You are here: HomeNews2013 02 20Article 265489

Nkrumah statue not a priority – Sekou tells gov’t

Read Comments Comments (205)

• Lynne 11 years ago

Well said it Sekou! I hope they listen to your thoughtful advise. This is indeed not a priority right now.

• Sulley 11 years ago

mahama is just an idiot.......period

• GHANAian 11 years ago

SULLEY OR WHOEVER YOU ARE. HOW DO YOU FEEL INSULTING YOUR COUNTRY'S PRESIDENT.
    OR EVEN IF YOU THINK YOU ARE GROWN UP THAN PRESIDENT, HOW DO YOU FEEL INSULTING HIM? MAY GOD BLESS YOU!!

• WISE-TALK, UK 11 years ago

dont blem him,b'coz is aghanian too,and ghanians have no respect to human.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

I SWEAR, I WANNA FIND OUT WHO IS REMOTE CONTROLLING THESE SO CALLED LEADERS. THEY DONT USE THEIR BRAINS AT ALL....ZOMBIES!

• SHAMO 11 years ago

WHAT A STUPID NDC GOVT WITH NO BRAINS PRESIDENT! YOUR COUNTRY DONT HAVE WATER, NO ELECTRICITY, HIGH COST OF LIVING, NO FUEL, AND HERE WE ARE WITH A STUPID GOVT PLANNING ON STATUES

• CAN 11 years ago

free shs is precious for Sekou. idiot

• JOHN 11 years ago

SEEK IN THE BRAINS

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

For the first time, Sekou is right in his suggestion. The psychiatric hospital did a good job on him.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

Either Ghana has no priorities or they are misplaced priorities. There is scarcity of basic necessities such as water and electricity with generators left to rot and yet, additional resources would be spent on making statute ...

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

The Government wants to keep the Chinese contractors busy, so it wants to build Nkrumah's statue. We are so dumb !

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

SOURCE : JOY FM ONLINE -------- --Dr. Sekou Nkrumah, son of Ghana's first president, says the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) lacks organizational ability to accelerate Ghana’s development.

He intimated that th ...

• king 11 years ago

That is where he gets his chobo

• GHANA 11 years ago

Mahama is just plain idiot. What will Nkrumah statue do for the country? This idiot tanii has no idea what he is at the Flagstaff house for. He killed Mills without knowing what the Presidency entails.

• MALLAM 11 years ago

No, he wasn't cured in the "asylum". Sekou suffered all the time from piles and his ebusuapayin arranged for him to get bontua medicine in his arse. Everything clean now. Na so he dey talk sense now.

• aboa fly 11 years ago

The money that the gov't might spend to build the statue cant be suficient to solve our basic needs.however,the more the gov't focuses on these proposed statues,the poorer we become,and the longer it deprive us of development ...

• Haruna 11 years ago

This Mahama is nuts. What is the logic in building a statue to Nkrumah while maintaining the statue of the soldier who overthrew Nkrumah? Does Mahama believe in both Kotoka and Nkrumah at the same time?

• LOGIC MAN 11 years ago

WHEN WE HAVE SERIOUS ISSUES, WE SOMETIMES TAKE OUR MINDS OF THEM AS WE RESOLVE THEM. DO WE ONLY CRY AND NOT SMILE AT FUNERALS? WHEN A CHILD IS HURT AND YOU GIVE HIM/HER A SWEET DOES THE WOUND HEAL? YOUR FATHER WILL GET HIS ST ...

• JO 11 years ago

idiot-I BET YOU THINK YOU HAVE BRAINS YOURSELF.

• JO 11 years ago

idiot-I BET YOU THINK YOU HAVE BRAINS YOURSELF. PUTTING NKRUMAH'S STATUE AND CELEBRATING HIM DOES NOT MEAN FINDING SOLUTIONS TO WATER AND ELECTRICITY PROBLEMS ARE NOT PRIORITY. IF SOLVING THOSE ARE THAT EASY PRIVIOUS GOVERNME ...

• MENSAH 11 years ago

If previous governments could not solve WATER & ELECTRICITY PROBLEMS,that should not deter MAHAMA from trying to do it,rather than doing what does not matter as at now.SEKOU IS MAKING A WHOLE LOT OF SENSE HERE.
    The statue of ...

• Abena 11 years ago

This has nothing to do with NDC government alone. All the past leaders of NPP and rest did nothing to solve the problem.

• Shamo1V 11 years ago

The problems have been there since Kufuor's time when he used our money globe trotting .Why not ask him to account for the globetrotting at the expense of the tax prayer?
    You are a demented desperado.
    If you do not know yo ...

• Askantwi 11 years ago

That's why the Bible refers to the world leaders as ANIMALS. They just don't use their brains.

• Efo jato 11 years ago

when someone is doing stupid thing let the person know his/her stupidity

• larryfast 11 years ago

who ever you are ,what this son of first president is saying is sensical.dont fool yourself when it comes to basic necessities of life .

