You are here: HomeNews2013 02 15Article 265097

I'm responsible for the failure of the Black Stars – Kwasi Appiah

Read Comments Comments (119)

• Kanawu 11 years ago

Keep Kwasi Appiah and nurture him to be a great coach for the good of Ghana. Forget about these foreign/eastern european coaches who come and milk Ghana dry. They also use the talents in the black stars to build their CV/resu ...

• GA MAN 11 years ago

Stupid man,when you collected bribes from players and declared some of them the best strikers in Ghana,including giving them the captainship,have you shared that booties with anybody?useless urgly short tie coach,you wanted t ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Can we leave this man alone a bit? The Ivorians had better players than Ghanaians but how did they fare? We have to admit that no nation can be the best in soccer as it used to be. I like the dedication with which the Abedis ...

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

NIGERIA TO WIN AFCON CUP SEVEN TIMES!!!

Nigeria will keep the AFCON Cup for a very very long time before Ghana ever think of smelling it. With or without your 'juju' we shall keep the CUP with the power of Holy Ghost on ou ...

• khobbie 11 years ago

You should be ashamed of urself bushman! Infact its no news if nigeria takes the trophy for 8times running. Y do u Naija ppl always wanna compare with Blessed Ghana. U think the Holy Ghost will dwell in a 419 nation? wake up ...

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

YES! YES!! YES!!!...I'm glad that my 'incessant taunting' is getting into your kokoase kurasene, son of stupid village cocoa farmer like you with your BIG mouth. Very good, oh yes, very good indeed.

Holy Ghost does not dw ...

• Senior citizen---Germany. 11 years ago

Nigeria should stop bragging and beginn to realise that Ghana has been their masters on the field of football since the year 1958 not be,cos of voodoo or juju but hard work.When one is talking about spiritualism ie,voodoo or ...

• JATO 11 years ago

When these thugs stop their soccer politics.Even Pele with his French spearking could not win Ghana AFCON CUP as B.S. captian.We learn from our mistakes.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

SINCE 1982, 1990 WE STILL LEARNING FROM OUR MISTAKES? AA WAS DEOUTY COACH FOR 6 LONG YRS. ASK HIM WAT HE LEARNT UNDER MILO N PLAVI. WAS HE SLEEPING IN THE JOB AS A DEPUTY COACH OR WAT? KESHIE NEVER GOT THE SAME OPPORTUNITY AS ...

• The Stallion 11 years ago

Was there anything to learn under the Serbians for bad 6 years? Modafucker!

• Kojo 11 years ago

IT is not the matter of authority or discipline. Appiah himself is not disciple.Do you call what he did to the Ayews disciple? He just hate the boys. I just wish their father will allow them to talk. Were the Ayews like that ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

What has Akwasi Appiah to gain for HATING those young men? He rather needed them in his team so that his glory will soar high if he wins matches. We need not go to that point.
    I have been an Athlete and a hockey coach befor ...

“I made some tactical errors in the course of the competition. I have learnt very useful lessons from the experience in South Africa and I hope to correct such mistakes for the good of the team in future,” he stated.

M ...

Learn from who? Are the Serbians people to learn from? Asshole!!!

• Geek 11 years ago

if u dont forgive who are u? God forgive
    u cuz u dont really know what u have just said

What did you expect him to learn from a Serbian? Is Milo able to be a local coach in Serbia? My friend, you are retarded. Everyone knows it on this forum but they can't come out direct and tell you. Now the flood gates will b ...

• jojo USA 11 years ago

TELL ME THE NUMBER OF COACHES THAT WILL ADMIT THAT THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE TEAMS FAILURE? APPIAH CONTINURE YOUR JOB

• Askantwi 11 years ago

primitive people like you are a disgrace to ghana. The Black Stars do not use any player, but rather it is the other way round. The players use the National team to gain fame and international recognition to boost their caree ...

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

Mr. Ga Man, the Ayew brothers.

