You are here: HomeNews2013 02 17Article 265182

Transport operators justify fare increases

Read Comments Comments (89)

• Kojo 11 years ago

I am glad that govt has gathered the courage to increase fuel prices which was the gold box of some criminals who were smuggling the product accross our borders.

• BAM 11 years ago

iT IS UNJUST TO INCREASE FARES BY 25%

• MECCA STUDENT 11 years ago

OPEC TO BE BLAME FIRST

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Why blame OPEC? Is Ghana the only country that buys from OPEC to warrant 25% increase in fuel prices? The market price of crude oil is not over a $100 a barrel. Mention any democratic country in the world which increased fuel ...

• Kill a fly with bulldozer 11 years ago

He should tell us when was the last time fuel price was reduced when crude prices was reduced or low. They asked them to put their numbers on the table for us to see how much is being spent do you see them come out all that t ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

They try to kill a fly with a Hammer over a barrel so it missed and created a leakage in the Barrel.
    They are now looking for Kuffuor as an economy expert to bring a hammer.

• JATO 11 years ago

Oil price in Ghana in 2007 was lot cheaper,when a gallon of oil was sold at $150.00 in the world market,than now that the world price is $95.00.

• SHAMO 11 years ago

NDC SUPPORTERS WILL NOT PAY LORRY FARE! BECAUSE "I DEY BE KEKE" GHANA IS BETTER !! NDC FOOOOOOLS

• Kwakusei 11 years ago

DRASTICALLY!
    THIS IS JUST THE BEGINNING.

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

WITH ABENA IN THE BEDROOM.

PRINCE"OIL PROFIT EAT CONSUMERS.
    2]ORDINARY PEOPLE EXPECTING CHANGE
    3]OFFICE OF PREVENTION EDUCATION AND CONTROL.

ABENA'OLD PEOPLE EAT CAKE"
    PRINCE"I ...

My friends Tony Aidoo and Kofi Wayo need some of the oil to lubricate their poles. I have not heard about those two idiots for some time now. Congrats Mahama for dumping those two. Very soon they will be shouting so Mahama ca ...

• Kwakutse 11 years ago

Ooo, is nice! edi dee kee!

• Mahmoud 11 years ago

They did not take anything into consideration because they enjoy everything free. At the end of their term, they will still more money to insulate themselves from such callousness. To them, Ghana is the physical land of Ghana ...

• MADZIA 11 years ago

stupid comment. petrol is cheaper now than it was in 2007 during the credit crunch and when Npp tried to raise it a little , u guys were screaming on top of every hill .

U overspent all the money campaigning during the ...

• JAMES Y 11 years ago

The Road Transport Associations are doing the same as the railway workers did during the time Nkrumah's government. The Railway Workers Union created havoc, at the time, through wild strikes without caring about their impact ...

• fokuoh 11 years ago

fellow ghanaians,that is NDC for you.

• the the there 11 years ago

NDC IS STILL THE ENEMY OF GHANA'S PROGRESS.MAHAMA IS NOT OUR LEGITIMATE PRESIDENT,HE MUST STEP DOWN ASAP HE IS A THIEF AND A GAY PROSTITUTE.

• Sheila 11 years ago

Hmmmm

• Public Prosecutor 11 years ago

What economics is this? Price increase will discourage smuggling? It will rather achieve the opposite results, encourage smuggling. Price at the other side of the border will double and smuggling will become lucrative busines ...

• CONCERNED DIVER 11 years ago

THESE FAIRS ARE INADEQUATE CONSIDERING THE LEVEL OF PRICE
    OF SPAREPARTS THAT WILL ALSO FOLLOW IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN 30 TO 40 PERCENT

• ABRANTIE GYASI 11 years ago

AFTER commercial transportation fares increment, all workers will also demand salary increment(Their Fair Share Of The National Cake) which will bring a general CAOS in the country.(I TOLD YOU SO BOB COLE).