• CAN 11 years ago

YOU WERE CRYING FOR A FREE SHS AND NOW YOU KNOW WHAT IS GHANAS PERIOTY? THIS MAN IS SEEK IN HIS HEAD: WE HAVE PRECIOUS THINGS AND and perioty things to solve at the same time

• OSAGYEFO 11 years ago

FREE SHS IS TO HELP THE CITIZENS FROM THEIR BURDENS.

• OSEI LON 11 years ago

THAT MAN JD IS A CONFUSED MAN NO LIGHT NO WORK NO WATER NO ROADS AND YOU ARE THINKING FOR DEADMAN TANI WILL ALWASYS BE TANI.

• Ada Boy 11 years ago

His son is stating what many think but afraid for being branded anti-Nkrumah. A nation that cannot find enough energy to power its hospitals,schools and industry is planning another round of monuments for a late president th ...

• Truth. 11 years ago

Please, people who write on Ghanaweb, why don't you check your engish and spellings before you start insulting others on public site. It is shameful.

• Friday 11 years ago

Sekou no that all those praising you today were the one against the good things your dad was doing for the country. you are against everything about your dad. Are you really his son? That is part of what President Mahama will ...

• MP. 11 years ago

Is the president going to call this stupid idea his first initiative ever coming to office as a president? My goodness! Does he have the heart to think about How Ghanaians are suffering? Some people in the kumasi metropolis h ...

• king 11 years ago

Tell your president to feel for others too not only the people around him, that makes him a good presider.

• dan 11 years ago

Bufoons get insulted and mahama is a political bufoon.

• kontor 11 years ago

what is insult about what the guy said? Kwame Nkrumah statue will cost Ghanaians more than 100x the original price. why should we even talk about power shedding at this 21st century? because our leaders are so selfish and cor ...

• KARI BANDA 11 years ago

wHERE WERE YOU WHEN NPP WAS USING THE GHANA 50TH MONEY CHORFU CHORFU? YOU SHOULD HAVE ASKED KUFFUOR TO USE THE GOLDEN JUBILEE MONEY TO HELP THE LIGHTS AND WATER SITUATIONS IN GHANA BEFORE NOW, BECAUSE THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN THE ...

• BlindMan 11 years ago

Sekou is down playing the importance of Osagyefo in response to the SNUB, prior to the Addis Ababa gathering, a similar projection of his father's contribution to Africa.
    Who is listening! Perhaps, registering his bitterness ...

• LONE RANGER 11 years ago

JOBLESS NDC COMMENTATOR. THERE WAS ABOUNDANCE OF WATER, ELECTRICITY, PETROL ETC, AT THE TIME OF PUTTING THE JUBILEE HOUSE SO WHAT IS ALL THIS NERVOUSITY ABOUT?
    SEKOU NKRUMAH HAS RISED UP ABOVE POLITICS. NDC IS LOOKING STUPID ...

• S.Dikaini 11 years ago

Nkrumah only happens to be your biological father,but Nkrumah is larger than your thoughts,Keep your mouth shut,and respect the man Nkrumah one of the fathers of African liberation.Thank you President Mahama be bold and do th ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

SO WHY CANT NDC TRY TO BE A BIT CIVILISE? NDC STOP LIVING IN DARKNESS... THEY ALWAYS PREFER TO BE WHAT THEY ARE (DIRTY AND STINKING ODOUR AS USUAL NO IMPROVEMENT) SO WHAT DO THEY CARE IF GHANA RUN BROKE? THEY WILL EAT THEIR H ...

• Seku 11 years ago

Look into the mirror. Why can't the Opposition also be civilized to know that this venture is of tourist value?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Sekou, I understand your position but if the government wants to put up a statue for your dad, it would be a right step in the right direction. Anyway what I wish government can do is to put up the stsues of the BIG 6 who fou ...

LEFT FOR TH OTHERS ALONE GHANA WOULD STILL BE RULED BY THE BRITISH. ONLY NKRUMAH ASKED FOR SELF RULE NOW. WE WILL HONOR HIM AND RAISE THE MONUMENT AT CIRCLE.

• TESA SPRUG 11 years ago

MAHAMA DOESN'T HAVE ANYTHING TO OFFER GHANAIANS. GHANAIANS WANT WATER, ELECTRICTY, ELECTRICITY ETC BUT MAHAMA HAVE OUR BELOVETH NKRUMAH'S STATUE AS A PRIORITY FOR THEM.

GET OUT OF MY FACE! KUFFUOR GAVE ALL THE GHANA MONEY TO HIS SON AND CHILDREN AND PAID OFF GIEZELLS TWINS SAGA TO BE QUIET AND NOT TO DISGRACE HIM. THERE WERE POWER OUTAGES EVERY WERE IN GHANA. THE OTHER TRIBES ARE JUST NOT NO ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Why not name Ghana after him. He did not singlehandedly win ind for Ghana. It would be proper to have statutes for the Big 6.

