You are here: HomeNews2013 02 10Article 264617

GNPC confirms Volta oil discovery but yet to test

Read Comments Comments (200)

• WAR HERO 11 years ago

YES, FINALLY ALMIGHTY ALLAH HAS BLESSED GHANA WITH OIL AGAIN AND THIS TIME IN THE VOLTA REGION. WE PRAY THAT THE FIND SHOULD BE IN LARGE QUANTITY WITH ABOUT 80 YEARS RESERVE OR MORE.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

POOR NPP. NOW YOU REALISE THE VOTES FROM THE JEWISH VOLTARIANS HAVE NOT BEEN IN VAIN. PATIENCE, IT IS SAID, MOVES MOUNTAINS, MEANWHILE, ASANTE-AKYEMS HAVE BEEN SCRAMBLING FOR UNDESERVED POWER.

• Sakamosta 11 years ago

Atta Mills sought the face of God to take Ghana out of HIPIC to the BETTER GHANA.(like Moses taking Isreal out of Egypt.) upon his death, the mantle fell on JM to lead Ghana into that promised land. this is indeed a confirmat ...

• Kwasi 11 years ago

God bless you Sakamosta for yours your wise words. What we need is unity and not insults. Give the devil no chance to divide Ghana on tribal and political lines.

• Ligth 11 years ago

I agree with you Kwasi, may Allah bless Ghana and Ghanaians together as one Amen

• ROYAL AKANLAND 11 years ago

I DON'T HATE EWES BUT I THINK IF THEY HAPPENS TO BE AKANS THEY WILL BREAK AWAY LONG TIME. REMEMBER THEY WANTED TO BE WITH TOGO

CAN YOU TELL ME THE MEANING OF NKWANTA IN EWE LANGUAGE. NKWANTA MEANS JUNCTION IN AKAN LANGUAGE OK

• SHAMO 11 years ago

NEVER, NOTHING GOOD COMES FROM EWE! I HOPE NKWANTA IS EWE LANGUAGE? HAHAHAHA,

• TerriblY Spe cifiC Dog Breed 11 years ago

I hope this is a hoax these togolese will never amount to nothing but poor and trokosi practice.

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

With our oil find we the Voltarians will now secede from mainland Ghana. JJ will be our President for life. Nana Konadu will be our Vice President. The umbrella will be our symbol, and we take back our national anterm. Bye By ...

• jojo USA 11 years ago

ASHANTIES GET SOME EDUCATION. ILLITERACY IS KILLING YOU. WE EWE'S ARE WELL EDUCATED. NO WONDER YOU GUYS NEED FREE SHS. EDUCATION IS NOT FREE SPEND CASH TO GET THAT EDUCATION. DO YOU THINK YOU CAN RULE FOREVER? YOU HAVE YOUR C ...

• ° ° ° O-G-I-D-I-G-I-D-I ° ° ° nyamaaa 11 years ago

i always keep wondering what type of idiots we have in ghana. jojo you and who are educated? well you are definitely NOT educated in the least.

• Yaovi Michael 11 years ago

Idiots thinking, Grow and wise up!
    The new frontier for Ghana is as follows;Nortern border is to be aligned to Brong Ahafo Region and the Easter border to aligned to Eastern Region. The rest outside this zone viz; Northern R ...

JOHN MAHAMA LIKE WOMEN TOO MUCH! HE IS TOO STUPID TO FOLLOW FOLLOW WOMEN

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

NIGERIA 1 BURKINA FASO 0

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

Ghanaians are sore loosers and they are jealous of Nigerians VICTORY at AFCON 2013.
    They are so jealous that they refused to report it in their websites.

Jealous go kill you Ghananaians SORE LOOSERS. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

• SHAMO 11 years ago

MR BOKO HARAM EVEN GHANA THE 4 TIMES WINNER IS NOT MAKING NOISE! TRY TO TAKE THE CUP 4 TIMES BEFORE GHANAIANS CAN ANSWER YOU! 150MILLION BOKO HARAMS, ABOUT 5 COUNTRIES TOGETHER YET STILL YOU CANT COMPARE YOURSELF TO GHANA IN ...

• UNCLE KOFI 11 years ago

THE VOLTA REGION CAN NOW BE DIVIDED INTO 2:THE EWE REGION - SOUTH OF JASIKAN, AND THE OTI REGION - FROM JASIKAN TOWARDS THE NORTH

• I love Nigeria 11 years ago

think before you say or comment on any subject especially the ones that can divide our beloved nation.what do you gain from such comment.take a cue from oil producing countries.your comment can insight some people to begin fi ...

