You are here: HomeNews2013 02 15Article 265067

Pope showed courage in choosing to resign - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (108)

• The Critical Mind 11 years ago

Mahama, you could have advised Atta Mills to do the same thing to save Ghanaians the current agonies. He chose to stay on for his selfish interest and died like a fool on the job. Instead of deceiving the followers, the Pope ...

• MAHAMA 11 years ago

Mahama should shut up. What is he saying? That Mills should have resigned and didn't and that is why he was killed? This idiotic President should deal with the 80 million gold scandal and stay away from Catholic issues.

• Be Bold 11 years ago

Hope you show courage and resign too when the SC axe falls on you.

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

"“If that is granted, then it means Ghana will have a presence in the Vatican at a diplomatic level and I’m sure that will be a vehicle for bringing Ghana and the Catholic Church even closer,”"Mahama

Ghanaians are fu ...

• KABOKABO 11 years ago

Now JJ is justified. If Mills had resigned like how Pope has done he might have saved his life.

• ZAMIA N22 LONDON 11 years ago

WHAT IS YOUR BEEF MATE?

• TerriblY Spe cifiC Dog Breed 11 years ago

Mallam Mahama should resign before Supreme Court does to spare Ghana civil war period. If the Pope can resign so should you.

• Greedy Bastards. 11 years ago

NDC polygamist in chief Mahama hopefully has found his strenght in the Papal Resignation. He should vacate the Presidency before SC kicks him out. Mahama has no more children than the Pope; do the right thing.

• SHALOM 11 years ago

This is a clear testimony of Mahama's resovle to save Ghana if there is the need to step aside from the SC's ruling in future.

• NANA 11 years ago

MAHAMA PLEASE HAVE THE COURAGE LIKE THE POPE AND STEP DOWN, YOU KNOW YOU DIDN'T WIN SO WHY FORCE IT. GHANAIANS ARE NOT HAPPY CAN'T YOU SEE! WE ARE NOT HAPPY! MAY THE GOOD GOD LORD TRANSFER THE SAME COURAGE HE GAVE THE POPE TO ...

• Shuaib Nouh 11 years ago

I think Mahama had indicated and said recently that he would abide by any Supreme Court ruling. Mentioning this in relation to the Pop's resignation is another testimoney that he would resign if the court ruling said he shou ...

• kubolo 11 years ago

As for me I lik to say opinios that Mahama hav to shot up an do beter tings for ghana poorer peopleses. he hav coming prasident but all he do is taker talker nonsinse becose he not no Popes at all. Mahama hav to no that he ha ...

• ASIEDU NKETIA 11 years ago

How come you mahani to talk about the Popes resignation.ou evil president. next time never comment when the holy ones talk. you devilpresident.

• NANA 11 years ago

There's no need to wait for supreme court, he know he stole the election,he should have the courage to say I'm sorry

THERE IS NO NEED TO WAIT FOR SUPREME COURT, HE KNOW HE STOLE THE ELECTION, ALMO ...

• SOMUJI 11 years ago

NPP IN YOUR DREAMS

• Hon FOREIGN MP 11 years ago

IF MAHAMA HAVE EARS, LET HIM LISTEN TO WHAT THE MASSES ARE SAYING ABOUT HIS RESIGNATION.JUST ADMITTED HIS READINESS TO GIVE-IN BEFORE OSAGYEFO OKYEHENE,JUST SEEN POPE's ACTION AS COURAGEOUS,WHAT NEXT?? IS YOUR TURN MR YOUNG G ...

• JATO 11 years ago

This has confirmed Kofi Adams fear,Why the NDC begged to joined Nana & Co vrs Prez.John Mahama,E.C. Case at S.C.Inorder to force Prez.Mahama to stay on as president by all means and force.Ghana is setting on time bomb.

• Yaa Rose 11 years ago

JDM, the Pope has done the unthinkable. He could have stayed on and die as Pope but he chose to do what your Mills couldn't do even when the writings were clearly on the wall. Soon it will be your turn to make a similar call. ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

HAHAHAHAHA, I DONT THINK SO SINCE YOU DID EVERYTHING BEYOND REASON TO RIGG THIS ELECTIONS!!.. EVEN ASIEDU NKETIA AND OFOSU KWAKYE YOUR ADVISERS WILL NOT ALLOWED IT

• ILLEGAL TAXI 11 years ago

MOND AND CLAUZIA OR MAD COW DESEASE.