• Kofi 11 years ago

When Nkrumah was asked to join the liberation struggle, the struggle had already begun. The fight for independence (whatever independence means) was not started by Nkrumah. Go and learn history of the Gold Coast.

• True Patriot 11 years ago

What do u mean by your your heading?

ASre we inthe U.S. where at least any child child conceieved there have FREE Prenatal Care and baby formula after birth?

Where the Churches feed the hungry and house the homeless.

• Kwabena Atta 11 years ago

So what are you saying,Frank Agyena Karikari? Is it because it is Dr.Nkrumah that you object to the HOLIDAY? If Nkrumah's holiday is one too many,why do you suggest the BIG SIX?

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

This particular project is a means of
    Mahama and his NDC to employ thievery,
    looting and robery act against the pmajority people of this nation.

• GA MAN 11 years ago

I really don't blame sekou because,he was given the talcum powder by Nana Addicks during their campaign period before coming out to vomit this rubbish.TWO QUESTIONS FOR THIS IDIOT ,1.WHERE DID YOU SEE YOUR FATHER BEFORE HE DI ...

• KKK 11 years ago

NONE OF THEM, THEY ARE ALL ATTENTION SEEKERS. LOOKING FOR THEIR OWN INTERESTS.

• M3 MA NO DUMSOR 11 years ago

IT IS AS IF HE BEARS A GRUDGE AGAINST THE OSAGYEFO.

• Sydney Hayford 11 years ago

Yes the statue of the first president is not a priorty. I don't think President Mahama said it's a national priority. It is just necessary that we do something like that to preserve the memory of the father of the nation.

• Wiseman 11 years ago

Why make noise about statue, but not those Government Officials who are stealing Ghana's money everyday? Stop first those stealing big sumsof money and there would be money to do good things for the masses.

• Black Hawk 11 years ago

Hayford, are you a GearsTears guy?

• BLACKMAN PROBLEM 11 years ago

Misplaced priority Prez Mahama 1st prez statue and birthday as statutory holiday is not why you were voted to power

• Abena 11 years ago

You said it all. That is what is lacking in our leaders. They need to put the country first and provide our basic needs of survival. Water, Electricity, Road and Education. Their focus should be on these essential needs of th ...

• MR. CIVILIZE 11 years ago

JUST TO WOO NKRUMAH'S FOLLOWERS BUT THEY ARE HUNGRY AND THIRSTY, THEY NEED FOOD, WATER, AND ELECTRICITY.

• JJ Rawlings 11 years ago

Well said Sekou, you are the son of your father.

• Mankind 11 years ago

Sekou, you are as smart as your father. These fools ruling the country don't know what they are about!! It's about corruption all the way!!

• BRUTUS de ROMA 11 years ago

SEKOU HAS A PROBLEM AND IS IN A STATE OF COMPLETE DISARRAY TO THE EXTENT THAT HE DISLIKES HIS OWN DAD. HIS COMMENTS IN THE RECENT PAST ABOUT HIS DAD'S WORKS, PRINCIPLES, AND OBJECTIVES WERE SO DISHEARTENING. ALL THE SAME IRON ...

• Onslopogas 11 years ago

Sound it clearer to them Sekou!!They so myopic...Oh Ghana my Motherland!!!When When ?????Totally irrelevant at this period of austerity.No Power,No water and water is Life!!!Grow up people!!! Grow up!!!

• Ibn Batuta 11 years ago

No Power, No Water is not a question about money but about poor managers who do not seem to know how to manage these resources. There is abundance of water and energy in Ghana but we are woefully inadequate in delivering thes ...

• MOVING FORWARD IN RIGHT DIRECTION 11 years ago

PUTTIG INKRUMAH IN HIS RIGHTFUL PLACE.....WILL OPEN THE GATE WAY FOR GHANA TO MOVE FORWARD....SO SHUT UP SEKOU

• malaam Salifu 11 years ago

Fool it is in our minds. travel all over ghana and you would see his handiwork. Free education helped Mahama to learn how to READ, let alone be a thieving president

• Yo 11 years ago

Sekou is making sense & you're telling him to shut up. Idiot!!

• KP 11 years ago

I like the way Dr Sekou is developing in maturity. Keep it up doc.

• Ibn Batuta 11 years ago

This guy is jealous of his own father. Surely a country like Ghana can multi task. The fact that some people in Ghana can not even afford a bicycle does not mean we can not build airports. All these things can happen in tande ...

YOU SHOULD HAVE ASKED KUFFUOR TO USE THE GOLDEN JUBILEE MONEY TO HELP THE LIGHTS AND WATER SITUATIONS IN GHANA BEFORE NOW, BECAUSE THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN THERE SINCE THAT TIME, AND YOU YOU ARE NOT JUST AWAKENING FROM THE DEATH. ...

• Albert 11 years ago

Which kind of country do we live in where a son of a former President gives his objective opinion and he is villified. People should respect opinions of others.