• Yaovi Michael 11 years ago

I am ashamed of my tribe for what we practice so I just dont understand what my tribesmen want to achieve with all these trokosi's. I have not visited my hometown for the past 15 years since my brother was sacrificed on his v ...

• AMA 11 years ago

Let's do everything with the same speed with which GNPC did this veriification. Ghana would be a totally different country.

• Jack 11 years ago

You have demonstrated your bottomless well of sheer stupidity. You are an ignorant imposter.

• AGBAGLAMANU PROSPER 11 years ago

KWASEABA! KNOWING HOW TO READ AND WRITE DOES NOT MAKE YOU A BETTER
    PERSON THAN YOUR FATHER.OK? I HATE WHEN PEOPLE BRAG OF THEIR EDUCATION.
    IT IS WHAT YOU CAN DO AND NOT WHERE YOU HAVE BEING. AS A MATTER OF FACT
    TO BE SUCC ...

• Joe Canada 11 years ago

we will also ship mahama,nana addo,nana oye to you free of charge.and you don't have to pay us your portion of ghana's debt.we will pay it.

• Sony 11 years ago

NKWANTA WSA PART OF TOGOLAND LIKE THE SO YOU BETTER LEARN WELL AND TALK OR WRITE WHAT IS TRUE AND FACTUAL.

• Sony 11 years ago

NKWANTA WAS PART OF TOGOLAND SO YOU BETTER LEARN WELL AND TALK OR WRITE WHAT IS TRUE AND FACTUAL.

• HOT 11 years ago

If you have ever studied etymology in Linguistics you will never open your mouth any how about which tribe a word belongs to.

• JIM KELLY(NY) 11 years ago

It really troubles me that any time I come on this forum, regardless of the topic ,there is a deep-seated tribalistic and sometimes political polarization on this forum. It is a monumental shame that those of us who can read ...

• Jack 11 years ago

A stupid object oozing stupidity

• I love Nigeria 11 years ago

read

• MR. FIGURE-OUT 11 years ago

Ghanaians should be careful about how this NDC government can plot this hoax just to pump millions of dollars into individuals pockets in the name of feasibility study into the finding. Don't get me wrong, as soon as NDC came ...

• GHANA 11 years ago

This will definitely turn out to be a hoax or just a dumped used oil.

• Oas 11 years ago

Nkwanta area is mix up with many tribes.Though it is in the volta region but does not belong to ewes.This place is called northern volta.There are Konkombas,Akans,Ntrobos, Basari,Krachi´s,Nanumbas,Kotokolis,and many more.

• oregun , usa 11 years ago

aint we one people under god? why all this dvision, all of sunden when theres oil, we started our tribalistic ingnorace and arrogant behaviour, safrican9( some) are too know, unless we change, no hope for black man

• SHAMO 11 years ago

AND I AM HAPPY AKANS ARE NOW SEEING THAT PICTURE CLEAR! NO EWE WILL VOTE FOR AKAN MAN , BUT MANY AKANS VOTE FOR THEM! HOPE ONE DAY AKANS WILL SEE THE TRICKS AND BE IN THEIR LANE!

• Dennis Doe 11 years ago

And who are the many more?Too hard to mention.When money is involve then we find so many "historians".These parts were part of Britsh mandeted Togoland.And get this in heads.Anlo area was not part of Togoland and an independ ...

IF BANDA AND MOL ARE FROM B/A AND AKANS THEN GONJAS ARE AKANS IT WAS ONLY THAT BRITISH BOUNDRY THAT SEPERATED SENT THEM TO NORTH

• ranger 11 years ago

IDIOT ... Gonjas are GUANS ...

• gyato gyato 11 years ago

Ghana, I tend to agree with you. Remember Kassardjian worked on this road some time ago and had a fuel dump somewhere near there?

• Nokwarehene 11 years ago

This found oil is will not be a commercial quantity. It must have been a small deposit in a reservoir that was kept there by the colonial masters. You just cannot discover oil this way so we shouldn't get too excited.

• MENSAH 11 years ago

NDC WITH MAHAMA ARE ALL CORRUPT.There are no account on JOSHUA in the bible that depicts any corrupt behavior like your MAHAMA & THE NDC(MY PROOF IS WOYOMEGATE).Your analogy makes it totally wrong.MAHAMA,NDC & GHANA,AS A WHOL ...

• Yo man 11 years ago

You never mention,NPP corruption.Kufours Govt,made Ghana into the 16th most corrupt country in the world after Italy.These are facts every body in the world read and knows ,so judge your Kufour and his family and friends befo ...

EWES ARE IN DOWN OF HO SO HOW COME WE CLIMB UP TO NKWANTA? WE WILL BE ASHAMED OO ! LETS PRAY TO HAVE OIL AT KETA NOT NKWANTA

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

Anyone who touches a drop of oil from Eweland, without consulting the traditional chief, shall be in trouble.