If you are old enough to have read Blue and Red books in the middle school, you would remember the story of an old man whose advice some young boys did not take. When they ran into trouble, the Old man reminded them by saying ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

GO OUT THERE AND RECEIVE YOUR REWARD, ALL GHANAIANS. GO AND PAY THE PRICE FOR YOUR FOOLISHNESS. WHEN THE HISTORY IS TOLD, IT WILL BE SAID THAT GHANAIANS WERE OFFERED FREE SECONDARY EDUCATION, IMPROVED UNIVERSAL HEALTH CARE, S ...

• ABUGUM 11 years ago

BIG FIRE BURN YOU AND YOUR STUPID NANA AKUFO ADDO MR. FREE NONESENSE

• REGIDS 11 years ago

Philippians 1:21-23 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to d ...

• Otafrogya. Washington DC 11 years ago

Does this Goverment really thinks of Ghanaian?, hell no!. This greedy bastards are inn only to still, kill and distroy the average Ghanaian. Ghana, think!, my folks, think and think well for these People will finally sell Gha ...

• YAW MENDS 11 years ago

CLAP FOR YOURSELVES NDC,S. I THINK THIS IS JUST THE BEGINNING . GHANAIAN ARE YET TO SEE THE REAL HARDSHIP NDC HAVE IN STORE FOR THEM.MAHAMA WILL SELL GHANA TO THE FOREIGNERS VERY SOON,MARK IT ON THE WALL.GOD PASS THEM.A PARTY ...

• MECCA STUDENT 11 years ago

PLEASE; THIS FUEL INCREMENT IS NOT ONLY FROM GHANA BUT THE WHOLE WORLD:

• MENSAH 11 years ago

The wages OF GHANAIANS do not balance with such an incerease of 25% petrol and 50% LPG.How would GOIL compete with foreign petroleum products on Ghanaian market?I will export ENGINE OIL & OIL FILTERS to GHANA soon.

• ebo 11 years ago

u get money and vote, u get increase in fares,no crying oooooooooooo

• ERIC AYIDAH,italy 11 years ago

98% OF ALL LADIES CANNOT HANDLE MY 9.5 INCHES DICK. WHY??

BIG PENIS/DICK LOVERS LOOKING TO HOOK UP, I AM HERE FOR YOU. I am looking for a mature lady between 19yrs and above. The said lady should be a person who likes big ...

• The NewYorker 11 years ago

If what you are saying is true then your life is short. It is a genetic sickness and people with such extraordinary digs have an auto immune antibody that attacks their red cells sometimes immediately and sometimes slowly. Yo ...

• DAN 11 years ago

you will grab hold of a hiv infected turd yourself and die very soon..No need for Niggers like you to work in america we have pretty mexican girls and Even old China women rub a mans penis for $50

• Peter 11 years ago

Honestly, John Mahama is not the right person to lead Ghana. This is just the beginning, we will see worst things than this. Wo mu be de keke.

• kwabena 11 years ago

MAHAMA should not come back again to talk of subsidy again ooooooooooo

• AKOS 11 years ago

Increase the salary of Ghanaian worker by the same persentage

• Nana Appiah 11 years ago

When Kufuor went ahead to Change the Currency to parity With the US Dollars, This Is the Price you are going to be paying...The price of crude Oil goes up in the West Only in Single Digits, 2%,3% Not 20%..This is What you ge ...

• GHANA BOY 11 years ago

YOUR VERY STUPID.

• KK 11 years ago

What about the moneys Woyome stole and CO Judgement Debts?

• Nana Appiah 11 years ago

Who do You think was responsible for the so called Judgement debt Saga..Was It not the Same Kufour and his Cronies, Grabbing contracts here and there for a percentage?? Are You stupid??? It was the Same Kufour who caused the ...

• MAHAMA 11 years ago

WO MAAME TWE KANKAN, Stop being an asshole.

• Togbe 11 years ago

it's either Ghanaians are STUPID or they are NAIVE. The difference is while the former is an IMBECILE the later is UNINTELLIGENT. Why blame the transport owners. They not running a CHARITIES. Those who don't agree with the ow ...

• Asiedu Mosquito Nketia 11 years ago

This is who we in the NDC are. After coninving with the devil old man from Adom in Berekum district call Owudini Afari Gyan to steal the election for Mahama John, we are showing who we really are to Ghanaians. Keep cool Ghana ...

