You are here: HomeNews2013 03 06Article 266807

Our teachers can’t teach English

Read Comments Comments (95)

• CHA 11 years ago

Today we have chinese and indians who cant speak english but are innovators in the computer and medical breakthrough- Ghanaians we need to put a stop to this COLONIAL mentality about learning the British language and concent ...

• NYAME BA 11 years ago

Today we have chinese and indians who cant speak english but are innovators in the computer and medical breakthrough- Ghanaians

SO HOW ARE YOU GOING TO TRAIN DOCTORS , ENGINEERS AND ECONOMISTS IN GHANA? DO YOU HAVE PHYSICS ...

• ANSAH 11 years ago

YOU ARE LOCAL IF YOU DONT SPEAK AND INTERNATIONAL LANGUAGE. HOW DO YOU PURSUE HIGHER EDUCATION?A PH D IN MATHEMATICS IN FRAFRA? OR A MASTERS DEGREE IN PHYSICS IN TWI ?

• Ada Boy 11 years ago

The Chinese have hundreds of thousands of their citizens studying english in the West. Ghana is lucky to have a language that has become the world's lingua -franca.You are still going to turn out mediocre students in Twi,Fan ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED? HAHAHAHA "CATASTROPHY"

• WISE-TALK, UK 11 years ago

some times i fell shame ghanians my fellow west africans or black africans,many ghanians cant even sign,na
    waooo.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Here I come. So long as you disrespect Ghanaians, I shall be on your throat. Just read over what you have posted and see your level in The Queen's language. Do you even know where to capitalize words and use the apostrophe?

• blueprint 11 years ago

that is why they are so stupid

• KOFI NUA 11 years ago

THIS MAKES NO SENSE. CAN WE SPEAK TWI AT THE UNOR ECOWAS MEETINGS? ENGLISH IS INTERNATIONAL NOW. ALMOST ALL EUROPEANS SPEAK ENGLISH. LETS STOP THE LAZINESS.

• ROMANO 11 years ago

THE VERY FEW THAT CAN WRITE AND SPEAK ENGLISH, WRITES AND SPEAKS BETTER ENGLISH THAN YOUR ANAGOS 1000 -TIMES.ANAGO GO SAY BOT,BUT GHANAMAN GO SAY BUT. YOU SHUT THE FUCK UP,CRACKHEAD

• OSAGYEFO 11 years ago

STUPID ANAGO, LOOK WHAT YOU'VE JUST WRITTEN, SOME-TIMES I "FELL" SHAME. ANAGO OLOISHI, OMO NIGERIA OLE, OLE BRUKU.

• OSAGYEFO 11 years ago

ANIMAL, YOU DONT EVEN KNOW HOW TO WRITE, "TRUTH, COMING, FEEL...

• KOFI NUA 11 years ago

TEACH THE TEACHERS ENGLISH AND SO THEY CAN TEACH OUR KIDS. STOP THE LAZINESS.

• HON SHAMO 11 years ago

AFTER ALL ENGLISH IS THE WORLD'S LANGUAGE, EVERY NATION IS LEARNING IT NOW, THE PROBLEM IN GHANA IS CAN OUR TEACHERS USE IT TO TEACH PROPERLY? SINCE THEY THEMSELVES ARE STILL LEARNING! USE LOCAL LANGUAGE TO EXPLAIN DELICATE S ...

• Kwesi 11 years ago

YES, YOUR COMMENT MAKE SENSE. GHANA SHOULD TEACH IN OUR LOCAL LANGUAGE AND TEACH ENGLISH AS ELECTIVE COURSE LIKE WHAT IS DONE IN CHINA, RUSSIA, IRAN, MEXICO AND SOUTH AFRICA AMONG AFRIKAANS. IF THIS HAPPEN I BET YOU ALL PEOPL ...

• Hoho 11 years ago

who "go work for monkey to chop"? politicians are looting the state caufers and asking teachers to work hard? how do they wash their faces? they use pepper or cascara medicine? idiot Ghana

• CITIZEN ONE 11 years ago

Again and Again and Again, I say you Akans are the problem. Each time some of you backward traditionalists claim we should use our local languages, you simply mean TWI. Many of you pretenders have gone to great lengths never ...

