You are here: HomeNews2013 03 03Article 266531

Ghana cannot do away with thermal power - VRA

Read Comments Comments (48)

• Kwaku 11 years ago

So tell NPP to shut up and face realities in the water and energy sectors in Ghana.

• Conventional Youth. 11 years ago

GHANA’S ENERGY CRISIS – THE CPP’S BLUEPRINT
    Energy is one of the parameters in the value addition chain. The rest being TIME, TOOL, MATERIAL, MONEY, MAN POWER (HUMAN RESOURCE), INFORMATION; without energy there can be ...

• Alex 11 years ago

With only 1200 dollars you solve your power problems for 20 years.
    You get 500 watts of power supply, That can give light, tv,radio and charge your mobile phone.
    contact me kwame_1963@msn.com or 008613580830847.

• OSEI LOND 11 years ago

Ghana canot do away with thermal power mr akwasi fletcher cant you see that the time has come ghana dont need akosombo for anything we need wind mill solra get new life old fools

• Hohn Peters 11 years ago

Ghanains should blame the PURC for failing to increase energy tariffs to enable VRA to provide the investment they needed.We cant eat our cake and still have it.

• ekow sego 11 years ago

It is better to pay a little bit more for power than high cost using generator for a day.PURC please if vra collaspse like Tor then you are to blame.

• BRO DAN -TRC 11 years ago

GOD FEARING ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, GLOBAL MAN-MADE "JACOB'S TROUBLE"? -"THE SCRIPTURES CANNOT BE BROKEN". SELAH. FOR IN THE BIGINNING -"MAN" WAS TOLD, "PREPARE ...

• Fiifi Sam, New Jersey 11 years ago

Enough with these meetings and commissions that bring no result. Here's the problem. Ghanaians have been blinded with politics so much. that the politicians are taking advantage This is not NPP vrs. NDC blame game. At the end ...

• Adongo som 11 years ago

Its no politics matter.this is no magic.look VRA produces power at a cost .then sell it below the operation cost make 100% loss,Gov does'nt pay what they use ,the rest of us pay low tariff but turn round to blame VRA.crude oi ...

• Mahama Ayaripa 11 years ago

it is politics. there is interference from politicians. Politicians have not paid VRA.

• no nonsense 11 years ago

People have little knowledge of the subject area but turn to be insultive.wait do you no the cost per unit of power associate with solar.solar is the most expensive power option.it is 5times costly than even crude generation ...

• NANA KWEKU AWULAE BRUKUSU 11 years ago

Nonsense! Everything under the sun is affected by the decisions of politicians. Why does load shedding have nothing to do with politics? Nana, you're ignorant!

• Nonsense 11 years ago

Due to water shortages, hydropower production has also fallen with water levels. Now countries around the world are looking at Solar and Wind power generation.But Nonsense country like Ghana is Still building Dams. Backward p ...

People have little knowledge of the subject area but turn to be insultive.wait do you no the cost per unit of power associate with solar.solar is the most expensive power option.it is 5times costly than even crude generation. ...

• Cheaptalk 11 years ago

how is solar more expensive than crude when generating?You can talk of installing the panels ,but there is not cost in solar energy production!!!

• Nonsense 11 years ago

Crude is dirty and expensive. Solar in the southern hemisphere is the cheapest energy for mankind.

• Nonsense 11 years ago

Solar energy cost betwen $0.28 and $0.36 per kWh. Yes, solar used to be very expensive but not anymore. Crude oil is very dirty and mind you it is not sustainable in a long term. If countries like Algeria, Morocco can invest ...

Yes you are correct of the per/unit cost.The issue is who should generate it at $0.36 and sell it $0.16per kwh.Does it make economic sense.Dont decieve yourself,if you want to enjoy constant power you got to pay.we are gettin ...

• James USA 11 years ago

The decisions to build the CSP in Algeria and Morocco were made by their government. Ghanaians are ready to pay for a constant electricity supply. Solar is the only sustainable.

• ABALO 11 years ago

Thanks for this . There is too much mis-information about Solar power. It is not a viable solution to our current problems. Apart from being expensive it is not available in the nignt when it is most needed. Also solar is DC ...

• Cheaptalk 11 years ago

With all the mountainous regions in Ghana am shocked there is not even one wind mill producing electricity in those areas, some parts on the north should have large solar panels to provide electricity , a true diversification ...

• DAN 11 years ago

or the days with no rain behind dam need natural gas to fire the generators

• Sankofa 11 years ago

The alternative forms of power generation are investment opportunities.

Let us in the diaspora look to contribute to the development of our country by investing in power generation.

That would be much better than castin ...

• kingsford 11 years ago

IS THERE ANY ELETRICITY IN GHANA;I WOULDN;T MIND PAYING MUCH SO LONG IM GETTING NONSTOP POWER SUPPLY BUT AS FAR AS IM CONCERN POWER U MAY NOT GET BUT ALWAYS CHARGING GAGANTUA PRICES:SAD

• Emmanuel Quaye, Slough 11 years ago

Solar is the cheapest and a sustainable energy source. It looks as if our leaders are ANTI – technology. Nobody talks about a large scale solar power generation in its manifestos. Solar is the only solution. The power load ...

