KOFI NEVER PLAYED FOR HEARTS OF OAK

• Agonaba 11 years ago

Only God's promise is reliable

“Promises hold spiritual substance together ”

Only God's promise is reliable

“Hold Well Your Promise” . . . It has direct bearing [on bringing] the finite (brain) ...

• Analyst 11 years ago

The real problem for us Ghanaians is the unscientific and illogical manner we think. We always interpret difficulties spiritually.
    Ever since AFCON started in 1957, only 14 countries have ever won it out of 54 countries with ...

• the truth 11 years ago

another clueless ghanaian

• sakasaka 11 years ago

3 times olympian no medal

• Nii 11 years ago

The Goverment will now call the Pastors to pray for the Black Stars as they did Akosombo Dam during the Electricity crisis.We are getting sick every day.

• Naijaman 11 years ago

Nyantakyi is as corrupt as John Agyekum 50Cent Kufour. He came to power a poor man and left office a multi- millionaire owner of Hotels,filling stations and many swelling bank accounts abroad

• Ka Na Wu 11 years ago

Osei Kofi played for Kotoko and not Hearts.

• michael boye marquaye 11 years ago

Osei kofi was my hero and teacher, he thought me how to play football when i was just five years old at the koforidua jacksons park many many years ago. players like osei kofi and koo kyere, sunday ibrahim kofi sei, yaw mark ...

• A cool guy 11 years ago

michael i like your story and i'm also an old player who knows most of this players..send me a message...emmsante@gmail..let's discuss more..thanks

• Son of Man 11 years ago

Please my fellow Ghanaians, these are the football stories we want read about not bashing players. I am old school{yesteryears}football player and an avid fan. Again, thanks Mr. M.B. Marquaye. I'll love to read more from you.

• zology 11 years ago

i think Mr Osei Kofi want is own share of the cake so government give and less see if Ghana can win the world cup

• Kofi Babone 11 years ago

Oh PLEASE, Mr. Reverend Minister Wizard Dribbler Osei Kofi. Spare us this other twist to our AFCon soccer woes. If Ignatius Kutu Acheampong made the promises, why should subsequent leaders be responsible? Perhaps, Mr. Reveren ...

• A cool guy 11 years ago

In 1978 African cup of nations Abdul Razak was the captain who scored the golden goal agaist Tunisia keeper Atouga. Rev Osei Kofi during his heydays intially played for Accra Hearts of oak and later became a super star with K ...

• Don 11 years ago

y osei kofi dindnt point earlier bt now? bt it pains if 1 dont fulfil his promiz

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

GFA, MIN OF SPORTS SHOULD SORT THEM OUT HINORABLY. WE NEED A GH SOCCER HALL OF FAME. IT CANT AND SHOULDNT BE IN ACCRA. TAKE IT TO KUMASI OR TAMALE.

• Mohammed Awuni 11 years ago

u want GFA to give u money so u pray for the stars

There is only one God ...ALLAH!!!

• maygoma 11 years ago

come to ghana 2008 rev kofi is no one tell him have he bath after toilet

• Elvis, USA 11 years ago

Oh Rev, with all respect, this one di33, I don't think this is true. It is purely mismanagement. Our FA lacks managerial skills and they are only mindful of the senior team which it totally wrong.