You are here: HomeNews2013 02 25Article 265900

Leadership is Africa’s problem – Kufuor

Read Comments Comments (74)

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

A young boy had just gotten his driving permit. He asked his father, who was a minister, if they could discuss the use of the car. His father took him to his study and said to him, "I’ll make a deal with you. You bring your ...

• TONY 11 years ago

MR. KUFFOUR, YOU HAVE HAD YOUR TIME AND WE WISH TO TURN THE CLOCK BACK. YOUR LEADERSHIP WAS SO GREAT BUT TOO MANY P/NDC PEOPLE IN GHANA DID NOT APPRECIATE WHAT YOU DID FOR GHANA. THERE ARE TWO GOOD THINGS ALL GHANAIANS WILL R ...

• Vuvuzela 11 years ago

Kufuor's leadership was so great that he didn't see anything wrong with the huge theft that he initiated and supervised, while permitting Anane to have a field day with Ghana Airways and his Ministry.

Charlie, where do yo ...

• joe pinto 11 years ago

may i add to your wonderful points, that him Ataa Ayi Kuffour was like Gulliver travelling luxuriously every other week outside the country,he also used state money to finish his mansion telling us he can't stay in the castle ...

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

Kuffuor was himself one of the worst African leaders, so his honesty in identifying leadership as Africa's main problem is appreciated. He himself was a useless, womanizing, globe-throtting, BMW thief.

• JATO 11 years ago

Late John Atta Mills became vice president by chance,so as Prez.J.D.Mahama.J.J.Rawlings must blamed for all our problems for imposing greedy politicians on us.

• SHAMO 11 years ago

EXACTLY THAT MR PREZ K4, WAA LOOK AT SOMEBODY LIKE JOHN MAAMA, A THIEF AND WOMANIZER SPOILING GHANA

• Conventional Youth. 11 years ago

“If we get the right leadership, we would have good governance, inclusive government and we would be sincere with each other and create the enabling environment. The secret is right leadership,” he said.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

THE REAL PROBLEM IS MANAGEMENT. CANT MANAGE OUR RESOURCES, CANT MANAGE OURSELVES, CANT EVEN MANAGE WAT WE GET AS AID....

• KARI BANDA 11 years ago

LISTEN TO THE CORRUPT, SHAMELESS, TRIBALIST PERSON TALKING.

• KERE 11 years ago

HE WAS INDEED THE WORST AFRICAN LEADER AWADING HIM SELF WITH GOLD MEDALS...DAGOLE

• NPP Cocaine Pusher 11 years ago

Thank you very much for reminding that shameless greedy thief. He crowned himself for liberalizing cocaine trade in Ghana.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 11 years ago

THE guy was the most corrupt, incompetent, self-seeking, visionless, nepotic and tribalistic head of state. He is part of Ghana's problem.

• Ekow 11 years ago

very very stupid calling himself prez

• mensah abrampa 11 years ago

How dare you say that when you can't even say that to Rawlings, the longest ruling head of state Ghana has ever had who ruined the national economy and retired a wealthy man to enjoy his stolen wealth? The evidence that Ghana ...

• Kwakusei 11 years ago

PLUS THE GOOD GOVERNANCE WHICH BROUGHT BACK THE RESPECT OF THE GHANAIAN WORLDWIDE, RESPECT AND CONFIDENCE FROM WORLD LEADERS AND INVESTORS AND WHICH RESULTED IN MANY GRANTS RATHER THAN LOANS TO GHANA, UNTIL THE LIAR PROF CAM ...

• peace 11 years ago

your are on the list of africa problematic leaders. give give us a break.

• Before & After 11 years ago

They are all worshiping the words of the Americans and Europeans who advice them. Listen, those inward looking westerners helped you guys to kick Nkrumah out and wrecked the nation for their selfish gains. Since the days of N ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

YOU WILL BY ALL MEANS HAVE A STUPID AND VISSIONLESS PREZ, LOOK AT ATOPAHENE JOHN MAAMA CAN HE BE A LEADER?

• Repugnant. 11 years ago

Kuffuor now anti neocolonialist, Nkrumah never dies for real, wonders shall never die, the man really said this "Africa is today being courted by China, America and Europe, he said, adding that “our concern should be about ...

• BlackMan 11 years ago

You're yourself, a very good worst example on African problem list.
    Admitted & talked true!!!

• Ogya 11 years ago

What leadership traits did kufour and his henchmen exhibit during his 8 yrs stay as the president of Ghana? Hotel thiefour waawaa and cocaine trading. Good leadership indeed.

he is drunk

• Old Dirty Bastard 11 years ago

Kuffour, why not talk about stealing and Ashanti NPP looting brigade?

• Repugnant. 11 years ago

That's a no go area. Stealing is an asante holy grail to sainthood. Aye!