• PK 11 years ago

Your answer: a country of fools

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

TWEAA USE THE MONEY FOR FOOD FOR THE POOR. NKRUMAH WILL EVEN BE CONTENT. SEND THE MAUSOLEUM TO NKROFUL. BUILD A STATUE THERE. BRING DEVELOPMNT THERE. TOURISM...TO NKROFUL. NAME THE AIRPORT AFTER DR NKRUMAH....NOT A STATUE IN ...

• TONY 11 years ago

THAT WILL SERVE YOU RIGHT MR.MAHAMMAH. MR. PRESIDENT, TRY YOUR BEST TO TREAT GHANAIANS'INFECTIVE WOUNDS FIRST RIGHT NOW!! AND STOP BUILDING STATUES. THIS STATUE IS NOT A PRIORITY EVEN DR. NKRUMAH'S OWN SON AGREES.

• kodjo 11 years ago

Stop living in in the shadow of your father and make something of yourself!!!

• The wailer 11 years ago

Lynne you have spoken my mind,God bless Sekou and you.You know something? NDC and NPP are the same,if these two parties are there we are going anywhere.

• Nana Yaw 11 years ago

Entering OmanGhana, one is first welcome into the country by the symbol of the CIA, Kotoka. Inside the country, the allies of the CIA love the coup that overthrew Nkrumah yet they can not bring themselves to recognise and res ...

• Nana Yaw 11 years ago

If the AU can assist Ghana in her endeavour to building the first ultra modern Nuclear Energy plant in the sub Saharan Africa, Dr Nkrumah will forever and eternally be honoured. That was his dream and vision, and it was the N ...

• denkyira 11 years ago

Thank you Dr. Sekou Nkrumah.

Is it surprising at all? Such idiotic proposals could only come from an idiotic and feeble-minded bunch of goons called government.

Retrieving our GHc51 million from Woyome and mounting tha ...

• Gargantuan 11 years ago

You are a liability to the Nkrumah family. Shame on you.

• Common sense 11 years ago

Gargantuan we need water to bath, clean our environments, flash our loos, before going out to see a statue. The whole country is in darkness why? You prefare darkness to light isnt it?

• prince mahama kelly 11 years ago

Sekou is not the real son of Dr. k. Nkrumah i thing, he nedd to go to hospital to check his mental problem too

• Say the TRUTH 11 years ago

GOOD ONE THERE SEKOU!!!!!

TELL THIS NDC GOVERNMENT THEIR BIG BIG STUPIDITY!!!!!!!!!

I DON'T BLAME THEM BUT THOSE WHO PUT THEM BACK TO POWER!!!!!!!

• Fathia 11 years ago

Well said.
    Is the statue going to resolve any of our woes?
    Is this the mandate Mahama is are working with?
    Grow up mr president get your proirities right

• stone 11 years ago

sekou is always a confused man so we should not take him serious becos very soo he will join the ppp from the look of things

• Nii Hansen 11 years ago

There are more pressing things facing Ghanaians than statue. Why waste resource we don't have.

• Sydney Hayford 11 years ago

Sekou should should be thankful to president Mahama. Afterall he would be nobody in Ghana politics but for the good works of his father. I know that he is just living off the good works and goodwill of his father. He should ...

• jo 11 years ago

iI think we should understand people opinion, He point current situation people facing in this country need to address. we need investers, no water, electricity,good roads.where is economic which booming. we should concentrat ...

• abbas 11 years ago

this guy is a foolish dog, you hate your sister and now it has translated to ur late father, sekou be wise

• YAW 11 years ago

oh Abbas. Why this?we need to build our country. The country has lots of resources and not being used properly. Yes you can say anything that you want but your saying MUST contribute to nation building.

WHO IS THE FOOLISH DOG, YOU OR THE ONE CONTRIBUTING WISELY TO NATION BUILDING? USE YOUR BRAIN, IS THAT A PRIORITY? OR YOU DONT UNDERSTAND THE WORD PRIORITY?

• Dr. funny 11 years ago

I doubt Abbas knows the meaning of the word "priority." Only idiots would prefer statues over clean water and electricity

• Jay 11 years ago

Couldn't be better said, more so by a most appropriate person. Thank you Sekou. A nation that builds statues for $millions and has no light or water for majority of it's citizens. Same nation celebrates 50th birthday and invi ...

• Rebel Guy 11 years ago

Better traffic control system at Circle will make Nkrumah happy not a statue

• Pontius Pilate 11 years ago

i wonder what ndc will do to jj after he is gone. it seem now it is ndcpp. one can't actually draw the line anymore hahahaha. mills tried all he can with this nkrumah stuff. now mahamah has taken over.

ndc i beg leave that ...

• June 11 years ago

Amen Jay, I couldn't have said better! Millions of dollars spent on generators, only to allow it to rotten. Children roaming the streets of Accra bcos their parents can't afford school fees, cholera outbreaks due to filth & u ...

