You are here: HomeNews2013 02 09Article 264572

Don't give MPs rent allowance, house them

Read Comments Comments (79)

• Mpata 11 years ago

These are all stupid,they are working and been paid for so why the Gov. should give them that money for rent.They should have let them pay it themselves to see what some of the people goes tru, and rather use that money to pu ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

THE GREEDY SHOESHINE BOYS ONLY WANT THE POOR TAXPAYERS MONIES TO FILL THEIR BOTTOMLESS POCKETS. BUT THEY WILL BOYCOTT OUR INTERESTS WHEN THERE IS NO MONIES INVOLVED. I WONDER WHY THESE BUSH BOYS SHOULD BE ELECTED INTO PARLIAM ...

• BJ 11 years ago

They're always retarding our advancement.

• Pencils 11 years ago

Which advancement does ndc have? Your fake prez used $180m to buy elections while school and hospitals are closing down! Doctors are suffrering and you are talking about advance! Useless ndc

REMEMBER ANY PROBLEMS AT THE EC EXISTED WHEN YOU WERE IN POWER AND WHICH YOU UTILISED TO WIN 2000 AND 2004. AND REMEMBER IT WAS YOUR PARTY EXECUTIVES WHO DECLARED IT WINNERS LONG BEFORE THE EC DID. YOU ARE A PAIN IN OUR ADVAN ...

NDC WE HAVE RULED HALF OF MODERN GHANAs AGE, STILL THERE IS NO WATER NO ELECTRICITY AND GAY IS EVERYWHERE! WE NDC WILL STILL RULE FOR 20YRS AND GHANAIAN WILL BURN INTO ASHES

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

Shouldn't they be living close to their constituencies so they can tackle their issues? Most developed countries only have sessions where congressmen/parliamentarians go in for a period and then go back home. Obama used to re ...

• BlindMan 11 years ago

The parliamentarians CRIED to get elected for the position, and it's mind boggling to turn around after election to demand a rental allowance, when the candidate knew the SACRIFICES on the job.
    They deserve nothing! Ask Nduo ...

• abrantie gyasi 11 years ago

Gye Nyame WE ARE NOT doling out 50K to parlimentarians rather THEY ARE GIVING IT TO THEMSELVES that money and so who is defending us (we the ordinary tax-payer)from these thieves parading as "honourable citizens"in parliament ...

• Khujo 11 years ago

God will save the poor while the rich save themselves.

• PAA NII 11 years ago

Management of the Volta Regional Sports Secretariat on Thursday bemoaned the practice of open defecation in and around the Ho Sports Stadium.

A statement signed by Mr Kofi Abdallah, Acting Volta Regional Sports Director an ...

• Yo man 11 years ago

Mr Pencils,no matter what you say or write,your Nana will never be president of GHANA.he is fit only to rule Shoe shine boys and kedjetiaBoys.Fake tricks to became the presidential candidate for NPP again.Only fools don,t se ...

• Kwame Dokyi 11 years ago

These acts of self indulgence of the law makers, betrays the ugly picture of un-patriotism. Most of these representatives are fabulously rich and own opulent houses in Accra. If the members of the august body don’t intend t ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

HOSPITALS ARE CLOSING DOWN AND YOU ARE GIVING 270 PARLIAMENTARIANS $50,000 EACH JUST FOR HOUSE RENT TALKLESS THEIR SALARY! AND WE ARE HERE BLAMING WESTNERS..! BELIEVING IN IRAN BRAIN WASH

• Nsemblé 11 years ago

Expecialy Ghana

• Anonymous Coward 11 years ago

They are more than fools, especially their leaders.

I TERRIBLY SPECIFIC SO THAT THEY CAN LOOTH US, WE POOR GHANAIANS WILL CHOP KETA SCHOOLBOYS AND KENKEY NO PROBLEM

• read y 2 dye 11 years ago

my people suffer for lack of knowledge...dumb ass kublenu talk about all options were weighed. if we increase thier wage by ghc 10,000,for 4 years and ask them to find thier own residence, how much we gon save...GHC 13,500,00 ...

