You are here: HomeNews2013 03 02Article 266481

Togo, Benin request power from Ghana amidst blackouts

Read Comments Comments (107)

• Kokonte 11 years ago

Asking somebody who has no shoes to give you a shoe, is absolute madness.

• Obed Adore 11 years ago

Unfortunately, Ghana has to honour its bilateral international agreements signed between us and these 3 nations. Kokonte, unfortunate as it seems, it is not not an "absolute madness" as such. Ghana has to give the shoes... du ...

• Asanteni 11 years ago

Absolute madness. Look at the 'kwatrikwa' promising to clothe someone. Look forward to another judgement debt.

• REMOVE BY 11 years ago

No power here in Tema the whole of last night, and I'm expecting it to g

• SHAMO 11 years ago

WHAT SYMPATHY DOES THIS STUPID GOVERNMENT HAVE FOR GHANA? THEY WILL SELL OUR LITTLE POWER TO TOGO FOR MONEY!! WHY IS JJ CALLING THEM GREEDY BASTARDS?

• Big mouth 11 years ago

Shamo ,you always don,t get it and yet you always want to comment with insults.I wonder what level of education you have.,JSS ,middle school?oh boy !,you have never contributed any thing positive.

• Rob 11 years ago

Who feeds his neighbors when his own children are hungry?

• CAYLX 11 years ago

TOGO BENIN NO GET SENSE.

• KNYC (USMC) 11 years ago

Is your Gov't who have no sense.

• Think 11 years ago

Aflao is in darkness whilst Lome is enjoying free power in the name of bilateral agreement. When was the agreement signed and is there no way out? I do not think we have any lawyers in Ghana. That Makola Ghana Law School sho ...

• Nana Tutugyagu-USA 11 years ago

you haven't see anything yet. what do you expect when your people are voting massively for incompetent people to lead the nation. i don't feel sorry for Ghanaians, they deserve the hardship they are going through now and hope ...

• Yaw 11 years ago

Aboa like you, foolish Nana or whatever your name is. How much was a sachet of water when NPP came in 2001 and how much was it when they left. These fools talk like we were enjoying luxury under NPP four years. Where were u w ...

• Asem be ba debi 11 years ago

Obed. Nobody is saying that Ghana does not have to fulfill it's end of any agreement. The point here is that, these countries (Togo and Benin) were in the country asking for AN INCREASE in the power Ghana supplies to them. Th ...

• MAHAMA MORE CORRUPT NOW 11 years ago

TOO MUSH JUJU MAHAMA IS SLEEPING.EIIII HMMMMMM GHANA PAA NIE,YOOOOOOO,GOD SAVE GHANA

• SKILLO 11 years ago

I couldn't help but laugh. However, you are right. We have to honour our obligations... Private-public partnerships can easily resolve this self imposed neediness.

• Ike - London 11 years ago

Truely in the land of the blind, a one eyed man is king. Simply unbelievable.

• kwaku 11 years ago

www.ghanatvlive.blogspot.com

• SHAMO 11 years ago

DARKNESS, HEAT, RAMPANT ACCIDENTS, TOTAL HARDSHIPS WHILE JOHN MAAMA ATOPAHENE IS BUSY FUCKING WOMEN

• Ghana Boy 11 years ago

Be polite and respect your President,OFUI

• Butch 11 years ago

I really appreciate free, suciccnt, reliable data like this.

• Maud 11 years ago

This is the perfect way to break down this infomrtaion.

• william 11 years ago

In an African tradition, still preserved in rural Agrican, our poor share the little they have with neighbours/strangers in need. This is regional integration and solidarity. Did you here President Kufuor confirm that at Ghan ...

• AGYAAKU 11 years ago

I think I heard Mr. Kufuor advising the current president to seek help these very countries now holding our knees for help. What first came into my mind when I read the former president´s admonition was, ah...., has this man ...

• Paul. 11 years ago

I wonder if we Africans were created with brains at all,We have enough sun why can't all African countries go in for solar,Europeans,Asians and Americans don't have enough sun as compared to Africa yet they uses solar.It is s ...