• DSST 11 years ago

You've hit the nail on the head. You've said it all. And that, my friends, is the long and short of the whole situation. We are becoming stupid through laziness, and we are trying to justify it with "patriotism."

• Hoho 11 years ago

if they have nothing better to talk about, they shouldn't come to ghanaweb and blow nonsense: compare this:
    1. teachers use sponge and soap to clean teeth in the morning,they criminal politicians use Pepsodent and bristle to ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 11 years ago

That's why I sometimes get angry when some stupid Ghanaians clamour or agitate for a national language.

Can anyone out there tell me when Twi, Ga, Gonja, Ewe or Fante was ever spoken at any international meeting like ECOW ...

• Ewusi 11 years ago

Have seen that your small brain has exposed you.Just read comments from people and you would understand.

• OSEI LOND 11 years ago

WHAT IS THE MEANING OF OUR 56YEARS OF OUR INDEPENDENCE WHEN WE STILL SPEAK SOMEONE LANGUAGE INDIA CHINA MAYLASIA PAKISTAN THEY ALL HAVE MANY LANGUAGES BUT THEY ALL DID WITH THEIR OWN LANGUEGE IN OUR PALIMENT TODAY WE SPEAK EN ...

• Big mouth 11 years ago

What is the twi Word for Parliament,Car,pen etc.if you Don,t want to use Engilsh than iam afraid you have to go bare fllotend and also Eat from leaves and go local ,lets Blend both,English and the local languages

• KUKRUDU 11 years ago

Why the emphasis on English? If we are that concerned then get our studenrs to speak good English rather than the STUPID ones they use - 'charley, that thing no good paa'. You meet then in say London or New York and ask them ...

• KANEWU 11 years ago

THIS IS NOT STRANGE.

THE LOW STANDARD OF ENGLISH SPOKEN AND/OR WRITTEN BY 95% OF GHANA'S LEADERSHIP SPEAKS VOLUMES.

AS FOR THE STANDARD OF ENGLISH OF GHANAWEB EDITORS AND CONTRIBUTORS ON THIS FORUM, THE LEAST COMMENT O ...

• Big mouth 11 years ago

Who told you the Chinese and Indian innovators can,t speak English..Engilsh is a World Language. Not a colonial Language ,Even the Computer you are Using, Speaks English,the Most developed Language and Most Spoken langua ...

• Yarchoe 11 years ago

English language is very, very important. The Chinese, Indians and the whole world speak English and that is why their economies are strong. Chinese government have put learning of English as their first priority for interna ...

Fool, why don't you post your stupid comment in your dialect?

• Iron 11 years ago

Who told you Indians don't speak English? You are nothing but an ignorant sauce-pan. No wonder why you are able to write shit on ghanaweb, fool.

• CASTRO 11 years ago

It is not important? I work for a school IN THE us that takes in 100's of Chinese who want to learn English. Less I forget Twi is more important to Ghanians. You lazy idiot. Just because people like you are too lazy to learn ...

• PANEL 11 years ago

They should use ashangrish.

• ANANE MENSAH 11 years ago

TWI IS SPOKEN BY JUST A HANDFUL OF PEOPLE, PEOPLE IS AN INT MEANS OF COMMUNICATION THAT OPENS ALL DOORS. THIS IS NOT COLONIAL MENTALITY, THIS IS BEING PRACTICAL AND SMART.

ARE WE GOING TO TEACH IN ALL THE MANY LANGUAGES IN ...

Twi is only important to native Twi speakers and not all Ghanaians. Do we conduct official business in Ghana using Twi language?

• KOFI NUA 11 years ago

MAYBE WE SHOULD SPEEAK HAUSA, NOT TWI. TWI SI SPOKEN BY JUST A FEW IN GHANA. HAUSA IS SPKEN ALL OVER AFRICA. IF WE SPEAK TWI, WE COMMOT INTELLECTUAL SUICIDE.

Yooooooooooooooo!!!!!!

• LAW 11 years ago

WHEN R U GOING TO STOP DISGRACING TEACHERS. I QUIT THIS PROFESSION COS OF THIS DAMN SHIT!

