You are here: HomeNews2013 02 24Article 265826

Gender activist urges police to take action on Paintsil

Read Comments Comments (79)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 11 years ago

and brought before a judge. He cannot be allowed to beat women.

• WISE-TALK, UK 11 years ago

fuck you Angela Dwamena Aboagye,home destroyer,the woman said no and u are open ur stinking muth talking evils just to destroy they peace,every body do make mistake,fuck u and all ur stinking family for ur evils,this will onl ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

THEY HOSPITAL RECORDS ARE THERE. EVEN IF THE WOMANS TELLS THE COPS NOT TO FOLLOW THRU WITH THE CHARGE. IT DOESNT MEAN ANYTHING BCOS THE POLICE CAN AND SHOULD STILL GO AHEAD WITH PROSECUTION BASED ON THE FACTS. STABBING, BEAT ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

GO OUT THERE AND RECEIVE YOUR REWARD, ALL GHANAIANS. GO AND PAY THE PRICE FOR YOUR FOOLISHNESS. YOU DON'T GIVE A SECOND MANDATE TO AN INCOMPETENT AND CORRUPT GOVERNMENT, NO!! NOT AT ALL, THAT IS ABOMINATION IN DEMOCRACY, VERY ...

• Proud Pepeman. 11 years ago

Mr Kwasi Adade. If you want a non corrupt government, then you won't vote, because all the politicians we have are corrupt. If they were honest, they won't go an vote themselves 50,000ghc rent allowance when the averange wage ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

WHEN YOU VOTE FOR FOOLS YOUR NATION DESTROYS! VOTING FOR NDC IDIOTS HAS TOTALY DESTROY GHANA! WHY PROSECUTE PANTSIL AND LEAVE THAT NDC IDIOT NII LANTE VANDEPUYE? HE NII LANTE INTRODUCED WOMEN BEATING IN GHANA! NDC FOOLS

• MANTSE 11 years ago

THE WIFE HAS SAID IT DID NOT HAPPEN and even that is NOT pleasing to those advocating for prosecution, that must end the matter.

In ANANE v. The REPUBLIC, the Supreme Court made it clear that there Must Be A Complainan ...

• okukuseku 11 years ago

In the jurisdiction where John practices his trade, things of this nature is dealt with differently. I am surprised John is basking in the plea of the ignorant wife.It shows women emancipation in Ghana is way way behind and t ...

• Paul. 11 years ago

u are an idiot,the wife said it never happened,fool take your western culture and we will take our Gh culture no wonder western marriages don't last and western women are like whores.

• KWAME-Illford,Essex-UK 11 years ago

PEOPLE LIKE MS.DWAMENA ARE THE CAUSE FOR MANY SINGLE SUFFERING MOTHERS IN SOCIETIES IN THE WEST.MANY SUCH ARROGANT AND UNFORGIVING MOTHERS END UP BEING SUFFERING SINGLE MOTHERS WHO TURN OUT BURDENS TO SOCIETIES BECAUSE WITH T ...

U CALL ASSAULT TO WIVES, ATTEMPTED MURDER GH/AFRICAN CULTURE. ARENT U ASHAMED? IM SURE THIS ISNT THE FIRST TIME PAINSTIL HAS PHYSICALLY ABUSED HIS WIFE. THIS TIME, HE TOOK IT TOO FAR. EVERYDY FOR THIEFMAN, ONE DAY FOR MASSA. ...

• JON 11 years ago

i agree with u 100%

• Proud Pepeman. 11 years ago

Why insult Angela. It is just possible that Painstil is a wife beater. If that is the case, his wife shielding him is not good. One day it could be worse. OJ Simpson was allowed to molest his wife and in the long run killed h ...

• KATE 11 years ago

WO YE ABOA PAA, KWASEIA, GO AND FUCK YOUR MOTHER, YOU HATE GHANA WOMEN, GOD WIL PUNISH YOU AND YOUR FAMILY AS YOU SAID. NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAW AND HE CAN ONLY WALK FREE IN GHANA. WIFE BEATERS SHOULD BE PUNISH.

• K D 11 years ago

Madam Angela Dwamena,go on with your activist service.if at de end of de day ,de marriage is destroyed you will marry de lady. a word to a wise is enough.