• Nkwantani 11 years ago

Fortunately, Nkwanta is not Eweland, it is Akanland. By the way, if eventually oil is found in Eweland, Ewes cannot claim it as theirs alone unless they can pay back all the cocoa and gold moneys that they have enjoyed since ...

• HOT 11 years ago

You think everybody in Ghana is Akan,you people are just a bunch of silly megalomeniacs.

• KUDZ 11 years ago

Your mama don't even know where the v/r is so, I don't fault you for believing a wrong information, am sure your illiterate grandpa told you that, you fucked-up in the brain anyways...stupid fooooooool...

• Extraterrestial/ anti mahama 11 years ago

just one of the many idiots Ghana has been burdened with.

• KOJ 11 years ago

STOP THIS USELESS RELI-POLITICS OF VERY THING IN GHANA. WE HAVE MADE POLITICIANS DEMI-gods SUCH THAT THEY ARE STEALING THE COUNTRIES RESOURCES.

• SAMPSON MADIBA - IRELAND 11 years ago

Aboa bi ba. Don't you know that Nkwanta is Akan Land, is not Ekoro, dwiibaadwiibaa land

• Kwame 11 years ago

The people there are slaves and not indigenous. They can go back.

• Be Bold 11 years ago

I did not hear the Ashantis and other tribes making so much noise when Gold was found in Obuasi and other Akan lands. I did not hear the people from Western Ghana make so much noise when crude oil was found there. But some of ...

• Nick 11 years ago

They problem Ewes have is that they always want to be recognized but try as they do no one cares about them. That is why they resort to insulting other tribes they see as overshadowing them.

People would recognize them if ...

• Azong 11 years ago

Only damp people will attack people just on ethnic background. Know that we are in the 21st century. Wise up.

• Nick 11 years ago

You show your true nature as I said. It's true, and you know it.

Anyway, people are not damp, some are "dumb", which I am not.

hey you are wrong hehe, i have met a couple of damp women ;-)

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Ashantis, think of improving education in your so called Akan land

WHEN PLEASE LET ME KNOW NOW

• Nick 11 years ago

the Ashanti region has the highest number of schools in the country. The best schools are in Ashanti. Some of you guys are without knowledge. Ashantis have the highest standards of living in Ghana, far ahead of any tribe. Che ...

• Efo Kobla 11 years ago

My people dug out that well in search of water because the central govt for years have failed us though we continue to vote for them. Water is essential than oil, after all the noise we made of the oil find what benefit has t ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

You talk about going federal for oil that's not found on your land? What would you do if oil is found in Keta, Kpetoe,Aziokpe, Tefle or Sogakopfe.

Some of you have even already started talking about joining Togo. Just imag ...

• Mark Doe 11 years ago

OSEI TAWIAH, TAKE IT FROM ME THAT IF NOT BECAUSE VOLTA REGION WAS TAKEN FORCEFULLY FROM GERMANS AND GIVEN TO GOOD FOR NOTHING BRITISH THE VOLTA REGION AS PART OF TOGO SHOULD BE FAR DEVELOPED THAN GHANA BY NOW, BECAUSE THE MIN ...

• Joe 11 years ago

Oh, volta region was taken forcefully from the germans and given to good for nothing British , Mark Doe may I ask you if Togoland is now developed than Ghana, because british are not ruling Togo.

• Be Bold 11 years ago

"THE KETA BASIN IS FULL OF OIL YET IT IS KEPT UNDER DEVELOP BECAUSE EWES WOULD BE RICH" Blame your own Ewe JJ who ruled for almost20years. Longest serving leader in Ghana. Fools like you are always looking for other tribes to ...

THIS OIL IS FOUND IN NKWANTA NOT KETA

• THEO 11 years ago

That shows the kind of evil these people are God knows what he is doing that is why that land is barren. If Obuasi is to be in Volta region, no other tribe would have been accepted there. They would have killed so many Akans ...

• KTL 11 years ago

What? are you not Ghanaian? The Asnatis make the most noise so please kill your fires. Voltarians and Northerners are the quietest tribes in Ghana. The trouble with Volta is that they will spring to the defense of any other t ...

• Esi 11 years ago

U have just taken the words out of mouth. Am an ewe, I don't hate the Akans but shd any Akan man/woman condemns any other tribe including my own, I tend to take it personal as an affront to my person. Later we shake hands and ...

• Yo man 11 years ago

Skin b
    pain,let them beat thier chest.You these same people say, VOlta Region is a uselss region,because of your tribalism,they did not want to tap the resources in that Region.Now we have a govt,that takes every region ser ...