• Kojo S 11 years ago

Is Vatican the U.N ? Can you stand before the holy spirit? the Angels ? then a permanebt seat in vatican? Mahama could not even declare his stand on Homosexuality, you want a seat where God operates? You funny.

• KOFI NUA 11 years ago

FINALLY, WE HAVE A LEADER WHO SPEAKS AND THINKS AND LOOKS LIKE A LEADER.

• Anonymous Coward 11 years ago

Apuuu. A so-called leader who told Ghanaians during the just ended december elections that they should go and votes in their numbers in order to avoid fools ruling us. Fucking dickhead womaniser.

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

Mills was a GROWN-UP and should have been in the position to JUDGE HIS BODY APART from what his physicians told him!
    IF he chose NOT to resign,WHY blame SOMEBODY ELSE ??? Stupid talk!

• KPENYIGBA KWESI 11 years ago

Although there are Learned and Highly Intelligent African Cardinals The Roman Catholic Church can never elect an African Papa. President Senghor(Senegal) once said that.. Il faut senegalise ce qui est Senegalisable.Roman Cath ...

• MANTSE 11 years ago

Mr. President, please let's remain focused on issues that will make or break us.

I am sorry to say this, but there are many disgruntled elements of our society out there looking for any opportunity to disrespect you. This ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 11 years ago

Don't you have more than you can handle? Look at the quality and quantity of your ministers. WASTE OF LIMITED RESOURCES and a sign of INCOMPETENCE!

• bex 11 years ago

Address power shortages in your country.

Small business people are suffering. When the powers are cut, they lose in so many ways. Nobody patronizes them yet they have employees to pay and uncouth and unscrupulous landlords ...

• MR. FIGURE-OUT 11 years ago

Woyome is almost off the hook. What is Mahama saying about the lackadaisical attitude of the AG's department to prosecute Woyome whom the Republic of Ghana has his criminal arse in court for defrauding the tax payer? Why did ...

• bex 11 years ago

Thanks, he has so much to do yet he is poking his wide nose into something that should be less of his worry. Unless he is trying to tell us in a few words that Mills should have had courage and resigned as the Pope did. He is ...

• Terribly SpeCific 11 years ago

This is an unnecessary contribution,Mahama shd focus on his tattered economy OR he could advise himself as well to stepdown in honesty having rigged the election in his favour.

• dan acids 11 years ago

yes,lack of courage killed mills.
    i can give a lot of examples, mills was not courageous to investigate the bribery that took place in competition between ludwig and ras mubarack

• Kojo S 11 years ago

Is Vatican the U.N ? Can you stand before the holy spirit? the Angels ? then a permanebt seat in vatican? Mahama could not even declare his stand on Homosexuality, you want a seat where God operates? You funny. The Pope was u ...

• SOMUJI 11 years ago

GHANIANS GROW UP AND LEARN HOW TO TALK

• AGYA KO 11 years ago

NOW THAT THE TRUTH IS COMING OUT MAHAMA MUST SHOW ENOUGH COURAGE AND BRAVELY BY CHOOSING TO RESIGN.

• DYB 11 years ago

If he resigns how can he manage his many concubines and illegitimate children? Even Mills with only one child, one wife and 5 dogs was refusing to resign, why would the clever Atopahene resign? Unless Owusu Bempah curse takes ...

• MR OBJECTIVE 11 years ago

JOHN mahama,IS STILL THE 2nd HUSBAND OF andrews solomon;the johns favourite.'Sugar-mamies' care for thier lovers and Prez JOHN mahama IS LUCKY TO GET the international gay;ANDREWS SOLOMON,AS THE WIFE.

• ??? 11 years ago

Mills wanted the state to bear the cost of his ailment so he contested the election and as foolish as many Ghanaians are, voted for him. Even at the point of death, he was jogging to deceive NDC fool soldiers. But God being t ...

• maxwell 11 years ago

yes, he did. Look who is talking...hypocrite John Mahama. He clandestinely encouraged, deceived and pushed Atta Mills to his death. Does John Mahama know what is a show of courage.Now there is rumor which alleged that John M ...

• wise 11 years ago

This is not a couragious act Mr.President. You getting all wrong a man of God is not supppose to step down no matter what it is God is with him if he does step down it means he is afread of something different not his health ...