• SHAMO 11 years ago

Because of the character of women like Angela Dwamena Aboagye, Ursula Owusu, Frances Essiam, etc no man will ever think of sleeping with them twice, let alone marry them. So they have bandied together as gender activists, pre ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

I know shamo dont write in small letter but i do

• DOHA 11 years ago

FOOLISH BOY Zoobie- Zoobie, is she your wife or sister ? " chop your house matter".

• DEE 11 years ago

Charge pastors,police officers who beats their wives too,want a list of wife beaters?

• koo 11 years ago

ghanaians dont take the LAW SERIOUSLY they show favourtism thats why men are killing their wives and children nowadays.

• Pelicles 11 years ago

The wife herself has denied any physical assault, describing the incident as a minor marital dispute. So, madam activist, what is your problem?

There is no perfect marriage anywhere and Paintsil, despite being a profession ...

• S.Dikaini 11 years ago

there is nothing wrong if two parties want to settle their problems amicablly,they are husband and wife leave them alone and deal with your own problem.If John Paintsel was any other John no body would have bothered poking th ...

• Henry. (Sweden) 11 years ago

How would you react if it was your daughter been assaulted, Painstil or whoever shouldn't be above the law, all human beings are equal and should be treated as such. Wise man reasons with his wife but not assault her. He shou ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Pericles, there is really no perfect marriage anywhere but if there is an assault, the police must come in so that if there is an occurence in future, then there can be a reference case.
    I don't want Paintsil to be prosecute ...

• Pelicles 11 years ago

Yeah, I know that but in this case, the woman has the final say. If the police will prosecute the player, the woman will be the final witness and here she says what took place is a minor infraction so, she will press no char ...

Though I am no lawyer, I know that since it is an assault,a police report to support the case and what neighbors who were witnesses say, Painstil can be prosecuted. I don't see the need for that but I tell you he has learnt a ...

• Okyeame 11 years ago

And GFA after bailing him is saying that there was no stabbing,and that the woman didn't collapse as was reported in fact the woman herself is furious telling everybody that nothing happened.

• Paul. 11 years ago

Western men are fools,why marry in a western country when u know u are rich,western women are not marriage materials they are property grabbers,just impregnate them and pay child support only.

in every civilized society, domestic police is`handled by the police and the courts. Investigate and prosecute!!

investigate and prosecute if needed

Typical insensitive man a wife beater is worse than a pig, there is no denial that there are problems in all marriages but to go to the extent of beating a woman is unwise and be dealt with according to the law, gender activi ...

• tt 11 years ago

You are right pellicles. No PERFECT MARRIAGE.

• MARCUS AMPADU 11 years ago

Why don't you think through what you are trying to say.
    "..despite being a professional footballer. ..is not immune to such marriage mishap."
    Failed to register, pls. explain.

• Akos 11 years ago

SAINT Madam Activist mind your own business and leave them alone.

I don't think you are a woman otherwise you won't write such insensitive comment. Stupid men uses their fist but sensible minds reasons marriage or not no one has the right to assault.

• ABU 11 years ago

This is exactly how many a ghanaian women think,that they are punching bags to be pummeled every now and them even for no reason and hence the inability to liberate them no matter how hard they are fought for,a woman indeed.

PAINSTIL, NYANTAKYI, AKWASIA APPIAH ARE ALL USELESS COWARDS!

WIFE BEATER? SHAME ON YOU...U WERE IN SOUTH AFRICA FACING YOUR SIZE. U NO SEE TOP. KWASIAMPANIN LIKE YOUR TYPE. AFTER WOEFULLY PLACING 4TH AGAIN,
    U COME BACK N ...

• ranger 11 years ago

I think that Paintsil, needs to be educated on good husbandship. THAT IS AS A CIVILISED PERSON, YOU DON'T EVER BEAT YOUR WIFE, BECAUSE SHE IS NOT YOUR CHILD. IF YOU CANNOT COPE WITH HER, PASS THROUGH THE RIGHT CHANNELS. BUT B ...

• the bones 11 years ago

to hell with u woman.this is a marital issue and the woman for love has shielded the husband so what is ur problem madam aboayge

• KOFI 11 years ago

Abused women always denied after the fact that theyre being abused. First off, who called the police? The woman might have and then when she realised its getting serious, she's denying it. She has been abused hence the police ...

• ato manchester 11 years ago

there is nothing police can do if the wife says nothinh happened, that is fact and the law. The should have reported and demanded prosecution before any authority can take action.

