You are here: HomeNews2013 02 14Article 264992

Ghana ranked second-best in Africa

Read Comments Comments (90)

• 21 guns 11 years ago

I still dont understand why we have great players but we ignored them for little in experience players.

Akwasi appiah if you take sentiments and hate to black stars Ghana will be disgraced always the time ,we need speedly ...

• WISE-TALK, UK 11 years ago

this animals that call them selfs ghanians are liers,mali and bf are,ghana rated 000000000000.

• 21 guns 11 years ago

If Ghana play poorly in every tournament Nigeria can never rank higher than Ghana

• Lovely 11 years ago

You're an immature retard, a pathetic excuse for a human being. Please ignore his comment, it gives him pleasure when you respond to his childish posts.

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

NIGERIA TO WIN AFCON CUP SEVEN TIMES!!!

Nigeria will keep the AFCON Cup for a very very long time before Ghana ever think of smelling it. With or without your 'juju' we shall keep the CUP, in the name of Jesus. Jesus Chr ...

• DR KING 11 years ago

THE TIME HAS COME FOR GHANA TO RISE UP TO THE TASK OF WINNING AFRICA AND WORLD CUP.

Football has gone home to where it belongs.....Nigeria. Super Eagles are Africa champions, and very soon will becomes World champions, no shaking.

• BALL ROLLING 11 years ago

KEEP BRAGGING, WE WILL KICK YOUR DIRTY ASSES AGAIN. YOU CAN NOT MATCH GHANA WHEN IT COMES TO FOOTBALL. YOU WERE JUST FORTUNATE TO HAVE SUCCEEDED IN BRIBING BURKINA TO FIGHT US. YOU HAVE USED YOUR 419 TO FOOL THE POOR BURKINA ...

• Champ, Denver, USA 11 years ago

You dodged Ghana to take the cup. You would have been put out at Quarters. Now you have to wait 50 years for your juju to work again. Poor Nigeria!! Heheheehe

• kole colins 11 years ago

why not leave nigeria out of this and fix your supposed youthful but aged young team. you said lucky eagles why couldnt your shineless stars beat mali. you won cape verde by luck, robbed mali in group stage and threw away a t ...

• Kone 11 years ago

Some people have a reason to justify failures. For you Ghanaians it is to abuse. You listen to our music, our banks and telecomm companies provide you with employments. I have never seen a successful privately owned Company t ...

• NAIJA BOY 11 years ago

Hey Kone, we dont want these bastards gaynians to wake up cos that same ignorance will be their killer, AMEN.

• buyaa 11 years ago

We don't care what you think bout us coz ur not important.You should come and get your mothers and sisters who are doing ashawo in Ghana cozwe dont want em

• fucknaija 11 years ago

see the nigerian fools. u re talking of banks. the banks striving to do business here is just a sign that we ghanaians re honest and not criminals like u people. all of u talking here would wish u had a ghanaian citizenship. ...

• Nana Akwasi Agyeman-Prempeh 11 years ago

Naija boy ,or whatever,not known you are a learner,coward and a gay yourself,who can't even come out with your real identity. You are not worth argueing with......

• @kone 11 years ago

Before u opened up your 419 banks and all..there was Ghana..and when it collapse, there will still be Ghana. Kone, i admit we didnt do well in afcon 13, and im mad fifa has ranked us this high..Please cut the insults..Dont u ...

• one man soldier 11 years ago

@ Kone, Good Talk, Ghanaians are Lazy bunch of fools that depend on their govt to provide for them. They cannot even boast of top 20 richest Person in Africa not to talk of establishing a coy in another country. Nigeria is th ...

• fucknaija 11 years ago

ah ah ah ah nigeria will always be nigeria a country of fools. u re talking of 20 richest people in africa when in ur country u cant even bost of a place where electricity can be there for more than 8 hrs uninterrupted. its ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 11 years ago

You dont have a clue of what you are blabbing about, did we put a gun to the heads of your telecom and banks to come and open up branches in Ghana? Hell no, they came because they have realized that we are smarter than your s ...