WE KNOW NDC CAN MAKE GHANA ANY BETTER PLACE BUT WE DONT HAVE A CHOICE, THE NDC PARTY IS TO ELIVATE MY TRIBE SO I WILL SUPPORT IT EVEN IF THEY DESTROY GHANA

WE KNOW NDC CAN NOT MAKE GHANA A BETTER PLACE,,,,

• FEDUP 11 years ago

Only in this sad pathetic country called Ghana, that MP's receive rental payments, in addition to their salaries, while a major hospital doesn't even have a backup generator & children roaming the streets selling, instead of ...

• sparrow 11 years ago

bros. talk again, i think we do no learn from mistakes, why should we give them this huge monies for rent?, are they not paid?, then it is time that all public servants should demand for 50,000 cedis for their rent too.ask t ...

• ANGLES, DUBAI SHOPPING MALL 11 years ago

BE REMINDED HYPOCRITES!! YOU WILL BE PROUD TO GO TO DUBAI TO TRADE BE REMINDED!! PRESIDENT OF THE SOCALL GREATEST NATION ON EARTH BARACK HUSEIN OBAMA YE PEPE NI BA LIKE HIS BROTHER MAHAMA ALSO A PEPE NI BA THEY ARE ALL FROM ...

• Gorfrey 11 years ago

If you don't like it, as I don't, join an organization or form an organization that advocates and ECONOMIC REVOLUTION which will by civil means stop the exploitation of country by those in power. It is this kind of exploitat ...

• kwadwo 11 years ago

it would be nice to study the demography of Africa and United State.
    secondly,where the person comes from is not the question but the ability to perform and do it better.

• Pastor sodjator 11 years ago

Why are few enjoying at the expense of the masses?

• Randy Mac 11 years ago

www.ghanatvlive.blogspot.com

• BJ 11 years ago

All that the politicians support without any hesitation is what benefits them. Until the government sits up by ensuring that extravagance and corruption is addressed ruthlessly, the vulnerable will keep gnashing their teeth.

• Pelicles 11 years ago

My first question is, are the MPs working for free and why can't they foot their own rent bills like any other Ghanian worker?

Those arguing for the MPs to be given such allowance or be housed, should go to the US, Europe ...

• Akwadaa Swiss. 11 years ago

PLS repeat, come again with ur question, ask US & de Europian MPs abt what? BUT which of ur so called MPs wasnt bread in the WEST? STOP kidding Bro! they are ALL in to ROBB us,NOT for our BETTERMENT. THE OSU-CASTLE,ONCE-AND- ...

• abrantie gyasi 11 years ago

I thought "job 600" was reformed for them and even rennovation of the Castle could accomodate them in order to spare us our money being wasted by these useless MPS.Meanwhile the chinese and the Indians are controlling the inl ...

• AGYA MUNKO 11 years ago

If we are practising democracy let us do it well.The western countries who are the advocates for democracy do not provide cars for their parliamentarians,rather some cycle to work others use trains.Importantly they do not gi ...

• FREEDOM FIGHTER 11 years ago

A small country like Ghana has so many politicians and I ask myself;what contribution have they made to our beloved nation except wasting our resources for developing our nation on their caprices.
    It's time the people stand ...

• Sam Tema 11 years ago

Do they even have a job desciption?What do they actually do for their constituents. They dont fight for schools healthcare water sanitation electricity for their districts and they want free accomodation. what are they all do ...

• Aggrey Takoradi 11 years ago

Send them back home. They can work from home and get to know the needs of the people.

• Akyemaa. 11 years ago

IT MOST. THOSE WHO ELECTED THESE CROOKS WILL SUFFER. THUS THE HONEST TRUTH. DOCTORS,TEACHER,NURSES HAVE BEEN CRYING FOIL FOR TOO LONG A TIME. JUST ANOTHER WOYOMEGATE.

• anayomi 11 years ago

WHY IS IGNORATE MAHAMA PUSHING CLOSE TIES TO TERRORIST COUNTRY LIKE IRAN THAT HANG POLITICAL OPPONATS VIOLATE CIVIL RIGHTS AND HUMEN RIGHTS OF THEIR OWN PEOPLE AND ABUSE WOMENS DOES SOMEONE IN GHANA LISINTING TO OUT LOST IGNO ...

