You are here: HomeNews2013 03 19Article 268150

20 'okada' nabbed

Read Comments Comments (38)

• Professor 11 years ago

With soaring fuel prices every year for the past four years of NDC rule, does John Dramani Mahama leave these people any choice? A man got to do what a man got to do to survive! Why not license these "okadas?" I thought the c ...

• Cindy 11 years ago

Before embarking on this ban, why not provide them with employment? How are they suppose to earn a living?

• KARI BANDA 11 years ago

No wonder the emergence of Ogada was during the NPP era, and no wonder arm robbery was at its highest peak in that era. Was ogada one of the businesses Npp brought to Ghana?

• KNYC (USMC) 11 years ago

Thank You, it will take a long time for this backward people to see the light. NDC better GHANA for U.

• WHO 11 years ago

ILLITERATE FOOL, WRITE ARMED ROBBERY NOT ARM ROBBERY. WHO ROBBED YOUR ARM?

WHY DON'T YOU DO YOUR KUFFUOR THAT FAVOR? I DON'T NEED IT. WHERE WERE YOU WHEN YOUR NPP PRESIDENT WAS THROWING BULLETS LEFT AND RIGHT WITH THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE? FOOL! YOU THINK YOU CAN STOP ME FROM WRITING?

• NII ARMAH 11 years ago

These ntafuos will not stay in the North and farm they have now invaded Accra with their armed robbery strategy with pkada as a smokescreen.

KUMASI, ACCORDING TO YOU GUYS IS EVERYTHING. WHY DON'T YOU STAY THERE? WHY ARE YOU ALL OVER ACCRA AND OTHER CITIES? IF YOU HAVE GOLD DEPOSITED I YOUR BACK YARD AND YOU CANNOT SURVIVE THERE, AND NEED TO BE IN ACCRA, THEN DON' ...

You are a MORON, with we what was Accra.

You are a MORON, without we, what is ACCRA. I am Ashanti but have a House at Mccathy-Hill. Why? Because I want to and you can't do sh..it about.

• sbrooks 11 years ago

I have true symphathy for anyone just trying to survive but, Did anyone catch the story of the woman killed at a school who was just a cook for the children at that school and only 31years old. I am enraged over this and the ...

• Ellen 11 years ago

Get away with your tribalism we have mensahs in every house. are you also neat at all you also have your negative side

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Did the gorvenment ask them to breed like rats?

• Joe 11 years ago

yebedii bi keke

• Remove Indemnity Clause 11 years ago

More arrest more bribes for the police.

• KOO-SWISS 11 years ago

PLEASE THIS OKADA THING IS VERY DANGERIOUS THING TO PLAY WITH-IT MUST BE UPROOTED WITH HARSH PUNISHMENT.
    please let us all help the police to deal with it rootlessly. 80% of them are armed robbers

• cocgoman of psaniittsburgh 11 years ago

since asante,s cannot get chance to steal again, they are insulting anybody at all.foolsh asante thieves.

• KWAME 11 years ago

if you had arrested them all earlier, there would have been less armed robbery, and less votes for NDC...damn

• Kwaku 11 years ago

We turn to blame gorvenment all the times. Did the gorvenment ask them to breed like rats at Ashama there?

• Rosalyn 11 years ago

Help me understand this pls

• Asonaba 11 years ago

The state of Lagos is trying to ban okada and
    Ghana has embraced it.It's dangerous to even ride without helmets.

• BUSINESS DEVELOPER 11 years ago

GOOD JOB DONE BY THE POLICE ARREST THESE OKADA RIDERS AND THEIR PASSENGERS AND ALSO SEIZE THEIR BIKES TO PROVE TO THEM THAT THEIR ARE LAWS IN GHANA AND MUST BE RESPECTED AND ABIDED.

• Ghanaman 11 years ago

Only foolish Ghanaiana embraces all negative things. we are quick to justify every nonsense for lack of job. Go to Kenya and see how organize rule of law works and we think we are the best in Africa. The best my foot. Just ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

1. You have to keep pumping if you want to get anywhere.

2. It's best to wear protective head-gear when going into unfamiliar territory.

3. You can do it with no hands, but it's best not to try it until you have a lot o ...

• ralph man 11 years ago

Dats good they suppose to arreste them all becouse some armed robbest are taking advantage of good work the cops.

• Wofa Yaw 11 years ago

What are the police doing? there are lot of unliecenced motor bikes in the country, including NDC gurus, the police interest are on the commercial vehicles, ignoring these facts, they don't even wear their clash helmet.

• Theo Ofei Foyoo 11 years ago

Why is the law applied selectively? Are the police in Accra and other places blind to this simple law? Of course they cant because the NDC govt who are the beneficiary of this chaotic mess on our roads will not permit any san ...

• daladam 11 years ago

petro prices are motorbike are used in most of africa times are bad why mess with people that use bikes to make aliving

• Ellen 11 years ago

Be there the day that you will be robbed by any of them then you will give credit to the authorities Even the way they ride rough not thinking about safety.

• Vivor 11 years ago

Do we have the same law at Aflao,Ketu South or there are no policemen there?
    Please ,Mr.IGP, I want the answer.

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

No law works in a country where bribery and corruption thrive!When arrested, some politicians will demand their release!What sort of a country is this?

• There Is 11 years ago

The best solution, provide jobs first or skillful trainning and some sort of assistance. How come we always try to solve problems backwards?

• Accra Resident 11 years ago

Go even further and ban use of motorbikes at night. Anyone seen riding a motorbike after 8 pm should be arrested.

• liv 11 years ago

These Okadas are Togolese and Beninois.

• Saikimbo 11 years ago

Stop the nonsense Regional Police Commander after all you will take bribe and the next day will find them in our roads again

• King Adjei 11 years ago

I recommend the police for arresting them GHANA will not be allowed to be used by Nigerians who has introduce robbery and now okada ARREST THEM

• K ADJEI 11 years ago

If they dont have job they can go work on farm OKADA is not job creating it increases robbery

• AKWASI 11 years ago

TAKE THIS SERiOUS GHANA POLICE BECUSE GHANA IS TOO WEAK FOR PEOLE TO COMPLY WIH OUR RULES,YOU CANN'T DO THIS IN FRENCH COUTIRIES LIKE GABON, WHO THERE YOU.STOLEN ITEMS YOU BOUGHT WILL GO TO JAIL MORE THE ROBBER SO EVERYBODY I ...