• BLAC-STAR-STATE 11 years ago

SINCE,I GOT TO KNOW THIS GUY,AS BEEN THE
    SON OF OUR FOUNDER OF OUR NATION,GHANA
    THIS IS THE FIRST TIME,I HAVE HEARD HIM
    TALKING SENSE,AND REASONABLE ISSUES,IN
    HIS LIFE TIME

• samuel Asare 11 years ago

well said! Dr.Sekou.we indeed need to prioritize our priorities.

• DOKORDOKOR 11 years ago

ON THIS I SAY IT IS GOOD.WE NEED TO PRAISE OUR HEROS AND NKRUMAH IS ONE.

• YAW BOATENG 11 years ago

For the first time this man has spoken sence.

• amoah wade3 11 years ago

wise guy. though a traitor buy, who knows, maybe getting wise.

• Nii Akwei 11 years ago

What is your priority my Brothers and Sisters?

• Nana,Legon 11 years ago

oyiwa.....greedy bastards who lack focus @ it again

• AKASI MARTHA ARIZONA USA 11 years ago

SEKOU THINK WHAT YOU CAN DO FOR GHANA AND BE SERIOUS IN LIFE. ADVICE FROM THE FAMILY.

• kofi 11 years ago

Thank u Seiko. I was initially not happy with the way u directed ur antagonism on some issues politically. Today i am beginning to know what u stand for; good governance

• jb 11 years ago

asshole

• Senior Wisdom 11 years ago

Sekou, this is wise coming from you. I wonder why our leaders cannot use their brains. No need to spend money on monuments when the are pressing issues to address - thank you

• NII AMON NIKOI 11 years ago

SEKOU GET A LIFE THE GOV. CAN WALK AND CHEW GUM AT THE SAME TIME U DONT HAVE TO COMMENT ON JUST EVERYTHING

• Kwaku Safo - Harlow Town, UK 11 years ago

This guy speaks truth. But some think otherwise. Well done Sekou.

• YAW 11 years ago

Thank you my Ghanaian brother. Ghana politicians are outmoded. Nkrumah has a park already and the park needs to be upgraded so as to attract more people, but look and listen to the president of Ghana. As l once said Ghana pol ...

• yao 11 years ago

Sekou, you are right.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Mahama is such a disgrace. Nothing to show that he will govern differently from his predecessors and to the youth proud. Shame on him

• Kobby 11 years ago

By the same principle, there are more critical issues that Sekou should talk about and offer solutions than commenting on issues that are obvious to Ghanaians. Please dont waste air space to tell Ghanaians that Water and Elec ...

• buga 11 years ago

This wisdom come from God,but not from man.may the lord bless you.tells more for beter ghana.

• adam alhassan 11 years ago

i dont think mr sekou is a true son of our first president

• DENIS 11 years ago

Sekou I thought you are a learned person like your father but I just realized that you no sense at all in that you head.Get a life ok.....bush boy like that.

• Naina 11 years ago

We are building first class roads etc. Inequalities in Ghana is just unbelieable.

• Kobby 11 years ago

We also paid the blackstars players about £50K each for qualifying to the next stage of the AFCON etc, why didnt we say that it wasnt the priority even to participate in the competition because we have water and electricity ...

• Kwaku A.Danso 11 years ago

Thank you Sekou, for making this statement!
    Mahama should focus and push to solve the Water and electricity problems of the nation.

• SYDNEY 11 years ago

THIS TALK OF STATUE CLEARLY DEFINES THE STUPIDITY OF THE BLACKMAN WHETHER HE IS PRESIDENT OR NOT......NO WONDER THE NDC COULD TAKE OUR 94 MILLION EUROS AND FREELY GAVE IT TO CONSTRUCTION PIONEERS AS FAKE JDEBTS EVEN THO KAYAY ...

• plange 11 years ago

looking for chop chop every where?

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT IN THIS SENSE.

I WILL HOPE THAT; YOU WORK ON A PROPOSAL THAT WILL GIVE A NEW AND BETTER DIRECTION FOR INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOMENT, ECONOMIC GROWTH AND TO ERADCATE EXTREME POVERTY IN THE COUNTRY.

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

PLEASE, DRAW UP AN ACTION PLAN THAZT WILL HELP THE GOVERNMENT TO GIVE A NEW AND BETTER DIRECTION FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE INFRASTRUCTURE,SIMULATE ECONOMIC GROWTH,INDUSTRIES,PROCESSING PLANTS, INCOME GENERATION, INCOME AND B ...

• OSEI WIAFE 11 years ago

NOW, THAT SEKOU IS TALKING LIKE OUR FOUNDING FATHER.

• eASEIDU KETIA 11 years ago

What Dr. Nkrumah is saying make sense. NDC lacks priorities. The language they understand is chop, chop. They have ruled Ghana for more than 20 years, yet majority of Ghanaians are a still wallowing in abject poverty. Ghana i ...

• Tsatsebi 11 years ago

We need thinkers like this in Ghana. Sekou's late father, Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah was a greater thinker and doer. Why can't these later governments emulate him? We need patriots in Ghana not thieving politicians.