• Be Bold 11 years ago

Spare us the bull. Was JJ NPP or NDC? You don't have to prove anything to the rest of us.

• Massa, Anyaa 11 years ago

The Akrante bini has done its job. These Agya Koo people really need good paediatricians to siphon akrante bini from the brain of their kids lest they become non entities as they are. True to expectation, their lack of educat ...

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Since when Nkwata became Akan land idiot

• Open-Minded 11 years ago

Really! Does it matter where the "oil find" is located as long as IT IS IN GHANA? Should it really matter? This "discovery" is yet to be investigated and tested for sure and people are already "fighting" over it? Should we no ...

• joe 11 years ago

sampson you are stupid son of an animal shit eater and part of that shit is hunging on your little tiny brain

• Ansapore 11 years ago

YOU ARE A NOVICE. YOU HAVE TO GO TO READ YOUR HISTORY ABOUT THE AKANS AGAIN.
    THERE ARE VOLTARIANS WHO PLEDGE ALLIAGIANCE TO ASANTEHENE. I DONT BLAME YOU SETTLER.

• WASA 11 years ago

stop all these your tribal nonsense and talk about ghana as a nation and lets think and plan the best way to move it forward.

CHECK WHO LIVES IN NKWANTA BRO B4 U MAKE U STUPID COMMENT

• Kwaku 11 years ago

I am just surprise to hear people saying there are other tribes in the Volta Region. Ashantis are the most backward tribe in Ghana.

• kwame no 1 11 years ago

take your fucking oil and go back to TOGO monkey Ewe

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 11 years ago

My only hope is that the reservoir holds enough black gold worth an arms length investment.

And we should all be lucky should this happen that there is enough reserves of the crude as this around the real thief kromfuor ku ...

• KWAMI 11 years ago

IDIOT, YOU ARE NOT MAKING AN IOTA OF SENSE.

• muntari 11 years ago

kotokoli we r rich we have to go back and develop our home town KUE the home town of kotokolis in ghana

• ranger 11 years ago

Kotokoli people are from Togo, you idiot ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 11 years ago

I don't make sense because a bush rat like you will always this thief, kROMFUOR KUFFUOR, ABOA BEATS!

• KWAMI 11 years ago

DZIMAPLA, WHAT IS ABOA BEATS? STOP DISGRACING US, NOT EVERYBODY HERE IN THE FORUM IS AS A FOOL LIKE YOU FAILED MAN. YOU ARE DISGRACING US.

• NO NONSENSE 11 years ago

ONLY KETA BOYS AND TROKOSI. AYIKOO THE PEOPLE OF NKWANTA, THE AKANS

• GAWUKO 11 years ago

Good better best. The best they say comes from the West. Where however do wise men come from?

• WASA 11 years ago

this is what ghanaians want to here not tribalistic insults,shame

• DANKWA 11 years ago

WE THE AKAN PEOPLE OF THE NORTHERN VOLTA DEMAND OUR SEPARATION FROM THE VOLTA NOW TO JOIN OUR NATURAL AKAN SPEAKING EASTERN REGION WHERE WE BELONG.THE EWES ARE NOW CALLING US BROTHERS AND SISTERS WHEREAS THEY'VE ALWAYS TREATE ...

• Kwasi 11 years ago

Dankwa, you are right but they are still part of us.

• Mr Green. 11 years ago

For Africa soil. one cannot call it BLESS!rather call it new WAR to comé Ghana,since we are not working properly with our brain to achieve prosperity,and off course ethnic problems, as well as bad leaders.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

Initial assessments show that the the Volta Region is floating on a sea of top grade crude oil. There is over 5 trillion barrels of oil there, far exceeding the rest of the world put together.

Do you remember the white dov ...

• Joemens 11 years ago

With JM, there will be no need for exploration: the oil will start bursting out in every corner of Ghana.And where will you stand if that happens imbecile?

WE WILL SWIM IN THE SEA OF OIL...SOON OUR HEAVEN WILL BE GLOWING WITH OIL WHILST THE KOOKOOASE BOYS WILL BE WALLOWING IN LAKE BOSOMTWI STRUGGLING TO AVOID DROWNED BY POVERTY. PROBABLY, THEIR POROUS HIPC POLICY IS WHAT MIGHT S ...

PLEASE GET UR EWE STUPIDITY CHECK

• Melic Sun 11 years ago

Royal Akanland, did you read about the Akrante bini stuff? I thought I needed to draw your attention to it in case you have a plague in your eyes.

• ' LANTSO LA ' 11 years ago

YOU ARE FUCKED UP.YOU CANNOT BE BOLT ON ANYMORE. YOU HAVE CAUSED THREAD, CORRUPTED INDIVIDU, USELESS, WASTE, STINKING.
    WE WILL SOON CONDUCT A MASS REPATRIATION OF YOU BACK TO ILE-EFE.