• AJOA 11 years ago

CAN WE COMPETE IN THIS WORLD. IN THE USA, KINDEGARTEN TEACHERS HAVE MASTER'S DEGREES.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

Mr. Ansah noted that teachers who were hard working, rather seemed to be more interested in pursuing further studies than paying their due as teachers trained to lay a sound foundation for the younger generation.

OR HIRE N ...

• Anokye 11 years ago

Oh Ghana!when will we stop criticizing teachers?If u can write a comment and read,thank teachers ok.Who taught Kofi Anan,prez Mahama,Kwasi Prat jnr and You?Go to most of the public schools and look at the available teaching a ...

• PRINCE (AMSTERDAM) 11 years ago

'COS OF THIS NONESENSE I LEFT THIS PROFESSION. ANY IDIOT CAN TALK TO TEACHERS ANYHOW. PAY THEM WELL; MOTIVATE THEM; ENCOURAGE THEM RATHER THAN INSULTING AND INTIMIDATING THEM. STOP THIS STUPIDITY.

• AMANOR ISAAC,USA. 11 years ago

It is 1.Curriculum failure,2.Lack of supervision,3.Lack of appropriate and standard TLMs and 4.Lack of motivation.I was a product of Wesco and UEW and Taught both science&maths right from the lower primary,upper primary,J.H.S ...

I hope to become the Director General for GES by the time I return .Some people are just backwards and vissionless.

• PRINCE (AMSTERDAM) 11 years ago

WHEN WILL YOU RETURN?

• AMANOR ISAAC 11 years ago

I think there are so many physical demons in leadership who need to allow Ghana to gain a real independence.Almost every leader bewitched by the love of money but I want to make a name and leave a mark for generations to come ...

• Big 11 years ago

Is English our mother tongue go to China and others master fight for salary increment and lookwarm attitude.foolish association

• AKOLOGO 11 years ago

SO ALL THE VARIOUS TRIBES SHOULD TEACH THEIR SCHOOLS IN THEIR LOCAL LANGUAGE. THIS WOULD BE THE TOWER OF BABEL. TO THE GAS, TWI IS NOT THEIR MOTHER TONGUE, SO WE TEACH GA KIDS IN GA AND EWE KIDS IN EWE? SO EWE TEXT BOOKS AND ...

• Big mouth 11 years ago

These who can,t speak Good English are usuelle .those who speak too much of the local Language,too much Twi,etc,they only speak English when they See a white man or when they go to Collection Visa,we are alredy Late lets mov ...

• Big 11 years ago

Foolish association

• Big 11 years ago

Toothless association

• Ghanaba1 11 years ago

I would rather be surprised if our teachers can't teach our local language not English.Do we eat or drink english in Ghana? we need jobs,electricity,water ,food and and development not stupid talks. Most of Our so called poli ...

• Free Wisdom 11 years ago

Ghanaba, you mixed two things. English is univerasl. It is a global language and there is no option about that. You said electricity; what is the name of electricity in Twi, Ewe, Dagomba, Nzema and Ga? Science and technology ...

• Ghanaba1 11 years ago

I THINK YOU ARE SOO SILLY,YOU CAN'T EVEN SPELL THE WORD "UNIVERSAL" AND ELECTRICITY IN ASHANTI MEANS "ANYIMANNKANNEA" WHICH PROUDLY SHOWS HOW THE ASHANTI LANGUAGE CAN BE MORE USEFUL IN GHANA AND THE SO CALLED ENGLISH LANGUAGE ...

• Nationalist 11 years ago

When Children are born they're named by their Parents. It is your right to name all of your creation. Remember Ancient Kemit, Egypt, Nubia, Kananite etc. Do you think Ancient Egyptians did not name all the Pyramids? Peopl ...

• Ghanaba1 11 years ago

THEY SHOULD WRITE IN ASHANTI SINCE ASHANTI LANGUAGE CAN BE WRITTEN BUT NOT BRONG.Brongs like you can not even sing in their language neither can not be written.keep off with your senseless poem

• Nde 11 years ago

We have said this all along but the USELESS NAGRAT will only want benefits and not responsibilities. Shame NAGRAT.

• Dr. Antwi. 11 years ago

It is aboUt time teachers specialized in core subjects so that they can master the contents before they can impart it efficiently and effectively.