• Obumpa 11 years ago

Why not use the money to solve the water problems ? All these nonsense will only stop when Ghanaians start voting for politicians based on what they do for their country. For the next four years, all that these so called MPs ...

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

WHY should the STATE provide ACCOMODATION for the Mps ??? They have their Salary and SHOULD NEGOTIATE WITH BANKS for their Rent !!!What are their SALARIES and the Perks for ??? Our Infra-structure IS NOT UP TO STANDARD and we ...

• Ato 11 years ago

people like this, no, hope, I thought they go there to work for Ghanaian. Please next time vote for people who are responsible to take care of them self, not people who had never worked in their live and they will depend on ...

• TAMBRO/DENMARK 11 years ago

IF THE NPP AND THE NDC MEMBER OF PARLIAMENTS CAN NOT STAY AT THE SAME AREA,THEN WHY THEN DON´T WE BUILD NPP QUARTERS AT AN AREA AND NDC´S AT ANOTHER AREA.

• Akwadaa Swiss. 11 years ago

IN 2008 IT WAS GHC30,000 and now gone up to GHC50,000.What of next,next,nd next...NONSENSE¨! CANT WE AFFORD A PERMANENT FAMILY ESTATES like that of REGIMANUEL with even better security entrance for them? WE NEED TO BUILD TH ...

• KAWASAKI 11 years ago

REMEMBER YOUR OWN KUFIOR CRIED LIKE A BABY BECAUSE MO IBRAHIM AWARD WAS'NT GIVEN TO HIM. MO IBRAHIM YE PEPE NI BA . ALSO OBAMA YE PEPE NI BA

• Minenken Piss 11 years ago

"Holier than thou." attitude of yours needs to be examined. Please stop call honourable people names. And, isn't a your so-called Pepe ni a human being. It is pity the Ghana government wasted money on you for basic education. ...

• MYSELF 11 years ago

What a foolish, country not to talk of the foolish continent, why are africans expecially west africans so
    foolish i hate to say this but infact am hoping for the day that african leaders will be killed by a big storm
    your ...

• Jj rawlings 11 years ago

Revolution is the answer to these problems

• GOLD COAST 11 years ago

One could understand the British colonialists providing accommodation for their Civil Servants brought over from Britain.But fifty six years after independence,why should this poor country(where 40% of the budget is paid for ...

• Frank Mensah, Tikobo No. 2 11 years ago

This is the Better Ghana and Hope the NDC and NPP ask the votes for. And there is no action group in Ghana, neither is there conscience in the stone-hearts of politicians. What percentage of this is their annual salary and a ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

ALLOWANCE to just one lawmaker amounts to Ghc 50,000? What class of society is this? The people who gave these lawmakers the power can't even get just potable water to drink

• ghanafow 11 years ago

Why cant u use such amount or even more to build Parliammentarians house ones n 4 ever than allways wastting the POORS money

• Mankind 11 years ago

Now, don't you think a Military rule avoids all this crap??? No almost 300 MPs! money saved. No party functionaries! money saved. No Special???...to the President! Money saved! etc., etc., Money saved! Money saved for the peo ...

• Jato Rawlings 11 years ago

House the MPs at the Osu castle.

• Chief amankwa 11 years ago

These rent allowance will cost poor suffering tax payers money..build an estate ..reasonable comfort and house them there...like the military.

After that we house them ..if they don't like it ..they can find their own mean ...

• James B. Otafregya 11 years ago

Neither rent allowance nor houses for them: they are like any other workers so they should arrange for their own accommodation and plans to pay for them.

• AZU NARH 11 years ago

ANA A VERY LONG WAY TO GO,BUTSADLY THE GHANAIAN DON'T HAVE THE EYE TO SEE OR THE BRAIN TO THINK.

• atakwesi 11 years ago

Members of parliament should have fixed rent at the prevailing residential rate in the town/area they are residing, not any more.

• Abeiku - London 11 years ago

They don't deserve SHIT ... USELESS BUNCH

• ujah. 11 years ago

The way forward i believe is to build each constituency house for which ever party wins,so that money will not be wasted.This will be occupied and maintained each parliamantarian .