• macgbesh 11 years ago

BUT THEY ALL DID BETTER THAN YOUR AA.WHAT WAS JONATHAN MENSAH ON THE BENCH, CANT HE PLAY 2.....OH APPIAH K. ASAMOAH IS NOT A DEFENDER

• bob m 11 years ago

Oh yes. You can say Appiah all the way because we don't have a say in who coaches the BS but i can assure you that we will not go to the world cup. not with this imbecile coach. before he became the assistant BS coach what wo ...

• Mark 11 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU. WE'RE NOT GOING TO BRAZIL. GIVE GFA A LONG ROPE....

• Visionary 11 years ago

On that note I forgive you for accepting your tactical inability and justify your inclusion.
    This justify your inclusion shjould be an open program to all who are willing to demostrate their capability for the benefit of th ...

• pk 11 years ago

I cant believe you even used the word vision. Ghana had a team from "06". Then Ghana won under 20 worldcup. and we blend some of these players and we were all happy in 2010. Are we saying that just barely 3 years these player ...

• eddie of adenta 11 years ago

i have already forgotten about he world cup. this technically bankrupt coach cannot take us to the world cup. when we miss it, we will come back with the same excuses. you fools, cant you see.

• ALL GHANAIANS 11 years ago

SACK KWESI APPIAH. THAT KWESI NYANTEKYI NEEDS JUST ONE BULLET IN HIS FUCKING HEAD. HE IS DOING EVRYTHING IN HIS CAPACITY TO KEEP HIS TRIBAL MAN. FELLOW GHANAIANS, WHY DO'NT WE GO ON THE STREET AGAINST THIS STUPID DECISION OF ...

• 4 Year Old 11 years ago

This is no coach. He was probably a player but not a coach. There is a big difference between the two professions. A good player does not translate to a good coach. Of course, there can be some exceptions but Kwesi Appiah is ...

• BOGASS 11 years ago

IF YOU THINK YOU ARE BETTER, ASK GFA TO GIVE YOU THE CHANCE TO COACH THE TEAM, OTHERWISE SHUT UP. YOU THINK OTHER TEAMS CAME TO SHOW UP AND LEAVE EMPTY HANDED? THEY ALL CAME TO WIN THE CUP.OUR BEST WAS NOT ENOUGH, WE ARE GOIN ...

• Alugu 11 years ago

Kwesi Appiah must be ready to learn. He should not be satisfied with his coaching badge. The game is changing every now and then.

• The wailer 11 years ago

You have spoken my mind, God bless you KANAWU like ppl like your type.

• Branaboy 11 years ago

Kwesi Appiah does not have the intellectual capacity to manage the Black Stars. He comes across as a very competent number two who is good at preparing a team physically. However in all the games I have seen him manage, he co ...

• KK 11 years ago

Infact I just dont know what to call this guy, stupid, hypocrite fool etc see what he is saying, no seniority if that was the case what was Gyan doing in the team. did he fight for that position, he did not even take part in ...

• ME 11 years ago

Just call him stupid.

• Me (Original) 11 years ago

Any sensible person on the forum knows that a certain stupid and foolish man is impersonating original ME.

• WORST FA IN THE WORLD 11 years ago

Take it easy, Bro. No need to get a heart attack because of incompetent GFA. The end is fast approaching. Just imagine Sudan coming to Kumasi to disgrace the Black Stars next month. Then, all hell will break loose in Ghana an ...

• ABEEKU, PORT ELIZABETH,SOUTH AFRICA. 11 years ago

GOOD LUCK NEXT TIME.

• ghanaba 11 years ago

I hope what AA means by justify is that you are playing regularly at your club either locally or foreign. Every national team head coach has 15 players who are core to his team based on their club performance. Messi, Xavi, In ...

• dante 11 years ago

we are not mad or angry about the team not able to win the cup but we are rather angry about the teams performance....the coaches inability to read the game...Ghana was playing like we had no coach....no tactics..even cape ve ...