• cha 11 years ago

After the supreme court exposes the stealing i hope mahama will also have the courage to resign

• 'LE WOTE' 11 years ago

The smoking gun have been found but he is waiting for the SC to find the hiden bullet in the body to match the forensics.

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

NONSENSE! THE POPE IS SAID TO BE THE REPRESENTATIVE OF CHRIST ON EARTH. HOW CAN THE MAN WHO REFUSES TO BE GOD'S SOLE AGENT BE DEEMED COURAGEOUS.

• BLOOD OF JESUS 11 years ago

THERE IS NO LOGIC IN WHAT YOU SAID. THE POPES DON'T LIVE FOR EVER. ST. PETER, THE FIRST POPE DIED. SOME POPES RESIGNED. FOR THE LAST 600 OR SO YEARS, THIS IS THE FIRST TIME A POPE HAS RESIGNED. THIS SHOWS THAT A POPE CAN RE ...

• anas 11 years ago

All leaders shd imitate him

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 11 years ago

Soon and very soon it's will be about your turn, will you have same courage when the Supreme Court decides in favour of the people and country?

• sikdo 11 years ago

oh ghana

• sikdo 11 years ago

oh yes

• DAN 11 years ago

Who does Mahama think he is fooling? Sincerely his utterance these days especially after Mills' death are exposing him as a TRAITOR

• Ghanaba1 11 years ago

Now that you have been declared a criminal,thief,burglar,corrupt and murder of pregnant women of our dear nation, Prepare to resign before you are arrested sooner or later.NDC members has kept mute about your evil deeds but i ...

• RAWMEAT 11 years ago

AN IDIOT WHO STOLE VOTES TO BECOME PRESIDENT, DO THE WHOLE WORLD THE SAME FAVOUR AND FUCKING QUIT THE SEAT THAT IS NOT YOURS.

• OSEI WIAFE 11 years ago

SO DO YOU THINK PREZ HAVE RESIGNED ON HEALTH REASONS. y'ALL MADE HIM DANCE ON THE TARMAC TO FOOL US THAT HE WAS HEALTHY WHY THE MAN SERIOUSLY DYING SLOWLY.

• JOE 11 years ago

WHEN AN ARTICLE IS PUBLISHED, THESE NPP MEN ARE THE FIRST TO COMMENT WITH FOUL STATEMENTS. THE SAME WAY THEY RUSH WITH THEIR ELECTION RESULTS AND WHEN THOSE OF NDC COMES IN THEY FIND OUT THAT THEY HAVE MADE FOOLS OF THEMSELVE ...

• NDC LOOTING SQUADRON 11 years ago

AFER TODAYS NAMING CEREMONY, JOE IS YOUR NEW NAME ?
    NPP COMING OUT WITH THE ELECTION RESULTS WAS SO DISRESPECTFUL THAT EC DECIDED TO DECLARE MAHAMA INSTEAD.
    JOHN AFARI WOULD HAVE MAINTAINED THEIR RESPECT AND DIGNITY HAVE TH ...

• macho 11 years ago

the most ILLITERATES and VIOLENCE party in West Africa. NPP. Disgrace people.

• DYB 11 years ago

It's only NDC fool soldiers like yourself who are illiterates. Why would you fools believe a letter authored by a dead man in hell? Clearly the NDC targets illiterates and shallow minds like you. Aboa.

• Ishmael usa 11 years ago

Shot up.17 women man#s children.

• Ghana 11 years ago

You wrote two sentences and made three grammatical errors and you dumb illiterate is calling people who can teach you English illiterates.

1. the most illiterates

2.VIOLENCE party

3.Disgrace people

All the above a ...

• Dr Ayitey 11 years ago

98% of those NDC Macho fools are illiterates. Why? Even Mahama also reason like one.

• Mahama-Gbagbo 11 years ago

Go back to JSS to polish your English. Otherwise shut your stinking mouth.

• Papa 2 11 years ago

Mahama should show courage and resign after stealing votes

• nanatom 11 years ago

Mr. President, please do not sell our dear country to demons. What do we need from Vatican? Are you a Christian, Mr. president? If the answer is yes, do you consider the roman people and vatican as people following the Jesus ...