• Rosalyn 11 years ago

Yes

For int.science we need specialization as the first step .I was a consultant to most private schools after the 2008 curr.revision and subject co-ord. in the GES but the sad thing is that my ideas and interventions were accept ...

• Nationalist 11 years ago

Nyankopon do not creates junks. Anyone who give up or renounce his blessed Tongue is doomed. You have therefore accepted and willfully to worship someone else instead of Nyankopon. Your Spiritual rights, Your Sanity, Your ...

• KWAME 11 years ago

We forgotten that we give certificates cheaply. The teachers of the teachers in the training Colleges themselves cannot teach English so it is a cycle. Now every teacher would like to do the Diploma by whatever means to get p ...

• Kwesi Sakyi 11 years ago

English is sine qua non in a globalised world. Tanzania abandoned English and took Swahili as official language but later they regretted and started learning English again. Even the Chinese cant do business without English.

• Dondoli 11 years ago

If your teachers cant read or write its their teachers who failed them. Ghana has its own english language which only ghanaians can understand.
    If you pass a person because he/she is your friends son/daughter and that person ...

Read the whole article ,the point is about almost all the subjects;maths,int.science and pretech. are all included.specialize in training and in teaching and stop the jack of all trade,supervision should be taken serious ,mor ...

• SYDNEY 11 years ago

DID U HEAR THE MINISTERIAL VETTING OF A CERTAIN NDC FEMALE PARLIAMENTARIAN?.....AND YET SHE WON THE VOTES OF HER CONSTITUENCY AND WAS NOMINATED BY JOHN MAHAMA FOR A CABINET POSITION...SO CAN U SEE HOW MORONIC GHANAIANS CAN BE ...

• MAAME YAA 11 years ago

how many were u in class when u were in school? large class, no motivation, sweat, chalk dust,running nose,etc. give them air condition classrooms and see if they won't work hard like u!

• USMAN 11 years ago

The Diploma holders mentioned in this article are all products of the University of Cape Coast. You can now see why even though Ghana is endowed with a lot of resources we are still under-developed. Ever since Ghana started p ...

• Rosalyn 11 years ago

Me know spik inglis than white Russian

• Rosalyn 11 years ago

English grammar ? Yes

• yikle kpotoe 11 years ago

you are right grammar,grammar!i understand where u are coming from.grammar goes to affect the way we right , speak etc

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

In Arkansas in the US under Bill Clinton as governor, he found a similar situation and the State was 46th on the Education league table in the US. So what did he do? provide incentives for teachers to retrain to improve their ...

• USMAN 11 years ago

Our useless university graduates are educated but not trained. Education is easy, cheap and ineffective yet Ghanaians always want this short cut to the top. Training on the other hand is very effective in accomplishing any ta ...

• KANEWU 11 years ago

IS GHANA TRULY INDEPENDENT?

THAT'S THE ONLY QUESTION I HAVE.

GHANA'S USELESS CLUELESS CORRUPT LAZY FREELOADING SCROUNGING LEADERS HAVE AN AWFUL LOT TO LEARN FROM THE HANDS-ON LEADERSHIP AND LEGACY OF THE LATE HUGO CHAVE ...

This is nothing new,I made these observations back in 2008 till 2010 when I finally left to the USA,In almost each of my quarterly reports as then science&Env.co-ord GES Ejisu Municipal , I mentioned it and included some inte ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 11 years ago

The fact is the entire state institutions in the country are horribly collapsing including our once enviable education system. Ghana is producing illiterate unmarketable graduates walking hopelessly jobless on our streets and ...

• DON. AMSTERDAM 11 years ago

WE NEED ENGLISH MORE THAN `TWI`IF GHANA WANTS TO DEVELOP.GHANAIN ORAL
    ENGLISH IS THE WORST IN THE WORLD.HOW
    CAN ARAB JUST WATCH TV AND SPEAK BETTER THAN GHANAIN UNIVERSITY STUDENT
    I AM BEGGING THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION
    TO ...

• B.A 11 years ago

let us teach our teachers how to teach and not what to teach.their training is content oriented which I think is not the best.let them know how to teach from there. the content is already found in the various text books of th ...