• Bismark 11 years ago

We have been learning our mistakes since CAN 2008 in Ghana and we have been at four semi-finals, yet we have not learned enough to win the cup in any of the four semi-finals. A good does ot learn his lesson after the tourname ...

• jb 11 years ago

add these guys to the technical team to hep you...individually they are uncommon talent for their times and they still have gifts to share...they all love GHANA... and they can help you

• ABEEKU, PORT ELIZABETH,SOUTH AFRICA. 11 years ago

LET GYAN STAY A WAY FROM THE TEAM HE IS BAD LUCK TO THE TEAM.

• Ei ALAJI 11 years ago

No tactics ,,,, nat until we fail to qualify for copa mundial,,, which wil be too late,,,, he only instruct his boys wen he appears on the screen .... Incompetent coach!

• GOD IS MY JUDGE HONESTNEST 11 years ago

He should know when to change a player at the right time;He needs tactical experience and drop Asamoah Gyan in the starting line up for christ sake period.

• OMANNI ASARE 11 years ago

Appiah was assistance in black star so why should ghanaians buy his failure ,from the beginning the South Africa games Ghana plays on heartbeat with poor performance and i have choose not to watch any game if Akwasi Appiah st ...

• HANATU 11 years ago

You agree you are the problem JUST GO CARRY NYATAKYIWITH YOU.

• Di Carlo 11 years ago

You cant go to war without your ammo,it is damn time to blend the best of the young to include Wakaso,Atsu,Rabiu etc and the best of the experienced to include Muntari,Ayew,Essien,K.Boateng etc with the already established Ka ...

• Amina 11 years ago

Di Carlo I agree with you but can your suggestion be implemented by this Appiah man.

• Di Carlo 11 years ago

I hope he listens,if not his arrogance will bring himself down.He has a good resource of talented players and any wise man will make good use of that.

• GOD IS MY JUDGE HONESTNEST 11 years ago

WE can build our team on these players,Muntari,Ayew,Essien,Rabiu,Atsu,Awal,K Asamoah,Badu,Wakaso,Boakye Yiadom,Cllotey,Adomah,Jonathan,Boye,Vorsah,Afful,Kissi,Adams,Adjei,Dauda, and shall be there In Brazil

• Amina 11 years ago

Gyan was not the problem,it was the APPIAH MAN,puting players in odd positions.Gyan was a lone wolf no support what did we expect from him magic.

• Sikaye 11 years ago

If Kwesi Appiah Approach remains the tatics same technique then it is better he steps down.
    Wie Need Results and Not mouth Talk.
    And maybe Nyantakyi Must go ,

• Mark 11 years ago

So Nyantekyi decided to teach Appiah how to stay on the job by good public relations practice.But this not going to work because Appiah has no clue and he will never deliver. check this out: At his first pree conference he sa ...

• KOOBOY 11 years ago

AS AMBASSADORS REPRESENTING GHANA ON TAX PAYERS MONEY THE BLACK STARS SHOULD AT LEAST HAVE A BETTER APPEARANCE. WHAT IS ALL THIS BLEACHED HAIR AND BALOTELLI HAIR CUT.

• Ama Buoh 11 years ago

As if we didn't all know. You are clueless, just pack yourself off the national soccer scene.

• A concern ghanaian 11 years ago

l'm upset, but in life you win some and lose some. There is one thing l want to bring it up, now the modren football demands tall and huge guys, but we are still using little players is not going to help us in future. for ins ...

• B GHANATTAH 11 years ago

THAT IS LEADERSHIP COACH APPPIAH.THAT IS WHAT GHANA NEEDS. A LEADER WHO ACCEPTS RESPONSIBILITY EVEN IN FAILURE.UNLIKE LEADER4S WHO CLAIM THEY DID NOT KNOW JUDGEMENT DEBT PAYMENTS TO THE TUNE OF 56M AND MAY BE MORE,LEADERS IN ...