• BLOOD OF JESUS 11 years ago

THE VTICAN IS A STATE. IT HAS A SEAT AT THE UNITED NATIONS. THE VATICAN IS VERY INFLUENTIAL IN WORLD AFFAIRS. IT IS UNFORTUNATE THAT YOU DON'T SEE CATHOLICS AS FOLLOWERS OF JESUS CHRIST. CATHOLICS ARE FOLLOWERS OF JESUS. THE ...

• FRED 11 years ago

JM and his ndc mafias shd also resign to show the world them believe in rule of law. Our votes were stolen and we need a prez by the ple not by stolen verdict. Nana Addo is coming

Shutup17 women man#s of children.

Get ready to exit.thief affiafitor

• tijani 11 years ago

thank you gay master, but sorry the pope is not part of us, look for brother Dunkan Williams, and,,,,,,,,,,

• Yaw Owusu 11 years ago

Why is that people in authority in Africa open their mouth wide to speak rubbish or trash.
    Was President John Dramani Mahama not there when Mills was dying slowly to to advice him to step aside because anybody who knew Mills ...

• jyga 11 years ago

The late Mills and family, you see now. JHM wanted Mills to resign so he (JHM) takes over. Mills did not have the courage to do so.... the end results? JHM is the Prez today, and Mills is no more... whether by fair or foul me ...

• Tibaa 11 years ago

I hope President Mahama will keep quiet on Papal Politics in order not to show some signs of partisanship on the plausible choice of a Ghanaian for the vacant position. Why is all of a sudden the President has injected the wo ...

• The true observer 11 years ago

WHAT HAS IT GOT TO DO WITH A THIEF. THINK ABOUT YOUR FATE IN THE SUPREME COURT.

• Nana Osei, Istanbul - Turkey 11 years ago

His decision to step down is what I call "Common Sense"...

• JJ Rawlings 11 years ago

I rawlings is even more sensible than him. Foolish mahama

• Say the TRUTH 11 years ago

Hhahahahahhahaha - This is a DIRECT AFRONT TO YOUR PREDICESSOR - LATE PRESIDENT MILLS FOR NOT HAVING THE COURAGE AND BEING SELFISH WHEN HIS HEALTH EAS BAD AND YET DECIDED TO STAY AS PRESIDENT!!!!!

JJ IS NOW EXONERATED!!!!! ...

• MAHAMA MORE CORRUPT NOW 11 years ago

MAHAMA IS SICK,DOOM,THEN WHY DID YOU KILLED MILLS,GOD HATE WHAT MAHAMA IS DOING,SO GHANA GOD WILL VISI U SOON,SHAME ON U WOMANOZER THIEVES CORRUPTS MAHAMUUUUUUUUU

• AyiOgladzo 11 years ago

The POPE resigns SO WHAT? We need water to drink, Food to eat, Jobs for the Youth ETC and you want to spend your time discussing the POPE's resignation? Mr President, check your priorities again. Arm robbers, illegal gold min ...

• ATOPAHENE MUMUNI 11 years ago

SHAMELESS MAHAMA THIEVES,THIEVES,CORRUPTS,OWENII,KWASIA LIKE MAHAMA

• YUPYUP 11 years ago

this is what atta mills AG's hv done but his greed n corruption didn't allow him.

• Noah-madagascar 11 years ago

Do the same thing to resign of your stolen verdict

• jb 11 years ago

its a mark of a leader

• malaam Salifu 11 years ago

Pope showed courage can you please show something. Corruption in your party and be FORWARD THINKING. PLEASE BE A MAN

• Analyst 11 years ago

There is wisdom in both choosing to resign and choosing not to resign. What makes them wise decisions is that, the personality involved looks into himself honestly and is convinced that he should resign then it is a wise deci ...

• 7B 11 years ago

soon u too will follow, yours will not be resignation, but orderly way will push u to the wall...

• MIKE GIZO 11 years ago

MAHAMA IS A THIEF N A LIAR. HE OUGHT TO HAVE RESIGNED LONG TIME FOLLOWING THE DANGER THAT IS AHEAD OF HIM

NDC PARTY IS FULL OF STOOGES, IGNORAMUS AND PROPAGANDISTS

• chief 11 years ago

no afric apriest or leader in priviledge position can ever resign ..
    unless voted, killed, overthrown or natural causes lead to their eventual ddemise..mills for example ..sick man working hard

MAHAMA OF GHANA WILL SET THE PACE OF RESIGNING FOR OTHER AFRICAN LEADERS TO FOLLOW. WICKED SO-CALLED LEADER WITHOUT VISION.A LEADER WITH BLOCKED EARS AND UNCONCERN ATTITUDE TO HUMAN EXISTENCE.A LEADER WHO CANNOT PERFORM AND D ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

This is what the Late President Mills should have done. But he was goaded on by people he thought liked him. That led to his early demise. Maybe, he needed to have lived a bit longer to learn from the Pope.