• Duah 11 years ago

God has blessed our homeland Ghana and Volta Region as a land that flows with milk and honey. The oil find is far more than what is in Iraq Saudi and Kuwait put together.

• Tokyo !! 11 years ago

Fools what difference is it going to make. Many fields of oil has been found and where. Is the money. The stupid voltarians are happy for what? For the leaders to line their pockets with more oil money. We don't even have wa ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

And you know what? The best oil brains are from the Volta Region: Tsatsu Tsikata!!! And there are enough juju men to command the oil to come up.

NDC will only get better!!!!

• AVAKLASU 11 years ago

Why do Ashantis insult all other tribes?

• Nana 11 years ago

Oh why are u being biased in your judgement. When someone insults an ashanti no one sees it, but you all are quick to pounce on the vice versa. Hmmmm. Go to big mining companies and other oil companies, Ewes, Ashantis, Gas, N ...

• Korsi Vivor 11 years ago

YOU MIGHT BE RIGHT, BUT, MY BROTHER THE DESCRIMINATION VOLTARIANS HAVE RECEIVED FROM THE AKANS ESPECIALLY THE ASHANTIS FROM TIME IMEMORIAL IS OVERWHELMING. IT IS ALL BECAUSE THEY HATE TO BE DEFEATED IN WAR BUT THAT WAS WHAT H ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

You Ewes are natural born selfish liars, this is all that Ewes know in their lives. When did Ewes ever take over Ashantis in history?

Fool, when we are talking about 2013, you are talking about history. You Ewes are hated ...

• ' LANTSO LA ' 11 years ago

AND WHAT ABOUT IF WE HATE YOU BECAUSE YOU HATE US. IN WHICH WAR DID EWES DEFEATED ASHANTIS ?
    WHY ARE YOU SO BITER BECAUSE THE ASHANTIS OR AKANS ARE PRESIDENTING IN TURNS ?
    WHY ARE YOU BEING DOMINATED NOW ?

• EMMA 11 years ago

PLEASE THIS .THIS IS TOO CHILDISH. INSULTING YOUR FELLOW TRIBE WILL BRING NO GOOD.ASHANTI OR VOLTARIAN, FANTI OR NORTHERNER WE ARE ALL THE SAME PEOPLE.
    LET THINK ABOUT HOW WE CAN DEVELOP OUR COUNTRY. FOR YOUR KNOWLEDGE U CAN ...

• Bissy 11 years ago

If there are enough Juju men in the Volta region, how come the Volta region is the poorest region in Ghana. How come the same Juju men you are talking cannot command the god of Mammoth to spew wealth and riches into the Volta ...

• KOLIKO 11 years ago

the volta region is not the poorest region in ghana

THAT IDIOT IS EWE SHAMO NOT THE REAL SHAMO

• Mark Doe 11 years ago

THE VOLTA REGION IS INTENTIONALLY LEFT BEHIND TO ROT AND SUFFER BECAUSE IT WAS THE REGION THAT WAS JOINT TO GOLD COAST BEFORE INDEPENDENCE THROUGH PLEBISCITE THEREFORE THE ONLY REGION THAT CAN ATTEND AUTONOMY FROM GHANA TO AN ...

• Be Bold 11 years ago

So JJ did not develop your land because of this? hahahhhaa Fools abound. You don't think lack of development in eweland is due to minds set of the people?

• ELINAM 11 years ago

Some are now making noises that the 50yr is up that they should go back to theUN for guess what?
    Ghana don't want to lose the volta region for nothing but also is kind of powerless in the face of the agreement. Talk about fi ...

GO ASK THE PEOPLE

• John Kpeglo 11 years ago

No doubt, you are myopic!

• juju 11 years ago

tokyo u are fool born by a fool and raised by a fool. nonsense! are u better than any voltarian if u dont have water we do! find a way of solving ur silly problem rather than sitting on ur lazy foolish butt!and think of what ...

• Azong 11 years ago

And what do think you are. Just a senseless beast for calling the Voltarians stupid.

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

Oh! HOW I MISS OUR one and ONLY KWAME NKRUMAH!!! This was a man who did soooooo much to sideline TRIBALISM and making US ALL FELT PROUD to be Ghanaians.What do we find TODAY ??? Stupid and DAFT inhabitants of Ghana ALWAYS SI ...

• joe 11 years ago

My brother tell them these are the kind of people we have in Africa thats why we are still the way we are. They cant think and do something reasonable, they hate eachother and very selfish in all their doings. Just look at th ...