• william 11 years ago

lIKE OTHER RACES, LIKE OTHER NATIONALS I MAY FEEL SAD AT CERTAIN CAPACITY FAILUERS in LEADERSHIP, SYSTEMS, ETC. BUT AFRICA HAS NO MONOPOLY OVER THESE. AS NATION-STATES, RELATIVELY NEW ACTORS in the INTERNATIONAL SYSTEM, WE H ...

• Liliana 11 years ago

Terry's IQ has definitely gone down hill. I just hope he will soon wake up and taeusrre his kind wife and daughter. Very often, woman only be "stupid" to their beloved bf/husband. Or perhaps even pretending to be "Stupid", on ...

• Poramut 11 years ago

Nice to see some progress in ghana I was part of a huge proecjt with the scouts sending reconditioned cycles in crates about ten years ago and we were forced to stop when the import tax for each cycle exceded the price of a n ...

• AGONABA (fr) 11 years ago

HI! ITS NOT MADNESS. IT MAY RATHER MEAN YOU HAVE DECIDED TO LET PEOPLE KNOW YOU HAVE WHAT YOU DON'T HAVE. THIS WORLD IS FULL OF WONDERS AND WE WILL CONTINUE TO BIT ABOUT THE BUSH IN SUCH OF GOSPEL TRUTH AS WELL AS THIS MAHAMA ...

• ck danso 11 years ago

we need people of moral, smart, and business minded to control Ghana wealth. why can't we develop our energy well in oder to to sell to these countries.

• Kari Banda 11 years ago

ALL THESE PROBLEMS SHOULD HAVE BEEN FIXED AFTER GHANA'S HIPIC DEALS. BUT THE MONEY INSTEAD WENT TO CHIEF, HOTELS, MALLS, SWIZZ ACCOUNTS, AND GIZELLE. NOW YOU QUESTIONING NDC?

• Asanteni 11 years ago

aboa dwan.

• KARI BANDA 11 years ago

KWASIA LIKE YOU! COME AGAIN FOOL LIKE THAT. ARE YOU MUMU/ CAN'T YOU SAY SOMETHING MORE THAT INSULT? THE ELECTION HAS SENT YOU TO THE MENTAL HOSPITAL ABI?

• Cummings 11 years ago

ALLIEN POTOPOTO SPEAKING TWI? HAHAHA, IDIOT YOU START YOUR STUPID COMMENTS WITH INSULTS AND YOU ARE BLAMING SOMEBODY FOR INSULTING? NDC FOOL SOLDIER REMAIN A BLIND FOOL OK?

• Kweku Boateng Jnr 11 years ago

Minister Alhaji Inusah wake up and do something positive, be like Colonel Bernasko. Act. Proposed Juale dam in the Bimbilla district crying for investment. This dam would supply the Eastern corridor and northern Togo with pow ...

• Dr Baako Billy 11 years ago

Why can't Government contract solar panel companies, develop solar farms and feed the output to the national grid and sell them as much as they want and also get rid of this rampant off-on power supply, which has a knock on e ...

• J. .ANDOH 11 years ago

Playing with people's lives. Ghana cannot feed itself but tries to feed other people as her children suffer KWASHIOKOR!

• Nii Amo 11 years ago

This shows how stupid those governing Ghana are.....how can you supply power to these countries when there is no power supply for us. Listen to the Minister from now to April ending it is free to them.

• prophet 11 years ago

nana wil die

NPP WHERE IS YOUR MAFIA GUY?

• Ekow Smith 11 years ago

HE IS IN YOUR STUPID MOTHER'S BIG PUSSY OK? HAHAHAHA NDC PIG

• Pelicles 11 years ago

Is there any reason to keep supplying power to these countries, when we do not have enough for our daily activities?

I mean, what is actually going on in Ghana? Why can't our so-called "rocket scientist" come out with oth ...

• money 11 years ago

no he's not so asking him to find alternatives for Ghana's energy problems is asinine. He works for NASA, not the government of Ghana. If the GOG want to hire him I am sure he can then devote his intellectual capabilities to ...

• LARYEAH 11 years ago

YOU ARE A FUCKING FOOL, WHO IS TALKING ABOUT KLUDZE. EWE TRIBAL INGRATE! ALL THAT PELICLES WAS REFERRING TO WAS THE SO CALLED GHANAIAN EXPECTS, ESPECIALLY THE SCIENTISTS. FOOL!!