• ADAMA 11 years ago

NDC IS MADE UP OF A BUNCH OF FOOLS AND THIEVES. THEY ARE BENT ON SINKING GHANA TO THE BRIM. EVERYTHING IS GOING BAD IN GHANA. WHY? NDC PEOPLE ARE EVIL AND ENVY TRIBALISTIC PEOPLE WHO DONT WANT TO SEE GHANA PROGRESS. THEY B ...

• Akuffo Addo 11 years ago

I think during the eight year period of the NPP government, fuel was never increased. Please be nationalistic and stop the politiking.

• anayomi 11 years ago

PETRO HIKE WILL CUSE ALL GOOD TO BE COSTING MORE MONEY AND WILL RAISE ELECTIC BILL AND WATER COST MAHAM IS DESTROYING GHANA ECONOMY WITH HIS FOOLISH VOODO ECONOMICS

• King George 11 years ago

IT'S HIGHTIME GHANAIANS SHOULD LEARN TO FACE THE REAL PRICES, FOR HOW LONG CAN THE GOVN BE PAYING FOR US.

• oto 11 years ago

It is also time for ndc to misuse the country resources

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

THIS IS PURE DISPLAY OF INCOMPETENCE. NDC CAN'T MANAGE, THEY CAN ONLY DAMAGE

As long as our useless MPs are paid fat salaries, given fat rent allownces, and our politicians continue to steal from the national treasuries, as long as the poor and masses are ignored and underpaid, the Gov't will be payin ...

• chop 11 years ago

shut up and suffer. edee be keke

• anayomi 11 years ago

HERE BUT SOON WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR HIGHER COST OF GOODS ,ELECTIC AND WATER PRICES SHAME ON YOU MAHAMA

• mxsta 11 years ago

the increment fuel prices doesn't care either you are NDC or NPP is very good becos the bible says by their fruit we will know them , how fuel increase at this time OH OH OH ghanaians think twice

• Tokyo !! 11 years ago

Edey be ke ke !!

• PIERRO 11 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians tighten your belts, for the beautiful ones are not yet born.

• Martin 11 years ago

Is it the first time NPA is increasing fuel prices in the country? if removing the subsidies on fuel is not justify, was the TOR Levi imposed on Ghanians by J.A. Kufour Government justify? let's not be Hippocrates.

• Barima Yaw 11 years ago

wait and see

• before-before 11 years ago

NDC WHY....WE SHOULD LEAVE GHANA FOR YOU? MAHAMA..YOU ARE A BAD MAN

• before-before 11 years ago

SICKNESS GO KILL YOU LIKE ATTA MILLS

• cosey adwenpa: germany. 11 years ago

Yes we dey chop ghana money k3k3,ghanaians will suffer under the cursed NDC led by Mahama the unclean man.

• cosey adwenpa: germany. 11 years ago

Stupid NDC is heading Ghana towards HIPPIC.The NDC in government don't pay for fuel,they don't care about our poor farmers and ordnary citizens of ghana.

• Sanga 11 years ago

Hahahaha. Just barely three months in power? What a way to show appreciation to voters who elected him. The presidency and a cabal closer to the seat of power are feeding their greed.

• Kalira 11 years ago

Kuffour increased petrol from 6000c to 2000. Please what was the percentage?

• silverwolf99 11 years ago

Our prices in the West are currently at 2.5 cedi per liter. A one way city bus fare is around 5 cedi. We don't subsidize petrol prices at all.
    Petrol is even higher in some European countries.

• FREE SSS 11 years ago

GHANAIANS VOTE FOR THEIR OWN BETTER GHANA AGENDA

• Nborija 11 years ago

You are an idiot just like your never to be president Akufooooool Addue.

• BOLD 11 years ago

When will you become a president? We the people will always vote for him and your vote does not count,

• Pontius Pilate 11 years ago

i luv my country. in the face of adversities, all they do is to lament and everyone goes back to sleep. life then moves on albeit grudgingly.

nobody rally acts and like "conditioning", the politicians have grown to know th ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

Safa have suspended their president and four other top officials in the wake of a report into a pre-World Cup match-fixing scandal.