• .....Mobilla. 11 years ago

Ex-president himself is a very good example of such bad leaders. His family, self-aggrandisment by way of honours and gold chains to himself and cronies, world travels and so on are still very fresh in our minds. We do not ha ...

• John Agyekum Nsafoa 11 years ago

Tell us of what good leadership you displayed when you ruled for 8 years ? Why were you globe trotting at the expense of the tax payer ?
    Cna you tell us how you got your money to put up your edifices ?
    You were lucky Mills ...

• Pelicles 11 years ago

So, since humans began walking the continent of Africa, we have never had any good leader? Our "mindset", "attitude" is the problem. Every black person is too pompous and that pomposity is translated into something beyond de ...

• Owuahene 11 years ago

Yes you right,some leaders don;t even visionarised to become leaders.This by chance and coups creates the whole mess and makes sufferings.

• TONY 11 years ago

SINCE AFRC,PNDC AND NDCs CAME INTO BEING, GHANAIANS HAVE FOOLISHLY AND DANGEROUSLY ALLOWED THEMSELVES TO BE OVERWHELM AND CONQUERED BY THEIR P/NDC CRIMINAL IDEOLOGY. I WORRY GHANA WILL SOON FACE CIVIL WAR. THANKS TO J.J. RAWL ...

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

Are we capable to manage our own affairs?That's the question.Kuffour gave 90% of our own oil to foreign private companies without expiring dates.Is that an example of good leadership?Thank you.

• malaam Salifu 11 years ago

Ghana's leaders by chance, Jator Rawling, Kronfor Kuffor, Mr Lame and brain dead Uncle Atta, and finally the Goro Boy Musa Mahama. What a shame

• Yao Amezdrovi 11 years ago

The author of this article must note that Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala has never been the president of the World Bank. She was rather a candidate during the previous selection a year or two ago!

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

Its not only the NPP thats distancing from this ass loving gay incompent govt but also the intelligentsia. Looking at all these alajih idiots who are incapable of putting a simple business plan together talk less of a proper ...

• NanaKwesi 11 years ago

Leadership??????? was he not a president for 8yrs and what did he do to improve leadership? What did he do to improve the lots of the people who elected him. Go sleep somewhere Mr.President. Are you now looking to be relevan ...

• Pelicles 11 years ago

The lady had never presided over the World Bank I mean Ngozi. That said, Africa especially black Africa will never have a good leader. Why? Because our mindset and attitude stinks to the highest heaven and that will keep us ...

• Sunkwa 11 years ago

Mr. former President what an insightful comments--I tip my hat for you--'wo ye bui'--leadership--leadership--leadership.

• Appletus 11 years ago

He missed the point. It should be trans formative leadership. He was also a leader by chance. Imagine that he had been in government for 8 years. 8years are enough to turn a nation's economy around. So what is he talking abou ...

Kuffour will go down in history as incompetent, corrupt, tribalistic, nepotic, self-seeking head off state... the gold chain grabber/stealer

• Naa 11 years ago

When you were in power what did you do about the problem? Worsen it...

• Otoo 11 years ago

This incompetent, non-intelligent, tribalistic and the most corrupt President in the history of Ghana should just shut his dirty mouth up. Look at Kufuor talking about leadership. The man is dummy and not intelligent so he do ...

• ATOOOO 11 years ago

It is very true and you were one of Africa's problems

• KWASI 11 years ago

Kufuor's government was one of the worst governments we have had in Ghana. Devaluation of the cedi, drug import and export, corruption - (he endorse full scale because for him 'corruption is as old as Adam'), inflation, depre ...

• TROUBLE-MAKER 11 years ago

“If we get the right leadership, we would have good governance, inclusive government and we would be sincere with each other and create the enabling environment. The secret is right leadership,”

• Agonaba 11 years ago

True

• KOSI AFUTUPA 11 years ago

The supreme court is now on spotlight whether the court can be a bastion of justice. God shall reward them even after their death but if they fail to dispense justice the repurcussions will not be on the justices but be upon ...

• Dumega Prosper Jnr 11 years ago

We saw how you were receiving kick backs at the Castle in fertilizer bags!!
    We saw how you gave your children contracts to be the sole immporter of Electricity Metres to Ghana, how you were able to buy hotel wawa for your so ...

• THE CHOSEN ONE 11 years ago

THIS KOKOASI KURASINI DOES NOT DESERVE A COMMENT BUT THE VERY GOOD PEOPLE OF GHANA,I CAN'T SHUT UP.NA GOD WEY GO PUNISH YOU AND YOUR DECENDANCE SINCE YOU KNOW ALL ALONG WHAT SHOULD BE DONE TO MAKE US MOVE FORWARD AND YOU TUN ...

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

Kufuor's LEADERSHIP was MOSTLY in collecting per diem AND giving HIMSELF a gold-chain,hanging around his neck like a baboon!
    Now you are talking of Leadership...It IS true and YOU WERE NO EXCEPTION!
    Yes, Africa NEEDS leader ...