• Ghanavi 11 years ago

Ghanattah, Amen to that. God forbid any person of power to take responsibility for anything nowadays. Mr. Appiah demonstrated that he is in charge and I am 100% behind him. Anyone who saw this man played would NEVER doubt his ...

• OBINNA 11 years ago

Good he took responsibility for this abysmal failure. He would have been found out anyway as the reason the team lost hopelessly

• Ghanavi 11 years ago

Obinna, what happened could happen under any coach. What I admired about Kwesi Appiah is his stand on leadership. He did not allow those Ayew brats to dictate to him how to coach. He stood his grounds and went with the player ...

• AFEVIA 11 years ago

YOU HAVE NO KNOWLEDGE ABOUT WHAT WENT WRONG BETWEEN DEDE AND APPIAH SO STOP CALLING THE AYEWS BRATS. YOU HAVE NO IDEA ABOUT HOW FOOTBALL IS MANAGED.A COACH'S DUTY GOES BEYOND TRAINING AND STANDING ON THE TOUCHLINE DURING MATC ...

• Ghanavi 11 years ago

Afevia,you are right, I was not there. Neither were you, so we can just speculate and having watched Kwesi Appiah lead Kotoko in the 80's and seen him play the game of soccer, I will give him the benefit of doubt before the A ...

• AFEVIA 11 years ago

I ALSO WATCHED KWESI APPIAH IN THE 80'S BUT THE ISSUE HERE IS NOT ABOUT HIM BEING A VERY GOOD FOOTBALLER, IT IS ABOUT COACHING AND MANAGING THE BLACK STAR PLAYERS. I WILL NOT BLAME K. APPIAH FOR GHANA'S FAILURE BUT THE GFA FO ...

• Yakam3 Nana Addo 11 years ago

You are a buffoon. Whose fault do you think it was? You wasted Kwadwo Asamoah at this tournament for what reason? If this is how we are going to experiment with the BS then the FA president himself must go. In the first place ...

• Papa Dey 11 years ago

You have no clue in coaching.Please do us a favor and resign before more embarassment.

• Sports Guru 11 years ago

Blacks will qualify for the world cup and shock the world.No I am not on ganja

• Sports Guru 11 years ago

*stars

• pk 11 years ago

I hate to say that Ghana football has just entered its darkest ages in history. Ghana had a team from "06". Then Ghana won under 20 worldcup. and we blend some of these players and we were all happy in 2010. Are we saying tha ...

• k.adum 11 years ago

Mr Appiah l love you coach but one l disagree with you is to drop no-1 keeper.forget what people say.football is math.no-1 keeper must be in post of international game.ghana should put mony in football to win cup.thanks

• Cornell 11 years ago

We accept your apology but you do realize that this coaching job is over your head, and therefore the right thing to do is to step aside or resign.

• iddris issahaq 11 years ago

Its now u know that every player must justify to get a place in the team ok for now but we ghanaians dont expect to see another black stars team dat will realy on penalties to win matches

• blackchild 11 years ago

stuppit coach

• KANEWU 11 years ago

KWASI APPIAH'S HAIR CUT AND DEMEANOUR CLEARLY MIRRORS HIS BUSHLIKE APPROACH TO COACHING THE TALENTED BUT USELESS NATIONAL SOCCER TEAM.

SELLAS TETTEH IS KNOWN TO HAVE BETTER COACHING AND WINNING RECORDS THAN USELESS KWASI A ...

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

COACH APPIAH WE ARE BEHIND YOU.

SIMPLY< LEARN FROM THE EXAMPLE OF GERMANY. THEY ARE NUMBER TWO ON FIFA'S LIST OF BEST FOOTBALL NATIONS IN THE WORLD.

THEY HAVE ALSO THE BEST TRAINERS,DESPITE THAT, THEY ALSO FAILED TO WIN ...