• Nonsense 11 years ago

Tell these Anti-technology and kokoasi leaders.

• Mark Doe 11 years ago

We in Ghana do not problem but for our useless vision less leaders that do not how to pull the country through with all the natural and human resources that God endowed us with as a nation , I cry and shall continue to cry f ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

Here is the problem. If you bring alternative energy business to Ghana, the government is angry because they cannot get money out of it. At the end of the day it is up to individuals to spend their own money to bring solar ...

• YEBOPOWER 11 years ago

Absurd.Why is Ghana still investing in thermal and hydro power whereas solar power which originates from the sun and Ghana being in sub sahara Africa will benefit from such technology.We have all seen how the sun dries up Ako ...

• ekow sego 11 years ago

exercise your brain.Talk for Ghanaian is cheap.They should fire who?If solar was that cheap as you say Japan,France etc would not be using Nuclear energy.Tell me what serious company would invest in solar because sun is avail ...

• ekow sego 11 years ago

SO so sun is available why dont you go down North and fetch into your house for light.investment, Africa you pay $58 million to wayome for no work done and want investment and technology to flow like water.there is something ...

• congo 11 years ago

If people speak the truth they should be fired! what an analogy.Not surprise the country is being ruled by sycophants lies and cowards.Good, honest mind cant fit him.We need more Fletcher's.

• efuye 11 years ago

am 4rom naija nd hve been in ghana 4 7years,infact hv never sin a stupid fools like d ashantis,mumu dem in europ vilegezin,cant speak comon inglish mumu

• Ohene,,, 11 years ago

Why should we Ashanti's speak English when we have ur twi,,,,u can't even spell English,,,is with E,,not I. U fucking idiot

• efuye 11 years ago

hey ghanians should answer me do dis ashantis school b4 travilin,wat a morons,how do dey get visa,hmmm i pity ghanians ooooo

• goodguy 11 years ago

Is better than being 419 people.Niaja's are all 419 crooks.evry ghanaman no matter who he is 20times better than a naija person trust me.bookom haram

• bright jectey 11 years ago

This country have everything we still the suffer•Our leader we need help all our things and our work are being liquidated bbecause of electricity•bring the gas

• KOFORIDUA Flowers (fr) 11 years ago

aSIEDU nKETIA WILL BE RICHER AND RICHER AS SOLE SUPPLIER OF BLOCKS TO SUCH HYDROELECTRIC UNDER CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS.aSIEDU BLOCKS HAVE NO CONTROL PRICE FOR, THE GOVT HAVE NO RIGHT TO ARGUE OVER PRICES.LONG LIVE gEN mOSQUITO. ...

• KOFI ASANTE 11 years ago

"He said the VRA was producing electricity at a loss of 100 per cent because the consumer was paying half of what he should be paying"
    when you lose 100 per cent IT MEANS YOU LOSE EVERYTHING, NOT WHEN YOU SAY THE CONSUMER PA ...

• Nii the great 11 years ago

There are thermal power plants being built in China with capacity of 2600MW. They are using 3 133MW turbines at Bui. With the size of the reservoir they could easily have put 4 or 5 turbines at 250 MW each to produce over 100 ...

• ABALO 11 years ago

The Bui dam does not hold enough water to produce even the 400MW 24/7 every day. Indeed it is more of a "peaking plant", for example it can be used to produce the 400MW for maybe 4 hours each evening during the peak. if they ...

• king 11 years ago

stop this small mind and think abit outside the box. who told u we cant make make Ghana energy hab. look I am in the solar and wind energy business and you would be amazed how much this sources can provide. we just finished ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

The problem is to get people to change their mentality. They know that Solar will work but they have two problems: 1) the initial costs 2) since the sun is free people will be able to set up there own systems without involv ...

• Sankofa 11 years ago

King, please see my arlier post in this thread.

Could you please explore the possibility of investing in solar and wind energy generation in our country? If you can do it in Turkey, why can you nt do it in Ghana? There is ...

• Alex 11 years ago

1200 usd can give you solar power for light,tv.radio,fan and charge your phone for 8 hours/
    contact me kwame_1963@msn.com or 008613580830847

• Kwame 11 years ago

I fail to understand the speech given by
    Mr. Sam Fletcher of VRA.How many MW of electricity is produced by Akosombo Hydroelectric plant? I hope he is not trying to confuse the public that the hydroelectric plant is also run ...

• POLITICAL ZOMBIE NDC 11 years ago

TALKING ABOUT BUI DAM & GAS PIPELINE FROM NIGERIA THESE ARE THE LEADERS GHANA NEED THANK U NPP KUFFOUR THE PARTY WITH VISION LEADERS NOT EDE BE KEKE ATONGO MAHAMA APETWE ZUMA MILLS KILLER

• ABALO 11 years ago

There is too much mis-information about Solar power. Apart from being expensive it is not available in the nignt when it is most needed. Also solar is DC and needs elaborate converters to change to AC. The proponents of solar ...