Safa president Kirsten Nematandani and four staff members, including the organisation’s ...

• Gen.AA Afrifa/Kotoka Remembered 11 years ago

RISE UP GHANA YOUR NDC GOVERNMENT VOTED IN BY THE VOLTA AND NOTHERNERS ON 7 DEC 2012

• ATOPAHENE MAHAMUUUU 11 years ago

EI HMMM,MAHAMA THIEVES SOLD GHANA TO BE PREZ.EI EI NDC YE BEDII K3K3,MAY GOD PUNISHED NDC FOOLS AND MAHAMA EVIL DWARFA AS JJ SAID,PERIOD

• charles 11 years ago

the government must set a law to check those who use gas as fuel for their vehicles.here there must be a law that,those who use lpg gas as fuel should pay more road tax in order to favour domestic consumers

• Fabio Flexy Tunde 11 years ago

the true better Ghana is now coming to light i guess they had wanted to say bitter Ghana because we already feeling the wrath of the NDC so soon

• OOO 11 years ago

Allowances Of Ghanaian Athletes At ECOWAS Games Yet To Be Paid

Seven months after the ECOWAS Games, athletes who represented Ghana are yet to receive allowances and per diem due them.

Team Ghana emerged overall winners ...

• Proud Pepeman. 11 years ago

The problem we have now is that a lot of government officials and especially the NPA are now lifting oil. We are seriously dishonest people. Nobody at NPA is interested in getting TOR working. Why? The people we put at the he ...

• eddie of adenta 11 years ago

ARE WE BEING TOLD TO GO BACK TO CHARCOAL USAGE? OUR FOREST WHICH ARE ALREADY DEPLETED CAN ONLY GET WORSE. THE POOR WILL SUFFER. I KNOW ITS BECAUSE OF COMMERCIAL VEHICLE USERS. ARE THEY SO BANKRUPT OF IDEAS THAT THEY CANT FIND ...

• YOUNGPHII UEW, GHANA 11 years ago

I don't blame transport owners for the increament in their charges b'cus they are in business for profit. All these came about b'cus some few people want to use what belong to all to enrich themselves. But as KARL MAX once pu ...

• Ray 11 years ago

www.ghanatvlive.blogspot.com

• kasapreko usa 11 years ago

SHAMOyou are my man Ilove your comment
    ndc fooooooooooooooools

• KETA BOY 11 years ago

WHERE THAT JJ I WANT HIM TO COME OUT TO SAY SOMETHING ABOUT GAS PRICE WENT UP ON 2007 HE WAS SCREMING AT PRZ KUFFOUR WANT TO KILL GHANIANS WHAT ABOUT NOW NDC THIFE JJ STOLE ALL THE MONEY AND COMPANINS EVES ARE AIWAYS THIFIES

• JOHN EISNTEIN .aka spearman 11 years ago

But the NDC promised a better Ghana agenda we have been deceived anther one time fellow Ghanaians lets elect government leaders who will deliver according to their promise not according from!even the government of the day can ...

• KNYC (USMC) 11 years ago

Better Ghana will come, keep voting NDC.

• Kpana Robert 11 years ago

I want to appeal to drivers to be realistic in the charge of their fares so that it will not push an ordinary Ghanaian to the wall

Go appeal to your Gov't. The realistic is that the gov't can now forget about the ppl who voted them there, until 4 yrs when there is elctions b4 they(the Gov't) appeal to them.

We should appeal to our your Gov't. The realistic is that the gov't can now forget about the ppl who voted them there, until 4 yrs when there is elctions b4 they(the Gov't) appeal to them. Why? b'cos we the ppl don't vote b'c ...

• Nana Akomea- Accra 11 years ago

to stop smuggling petrol should be double

• Papa Solo 11 years ago

I think you Ghanaians deserve the price increament. You voted the NDC into power after all the corruption that has gone on for four years. You people did not learn a lesson.The NDC government increased petrol price as soon as ...

• me 11 years ago

E dey beee kehkeh. The rich will get "richest" and the poor will get "poorest". This is NDC, the deceptive party for you.

• Kofi kyei (u.s.a) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...