• Kwadwo 11 years ago

The substance leaking from the floor is pollution from a leaky oil reservoir. There was a similar occurrence in Sunyani several years ago

• juju 11 years ago

screw! you

• NO NONSENSE 11 years ago

ONLY KETA BOYS AND TROKOSI COME FROM THE EWELAND. AYIKOO THE PEOPLE OF NKWANTA, THE AKANS

• Nick 11 years ago

For all the moneys pumped into the GNPC, their big-mouthed lawyers and engineers, the GNPC could not discover oil. It has taken a poor man trying to find water to discover oil for Ghana. He had no rig, just a simple drilling ...

• mob 11 years ago

its funny how africans treat each other so wicked ,but then warship whites, im not here to insult no one i know better.But all i can tell you all back is no matter which part of Ghana u from us who has being living in westrn ...

• shhhhhhhhh London 11 years ago

its so pathetic how narrow ghanaians both ewes and ashantis could be at each others throat behaving as though they never had social studies or are total illiterates

• KUKUROBOA 11 years ago

ASHANTIS HATE EVES BECAUSE THEY CAN NOT HAVE THEM TO LOOK AFTER THEIR COCOA FARMS, BUILD THEIR HOUSES, MAKE COFFINS, BEDS, AND ROOF THEIR HOUSES. THEY USE TO WISH THEM AS WE USED TO WISH WHITES, WHITE COACH, WHITE MEDICAL DOC ...

• Duah 11 years ago

Whoever God blesses let no man curse. This is where the oil wealth begins to flow.

• John Kpeglo 11 years ago

Even if the "stealers" politician will "steal" all the money, I plead that they construct roads like the N1 throughout the regions in Ghana and we shall be DUBAI in Africa! Amen!

• ghanaman 11 years ago

inward lookings volterians your mad stop attack asanties ok .asanties are not afried of you if you want war we are ready for you ok .animals

• Benny 11 years ago

Hey boy you are stupid. Which asanteman will help you to wage war. We are in a new era whereby all these insults are uneccesary. Find something better to do. Do you think Ghana is like other country where the same countrymen ...

• Benny 11 years ago

Sure, the area has to be develope by the government so as for more creation of jobbs. The akans has their diamonds and gold sproutingggg around their area of abode. God is distributive he has shown his hands on this area too. ...

• Lone Ranger 11 years ago

Are you sure there was no petrol tanker accident in the area recently?

• CONCERNED NKWANTA CITIZEN 11 years ago

WE THE PEOPLE OF NKWANTA WANT TO SECEDE FROM VOLTA REGION. WE ARE SEPARATE PEOPLE WITH DIFFERENT CULTURE. FOR MANY YEARS PEOPLE SOUTH OF NKWANTA - SOGAKOFE, HO, KETA ETC. HAVE DISCRIMINATED AGAINST US. NOW IS OUR TIME TO SECE ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

GO AHEAD MOTHERFUCKER.ARE YOU SECEDING WITH YAMS,TILAPIA OR NKWANTA ANCHOVIES[KETA SCHOOL BOY FISH}OR CASSAVA?
    NEVER COUNT YOUR CAT BEFORE THEY ARE BORN.THE OIL MAY NOT BE IN COMMERCIAL QUANTITIES.

• Nick 11 years ago

Whatever natural resources are found anywhere in the country belongs to all. Gold, bauxite, cocoa and timber from Ashanti has been used for the development of the whole country since independence. Don't be selfish.

• Melic Sun 11 years ago

You want to go to Kumasi because of your culture, just pack your bags and vamoot. VOLTA IS VOLTA WITH NO AKRANTI BINI IDEAS OKAY?

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

Mr. Nkwanta, you can secede and go to Kumasi and see the Ashantihene for a plot of land to settle down.

• Kodwo. 11 years ago

FOOLS; OTHER REGIONS PRODUCE LOTS OF MINERALS.

HAVE THEY LAID CLAIM TO THEM?

• osebo 11 years ago

This oil belongs to the land owners and the finders. They should lay claim to it whether it is 0ne liter or a billion barrels - every drop of it. Hands off GNPC.

We saw the same the thing coming near a well in Effiakuma zongo in Takoradi.It's at an area called Chicago but as a Kid we did not take it serious.

• BB 11 years ago

STOP SELLING GHANA TO FOREIGN RESOURCE COMPANIES BECAUSE THEY REPATRIATE THEIR WEALTH NOT IN CEDIS BUT IN US AND OTHER FOREIGN CURRENCIES. WATCH EVERY WORK THESE COMPANIES DO NO SUBSTANDARD WORK PLEASE

• Nkwantani 11 years ago

IF WE MUST INVOLVE FOREIGNERS IN THE EXPLOITATION OF THIS ONSHORE OIL BECAUSE OF THEIR EXPERTISE, THEY SHOULD HAVE NOT MORE THAN 10%. THEY HAVE 90% OF OUR OFFSHORE OIL .... THAT IS ENOUGH.