• .com 11 years ago

At last some one with sense why build a statue when people have no water and electricity Thanks Dr Sekou

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Sekou or whatever you call your self, you are a disgrace, your fathers spirit will forever hunt you down. You will never see prosperity till you die.

• Ben Fosu 11 years ago

Nkrumah has enough statutes-sekou is right

• joejoe 11 years ago

another holiday on top of all the holidays. Also please do consider the date that Mills died as a holidays. Sekou is banged on.

• KK 11 years ago

HOW WILL UR STATUE LOOK LIKE...OH MY PRESIDENT DRAMANI...??? GIVING GHANIANS BASIC NEEDS WILL BEAUTIFY YOUR STATUE IN FUTURE,,,SO BE WARE.

• JO 11 years ago

PUTTING NKRUMAH'S STATUE AND CELEBRATING HIM DOES NOT MEAN FINDING SOLUTIONS TO WATER AND ELECTRICITY PROBLEMS ARE NOT PRIORITY. IF SOLVING THOSE ARE THAT EASY PRIVIOUS GOVERNMENTS WOULD HAVE SOLVED IT LONG TIME AGO. GOV IS R ...

• Patapaa 11 years ago

THIS IS THE ONLY SENSIBLE THING COMING OUT OF SEKOU MOUTH AS FAR AS I AM CONCERN. YES, MAMAMA IS SO UNSURE ABOUT THE PRIORITIES OF THE COUNTRY. THIS MAHAMA IS NOT READY TO RULE THE COUNTRY. WE NEED A SERIOUS PERSON WITH SOLID ...

• ADU BOGYA 11 years ago

GHANAIANS SHALL NOT LIVEBY ELECTRICITY AND WATER ALONE.ALL THOSE CRITICISING THIS PROJECTS ARE PLAIN NPP IDIOTS.THE LIKES OF URSULA OWUSU AND KENNEDY AGYEPONG.THEY WILL HAVE THEIR DAY WHEN THE TIME COMES.

• ADU BOGYA 11 years ago

SEKOU YOU ARE A DIGRACE TO YOUR FATHER.AMEN

• JUDAS-Leeds 11 years ago

This Sekou is not talking sense at all.Even during the NPP time,this problem persisted,yet the NPP government who were passive in the struggle for independence spent billions to celebrate GHANA@50.Go ahead,Mahama.

• Frank Mensah, Tikobo No. 2 11 years ago

Mahama has absolutely no direction other than the same stupid, trivial socialist nonsense.

• ABU 11 years ago

This man sometimes makes a lot of senses

• kwame 11 years ago

This is the most sensible thing he has said in a very long while.

• Mr. F London 11 years ago

THIS MAN SEKOU, NA WA O! WHEN HAS HE EVER COME OUT WITH A SUGGESTION AND TELL HOW TO BRING IT ABOUT LIKE OUR DAD THE OSAGYEFO? ALWAYS CASING DEDEDE LIKE THE NOW SILENT BOOMBOOM!
    SEKOU, IF I CAN GET LINKED TO YOU, I'LL TELL ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

I don't know what else you expected Sekou to say. What is an additional Nkrumah statue going to bring Ghanaians? That is the logic of Sekou. That is the question many Ghanaians want answers for.

• osabere kotoko 11 years ago

i agree with nr. nkrumah. Ghanaian chidren are dying in children's hospital for lack of vacination which cost about 5 euro. these death are unnessary and should be tackled as a priority. the statute ccan wait after the childr ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Good!

• SPERO 11 years ago

THIS GUY IS GETTING MAD. HE NEEDS ATTENTION.

• Rosalyn 11 years ago

Fathia cheated ...last born

• GHANA BA -UK 11 years ago

CAN SEKOU COUNT THE NO OF STATUES IN EGEPT AT TARY SQURE? I WISH THIS DROP OUT CAN GO AND DEMONSTRATE HIS IGNORANCE IN HIS MOTHERS HOME LAND EGPT. YOUR FATHER HAS WAIST HIS SPERMS FOR GIVEN BIRTH TO YOU. I DONT KNOW WHICH UNI ...

IT IS NOT A HUGE STATUE THAT WILL MAKE HIM MORE KNOWN. NKRUMAH WANTS HIS BELOVED COUNTRY GHANA TO SHINE, TO LEAD. WHAT DO WE GAIN FROM A STATUE WHEN OUR HOSPITALS HAVE NO WATER, NO ELECTRICITY ENCOURAGING ARMED ROBBIES ALL OV ...

• PAPA ARKOH, USA 11 years ago

WHEN WILL GHANAIAN "LEADERS" WISE UP AND SOLVE THE BASIC PROBLEMS OF THE PEOPLE?. WHY DO YOU WANT TO CELEBRATE NKRUMAH WITHOUT TOUCHING ON THE BASIC THINGS THAT MAKE LIFE BEARABLE FOR THE ORDINARY GHANAIAN? THIS IS SHEER STUP ...