NPP FELL FLAT ON THEIR KNEES, IN FRONT OF RAWLINGS, IN HIS HOUSE, FOR HELP TO WIN THE ELECTION. NOW YOU HAVE THE GUTS TO CALL PEOPLE TOKROSI? WHAT THE HELL WERE YOU DOING IN THE TOKOROSI MAN'S HOUSE? FOOOLS.

• SHAMO 11 years ago

WHO TOLD YOU JJ IS TROKOSI? DOES JJ RESEMBLE ONE OF YOU FOOLS? HE IS HALF SCOTISH AND HALF BRONG! REMAIN ANIMAL YOU NDC IDIOT

• Kofi 11 years ago

Who in his right senses will ask a naked man for clothes? Birds of a feather truly flock together.

• MUGU 11 years ago

The atomic energy option is the best.We only have to put the necessary safety measures in place.

• Asanteni 11 years ago

You do not know what you are saying, what are some of the necessary safety measures?.

• John 11 years ago

Other countries are living with it. Let us go nuclear if we can´t make use of the sun and the rivers! That is key!

• Nii Joromi 11 years ago

What have we done as a nation after independence? We cannot even manage a cassava project to produce starch for export (under Kuffour) and you want Govt to play with nuclear technology? Wake up my brother.

• KOFORIDUA Flowers (fr) 11 years ago

WHAT ACTUALY DO YOU MEAN BY SAFETY MEASURES THAT MAY NECESSITATE PRODUCTION? DO YOU HAVE YOU BEEN BRIEFED ON THE CURRENT SITUATION AT TEMA OIL REFINERY (TOL)AS AT NOW? LETS TREAT FIRST THINGS FIRST IF INDEED NEED BE.LEADERS W ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 11 years ago

Some swines will definitively come out with their disparaging comments/remarks. They don't know and they (the swines) must be made to know right now.

Under the international agreement on management of international rivers ...

• LARYEAH 11 years ago

XEBIESO, YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT. DO YOU THINK NDC KNOW WHAT IS DOING? ANYWAY, KWAME KPODO HAS BEEN LOOKING FOR YOU. HE ACTUALLY WANT TO CONTACT YOU.

Thanks, bros Laryeah. I prefer to remain unreacheable for for.

CORRIGENDUM:

Thanks, bros Laryeah. I prefer to remain unreacheable for now.

• Zigi 11 years ago

"However, the national need must surmount the needs of our neighbours. If at the end of the day Ghana has superfluity of power, then our neighbours' needs would then be addressed."

No, you are wrong here. International Law ...

• Sapik 11 years ago

Work From Home Make $25 For Each Blogs Ad You Post You May Ask How Can i Get Cash Now You Found itgo to this website 100to1000aday/.comEarn $25.00 For Every Blog You Post And Process! You will be Supplied with all of the Info ...

• Brynell 11 years ago

Thanks for your tohuhgts. It's helped me a lot.

• KB 11 years ago

hahahahahahaahahhaahaa, Governments of Togo and Benin have a very good sense of humour. This will pass for the worst timed request ever!!!!!! geeese, are they serous!!!!

• Obenfo 11 years ago

This is a perfect proof to the saying that "In the land of the blind one-eye-man is the king, indeed".

• Tam 11 years ago

Our leaders really need to wake up and start to think global and quit making the same old mistakes.There is no more independence but rather inter-dependence.Why go to Ghana now when you quite well that Ghana right now is goin ...

• JOYCE 11 years ago

THIS IS FUNNY POWER DO THEY MEAN LIGHT GHANA EVEN DONT HAVE ANY

• PEKI TUMU 11 years ago

Recall the recent advice given to Mahama by John Kuffour that he should exercise leadership by calling on our neighbours to help Here you are; they now want more power from us

THIS GUY IS A jOKE. TALK ABOUT WANA BE GREAT! ALL WE CAN REMEMBER HIM IS HIS LAND MARK CORRUPTION. HE CAN BUILD ALL THE FOUNDATION HE WANTS.
    MEMORIES
    KWAME NKRUMAH THE FIRST,
    RAWLINGS IS THE LONGEST RULER IN GHANA, MAHAMA ...