• Nyame Ekuma 11 years ago

Advice for u. Ghana's natural left back is David Addy and Kisi Boateng. Drop Paintsil and featur Daniel Opare and Harrison Afful.

Vorsah has a hidden injury. Derek shd be attacking and not defending. Play Essien in midfiel ...

LEFT BACKS ARE DAVID ADDY AND NANA ASARE. KISSI BOATENG NEEDS MORE EXPERIENCE. RIGHT BACKS ARE AFFUL, OPARE N INKOOM. PAINSTIL IS DONE WITH GBSTARS. GO N SIN NO MORE... 4/5: JONATHAN MENSAH, AWAL, VORSAH, BOYE. 6: ESSIEN, ANN ...

• prince 11 years ago

useless talk.period

• Also 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah is the best coach ghana has ever had. So Ghanaians pls give him a second chance

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Look here mr. tokyo joe man Kwasi Appiah, you are not qualified for the job go.

• Hard one 11 years ago

This coach needs to be sacked period.

• Alvo 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah is de best coach ghana has ever had.so pls stop insulting him

• OBINNA 11 years ago

If you take responsibility for our failure, then please resign. You should not stay on. Ghana can do better than that.

• Mohammed Ibrahim 11 years ago

Coach Kwasi Appiah must sort out the defence and the midfield of the team.The defence is conceding stupid goals,and the defenders are making a lot of mistake at the Back.
    The defence did not learned their lesson in the first ...

• omanbeye 11 years ago

Pls, the only honourable thing for you to do is to resign, simple!! We don't wonna hear any more stuff from you period.

• Awuradebasa 11 years ago

shame on you.
    Didn't you say you went to try your selections???
    Kwasi Appiah was the only coach who went to try his squad in South Africa and did not expect to win the CUP.

• Alibaba 11 years ago

Pls resign and lets find the right one. It is not about learning on the job. We still a Ghanaian Coach but simply not Appiah. Is better to loose job Ghana as a whole gain than maintaining it and giving us bad results.You've a ...

• JOHNSAM 11 years ago

I CAN'T KNOW THE GFA IS KEEPING THIS MAN FOR.HE CAN'T DO ANYTHING BETTER.PLEASE LET HIM GO PERIOD

• ab 11 years ago

Well done! Ghanaians should be proud of you. You just need to learn from your mistakes. May God lead and guide. Wish you the best.

• Alibaba 11 years ago

A lot as been said about GFA but I thought it might not be true. Its quite clear now indeed that GFA is not performing and trying cover their ass by keeping the coach. The Government needs to find away to step in. We can use ...

• GC/USA 11 years ago

THIS GUY IS A FOOL. HE TALKED AS IF BEFORE HE TOOK OVER THE BS THE TEAM NEEDED TO BE REFORMED. INSTEAD OF BUILDING ON THE GAINS, HE DESTROYED THE TEAM WITH THE INTENTION OF FORMING A TRIBAL TEAM TO BE CALLED APPIAH STARS.

• Adams 11 years ago

GFA should suck him or else ghana will not qualify for world cup2014.

• Father Ghana 11 years ago

Why, somebody think sey the black stars be dema property or something!!!!, heh kwasi Appiah, or whatever your name is, Wa bon papa!!! infact you're the most juvenile and lakadisical of all so called toddler coaches..
    see his ...

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Go now Kwasi Appiah!!

With your admission of failure, you have confirmed what we have said all along, that you are no good as a coach.

Bugger off, and let a coach who will lead us to the World Cup take over.

• Fanboy 11 years ago

Nonsense talk.....Resign

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

DO we EXPECT such justifications from our politicians ?? Hell,NO and why not ???We ALL EXPECTED the Blackstars to win the CUP.WHY DON'T WE EXPECT the SAME STANDARD from our politicians to DELIVER WATER, constant Electricity,G ...

• Joe 11 years ago

You don;t know nothing, and you have learned othing and will learn nothing. You are dumb dumb dumb and until you go Ghana will not et anywhere.