• BLANKET 11 years ago

YOOOOO AYIKOO TO EVERY ONE OVER HERE WHO COMMENTED BASE ON HIS KNOWLEDGE AND PERSPECTIVES SHOWING CONCERN TO THE DEVELOPMENT OF THIS GRATE NATION WHAT I WILL SAY IS THAT REMEMBER THAT U GUYS ALSO HAVE RESPONSIBILITIES TO DO ...

• WOOLLEN 11 years ago

WELL, VERY SUPRISING YOU ARE NOT COMBATANT ANYMORE.
    IF A MAN CAN CHANGE TO BE SOMBER ALL OF A SUDDEN, THEN I WON'T BE SUPRISE IF MAHAMA DECIDES NOT TO BE PRESIDENT ANY MORE

• blueprint 11 years ago

He is no idiot. Your likes exist and he won't wait to be poisoned like u did to atta mills

• Akosua Nameye 11 years ago

You this talkertive!

• dr Aggrey 11 years ago

africans must not allow cathölic mission
    to decieve them again by stealing our land,child abus,homosexuality etc!

• oyiwa 11 years ago

Mills didn't

• Dr Aggrey 11 years ago

when shall we realise the woes of catholic in our comunity?They only divide africans with their mentality!

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

WHO told you the Pope is Holy ??

• Kofi 11 years ago

Ezekiel, His Holiness is the title given to leaders of major religions. It does not mean they are holy. In our culture, we give titles like Otumfuor, Daasebre, Barima, etc. to our traditional leaders. In our courts, we have s ...

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

Everyone is praising the Pope for his wise decision. Can John Mahama do same when asked to do so? There's now a serious election fraud case being discussed at the Supreme Court; no-body knows what the outcome will be.

The ...

• abraham 11 years ago

look at this useless pepeni northner also become a president hahaha ghana is a lost nation

• KRETZ - D 11 years ago

It's not about courage, it's about doing the right thing. I know you Mahama would not have done what the Pope did, you would do exactly what your late boss (Atta Mills) did, die on the throne. That's the difference between bl ...

• The same 11 years ago

Mahama should resign for who?

• Akyemaa. 11 years ago

LIFE MORE RECIOUS THAN GOLD AND SILVER. NDC WERE SMART IN THINKNG?

• Emma 11 years ago

Is that why Mahama printed his campaign T-shirt for 2012 in 2009 and when questioned indicated that he thought Mills wouldn't want to stand in 2012? Mahama can only be a president in Ghana- cheap, classless, shallow imitation ...

• Mathew, Baltimore, US 11 years ago

npp lost elections because of their arrogance and lies. Lies is a way of life within the npp. They think every Ghanaian is a fool.Unless you belong to this npp party, it is their belief that you are a 'dumb' and 'nut'.

Not ...

• npp_419$ 11 years ago

nana julor addo chose supreme court as his refuge to become president by 'hook or crook'. He will never be president.

• Mensah 11 years ago

Now look at what Ghana is facing. Corruption on top of corruption coming from those who do not know how to lead a country nor help the president do lead.

• BRO DAN -TRC 11 years ago

NOBLE PEOPLE OF AFRICA, BLESSED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, ONE OF THE CANCER TEARING DOWN OUR DEAR WORLD, IS POWER DRUKENESS. HOWEVER, SCRIPTURE MAKES IT CLEAR THAT IT IS GOD WHO ESTABLISHES K ...

ITS YOUR TURN NOW.GHANAIANS ARE NOT GOING TO RECEIVE YOUR RESIGNATION WITH ANY SHOCK FOR, WE ARE FED UP WITH YOU.WE EXPECT THIS TO HAPPEN,ACT NOW AND BE FREE."IT BETTER TO DIE A HERO THAN TO LIVE AS A COWARD"

• wise 11 years ago

This is not a couragious act Mr. President you got it all wrong this time, the pope should know better than to resign. If he believes in God why did he step down, I wish I could show you how the soul his weeping for him knowi ...