• wizzy 11 years ago

Ghana are well known as 419 also, not only nigeria, google it, where u see nigeria 419 is where u see Ghana, they claim they are not. Pot calling Kettle black, Yeye ghanians

• Abeiku - London 11 years ago

No worries mate .... only animals have strong BO that is Body Odour .... animals don't use body spray nor deodarant ... who r d ANIMALS then Mr. 9JA ... BEFORE U RESPOND TO THIS SMELL YOUR ARMPIT AND YOUR CLOTHES OK ? Fucking ...

• Segun 11 years ago

@ abeiku. I guess the 'smell' you were reffereing to is the one that comes out of the public toilets you clean at Dalston and essex. Foolish toilet cleaner. If your country was so good, why would you run to London to clean to ...

• Busumbru 11 years ago

Your Igbo women are prostituting all over China. They are mainly from Kwara.Imo and Enugu states. Hundreds of the were arrested and deported two months ago. About 40 of them have just been arrested for living in China ilegal ...

Look at these stupid, nincompoop, demented, moronic, and arrogant Ghanaians, who can't even afford to fly their soccer fans home calling Nigeria names. What a shame!
    They are occupied with what they do best, i.e. 'bribing s ...

• BALL ROLLING 11 years ago

CURB YOUR BOKA HARAM AND PROSTITUTES FIRST BEFORE TRYING TO COMPARE YOUR STINKY BODY TO GHANAIANS. DO LET YOUR 419 CUP WINNING BE FOOLING YOU. EVEN YOUR COACH KNOWS YOU BRIBEB BURKINA THAT IS WHY HE WANT TO RESIGN.YOUR PLAYER ...

• pompido, texas 11 years ago

look at who is talking about achievement and jealousy.anything nigerians dream of achieving ghana had already gotten it.we even helped u to get independence because u were too dumb to face the british.read your history.even c ...

• fucknaija 11 years ago

u see how foolish NEMESIS u re. using those words doesn't prove that u re educated. what re u doing in ghana? A fool like u talking about "all die be die". how many times have ghana been on strike like nigeria cos of politica ...

• Busumbru 11 years ago

In this civilised world Nigerians don't know the meaning of Polio vacination

• pompido, texas 11 years ago

motherfucker nigerian,throwing bombs in churches and public places.the americans value their dogs more than nigerians b'cos dogs don't throw bombs.useless and valueless animals.cover your face in shame you son of a bitch.u d ...

• @wise talk 11 years ago

Go and learn how to spell liar, and come again lol..kwasia

• Before & After 11 years ago

Invest in education and healthcare. Your citizens are living in sick conditions and you're busily investing in sports. An educated and healthy society does better. I want to see Ghana being named as one of the best in science ...

• sbrooks 11 years ago

amen somebody finally tells the truth/

• mike 11 years ago

useless.

• one man soldier 11 years ago

I don't believe in rankings.

• Kone 11 years ago

This is not correct; Ghana pas number 2.

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

Just that it wouldn't include our poor performance at the nations cup. If you want to see the effect of that wait till the march rankings rear it's ugly head.

• Mr.N 11 years ago

OK so you have final admitted that we had a poor performance at the nations cup. Now the question to you is why do you want to keep the technical team? At least you are a man you have gone hiding like the Governor KojoLee.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

GBTAR IS A TRUMU TEAM. FULL OF IMPOTENT, GAY PLAYERS...

• SAM 11 years ago

SUPER EAGLES need to play the BLACK STARS in an international friendly match to settle the scores once and for all.Ghana narrowly escaped the SUPER EAGLES in this last edition of AFCON which could have been a sweet revenge fo ...

• kcdnaija 11 years ago

ghana shld take d rank nd let me take d trophy

• jb 11 years ago

why were BS given $50,000 each? BS finish third..ghana has lower net worth than nigeria

• I love Nigeria 11 years ago

It seem u don't know what they are doing, federal government give then 10 million asside all the match bonuses,dangote give them $1m, mike Adenuga gave them $500000, jim ovia gave them $500000, folurunsho gave then $500000,Ni ...

• jb 11 years ago

nigerians feel inferior to ghana that is why they are always on ghanaweb to be educated

U are too primitive, so you hand drop when i analyze it for u. u are trying to divert it to u, i would rather go and feed my dog than to keep argue with u. just stop being primitive cos Nigeria is never a country Ghana compar ...