I hope all the good players boycott the Black Stars.

I will not watch a Bla ...

• Walaa 11 years ago

You should also be ashamed not only responsible for the loss......

• Tell Them 11 years ago

Good Talk Coach.Some Ghanians are very wicked cos they talk harshly and unreasonably just because they always want what they think to be taken as the best. but meanwhile all these ideas are baseless. Wicked Men!!!! Coach we a ...

• crazy krodhi 11 years ago

u are responsible for the teams failure so u are stepping down as national coach .Thanks for disgracing local coaches.loooosa

• ENIMM-BOASIE 11 years ago

YOUR PLAYERS WERE RELATIVELY SHORT, TINY AND GROSSLY WEAK. THE STRIKERS NEVER SHOT MORE THAN 7 GOOD TRYS AT THE POST THROUGHOUT THE TOURNEY.....YOU CAN REWATCH THE MATCHES.INACCURATE PASSES AND PLAYERS UNNECESSARILY HANGING O ...

• oboynascodwe 11 years ago

Coach if u ever want to win anything, get rid of the joker and useless dancer asamoah gyan and get young talented and more hungry strikers.

• abu 11 years ago

come on coach u sucks

• ******** 11 years ago

Make no mistake, Dede Ayew is the best player in Ghana today. There is nobody in Ghana who did not feel the absence of Dede in the team. I am all for Kwesi discipling the lad but that should never have been droping him entire ...

• JIMY SOMER 11 years ago

With this performance we can even qualify for the nation cup in 2 years

• mikijagger 11 years ago

i remember before senegal 92 Shamo Quayei and Joe Debrah were then leading platers in Ghana but because they were too small Bukaz dropped them and went for the Aemah senegal Tony Baffoe Sarfo Gyamfie Opeele stanley Ali Abrahi ...

• maxwell asante 11 years ago

Akwasi your only errors can be summed up in 3 fold.

1) Neglecting Quality: e.g gyan of yesterday is not gyan of today. he does not deservr a callup as long as he in the gulf leagues.

2) Not being a Manager: A coach is a ...

• Paa Nkwefie 11 years ago

I believe Dede Ayew is a playmaker,we saw his performance in the world cup in South Africa.Our national team should be built around him.He can create and score at the same time. It's unfortune when our guys couldn't score goa ...

• baba anago 11 years ago

hoooooooo wahawa man danbanzaaaah stuppit man modafucker learn from who waawa.

• Ansoro 11 years ago

Akwasi Appiah is a very good for ghana.

• Kosorkobo 11 years ago

He is lying. He must have sold the remaining matches. Fire him.

• AWUDU 11 years ago

Don't bring short players like the Nana Addo-type. You know what happens; they always disappoint. Bring macho players like Mahama and Kuffuor! They win! Eg. Burkina, Nigeria, Cape Verde, etc.

• MILLICENT 11 years ago

GHANA WE NEED TO LREAN MORE EVERYDAY SOMEBODY IS RESPONSIDLE WHY IS TOO MUCH.

• Nash 11 years ago

The thing is simple Appiah faild in an Exammination and should be demoted to Div.3 football.Asmoah came up short and some good onces were left out.Aba hm

• KWAME MICHAEL 11 years ago

i am of the view that old players that is those who played during 2010 should be considered.

• BAPIKADSO 11 years ago

GFA, bola

• Amoako Atta 11 years ago

We are then finish to distruction. Kwesi Appiah still in the helm of affairs then lets forget about any future tournaments.The worst coach ghana has employed.

• TONY 11 years ago

When again? Sould it be another 30yrs after Kwesi Appiah is out, gone? We have a problem .

• Sir Kofi Mumui 11 years ago

SO QUIT!!!

• kk sp belgium 11 years ago

better say ooh GOD 4GIVE ME 2SAY AM SORRY BUT NOT UR FAULT ? NA TAKY

• kk sp belgium 11 years ago

ONCE AGAIN BECAREFUL