• Cummings 11 years ago

God will punish this stupid ndc idiots govt

• Agoess 11 years ago

Way to step out there, Julie Anne, and model great risk taking! I'm imespsred and encouraged by these actions and just might try video blogging remarkably soon! Terrific job, Julie Anne!BarbPS: Don't cut your hair . looks GRE ...

• Komagata 11 years ago

That's not just logic. That's really senslibe.

• Jury 11 years ago

...........to theses Francophone neighbouring countries.
    Let them go ask their slave-colonial masters (France) for power!!!
    Let them sleep in their backward darkness till the end of the world!!!
    They never s ...

• joe 11 years ago

Ghana is turning into Nigeria. The largest oil & gas producer in Africa doesn't produce 1/2 the power they need. Why? Why can't Ghana provide enough power for her own needs? Why do your lights go off every other night? A ...

• Goody 11 years ago

Fucktard...caan't u comment without mention the word Nigeria. Mumu... what is the population of Ghana? 24 million. How many MW of electricity do Ghana produce? 3500 MW. Plz compared small Ghana with Ivory Coast, Ivory Coast p ...

• Can't stand idiots 11 years ago

They are so obsessed with Nigeria that they can't do without commenting on Nigeria even though this topic has absolutely nothing to do with Nigeria . Compare Ghana with Togo, Benin, Gambia and other tiny African countries li ...

• Ghana 11 years ago

With all what you are saying, Nigeria has more energy and blackout problems than Ghana.

• joe 11 years ago

Perhaps knowledgable Mr Goody Fuckface can explain...?

• John 11 years ago

Rich countries also have poor people but they give aids to Ghana only for the Greedy politicians to rob us! Do same to your neiboughs too!

• Johnpatrick 11 years ago

That was rightly said in that arctlie. A couple of weeks ago, I read an arctlie in the New York times that made Ghana look like a big farm and a country that had been the good guy on the block because there was more stabili ...

• Nii Joromi 11 years ago

Stupid African leaders buy expensive cars, mansions abroad and open fat Swiss accounts yet they have no idea how to generate power in the long term for their countries. Nigeria is a disgrace while Ghana is a big mess. Its tim ...

• KOFORIDUA Flowers (fr) 11 years ago

IT SOUNDS FUNNY.ACTUALY DO THE TWO SISTER NATIONS READ ABOUT THE POWER SITUATION IN THE COUNTRY,THERE IS NO NEED COMMENTING ON THIS USELESS AND INSULTING MEETING.TO SELL FINISHED PREPARED FOOD OUTSIDE WHILES THE HOUSEHOLD IS ...

• andre 11 years ago

very nice helping other countries. but please Ghana take care of your self first and then help the rest of africa since we are brothers. Put the nation first

• Zigi 11 years ago

So much ignorance is exhibited on these pages. The agreement to sell power to Togo and Benin and Burkinafaso was not done out of benevolence. Those countries are entitled to the power and water as riparian countries of the V ...

• Obenfo 11 years ago

Zigi,

Ghana is blessed beyond measure, it is stupidity and shear ignorance that is keeping us poor.

It is not beyond the capabilities of Ghana to develop her energy sector and support her neighbors with electricity an ...

• Zigi 11 years ago

Obenfo,

You are right, but we will get there. Once there is money to be made in there, some developed country is bound to push us in that direction so they can get to sell their equipment to us. Remember how Canada funded ...

• Obed Adore 11 years ago

Zigi, thank you for the piece. Many of the comments here are sheer emotional outbursts from ignorant people; perhaps too young or lack knowledge of international law and/or diplomacy. You have said it all... Thanks

• AMPONSA KAKABO LONDON 11 years ago

LET'S DISCUSS THE CURRENT SITUATION AND STOP YOUR INTERNATIONAL LAW. WILL INTERNATIONAL LAW BRING ENERGY TO ABAKA BUSINESSMAN WHO FOR THE PAST 4 WEEKS HAS NO ELECTRICITY TO MAKE A LIVING.
    WE OBTAIN OUR LLMs AND PHDs WITHOUT ...

• Zigi 11 years ago

Yours is the same emotional stuff we are trying to get others away from. However, painfull the situation of power shortage may be, do not forget that our neighbours who are asking for more, are actually asking for what they ...