• anayomi 11 years ago

GHANA PEOPLE NEED TO WAKE UP MAHAMA STEALING GOLD FROM GHANA TREASURY TO GIVE IRAN KILLERS,NDC MPS STEALING GOVT LAND ALL AROUND ACCRA,WOYOMI IS STEALING MONEY ,VICTOR SMITH IS STEALING CARS POLICE IS SHAKING DOWN PEOPLE FOR ...

• SLY 11 years ago

First time you talk some sense like Pratt. U soon switch when its suit u. But this one i give it to u. and i put it to you is cos the President didnt give u any job!!

• jb 11 years ago

ghana is not that broke

• Alhaji 11 years ago

Infact Sekou your maddness has reach its crittical point.So you also hate your Father how mad are you.You are a fool.

BUILDING A STATUE IS NUMBER ONE PRIORITY? WE ARE SUFFERING AND YOU PEOPLE ARE TALKING OF BUILIND A HUGE STATUE? WHAT FOR? WHAT DO WE GAIN FORM SEEING A HUGE STATUE. IS NKRUMAH NOT KNOWN IN THE WORLD? IS HIS STATUE A PRIORIT ...

• anayomi 11 years ago

AND STOP PROTECTING WOYOMI FOR STEALING MONEY COME CLEAN OR STEP DOWN

• TAMBRO/DENMARK 11 years ago

WHERE WERE YOU WHEN GHANA AT 50 WAS CELEBBRATED DURING KUFOUR`S ERA? DO YOU KNOW THE AMOUNT SPENT? DO YOU KNOW THE AMOUNT KUFOUR USED FOR THE 24 KARAT GOLD JUST TO DECORATE HIM SELF FOR NOTHING? IF YOU WERE PRESENT DOES THIT ...

• ZIPLOC 11 years ago

The NDC government is pathetic. How in the world did we ever bring them back to power? They have no ideas what is needful to Ghanaians.
    Even Dr. Kwame Nkrumah himself was alive, he tell the Mahama government that there are a ...

• Takyi 11 years ago

Stupid idea from a stupid president!There are more pressing issues than erecting statues.You seem to lack ideas.Stop bullshitting us and demonstrate good leadership

• amadu gandah 11 years ago

we need to unite and build on nkrumak foundation, thats the only way out

• musa mukutali maiga 11 years ago

you are right sekou toure nkrumah.like your namesake and your father,you will rule ghana one day.mark it on the wall.

• mawusi 11 years ago

The fact that the government builds one statue does not mean it cannot focus on other problems. Nkrumah is the founding father of Ghana and no respect to his memory is too much.

• kasapreko usa 11 years ago

thank you Sekou you are very wise like
    your father.first priority is gas power water etc

• KNYC (USMC) 11 years ago

Common basic things in this world. NDC can not manage.Water is a basic thing, becos when you have morons as leaders what do you expect? NDC morons,will lead GHANA to a Backward country.

• don mortey 11 years ago

When the danquah statue was being placed at danquah circle where was sekou?

• don mortey 11 years ago

Puting a statue at danquah circle is no news but nkrumah circle is news

• Donko 11 years ago

How stupid can Sekou be, we are putting Nkrumah statue because you call him your dad cow.
    Nkrumah was our president and the founding member of Africa Union. Its 50 years ago he formed the AU and we what to remember him with ...

• KNYC (USMC) 11 years ago

Are Ghanaians going to drink Nkrumah statue? This what he said " Dr Kwame Nkrumah in an interview with XYZ News said the government must focus on solving the current power and water crisis rather than wasting resources on bu ...

• Concern 11 years ago

You think about it. How wise is it to put money on portraits, keep them standing idle while the living do not have water to drink? Sekou is wiser than and reasons better than many of us. How much does the nation has to waste ...

• Koo Nimo 11 years ago

Your a disgrace to your father and mother Ghana for saying this.You fellow your father to Ghana to benifit from what he has done.What have you done for your father in Ghana here,Stupid fool.

• Concern 11 years ago

His father is already dead, so what do you want him to do for him. The best he can do is to bring him from the dead, but he can't do that so what else? Let's serve the living and leave the dead alone. All these expenses adds ...

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

For ONCE,I AGREE 100% with Sekou.When shall we PUT OUR PRIORITIES in the RIGHT ORDER in Ghana??
    The younger ones SHOULD START POSITIVE ACTIONS......till the Govt. comes to her SENSES!!
    WHERE IS OUR NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT PLAN ...

• Concern 11 years ago

We must all kick against this, it's a waste of money. We as a nation must stand up, our money is not being used in a proper way. How on earth must we prioritize portraits? This is not the best for us as a nation.