• ABU 11 years ago

There is a lot the police can do in this matter once the incident had been brought to its notice with the bruises on the lady,the state can press charges against Painstil unless he is being protected due to his footballistic ...

Ato, where did you study your law? I will never have you for an attorney. Is that Manchester law or what that you are interpreting to us. So if someone kills a wife but the family members decide not to press charges, the case ...

The Legon Police and Paintsil's wife is doing everything possible to play down what really happened, to minimize the severity of the allegations of assault. Because this unfortunate incident could cause Paintsil to lose his j ...

• ABU 11 years ago

Gender activists must prees up this case for retributionif Paintsil is guilty.How can he be a role model?.Unfortunately some Ghanaians and among the GFA are underplaying this senseless and violent act simple because Paintsil ...

• KOGYAM58 11 years ago

" I think we should all remember that nobody is above the law,” and the police should act diligently on the matter."
    ANGELA, KNOW THAT THE ROT OF A FISH STARTS FROM THE HEAD.
    MOSES ASAGA AND ALBAN BAGBIN BEAT THEIR WIVES ...

• Ataala 11 years ago

This siborglass women should spare us their gender nonsense. Why won't she mind her own business? Mrs Paintsil obviously doesn't want the case case to go to court, she pleaded that we respect her privacy so who is this woman ...

• Pippa 11 years ago

Why won't people mind their own business? All you calling for he prosecution of JP I'm sure are worse than him, some of you may even be in worse abusive relationships but you're still hanging on because o a particular reason, ...

• Pelicles 11 years ago

Trust me, she had never married and will not marry due to her self centered ego. Women like her type have been shunned by men and that led her to take up that work of being an "activist" defending the indefensible.

She is ...

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Hahaha wow Pelicles you know all the filla,such women normally do not want to stay with any man.After benefiting from good education and making some few monies they think they should be worshiped.Most of them were impregnated ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 11 years ago

Take that asshole to nana oye lethur's office for her to take care of that idiot. B'cos of people like John Paintsil that is why the president have minister of Gender for Women and Children. These ladies really need protectio ...

Angela Dwamena Aboagye is right, we should all call on the Legon Police to do a thorough investigations and prosecute John Paintsil to the full extent of the law, if found guilty of physically assaulting Richlove Paintsil.

• Omega 11 years ago

Whats this person on about. I am guessing the wife will have to press charges for any investigation to go on isn't it? Or because he is a balck star player, its ok to drag his name in the mud?

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

NEVER TAKE THIS CASE A JOKE.NOWHERE THE POLICE WILL TREAT A STABBING CASE LIGHTLY.PAINSTIL MUST UNDERSTAND HIS BAD ACTIONS.HE MUST SIGN A BOND

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

IF TRUE HE DID STAB THE WIFE HE HAS TO BE PUNISHED.ANY WAY NOT JAIL SENTENCE BUT TO SIGH A BOND TO BE OF GOOD BEHAVIOUR

• Di Carlo 11 years ago

tell me any relationship which doesnt have petty quarrels and misunderstanding and I'll sell you the London bridge.Stop the gossip and all those exagerations and people just need to mind their damn private business,period.chu ...

• MANTSE 11 years ago

In ANANE v. The REPUBLIC, the Supreme Court made it clear that there Must Be A Complainant for Criminal Matters to MERIT PROSECUTION.

Essien's wife is NOT COMPLAINING. In her words "This is a small family matter"

The W ...

• TAMBRO/DENMARK 11 years ago

THE WIFE HERSELF WHO IS SUPPOSED TO BE THE COMPLAINANT IN THE CASE SAID NOTHING HAS HAPPENED TO HER, SO THERE IS NO CASE AND HOW CAN HE BE PROSECUTED?

• lawrence 11 years ago

MINISTER ABOAGYE , TO BE FRANK, I SEE THIS AS A CRIME AND ALSO RESPECT IT 1000% CRIME, but my question is that, WHY WAS IT THAT YOU URGES POLICE TO TAKE ACTION AGAINST PAINTSIL, Even the Lady, her self is saying that the man ...

• wadi isaac (0244224196) 11 years ago

I HAVE SO MANY IDEAS BUT I AM UNEMPLOYED AND IN A GREAT FINANCIAL PROBLEM. I NEED GHANAIANS AND THE WHOLE WORLD AT LARGE TO COME TO MY AID TO ENABLE ME ACHIEVE MY GOAL IN LIFE

PESONALITY:
    > 29 YEARS OLD
    > GHANAIAN
    > I ...