• Ato John 11 years ago

OUR TEACHERS CAN’T TEACH ENGLISH? What a pity, what has become of our proud educational institutes? The UCC was established with teaching as its core criteria, it was the cradle of our educational system, where professional ...

• HANATU 11 years ago

WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO SUBJECT TEACHERS?MAY BE THE CURRENT EDUCATION SYSTEM IS FAILING US.LETS GO BACK TO WHAT WE HAD BEFORE.STAY LONGER IN SCHOOL SINCE THIS SYSTEM HAS FAILED.YOU AGREE WITH ME THAT, THE MIDDLE SCHOOL AND SIXTH ...

• Dzantor 11 years ago

Mr Ansah has made a very critical analysis of the current tends of teacher education in Ghana. my only worry is why should we always use English, Maths and Science as the only yardstick in the measurement of the success of Ed ...

• Jay *************************London 11 years ago

When I read Mahama's spoken English, that is his words in inverted commas when he visited the Bui Dam facility recently, I could hardly make any sense of his English. If even our so-called President cannot speak proper Engli ...

• DON. AMSTERDAM 11 years ago

DON`T JUST CALL A PERSON`S NAME AND
    MISTAKES CAN OCCURE.JUST BRING UP YOUR
    MIND TO HELP TO LET TEACHERS TO TEACH
    ENGLISH AT SCHOOLS AND NOT "TWI".EVEN
    THE PRESIDENT WAS ABLE TO SPEAK ENGLISH,AND WHAT ABOUT THE FMs AND TEA ...

• AAAA 11 years ago

There is the need to take a second look at the mode of selection of candidates. A person who has no interest in teaching (no matter his grades) cannot be an effective teacher. And it is not only English, Mathematics and Sc ...

• tHE sHAKARA 11 years ago

This issue has generated interesting arguments. Many points have been raised to support individuals' viewpoints. However, it seems to me that, most of the conclusions are aberrant with the premise of the speech. The main prem ...

• yakoona wa 11 years ago

of what use is it to speak big English and cannot manufacture common tooth pick and matches? go to china and see how small Chinese boys make mobile phones which are used by the professors of Big grammar.

• Rosalyn 11 years ago

What have you invented or innovated

• Abalo 11 years ago

There are several reasons for this problem with the English language. The language is introduced too late (after age 5 years). Secondly it is taught by teachers who first think in the venacular and translate their thoughts in ...

• Nala 11 years ago

THIS IS WAT U GET WHEN ALL U HV TO DO IS TO SLEEP WT A SUPERIOR & DEN BAM U R HANDED A CERTIFICATE DE NEXT DAY. APUUTOOO. SHAMELESS IMBECILES. MY LITTLE SISTER IS EVEN FAR BETTER THAN MOST LADIES I RUN INTO AT THE VARIOUS COR ...

• MAAME 11 years ago

it was in America that I heard the expression "they was" for the first time. english is not easy for even the Americans who claim the language is theirs. I am not against knowing the technical aspect of the language but I t ...

Mr Ansah is right.But it is not that the teachers cant teach English .the problem is they themselves don't know the technicalitie.the grammatical mistakes.in fact this is a very big and serious problem in the whole educationa ...

how can they teach something they themselves were not taught.

• Sly 11 years ago

The fact is we should stop that " can you speak twi so that everyone can understand what you are saying" by the hosts of radio programmes

• Sly 11 years ago

How can that be possible when able profs. always educate the masses on radio 24/7 with twi/akan, even when one calls to make contribution in English language, your call is dropped? That is Ghana for you "twi/akan" all the way ...

• Hazor 11 years ago

Is the structure shown in the picture a school or somebody house?If this is a school, is it part of the millions Mills/Mahama administration claim they have built across the lenght and breath in the country and renovated clai ...

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

HOW DID THESE TEACHERS PASS TO OBTAIN THEIR DIPLOMA CERIFICATES.

THIS CLEARLY INDICATES THAT THEER IS STILL SERIOUS TEACHING DEFICITS AT OUR TEACHER TRAINING COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITY COLLEGES OF EDUCATION.

• Yaa j 11 years ago

The issue of teachers teaching English language is dire it is not only diploma holders but almost all teachers even degree holders if it is not o how come the word temporary has been replaced with temporal and it is almost ac ...