• No NONSENSE 11 years ago

This rather shows how narrow minded we blacks are in general. let me ask who ever died and went to the grave with the land they claim they own. if only we will stop acting like bunch of idiots and concentrate on working toget ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

See how very easy it is to find oil. Those administrators at GNPC mustn't cover this find with administrative technicalities and deny Ghana from completely owning the resource. We will accept nothing other than 100% ownership ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago

This may not be an unusual occurence.
    Oil from shale has become a common phenomenon at various places in the US. What the people need is appropriate technology to engage in the drilling process.

• ok 11 years ago

Well with my experience in the industry, the shale structure could just be a cap rock overlying the reservoir body- more likely a sandstone.
    Anyway, the GNPC should hasten to capture seismic data in some kilometers around ...

• RICHARD 11 years ago

That is an interesting observation. These are the sort of things we should be reading - 'educative' and 'edifying' stuffs and not the tribal and insulting pieces people write here. Thank you!

• ok 11 years ago

You are welcome!
    I agree with you 100% about the tribal thing. Why are we doing that to ourselves? Why do we see shades of tribes in us instead of one people, one race, one country, one continent? I feel sad when i read comm ...

• No NONSENSE 11 years ago

As developed as we claim we are, just from reading, tells me that we are lacking in thinking, advance worlds if we notice don't behave in such manner. Again working together as a country does matter. Not jumping to quick abus ...

• CONCERNED NKWANTA CITIZEN 11 years ago

FOR MANY YEARS SOUTH OF VOLTA REGION HAVE TREATED NKWANTA PEOPLE AS SLAVES. MOST OF THE RESOURCES GOES TO DEVELOP SOGAKOFE, HO, KETA AND OTHER PLACES IN SOUTH VOLTA. WE THE PEOPLE OF NKWANTA HAVE BEEN DENIED DEVELOPMENT CAKE ...

• swaas 11 years ago

why always giving some crazy comments instead of asking where the money will go at the end.

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 11 years ago

THIS IS SERIOUSE BECAUSE DRINKIN WATER IS IMPORTANT NOT ONLY OIL ,BECAUSE THE OIL MONEY WILL GO TO ASIEDU NKATIA AND HIS PEOPLES PORKERT,RICH WILL BE RICH AND POOR DIES

• Ebluvi fiafi 11 years ago

It saddens me seeing semi literates commenting here and insulting Ewes. Why are you so jealous of Ewes? You just can't defeat us. Your forefathers tried and failed. We've more natural resources than you can imagine! Go to hel ...

• kofi opoku 11 years ago

It saddened me most to read from an Ewe writing for the world to read that there are more natural resources than one imagin, but failed to mention one of them. Maybe, your geography teacher was an Ewe who didn't teach you th ...

• Extraterrestial/ anti mahama 11 years ago

The thieves have started counted and sharing the proceeds from that oil too. Why not, aftaer all that is their world bank.

• DELALI 11 years ago

OH GOD THANK YOU FOR YOUR MERCY, IF SOME OF GHANAIANS, ARE SAYING THAT PLACE IS FOR ASANTE HENE, THEN HE SHOULD COME AND RULE HOUSE OF CHIFES AT VOLTA, THIS IS THE TIME FOR ALL CHIFES AND VOLTARIEN TO COME BACK HOME AND HELP ...

• myghanalinks 11 years ago

I hope it turns out to be crude oil indeed. It will be good for the country's development.
    You can start a conversation on this at www.myghanalinks.com/forum

Runningg into his lawyer's office, a Texas oil magnate demanded
    that divorce proceedings begin at once against his young bride.
    "What's the problem?"
    "I want to hit that adulterin' bitch for breach of contract,"
    sna ...

• Joe 11 years ago

stupid Fools. Dig more wells and deeper to collect varied samples

• oppong london 11 years ago

there is no oil in that fake land volta region,ndcs dubious means of plotting to steal money to voltarians[the trokosis ewes]

• Kelvin (u.s.a) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• Tito 11 years ago

When I was growing up in Ghana I was taught to believe Ghanaians are smart people. Folks, are we smart as I was taught to believe? I do not think so. Reading from peoples' comment on the net, listening to our politicians on ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

The government of Ghana can never tap any resource from the region till further notice ..since volta is an more or less an independence state , the minerals in volta is so much but no one can touch them since they have not de ...

• Maha 11 years ago

IDIOT, either you are pregnant or you are not. Get that stupid region out of Ghana and Ghana will be heaven without you murderers and rapists.