• ° ° ° O-G-I-D-I-G-I-D-I ° ° ° nyamaaa 11 years ago

man why insult the man? naija won fair and square so we have to accept and move on, come on its just sports

its good for the naija players, every country gves what it can give. its not about how much but about how. thumbs up for naija, ghana should learn from them!

• Ern 11 years ago

Well, I guess you could argue it either way. You may say Cote d'ivoire are better than us, but we usually outperform them at tournaments. Take the 2010 world cup for example where Ghana was the only African nation to qualify ...

• THE TRUTH 11 years ago

BRING BACK ON BOARD ALL THOSE GOOD PLAYERS THAT IS WHY WE HAVE THE FA WHAT GOOD IT IS FOR US WHEN THEY CANT TALK THESE PLAYERS BACK TO THE TEAM ESSIEN,KEVIN,ABEDI JORDAN MUNTARI, MENSAH,NO MATTER WHAT THEY ARE OUR NUCLES AND ...

• tinkalo 11 years ago

The FIFA/Akpeteshi ranking will take Ghana to Number One in the world I swear. Bravo to the Stars!

• Abbey 11 years ago

This is one of the reason why we were overrated at the AFCON and we dearly pay for it.FIFA ranking don't win trophy.Nigeria is the best in Africa ,followed by Bukinafaso and Mali.every other raking is bogus.

• Maco 11 years ago

Go suck some good old breast before you come back here to talk trash

• Hamidu 11 years ago

Nigerian are canibals that enough tell u how stupid u guys are. Stupid talk ajengule just google nigerian arrested and see for your self.

• Amankwa 11 years ago

Yes, I think Black Stars should be forgiven. Just because we didn't win the Africa Cup is not the end of it all. If the Coach was that bad then look at his winning percentage since he took over our team. How many games have w ...

• Nigerian 11 years ago

Let Fifa and BS continue to do the ranking and even give the Blackstars number one in Africa. We Nigerians want our Team to win trophies, unlike the Black stars that have not won anything in the last 32 years.

• Appletus 11 years ago

What is all this about. It kills initiatives. We could not win the cup and all of a sudden we are second best in Africa?

• Don 11 years ago

I agree with you. How can a country that did not win and practically crawled on the belly to the semi final be ranked 4th. And why did Ivory Coast claim 1st place when they obviously disappointed.

• Asafo Kwame Sowah 11 years ago

Are we being deceived? We all know we don't merit this position. Playing without style is not Ghanaian. We all need to put our pride, personal issues aside and think of what is good for us. If we want to experiment lets play ...

• DALAP GUARDIAN 11 years ago

That is nonsense, what is ghana an côte d'evoir doing there, should be super eagle an burkina faso. there is lacuna in this ranking.

• Cornell 11 years ago

We don't deserve it.

• STOLEN ELECTIONS 11 years ago

prefer darkness to light, corrupt government to development oriented, ebeiii

• Praise 11 years ago

Football is played on the field and is not a “compute game”!

The proof: Nigeria is the AFRICAN Champions!

This ranking is a computer game!!! It’s also mental slavery!!!! To hell with FIFA Ranking!!!!!!

• PM 11 years ago

so what if we have been rank 2 so what we don't need this article.....what we want is the way forward how we will do to get the cup home.

• NAIJA BOY 11 years ago

Google it, we were ranked 5th i think in the 90s highest ever for any african team, stupid gaynians aint won nothing in decades and still wanna talk. At least in my lifetime i have seen Super Eagles lifting trophies since the ...

• Sports Guru 11 years ago

Nigayrians are funny people

Yes is tell u the truth or maybe u are too young. NIgeria is the only country in Africa that has the highest fifa (5th in 1994) ranking NO team in Africa as ranked to that stage. so please get a life, u need to learn so u won ...

• Rocket 11 years ago

You are an animal. The way the rankings were done then it was easy to get high. That 1995 team did not accomplish what we did in 2010! World cup quarter finalist! Something you Nigayrians will never achieve!