• GOD IS MY JUDGE HONESTNEST 11 years ago

Log the speck in yours first waa look

• kwaku antwi prince 11 years ago

well. p.j.h.kuffour has done agreat job 4 ghananiens en all africans peopls. becaus ur are not seelping. i wish u good work.

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

Of course this is our major problem on the continent. If not why would African leaders allow outside forces and powers to interfere in African affairs and literally make decisions for us. This includes NATO, The West and Asia ...

• OBAA NIE 11 years ago

MOST OF AFRICA'S PROBLEMS IS BECAUSE OF POOR LEADERSHIP. CORRUPTION, TYRANNY, DICTATORSHIP AND OPPRESSION OF THE PEOPLE IS WHAT HAS PALGUED OUR CONTINENT. WHATEVER THEY WILL USE TO RETURN POWER WHETHER WAR, KILLING, CORRUPTIN ...

• sadat apdo 11 years ago

Leadership start from scratch so we need to go back to the drawing board to train the nursery teachers to be able to identify children with leadership quality to groom and monitor them to the university level.these could pro ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago

Which part of Kufuor's brain is at work?

• Queen 11 years ago

"Our nation is led by a President who has found himself in leadership through the backdoor and hence without adequate preparation and appreciation for the effort required to make this nation overcome the tyranny of the ruling ...

• SHAKAMORA 11 years ago

sensible president God bless u

• KWABENA JONES. 11 years ago

Thank you President John Agyekum Kuffour and may God bless you enormously for all you do and continue to do for mother Ghana.

• AAA 11 years ago

This clueless Kufour when he became president only thought of amassing wealth for himself and family. The only other thing he could think of was Jessel yatzik and managed to make twins. After being out of the presidency it ...

• peace 11 years ago

what is Mr kuffours problem he had opportunity to transform this counytry and mess up. he give ghanaians a break,

• KA AKYIRE 11 years ago

OH OPAYIN KUFFOUR,
    WHAT AT ALL DID YOU DO APART FROM HELPING THE ASHANTIS AND AKYIMS TO STEAL OUR LANDS AND PROPERTY AND HELPING TO BOAST THE DRUG TRADE. WE WILL COME SOON FOR YOUR ACCOUNTABILITY.

• tikobo ali 11 years ago

DSK go find you some pusy. pusy is all you talk about.

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

THIS MEANS, KUFFOUR HAS ACCEPTED TO BE ONE OF THE WORST AFRICAN LEADERS EVER PRODUCED ON THE CONTINENT.

• Bravo USA 11 years ago

What Kufour said was poingnant not for what he said but for what he left out. Africa's problem is just not for lack of leadership but for lack of credible leaders. When Kufour got the chance to make a difference he rather spe ...

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Were you a leader when you sold GTC and pocketed one million dollars dam idiot thief. Shut up.

• CALDOFF 11 years ago

MR KUFFOUR, REMEMBER YAAN NAA AND FORTY OTHERS WERE BRUTTERLY MURDERED UNDER YOUR LEADERSHIP. THESTADIUM DISASATER WHERE PEOPLE WERE KILLED WERE UNDER YOUR WATCH. AMRMED ROBBERY, COCAINE WAS HIGHEST IN YOUR REGIME SO SPAREOUR ...

• KUFOUR KWASEA 11 years ago

The man who supervised the killing of the Ya Na and Issa Mobila says he is a leader.

• Joe ballack England 11 years ago

mahama got into office by chance

• eric london 11 years ago

Not a matter of bad leadership,Africans are not matured to rule themselves.The independence is waste,valueless and meaningless.Nkrumah is the cause

• Tijani 11 years ago

the indepence was for you guys. take a look at yourself, if you really lived in London and you will know the importnce of the independence. if Africans cannot rule themselves, but we must not be ruled by a whiteman.

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 11 years ago

WHO DIDNT COME BY CHANCE. WHO DIDNT GET A VOTR TO THE PARLIAMENT? MAHAMA CAME TO POLITICS BY THE VOTE OF THE PEOPLE NOT LIKE KUFFUOR AND NANA ADDO WHO GET IT THROUGH OUR BELOVED ORESIDENT J.J. RAWLINGS. NANA SHOULD BETTER GO ...

• YEBOPOWER 11 years ago

Well in Ghana,there is no school for leadership.There must be a center for excellence of leadership.Leadership must be incorporated in the curriculum and taught by well paid seasoned professionals.That is how you prepare stud ...

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 11 years ago

MAHAMA WAS ELECTED BY HIS CONSTITUENCY? TO THE PARLIAMENT. DID NANA GET FARE VOTE TO THE PARLIAMENT? FOOL GO BACK TO HISTORY.

• pee, U.S.A 11 years ago

Kuffour, what did do during your 8 yrs of rule. Total failure.