• itsme 11 years ago

Ashantis should to bring their toilet eating akarantere mouth to the good people of V/R.if they dare they will see

• Mr Green. 11 years ago

Are all this educated fools from Ghana?

• iPad 11 years ago

I am not sure why Ghanaians may be happy with this new find. Are Ghanaians stupid or am I the only stupid Ghanaian? For years you have had gold, diamond, timber you name them .. And the average Ghanian still have no water or ...

• Big Joe - Belaruss, Russia, Ukraine 11 years ago

By the way who,what,which organization will control Volta oil ? Countrymen our joy is shortlived becos most Ghanaians are short sighted .GNPC has taken oil samples for testing and hoping final result to be 100% plus.Ewes migr ...

oh i say! instead of eating fufu and driving ten cars we need to get our priorities right. where is osagyefo

• Akyempimhene 11 years ago

What ever u call ur name try to be objective and be wise enough to say sensible things.you are a disgrace to the nation and u better stop those ur stupid tribal comments.

• francis 11 years ago

can oil discover on land

• GAMBE 11 years ago

i cant understand why most Ghanaian's are still discriminating who is from where and whom the treasure belongs. we need to grow up and sit our ass down to reason better on how we could develop NKWANTA NORTH, VOLTA AND GHANA a ...

• Dr. Aggrey 11 years ago

You are right but the fact of the matter is that we have one of the wisest men in Africa. We will argue and insult ourseves but when it comes to taking up arms, the wise men have always done thier jobs to see that we don't b ...

• Hazor 11 years ago

Folks,What is funny is that GNPC has confirm that the liquid substance found in Nkwanta was actually oil discovery but yet to tested, for what,to see what it represent or made up of,if it is Pito or Kasapreko or beer?.Folks, ...

• apetupre-usa 11 years ago

If it is discovered to be oil, please don't sell it to the Chinese to drill. They have taken all the gold from Ghana Ebei ya br3gu

• RICARDO 11 years ago

WE ARE FINDING OIL EVERYDAY BUT WHERE IS THE MONEY. GHANA IS GETTING POORER EVERYDAY. NO ELECTRICITY NO WATER. GHANA WILL BE LIKE NIGERIA SOON. CORRUPT RULERS. OIL MY FOOT

• ODRACIR 11 years ago

DON'T WORRY. OUR POLITICIANS ARE CHOPPING THE OIL MONEY FOR US.

• INDEPENDENT STATE OF AKANLAND 11 years ago

Ghana is history. Ghana is a borrowed name from a empire. Ghana is a failed state. Ghana is a former country. Ghana will fail to exist. Ghana was just a fake and failed experiment that started in 1957, useless 55 years of th ...

• opoku james 11 years ago

GOd bless gh with more natural resource for more development.

• Samuel 11 years ago

THIS TS BAD! OH NO!

• i care 11 years ago

God bless ghana! however, could be used wisely;i guess

• Nii Akwei 11 years ago

GNA is making it sound as if they are giving us the latest news about the 'oil" discovery. Same story different day.

Hope it is not engine/motor oil. If it is oil, the Gov owns it, not the owner(s) of the land.

• DAGADOH,MANCHESTER,USA 11 years ago

Did you say "Confirm"? Did you say "yet to test"? Now,don't you go 'confirming' when a conclusive test has not been done.Talking about being too eager to break 'good news'!!?

• JATO 11 years ago

It is confirmed. This is not a crude oil period. If you don't beleive me, just wait for GNPC final analysis.

• Nana Ohyeadwira 11 years ago

I am really surprised that Ghanaweb continue to publish insultive comments from some readers. Internet is not meant to be used in this way. Ghanaweb has a duty to perform by not publishing insultive comments on its pages. Thi ...

• Dodzi Gbordzi 11 years ago

thant God for for this discovery. am proud to be voltarian.more and more will hit the volta land

• Ato 11 years ago

We can get everything in Ghana but if our leaders dont manange things well and stop their greadness behaviour then we will continue to be poor.

• Alankpoekon Gerard Bello 11 years ago

Good News. God bless our homeland Ghana thou said by our first president.Please check on Mark 13:31 and see what is written there.GAGRAFA GAGRAFA.

• ever 11 years ago

They have start losing that is not confirm yet greedy leaders.

• Labista 11 years ago

IT IS TOO EARLY TO BEGIN TO COUNT ON GAIN

• Kwaku Duah 11 years ago

Would you kindly check if there is a filling station within 400metres near the site?

• Ladie D 11 years ago

Hello and hello, this is not the time to insult in this comments, let us bring our minds together to see how best things can improve by the way God is proving him self in the country,
    who have thought of THIS? We should hope ...