• Eko 11 years ago

The difficulty of abusive relationships is that the victim can often develop Stockholm Syndrome- or traumatic bonding- where people develop a misplaced sympathy with the perpetrators who harm them; sometimes defending them ag ...

• ghanaba 11 years ago

mr paintsil sue this person and his or her activism for getting into your private affairs and let us see which part of law are for stupid and incusitives who call themelves activists. what is she doing about her bastard child ...

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 11 years ago

WHY IS IT THAT THIS OLD ASHAWO WOMEN DONT KNOW THE RESPECT OF OUR AFRICAN MARRIAGE. DO YOU THINK IT IS EASY TO STAY FOR BETTER AND FOR WORST? LEAVE THIS FAMILY ALONE. THE WIFE HAS DENIED IT AND SHE IS THE VICTIM NOW WHAT IS Y ...

• Jah Glory 11 years ago

Let us deal with waht matters to Ghana economy and forget about the individuals who are capable of settling their differences after a misunderstanding. Talk about how to provide water, Light, security and sanitation in Ghana.

• KWAME-Illford,Essex-UK 11 years ago

JAH GLORY IS THE ONLY SENSIBLE PERSON ON THIS FORUM.GHANAIANS HAVE SOON FORGOTTEN THEIR MYRIAD OF PROBLEMS AND TALKING PETTY INSTEAD OF FOCUSING ON THE CORE PROBLEMS OF WATER,LIGHT, UNEMPLOYMENT,SPIRALING INFLATION, ABJECT PO ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Our Ghanaian mid-class female activists exploit fellow females: maid-servants!

• Akwasi Owusu-Boadi 11 years ago

If the woman doesn't want to press charges against him then why should the law enforcement go through with it?

You can not charge the man unless there's evidence of physical, emotional abuse or a viable witness.

• CLEAN ELECTION IS A CLEAN DEMOCRACY 11 years ago

Please if the prosecution witness says no. what can you do beyond reasonable doubt.

• tell e truth 11 years ago

leave thier family matters...who called u inside...think abt urs....konkonsa

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

These STUPID IDIOTS who blame the Govt on EVERYTHING...what has this got to do with the govt ????? The Freedom of Speech IS APPARENTLY NOT GOOD for everybody !!!!

• kasapreko usa 11 years ago

lady if your mom is dead and you said
    she is sleeping that is on you.when he
    kill you

• AMAGAHO 11 years ago

ANGELENA ABOAGYE, WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM? THE WOMAN YOU ARE FIGHTING FOR, HAS MADE IT CLEAR TO THE POLICE THAT IS A MINOR MARITAL DISPUTE.GET A MAN AND GET ALIVE.

• ?????? 11 years ago

Let peace prevail between you, your wife and your career. Quickly silence that activist from setting fire into home. Apologise to your wife and plan a nice outing with her. period.

• Eko 11 years ago

The old 'stab her in the eye then take her for a night on the town' trick. The way to a woman's heart. Lovely.

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

WHO ARE THOSE SAYING THE POLICE SHOULD LEAVE PAINTSIL ALONE? IT IS CRIMINAL FOR A HUSBAND TO BEAT A WIFE. MEN!!! STOP THESE ARGUMENT AND ALLOW THE LAWS TO DEAL WITH PAINTSIL - DO YOU NOT READ AND LISTEN TO RADIO AND TV NEWS? ...

• kumah 11 years ago

THIS WAS ONE OF THE REASONS THAT GHANA FAILED TO WIN THE AFCON CUP. ALL THE ENERGY WAS WASTED ON THE PROSTITUTES.

• Otiakenten 11 years ago

The guy is an idiot. Israeli flag at the World Cup '06 and a needless foul against Uruguay which Diego Forlan converted into a tie. That's how Ghana did not make the semis. I have no sympathy for the "has been" wife beater.

• TerriblY. Spe cifiC 11 years ago

Is there any law in ghana? tweaa.

• Kwame 11 years ago

My wife accused me this morning of being disrespectful because I use a bath tub and water closet which were fixed for me yesterday by the plumber. She said that I am insolent because I refused her orders not to use the bath t ...