• Afia 11 years ago

Dr. Nkrumah, you are full of wisdom. well spoken

• Korsi Vivor 11 years ago

THIS MAN IS A DISGRACE TO HIS FATHER NKRUMAH

• FF 11 years ago

NDC ARE NATION WREKERS

• FF 11 years ago

YUO WOULD THINK MAHAMA HAS COMMON SENSE

• FF 11 years ago

GIVE THIS PEOPLE 100 YEARS THEY CAN'T BUILD THE NATION. NO COMMON SENSE ALL TALK AND CHEAP PUBLIC RELATION

• KATE 11 years ago

WELL SAID SEKOU, THE THIEF DON'T CARE ABOUT GHANAIANS AND HAVE NO VISION. MAHAMA COME OUT AND SAY SOMETHING ABOUT THE GAY ISSUE, THE 1.5TONS GOLD, ELECTRICITY AND THE WATER PROBLEMS IN THE COUNTRY.

• SHAKESPEARE 11 years ago

Poeple are dying in rural areas and money is spending on toy to represent some one who even dislike nation wreckers. Mr president don't lose focus or Nana Addo should come and help you.

• Elvis, USA 11 years ago

U are very wise. Ghana really need selfless pple like U.

• Dr. funny 11 years ago

You said if all Sekou, the government needs to get the priority straight. at least fix the electricity problem, thats all i ask for. Sekou good job

• Dagadoo,Manchester USA 11 years ago

I think this opportunist Son of Dr Nkrumah is an Idiot! WTF!!

• OBINNA 11 years ago

Putting up a statue at the right spot and tackling the water & electricity problems of the country can all be done at the same time.

• HUMILITY 11 years ago

some nobodys' can comment on internet, we thank God for the developmnt, years ago some of these comment writer's fathers never read NEWS PAPERS to know what was going on, now bush-bush rats can comment on GHANAWEB, isnt God g ...

• Jenny 11 years ago

Great son with the brain the size of planet.

• Jenny 11 years ago

Saddam Mahama obsessed with death should build statue for himself.

• Jenny 11 years ago

That's Mahama. Everything is either tribe or politics.

• ASA 11 years ago

I think Dr.Sekou should understand that Ghanaians honour Nkrumah not because of his children but for what he did for the country. Sekou should understand that but for the AU and well meaning Ghanaians the NPP would have burie ...

• joe 11 years ago

i agree with sekou

• Friday 11 years ago

You are against everything in memory of your dad. you are against his party and now you are against honouring him. are you really the son of The founder of the nation and our first great President? The Egyptian blood in you i ...

• Sir waddat of Columbus oh. 11 years ago

Pls we need to think ahead not the past .Nkrumah statue or not statue Ghana must go forward .we are far behind .

• YAW MENDS 11 years ago

HE JUST WANT TO CREATE AN AVENUE TO TAKE KICK BACKS.GOD PASS THEM

• okukuseku 11 years ago

The only memory Sekou lives with is the name Nkrumah. Without it he is a dark soul of himself. He continous to occupy public space because of the name "NKRUMAH"

• oldtimo 11 years ago

I am glad Nkrumah's Statue could build an important project like water and electricity as his son claims. Where was that Sekou when his Afrifa/Kotoka were destroying the statue of the former worthy president? The next step ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago

This boy must be banished from Ghana to nowhere.

• Afatiba 11 years ago

Good shot Sekou. Nkrumah would rather have them follow his vision for Ghana than put up a statue in his honour. VISIONLESS to say the least

• Seku 11 years ago

I disagree with Sekou. Nkrumah is the greatest tourist attraction apart from our castles. Government I believe is not a mono-solution process or event. Certainly all other projects need attention but do not behave like any is ...

• Seku 11 years ago

I disagree with Sekou. Nkrumah is the greatest tourist attraction apart from our castles. Government I believe is not a mono-solution process or event. Certainly all other projects need attention but do not behave like any is ...

• Tj 11 years ago

Dr. Nkrumah is right, please listen to these intelligent kids because they see what the government isn't seeing. People don't have the basic needs and the government is focusing on statues. People why not make one of these k ...

• OHEMAA 11 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU,THANKS

• Kwame 11 years ago

People acquire education, knowledge and skills to perform a specific labour activity. Thus Dr. Arthur is trained to mold statues and that is what he knows how to do best. Not putting what he learn to do better is like a farme ...

• emma 11 years ago

Mahama wont Ghanaians to know tha Dr,. Nkroma was not just ghana first president but He is Christ rencanation . that will not let us lost our history the jews wer black not whith as poeple view Jutsut AS whit mane but the me ...

• JOEDUSU@yahoo.com 11 years ago

FOR MANY GHANAIANS WE STOOD IN THE SUN THE WHOLE DAY TO VATE SO THAT JM CAN COME AND BUILD STAUTES OF NKRUMAH. YES OUR PRIORITY IS TO SEE STATUES OF NKRUMAH. AFTER BUILDING 10 STATUTES THEN JM CAN CONCENTRATE ON THE LESSER IS ...

• NIIBI NII SACKEY 11 years ago

Posting our comment, that not mean we should be insuting. We are Ghanaians and I think we respect for the elderly, our culture is been washed away by this posting of comment and freedom speech. Let us show the African human w ...