• @the naija boy 11 years ago

We cant tell u nothing, but we still ahead of u. Are u that stupid? Even the comments here should tell u we Ghanaians are not in support of this ranking..So so hating..foolish naija boy

• maxwell asante 11 years ago

Ghana is playing the most wretched football I have ever seen. We need a competent coach who can get to work immediately because we have little time. A coach who already knows Ghana soccer will serve our best interest. CLAUDE ...

• Rabon Zee 11 years ago

If you watch soccer nowadays you will be surprised at how really ugly it is . All the players clog the midfield and since they dont have the skills of old, they deliberately foul the person with the ball. Sometimes they grab ...

• MR NARO 11 years ago

NKWASIA SEM.....MOVED TO WATEVA SO WAT??? ALLWAYS BEEN DECEIVED BY SUCH STUPID THINGS.

• MPANIMFUO USA 11 years ago

I DONT WANT TO SEE DIS BOGOS RANKING.

• TAMBRO/DENMARK 11 years ago

THERE IS A SAYING THAT "BEARD CAME TO MEET EYEBROWS"SO COACH APPIAH SHOULD INCLUDE SOME SENIOR PLAYERS AND ALSO TEACH THEM HOW TO PLAY PENALTY KICKS TO AVOID OUR CRONIC MISTAKES.

• Bobby Bombo 11 years ago

We dont care.

• oga yum yum 11 years ago

did he do so like what he did to afari gyan?

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

So long as we will hide behind these hard-to-explain rankinks we will never tackle our problems to solve them.We are not as good as we think.We need good technical people who can transform our talented boys into a formidable ...

• Rocket 11 years ago

If you are an IDIOT!! The methodology is on FIFA's site!!

• Kissident 11 years ago

absolutely nonsense. What game did the black stars play to obtain that ranking? This is my country team, but i disagree with this ranking. They represent the worst team in Africa as at now. You can disagree but its the fact. ...

• Rocket 11 years ago

APE!!!!!!!

• regina athens greece 11 years ago

waa
    God be bless waa even the FIFA knows the blackstars are great but the discouraging words from the president brought the unbeatable down pschologically emotionally and everything,but i know and believe in them

• regina athens greece 11 years ago

i beg the blackstars and it officaial Ghanainas believe in them that is why they have been given the heart to hold sso the should please rut or diffrences aside and just do their goood thing

• Doe 11 years ago

Ghanaians are happy with FIFA ranking than winning a championship. Oh Ghana that`s what you want? Congratulation.

• Ransom Kuti, Berlin-wedding, Dutchlan 11 years ago

Am wondering from which sources this writer got thisinformations and to know also if this writer has watched the just ended Nations cup,if he or she has then you can continiue fooling gnanama that we are the best,thanx

• SHALOM 11 years ago

John Paintsil was carrying the spirit of the entire Black Stars team so immediately he left the field of play after the injuries Blackstars' calamity started. The determination that portrayed in Paintsil's face on and off the ...

• mallam-usa 11 years ago

Mere consolation, ignore...the ranking.
    WHY CAN"T WE BE THE FIRST??:)

• Kofius 11 years ago

Is the FIFA ranking a trophy ?. This is trashy propaganda by the two Kwasi's to hide their failure at SA

• Nborija 11 years ago

This ranking will make us swollen-headed. Do we really deserve 2nd best in Africa? Sack Akwasi Appiah and get us a better coach.

• CHE GUEVARA 11 years ago

Folks, the Naija people acknowledge Ghana football. Hear Sunday Olise, former Super Eagle's Captain on Super Sports during AFCON 2013: 'Ghana doesn't play this kind of poor football, no way. Ghanaians are skilful and dominate ...

• Truth 11 years ago

Ghana Calling Nigerians 419, hahah cant laugh, a Ghanian young man was arrested in Germany for it Credit card scam, who specilaize in hacking, after following the investigation, the police arrested others 2 ghanian boys and 1 ...

• funofthegame 11 years ago

My plea to the GFA is to stop the politics concerning who the Ghana Black Stars coach should be at this moment after AFCON. My suggestions are: 1) to go for MILO, 2) send Akwasi Appiah for a coaching course and 3) keep KONADU ...

these ranks dont count for nothing, total rubbish, where is ivory coast to be found, where is ghana? dont count on that crap