• CRAZY BOONE 11 years ago

WHY ARE YOU SHARING LIGHT WITH THE OTHER COUNTRIES ... WE NEED OUR OWN LIGHT BECAUSE OFF AND ON IS SPOILING THINGS IN THE HOUSE SO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT PRESIDENT AND THE POLITICIANS

• CHARLES YEBOAH OBENG.USA 11 years ago

Who told you political independence was appropriate for African nations as proclaimed by Nkrumah?. We will all perish in poverty and underdevelopment. Poor Africa!

• MADZIA 11 years ago

WHERE IS THE AU PRESIDENT. HE SAID GHANAIANS HAVE SPOKEN AND ELECTED MAHAMA

• OSEI,STEPHEN 11 years ago

WE SHOULD STOP THAT ,HOME FIRST

• Joe 11 years ago

How can a blindman lead a blindman? Ghana cannot even solve its energy crisis, how can they solve that of Togo and Benin? I think we should make sure we have enough for ourselves before thinking of these countries.

• PEKI TUMU 11 years ago

Where is John Kufour? Is he listening?

• Sba 11 years ago

why ?

• Nick 11 years ago

You know what? Some people don't have brains.

• Accra Resident 11 years ago

Why make promises to increase energy supply to other countries while you know very well you can't meet your own needs. Ghana needs a comprehensive energy policy.

• Honestman 11 years ago

Where is that lousy X president Kufuor. Hope he is listening. These are the countries Kufuor wants John Mahama to go and beg them for power and water!

• MEEK MILL 11 years ago

MAHAMA GO TO HELL.YOU CAN'T FEET YOUR FAMILY WHY SUPPLY OTHER HOMES ?

• Nii Akwei 11 years ago

Why are we complaining? We spend more time on tribal and party colors, than trying to solve problems to benefit us all. Don't blame anybody, but ourselves.

• Antartica 11 years ago

This government and subsequent government does not mind SELLING power that their own natives do not to a foreign country and pocket their bank accounts.what a shame.if people really know the fraudulent energy manipulation goi ...

• AMPONSA KAKABO LONDON 11 years ago

HABBA!!!! HOW CAN THE MINISTER PROMISE THEM OF INCREASE SUPPLY TO THESE TWO COUNTRIES IN TWO WEEKS TIME?
    HAS HE BEEN ABLE TO SOLVE OUR PROBLEM?
    I THINK IS ABOUT TIME GHANAIANS COME OUT TO DEMONSTRATE AGAINST THIS ABSURDITIE ...

• Zigi 11 years ago

My friend, you would only be tickling yourself with that demonstration. Read the report carefully and you would see that the minster gave the most appropriate response.

Your problem is that you do not want to accept that ...

• KOFI 11 years ago

so in effect Ghanaians must accept that we are better off with our power cuts. yoo

• Jato Kaleo 11 years ago

Those in charge of overseeing the production of electricity should be held accountable for their jobs.They should ensure that all towns and villages in Ghana get electricity before exporting it to other countries.Much as we n ...

• DD,USA 11 years ago

Ans K4 was saying nonsense. Telling Mahatma to contact neighbors for power. hehehhe. They just wanna talk keke

• Kpeplo 11 years ago

Yes it's time for the gh government to return the favor to Benin after they came to observe the "free n fair elections" pay them back while Ghanaians suffer.

• Abeiku - SW2 London 11 years ago

We don't have none ourselves

• DR X 11 years ago

WHAT WERE THEY THINKING: WOULD THE POPULATION REMAIN STATIC SINCE NKRUMAH BUILT THE DAM. DOUBLED POPULATION SIZE MEANS MORE ELECTRICITY DEMAND. GET ALTERNATIVE ENERGY IF YOU CANT GET ADEQUATE HYDROELECTRIC ALTERNATIVE

• NobiEtha 11 years ago

thanks for all you're hard work over the past years, glad you're back up and running.we to shall stop by again and give a dotainon for gas, internet and time.i would like to see half the people that relied on you to stop by a ...

• Joshua 11 years ago

Thanks for your work over the years on this site. It has been by far the best and most up to the minute info for the Rainy dinrug the spring. Like everybody else, I too am looking for a river report to determine if we can m ...