• Minenken Piss 11 years ago

What is GHC50,000 as accommodation allowance in Accra for a parliamentarian. Accra is perhaps the most expensive city in Africa. Take a parliamentarian who come from Sunyani and doesn't have any accommodation in Accra. Do you ...

• Gypsy 11 years ago

Kwasea, buuluuuuu!! Onya y3 soooomi!!!!!

• Maame Grace 11 years ago

Please get your facts straight the NPP did not sell all government property. The scheme about selling off of government property did not start with NPP but then you would not know that because you are blinded to whatever goes ...

• FORD 11 years ago

GHANA HAS ENOUGH MONEY FOR THESE GOOD FOR NOTHING MPS WHO FAIL TO APPROVE EMPLOYMENT INFRASTRUCTURE. BUT NO MONEY TO PROVIDE BASIC BEDS AND SCANNERS FOR OUR HOSPITALS.

• Diplomat 11 years ago

If power Is Devolved to the Regions, it would render these thieving, crooks, cabals, useless.

Central Government can then meet for only every three months to consider federal projects, the way Public Limited Companies oper ...

• emma apain 11 years ago

why shold a hol MP stay at flat ? Ghana open your eye , this is direstect of the nation, they can buld offices for them on every constituency but the house sopost to be ther own house, and coming to paliment have to be an all ...

• Ross 11 years ago

Share the National cake equitably, Thank u.

• Khujo 11 years ago

This is what happened when some people feel privileged. This what happens when a few are educated and the majority are not. Why does anyone justified approx. $30,000 rent allowance for a four year term in a nation where the a ...

• Joe Navajo 11 years ago

thieves, the whole damn lot!

• kwadwo 11 years ago

is the move in the interest of the nation or otherwise?

• Mahama Sorogo 11 years ago

They are just like any worker working at the ministry or any office. In the countries that we go beg for money they don't house MPs nor the workers working in the parliament. No wonder why every damn fool wants to be a parlia ...

• FRANK 11 years ago

WHERE ARE THE HOUSES?THE NPP SOLD STATE HOUSES AND LANDS TO THEMSELVES.THESE HOUSES COULD HAVE BEEN RENOVATED TO HOUSE THE MPS.

• Rawllings 11 years ago

Since Ghana first parliement they have not been able to cater for their own accomodation,What can they do better for our country.Where sre the flats for MPs at Sakomonu?They sold them at cheap prices for themslves.

• Alex London 11 years ago

In Ghana we have so many people in power who are so blind and short-sighted like a bat. This guy is either stupid or naive. If every four year we will our do nothing MPs 50,000 cedis rent allowance which will keep rising h ...

• hoo- yah 11 years ago

what is wrong with ghana politicians do they went there to serve themself or the nation these are greedy idiot people who get elected by stupid people

• Cool Cat USA 11 years ago

It seems to me that still Ghana parliament and its members are just after their pockets, Is a shame, They can use their monthly salary to pay for their rent. Stop stealing from the revenue fools

• joe 11 years ago

Think of the infrastuture,roads,hospitals,schools, etc,etc,etc and stop debating unnecessary things which wii not benifit ghanaians.you people go to the parliament just to chop the money,bcos at the end of thire term no accou ...

• kaketonti 11 years ago

MP's my foot.Give rent allowance to the security force,medical personel,workers.Did they come to serve the nation or the nation to serve?FUCK OFF MP's.POLITICAL CUM PARLIAMENTARIANS THIEVES

• Mankind 11 years ago

we are the fools, because we only talk No action,like going out on a peaceful Demo to the parliament for about a week, but we don't do all this to let them ( politicians ) know that we the people don't like that idea .

• TALK TALK 11 years ago

MOST OF THESE FOLKS ARE HAVING THEIR OWN HOUSES,SO WHAT DO THEY NEED A RENT ADVICE FOR? A LEAST THEY SHOULD THINK A BIT OF THE WELFARE OF THE COUNTRY AND THE PEOPLE THEY WISH TO SERVE.

• OBUOM 11 years ago

STUPID FOOLS-GHANA MP'S