You are here: HomeNews2013 02 22Article 265707

Labour Unions demand pay rise despite Mahama's complaints

Read Comments Comments (14)

• JAMES Y 11 years ago

If the unions are showing ' I don't careism' towards Ghana's precarious economic position, the government should do what the British former Prime Minister, Margaret Thatcher, did to break the unions' resolve to hamper the Bri ...

• DER-GBAALE 11 years ago

If Parliament was not quick to increase the emoluments first for the President and then the Vice, to lulled us to sleep and then giving themselves garganntuan loans, I would have supported you. However what is good for the go ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

I really don't know what Mahama ate or drank when he approved MPs allowances for rent, salaries by 100% and fuel prices. Did he think about the ripple effects it would have on his government.
    If there is any labor unrest or ...

• KKK 11 years ago

WHY SHOULD SOMEBODY BE GIVEN GHC50000 RENT ALLOWANCE? A VERY BAD SIGNAL EFFECT.

• Hazor 11 years ago

Mahama is both selfish and hypocrate,very greedy he just gave himself and rise from GHc7,000 to GHc12,000 and disrespect public servants with gas ,kerosene and patrol increases and do not enjoy free incentives are being denia ...

• EKA 11 years ago

I urge GNAT AND NAGRAT executives to hurry for our share of the national cake because Mahama and his colleagues want to "chop" everything. That's why the early complain about wage bill. Look at what they receive as salary and ...

• Asem be ba debi 11 years ago

When I first learnt that mahama used the words "productivity" and "wages" all in one breadth I was hoping he was going to say "parliamentarians" next: In effect that he was going to slash their allowances, including his (maha ...

• WHAT ABOUT HIS SALARY AND THAT OF THE 11 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA SHOULDN'T HAVE MENTIONED IT. WHAT WORK DOES PARLIAMENT DO WHEN THERE IS ALWAYS LESS THAN HALF THE HOUSE TO DESERVE WHAT IS BEING PAID ( 7200). HE SHOULD FIRST ACCESS THE PERFORMANCE OF PARLIAMENT WHICH IS JUS ...

• ABRANTIE GYASI 11 years ago

--BUT TELL US TO TIGHT OUR BELTS---------------We will force and demand our share of the national cake as we also know how to enjoy life, but not you damned bastards thieves in parliament.

• XXXX 11 years ago

TURN AGAINST THOSE WHO VOTED YOU IN POWER?

• mensah abrampa 11 years ago

What's sauce for the goose is equally sauce for the gander. Mahama and his cronies had no time to wait for the economy to improve before embarking on the astronomical increase in their salaries and benefits.Meanwhile we , the ...

• Ray 11 years ago

confortability of a worker enhances productivity ,lets not forget about that

• S L 11 years ago

wahala don start be that. Corruption will also increase if they dont get what they want. MAN MUST EAT. This is a nation going down slope. Words words words that all they use to get them into power. why lie to the masses when ...

• JOSEPHINE 11 years ago

YOU HAVE FAMILY TO FEED AND RENT TO PAY